What is your favorite film?

Is there any Indian movie which is "great" in terms of a "new idea or concept".. like watching it we marvel at the "idea" of what a movie it is.. I am only talking about the "subject" or "concept" of the movie and not about how well made it is or how well picturised/edited etc.

I don't see any Bollywood movie qualifying in that category of "great idea"/subject/concept .. is there one in your opinion (even in other Indian languages) ?

Interesting question. Let me think about it.

If there is a movie, chances are high that it would be a regional one (most likely Bengali).

No Smoking had a very interesting concept but I don't think it was 100% unique. Plus Anurag Kashyap botched up parts of that movie and overdid the surreal - real aspect to the point where people are not even sure what that ending means.

I will think about your question.

Anyone here see Ek tha Tiger??

I've always meant to see it but havent got round to it haha. Never watched a Bollywood film before.

For bollywood movies, breaking records in terms of the money minted is no indicator of the movie's quality but that of the publicity/marketing and the star cast involved.

That's what the final parameter of a good movie, right ? How many people watch it and appreciate it, and have a good time.

Interesting question. Let me think about it.

If there is a movie, chances are high that it would be a regional one (most likely Bengali).

No Smoking had a very interesting concept but I don't think it was 100% unique. Plus Anurag Kashyap botched up parts of that movie and overdid the surreal - real aspect to the point where people are not even sure what that ending means.

I will think about your question.

Yes, the condition is it has to be a unique idea too, and also reasonably well structured in terms of logic (logical in the universe the movie is played out).

I saw a movie Taqdeerwala, which was a unique concept but no one will put it as a great movie, it is at best regarded as a third class Bollywood masala.

I've always meant to see it but havent got round to it haha. Never watched a Bollywood film before.

I suggest poison or wrist slitting or hanging or jumping off a cliff.

A much more elegant way to accomplish your very evident end goal.

[MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] - If you want to watch a Bollywood movie, then try Lagaan.

Its based on cricket and I think you might love it (melodrama aside).

The final 2 hours is full cricket. An entire 2 innings test match is played out in the movie.

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/lagaan/

This movie was shortlisted for the final round in Oscar's foreign movie category (which is way harder than regular Oscars). But I must say Lagaan never had the chance of winning the Oscar even though it was short listed going by the buzz generated before the awards were announced.

[MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] - If you want to watch a Bollywood movie, then try Lagaan.

The final 2 hours is full cricket. An entire 2 innings test match is played out in the movie.

This movie was shortlisted for the final round in Oscar's foreign movie category (which is way harder than regular Oscars). But I must say Lagaan never had the chance of winning the Oscar even though it was short listed going by the buzz generated before the awards were announced.

I think we can make a thread for suggesting desi movies to the uninitiated. But until a thread pops up, I would make a couple of suggestions (based on feedback from my French friends) to [MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] here:
1. Rang De Basanti
2. 3 idiots

Popular is not always good.

I am saying a movie's most basic and widely accepted purpose is to entertain the audience. If a movie manages to attract the largest number of audience (with repeat factor), the movie is good.

Movie is different from sports, where the most popular sportsperson may not be the best sportsperson, but the most popular movie has got to be called the best movie, because it has served it's ultimate purpose better than other movies.

Don't watch it lol its horrible.Songs are good though . Watch rang de basanti , the greatest movie ever made in bollywood

Wasn't the match 1-innings each ? Also, by the end of the match, even if it was a "draw", it would mean that the team batting second lost, wouldn't it ?

Well Aamir Khan is perhaps the only Indian to have won 2 matches by hitting sixes in the last ball of the match :)

Wasn't the match 1-innings each ? Also, by the end of the match, even if it was a "draw", it would mean that the team batting second lost, wouldn't it ?

I meant 1 innings each (2 innings overall). I should have been more clear.

Yeah it seems like rules of cricket in those days were a bit different.

I think we can make a thread for suggesting desi movies to the uninitiated. But until a thread pops up, I would make a couple of suggestions (based on feedback from my French friends) to [MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] here:
1. Rang De Basanti
2. 3 idiots

Yep I liked those 2 movies also.

3 idiots especially. Masala but great fun.

Requiem for a dream is one top class movie as well on drug addiction. It was brilliantly directed.

Yup ek tha tiger is a poor man's james bond :91: even Dabbang 1 is better than this co called action/romance

There are others too like Andaz apna apna, Hungama, No Entry in the last 20 years.

Then there are some old comedy movies..

Yup It was different the movie no major roles for female unlike No ENtry which was a sleaze as compare to it

Most of Pak' villager boys like Ajay's movies #Floodedromeo i knew a clan from Gujjar Khan who have kept copies of movies like Diljale and watch it every now n then :))) lol its so hilarious talking with them

Company, and Dil Chahta Hai are the two standout Bollywood movies from a lot of mediocre crap.

Company, and Dil Chahta Hai are the two standout Bollywood movies.

'Dil Chahta Hai' was the sort of film that yourself, me and [MENTION=51465]DeadlyVenom[/MENTION] should have worked in. Do you remember that scene where Akshay Khanna tells a girl where Saif Ali Khan is hiding to escape from her? "Behind that bush" he said. I found that scene to be so funny. I am actually that sort of guy.

I wish someone could YouTube that scene for me.

'Dil Chahta Hai' was the sort of film that yourself, me and [MENTION=51465]DeadlyVenom[/MENTION] should have worked in. Do you remember that scene where Akshay Khanna tells a girl where Saif Ali Khan is hiding to escape from her? "Behind that bush" he said. I found that scene to be so funny. I am actually that sort of guy.

Lol. Why did you cut my quote short?

I really have no idea why that scene makes you laugh so much.

Itz Amir Khan :dav

tum logo bhi isee hotel pe reh rahe ho?? "reh reho nahi....the. the" :))

Lol. Why did you cut my quote short?
Because you were insulting Bollywood and thus hurting the sentiment of many of our friends from across the border:26:.

I really have no idea why that scene makes you laugh so much.

No idea man! Maybe just the fact that as a friend one is supposed to 'lie' for the other.

Itz Amir Khan :dav

tum logo bhi isee hotel pe reh rahe ho?? "reh reho nahi....the. the" :))
Please pardon my offence of spreading wrong information:(.

Regardless, I have found the whole film on YouTube and have thus just dug out the aforementioned scene.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flPQjPugCW0

^starts from the 41st minute.^

English-Shawshank redemption,godfather 2,all tom hanks movies.

Hindi-vaastav, company, dil chahta hai, munnabhai MBBS, gangs of wasseypur 1 and 2, kahani.

Malayalam-kireedam, vanaprastam,nadodikaatu etc etc.:)

^ A lot of gangster movies for a girl. I can respect that.

I would rather work in an all male adult movie starring big black men than have anything to do with Bollywood.

Goodfellas
Catch me if you can
Batman : the dark knight
Avengers
A walk to remember
Troy
Kingdom of heaven

All I cud think of for now

Jaws, I simple love this shark thriller to bits and can watch it over and over. Even today it has me on the edge of my seat. Also love " Fatal Attraction" together with about a hundred more.

Left Bollywood ages back so have no idea of what they have produced over the past ten years. From the classics "Pakeezah" and "Deewar" come to mind. As a kid I must admit that loved the 1980's horror flick "Purana Mandir" if anyone here has heard of it:narine

I would rather work in an all male adult movie starring big black men than have anything to do with Bollywood.

Wow. Amazing. Typical. Vintage DV. Amazing nonetheless.
I have followed the desi media enough to know that a personal grudge is easily settled by accusing someone of (having done) something as lowly as blasphemy etc. to win the public sentiment. I will hence accuse him of being a racist to get the masses behind me.

And that's a bad thing?
Yes. I in fact feel that there should be international laws protecting Bollywood. The person found guilty of disrespecting it should be punished by being made to watch three sooraj barjatya films within nine hours (or 11, given the length of his films).
English-Shawshank redemption,godfather 2,all tom hanks movies.

Hindi-vaastav, company, dil chahta hai, munnabhai MBBS, gangs of wasseypur 1 and 2, kahani.

Malayalam-kireedam, vanaprastam,nadodikaatu etc etc.:)
In case you missed this......

You know, you are different from other girls. You aren´t girly; you are strong, funny, humurous, and all in all, a bit like guys, hence I have coined the term 'Chris Kaayal' for you, inspired from Chris Gayle´s name and character.

^ http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...t-)-your-favorite-PPers&p=6836822#post6836822 ^

Bollywood is massively over rated.

I have seen movies being rated 7+/10 on imdb from Indian users that should be nowhere near that and should be 2-3/10 movies. Ridiculously over rated.

Bollywood is the biggest piece of nonsense out there.

Every other movie has 2-3 disco songs with some lame music.

Indian movies with its song and dances are just :facepalm:

Too bad we focus more on masala than drama.

Yeah, Bollywood is mostly crap..just like rap is mostly horse dung. But then everyone deserves their entertainment, no matter how crap it is.

Bollywood is the biggest piece of nonsense out there.

Every other movie has 2-3 disco songs with some lame music.

Indian movies with its song and dances are just :facepalm:

Too bad we focus more on masala than drama.

I don't have a problem with the format of indian movies like song and dance and melodrama. I have a problem with the sexist, homophobic and casteist plots that is the norm.

Casteist?

Most movie have love stories overcoming caste problems.

I have been keeping a record of the names used by the various characters like politicians, good cops, corrupt officers, main actor, etc..and have found that some castes are usually seen in a poor light, and some are shown as honorable.

Brothers collection. Got used to it. Watched 'Scarface' after falling in love with Michael Corleone. I must say that I had to put an earplug whenever he opened his mouth.:22:

Still a brilliant movie. Espcially that last fight scene and Al pacino's dance moves.:D

Bollywood is quantity over quality. It may be the largest film industry in the world but what it churns out is ridiculous.

Lol true that. Even I am a massive massive fan of 80's and early 90's mallu films. Mohanlal and Jagsthy for me. I fall off my chair laughing at their scenes :).

You don't like Sreenivasan's vadakkunokiyantram, sandesham, thalayanamantram??

Then u r not a 'buddhijeevi' like me.:butt

You don't like Sreenivasan's vadakkunokiyantram, sandesham, thalayanamantram??

Then u r not a 'buddhijeevi' like me.:butt

Of course I like all actors/movies in malayalam from that era. And you have great taste in movies I admit. Pakshe that is not a criterion to be a buddhijeevi. :afridi

I don't have a problem with the format of indian movies like song and dance and melodrama. I have a problem with the sexist, homophobic and casteist plots that is the norm.

Hollywood is the same. Very rarely do you have a movie in Hollywood with a lead female protagonist.

I wasn't talking about the lack of strong female characters, but the songs that promote sexual harassment (which we so innocently call eve teasing), the sheila ki jawani and such. particularly in a country facing a crisis of anti women crimes, such portrayal of women in mainstream cinema adds to the problem (if doesn't create them).

Bollywood is massively over rated.

I have seen movies being rated 7+/10 on imdb from Indian users that should be nowhere near that and should be 2-3/10 movies. Ridiculously over rated.

Not sure about overrated, people like and get entertained by the movies Bollywood produces, and that's why they are rated higher.

Movie's ultimate rating criterion has to be the entertainment of the audience.

Almost all Cameron movies have strong female protagonists or female protagonists who become strong. Mind you strong not just in physical but also psychological sense. Terminator series, Avatar, Aliens, Titanic. Interestingly, he never showed men as weak or anything like that. He wasn't a sexist from either side.

Not sure about overrated, people like and get entertained by the movies Bollywood produces, and that's why they are rated higher.

Movie's ultimate rating criterion has to be the entertainment of the audience.

Fair call. They cater for a certain audience and do it extremely well I guess.

I wasn't talking about the lack of strong female characters, but the songs that promote sexual harassment (which we so innocently call eve teasing), the sheila ki jawani and such. particularly in a country facing a crisis of anti women crimes, such portrayal of women in mainstream cinema adds to the problem (if doesn't create them).

Yeah something needs to be done about that. Must have a big impact at a societal level.

Bollywood is still better, I saw one Telugu movie (and there are many such) where the Hero molests the 2 heroines and crowd applauds .. incidentally the heroines are the brats of a rich family and aren't exactly in the mould of Indian ideal woman.. the hero teaches them a lesson in Indian morals by openly and physically humiliating them, and the villagers in the movie appreciate the taming of these "modern" women.

Soon after, the hero is given the hero's welcome through claps, and the 2 women realise how wrong they were and are happy to be taught a lesson. Next scene, both are clad in Sarees, and are docile, and perfectly submissive.

If anyone watching it, manages to keep his sense intact.. well..

Bollywood is still better, I saw one Telugu movie (and there are many such) where the Hero molests the 2 heroines and crowd applauds .. incidentally the heroines are the brats of a rich family and aren't exactly in the mould of Indian ideal woman.. the hero teaches them a lesson in Indian morals by openly and physically humiliating them, and the villagers in the movie appreciate the taming of these "modern" women.

Soon after, the hero is given the hero's welcome through claps, and the 2 women realise how wrong they were and are happy to be taught a lesson. Next scene, both are clad in Sarees, and are docile, and perfectly submissive.

If anyone watching it, manages to keep his sense intact.. well..

Lol. Seems perfectly normal to me. That's how you should fix this modern woman disease.

The Dark Knight... I cant believe most people here did not list it.
LOTR series
Godfather series
Terminator 1&2, Alien and Aliens
A few Good men
Primal Fear
Usual Suspects
**Anything by Quentin Tarantino***