Virender Sehwag calls for India-Pakistan series to be played on neutral shores

Indian batting legend Virender Sehwag hoped for an India-Pakistan cricket series on neutral shores if there are obstacles in playing in India or Pakistan.

The two neighbours haven't played a Test series since 2007-08 when India hosted Pakistan over three Tests and the last bilateral ODI series was in 2012-13.

The two sides continue to meet in ICC-sanctioned events like the T20 World Cup, 50-over World Cup and the Champions Trophy but a full-fledged series has been a no-go because of political tensions.

The UAE, among others, has long been mooted as a potential venue but that too hasn't been approved.

Sehwag, who was in Dubai along with former Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar for the first ever Colors Cricket Conclave, pointed to the ICC Champions Trophy where India and Pakistan played each other twice, including the final, and the joy they brought to both the nations.

"We as players hope that there should be an India-Pakistan series. If it can't be played in India or Pakistan, it could be played elsewhere," Sehwag said during the Conclave hosted by presenter Gaurav Kapoor.

"In the ICC Champions Trophy, we had two matches involving India and Pakistan and it had the biggest audience at the stadium and on television and everyone enjoyed it from both the nations. So, it will be good if these matches keep happening," he added.

Sehwag also said that India look strong contenders for the 2019 World Cup to be held in England and also weighed in on India's shuffling middle-order by saying that former captain MS Dhoni should slot in at No.4.

"I think we have very good chances in the 2019 World Cup," felt Sehwag.

"I feel that MS Dhoni is the best solution. If he can come at No.4 after Virat Kohli, it would be ideal because if wickets are falling, he can hold it together and if the top order gives a good start, then he can consolidate. He would be an important link there. So, if Dhoni comes in at No.4, then 5, 6, 7 would be sorted. Manish Pandey, Kedhar Jadhav and Hardik Pandya can follow after that," he explained.

A number of nations are turning to day-night Tests and while India are yet to be involved in one, Sehwag said it depended on who the opponents were.

"It depends on against which team you are playing. If it is India-Australia, India-South Africa, India-Pakistan, then I don't think you need day-night Tests. As it is, there will be huge crowds for such matches. But, if you are playing against teams like Sri Lanka or Bangladesh, then I guess you can make them day-night Tests because crowd will come to watch after office hours," said the 39-year-old.

https://www.khaleejtimes.com/sport/...ndo-pak-series-to-be-played-on-neutral-shores

Akhtar bats for India-Pakistan series

Pakistan fast bowling legend Shoaib Akhtar feels sad that this generation of cricketers and fans have been denied being part of India-Pakistan series but hopes that some day they can get a taste of one of the greatest rivalries in cricket.

Akhtar, one of the fastest bowlers of all-time, and one who enjoyed some memorable rivalries with Indian batsmen, also hoped that Pakistan players can be a part of the Indian Premier League (IPL) again and Indian players could figure in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

"It is sad. I feel sorry for the people like us and I feel sorry for the people who are not playing in such a series because India is one of the fantastic nations in the world," Shoaib Akhtar told Khaleej Times in an interview.

"My heart goes out to the people who cannot get to play as much as they should have. Nothing can justify that youngsters on either side cannot get to play. But this is the world that we live in and we can't do anything about it. It is sad but this is how it is but we are going to maintain our dignity and we are going to maintain our good relationship. If we can help in making this relationship better, I'm all for it," he added.

Akhtar was one of 11 Pakistan players who were part of the IPL in the inaugural edition in 2008 when he turned out for the Kolkata Knight Riders.

And Akhtar hoped that relations will get better and an India-Pakistan series could again open the doors for Indian and Pakistani players in each other's Leagues.

"One day, one day. Let's hope the relations get better and we are able to play against Hindustan and become a part of the IPL and at the same time, they become a part of the PSL. It will be a win-win situation for both of us," said the 42-year-old.

Akhtar was known to be one of the fearsome fast bowlers who wore his heart on his sleeve but he condoned physical contact in the sport.

"You should not be physical. You can have a go at each other and that's the beauty of the game but you should not be physical and I strictly forbid that," he said.

South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada had an exaggerated celebration after removing Australian captain Steve Smith which saw him brush shoulders in the second Test in Port Elizabeth.

https://www.khaleejtimes.com/sport/local/akhtar-bats-for-india-pakistan-series

They use the term legend pretty loosely.....

Pretty sure he'll constitute as a legend considering his overall achievements and the way he played the game.

Don't buy this crap though. Pakistan would take even a tour in India right now, let alone a neutral venue. Fact is the Indian govt. will not allow it.

The reality is the Indian government don't want Pakistan to tour India...or at least did not want that when Misbah and Younis were around. They might change their tune now that the side is deeply weakened.

Having said that, I believe the PCB should deny a tour to India if there is no return tour to Pakistan and if a series to be played, a neutral venue(s) should be the only option. England makes a lot of sense due to great venues and large expat support. The ECB would obviously deserve a slice of the pie (As was the case when Pak v Aus happened), ticket sales should be distributed 50/50 between Pak and India supporters and TV rights should be kept separate. Rights sold in Pak go to PCB, those in India go to BCCI. International TV rights should be 50/50. Done. However the BCCI would throw up problems and it will not happen.

Sehwag should get all his cricketing mates and lobby his government. I think even now the cricketers are starting to realise this decision by India is ridiculous.

Having said that, I believe the PCB should deny a tour to India if there is no return tour to Pakistan and if a series to be played, a neutral venue(s) should be the only option. England makes a lot of sense due to great venues and large expat support. The ECB would obviously deserve a slice of the pie (As was the case when Pak v Aus happened), ticket sales should be distributed 50/50 between Pak and India supporters and TV rights should be kept separate. Rights sold in Pak go to PCB, those in India go to BCCI. International TV rights should be 50/50. Done. However the BCCI would throw up problems and it will not happen.

That's a long list of terms and conditions for something that's not even on the table for discussion!

Mungerilal key haseen sapney ...

No mutual venue at all. Enough of such hypocrisy now. Either it is played in the subcontinent or not at all. The problem has never been the venue but politics and politicians. India must tour Pak first, nothing else will do.

Easy there mate. I highly doubt team India would tour Pakistan anytime soon

They use the term legend pretty loosely.....

He is not just an indian batting legend. All time legend. He seperated himself from the rest of the clan with unique style of batting. His cricket started by copying each shot of Tendulkar. Gradually he branched away and became unique.

He has said something about Pakistan in a very long time that actually makes sense.

I really struggle to understand why people continue to care what the likes of Sehwag and Shoaib Akhtar think. They never had any brains when they played cricket. Why would they have any now?

The reality is the Indian government don't want Pakistan to tour India...or at least did not want that when Misbah and Younis were around. They might change their tune now that the side is deeply weakened.

Would defeat the whole purpose of PCB wanting a series with India. This whole unending saga is about $$ coming from TV rights sale to India.

Easy there mate. I highly doubt team India would tour Pakistan anytime soon

No problem at all. As I have stated before couldn't care less if we never play India again. Just lost complete interest in playing India in the subcontinent or UAE, it's just so boring. Want to see Pak tour Australia, RSA and New Zealand where matches will be played in conditions where Pak really needs to improve.

His achievements are second only to Gilchrist as 'The Attacking Opener' of his time

Gilly didn't open in tests, can't say sehwag avging 35 in ODIs makes him 2nd greatest after gilly considering Gayle and Hayden to name just 2, were also opening at the time

No problem at all. As I have stated before couldn't care less if we never play India again. Just lost complete interest in playing India in the subcontinent or UAE, it's just so boring. Want to see Pak tour Australia, RSA and New Zealand where matches will be played in conditions where Pak really needs to improve.
You find India Pakistan games boring?

I still don't understand why can't we play against Pakistan in a neutral venue like England? Obviously we can play against them in Champions Trophy in England but not a test series.

BCCI have to be pretty clear about this. If the reason to not play against them is the current situation between two countries then fine not play against them but don't pick and choose otherwise we will look like hypocrites.

Ind vs Pak in UAE will be as good as it gets. No game between Ind and Pakistan is boring. Not even a dead rubber. :inti

I still don't understand why can't we play against Pakistan in a neutral venue like England? Obviously we can play against them in Champions Trophy in England but not a test series.

BCCI have to be pretty clear about this. If the reason to not play against them is the current situation between two countries then fine not play against them but don't pick and choose otherwise we will look like hypocrites.

I think over the years the policy has cleared itself. No to bilateral series, yes to ICC tournaments. I think everyone is clear on this and knows about this. This is the status quo hypocritical or not.

Let's play them in England. Kohli can get all the practice he wants edging it everywhere :amir2

I like the noise about resuming cricket.

Angry people on both sides are being pushed to the sidelines - where they rightfully belong.

Sport trumps hate.

Even though I would like to see an Indo Pak test matches, I do no think India not playing can be considered hypocrisy. Indian govt's stance is clear - we will not help Pakistan financially. Playing a bilateral series, even in UAE fills Pakistan's coffers. Playing India in a bilateral series is something that every cricketing board looks forward to as it is the biggest revenue generator for all boards. India not providing that to Pakistan obviously means significant loss to Pakistan.

Not playing them in ICC tournaments would impact other nations, and we do not have a beef with other nations. So it would be stupid of us to harm our own and other nations chances. Playing them in other sports does not matter, as the other sports do not have anywhere near the same financial impact as playing cricket.

Additionally, when Pakistan was the richer and stronger board in the Pre-Dalmiya years, Pakistan refused to tour India and still played India in WCs. They followed the same principle as playing India in India would have provided us the financial benefit Pakistan did not want us to have.

I do not entirely agree with the policy of the Indian government, but its definitely not hypocrisy. The rules of engagement are clear, and its defined. Everyone will and should use it to suit their needs.

Politics and current sentiment of people against Pakistan.. You live in Delhi right? Just have a look around and talk to people they hate Pakistan..

News channels will run down BJP if they give permission to play Pakistan in bilaterals.. You’ll see headlines like “Firing on LOC and Modi sucking up to Pakistan” etc etc.. Public will get triggered and Modi/BJP will lose votes..

Why on earth will BJP risk losing even a single vote for Pakistan?

Everything in India is hypocritical.. The whole politics and country reeks of hypocrisy so nothing new here my friend.. THat is how things are and I would have thought you would have known.

Even though I would like to see an Indo Pak test matches, I do no think India not playing can be considered hypocrisy. Indian govt's stance is clear - we will not help Pakistan financially. Playing a bilateral series, even in UAE fills Pakistan's coffers. Playing India in a bilateral series is something that every cricketing board looks forward to as it is the biggest revenue generator for all boards. India not providing that to Pakistan obviously means significant loss to Pakistan.

Not playing them in ICC tournaments would impact other nations, and we do not have a beef with other nations. So it would be stupid of us to harm our own and other nations chances. Playing them in other sports does not matter, as the other sports do not have anywhere near the same financial impact as playing cricket.

Additionally, when Pakistan was the richer and stronger board in the Pre-Dalmiya years, Pakistan refused to tour India and still played India in WCs. They followed the same principle as playing India in India would have provided us the financial benefit Pakistan did not want us to have.

I do not entirely agree with the policy of the Indian government, but its definitely not hypocrisy. The rules of engagement are clear, and its defined. Everyone will and should use it to suit their needs.

Government policy is of hypocrisy my friend and it’s because cricket is one of the most popular thing in India.. If they really cared they could have banned everything related to Pakistan..

The government policy is that which any authority in a strong position will follow. Pakistan did it when they were the stronger board.

Banning everything related to Pakistan would not impact Pakistan as much as not playing cricket with them. This is politics, and you only play to your benefit. International politics is not hypocrisy.

The government policy is that which any authority in a strong position will follow. Pakistan did it when they were the stronger board.

Banning everything related to Pakistan would not impact Pakistan as much as not playing cricket with them. This is politics, and you only play to your benefit. International politics is not hypocrisy.

You are just thinking about it from cricket terms.. Government policy is of hypocrisy since its only related to India-Pakistan bilaterals in cricket.. Anyways no point discussing it in a cricket forum..

Politics and current sentiment of people against Pakistan.. You live in Delhi right? Just have a look around and talk to people they hate Pakistan..

News channels will run down BJP if they give permission to play Pakistan in bilaterals.. You’ll see headlines like “Firing on LOC and Modi sucking up to Pakistan” etc etc.. Public will get triggered and Modi/BJP will lose votes..

Why on earth will BJP risk losing even a single vote for Pakistan?

Everything in India is hypocritical.. The whole politics and country reeks of hypocrisy so nothing new here my friend.. THat is how things are and I would have thought you would have known.

Are these the same people who would be the first ones to break their TV sets when India loses against Pakistan. Don't know which part of Delhi you are living but in my area I haven't seen people doing any dharna against Pakistan. Frankly speaking people do not even have time to worry about people from other countries.

But yeah I have noticed people shutting their shops and offices, empty roads during India vs Pakistan match.

Note: I am not from Sultanpuri, Jahangirpuri, Old Delhi or Seelampur.

Well said Sehwag (and Akhtar)!

Time to move on now.

Fans from both countries want teams to play against each other.

Are these the same people who would be the first ones to break their TV sets wheb India lose against Pakistan. Don't know which part of Delhi you are living but in my area I haven't seen people doing any dharna against Pakistan. Frankly speaking people do not even have time to worry about people from other countries.

But yeah I have noticed people shutting their shops and offices, empty roads during India vs Pakistan match.

Note: I am not from Sultanpuri, Jahangirpuri, Old Delhi or Seelampur.

Haha you don’t get it, it’s not all black or white.. People don’t do dharna against Pakistan only dharma they do is when politically motivated however if you talk to people in Hindi belt a lot of them have anti Pakistan feelings.. You just have to watch TV shows or comments during show or talk to people in general.. I used to think it’s just on internet where people behave this way but after talking to many people it seems the hatred is very much in built..

Dharnas are mostly done when political parties take lead.. No normal person calls for dharna themselves, it’s mostly led by political parties and their offshoots.. Basically people with money and man power to pull it off.. In some cases you find small dharna of 10-15 people done by normal people but don’t make news..

Yes india-Pakistan matches have high viewership and everyone warches them no doubt but it wouldn’t change the fact if government agrees to such a series it will be blasted by opposition parties and media for being soft on Pakistan and the pseudo lion man image Modi has of being a Kattar against Pakistan would be lost.. Why would BJP risk that for a series against Pakistan?

Simple point hope you understand now.

That's a long list of terms and conditions for something that's not even on the table for discussion!

Mungerilal key haseen sapney ...

I never said it's on the table, it's just speculation on my part on how the deal could go down, which is based on how the deal went down between PCB and CA all those years ago.

Haha you don’t get it, it’s not all black or white.. People don’t do dharna against Pakistan only dharma they do is when politically motivated however if you talk to people in Hindi belt a lot of them have anti Pakistan feelings.. You just have to watch TV shows or comments during show or talk to people in general.. I used to think it’s just on internet where people behave this way but after talking to many people it seems the hatred is very much in built..

Dharnas are mostly done when political parties take lead.. No normal person calls for dharna themselves, it’s mostly led by political parties and their offshoots.. Basically people with money and man power to pull it off.. In some cases you find small dharna of 10-15 people done by normal people but don’t make news..

Yes india-Pakistan matches have high viewership and everyone warches them no doubt but it wouldn’t change the fact if government agrees to such a series it will be blasted by opposition parties and media for being soft on Pakistan and the pseudo lion man image Modi has of being a Kattar against Pakistan would be lost.. Why would BJP risk that for a series against Pakistan?

Simple point hope you understand now.
How many people did you talk to? 100, 1000, 10000, 1 lac maximum? Delhi's population is more than 1.5 crores lol.

Also your answer lies in your post. You said they express their hatred towards Pakistan when they are on some kind of TV show, social media platform etc. Best way of proving yourself patriotic these days is to criticise Pakistan at every platform.

Watch some youtube videos where indians doing social experiment by acting as a Pakistani. Watch and listen to their opinions. You will find all types of people. Some hate Pakistan and some like to remain neutral.

Simple point hope you too understand now.

Sehwag is a known extremist. He is just saying this to get traction.
No man, he is one of those who never thinks before speaking, just like javed miandad, though both of them are good at heart.
They both have many friends in india and pak.

Didn't Pakistan and India play a series in Toronto years ago? Why share the pie with ECB

How many people did you talk to? 100, 1000, 10000, 1 lac maximum? Delhi's population is more than 1.5 crores lol.

Also your answer lies in your post. You said they express their hatred towards Pakistan when they are on some kind of TV show, social media platform etc. Best way of proving yourself patriotic these days is to criticise Pakistan at every platform.

Watch some youtube videos where indians doing social experiment by acting as a Pakistani. Watch and listen to their opinions. You will find all types of people. Some hate Pakistan and some like to remain neutral.

Simple point hope you too understand now.

I don’t think you understand the point I am trying to make.. No one denies there are normal people who consider Pakistanis as normal people..

The simple point is no one loves Pakistan enough to go against government and unite together and raise voices for a cricket match with Pakistan.. However there are people who hate Pakistan enough to get together and raise voices against hosting a series against Pakistan and call the government soft for taking such an action..

The point you are making that there are all types of people in India is true and I agree with..

The point I am trying to make which you can’t seem to understand is that the current government has an pseudo image of being tough against Pakistan, by allowing a series against Pakistan while soldiers are being killed will make the government look soft.. This will result in lot of criticism from media houses and the anti pakistani people in he Hindi belt (which are a sizeable number) and opposition parties will call the government hypocrite.. So BJP has no reason to give permission for a series against Pakistan.. It is a basic point which I don’t understand why someone won’t get it..

Gilly didn't open in tests, can't say sehwag avging 35 in ODIs makes him 2nd greatest after gilly considering Gayle and Hayden to name just 2, were also opening at the time

Yes, Gilly could've played opener though but Slater and Hayden were so good, that he became a permanent No.7 for the Aussies.

Ind vs Pak in UAE will be as good as it gets. No game between Ind and Pakistan is boring. Not even a dead rubber. :inti

They are for me. I want Pak to play NZ, Aus and RSA on their pitches. That would be far more challenging for Pak.