What’s gone wrong for India’s white ball team

ethan hunt

Dravid?
Selection?
Lack of white ball talent?

They have been going downhill for a while now.

I must say they are very overrated.
They are overhyped to the moon by their fans

They think they are the best team that ever played the game in every format.

Bangladesh has brought back India back to the earth.

I feel like India treat LOI cricket like picnic. India currently do not have settled XIs. They play different players in different tours.

Talent can't do anything except watching dhwan ,Thakur,Bhuvi ,pant and curse themselves, Young team played against africa and won and here what to say

I feel like India treat LOI cricket like picnic. India currently do not have settled XIs. They play different players in different tours.

Pretty much this. Too many IPL hacks. The top batsmen are ageing and out of form. Extremely poor embarrassing cricket

RAHUL DRAVID HAPPENED ,and he started using indian team for his stupid experminations , when he is appointed as coach I already told that india golden days are over

Cannot fathom how Dhawan ,charar, Patel and thakur is in team

Even simple cricket fan know Thakur should never bowl after 40th overs , he will single Handley will change mat h in opposition favour and he is our death bowler

Selection definitely. International cricket is not the stage to experiment too much.
Plus a few senior guys who are past their prime and few overrated cricketers

RAHUL TIMID DRAVID, KL MIDGET RAHUL , GLASS CHARAR, STARIGHT PATEL , DESTROYER THAKUR and VADAPAV sharma need to go ,we need to build the team from scratch , Kohli should captain the team untill worldcup with his VC as Gill or Pant or iyer

Lol at Kohli as a captain and Pant as a VC. :))) :inti

India did not give Bharut Arun and Ravi Shastri enough.
Those two transformed that side. The new management has brought thrm back down.

So u want Ganguly and Dhoni to captain India again , for short term there is no choice other than him ,he is many times better than sharma or rahul , alteast we won bilateral series under him ,u guys all heckled for losing knock out matches now vadapav is struggling to defeat bangaldesh

India did not give Bharut Arun and Ravi Shastri enough.
Those two transformed that side. The new management has brought thrm back down.

Exactly to 90s level, Fitness is totally gone , Dhoni started and kohli maintained and Dravid ,Vadapav ended it

Transition period. Always one or more oldies will cause a slump in fortunes when they are about to leave.

Burnout, thats all there is to it with the Indian team. They give it their all in their domestic T20 tournament and have little fuel left for international duty.

They are a much better test team than they are white ball at the moment.

Team selection is the main reason.
India should play this team in the WC.
Can't drop Rohit/Kohli as it's their final appearance! No need for Patel, Thakur, chahar, hooda etc..

Rohit
Gill
Kohli
Iyer/Sky
Rahul/Pant/Samson (W.K)
Pandya
Jadeja
Sundar
Bumrah
Siraj
Umran/Bishnoi

Burnout, thats all there is to it with the Indian team.
I think its the selection. Our selection for LOIs is whimsical at best. There is no consistency, no accountability, no foresight.

Players in great form are dropped from next series/tour like a hot brick.

Also, Dravid has proved to be such a drag on our cricket. Total disaster. Sooner he is consigned to dustbin, better it is.

I think its the selection. Our selection for LOIs is whimsical at best. There is no consistency, no accountability, no foresight.

Players in great form are dropped from next series/tour like a hot brick.

Also, Dravid has proved to be such a drag on our cricket. Total disaster. Sooner he is consigned to dustbin, better it is.

Dravid is quiet an unimaginative character. Very process oriented and he sticks to tradition. He can't think like Baz. Besides experienced players are very very hard to be kicked out.

Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah are missing.

India still could put up a side that can win. Motivation level of these millionaire senior is going to be zero at this age. They go in to match like zombies and after losing they give some excuse and proceed with new series.

Thats taking a lot of credit away from a good performance by BD. you guys got outplayed in two games. I think you are extremely overestimating your strength.

Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah are missing.

No offence to Bangladesh and their fans but you know things are bad when Indian fans have to use these excuses against Bangladesh especially when they themselves are missing their two key players. :facepalm :inti

Good Indian batting was the reason India used to win matches.India used to score 30-40 runs above par.Recently India is not making big scores so their bowling is under pressure.The current Indian bowling can’t bowl teams out or defend par scores.India has been relying on Bumrah for many years.If he is not available then there is no other bowler who can take quick wickets or bowl in death overs.

Thats taking a lot of credit away from a good performance by BD. you guys got outplayed in two games. I think you are extremely overestimating your strength.

We have been saying this even when we win. Nothing to take away from BD. But INdia is far far better side than this.

Good Indian batting was the reason India used to win matches.India used to score 30-40 runs above par.Recently India is not making big scores so their bowling is under pressure.The current Indian bowling can’t bowl teams out or defend par scores.India has been relying on Bumrah for many years.If he is not available then there is no other bowler who can take quick wickets or bowl in death overs.

Too many chop and changing in recent times. Bumrah, Bhuvi, Shami, Umesh, Siraj, Prasidh, Arshdeep, Chahar, Thakur latest are Umran, Kuldeep sen. These are not role based selection. Just random selection. Most of them are new ball bowlers. Hardly any death bowling exponents.

KL Rahul. That is what is wrong.

Also Indians are bunch of arrogant fools who favor their friends and buddies over doing what is right.

Not to mention, they are bloated fat cats who have all being made millionaires already thanks to IPL. So there is no drive.

So are Taskin ahmed and Tamim Iqbal.
Weak reasoning.

Consider the importance of those two players I mentioned.

India in 2022 ODI this year :-

Lost to SA in SA( No Bumrah, No Pandya)
Lost to NZ in NZ( No Bumrah,No Pandya)
Lost to BD in BD(No Bumrah,No Pandya)

Won vs Eng in Eng( Bumrah won them a game with a 6-fer and Pandya with a 3-fer and 70 runs and Pant got 100).

So, for India to win outside home, they need their spearhead and their main all rounder back. When they were present, forget BD or SA, they beat England too in England.

Don't give excuses like someone's missing atleast against bd, Even we make our second 11 we can beat them , problem is Dhwan,Rohit, Pant, Thakur, Bhuvi and indian coach.

Shastri and Kohli combo. I still expect them to win the WC.

Agree With You But Radical element of Bhakt brigade hate kohli ,Whole Bjp that's why he was stripped of captaincy and am sure till We have panoti Duo, Amit shah, Modi we won't win anything they are interfering everywhere now in cricket also

Consider the importance of those two players I mentioned.

India in 2022 ODI this year :-

Lost to SA in SA( No Bumrah, No Pandya)
Lost to NZ in NZ( No Bumrah,No Pandya)
Lost to BD in BD(No Bumrah,No Pandya)

Won vs Eng in Eng( Bumrah won them a game with a 6-fer and Pandya with a 3-fer and 70 runs and Pant got 100).

So, for India to win outside home, they need their spearhead and their main all rounder back. When they were present, forget BD or SA, they beat England too in England.

India's bilateral wins have done more harm to them than good. Losses like this will give them reality checks. 9 captains since last year. some 30 to 40 players rotated randomly. Absolute chaos.

It was a mistake for Rahul Dravid to accept the Indian national team coaching job. He was doing a splendid job at the academy, working with the Indian U19, A teams. He will have maximum success when he is working with youngsters.

Dealing with the national side requires dealing with national team super stars, IPL super stars and dealing with media criticism. He has now chequred his reputation.

Seniority culture and selection bias if we really have to resume all of this in the fewest words

If players are selected on the basis of their lobby and not their ability this happens.

KL Rahul will open in tests and T20Is but not odi. Why? So that Dhawan can play.

Now KL will still be in the team, so sacrifice a samson or kishan or pant.

On pitches which are turning Kuldeep Yadav or Chahal are not even in the squad, because they want Axar Patel in the team.

Why was Chahar selected today, despite being injured?

The aim of this team management is to anyhow keep their lobby players in the team, no matter what.

Rohit will be unavailable next game so where is the backup opener Gill now?

He isn't even in squad. :facepalm

Isn't transition period when you move from your most experienced players ?

Yes we have 3 of them. Rohit scores runs in patches. Dhawan seflishly statpads at very low strike rates. Kohli doesn't even do that. low strike rate low average. KL Rahul also had strike rate of 80 this year. All these guys have to just quit after world cup as they are never going to drop them right before world cup.

Even if India turns it around in 3 upcoming games it's all just a practice for IPL. That's what real cricket is anyways.

India should have separate coaches for formats
Test - Dravid/Laxman
ODI/20-29 - Dhoni/Sehwag

Axar Patel and Washington Sundar are two nothing players, they are like cheap versions of hafeez and malik when those two started their careers. After 15 years, they started looking like they somewhat belonged and I am sure Sundar and Patel will get there too in the next 12-15 years.

Since Kohli left, the team's fitness levels are down and they have dropped the intensity with which they play their game.

The same kind of reason Babar gave for losing the Pindi test

“We were missing Rauf in 2nd innings for bowling”

What has Babar to do with this thread ?
He is the reason you can't post reasonable things ?

Axar Patel and Washington Sundar are two nothing players, they are like cheap versions of hafeez and malik when those two started their careers. After 15 years, they started looking like they somewhat belonged and I am sure Sundar and Patel will get there too in the next 12-15 years.

Sundar is a no.8 batsman in ODI and a decent bowling option. He already proved his batting credentials in Tests. TPlayed some clutch knocks in Tests. Even today his bowling was very good. He is least of India's problem. Indian tail is too long. So they add some bowlers who can bat. Look at Siraj. He played entire maiden over in 48th over. But for that Rohit would have lesser runs to target.

Surprised no one really touching the main point here.

In NZ series, we played 3 pacers + 3 spinners(including Hooda)

In BD series, we are playing 4 pacers + 2 spinners

What kind of selection is this? Circus really!

Surprised no one really touching the main point here.

In NZ series, we played 3 pacers + 3 spinners(including Hooda)

In BD series, we are playing 4 pacers + 2 spinners

What kind of selection is this? Circus really!

Their selection is purely based on placating all the bases temporarily and go with the "experienced" in the end.
I don't care about bilateral wins anymore. But give youngsters a consistent run when they are in form. Till world cup end they will make sure the fringe players are insecure by dropping them randomly. Once done they will retire. Already Asia cup, Two back to back T20s lost.

What has Babar to do with this thread ?
He is the reason you can't post reasonable things ?

You asked me if that was the reason if Bumrah not playing is the reason why India couldn’t chase the runs. You were (sarcastically) criticising India’s batsmen for not getting the job done.

I just gave you a factual response of what Babar said as his excuse of losing the 1st Test against England, that he was missing a bowler. It works both ways if the missing bowler is the reason why the batsmen can’t get the runs I guess

Since Kohli left, the team's fitness levels are down and they have dropped the intensity with which they play their game.
And what happened to him ?
Strange, from the cricket i was watching the bad results started when Kohli was Still captain and he was sacked because of it.

But your bias towards Kohli can't let you see reality.

You asked me if that was the reason if Bumrah not playing is the reason why India couldn’t chase the runs. You were (sarcastically) criticising India’s batsmen for not getting the job done.

I just gave you a factual response of what Babar said as his excuse of losing the 1st Test against England, that he was missing a bowler. It works both ways if the missing bowler is the reason why the batsmen can’t get the runs I guess
So if Babar says something wrong you will do the same ? Great logic.

I don’t understand your need to argue in the first place

I simply answered the question in the OP that India is desperately missing Bumrah. That’s all. You shouldn’t engage in hostile arguments if you can’t handle a hostile response

India have minor problems. They need to revamp the selection process & get a new coach. They have the pool of players to become a winning machine again.

Teams like Pakistan, SL, WI, BD etc. have bigger issues that they cannot be resolved by better selectors & coaches. They lack talent.

One could say that on a smaller scale, India needs to do what England did in 2015. Adopt a new strategy & bring the players that would work with that strategy. England already had these players at their disposal & it was simply a matter of selecting the right team.

India has been playing the same brand of cricket for a decade & it is not working anymore because the players are over the hill now. It is time for them to rethink their tactics & bring a new, fresh template for the 2023 World Cup.

India needs to decide if they actually want to win the World Cup or use it as a farewell ceremony for the crop that has been playing for the last 10 years. If they go the latter route, they have little chance of winning the World Cup on home soil.

Pant
Kishan
Kohli
Iyer
SKY
Pandya (c)
Washington
Kuldeep
Umran
Arshdeep
Bumrah

India should be looking to build something like this in ODIs & T20Is moving forward. Kohli, Rohit & Rahul are all brilliant players, but it is clear that you can only carry one anchor/consolidator, and Kohli is better than Rohit & Rahul.

India need two hard-hitting openers at the top with aggressive players in the middle & lower-order. The bowling attack pretty much picks itself. This is a world class team.

Pant
Kishan
Kohli
Iyer
SKY
Pandya (c)
Washington
Kuldeep
Umran
Arshdeep
Bumrah

India should be looking to build something like this in ODIs & T20Is moving forward. Kohli, Rohit & Rahul are all brilliant players, but it is clear that you can only carry one anchor/consolidator, and Kohli is better than Rohit & Rahul.

India need two hard-hitting openers at the top with aggressive players in the middle & lower-order. The bowling attack pretty much picks itself. This is a world class team.

Too bad Patidar has not been tried. Give him a run. He will be a great middle order enforcer.

If players are selected on the basis of their lobby and not their ability this happens.

KL Rahul will open in tests and T20Is but not odi. Why? So that Dhawan can play.

Now KL will still be in the team, so sacrifice a samson or kishan or pant.

On pitches which are turning Kuldeep Yadav or Chahal are not even in the squad, because they want Axar Patel in the team.

Why was Chahar selected today, despite being injured?

The aim of this team management is to anyhow keep their lobby players in the team, no matter what.

Sacrifice Pant? He was rightly dropped. Samson and Kishan were dropped unfairly. Pant is also a 'laadla' of this team management lol. :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Cryptos se bhi tez gir rahi hai apni performance yaar. Need to shake up - wake up.</p>— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) <a href="https://twitter.com/virendersehwag/status/1600497420781191175?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 7, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It comes down to the captain. We can see with England. What Stokes does with the same team that Root was having. If the captain himself is defensive whole team will be defensive, conservative.

I don’t understand your need to argue in the first place

I simply answered the question in the OP that India is desperately missing Bumrah. That’s all. You shouldn’t engage in hostile arguments if you can’t handle a hostile response

I was not affected by your response. Just trying to understand your double standards of always criticising Pakistani batsman. India is loosing left right and center over the last 2 years but you have nothing wrong to say about their batting.

India have minor problems. They need to revamp the selection process & get a new coach. They have the pool of players to become a winning machine again.

Teams like Pakistan, SL, WI, BD etc. have bigger issues that they cannot be resolved by better selectors & coaches. They lack talent.

One could say that on a smaller scale, India needs to do what England did in 2015. Adopt a new strategy & bring the players that would work with that strategy. England already had these players at their disposal & it was simply a matter of selecting the right team.

India has been playing the same brand of cricket for a decade & it is not working anymore because the players are over the hill now. It is time for them to rethink their tactics & bring a new, fresh template for the 2023 World Cup.

India needs to decide if they actually want to win the World Cup or use it as a farewell ceremony for the crop that has been playing for the last 10 years. If they go the latter route, they have little chance of winning the World Cup on home soil.
Nice way to say they have to kick out Sharma, Kohli and Dhawan.

Pant
Kishan
Kohli
Iyer
SKY
Pandya (c)
Washington
Kuldeep
Umran
Arshdeep
Bumrah

Hahaha love it !

So you don't want Rohit Sharma in the team anymore ? Same for KL Rahul ?
And you admited that all three are anchor/consolidations.

It's actually sad to see you that hurt that you had to say some truth and accept that KL Rahul, Sharma and Kohli aren't good enough even for odi cricket.

But what is even more sad is that you want them to be replaced by Pant and Kishan. You are trying to copy the english way. Compare the difference between Hales Bairstow ans Pant Kishan. End of thread.

The bowling line up, the less said the better.

Hahaha love it !

So you don't want Rohit Sharma in the team anymore ? Same for KL Rahul ?
And you admited that all three are anchor/consolidations.

It's actually sad to see you that hurt that you had to say some truth and accept that KL Rahul, Sharma and Kohli aren't good enough even for odi cricket.

But what is even more sad is that you want them to be replaced by Pant and Kishan. You are trying to copy the english way. Compare the difference between Hales Bairstow ans Pant Kishan. End of thread.

The bowling line up, the less said the better.

I have explained everything in the other thread. I cannot have the same discussion in two different threads.

I was not affected by your response. Just trying to understand your double standards of always criticising Pakistani batsman. India is loosing left right and center over the last 2 years but you have nothing wrong to say about their batting.

I don’t get it? What do you want me to do? Criticise Indian batsmen/bowlers with the same vehemence I have for Pakistani players?

India is not my team. I am not emotionally vested in them or their players. They are not my business or concern.

PAKISTAN IS. Pakistan cricket teams improvement/decline is my concern. It would hurt me to see them lose, it would make me pleased to see them win. Why would I care about Indian cricket team in the same way?

Pant
Kishan
Kohli
Iyer
SKY
Pandya (c)
Washington
Kuldeep
Umran
Arshdeep
Bumrah

pant Kishan Lol

Just playing way too much white ball cricket. We've played 122 white ball internationals since the 2019 World Cup in addition to long IPLs and test tours.

The schedule is extremely punishing and then many play a lot of domestic as well.

Only England play a similar amount of cricket across formats but they make very intelligent format specific selections etc. We don't do any of that.

Coach Dravid's reasons for India's shoddy ODI performances

India head coach Rahul Dravid believes come January, India will in all likelihood, have a full strength ODI squad which will then consistently play for the next 8-9 months leading up to the World Cup at home in October-November.

India's ODI performance has been shoddy with back-to-back defeats in series against New Zealand and Bangladesh with very different squads due to workload management-related permutations and combinations.

"I guess, from our perspective, it has not been easy to play. We don't have full squad. Hopefully, from January, depending on injuries, we will get full squad to play home series. We have nine ODIs before IPL (3 vs NZ, 3 vs SL and 3 vs Aus) and hopefully, we will get to play a settled squad in those games," Dravid said at post-match press conference.

"In the last two years, we had prioritised T20s a lot as there were two World Cups. In the next 8-10 months, we will be prioritising ODI cricket. It is not easy to juggle three formats.

"Now, our white ball boys (specialists) will get some rest with Test matches being played," Dravid added.

https://www.rediff.com/cricket/repo...pur-india-lose-series-bangladesh/20221207.htm

So Dravid needs our first choice XI to defeat Bangladesh!

What the world has come to! From fielding 3 XIs to not being able to defeat even BD!

Only Bumrah is missing from our first choice XI.

Jadeja - Has other priorities in life so should left at that.

Gill - 'Rested' in the name of BD tour crammed right after NZ tour

Chahal - If he is in our first choice XI ODI according to Dravid, god save Indian cricket!

Pandya - Picks and chooses his games and formats as per his whims

Pant - Rightly dropped

All Dravid churns out is excuse after excuse.

We had our full squads in last 2 T20s. What trees did we uproot?

Sooner Indian cricket is get rid of this man, better it is.