"Went To Jail While Protesting For Bangladesh's Freedom": PM Modi In Dhaka

MP2011

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-...s-liberation-2399769?pfrom=home-ndtv_bigstory

Dhaka: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on a visit to Bangladesh, congratulated the country on Friday for its 50th year of Independence and said one of the first protests of his political career was for the freedom of the neighbouring nation.

"The freedom struggle of Bangladesh was a significant moment in my journey too... My colleagues and I had done a satyagraha in India... I was in my early twenties. I even had the opportunity to go to jail during this satyagraha for Bangladesh's struggle for freedom," he said.

Wearing a "Mujib Jacket" as tribute to Bangladesh's Father of the Nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, PM Modi attended the National Day ceremony with the country's President Abdul Hamid and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at the National Parade Ground in Dhaka.

What a big liar this 'I, me, myself' is?

Modi is a politician. They talk according to the situation.

If Rahul was was our PM, he would have said that he gave up drinking milk for a couple of days to show solidarity for Bangladesh creation.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Modiji was jailed in India for supporting the liberation of Bangladesh for which our govt went to war with Pakistan! &#55357;&#56859;<br>Just as, 5 year old Bal Modi went to jail in the Independence struggle, & then got his MA in 'Entire Pol Science' from Guj Univ! Jhoot ki bhi seema hoti hai! &#55357;&#56842; <a href="https://t.co/IN71VsnLsq">pic.twitter.com/IN71VsnLsq</a></p>— Prashant Bhushan (@pbhushan1) <a href="https://twitter.com/pbhushan1/status/1375445318137864195?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Another point is who jailed him? India was pro-Bangladesh so why would they arrest him? Was he jailed in Pakistan?

The Congress government is power was quite likely to jail Jan Sangh protestors. And the Jan Sangh was quite likely to protest against Pakistan as among the Indian political parties it had a more anti-Pakistan orientation. Modi was 21 years old in 1971, so it is possible he was jailed.

Protestors block roads etc., so a government can jail them even if it doesn't disagree with what they are saying.

A protest (satyagraha) by Jan Sangh to press for India's support for Bangladeshis did take place from Aug 1st to 11th, 1971, and it is possible that Modi was a part of these protests.

ExaUTNnU8AAqhsY.jpg

The predecessor of BJP, the Jana Sangh did a Satyagraha supporting Bangladesh and asking India to intervene and stop the refugee influx. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was then Jan Sangh president and Modi was a member. Many Jan Sangh members were arrested during this.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Modiji was jailed in India for supporting the liberation of Bangladesh for which our govt went to war with Pakistan! &#55357;&#56859;<br>Just as, 5 year old Bal Modi went to jail in the Independence struggle, & then got his MA in 'Entire Pol Science' from Guj Univ! Jhoot ki bhi seema hoti hai! &#55357;&#56842; <a href="https://t.co/IN71VsnLsq">pic.twitter.com/IN71VsnLsq</a></p>— Prashant Bhushan (@pbhushan1) <a href="https://twitter.com/pbhushan1/status/1375445318137864195?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Entire political science, lol! Matlab, there is a limit to lying.

Modi is a politician. They talk according to the situation.

If Rahul was was our PM, he would have said that he gave up drinking milk for a couple of days to show solidarity for Bangladesh creation.
Which would have been equally wrong. Btw, Rahul would never be our PM. This much I'm sure about.

Once a liar always a liar. I remember his email, digital camera lie :) That was pure comedy. Let's not even talk about the clouds lie.

Atleast he didn't put Germany as Japan's neighbour.

Bangladesh awarded Vajpayee for starting the protest in India in support of BD.

Prashant Bhushan. Lol.

I forgot about Modi's lying.
On top everything else he's also a certified liar.

Tut tut

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Modiji was jailed in India for supporting the liberation of Bangladesh for which our govt went to war with Pakistan! ��<br>Just as, 5 year old Bal Modi went to jail in the Independence struggle, & then got his MA in 'Entire Pol Science' from Guj Univ! Jhoot ki bhi seema hoti hai! �� <a href="https://t.co/IN71VsnLsq">pic.twitter.com/IN71VsnLsq</a></p>— Prashant Bhushan (@pbhushan1) <a href="https://twitter.com/pbhushan1/status/1375445318137864195?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Modi is 70 years now. How Modi can be bal Modi then when this movement happened?

My friend tajinder had given the right treatment prashant bushan deserves. We still laugh over it.

Probably he protested against the muslim influx into India from East Pakistan. I doubt anyone would debate me on this either. He is still protesting. So, he's not wrong.

Begani shadi main feku dewana.

How predictable that Modi make something that has zilch to do with him all about him but then sanghi's are all about stolen valour.

He went to jail for Bangladesh freedom

Now he is sending Bangladeshis to jail

Also relax Modi, BJP isn't running for election in East Bengal ....

yet

Begani shadi main feku dewana.

How predictable that Modi make something that has zilch to do with him all about him but then sanghi's are all about stolen valour.
This. All they do is to steal others' achievements and heroes as they are in negative as far their achievements and heroes go.

And i though trump was a bad liar...
Both of them love each other's company so much. Even Republicans won't have said something like this as ferociously and as early,

Ab ki baar Trump sarkar...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">'Academics' just don't realise that the Internet has radically changed the world and 'knowledge' is no longer their preserve, privilege and prerogative.<br>Jana Sangh rally in support of recognising Bangladesh 25 May 1971. Courtesy: AP Archives.<br>Do share freely.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiInBangladesh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiInBangladesh</a> <a href="https://t.co/wv5d47RQ6w">pic.twitter.com/wv5d47RQ6w</a></p>— Kanchan Gupta (@KanchanGupta) <a href="https://twitter.com/KanchanGupta/status/1375498438004011009?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The jan sangh rally in support of BD and asking the govt of India to recognize BD govt in exile.

Seems a lot many posters here have to eat humble pie.

The jan sangh rally in support of BD and asking the govt of India to recognize BD govt in exile.

Seems a lot many posters here have to eat humble pie.

Puh-lease, the sanghis only wanted disunion of East and West Pakistan at that time. He's an RSS hindutva through and through. His Ammi, Bharat Mata was dishonoured. Continental drift was a slow car crash

The BD people and govt didnt think so while honouring Vajpayee for starting this movement.

So basically what Modi, the BJP and their fans would like to slowly convince everyone is that despite not being in power then, they were responsible for splitting Pakistan in two.

I won't be surprised if soon Whatsapp University includes in its syllabus a new version of the famous photo of surrender - but this time with a smiling Modi next to the Pakistani General :rabada2

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-india-bangladesh/indias-modi-gifts-bangladesh-1-2-million-doses-of-astrazeneca-vaccine-idUSKBN2BJ0KC?il=0

India gave 1.2 million free doses of the AstraZeneca coronavirus vaccine to Bangladesh on Saturday, its foreign minister said, as Dhaka urged New Delhi to maintain a regular supply of shots to battle the pandemic.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi made the offering at the end of a two-day tour of Bangladesh to celebrate its 50th independence anniversary. The trip also marked Modi’s first foreign travel since the outbreak of the pandemic.

Bangladesh signed a deal in November with the Serum Institute of India, the world’s biggest vaccine maker, for 30 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine.

The country of more than 160 million people has already received 9 million vaccine doses from Serum. India has also previously gifted its neighbour 2 million doses of the shot that Serum is producing for many countries.

India has told its international partners that it will prioritise domestic inoculations over exports of vaccines as it battles a rise in new infections.

“Bangladesh has requested a regular supply of the remaining vaccines purchased from the Serum Institute,” the country’s foreign minister A.K. Abdul Momen said in a televised speech. Bangladesh has vaccinated more than 5.2 million people since the start of its inoculation campaign in February.

It has seen a spike in coronavirus cases in recent weeks, which the government has blamed on crowding and citizens ignoring health guidelines. Latest figures showed it recorded 3,674 new infections, the highest daily count since July 2, taking the total number of cases to 591,806, with 8,869 deaths.

This doesn't make sense, covid cases have been surging in India and that was their excuse for not fulfilling their commitment to GAVI as they wanted to immunize their population first which is reasonable considering there are 1.3 billion indians and have the 3rd highest number of cases in the world, so giving away over a million doses to Bangladesh means they're lying to GAVI and are instead using the vaccines for geostrategic purposes. All in all, India's government is run is by disgusting people.

This shows that Modi came from the masses. He is not someone who belongs from a rich family and wants to be a politician just for power.

This matters when you come from the awaam and get elected.

Look at our politicians. All belong from rich influential family.

This shows that Modi came from the masses. He is not someone who belongs from a rich family and wants to be a politician just for power.

You do realize he was elected as a populist? He's a hindu nationalist so obviously appealed to the Indian masses that are mostly hindu; I'd rather have an educated Prime Minister that's seasoned diplomat and administrator than some radical that was elected on a populist agenda. The funny thing is you claim to be a liberal and you certainly wouldn't like it if a populist came to power, it'd be hell for you.

Or that trees produce oxygen at night.

Lol in such a competition you do know Modi will always win right? Whether it’s spelling ‘streangth’ or ‘raw wisdom’ or ‘radars not detecting clouds’ or ‘elephant head transplants’ etc etc the list is endless with Modi. So it’s definitely a competition you don’t wanna enter lol

You do realize he was elected as a populist? He's a hindu nationalist so obviously appealed to the Indian masses that are mostly hindu; I'd rather have an educated Prime Minister that's seasoned diplomat and administrator than some radical that was elected on a populist agenda..

Agreed romanticization of the man of the people is really stupid and serves no real purpose

Competency is all that matters

Wrong. Look at Sirajul Haq, and other politicians from the Islamic parties like Jamaat-e-Islami, and Tehreek-e-Labbaik. Most of them are not rich.

You do realize he was elected as a populist? He's a hindu nationalist so obviously appealed to the Indian masses that are mostly hindu; I'd rather have an educated Prime Minister that's seasoned diplomat and administrator than some radical that was elected on a populist agenda. The funny thing is you claim to be a liberal and you certainly wouldn't like it if a populist came to power, it'd be hell for you.

These liberals would be petitioning the Army to launch a coup, if a poor person from an Islamic party became elected. All the pretense of supporting democracy would be gone then.

For these liberals, democracy is only the means to bring the society they want, not the end goal in itself. If democracy throws up result they don't like, they call it the death of democracy.

Imagine celebrating the breaking up of your own country. No wonder India got carved to pieces when even the supposed nationalists are hooting about a large chunk of their country getting independence.

Probably he protested against the muslim influx into India from East Pakistan. I doubt anyone would debate me on this either. He is still protesting. So, he's not wrong.

Most of the refugees were Hindus, not Muslims. The plan that Pakistan had was to give the land of the Hindu refugees to Muslims in East Pakistan, so they would be loyal to Pakistan.

Why would he go to jail for something that was very pro-India? We know India funded and created Mukhti Bahni and were pro-1971 war. So why would he go to jail that was legal in india..lol...can anyone see the lie in that by this RSS goon.

Lol in such a competition you do know Modi will always win right? Whether it’s spelling ‘streangth’ or ‘raw wisdom’ or ‘radars not detecting clouds’ or ‘elephant head transplants’ etc etc the list is endless with Modi. So it’s definitely a competition you don’t wanna enter lol

Who is an Oxford graduate, Modi or Imran?

You couldn't be more wrong, lol.

The same person who said Germany and Japan share borders.

Many educated people think that plants give oxygen at night, one of popular misconceptions. The only mistake which surprised me was germany and japan sharing borders, which may be due to malapropism, which happens when you know the right word but use the wrong word by mistake.

The only mistake which surprised me was germany and japan sharing borders, which may be due to malapropism, which happens when you know the right word but use the wrong word by mistake.

The two words need to be phonetically similar for it to count as malapropism.

The closest two countries that could perhaps acquit IK are Germany and England (taken as Britain) with a small stretch of water as the border.

Britain, Japan, Britain, Japan :rabada2

Most of the refugees were Hindus, not Muslims. The plan that Pakistan had was to give the land of the Hindu refugees to Muslims in East Pakistan, so they would be loyal to Pakistan.

Incorrect. The refugees were a mix of Hindus and Muslims.

Why would he go to jail for something that was very pro-India? We know India funded and created Mukhti Bahni and were pro-1971 war. So why would he go to jail that was legal in india..lol...can anyone see the lie in that by this RSS goon.

No you know nothing. Indira Gandhi was initially not interested in BD issue. There is a video of associated press showing Jan Sangh activists demanding recognition of Bangladesh and police using force on them.

I wonder how Bangladesh citizens feel about having a hindutva leader crowing about their break up from Pakistan? Not many BD posters commenting on this thread I notice, but plenty of hindu supporters of Modi on here.

West bengalis feel more connected to Kashmiris than East bengalis (bangladeshis) so much so they are willing to occupy kashmiri lands. They speak the same basha, amar bandur kashmiri bhai, kimchi?

Incorrect. The refugees were a mix of Hindus and Muslims.

I agree their was a mix but the majority were Hindus.

East Bengali Refugees are people who left East Bengal following the Partition of Bengal, which was part of the Independence of India and Pakistan in 1947. An overwhelming majority of these refugees and immigrants were Bengali Hindus.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_Bengali_refugees

Ahead of Bangladesh’s liberation in 1971,the Pakistani Army systematically committed genocide” of the Hindu community in the then East Pakistan and the Nixon Administration kept a blind eye to it,a new book says.

While the Indian Government was aware of it,it tried to play it down and instead referred to it as genocide against the Bengali community in Bangladesh so as to avoid an outcry from the leaders of the then Jan Sangh,the predecessor of the today’s main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party,says Gary J Bass,author of the book ‘The Blood Telegram: Nixon,Kissinger and a Forgotten Genocide’,which recently hit the book stores.

https://indianexpress.com/article/w...rgets-in-1971-bangladesh-war-claims-new-book/

No you know nothing. Indira Gandhi was initially not interested in BD issue. There is a video of associated press showing Jan Sangh activists demanding recognition of Bangladesh and police using force on them.

Activist demanding from who? Indian govt? Its been 50 years, we all know it was India behind BD's independence, Mukhti Bahni, etc. This is all nautanki by your RSS master. So you know nothing kid! Try educating yourself once in a while, it feels good.

I agree their was a mix but the majority were Hindus.

East Bengali Refugees are people who left East Bengal following the Partition of Bengal, which was part of the Independence of India and Pakistan in 1947. An overwhelming majority of these refugees and immigrants were Bengali Hindus.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_Bengali_refugees

Ahead of Bangladesh’s liberation in 1971,the Pakistani Army systematically committed genocide” of the Hindu community in the then East Pakistan and the Nixon Administration kept a blind eye to it,a new book says.

While the Indian Government was aware of it,it tried to play it down and instead referred to it as genocide against the Bengali community in Bangladesh so as to avoid an outcry from the leaders of the then Jan Sangh,the predecessor of the today’s main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party,says Gary J Bass,author of the book ‘The Blood Telegram: Nixon,Kissinger and a Forgotten Genocide’,which recently hit the book stores.

https://indianexpress.com/article/w...rgets-in-1971-bangladesh-war-claims-new-book/

In 1947, it was a different case. Not comparable with 1971. They started going after bengali intellectuals and nationalists.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/1971_Dhaka_University_massacre

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Searchlight

Next thing you know Modi will be telling everyone how he took 3 wickets in the 1999 World Cup match against Pakistan...

Activist demanding from who? Indian govt? Its been 50 years, we all know it was India behind BD's independence, Mukhti Bahni, etc. This is all nautanki by your RSS master. So you know nothing kid! Try educating yourself once in a while, it feels good.
Sanghis and their bhakts are world famous for telling all sorts of lies, just to make them feel like mainstream. They have always been at sidelines and had our masses had any sense, they would have remained on sidelines in near future as well.

But that was not to be and here we have this bigot proclaiming to have played a role in Bangladesh's liberation.

Wonder what would motabhai be thinking about this lie as for him Bangladeshis are no more than termites.

So the video is a lie? Indira was not interested in BD at first. Jan Sangh wanted India to recognize the provisional BD govt that was formed. Indira had not recognized it.

Poor pseudo liberal sickulars are now crying to pakistanis that Indians voted Modi. Their lies exposed as Associated Press video is out showing the protests of Jan Sangh.

So the bigot waited for 50 years and then revealed what a big role he played in liberation of Bangladesh!

Hats off to the master liar! There has never been a bigger liar, ever! And it has rubbed off his bhakts quite well! Them trying to prop up their god no matter whatever the truth was, is unmatched!

Hats off to such bhakti!

Next thing you know Modi will be telling everyone how he took 3 wickets in the 1999 World Cup match against Pakistan...
You never know! If he can fight and defeat crocodiles and that too as a kid, who are Pakistani batsmen?

So the bigot waited for 50 years and then revealed what a big role he played in liberation of Bangladesh!

Hats off to the master liar! There has never been a bigger liar, ever! And it has rubbed off his bhakts quite well! Them trying to prop up their god no matter whatever the truth was, is unmatched!

Hats off to such bhakti!

He didn't say it was a big role. Just a small anecdote, which is why it was shared only now. Do you have the proof that it was a lie? like the way I have already exposed your lies in many of your posts.

Sanghis and their bhakts are world famous for telling all sorts of lies, just to make them feel like mainstream. They have always been at sidelines and had our masses had any sense, they would have remained on sidelines in near future as well.

But that was not to be and here we have this bigot proclaiming to have played a role in Bangladesh's liberation.

So the video is a lie? Indira was not interested in BD at first. Jan Sangh wanted India to recognize the provisional BD govt that was formed. Indira had not recognized it.

See this is where I have issues. I don't care what people say, because they can always lie. I am taking this from a logical view. Lets take off the India hat or Pakistan hat for a second and totally talk from a 3rd person view.

Country A & B are enemies. There is a country C that is asking for bigger stake in country A or independence. Country B, being an enemy of country A, would do whatever it takes to destablize country A and support the upcoming country C. Because, my enemies enemy is my friend, isn't it?

Apply the same logic here and see if your RSS god is lying or speaking the truth. That's all!

See this is where I have issues. I don't care what people say, because they can always lie. I am taking this from a logical view. Lets take off the India hat or Pakistan hat for a second and totally talk from a 3rd person view.

Country A & B are enemies. There is a country C that is asking for bigger stake in country A or independence. Country B, being an enemy of country A, would do whatever it takes to destablize country A and support the upcoming country C. Because, my enemies enemy is my friend, isn't it?

Apply the same logic here and see if your RSS god is lying or speaking the truth. That's all!

There is a whole video of the protest. It belongs to associated press. Is the video lying?

The protests are from march april 1971. When did India recognise Bangladesh as an independent country?