What are your views on the Niqab/Burqa?

Niqab (face covering) should be banned, not hijab.. it's not even sunnah..

It is unfortunate that we have many Pakistani posters here mostly from UK who support these things airing in Bangladesh and often give Bangladeshi clean chit by diverting the matter to India when all this has little to nothing to do with India but Bangladesh’s own disintegration and deterioration as a society.

How will people defend this.
How will they find an India angle in this

@DeadlyVenom @HalBass9 @Slim

Don’t support it.

Police probe child marriage after girl, 13, 'forced to marry man, 40' in India in hindu ceremony​

It’s illegal in India to marry an under age girl. Pedophilia is taken seriously in India.
Glad the incident has been brought into the light. 👍

By now, Indians should realise that when you point one finger at someone else, three fingers are pointing back at you. It’s about time to stop creating unnecessary threads aimed at running down Muslims, Pakistanis, and Bangladeshis.
You do realize who started the trend on timepass right? Just check the sheer number of crime related threads on India in the main page itself.:mv

I always wondered about the views of face veils in Islam. From an outsider it looks repressive towards women. But any random videos doesn't showcase this face veils frequently. And this topic has been one of the contentious one against Islam in general in the West.

1. What is the reality of it? Is it mandatory for women according to Islam?
2. I understand that there are levels of fave coverings like burqa vs niqab vs others. What is the traditional one?
3. Can women choose to not wear it? Like they have a choice?

Also, there are few videos on twitter showcasing men educating women to wear face veils. That actually seems problematic. Like eating inside a burqa and teaching how to eat? Honestly, its kind of repressive IMO and looks very uncomfortable.

What are your thoughts on this?
Niqab is not islamic, don't know why they're practicing it.. should be banned tbh..

Why do you think it's become more common in the last 10-15 years, and how would you react if your wife, sister or daughter said they wanted to wear one? What do you think of those women who choose to wear them in Western countries?
It is one of the opinions in Islam.
  1. Those who choose to cover their faces, can do it
  2. Those who choose not to cover their faces, can do it
No issues with either position taken.

Those who live in countries where it is illegal (France etc) can choose to take position 2.

Both positions have evidence and legitimacy in Islamic Jurisprudence.

Either way it is the decision for the Muslim women to take.

Those who live in countries where it is illegal (France etc) can choose to take position 2.

Do fathers like you tell their young daughters that they should cover their face/hair when they grow up and not doing so is unislamic ?

Uproar in India over Bihar chief minister pulling down Muslim woman’s hijab​

Nitish Kumar, a BJP ally, removes the veil of a female doctor during a government event, triggering widespread outrage.

A video showing a top minister pulling down the hijab of a Muslim woman during a government event has caused widespread outrage and condemnation across India.

Nitish Kumar, chief minister of the eastern state of Bihar, was seen removing the veil of the woman when she was being handed an appointment letter as doctor of alternative medicine at a ceremony in the capital Patna on Monday.

In a video that soon went viral on social media, Kumar, holding an official document in hand and flanked by a few other officials, points to what the doctor was wearing and asks her to remove it.

Before she could react, Kumar stretches his hand and pulls her hijab down, exposing her face, as a minister standing next to him makes a feeble attempt to stop him while others present on stage laugh.

Kumar, 74, has been Bihar’s chief minister for most of the past two decades. He is a close ally of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Last month, their alliance won the Bihar legislative assembly election, in which the BJP emerged as the single largest party for the first time.

The video was first posted on X by Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), a political party opposed to the Modi-Kumar coalition.

“What has happened to Nitish ji [“ji” is an honorific in Hindi]? Has his mental condition completely deteriorated, or has Nitish ‘Babu’ [another Hindi honorific] now become 100 percent Sanghi?” the RJD asked in its post.

Sanghi refers to a person affiliated with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), a 100-year-old secretive far-right organisation that aims to turn a constitutionally secular India into an ethnic Hindu state. Modi and most other BJP leaders are lifetime members of the RSS, which is the ideological fountainhead of what is referred to as the Sangh Parivar (or Sangh Family), with hundreds of Hindu organisations working under its umbrella.

The BJP and its allies have long campaigned against the use of hijab by Muslim women. In 2022, the then-BJP government in the southern state of Karnataka banned hijab in classrooms, triggering a huge protest by the Muslim community. Later that year, a two-judge Supreme Court bench delivered a split verdict in the case, which meant the debate and politics over hijab continued in the country of 200 million Muslims. Several Hindu groups have demanded a nationwide ban on hijab.

Nearly 18 percent of Bihar’s 127 million residents are Muslim.

Opposition parties and Muslim groups have condemned Kumar’s action and demanded his resignation.

“This is Bihar’s Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. A female doctor had come to collect her appointment letter, and Nitish Kumar pulled off her hijab. A man occupying the highest position in Bihar is openly indulging in such a vile act. Think about it – how safe will women be in the state? Nitish Kumar should immediately resign for this disgusting behaviour,” the main opposition Congress party posted on X.

On Wednesday, members of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), a political party representing Muslims and other minorities, held a protest in Mumbai and demanded that criminal charges be filed against Kumar.

“A Muslim woman has been dishonoured,” shouted a protesting woman as she was dragged away by a group of police officers, according to a report by the Press Trust of India news agency. “Nitish Kumar should resign,” said another member there, wearing a hijab.

Zaira Wasim, a former actor from Indian-administered Kashmir, demanded an “unconditional apology” from Kumar. “A woman’s dignity and modesty are not props to toy with,” she posted on X. “Power does not grant permission to violate boundaries.”

Even the foreign minister of neighbouring Pakistan spoke out, calling the incident “shameful” and “extremely disturbing”.

“Such acts underscore the imperative to safeguard minority rights and to address the troubling rise of Islamophobia. Respect for women and religious beliefs must remain fundamental and non-negotiable principles in every society,” Ishaq Dar posted on X on Wednesday.

Kumar has not yet responded to the criticism. On Thursday, his party, the Janata Dal-United (JD-U), posted on X that the chief minister has always “supported the minorities” during his multiple tenures.

“The minorities are safe and secure in the Nitish government,” the party wrote, without referring to Monday’s incident.

In a statement emailed to Al Jazeera, Aakar Patel, India head of rights group Amnesty International, said Kumar’s act was “an assault on this woman’s dignity, autonomy, and identity”.

“When a public official forcibly pulls down a woman’s hijab, it sends a message to the general public that this behaviour is acceptable. No one has the right to police a woman’s faith or clothing,” he said.

“Such actions deepen fear, normalise discrimination, and erode the very foundations of equality and freedom of religion. This violation demands unequivocal condemnation and accountability. Urgent steps must be taken to ensure that no woman is subjected to such degrading treatment.”

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @JaDed @Devadwal @uppercut @Theanonymousone @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @RexRex @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @Cover Drive Six @rickroll @rpant_gabba, @Romali_rotti @kron @globetrotter

#FreeMinoritiesOfIndia

#SaveAllIndianMinorities

#FreeIndiaFromHinduExtremism

#SanctionIndia

You do realize who started the trend on timepass right? Just check the sheer number of crime related threads on India in the main page itself.:mv
also, that people are just showing current indian news, and providing thr opinion, you cant go cry over this, not like people are showing yrs old news, its current news - within last few weeks,

we have noticed that you never start a thread on indian issues.

It’s illegal in India to marry an under age girl. Pedophilia is taken seriously in India.
Glad the incident has been brought into the light. 👍

So what are you going to do about it?
Clean your own house, or keep pointing fingers at others?

This has been going on for quite some time. It wasn’t like this before. After taking a long break and coming back, I noticed a lot of new hanumans joining and creating thread after thread just to put down Muslims and Pakistanis.

also, that people are just showing current indian news, and providing thr opinion, you cant go cry over this, not like people are showing yrs old news, its current news - within last few weeks,

we have noticed that you never start a thread on indian issues.

Correct.

If they don't like, they can ignore. They can't tell people what to post or what not to post. This is not an Indian platform. Not sure why they are feeling so entitled. :inti

What I wrote:

Conclusion: Uncovering the face isn't unIslamic.

Do fathers like you tell their young daughters that they should cover their face/hair when they grow up and not doing so is unislamic ?
You are free to ask any question as you like and if you don't understand at least ask "I don't understand X or Y or Z so please explain to me as I am not a Muslim"...

"Fathers like me" bring their children up on Islam and my daughters are smart enough to make their own choices at their age because they have easy access to Islamic information and evidence and can weight the pros and cons themselves.

In Islam a father is no longer responsible for their children do beyond puberty so "Fathers like me" are no longer responsible for our grown up "children" in this world or in the hereafter....

Once again as a Non-Muslim if you don't understand something all you have do so is "ask"...

What you cannot do is insert your point of view on Muslims or Islam despite them clarifying an issue.

In Islam a father is no longer responsible for their children do beyond puberty so "Fathers like me" are no longer responsible for our grown up "children" in this world or in the hereafter....​

Of course, they are free to make their own decisions when they grow up. Hence ... why I asked you what do you teach your CHILDREN about coverings.

Once again as a Non-Muslim if you don't understand something all you have do so is "ask"...

What you cannot do is insert your point of view on Muslims or Islam despite them clarifying an issue.​

That's what I did .. ask. Why so touchy :unsure:

I didn't say just face, I included hair in my question as well .. which I notice you didn't address.

Of course, they are free to make their own decisions when they grow up. Hence ... why I asked you what do you teach your CHILDREN about coverings.

That's what I did .. ask. Why so touchy :unsure:

I didn't say just face, I included hair in my question as well .. which I notice you didn't address.​
I understand the hate deep inside your heart but I will keep answering your questions as it is forbidden for me to lie/cheat and being dishonest. The answers are not there to convince you and you can think whatever you want...

First, I apologize that I missed the hair in your question so let me address both.

I haven't even discussed this topic with my daughters EVER!

I put them in an Islamic School and they go to the Mosque themselves, before their driving license I took them or they walked and now they go themselves.

This is such a simple and well known issue that most kids/teens/adults who practice Islam know about it both hair and face.

They went through stages, at some point one of their favorite teachers (in younger days) covered her face so they covered by mimicking their teacher wearing it backwards, half-way and then gave up.

Then a few years later, their councilor covered her face so they covered and that period lasted about 6 months and they gave up.

They always covered hair because everyone around them did...They always prayed because everyone around them did.

I never had this conversation, as kids as I told you that they went through stages before they are simply copying other women...

Let me finish again by acknowledging your hate but continue to state facts.

Most Muslim kids mimic their parents so we have these small child-like prayer rags which kids put down and pray in whichever direction, something like this:
images

During Ramadhan, kids don't eat for a few hours and they are told that since they are kids they can have 2 fasts or 3 fasts so do that, all of us went through it like a child by having 2-3 fasts in a day.

We have these nice kids beads which are small and colorful and kids carry them around and mimic their parents or grand parents.

Tasbih-Pouch-Mint-2.jpg

The ground-rule is that kids MIMIC whats around them, their parents, uncles, aunties, family friends etc.

If Parents practice Islam and all those (around kids) practice Islam then kids also do by COPYING, its years later they connect it to theory.

From my decades of experience, I can tell you that most (Islamically) Practicing Parents don't have these sorts of discussions about Niqab/Hijab with their daughters or other issues of Jurisprudence. Kids grow up knowing that their whole family wakes up during Ramadhan OR prays etc, its so common that no conversations are necessary.

Just like kids wear shoes several times bigger because that's what kids do, many Muslims cover, pray etc because that's what they see.​

I understand the hate deep inside your heart but I will keep answering your questions as it is forbidden for me to lie/cheat and being dishonest. The answers are not there to convince you and you can think whatever you want...

First, I apologize that I missed the hair in your question so let me address both.

I haven't even discussed this topic with my daughters EVER!

I put them in an Islamic School and they go to the Mosque themselves, before their driving license I took them or they walked and now they go themselves.​

I am hateful for asking questions lol ? What kind of attitude is that ? Stop being so insecure.

All you had to say was it isn't you teaching them about mandatory islamic dress-code; it's the islamic schools and mosques that they attend that tell them this.

I am hateful for asking questions lol ? What kind of attitude is that ? Stop being so insecure.

All you had to say was it isn't you teaching them about mandatory islamic dress-code; it's the islamic schools and mosques that they attend that tell them this.
No.

I am not calling you hateful for asking question, in fact I am saying ask away.

I am calling you hateful for not reading the responses or not understanding the responses and continuing with your rhetoric. You have an understanding deep seated in hatred and you keep on responding with it instead of trying to understand what is being said.

Even the Mosques and Islamic school don't teach them mandatory dress code and this is the point which you are not getting.

The foundation of Islam is: There is no God but Allah Muhammad is the messenger of Allah (Peace be upon Him)

And Dawah is centered around that whether to a Muslim or non-Muslim and the rules and regulations mainly don't come into it. In my life I have invited many people to Islam or answered questions and never started with Hijab/Niqab and always focused on foundation of Islam, people ask questions and you answer whatever is the topic.

Hundreds of Muslims invite others to Islam and nobody invites someone on Jurisprudence issues.

The issue of Niqab is a difference of opinion and that's it.

Now, lets get to what your hate which leads you to believe that "People like me" force my daughters to cover etc. if this was true then in many geographies (including India) there are more women converting to Islam so who is forcing them to cover?

I can give you dozens of white, middle-class women converting to Islam and wearing Niqab, who is forcing them?

I personally know a Phd from India (daughter of VHP leader) who converted to Islam and wears a Burqa in the west, who forced her to cover in the West?

So the theory born out of hate is clearly and fundamentally flawed!

By the same token many don't wear Niqab/Burqa because it is a difference of opinion.

The bottom line is for a Muslim to invite towards and work on their Eemaan (faith) and rules/regulations work themselves out and the person learns, does research and does whatever they do.

Your hate leads you to believe that Muslims concentrate on rules when the reality is the exact opposite, tried to explain this to you here too but hate in your heart is too deeply entrenched that it doesn't penetrate which is normal...

As I said, I don't lie, cheat or deceive so will keep on answering you.

You let your hate drive you.

I will let my religion drive me.

No.

I am not calling you hateful for asking question, in fact I am saying ask away.

I am calling you hateful for not reading the responses or not understanding the responses and continuing with your rhetoric. You have an understanding deep seated in hatred and you keep on responding with it instead of trying to understand what is being said.

'Hatred' 😄

Many muslims excel in this one aspect. Any time the probing questions are asked, they immediately panic and try to shut down the discussion with 'you're an islamophobe'. Thanks for being yet another sample point for my theory.

The issue of Niqab is a difference of opinion and that's it.

That's great. You still haven't mentioned anything about Hijab. What's the verdict on that ?

Now, lets get to what your hate which leads you to believe that "People like me" force my daughters to cover etc. if this was true then in many geographies (including India) there are more women converting to Islam so who is forcing them to cover?

I didn't say 'People like you'. I said 'Fathers like you'. By which I mean .. very devout conservative muslim fathers. I only say that because of the number of islam related threads you have opened on PP.

And not once did I mention the word force anywhere. The fact that u brought it up tells me you have some deep-seated guilt about something. I don't know. You tell me what the guilt is about.

I can give you dozens of white, middle-class women converting to Islam and wearing Niqab, who is forcing them?

I personally know a Phd from India (daughter of VHP leader) who converted to Islam and wears a Burqa in the west, who forced her to cover in the West?

Nobody cares about random samples. Some might do it out of free will, plenty might not.

Your hate leads you to believe that Muslims concentrate on rules when the reality is the exact opposite

Muslims actually do concentrate on rules more than other religions, from what I've observed. The Quran, after all, is the literal word of God.

I think modesty has been a part of every religion for women. Let it be Christianity, Islam, Judaism, or Hinduism, to name a few; no religion tells their women to show off their bodies in public and no sane man would adore their wives and daughters hanging out in dresses that are cherished today in name of modernism. The pictures are attached for reference.

People nowadays have assumed modernism as shamelessness.

Some Islamophobic people only have issues with Niqab/Burka because it comes from Islam. Never heard of Saarhi pallu pulled out of head of a Hindu women just because her head was covered out of modesty.

cropped-chagim-line-2019-95-wrapunzel.jpgAdobeStock_139959485-900x900.webpf8efa599e1318da2a673338cfdf6e3c2.jpg

I think modesty has been a part of every religion for women. Let it be Christianity, Islam, Judaism, or Hinduism, to name a few; no religion tells their women to show off their bodies in public and no sane man would adore their wives and daughters hanging out in dresses that are cherished today in name of modernism. The pictures are attached for reference.

People nowadays have assumed modernism as shamelessness.

Some Islamophobic people only have issues with Niqab/Burka because it comes from Islam. Never heard of Saarhi pallu pulled out of head of a Hindu women just because her head was covered out of modesty.

View attachment 160413View attachment 160412View attachment 160411
The Hindu women in the picture are observing purdah tanks to Islamic rule. Many good looking women would end up in some bigshots or Sultan’s Harem if the soldiers eyes fall on them. So they started covering faces of every women be they married or unmarried.

While all religions preach some form of modesty, no one outside of Muslims follow full body covering. Wearing skirts, shirts, pants is not immodest. Only Islam considers it immodest. So yiur attempt to paint all religions preach modesty is false. The modesty is quite different for each religion. :mv

@RexRex what is your contention ? Are you saying niqab and hijab are not part of Islam ?​
H-A-T-E!

There is nothing else in his queries which hasn't already been answered or addressed.​
  1. Hindu parents taking their children to Puja or Christian Parents taking their children to Worship is perfectly acceptable​
  2. Muslim parents taking their children to the Masjid is enforcing views on children​
Children follow the practices of their parents, in case of Hindus and Christians children quickly see that apart from a few acts of devotion on a particular day "religion" is nothing else.

Muslim Children see their day at home starts with Fajar and ends with Esha and in between ingredients are checked on every food item and their mother (and everyone around them) covers in front of others and doesn't at home. Muslim Children see that the whole house gets house very early in the morning during Ramadhan and pray Taraweeeh at night.

Muslim Children see that their mom/dad live in a rental house because they don't want to buy a house on Mortgage or drive older cars because they don't want to get a loan on Interest.

As a result, many Hindu/Christian children no longer believe while many Muslim children do when they grow up.

Dozens of women accept Islam because they see Muslims actually have a "way of life" and not a few set of religious practices, dozens of men accept Islam because they see principles which are neither compromised nor bent.

@Ball Blazer What we see on a daily/weekly basis in our Mosques of Muslims practicing and others converting across the West is not a secret, neither complicated nor rocket science!

While @RexRex keeps the hate brewing in his heart the world keeps on moving. @Champ_Pal and @RexRex know very well that there are hundreds of verifiable examples of converted women who cover (Hair or Face) so the theory of "Fathers like me" holds no water but it is what it is...

I disagree but I got ho hate in my heart and I pray for them and their families.

After decades of exposure to the likes of @RexRex and @Champ_Pal and dialogue I actually feel Sorry for them.

H-A-T-E!

There is nothing else in his queries which hasn't already been answered or addressed.​
  1. Hindu parents taking their children to Puja or Christian Parents taking their children to Worship is perfectly acceptable​
  2. Muslim parents taking their children to the Masjid is enforcing views on children​
Children follow the practices of their parents, in case of Hindus and Christians children quickly see that apart from a few acts of devotion on a particular day "religion" is nothing else.

Muslim Children see their day at home starts with Fajar and ends with Esha and in between ingredients are checked on every food item and their mother (and everyone around them) covers in front of others and doesn't at home. Muslim Children see that the whole house gets house very early in the morning during Ramadhan and pray Taraweeeh at night.

Muslim Children see that their mom/dad live in a rental house because they don't want to buy a house on Mortgage or drive older cars because they don't want to get a loan on Interest.

As a result, many Hindu/Christian children no longer believe while many Muslim children do when they grow up.

Dozens of women accept Islam because they see Muslims actually have a "way of life" and not a few set of religious practices, dozens of men accept Islam because they see principles which are neither compromised nor bent.

@Ball Blazer What we see on a daily/weekly basis in our Mosques of Muslims practicing and others converting across the West is not a secret, neither complicated nor rocket science!

While @RexRex keeps the hate brewing in his heart the world keeps on moving. @Champ_Pal and @RexRex know very well that there are hundreds of verifiable examples of converted women who cover (Hair or Face) so the theory of "Fathers like me" holds no water but it is what it is...

I disagree but I got ho hate in my heart and I pray for them and their families.

After decades of exposure to the likes of @RexRex and @Champ_Pal and dialogue I actually feel Sorry for them.

One of my objectives for 2026 is to reduce engagement with these hateful and low-IQ sanghis.

Debating with them is pointless because they are not honest and consistent.

You can have a debate with a white supremacist but not a sanghi. Sanghis are a special kind of stupid.:inti

The Hindu women in the picture are observing purdah tanks to Islamic rule. Many good looking women would end up in some bigshots or Sultan’s Harem if the soldiers eyes fall on them. So they started covering faces of every women be they married or unmarried.

While all religions preach some form of modesty, no one outside of Muslims follow full body covering. Wearing skirts, shirts, pants is not immodest. Only Islam considers it immodest. So yiur attempt to paint all religions preach modesty is false. The modesty is quite different for each religion. :mv
nuns do

One of my objectives for 2026 is to reduce engagement with these hateful and low-IQ sanghis.

Debating with them is pointless because they are not honest and consistent.

You can have a debate with a white supremacist but not a sanghi. Sanghis are a special kind of stupid.:inti

When I was in college, I once did a project with a white guy. I later on found out he was an Alt-Right guy. Alt-Right people believe in white supremacy.

We discussed many things in a respectful manner. I can't imagine doing a similar respectful discussion with a sanghi. IQ score can drop by frequently engaging with the sanghis. :inti

Since the thread is about personal opinions; in my opinion, it has nothing to do with Islam and more to do with traditions.

There is nothing wrong in doing it if one feels comfortable. Islam only has ENFORCED to dress modesty to both MEN AND WOMEN.

Now discussing modesty would be another topic. It generally is considered covering your entire structure except face/face and head.Those who follow any instructions in addition to Quran's, will only open a can of worm.

Religions preach modesty , its people who do not follow the religion. Which religion does not ? For example if you go inside the gurdwara , there is a dress code , can you go in with a short skirt?

H-A-T-E!

So no reply to my post ? What a rambling bore.

Muslims and Children

This kid was playing at an Arcade and he went and prayed. The owner noticed in CCTV and gave him 1 Hour credit.

Kid: No, its ok I have 5 minutes left
Owner: No, you prayed so here is 1 Hour Credit for you for your game.

@RexRex As I said here, parents, families and others do all sorts of things to encourage children to follow Islam, watch this small clip in Saudia from a stranger and you will get the point.

@The Bald Eagle @Suleiman @sweep_shot @KingKhanWC @finalfantasy7

Muslims and Children

This kid was playing at an Arcade and he went and prayed. The owner noticed in CCTV and gave him 1 Hour credit.

@RexRex As I said here, parents, families and others do all sorts of things to encourage children to follow Islam, watch this small clip in Saudia from a stranger and you will get the point.

Ma sha Allah.

Great gesture from the arcade owner.

Great from the kid too.

Muslims and Children

Good, but the point here is when you teach the kids the actual essence and core principles of Islam, they are naturally inclined to follow it themselves…

So many Muslim women even in the West choose to wear niqab or burqa despite the plausible threat of racist and xenophobic nutters potentially attacking them verbally or physically for it.

I believe there was a study in UK as well that showed the majority of reverts to Islam were women. Many of them see the protection and modesty of their beauty and femininity from non mahram men as an honor compared to mainstream norms in the west where women are over sexualized and in many contexts actually feel pressured to reveal even more skin than men. Based on the innate nature / fitra it’s no surprise that women who do revert to Islam see that and in becoming Muslim break through the objectification that they’ve seen growing up.

I know ppl will say “but don’t women get objectified in Pakistan? Isn’t that a Muslim country?” To what extent does Pakistan actually hold up Islamic values and to what extent does it pick and choose when to deploy them… that’s where that answer lies.