Which Bollywood movie has the best soundtrack?

Hesitating between "Barfi!" and "Lootera", but basically one of those.

I'm not just talking about recent times

How can there be best bollywood song,at best it depends on mood,at times it could be retro Kishore Kumar ones from year years or Rafi's.
Among recent ones there are so many from AR Rahman's to Mithoon's compositions having Arijit or Mohit.

I think a perfect album one could make a case for Taal or Barfi where one can listen to all songs from the movie but again in terms of lyrics it will not come close to old Indian movie albums,Amar Prem,Pyaasa,Aandhi the perfect albums with very good lyrics.

How can there be best bollywood song,at best it depends on mood,at times it could be retro Kishore Kumar ones from year years or Rafi's.
Among recent ones there are so many from AR Rahman's to Mithoon's compositions having Arijit or Mohit.

I think a perfect album one could make a case for Taal or Barfi where one can listen to all songs from the movie but again in terms of lyrics it will not come close to old Indian movie albums,Amar Prem,Pyaasa,Aandhi the perfect albums with very good lyrics.

I'm not talking about song. I'm talking about soundtrack. Pick one. Veer Zaara imo has the best ensemble of songs from any Bollywood movie ever

Pyaasa(1957) it is for me and don't think Veer Zara would be anyone's top except for you :/ ,why specifically that?

Because each and every song is amazing and every song is different. Lata, sonu nigam and udit Narayan are my 3 favourite playback singers and all 3 of them sing the majority of the songs in it.

Hindi movies began in 1931. So there are lots of great soundtracks to chose from. My favourite is "Sholay"(1975), followed by "Don"(1978).

In recent times, Rockstar had an amazing soundtrack.Not a single poor song in the whole album.

Rockstar was great. Another one would be "Dil Se", had some of Rehman's most iconic songs.

"Lagaan", "Taare Zameen Par" and "Jaane tu Ya Jaane na" were others where music truly captured the soul of the movie.

I guess you'd have to consider how the background music blended with the film and not just the songs. AR Rahman was one of the best at making that happen. His best :

1) Dil Se - Arguably ARR's greatest hindi language work. one of bollywoods GOATs in Chaiyya Chaiyya, haunting melody in "Ae Ajnabi", some great Arabic fusion in Satrangi re and a good carnatic touch in "Jiya Jale".

2) Rangeela - One of the most influential commercial Hindi cinema in past 30 years, especially w.r.t film music and picturisations. Second only to Dil Se among ARR's bollywood works. "Tanha Tanha", "Rangeela re" are ATG bollywood songs.

Rangeela also was one of the first to break away from the typical Urdu-Poetic music style of the 80's and 90's (my opinion). The music still hold up today like very few 90's films, It doesn't feel like an antique. Look at the sheer number of remixes still going on for this song!

3) Lagaan - A lot has been said already.

Other Artists - soundtracks :

1) Company - Didn't have the greatest songs but the background score and the theme music really captured the grittiness of Bombay underworld

2) DevD - Super experimental and way ahead of its time. Both the movie and the music

Honorable mention : If you can ignore the blatant Ripping off from the "exorcist theme", GUPT had a FABULOUS soundtrack. Absolutely memorable songs !

Man I feel Veer Zaara is just underrated as a movie. Its in SRK's top 3 easily with DDLJ and Kal Ho Naa Ho. I guess there isn't enough over the top acting, silly humour and fake drama in it to appease most of the desis. The soundtrack is extremely underrated. Find me a movie with better songs than these.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qap7-yciy04" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/m6Y8xEfyXTs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rIx3YkMmX9Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/wDheWYmNEhQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/xQ-34j4jKes" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ie4OF6gIjhw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/c_L5nSf91zs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] have you heard all of the above? Also look at them in the context of the movie

Not too familiar with pre 90's Hindi cinema except Sholay of course and such classics. Haven't seen Veer Zara .

One thing you need to notice is that, unlike most posters here, I'm not a native Hindi/Urdu speaker, so I'll be less inclined towards the lyrical intricacies of the soundtracks and more inclined to enjoy "the tunes". Which is why I found the films I quoted far more interesting.

Not too familiar with pre 90's Hindi cinema except Sholay of course and such classics. Haven't seen Veer Zara .

One thing you need to notice is that, unlike most posters here, I'm not a native Hindi/Urdu speaker, so I'll be less inclined towards the lyrical intricacies of the soundtracks and more inclined to enjoy "the tunes". Which is why I found the films I quoted far more interesting.

Man you're missing out. Veer Zaara is not pre 90s it is about a decade or so old. The songs are both lyrically and musically excellent. If there's anyone on this forum whose movie advice you should listen to it's me. Just ask [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] :misbah4

Well, my favorite Hindi films are Company, DevD, Sholay and PK. So I'm not your typical Bollywood client.

[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] I love Veer Zaara to one of my all time favourite bollywood movies, in a way it's good that movies like that don't come out; they soften you up, I like to be heartless :afridi every song in that movie was amazing as well and the narrative was so emotionally driven, I think it does get its due in terms of credit but Swades is probably SRK's most underrated movie

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] When did I droop so low in taste :broad ??

What is the source of your good taste guys, are you like from the privileged class in your countries ? because those in poverty probably are not exposed as much to all the good stuff, then again I should either be dead or in jail and in the inner city am strangely different given that environmental and personal factors did not influence me as much as it did them but the UK is still not Pak/Ind where the masala stuff is rampant

Every time Virat Kohli checks the pitch and see's that it is flat he is like:

Janam dekh lo mit ge eh dooriya mai ya ha hoon vah ha hoon ya ha hoon va ha :kohli

[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION]

I just had a flash back of my Afro carribean teacher singing that Veer Zara title song :)) he was a big fan of SRK and his movies, little things like these people do not know when it comes to how big a star SRK is and how he helped resurrect Bollywood globally across all audiences and not Just indians and pakistani's

Every time Virat Kohli checks the pitch and see's that it is flat he is like:

Janam dekh lo mit ge eh dooriya mai ya ha hoon vah ha hoon ya ha hoon va ha :kohli

[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION]

Lmao!!!!

And when he scores a ton on an Indian highway. "Aisa Des he mera ho aisa des he mera"

Lmao!!!!

And when he scores a ton on an Indian highway. "Aisa Des he mera ho aisa des he mera"

You legend

And when he fails to lateral movement:

Do Pal Ruka Khwabon Ka Karvan
Aur Phir Chal Diyeh Flat Pitch Kahan Tu Kahaan

What is the source of your good taste guys, are you like from the privileged class in your countries ? because those in poverty probably are not exposed as much to all the good stuff, then again I should either be dead or in jail and in the inner city am strangely different given that environmental and personal factors did not influence me as much as it did them but the UK is still not Pak/Ind where the masala stuff is rampant

Nothing to do with wealth. 2 things. My father loves thriller movies and showed them to me as a kid so I developed taste in movies with a good plot etc. And secondly, as arrogant as this may sound, I just feel I have an amazing taste in all types of entertainment be it movies, games or music. People here in Canada are well off but that doesn't stop them from watching Riverdale when they haven't seen the Sooranos yet. It's just about the mentality. I'm glad I'm not like that

You legend

And when he fails to lateral movement:

Do Pal Ruka Khwabon Ka Karvan
Aur Phir Chal Diyeh Flat Pitch Kahan Tu Kahaan

When he tours overseas and sees grass on the wicket.

"Lahraati Hui Raahein,
Khole Hue Hain Baanhein
Yeh Hum Aa Gaye Hain Kahaan
Palkon Pe Gahre Halke,
Ye hum aa Gaye hain Kahaan"

Have heard it,the thing that worked for it was all the songs were actually old and unreleased by composer Madan Mohan.

As a movie it was too dramatic for my liking,which was the case for me with most Yash Chopra romantics except Darr,Lamhe in his last years

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] when he gets dismissed by Anderson on India's next Test series in England.

"Hum to bhai jaise hain, waise rahen ge"

When he tours overseas and sees grass on the wicket.

"Lahraati Hui Raahein,
Khole Hue Hain Baanhein
Yeh Hum Aa Gaye Hain Kahaan
Palkon Pe Gahre Halke,
Ye hum aa Gaye hain Kahaan"

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] when he gets dismissed by Anderson on India's next Test series in England.

"Hum to bhai jaise hain, waise rahen ge"

:)) Anderson is likely to miss that tour, Eid will come early for Virat

He was referring to my opinions in the Hollywood related pages.

I grew up watching films in 4 languages right from childhood. Malayalam, Tamil, Hindi and English. All 4 have completely different tastes.

My dad worked in Kuwait back then, so getting Tapes of hollywood movies (especially animated films), Hong Kong action films, Malayalam/Tamil films etc was easy (due to diaspora). Back then without cable, there was only 2 Doordarshan channels, which showed hindi films on weekends, so we all saw them by default.

I have been collecting/watching Hollywood films (torrents :asif) since class 10 and have a much wider exposure to cinema than my peers . That's all. Its up to others to decide if I have good taste in films or not.

He was referring to my opinions in the Hollywood related pages.

I grew up watching films in 4 languages right from childhood. Malayalam, Tamil, Hindi and English. All 4 have completely different tastes.

My dad worked in Kuwait back then, so getting Tapes of hollywood movies (especially animated films), Hong Kong action films, Malayalam/Tamil films etc was easy (due to diaspora). Back then without cable, there was only 2 Doordarshan channels, which showed hindi films on weekends, so we all saw them by default.

I have been collecting/watching Hollywood films (torrents :asif) since class 10 and have a much wider exposure to cinema than my peers . That's all. Its up to others to decide if I have good taste in films or not.

I am a pakistani but have huge love for old bollywood movies and south indian movies directed by mani ratnam or if any movie has kamal hassan. One of kamal hassan movie has the best soundtrack. It is called thevar magan.

As for bollywood, i think dil se is the best alongwith pakeezah.

I am a pakistani but have huge love for old bollywood movies and south indian movies directed by mani ratnam or if any movie has kamal hassan. One of kamal hassan movie has the best soundtrack. It is called thevar magan.

As for bollywood, i think dil se is the best alongwith pakeezah.

Thevar Magan is a classic. Scored by Ilayaraja, who is the only music director who can claim to be greater than ARR here, he was limited only by the technology of his times.

Try "Nayagan" as well from Kamal, once it made the Time top 100 films list as the only Indian film, back in early 2000's.

Among 'Mani ratnam' films I think "Iruvar", "Thalapathy" , "Alaipayuthey" and "Kannathil Muthamittal" have the best soundtracks

Finally, some support !
[MENTION=1697]jusarrived[/MENTION] How did you feel listening to it for the first time ? I was completely blown away, the edgy songs and all the rock/heavy metal used for the background score. It was a complete U turn from what was expected from bollywood.

Finally, some support !
[MENTION=1697]jusarrived[/MENTION] How did you feel listening to it for the first time ? I was completely blown away, the edgy songs and all the rock/heavy metal used for the background score. It was a complete U turn from what was expected from bollywood.

Loved everything about the movie , the songs offcourse where something I never expected from Bollywood . I always liked Abhay Deol , so went watching with a couple of friends for a late night show . When we walked out of the theatre all of us knew we had to get high lol

Muqaddar Ka Sikander from 1978 for me. Ashaaqui from the 1990's is awesome as well.

Thevar Magan is a classic. Scored by Ilayaraja, who is the only music director who can claim to be greater than ARR here, he was limited only by the technology of his times.

Try "Nayagan" as well from Kamal, once it made the Time top 100 films list as the only Indian film, back in early 2000's.

Among 'Mani ratnam' films I think "Iruvar", "Thalapathy" , "Alaipayuthey" and "Kannathil Muthamittal" have the best soundtracks

I have seen Nayagan. Its score was also very good. Especially the main song which i think was sung by ilayraja himself.

None...but someone mentioned Dil Se...that actually had some decent music. Not surprised it was AR Rehman. He should come to Pakistan. I recently watched a coke studio episode of his and was thoroughly disappointed. Indians were good at classical singing...I loved Kishore and Asha Bhosle (Lata is no where close to her sister) but the new generation music is terribly weak and has no soul. Lets not forget, almost all Bollywood songs are a copy of some of foreign song.

Sholay, Anand, and dev d

Good choices. On a side note Anand is probably in my top 3 Bollywood movies of all time. Sholay is very good but I think it's overrated. Anand is better. People don't talk about it enough

Loved everything about the movie , the songs offcourse where something I never expected from Bollywood . I always liked Abhay Deol , so went watching with a couple of friends for a late night show . When we walked out of the theatre all of us knew we had to get high lol

I was shocked watching it for the first time. Last time I felt the same was when I saw Company(2002). Both these films were pathbreaking , against-the-grain efforts of Usual bollywood.

Its sad that Abhay Deol never went on to have a big career.

None...but someone mentioned Dil Se...that actually had some decent music. Not surprised it was AR Rehman. He should come to Pakistan. I recently watched a coke studio episode of his and was thoroughly disappointed. Indians were good at classical singing...I loved Kishore and Asha Bhosle (Lata is no where close to her sister) but the new generation music is terribly weak and has no soul. Lets not forget, almost all Bollywood songs are a copy of some of foreign song.

Rahman has his roots in South Indian film music. He's from a family of musicians. But compared to previous southern musicians, what Rahman did was , he adapted his music style to suit Bollywood sensibilities a lot better. The huge sufi influence on his songs, using urdu/hindustani classical music exponents like Asha/Latha all helped make the adaptation successful. Dilse is the best example of that .

Post 2000 his music style has evolved to take a far more "world music" fusion theme. Now his music mostly feels a bit "pop" like , compared to the distinctive Tamil/Urdu touch his songs used to have.

Good choices. On a side note Anand is probably in my top 3 Bollywood movies of all time. Sholay is very good but I think it's overrated. Anand is better. People don't talk about it enough

Sholay was a box office smash too . That make its very different from the rest. And that movie crossed language barriers in India. It had a story and characters that didn't need much hindi comprehensibility from the non-hindi population of India to enjoy. The flocked to theatres in droves to watch it . The 70mm film screens which were introduced with it helped too. So even when Anand, Mother India, Awaara etc are considered ATG classics, Sholay has a special place among pan indians.

Aanand is severely underrated.Boy the songs it had!
On par with one of the greatest films of all time.

Everyone is calling Anand underrated but most of us use IMDB for ratings,and among the genuine ratings it takes the top spot.

http://www.imdb.com/chart/top-indian-movies

Hrishikesh Mukherjee has always been my fav director,the way he has handled middle class issues is nothing but remarkable,at times with movies being set in only flats (Mili).

Long ago he made movies on issues where fans take bollywood stars seriously (Guddi) and also how everyone runs away to bombay to become a movie star and fails, his comedies like Chupke Chupke,Golmaal and Khoobsurat are gold as well.

Imo though still Satyakam is his masterpiece and that is actually underrated movie of not only him but also Dharmendra's, surprisingly Namak Haram based on similar socialist principles was a huge hit.

Muqqadar Ka sikander.... Great choice.

Listen to Anand. You will like it. Lyrics are amazing.

Sure thing "Anand" is a cracker as well with many tears in the songs. They just don't make them like that anymore, old is gold! Today's lyrics have no meaning.

I have only brought a few tapes of Indian songs and the last of which was Raja Hindustani. Found the instrumentals and songs to be very good.

DDLJ and Baazigar.

Qayamat se Qayamat tak also a good one.

The Bollywood movie Dus had a great soundtrack. I mean the Abhishek Bachchan one. Music by Vishal-Shekhar.

So too had "Kaantey", the Reservoir Dogs ripoff.

The unfinished/unreleased DUS (Salman Khan-Sanjay Dutt) might have had the ATG patriotic song in an Indian film .

I loved Guru, Dil Chahta hai, many of Swades songs, Dil Se, Taal and Rang de Basanti

A R Rahman soundtracks of the 90s were out of this world. To be honest, he was never a crowd pleaser in those days. That is the reason his music in those days had very traditional Indian and sufi roots. Apart from his more famous sound tracks from movies like Dil Se, Taal or Rangeela, there were many less popular ones like Sapnay, Roja, Jeans. Man those were the days. He doesn't make the same music anymore.

Best sound track of a Bollywood film for me has to be : Dil To Pagal Hai
I watched the film in a Bombay Cinema when it was released the housefull experience of a SRK film in India was something I will remember for a long long time.

Surprised no one mentioned Tum Bin from 2000.

Absolutely fantastic.

Barfi
Rockstar
Dil Se
Kaho Na Pyaar Hai
Aashiqui 2
Gangster
Life in a Metro

Why do you like veer zaara? It's a story about a Pakistani girl getting with an Indian soldier and then he gets shown as the victim.