Which bowler would you prefer between Yasir Shah and Ravichandran Ashwin in Tests?

Who would you prefer between Yasir Shah and Ravichandran Ashwin (Tests)?

• Yasir Shah

Votes: 118 62.1%
  • Ravichandran Ashwin

Votes: 72 37.9%

Why are you guys bothered about Bilal ji's opinion is something I don't understand.

He knows all the stats fellas.

Move on.

If Ajmal was here, he surely could have done something. Never mind the fact that he was 1/111 in the only innings he bowled in Aus.

I shudder to think what legal Ajmal would go through in Aus.

Away from Home Ashwin averages 33

Away from Home Bishoo averages 33

Away from UAE Yasir averages 39

After Sydney test it would be 45 for Yasir.

Yasir has a terrific attitude for a spinner, I like that aspect about him. There's no shame in being an inferior to Ashwin. Both Ashwin and Kohli are our top-tier Cricketers.

Yes average of 33 vs average of 40 in England and Ashwin is a failure. Average of 50 v 90 in Australia. In SA he has bowled in one match for God's sake
If you really think Ashwin outperformed Yasir in England then either you don't understand cricket or its plain bias

Ashwins wiped the floor with Yasir in Aus though. He bowled well despite the 48 average or so and always bowled a tight economical line and I think came off the tour as a much better bowler

Why are you guys bothered about Bilal ji's opinion is something I don't understand.

Move on.

If Ajmal was here, he surely could have done something. Never mind the fact that he was 1/111 in the only innings he bowled in Aus.

The 1/111 ajmal was legal one. He'd passed a test around that period

Though I doubt the full chucking 2013-14 ajmal would have done much

Shah has been severely let down by the pacers and the management. He's overworked, unfit but still has to bowl at the opening batsmen in almost every innings. Next year's easy test schedule will do him a world of good.

However, it has to be said. Yasir Shah is no Saeed Ajmal. Ajmal carried our attack for a good three years and would have continued to do so if he wasn't banned. Shah has carried our attack for an year and a half but it is already taking its toll.

Yasir is miles better than Ajmal for the simple reason that he's a "bowler".

If you really think Ashwin outperformed Yasir in England then either you don't understand cricket or its plain bias

Ashwins wiped the floor with Yasir in Aus though. He bowled well despite the 48 average or so and always bowled a tight economical line and I think came off the tour as a much better bowler

He was responding to the comment about Ash being a failure in Eng. So he used stats as comparison.

I don't think anyone seriously believes Ash in two innings had a better series than Yasir in a overall way.

But when its claimed he failed, they bring in stats. He was neither a success nor a failure. Just insufficient data.

This is turning into a disastrous comparison. Ashwin is comfortably better.

Those who called Yasir better are not budging now because of their egos.

I know stats dont tell everything but Yasir stats are nowhere near what a world class spinner playing hiAlf of his games in Asia should have.

You need to beat the batsman in flight on unresponsive pitches. Disappointing that he has failed to adopt. Even Azhar has been more threatening than him.

He is there in Aus to play cricket. Not build a family.

Welcome to the forum mate. Legend is back. :D

Move on.

haha. there comes a time when you realise that whatever logic you put in front go him, he is not going to budge from his views.

Yes average of 33 vs average of 40 in England and Ashwin is a failure. Average of 50 v 90 in Australia. In SA he has bowled in one match for God's sake

Well if Ashwin was a failure, then Yasir was a disaster.

Please check the records sir. He has 21 wickets in Aus.

Played one test in SA, that too 6 overs in 1st innings.

2 tests in England.

Hes done way way better than Yasir...

Yasir has won Pakistan two matches in England. Ashwin hasn't even won them a session.

In Australia, both of them have been terrible. Not interested in talking about who has been less of a failure than the other.

Ashwin only played one match in South Africa because he was terrible in that one match. I expect Shah to do well there.

In Sri Lanka, they have both been equally good but I would give Shah the advantage because he did not have the spin support that Ashwin had.

Ashwin has generally received friendlier pitches at home, compared to Shah. However, they're both quite good at dismantling teams apart at home (neutral venue in Shah's case).

Minnows don't matter. So all in all, Shah has done better than Ashwin even though these four tests down under have hurt his reputation.

Yasir has won Pakistan two matches in England. Ashwin hasn't even won them a session.

In Australia, both of them have been terrible. Not interested in talking about who has been less of a failure than the other.

Ashwin only played one match in South Africa because he was terrible in that one match. I expect Shah to do well there.

In Sri Lanka, they have both been equally good but I would give Shah the advantage because he did not have the spin support that Ashwin had.

Ashwin has generally received friendlier pitches at home, compared to Shah. However, they're both quite good at dismantling teams apart at home (neutral venue in Shah's case).

Minnows don't matter. So all in all, Shah has done better than Ashwin even though these four tests down under have hurt his reputation.

So your qualifiers are
1. Who has been poorer in Aus doesnt matter - Obviously, it doesnt matter. Because, clearly Yasir has been poorer.
2. SA - Ashwin played one match, so its good to judge him there. Again, plays in your favour.
3. SL - Ashwin's record is not as good because he had better support bowlers. Obviously, the fact that his wickets tally will be shared with other bowlers is not accounted for. Same for Ashwin's home record.
4. Minnows (read Bangladesh) dont matter - Of course, because Ashwin had a better series.

Whats next in Bilal logic?

You may not be interested in their Australian performance, but those who are unbiased do care. Also, like you said Yasir won Pak two matches in Eng, we could be saying tomorrow that he lost Pak 3 matches in Aus.

You have to be blind one-eyed jingoistic fan to still rate Yasir ahead of Ashwin. Yasir is getting the trundler treatment in Australia. Not even an ounce of respect is shown to him by the opposition. Some medium paced dollies bowled by batsman would have worked better for Pakistan instead of letting Yasir bowl at an eco of 9.

So your qualifiers are
1. Who has been poorer in Aus doesnt matter - Obviously, it doesnt matter. Because, clearly Yasir has been poorer.
2. SA - Ashwin played one match, so its good to judge him there. Again, plays in your favour.
3. SL - Ashwin's record is not as good because he had better support bowlers. Obviously, the fact that his wickets tally will be shared with other bowlers is not accounted for. Same for Ashwin's home record.
4. Minnows (read Bangladesh) dont matter - Of course, because Ashwin had a better series.

Whats next in Bilal logic?

Did you just repeat everything I said? Not my fault that Ashwin has minnow-bashed and been spood-fed dozens of wickets on rank turners. Also, why blame me for criticizing Ashwin when he was so horrible that he was dropped in South Africa? That is humiliating.

I really wouldn't be proud of saying that my horse beat yours, if both of them came dead last in a race but if that sates your ego, yes Ashwin has been better in Australia. He even had to bowl on tougher pitches.

Bilal logic certainly trumps the delusional claims your guys are making.

You may not be interested in their Australian performance, but those who are unbiased do care. Also, like you said Yasir won Pak two matches in Eng, we could be saying tomorrow that he lost Pak 3 matches in Aus.

Be my guest. Are you the kind of person who gets happy that he got a D, just because his friend got an F?

No, Pakistan's poor batting in the first innings of the first test and poor bowling by the pacers in the next two test matches is what lost them the test series.

I am quite aware of the consequences which is why I have already mentioned that his stock has fallen after his four most recent tests.

Try not to contradict yourself in the space of a few posts.

Why isn't he bowling in the team now?:ajmal

He's banned. Next, you'll ask me why and I'll tell you because his action was found faulty. Then you'll claim that this proves that he is a chucker (accompanied by several emojis and smileys) and I'll inform you that he was cleared by the ICC; allowed to bowl, which he did with great success; and was banned when the ICC changed their testing procedures but still stayed on the top of the ODI rankings for months afterwards. If he had done anything wrong, the ICC would have shamed him.

This has been done to death so kindly refrain from taking this thread off-topic.

He's banned. Next, you'll ask me why and I'll tell you because his action was found faulty. Then you'll claim that this proves that he is a chucker (accompanied by several emojis and smileys) and I'll inform you that he was cleared by the ICC; allowed to bowl, which he did with great success; and was banned when the ICC changed their testing procedures but still stayed on the top of the ODI rankings for months afterwards. If he had done anything wrong, the ICC would have shamed him.

This has been done to death so kindly refrain from taking this thread off-topic.

I thought he was allowed to bowl again.

Didn't he bowl in the Bangladesh ODI series?

Try not to contradict yourself in the space of a few posts.

"So all in all, Shah has done better than Ashwin even though these four tests down under have hurt his reputation."

In all three posts, I have mentioned how Shah's poor performance in this tour has hurt his stock and you seem to think that I am somehow contradicting myself. I am simply not interested to talk about their performances in Australia because both of them have failed and done nothing of note.

I thought he was allowed to bowl again.

Didn't he bowl in the Bangladesh ODI series?

With a changed action. Ask Yasir and Ashwin to change their actions completely and they'll get tonked around too. Don't derail this thread.

Ashwin Yasir both have legal actions.

Why do they need to change it?

yasir was tonked around in bang by tamim.ashwin got 5 fer.

yasir avgs infinite in nz.

Its too much fun seeing people make new excuses to defend yasir as he is getting a beating if a life time in every innings.worst economy rate in test cricket,fastest hundred,fastest double hundred conceded by a bowler.

That's like a student got caught cheating and was made to change his place only to underperform and then wanting other students who did not cheat to change their places just to "even the playing field".

Doesn't work that way, Bhai!

Its too much fun seeing people make new excuses to defend yasir as he is getting a beating if a life time in every innings.worst economy rate in test cricket,fastest hundred,fastest double hundred conceded by a bowler.

Just one person.

I prefer Yasir as he is a leg spinner. It also proves that he is more talented as leg spin bowlers are a rare breed. :tahir

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] i have mentioned his name but moderator jeetu ji changed it to people instead of bilal

Ashwin is edging ahead. Hopeful that Yasir will bounce back for the next series

Depends. Ashwin would be the MVP for any team looking at him on the whole. His ability to not only bat but also get big scores is commendable and the fact that he is not just a bowler who can bat but rather an all rounder makes it very easy to make the decision. Then on the the other hand, Yasir is agile in the field and easily the best Pakistani fielder who always saves runs compared to a fairly lethargic Ashwin However, if you ignore both players batting/fielding ability and focus solely on the bowling, it would be a slightly more difficult decision to make.

Ashwin doesn't exactly have an awesome record in Australia. He averages 55. But maybe, not as bad as Yasir. But then again, this was Yasir's first tour down under and will only get better with time and because of smaller sample size, it would be hard to say Ashwin is better in Australian conditions.

As for England, it is quite evident that Yasir would be the better bowler. In RSA/NewZ, both have played too few tests to be judged.

The most important point however is that both are absolute beasts in home conditions. Both perform extremely well and get wickets for fun but the decision as to who would be the preferable player lies in who is the bigger warrior in home conditions. Ashwin, in this suit, would probably edge over Shah as he always gets majority of the wickets for his team. So for now, Ashwin. But only time will tell who is the best.

Yasir Bhaee now averages 37.88 with the ball outside UAE with 61 wickets at a strike rate of 65.90 in 14 Tests

1. In Australia he has this record :

3Tests 8 wickets at an average of 84.00 and a strike rate of 111.10

2. In England he has this record :

4Tests 19 wickets at an average of 40.73 and a strike rate of 75.10

Comparison after 25 matches:

Ashwin 124 wickets, average 30.20
Yasir 141 wickets, average 30.06

:salute :salute :salute

Yasir really needs to pick his game up from becoming a good decent leg-spinner to an amazing legend of a leggie...

ashwin has done it but he is still one leg ponny, i believe most indians would go for Kumble as being a more complete spinner for all conditions than ashwin but tht doesnt mean he isnt on his way to being a gr8 of the game

both guys has potential to be gr8z of the game , neither would be an ATG, just not tht good but both need to uplift themselves to be the gr8z

Brilliant performance by Yasir Shah in this series but wish number of runs he gave were less.

That's like a student got caught cheating and was made to change his place only to underperform and then wanting other students who did not cheat to change their places just to "even the playing field".

Doesn't work that way, Bhai!

The most awful analogy I have ever read on the subject. I guess you have never played cricket and do not know how difficult it is to change your bowling action at 20, let alone at 38. The fact that Ajmal did manage to do so (about bowling thousands of deliveries) speaks volumes about his determination and grit. A true champion and a better test match bowler than both Shah and Ashwin.

But according to the same Chuck Master previously, he couldn't afford to bowl with a proper bowling action, it was impossible for him to do so because of a deformity of his. Suddenly after he was caught thieving wickets and his action was banned, his deformity suddenly immediately somehow disappeared and he was able to do something that according to him previously was impossible for him to do so because of his deformity i.e start bowling with a proper action within the limits.

Liar, liar, pants on fire! And don't even have the nerve to compare legit legal bowlers with a thief like him. A champion? Maybe one in thieving, but not in anything else.

But according to the same Chuck Master previously, he couldn't afford to bowl with a proper bowling action, it was impossible for him to do so because of a deformity of his. Suddenly after he was caught thieving wickets and his action was banned, his deformity suddenly immediately somehow disappeared and he was able to do something that according to him previously was impossible for him to do so because of his deformity i.e start bowling with a proper action within the limits.

Liar, liar, pants on fire! And don't even have the nerve to compare legit legal bowlers with a thief like him. A champion? Maybe one in thieving, but not in anything else.

Any source for your allegations?

He most definitely was a "legit" bowler. Which is why he remained at the top of the ICC ODI rankings for months after he was banned from bowling with his old action. He never bowled a single, illegal delivery in his life and operated under the ICC rules of the time.

Ash in SC cause of batting, yasir outside

That's the way I see it