Why has Mohammad Hafeez been promoted above Babar Azam in the batting order?

Jabo

Someone tell me why they moved babar from 3 to accommodate Hafeez who should be between 4-6

Shocking
Didn't expect a stupid move with Arthur as the coach

Because he is a senior & is allowed to bat where he wishes. Makes me sick that he has been selected.

Don't dare question Mickey Arthur

It could have been azhars decision , azhar respects his seniors. On the other hand it could have been master plan of Arthur to expose hafeez more.

He should be batting at 6 after Umar Akmal. Think tank needs to consistent in their batting positions and tactics. Hafeez batting at 3 is senseless when u have Babar settled at tht position. Poor from management.

Stop deflecting

Its the truth why not just accept it? If Mickey is the one who wanted Babar at 3 and it was him who wanted Hafeez gone, why would he move Babar back down after scoring 3 centuries for a player he discarded? :)))

Inzi, Azhar, and hafeez would have agreed that he will bat in the top 3. There is nothing Arthur could do here.

Why was Babar Azam moved in place of Asad Shafiq in Test Matches, where he has been a consistent failiure in 9 innings?

Seniority.

Absolute joke to move someone with Babar's recent success.

were crying for batsman and we finally found babar and he is performing at number 3 and just cause hafees is back we move him too number 4.

Shocking

he has the most important attribute for a pakistani cricketer, even more important than 'talent' :uakmal 'acha bacha/sensible':azhar or 'technique':shafiq.

He has the power of being a senior :hafeez

perhaps the only power that trumps senior power is the legendary 'team man' power :yk

It could have been azhars decision , azhar respects his seniors. On the other hand it could have been master plan of Arthur to expose hafeez more.

no time to expose ppl to shut off their arrogance... time is running out to directly qualify for 2019

Waqar, while doing commentary was very surprised Babar came out at 4, saying Hafeez shouldn't be allowed to come into the team and just take his No. 3 spot.

He kept Babar at 4. He wouldn't have moved him up. He was surprised because he watched the odi series vs West Indies and saw how well Babar did at 3. Anyone would be suprised at this demotion after the series Babar had.

He is a senior + captain's backing can do wonders. This is why i'm against Azhar Ali as captain. :)

err maybe because he actually has a record to speak of? unlike flash in the pan new akmal. Who gets to 30 and then gets out..I suspect babar sahib will make a career out of pretty thirties and forties like Malik...He needs to hit big runs or soon he'll be on the has been list! and yes aI saw his windies innings and they were great but its not good enough..inmho..

Seniors jaan hee nahi chortay. All we need is Kamran and Butt back and we'll have the senior gang back.

err maybe because he actually has a record to speak of? unlike flash in the pan new akmal. Who gets to 30 and then gets out..I suspect babar sahib will make a career out of pretty thirties and forties like Malik...He needs to hit big runs or soon he'll be on the has been list! and yes aI saw his windies innings and they were great but its not good enough..inmho..

Is this sarcasm?

no..im serious.. your new saviour babar is looking like a failure who cant get past 30..if he doesnt turn a 30 odd into a big score whats the point? another haris sohail? Hafeez may not be bradman but he may just have given us a bit more than the flash in the pan bachay that cant make more than 20..

Joke of a post

Because he got out for 33 today? The ball bounced a little extra which is why he gloved it to the slip fielder instead of guiding it to third man for a single.

His last four scores in fifty over cricket are 120, 123, 117 and 98.

Hafeez's record against bowling attacks that aren't mediocre is pathetic. If you hold Malik's poor record against good teams against him, you have to apply the same standard for Hafeez.

Why the need to hafeez back in the side in 1st place? useless batsmen as always!

there is gulf of quality between ausie batters and ours

I swear if he captains the team if Azhar is out then i have no words.

Pakistan have no future

Look at Azam's last four innings before this one. :ibutt

the bigger question is why was Hafeez selected in the first place. He's been very ordinary in domestic in the last 6 months

But this is Pakistan cricket, logic need not apply

So that we can see the stylish leaves of Hafeez . My blood pressure gets high whenever I saw hafees leaving the ball in ODIS or T20. He is probably the only guy who is still practising this technique in today's era

I swear if he captains the team if Azhar is out then i have no words.

Pakistan have no future
Imad is the future but since he's not acha bacha yes man type who would do whatever ordered blindly he's not going to be the captain.

Pretty bad move by Mickey/Azhar to let bat Hafeez in top order. Outside Asia he should never bat in Top 6.

Nothing surprise here - I knew, he'll bat at 3. If Sharjeel flops for 2 more innings, he'll open. MoHa is the higest rated cricketer in PAK & Arthur's appointment has cost him 10 Tests, 7 ODI & 3 T20 so far; otherwise Misbah & Ahzar would have played him every match, even half fit from Old Traford Test.

I can't prove, so anyone can challenge - but Azhar & Misbah are quite knowledgeable cricketer & they do know what is Azhar's strength, since even I can see that; STILL both were unanimous regarding Azhar's batting spot in Test team - that's No. 3, which kept MoHa is Test side for at least ENG tour (would have been till 2021 at least, but for Aurther's appointment). If things are allowed to move smoothly, by CT 2017, Azhar will move down to 3 in ODI, to accommodate MoHa as opener.

Irony is, Azhar kept opening in ODI against 2 white balls & reluctant to open in Test - it'll be more interesting to see the opposite; both times, to accommodate MoHa - anyone is welcome to ignore my conspiracy theory.

Because he's good friends with Misbah and selectors in cricket board he has connections in the right places. He won't even make Zimbabwe's X1 and here this hack is playing as a batsman.

Azhar is opening to favor his friends Misbah an Hafeez so that no new upcoming opener is included in the side and that hack hafeez can return masquerading as an opener.

I don't think it mattered much today. Hafeez batted as well as he can in Australia and was out soon.

Given Malik is also now ill for tomorrow that means Asad Technique will be in, won't be surprised if he plays at 3

Blame the captain.

Hafeez was called by team management. It's Azhar who has no confidence in Babar Azam that's why he was demoted.

Don't mind if it forces Babar to bat at a better SR. I would take a 60 (50) from him today over the usual 80 (100).

Worst thing Sarfraz and Mickey have ever done, this is disgusting and send the message that senior status remains the most important thing in Pakistan

Don't mind if it forces Babar to bat at a better SR. I would take a 60 (50) from him today over the usual 80 (100).
Not on this pitch. 305+ will be good enough here. Don't need 330-340.

Babar has 4 hundreds in 8 innings at number 3... alas, if only he had experience and was a senior. :(

Really pathetic move by the team management. Didn't expect it from Sarfraz.

after watching team names,, i was questioning,why would they slot hafeez at 4..when malik is going good at 4. but to my shock.. pak management was even worse...

There is a reason to promote him(timer of the ball and needs hard ball) but then performance and consistency should be a parameter too.

I switched channels as soon as I saw Hafeez walking out to bat, I have no interest in watching this nonsense.

He'll score against this WI backup team then embarrass himself and the team during the Champions Trophy.

Sick & tired at the sight of Hafeez.

People used to blame Misbah for trying to 'destroy' youngsters. Today is proof of sifarish/corruption in Pakistani cricket system. As long as seniors are kept happy nothing else matters.

Sarfraz as it seems has the same pakistani mentality of respecting the seniors way too much.

Is it possible to somehow record our protest.. like unanimously turning off our tv ..or posting on fb unanimously.twitter trends... whatever...

that pcb knows that they are losing fans base and they will loose revenue

Is it still Misbah's fault? I can't keep up nowadays

Babar has 4 hundreds in 8 innings at number 3... alas, if only he had experience and was a senior. :(

still support Sarfraz as a captain? look at how unfair he was with Fakhar Zaman first in T20Is and now with Babar Azam in ODIs

Hafeez has a career SR of 74. Babar is at 90+.

It is not about Hafeez vs Babar. Hafeez should not discarded for good, but Babar is the future of Pakistan batting, and he needs to improve his approach. Him batting with less overs to go to might force him outside his comfort-zone and thus, not allowing him to trot at his usual SR. It is a temporary arrangement anyway, Babar will be around for another decade unlike Hafeez, no need of overreacting.

Last 8 innings for Babar Azam at #3: 640 runs @ average of 80
Last 8 innings for Mohammad Hafeez at #3: 252 runs @ average of 32

It is not about Hafeez vs Babar. Hafeez should not discarded for good, but Babar is the future of Pakistan batting, and he needs to improve his approach. Him batting with less overs to go to might force him outside his comfort-zone and thus, not allowing him to trot at his usual SR. It is a temporary arrangement anyway, Babar will be around for another decade unlike Hafeez, no need of overreacting.

Hafeez could be here for 7/8 more years , no one can force him out and our players hardly retire.

No, the writing is on the wall. He has been dropped from the Test team already. Don't see him surviving beyond this year.