Which league has the better fast-bowlers - IPL or PSL?

Ok there is Saini. Also Chahar has a hattrick in T20 Is and that too against your team :)) and has done nothing wrong in any of the international chances he got, why is he worse than some of these random bench players of PSL?

Mohit Sharma outperformed every Pak bowler bar Wahab in the 2015 WC, how is he any different from international TTF’s that play in PSL?

Also Indian management will not allow exposing u-19 fast bowling talent and other promising youngsters in a punishing T20 format unless they are famous as T20 specialists like say Bumrah was when he came on to the scene.

If Boult and Pattinson can do the hard yards, play someone like Sandeep Sharma while giving someone like Mavi,Nagarkotti,Tyagi,Porel,Avesh Khan etc enough exposure by training and getting coached by international trainers.

There is a reason why Shaheen and Nadeem are in the Squad after 1 PSL season and let’s put aside fast bowlers because I cannot convince stubborn mikes who made up their mind that this still the 1980’s Indian attack but there is also a reason why someone like Samson or Gill haven’t been regulars of the national side despite having stellar IPl performances.

We have what is called a “system” to get players in.

Hope that was articulated enough for you

Shaheen outperformed bumra in 2019 world cup

You would never know, because IPL has the best batsmen and stats might make the bowlers appear better in PSL but unless they bowl against the batsmen of IPL one can't say.

Ygm stick to the agenda is pakistan bench stronger than india bench!

Serious question though, If Pakistan has such a super bench strength why do they play 2 19 year olds in all 3 formats? You know what the definition of bench is right? It means there is your main set of bowlers and then there are back ups.

If your main 2 bowlers are 19 year old bowlers and you are rebuilding then you should have a pool of 8-9 international fast bowlers and have a 2nd and 3rd string attack?

I see the same Amir and Shaheen be it against Australia or Zimbabwe or recalling Wahab or desperately getting in ‘16’ year old bowlers.

Or is PSL different from Pakistan cricket?

India tried some of their bench pacers. They almost lost 1-2 to Bangladesh at home. Bangladesh beat India in Delhi.

It shows their bench pacers are not that good.

IPL is mostly all about batting. India have great batsmen and there are also some great foreign imports.

And a first string Pakistan got white washed by a 3rd string Srilanka in T20. May be you watch Indian cricket a lot more than other series. Don’t blame you though

SL have a habit of winning out of nowhere. They also won 2-0 in South Africa. They are a very unusual side. They lost 0-2 (ODI) and 0-1 (Test) to same Pakistan.

Point is, Indian bench pacers aren't that great currently. They struggled against a Bangladeshi team that had no Shakib.

SL have a habit of winning out of nowhere. They also won 2-0 in South Africa. They are a very unusual side. They lost 0-2 (ODI) and 0-1 (Test) to same Pakistan.

Point is, Indian bench pacers aren't that great. They struggled against a Bangladeshi team that had no Shakib.

So wait I am confused.

Let me draw my conclusions here

Bangladesh is a 1 man team because of
no Shakib makes them 2nd string? Ok I guess that makes sense

India loses 1 freakinT20 game and that too due to a good Mushfiqur knock who may be you don’t rate but I think is a pretty good player and by the way wins the series super comfortably 2-1 with a bench strength side -but you draw the conclusion Indias bench strength Is poor

Srilanka at their lowest point sure win a series in SA but most of those players including the guy who played that freakish knock don’t travel to Pakistan and play their 2nd or 3rs string side but apparently this is a very obvious quality that they win from anywhere so that is an excuse. That by the way is one hell of an excuse. May I steal it?

Now Pakistan loses 3-0 with a first string squad but your conclusion is their bench strength is strong but they lost due to this above factor of Srilanka’s unpredictability but hey so what Pakistan has an amazing bench strength

Your previous post is the most epic post I have ever read, you can interpret that as a compliment :)))

Bhai that post was for the trolls, let me know what you think of my post above. debates should be constructive.

I think, the topic is about the over all pace bowling quality of IPL vs PSL - that’s the best 20 overs each team can put, or more specifically roughly 12 pace overs that fast bowlers will put, regardless of nationality. I think, it’s not even contest and if I start to do it team by team and bowler by bowler - it’ll end up ugly. But then, few weeks back an ATG former PAK pacer tried to prove it otherwise, hence you can’t blame PP to be honest.

Having said that, I think compared to other formats, PAK bowling is better in T20 while opposite for India and that’s also reflected in respective domestic premium T20 leagues. The reason is not the quality of bowling rather the format - T20 is a different ball game all together, hence the bowling skills & KPIs here are a bit different. You take top five Indian pacers - Bumrah, Shami, Ishant, BK & UYafav - apart from Bumrah other four are very good user of the seem & conventional skills - some thing essential for the longer game when batsmen are not in a mad rush to go after, but these bowlers will set up nicely to hit through the line in T20 to go after for their invitational line & length - May be Shami can manage better. While, PAK pacers might lack bowling discipline and the intelligence to set up a batsman, but they can produce balls here & there which will get you out if you loosen your guard (means go after without merit of the ball).

Take three PAK pacers - Wahab, Hasnain & Rauf, you can add Dilbar as well; apart from Wahab other three hardly have played any FC games, but they are good T20 bowlers, because that game’s demand is different skill set. Similarly, Shadab or Imad are faaaaaar better spinner in T20 than longer version - when batsmen are forced to go after..... bowling first you’ll hardly see these two spinners taking any wicket between over no. 11-40, when batsmen are happy to milk 4-5 singles and build partnership. Also, PSL has two less teams means domestic top resources are less distributed. In that regard, I do agree that if PSL & IPL is played with “home grown” players only, PSL pace stock is better than IPL; but overall bowling will probably be in IPL’s favour because of the two spinners - PAK’s spin stock is alarmingly limited.

It depends on how you see the game actually. Take two hypothetical games - first one, team bats first and scores 151 ... then wins by 17 runs. Second game, team bats first and scores 197/9 - opponents chase it like 203/5 in 19’2. You can explain those games like this - 1st game- bowling is so good .... 2nd game batting is so good OR 1st game - batting is so poor & 2nd game - bowling is tundler ..... for me, I take it that the balance of bat and ball for any particular tournament is more or less per - in T20, you don’t get “batting heavy” or “bowling heavy” tournament because the teams are selected on draft basis - that’s the key for that balance. Now, IPL picks most of the top players in world - obviously the quality will be by far best. For IPL, I’ll explain that first game as one played on difficult conditions hence it was low scoring (both team struggled) and from the winners couple of bowlers raised their game in a tight contest. While exactly opposite for the second game - in very good batting conditions (hence both teams scored lot in a high quality contest) couple of world class batsmen didn’t let it go while chasing.

So wait I am confused.

Let me draw my conclusions here

Bangladesh is a 1 man team because of
no Shakib makes them 2nd string? Ok I guess that makes sense

India loses 1 freakinT20 game and that too due to a good Mushfiqur knock who may be you don’t rate but I think is a pretty good player and by the way wins the series super comfortably 2-1 with a bench strength side -but you draw the conclusion Indias bench strength Is poor

Srilanka at their lowest point sure win a series in SA but most of those players including the guy who played that freakish knock don’t travel to Pakistan and play their 2nd or 3rs string side but apparently this is a very obvious quality that they win from anywhere so that is an excuse. That by the way is one hell of an excuse. May I steal it?

Now Pakistan loses 3-0 with a first string squad but your conclusion is their bench strength is strong but they lost due to this above factor of Srilanka’s unpredictability but hey so what Pakistan has an amazing bench strength

Your previous post is the most epic post I have ever read, you can interpret that as a compliment :)))

I am sorry that you are confused.

SL are a very unusual team. They beat India in 2017 Champions Trophy but also lost to Afghanistan during 2018 Asia Cup. They also beat England in 2019 World Cup (something India couldn't do). They have been highly inconsistent since the retirements of Sanga, Mahela etc.

Pakistan are currently struggling in Test but they are still pretty good in LOI. Their pace bench strength in LOI is pretty good. I think it is better than India's.

I thought we were debating about Indian bench pacers and Pakistani bench pacers. I didn't know likes of Rabada were Indians.

Also, some of these IPL players also play in PSL.

Read the thread title.

Which of them play psl?

India tried some of their bench pacers. They almost lost 1-2 to Bangladesh at home. Bangladesh beat India in Delhi.

It shows their bench pacers are not that good.

IPL is mostly all about batting. India have great batsmen and there are also some great foreign imports.

What is almost lost?

India lost the 1st match yes.

Then went onto win the next two matches by 8 wickets(chased in 16 overs) and then won by 30 runs.

Chahar took 6 for 7. The best T20I figures ever. Lol at struggle and lost and not good enough.

Pakistani bench strength is obviously better but the thread is about ipl vs psl bowling quality.
Almost all top class bowlers play in ipl, how can psl be better.?

Pakistan's fast bowlers have had a free pass since the decline and phase out of Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis in the late-90s/early-2000s.

From Mohammad Sami to Naseem Shah to everyone in between, every next one is treated as a boy wonder and a potentially 22-averaging all-format beast, except that his career is seemingly over by the time his age is 22.

And then they move on to hype the next one on the line.

The best international batsmen and best bowlers in the world play in the IPL.

Apart from a 4 match purple patch in the 2017 Champions Trophy, the Indian bowlers have consistently outperformed Pakistani bowlers in international cricket during the PSL era.

Indian bowlers also do better than their Pakistani counterparts in junior cricket.

However, Pakistani fans still try to sell us the dummy that the quality of bowling in PSL is better than IPL.

As the great Mirza Ghalib succinctly stated:

“Hum ko maloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat lekin
Dil ko khush rakhnay ko Ghalib ye khayal achha hai”

:101:

The best international batsmen and best bowlers in the world play in the IPL.

Apart from a 4 match purple patch in the 2017 Champions Trophy, the Indian bowlers have consistently outperformed Pakistani bowlers in international cricket during the PSL era.

Indian bowlers also do better than their Pakistani counterparts in junior cricket.

However, Pakistani fans still try to sell us the dummy that the quality of bowling in PSL is better than IPL.

As the great Mirza Ghalib succinctly stated:

“Hum ko maloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat lekin
Dil ko khush rakhnay ko Ghalib ye khayal achha hai”

:101:
Yes, Shivam Dube, Vijay Shankar and Shivam Dube are the worlds best bowlers

People here like to make fun of Faheem Ashraf but

Faheem>> Chahar, Vijay Shankar Sandeep, Dube, Nataranjan

Imam Ul Haq has a different opinion as far as Vijay Shankar's bowling is concerned :))

Maybe you should have mentioned Shivam Dube thrice.

RCB and SRH are arguably the weakest IPL teams in terms of fast bowling resources, but they are probably still on par with the best PSL bowling attacks, which sums up the humongous gap between the two.

Pakistani batsmen - and their fans - have little clout to have a go at Indian bowlers.

In 2020, there are people vehemently arguing that bowlers like Deepak Chahar and Mohit Sharma are better than Junaid Khan, Hassan Ali and Shinwari.

India A list pace bowlers

Navdeep Saini (genuine gun bowler)
Mohammad Shami (solid)
Jasprit Bumrah (Decline)
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (hard worker)
Ishant Sharma (Decent)

Pakistan A list bowlers

Shaheen Afridi (massively overrated IMO but a quality bowler)
Mohammad Amir (experience and class)
Mohammad Hasnain (Good T20 bowler, quicker than all Indians)
Wahab Riaz (one of the best T20 bowlers in the world)
Harris Rauf (Solid Pace, great Yorker, emerging and developing)
Dilbar Hussain (Solid pace, good bowler)

Pakistan A list bowlers

Shaheen Afridi (a good bowler, but needs to carry on and not disappear)
Mohammad Amir (fortunate to get banned when he did, nevertheless averaged 30 before and after)
Mohammad Hasnain (A 20-year old flavour of the month who averages 46 in First Class Cricket)
Wahab Riaz (a 2-match has been/never was one)
Harris Rauf (26 years old who has played all of 5 games)
Dilbar Hussain (27 years old yet has barely played anything either)

Edited for accuracy.

Now let’s look at Pakistan’s bench bowlers who all feature in PSL, also the pace these bowlers bowl at.

1. Naseem Shah (145-150)
2. Junaid Khan (135-140)
3. Akif Javed (140)
4. Sohail Khan (135)
5. Muhammad Musa (145-147)
6. Mohammad Sami (140-145)
7. Hassan Ali (135-140)
8. Usman Shinwari (140)
9. Sameen Gul (140)
10. Mohammad Abbas (125-130)
11. Amir Khan (145)
12. Faheem Ashraf (135-140)
13. Ammad Butt (130)
14. Sohail Tanvir (125-130)
15. Mohammad Irfan (135-140)

I’m not sure if I’ve missed any prominent names to feature in the PSL. You seriously cannot argue that the IPL’s bench bowlers such as Chahar and Dube are on par in terms of quality with this list of names. IPL has the luxury of a good wage package and playing window to attract star bowlers of the world, otherwise the Indian pace resources are not good enough to carry the brand of IPL I’m afraid

I think it’s a valid argument to pose the question why India has been out performing Pakistan at international level even though on paper it seems that Pakistan is blessed with endless fast bowling resources, whereas India has done so well with a handful of names.

I don’t think it has anything to do with Pakistani bowlers being inferior to the Indians, however there is too much reliance on getting Waqar Younis to create world class magic from the current crop of bowlers the way he was able to do so with Amir/Asif/ Gul and Riaz in 2010 before the match fixing scandal. Waqar hasn’t been delivering. Azhar Mahmood was very lucky to have been the coach of Pakistan during a period when they had switched on to win 4 games in a row.

Pakistan have been lacking tremendously in the coaching department for some years now

Bumrah is better than Amir.
Shami is better than Usman Shinwari/ Junaid Khan/Hasan Ali
B Kumar is better than Sohail Khan/ Sohail Tanver etc.
Chahar is better than Hasan Ali.
Mohit Sharma is better than Abbas.
Wahab is better than Ishant Sharma.
Any u19 fast bowler of indian team can be easily better than Muhammad Amir Khan/ Muhammad Ilyas/ Arshad.
Saini is better than Rauf.
U Yaday is better than Naseem Shah.
Shaheen is better than nagarkoti.

Overall
Fast bowling

Cummins, Bumrah, Rabada, Boult, Pattinson etc are far better than any Pakistani bowler.

PSL has the better home grown fast bowlers overall, IPL probably edges the PSL however when it comes to the availability of foreigners though

Now let’s look at Pakistan’s bench bowlers who all feature in PSL, also the pace these bowlers bowl at.

1. Naseem Shah (145-150)
2. Junaid Khan (135-140)
3. Akif Javed (140)
4. Sohail Khan (135)
5. Muhammad Musa (145-147)
6. Mohammad Sami (140-145)
7. Hassan Ali (135-140)
8. Usman Shinwari (140)
9. Sameen Gul (140)
10. Mohammad Abbas (125-130)
11. Amir Khan (145)
12. Faheem Ashraf (135-140)
13. Ammad Butt (130)
14. Sohail Tanvir (125-130)
15. Mohammad Irfan (135-140)

I’m not sure if I’ve missed any prominent names to feature in the PSL. You seriously cannot argue that the IPL’s bench bowlers such as Chahar and Dube are on par in terms of quality with this list of names. IPL has the luxury of a good wage package and playing window to attract star bowlers of the world, otherwise the Indian pace resources are not good enough to carry the brand of IPL I’m afraid

We have a thriving long format domestic season where lots of young pacers are performing. Our A team has been exceptionally abroad on the back of these guys performances. Not being picked for IPL doesnt make the Indian bowling resources any less.

India and Pakistan have different cricketing culture with respect to promoting youngsters. You wont see a random tearaway get a game in India over a guy with experience straight away. For instance, Saini has been on the domestic circuit for quite a while but only got his IPL break last year. Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed were part of the India u19 team that finished runners up in 2016 , are both fast(140-145) but dont get picked for their franchises. At the same time a Priyam Garg or Devdutt Padikkal will be fast tracked into the setup. Thats because most teams prefer having a top overseas quick if they look at fast bowling to improve upon, not some teenager, which isnt the case for batting. If they are looking at spots to fill for Indian pacers they generally end up preferring the experienced guys and those who have shown temperament. Sandeep Sharma might seem useless on the outside but his lack of pace onto the bat, coupled with his slower ones make him difficult to get away. He is not expected to pick wickets but keep the runs down. Not something you would expect of a raw fast teenager.

Chahar who has been targetted, is a decent swing bowler who bowls with great control. Has done superbly in the international games he has played. His pace is 135ish and is handy with the bat. Iam pretty sure if Dhoni had a choice between him and the handful of pacers you listed above, he would still go with Chahar.

Anyway this is a long tournament, so you will be seeing lots of rotation. I would ask you to wait till the end before publishing such lists.

How was that first string? Shaheen and Hasan Ali were regulars in Pakistan T20 lineup from 2017 to 2019 leading Pak to no 1 T20 rankings (You can check the no of matches they played) and both were not available for the series.

The way everything Pak plays becomes main team and everything other teams play become second string is just astonishing.

Yes. As posters above have already mentioned, there is no doubt that PSL has more depth in local fast bowling resources or "talent". Scores of young exciting fast bowlers get exposure through the PSL which is not the case with the IPL. Due to the severe lack of quality home grown batsmen , PSL franchises are forced to fill their batting orders with foreign imports and with the 4 overseas players threshold, it's obvious that more local bowlers will get to play and shine.

Getting to the main question. Now can we say that PSL has better bowling standards or fast bowling standards just based on quantity? Maybe. Maybe not. It's subjective. First of all, what's the bar that has been set? Is the playing field even? There's no denying the fact that PSL bowlers have the advantage of bowling to inferior batsmen mostly on UAE wickets that aren't quite like the Wankhede or Mohali or Chinnaswamy. So no surprises on why they get better returns.

Not to put down their honest efforts or anything but we have to wait until these "talents" do something substantiate against decent to top teams/players before giving out judgements. Haris Rauf, Musa, Naseem, Hasnain have all played int'l cricket now and not one could justify their hype. There's simply no evidence to suggest that these are better than the likes of Saini, Chahar or Mavi right now.

I know I am am only a google search away from finding out who Dilbar Hussain is but my gut feel tells me he is just an imaginary and mythical character created to scare Indian fans lol.

Not to put down their honest efforts or anything but we have to wait until these "talents" do something substantiate against decent to top teams/players before giving out judgements. Haris Rauf, Musa, Naseem, Hasnain have all played int'l cricket now and not one could justify their hype. There's simply no evidence to suggest that these are better than the likes of Saini, Chahar or Mavi right now.

If a test hat-rick, test 5fer, getting so called fab 4 batsman Joe Root out twice in 3 completed innings in 7 tests and when you are not even 20 years of age doesnt make you better than the names you have mentioned then nothing will I guess.

With all the bench strength in Pakistan, they couldn’t find a replacement for Amir. I don’t want to get into why they had to.

Wahab Riaz debuted when my niece was in middle school and today she is a graduate working for a corporate and Wahab Riaz is still a mainstay of Pakistan attack.

Rohit Sharma and Dhawan might have ended Hasan Ali’s career for good.

I think Shinwari is a good bowler and surprising why he doesn’t play more often. Is it the bench strength?

Now we have Pakistan forced to go with cruicial test matches with 2 teenagers talented no doubt and a guy who bowls like Kumble lol.

Musa well I saw him in Australia. Don’t like writing off a youngster but a picture or should I say a video says a 1000 words.

Rauf again may be he is talented but what has he done to get so much hype? I see a good 140+ bowler. Even Srilanka and Bangladesh have multiple 140 bowlers. What’s the deal?

Now if you throw names like Dilbar Hussain and Mohabbat Shami and call them 180k bowlers who are manufactured in a lab well I would have to give in and admit PSL is greater.

In 2020, there are people vehemently arguing that bowlers like Deepak Chahar and Mohit Sharma are better than Junaid Khan, Hassan Ali and Shinwari.

Deepak Chahar has the best bowling figures in T20I, Ever.

Can’t wait to see the 125kmh thunderbolt bowlers Rajasthan and Kolkata have in store for us.

#AbsoluteHeat #IPL

If a test hat-rick, test 5fer, getting so called fab 4 batsman Joe Root out twice in 3 completed innings in 7 tests and when you are not even 20 years of age doesnt make you better than the names you have mentioned then nothing will I guess.

He averaged 69 in England against the so called "weakest English team" in decades. Averaged 68 in Australia. Please tell me did he justify the hype ? He did get Root out but so did Alzarri Joseph..... Averaging close to 70s is inexcusable even if you get Don Bradman out 10 times in a 5 match series.

Anyways. The discussion is about IPL (T20 cricket). So don't know why we're talking about Tests.

He averaged 69 in England against the so called "weakest English team" in decades. Averaged 68 in Australia. Please tell me did he justify the hype ? He did get Root out but so did Alzarri Joseph..... Averaging close to 70s is inexcusable even if you get Don Bradman out 10 times in a 5 match series.

There is no denying he struggled in Aus, England and he didnt live upto the expectations. However, hype is a pretty subjective term. I rated him as a good young prospect and still rate him, nobody said he is the best bowler in the world or is an ATG at the moment. Anyone can see their is potential in him at this young and that potential is regarded, expecting him to bulldoze batting lineups in overseas conditions at this age would be unrealistic.

At the same time comparing mid 20 aged pacers who are yet to play international cricket or test cricket with a teenager who has showed potential at test level is not really valid and that is what my reply was regarding.

Apparently Dilbar Hussain and Asad Rauf are already accomplished and greater than Deepak Chahar.

Lol what? :inti

asadumpirefb-story_647_021216072947.jpg

It’s funny because local dada rates Chahar more than Dilbar and Rauf :)) :))

That’s because I have no clue who Dilbar is before this thread and yes I have seen Rauf play recently but he didn’t catchmy attention enough to look him up more.

Honest statement, not said in a condescending tone.

Deepak Chahar well the guy has the best T20I figures of all time so hard to miss who he is even as a passing cricket fan.

Pakistan has won only 3 out of the last 11 T20Is they played in the last 12 months. Yet they don't play Dilbar in their XI. He's 27 already and still hasn't got an opportunity. I guess another talent wasted by PCB.

Edited for accuracy.

Dilbar has taken 9 wickets in the only 10 T20 games he has played at an economy of 9+. But I am sure he will do better at International level. Kami and Ronchi can be difficult to bowl to.

i dont like chahar because he is a trundler lol. He is pretty good though for some reason I don't understand.

i think players get confused and play too early because they get deceived by how slow he actually is. They expect him to bowl much quicker due to him being so vocal prior to releasing the ball.

Dilbar has taken 9 wickets in the only 10 T20 games he has played at an economy of 9+. But I am sure he will do better at International level. Kami and Ronchi can be difficult to bowl to.

I didn't even bother looking him up. I knew he would be yet another Wasim Akram take 749 (or Waqar Younis take 936 if he's right handed) before posters realize the truth and move on to the next kid on the block.

On the domestic circuit they're even running out of names so you see Imran Khan Jr, Mohammad Irfan Jr etc.

i dont like chahar because he is a trundler lol. He is pretty good though for some reason I don't understand.

i think players get confused and play too early because they get deceived by how slow he actually is. They expect him to bowl much quicker due to him being so vocal prior to releasing the ball.

It’s the opposite. batsmen think he is a harmless trundler but he gets the ball to zip off the pitch and swing the ball so negotiating at 130-135 k’s also becomes tough like say someone like Anderson a few years back before he added pace or even a Philander

Shami has 12 wickets in 11 international T20 matches with an economy of 9.63 and we have had people who without taking into account the formats start saying how he is better than Pak T20 pacers without even looking at the stats.

Apparently Dilbar Hussain and Asad Rauf are already accomplished and greater than Deepak Chahar.

One of them touched 148 kph and other one "Haris Rauf" (Correct name) touched 150+ in PSL (Highlights and pace threads are available) and both of them got contracts of BBL as well. Haris Rauf was one of the top wicket takers in BBL.

That being said none of them including the Indian pacers you are referring to can currently said to be as accomplished bowlers. Dilbar after a decent showcase in PSL isnt even in the first XI T20 squad of his regional side and has just came into the scene with no FC or any sort of domestic cricket behind him.

However, Chahar and some other guys in IPL dont event have much pace or some dont even have skills to make it tough for even emerging Indian batsmen let alone international batsmen (Inflated stats of most international batsmen in IPL can be seen). Chahar does swing it well with new ball and that his biggest strength but definitely not an accomplished bowler overall and a less accomplished bowler of his pace is easier to lineup (One of reasons he is max given an over at the end and sometimes not even that). To be honest Chahar is ok and far from worst local pacer in IPL.

prasidh krishna
mavi
nagarkoti
the under 19 kid who bowled real quick

these 4 are the emerging ones to watch for.

One of them touched 148 kph and other one "Haris Rauf" (Correct name) touched 150+ in PSL (Highlights and pace threads are available) and both of them got contracts of BBL as well. Haris Rauf was one of the top wicket takers in BBL.

That being said none of them including the Indian pacers you are referring to can currently said to be as accomplished bowlers. Dilbar after a decent showcase in PSL isnt even in the first XI T20 squad of his regional side and has just came into the scene with no FC or any sort of domestic cricket behind him.

However, Chahar and some other guys in IPL dont event have much pace or some dont even have skills to make it tough for even emerging Indian batsmen let alone international batsmen (Inflated stats of most international batsmen in IPL can be seen). Chahar does swing it well with new ball and that his biggest strength but definitely not an accomplished bowler overall and a less accomplished bowler of his pace is easier to lineup (One of reasons he is max given an over at the end and sometimes not even that). To be honest Chahar is ok and far from worst local pacer in IPL.

Good post and just because your opinion is different from mine doesn’t mean we can’t have a constructive debate.

Here is my honest opinion

In India we treat IPL for what it is. An entertainment and a carnival. That’s why any one who makes a name in internationals or looks marketable gets good money thrown at them.

I mean there is a reason why some legends from WI and other countries cry about IPL destroying their cricket.

So when you pay a guy like Stokes 14 crores, you have to play him in every game so that your business decision doesn’t look stupid.

when every name that’s relevant out there is available, it makes business sense to play them even if they are having an off season.

Now even if you have promising bowlers in domestics there are only a few slots available because all the big international bowlers/allrounders are already available.

A guy like Sandeep Sharma sneaks in because of team combos not because he is the best fast bowler in domestics.

IPl is not an audition for the main side like PSL is. There are plenty of names who have had 1 great IPL season but today they don’t even play domestics because they weren’t good enough and then there are some players who don’t play or get a chance in IPL but they make it to Indian side because our benchmark is domestics.

Now a player pool of PSL has 6 teams and a player pool of IPL has 8 teams. Yesterday a guy like Moeen Ali was sitting on the bench, today a guy like Butler was not available but still RR managed to put on a competent side. Will something like that ever happen in PSL?

Go back and revisit what your own PM said about PSL sides when some big names didn’t play in Pakistan few years back.

It took a guy like Saini or even Chahar whom you acknowledged as a decent bowler many seasons to start getting chances. People think Bumrah, Pandya,Pant are products of the IPL but it’s the opposite, IPL gave them a platform to standout but they were performing very well in domestics. A guy like Samson is kept away still because he is a flop in domestics.

Mavi and Nagarkotti looked as good as Shaheen if not better. They haven’t faded away they are still in the scheme of things. They have some technical flaws and injury issues and are being groomed on the sidelines because as we call it they are identified as “lambi race ka ghoda”. They will not get every game. There are many such talents on the bench.

If there are 2 140k international bowler already what’s the point of getting another young domestic bowler who is capable of that when you can get some knuckle ball bowler who can pick up wickets as teams will look to attack him as a strategy?

Now coming to why guys like Gayle and AB performing in IPL and failing in PSL has nothing to with bowling, it’s the pitches and boundaries of IPL. I am sure some of the Pakistani local bowlers won’t love bowling in Chinnaswamy either. Amir might get injured again because he might get picked by Kohli’s team eventually (Joke. Chill :) ) Are you seriously doubting the legacy of those names based on a mediocre PSL season. C’mon you are smarter than that

I am not writing off any of Pakistani bowlers. Sure for arguments sake let’s admit they are better than Indian counterparts but people need to see the big picture. I know Rana is just trolling and having fun, no problem I enjoy it but sometimes we don’t see the big picture and get carried away with banter.
I am guilty of that too.

Shaheen Shah is the only good bowler that Pakistan has.

India has Bumrah, Shami and Saini.

There is no denying he struggled in Aus, England and he didnt live upto the expectations. However, hype is a pretty subjective term. I rated him as a good young prospect and still rate him, nobody said he is the best bowler in the world or is an ATG at the moment. Anyone can see their is potential in him at this young and that potential is regarded, expecting him to bulldoze batting lineups in overseas conditions at this age would be unrealistic.

At the same time comparing mid 20 aged pacers who are yet to play international cricket or test cricket with a teenager who has showed potential at test level is not really valid and that is what my reply was regarding.

I think even seeing this potential is a subjective term. Cause I do not see any potential in this kid. In fact all I see is hype. He is hyped as if he is the next Wasim Akram or Amir. When you watch his bowling against both Australia and England you see nothing special. Even on helpful bowling conditions he failed to pick up buckets of wickets. In a year or two maybe he could become a better bowler. But at the moment I don’t see it.

Good post and just because your opinion is different from mine doesnÂ’t mean we canÂ’t have a constructive debate.

Here is my honest opinion

In India we treat IPL for what it is. An entertainment and a carnival. ThatÂ’s why any one who makes a name in internationals or looks marketable gets good money thrown at them.

I mean there is a reason why some legends from WI and other countries cry about IPL destroying their cricket.

So when you pay a guy like Stokes 14 crores, you have to play him in every game so that your business decision doesnÂ’t look stupid.

when every name thatÂ’s relevant out there is available, it makes business sense to play them even if they are having an off season.

Now even if you have promising bowlers in domestics there are only a few slots available because all the big international bowlers/allrounders are already available.

A guy like Sandeep Sharma sneaks in because of team combos not because he is the best fast bowler in domestics.

IPl is not an audition for the main side like PSL is. There are plenty of names who have had 1 great IPL season but today they donÂ’t even play domestics because they werenÂ’t good enough and then there are some players who donÂ’t play or get a chance in IPL but they make it to Indian side because our benchmark is domestics.

Now a player pool of PSL has 6 teams and a player pool of IPL has 8 teams. Yesterday a guy like Moeen Ali was sitting on the bench, today a guy like Butler was not available but still RR managed to put on a competent side. Will something like that ever happen in PSL?

Go back and revisit what your own PM said about PSL sides when some big names didnÂ’t play in Pakistan few years back.

It took a guy like Saini or even Chahar whom you acknowledged as a decent bowler many seasons to start getting chances. People think Bumrah, Pandya,Pant are products of the IPL but itÂ’s the opposite, IPL gave them a platform to standout but they were performing very well in domestics. A guy like Samson is kept away still because he is a flop in domestics.

Mavi and Nagarkotti looked as good as Shaheen if not better. They haven’t faded away they are still in the scheme of things. They have some technical flaws and injury issues and are being groomed on the sidelines because as we call it they are identified as “lambi race ka ghoda”. They will not get every game. There are many such talents on the bench.

If there are 2 140k international bowler already whatÂ’s the point of getting another young domestic bowler who is capable of that when you can get some knuckle ball bowler who can pick up wickets as teams will look to attack him as a strategy?

Now coming to why guys like Gayle and AB performing in IPL and failing in PSL has nothing to with bowling, itÂ’s the pitches and boundaries of IPL. I am sure some of the Pakistani local bowlers wonÂ’t love bowling in Chinnaswamy either. Amir might get injured again because he might get picked by KohliÂ’s team eventually (Joke. Chill :) ) Are you seriously doubting the legacy of those names based on a mediocre PSL season. CÂ’mon you are smarter than that

I am not writing off any of Pakistani bowlers. Sure for arguments sake letÂ’s admit they are better than Indian counterparts but people need to see the big picture. I know Rana is just trolling and having fun, no problem I enjoy it but sometimes we donÂ’t see the big picture and get carried away with banter.
I am guilty of that too.

Decent post. However, I would like to clear few things. Firstly legacy of players like ABD or Gayle cant be determined by performances in the leagues during the twilight of their careers and I never judged them from what I saw in PSL but they did struggle due to sometimes conditions and sometimes quality.

Secondly Shaheen was worked upon on the national academy post U19 WC so you cant compare him with how Musa took a 3fer against India or Mavi or someone else did better in few matches.

Post that Shaheen got oppurtunity in a FC match and took 8/39 in an innings. After that he got oppurtunity in PSL and got 5/6. None of the young pacers you are talking about showed such an accelerated growth. Mavi and Nagarkoti can be good bowlers but, we cant seriously undermine Shaheen’s achievements in LOIs and WC just because he was given a chance at national level. If Mavi and Nagarkoti would have been good enough to have stats like Shaheen has especially in LOIs surely they could have been promoted to the national team when guys like Siraj, Thakur etc get those chances.

At the same time I understand that frontline bowling of India is pretty settled so its difficult for some newer guys to get a chance but when those newer guys are Siraj, Thakur, Kaul etc that doesnt help much either. Mavi and Nagarkoti must be being worked upon but they surely werent good enough at the moment to even show the numbers which Shaheen showed in domestic debuts otherwise they would have been showing them.

Cummins and Rabada also got promoted to their national team when they were teenagers, it wasnt like Aus and SA didnt have pacers to play at that time. There are quite a few decent pacers in 20s in Pakistan as well but Shaheen got a chance because of he was better and good enough for international level. In LOIs making a place for himself when Amir, Junaid, Hasan were coming of from a successful CT17 and Shinwari who still has amazing numbers in ODIs along with Wahab who was a pretty decent death bowler wasnt as easy as peple make it out to be.

In tests, I would have liked more FC matches under Shaheen’s belt before sharing the new ball with Abbas everywhere but his success in LOIs and Amir and Wahab’s retirements pushed the management for him and Naseem.

I have openly praised Bumrah and Shami along with other international pacers when they bowed well (Threads from past can be read) and will do so when I see another impressive Indian pacer. Tyagi also looked impressive at U19 level as well.

Decent post. However, I would like to clear few things. Firstly legacy of players like ABD or Gayle cant be determined by performances in the leagues during the twilight of their careers and I never judged them from what I saw in PSL but they did struggle due to sometimes conditions and sometimes quality.

Secondly Shaheen was worked upon on the national academy post U19 WC so you cant compare him with how Musa took a 3fer against India or Mavi or someone else did better in few matches.

Post that Shaheen got oppurtunity in a FC match and took 8/39 in an innings. After that he got oppurtunity in PSL and got 5/6. None of the young pacers you are talking about showed such an accelerated growth. Mavi and Nagarkoti can be good bowlers but, we cant seriously undermine Shaheen’s achievements in LOIs and WC just because he was given a chance at national level. If Mavi and Nagarkoti would have been good enough to have stats like Shaheen has especially in LOIs surely they could have been promoted to the national team when guys like Siraj, Thakur etc get those chances.

At the same time I understand that frontline bowling of India is pretty settled so its difficult for some newer guys to get a chance but when those newer guys are Siraj, Thakur, Kaul etc that doesnt help much either. Mavi and Nagarkoti must be being worked upon but they surely werent good enough at the moment to even show the numbers which Shaheen showed in domestic debuts otherwise they would have been showing them.

Cummins and Rabada also got promoted to their national team when they were teenagers, it wasnt like Aus and SA didnt have pacers to play at that time. There are quite a few decent pacers in 20s in Pakistan as well but Shaheen got a chance because of he was better and good enough for international level. In LOIs making a place for himself when Amir, Junaid, Hasan were coming of from a successful CT17 and Shinwari who still has amazing numbers in ODIs along with Wahab who was a pretty decent death bowler wasnt as easy as peple make it out to be.

In tests, I would have liked more FC matches under Shaheen’s belt before sharing the new ball with Abbas everywhere but his success in LOIs and Amir and Wahab’s retirements pushed the management for him and Naseem.

I have openly praised Bumrah and Shami along with other international pacers when they bowed well (Threads from past can be read) and will do so when I see another impressive Indian pacer. Tyagi also looked impressive at U19 level as well.

What do you think of akif javed ?

I think even seeing this potential is a subjective term. Cause I do not see any potential in this kid. In fact all I see is hype. He is hyped as if he is the next Wasim Akram or Amir. When you watch his bowling against both Australia and England you see nothing special. Even on helpful bowling conditions he failed to pick up buckets of wickets. In a year or two maybe he could become a better bowler. But at the moment I don’t see it.

Yes its subjective but in a teenage or in any early 20 pacer I see action, control, seam position and pace and I like what I seen in Naseem at this age. However if he doesnt build upon these basic ingredients and remain like this for next 2-4 years then obviously I will have to say he didnt do justice to his talent.

At the moment in my eyes he has the basics/raw ingredients which makes will make any young pacer to be a player to look forward for any cricketing nation. At 18-19 years of age he is far from finished product and that is why I am not too critical of his off days. Its not his fault that Pak needed decent pacers at test level and he was looking potentially much better prospect in next couple of years then few pacers in mid 20s. I would have liked him to play atleast one more season of domestic cricket before smooth transition. Debuting in Aus and travelling to Eng for 4th series is tough for even the most experienced pacers let alone someone like him.

If he would have been 25,26 his skills werent something to rave about but having those skills at 18-19 years of age or even shows a lot of roam of improvement and overall potential.

What do you think of akif javed ?

I created the thread about him when I watched his first over itself in National T20 cup 2019. http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...kif-Javed-young-left-arm-pacer-from-Karak-KPK

What straight away impressed me was good action, height, physique, pace for a pacer and gets natural inswing against right handers which is not an easy art to learn.

I would prefer that he plays two complete domestic seasons and showing development before even being thought about for National team. We cant have too many bowers nurturing their skills and learning at international level. I would like PCB to use their new, better domestic setup to develop young pacers like him before introducing them to international cricket. At international level you need to win matches as well so cant have a lot of players learning the things they should have at FC level, Pak needs to get this balance right.

He is rated highly by Misbah who saw him in nets requested his induction in Balochistan’s squad in 2019 domestic season. An impressive young pacer who can be developed into something good but, that development part is really important. He is being worked upon in NCA but there is no replacement of having atleast 15-20 FC matches under your belt.

Shami has 12 wickets in 11 international T20 matches with an economy of 9.63 and we have had people who without taking into account the formats start saying how he is better than Pak T20 pacers without even looking at the stats.

Because Shami doesn't play many T20s. He is saved for tests and ODIs.

Chahar has more pace than Abaas or Rahat Ali.

He has enough pace to register the best T20I bowling figures ever.

Deepak Chahar
Shivam Dube
Sandeep
Nataranjan
Mohit Sharma
Unadkat

Galacticos of fast bowling

Chahar has more pace than Abaas or Rahat Ali.

He has enough pace to register the best T20I bowling figures ever.

Abbas havent played much of PSL (3-4 or so matches I think) and isnt rated much for LOIs. Rahat is not a sure starter of any team (Still gets to play 4-5 matches every season) can go upto 138-140, that being said I am not saying that he is something extraordinary but still was a test pacer with over 50 wickets adds some experience and competition.

I have already mentioned Chahar is a an okish-decent bowler (Bowls really well with the new ball, struggles with the older ball) but, he is surely better than some of the other bowlers in IPL (Thakur, Kaul, Siraj, Unadkat etc based upon what I have seen).

Everything aside, considering the overall quality of overseas players and local Indian batsmen the local pace bowling talent is nowhere near the same level. I think even most Indian posters would agree

Deepak Chahar
Shivam Dube
Sandeep
Nataranjan
Mohit Sharma
Unadkat

Galacticos of fast bowling

That's fine as long as bowlers win the matches, speed doesn't matter.

You lost home series against inexperienced Sri Lanka, clean swept 3-0 T20 series.

Blowing 150 doesn't win matches.

Abbas havent played much of PSL (3-4 or so matches I think) and isnt rated much for LOIs. Rahat is not a sure starter of any team (Still gets to play 4-5 matches every season) can go upto 138-140, that being said I am not saying that he is something extraordinary but still was a test pacer with over 50 wickets adds some experience and competition.

I have already mentioned Chahar is a an okish-decent bowler (Bowls really well with the new ball, struggles with the older ball) but, he is surely better than some of the other bowlers in IPL (Thakur, Kaul, Siraj, Unadkat etc based upon what I have seen).

Everything aside, considering the overall quality of overseas players and local Indian batsmen the local pace bowling talent is nowhere near the same level. I think even most Indian posters would agree

Siraj especially isn’t a T20 bowler or a white ball bowler. He has pace and skills. He is more in the Umesh, Ishant mould. Umesh and Ishant are world class test bowlers, they have pace and skills, their recent performances speak for themselves but if someone sees them bowl only in the IPL or T20 format people will think they are useless bowlers which they are in T20.

Now coming to Pakistan bowlers isn’t it a concern when all these bowlers who seem to be good in T20
and hitting good pace start huffing and puffing when they are required to bowl more than 4 over? Naseem Shah whatever the jokes are about his age is probably at best not a day over 20, however he was bending down like a grandpa on the 3rd day of a Test after bowling a handful of overs and was injured in Australia after half a test on the other hand Umesh, Ishant,Shami,Bumrah and even Bhuvi bowl in the 140’s even on the last session of a test. In fact they seem to get quicker and quicker as the test progresses which shows their fitness levels.

I know this thread is about T20 but don’t think it is anything to gloat about having a lot of T20 specialist bowlers.

Siraj especially isn’t a T20 bowler or a white ball bowler. He has pace and skills. He is more in the Umesh, Ishant mould. Umesh and Ishant are world class test bowlers, they have pace and skills, their recent performances speak for themselves but if someone sees them bowl only in the IPL or T20 format people will think they are useless bowlers which they are in T20.

Now coming to Pakistan bowlers isn’t it a concern when all these bowlers who seem to be good in T20
and hitting good pace start huffing and puffing when they are required to bowl more than 4 over? Naseem Shah whatever the jokes are about his age is probably at best not a day over 20, however he was bending down like a grandpa on the 3rd day of a Test after bowling a handful of overs and was injured in Australia after half a test on the other hand Umesh, Ishant,Shami,Bumrah and even Bhuvi bowl in the 140’s even on the last session of a test. In fact they seem to get quicker and quicker as the test progresses which shows their fitness levels.

I know this thread is about T20 but don’t think it is anything to gloat about having a lot of T20 specialist bowlers.

Naseem was bowling as quick as archer easily the fatest pacer in asia in terms of average speed

India has one of the better main pace attacks in test cricket. All 3-4 pacers are currently fit most of the times and their peak.

Pak pacers especially Shaheen and Naseem are young and still learning how to handle themselves especially in long test sessions. Not to forget they havent played 10 domestic 4 day matches combined. So its natural to see a lot of pace fluctuations as well as consistency.

Naseem had the highest average pace in series vs Eng if I am not wrong. Not that it makes a huge difference as he couldnt get a lot of wickets but, shows he can be good in the long run. Shaheen was hitting 147-148 kph in T20 series vs Eng, his opening spell in the last T20 was one of the fastest I have seen this summer.

If they keep working hard they will improve that aspect.

Regarding Siraj, he must be a decent bowler but I mentioned him totally from the T20 perspective based upon what I have seen.

Indian fans behaving like as if BCCI would not be scrambling hard to make sure a bowler like Rahat Ali is not fast tracked into an IPL deal if he were from their set up. Unfortunately Indians do not have that factory of Fast bowlers that Pakistan, West Indies, England, Australia and South Africa have.

Factory of fast bowlers? Sure. Please check what your factory of phasht bowlers have done in test cricket over the last 5 years and then compare that to what the Indian bowlers have done. :)

That’s because I have no clue who Dilbar is before this thread and yes I have seen Rauf play recently but he didn’t catchmy attention enough to look him up more.

Honest statement, not said in a condescending tone.

Deepak Chahar well the guy has the best T20I figures of all time so hard to miss who he is even as a passing cricket fan.

Question, you don’t know who Dilbar is, therefore you haven’t watched a lot of PSL.

So why exactly are you qualified to make comments on this thread? No doubt there is a debate to be had (IPL has much better foreign stocks) but when it comes to domestic bowling you’re coming off as incredibly biased and one-minded.