Why have Lahore Qalandars regressed season after season?

msb314

It goes without saying that there performances are getting worse.

They haven’t won a single game this season and are sure to finish last again.

What is alarming however is that they have regressed rather than improve....

What is the reason for that?

I understand Umar Akmal kept them afloat during the first season and they were in the running for a playoff spot until the final day defeat to KK that doomed them to last place.

Last year they got BMac and Roy and Narine yet finished last again doing worse than their inaugural season.

This year they also got Yasir Shah but they are even in worse shape now having failed to win a single game.

What has gone wrong over the course of the 3 years?

main thing is wrong selection of the squad form of umar akmal very bad lower order and even the the bowling onlý narine is good

If Rana sab can sign BMac, I back him to go out and buy the solution as well. Umar Akmal won't be a Lahore player next year I am sure of it.

How about actually bringing back some of the Lahore boys back to the franchise, I mean I'm sure the franchise will only improve if Ahmad Shahzad and Wahab Riaz, possibly Kamran Akmal are brought back to their home team.

Maybe replace Bmac with Eoin Morgan as captain, im sure he would be in the same price range as McCullum

Sachi baat yeh hai kay qalandars ko Azhar Ali ki aah lag gai hai aur kuch nahi :))

On a serious note, they pick a gun batsmen and he doesn't show up and believe in the hype of their emerging category picks that they themselves create. Add to that that they continue to bank on an Umer Akmal who continues to regress faster than the hairline of a middle aged blue collar worker working a 9-5 dead end job.

PSL has a lot of good bowlers and some difficult pitches, they need to find a few capable batsmen from somewhere, in a better world, a couple of Indian batsmen would have done the trick but as of now, that's impossible.

Sachi baat yeh hai kay qalandars ko Azhar Ali ki aah lag gai hai aur kuch nahi :))

On a serious note, they pick a gun batsmen and he doesn't show up and believe in the hype of their emerging category picks that they themselves create. Add to that that they continue to bank on an Umer Akmal who continues to regress faster than the hairline of a middle aged blue collar worker working a 9-5 dead end job.

PSL has a lot of good bowlers and some difficult pitches, they need to find a few capable batsmen from somewhere, in a better world, a couple of Indian batsmen would have done the trick but as of now, that's impossible.

The thing is UA is only a part of the problem - getting rid of him and replacing him will not transform the team's fortunes.

BMac, Narine, Akhtar and even Fakhar need to have a hard look at themselves.

They seem to be getting worse. OP has talked about replacing players, I would like to see how they would do under a coach who has done well in franchise T20 cricket. Give the coach a say in who LQ sign and see how they do.

They do need to replace some players of course . The players have to take a lot of responsbillity for the poor season LQ are having. They are playing brainless cricket at times.

The thing is UA is only a part of the problem - getting rid of him and replacing him will not transform the team's fortunes.

Such delusion or trolling, can't decide. How is he just part of the problem. His scores in the PSL so far. 31,6,4, 15. Given the situation his contributions have been even worse.

They seem to be getting worse. OP has talked about replacing players, I would like to see how they would do under a coach who has done well in franchise T20 cricket. Give the coach a say in who LQ sign and see how they do.

They do need to replace some players of course . The players have to take a lot of responsbillity for the poor season LQ are having. They are playing brainless cricket at times.

They have had poor seasons since the inception of this tournament.

Where? :13:

Mostly due to terrible squad and team selection. How can you win a T20 match by playing 6-7 bowlers especially when the 4 specialist bats you are playing are boom or bust types. They didn't buy any good local batting talent and paid the price when Lynn and Matthews withdrew (knowing Lynn and Matthews' injury record, only a think tank like LQ's would've gone in without suitable backup for them).

I think, adopting wrong tactics and stubbornly holding onto same tactics is hurting LQ. Mac is too powerful and he has only plan A for his team, he won’t change from it - one example can be the treatment Yamin given; no way Yamin should sit out for Sohail, other than this gung ho style.

Mac had been successful using his monologues tactics with NZ team for few reasons -

1. This tactics is very good for 50 metre Kiwi grounds, where top edges fly for 6. NZ crashed to Aussies at MCG trying same tactics; infact almost lots at home chasing 150 in ODI at Eden park from 70/0 in 5 overs or so. This tactics won’t work much on proper size grounds and if I am not wrong he lost 4-0 (or 7-0?) in BD at the start of this tactics.

2. This all out attack can be very effective on true wickets; wickets where batsmen can hit though the line. UAE is actually the worst place for such tactics - same LQ side should dominate batting on Indian grounds or at Mirpur/Fatullah; but UAE or WI isn’t the place for this.

3. Mac was extremely successful with this approach for Kiwi side, because that team had seasoned pros - players who could adjust batting game according to situation. Most importantly, he had Williamson & Taylor in middle of the order & quite a decent tail. Here, he has Umar Akmal & Dinesh Ramdhin .......

4. LQ has gone to a panic mood - which is forcing them to shuffle batting order too much. They did loose 1st 2 games for lower order collapse, but that had nothing wrong from the openers - there was absolutely no reason to change that order to change FZ, Narine, Buzz, UA. Changing order has earned them worse, because Narine gave them a bonus start, now he is doing a tailender job.

5. Mac is brillant with his field placings, but here he has hardly got any runs to defend; which has made him confused & impatient - he is changing too many things while fielding. But, basic problem is they are not scoring enough - that KK or IU game was lost for over experimentation; a conventional approach should have won both games.

Azhar Ali ki Baddua. :misbah

Not that they did well when he was there, but I'm very happy to see them losing now!

If Rana sab can sign BMac, I back him to go out and buy the solution as well. Umar Akmal won't be a Lahore player next year I am sure of it.

How about actually bringing back some of the Lahore boys back to the franchise, I mean I'm sure the franchise will only improve if Ahmad Shahzad and Wahab Riaz, possibly Kamran Akmal are brought back to their home team.

Maybe replace Bmac with Eoin Morgan as captain, im sure he would be in the same price range as McCullum

yaar your love for Ahmed Shehzad is something else! Evergreen! Umar Akmal is there as Lahore native btw and over the years he's proved himself to be a much superior T20 player.

on a serious note - Poor recruitment is the reason. Poor tactics as well. Both are down to team management and with Aqib the serial action slayer in charge you cant say its not expected

Also too many gimicks in my view. Dozens of talent hunts. Bowlers who can bowl with both arms etc etc

You mean something like this?

Team of full Lahoris :

Ahmed Shehzad
Kamran Akmal
Babar Azam
Hussain Talat
Agha Salman
Saad Nasim
Umar Akmal
Wahab Riaz
Amad Butt
Imran Tahir (He is a Lahori)

Then you can add a few foreigners. This is impossible though in a franchise system as others will pick the best Lahore guys when the opportunity arises.

This will never happen. Unless it's Faysal Bank T20 ofc.

Sohail Akhtar has been an absolute dud investment so far. Hasn't bowled a ball and his batting and fielding are terrible.

Narine does his job.

Fakhar has been mostly a let down. The moment he gets out, a collapse ensues. It's like literally they are a one man team right now.

They don't have anyone to anchor. Other players are being asked to play roles they are not capable of.

Also, Aqib is an idiot.

yaar your love for Ahmed Shehzad is something else! Evergreen! Umar Akmal is there as Lahore native btw and over the years he's proved himself to be a much superior T20 player.

on a serious note - Poor recruitment is the reason. Poor tactics as well. Both are down to team management and with Aqib the serial action slayer in charge you cant say its not expected

Also too many gimicks in my view. Dozens of talent hunts. Bowlers who can bowl with both arms etc etc

The thing is they were poor before Aqib came to the realm - surely it is more than just coaching?

They don't have anyone to anchor. Other players are being asked to play roles they are not capable of.

Also, Aqib is an idiot.

You make a good point that they don’t have an anchor as the likes of Sanga, KP, Babar, Hafeez, Tamim etc.

Ramdin is trying to play that role but he is just too poor.

However - they did not have an anchor during the first two seasons either and they gotten worse this time roy d so surely cannot be the underlying reason either?

Lahore plays enterprising cricket but too much shuffling and over agressiveness has been their downfall..i would suggest that captain should play an anchors role
My squad for them in batting order shall be
Fakhar
Narine
Umar Akmal
Brendon Mcculum
Agha salman
Amir yamin
Dinesh Ramdin
Sohail khan
Yasir shah
Mustafizur
Afridi

Too much overanalysis, the squad and the players are devoid of confidence and are under pressure. It is in situations like this where the captain and the coaching staff show their quality and they have failed miserably during these testing times.

Again I raise the question why does end up Qalandar fall under pressure and capitulate every season after season?

This season is simple.

They picked too many aggressive batsmen and didn't solidify the middle order. That's a recipe for disaster in any league.

This season is simple.

They picked too many aggressive batsmen and didn't solidify the middle order. That's a recipe for disaster in any league.

Aggressive batsmen have the ability to consolidate as well. The team is just going through a bad curse at the moment. Need one good game to turn it all around. Their issues are far more mental. The captain and the coach have struggled to improve morale and confidence. This is where the captain and coach stand up to be counted

You mean something like this?

Team of full Lahoris :

Ahmed Shehzad
Kamran Akmal
Babar Azam
Hussain Talat
Agha Salman
Saad Nasim
Umar Akmal
Wahab Riaz
Amad Butt
Imran Tahir (He is a Lahori)

Then you can add a few foreigners. This is impossible though in a franchise system as others will pick the best Lahore guys when the opportunity arises.

This will never happen. Unless it's Faysal Bank T20 ofc.

Hmm how many Faisal Bank T20s has Lahore won :runaway:

Aggressive batsmen have the ability to consolidate as well. The team is just going through a bad curse at the moment. Need one good game to turn it all around. Their issues are far more mental. The captain and the coach have struggled to improve morale and confidence. This is where the captain and coach stand up to be counted

Past McCullum and Zaman, I don't think the others have any other way of playing.

Akmal, Salman (he's still learning tbh), Akhtar, Ramdin, and Narine haven't shown anything to back the idea they even know what consolidation means.

This team is literally a walking and talking "hail mary" XI. You can't win championships on the back of such squads.

But you're right the coaching has made it even worse to the point this season is a complete write off.

Past McCullum and Zaman, I don't think the others have any other way of playing.

Akmal, Salman (he's still learning tbh), Akhtar, Ramdin, and Narine haven't shown anything to back the idea they even know what consolidation means.

This team is literally a walking and talking "hail mary" XI. You can't win championships on the back of such squads.

But you're right the coaching has made it even worse to the point this season is a complete write off.

Umar Akmal's decline and poor form is the most bizzare. From 2009 to 2014, he has shown many glimpses and innings where he could attack and consolidate at the same time as well. He is even more unreliable than Afridi right now, i suspect a curse.

The coaching staff looks totally ineffective and devoid of ideas. I have no idea why the likes of Inzamam and Akhtar were even appointed as mentors of LQ, they have made zilch contribution and in fact want to remain far away as possible from the squad right now in order to avoid responsibility.

Because they are not allowed to

Look in this case its not support for Shahzad, its just the fact that he is one of the leading run scorers in the history of PSL and an ok, decent opener at this level. Him and Fakhar up front will be ok, if not him and Kamran.

Basically you need guys who will represent lahore with some pride. At the moment, the lack of home grown players and those home grown players thriving for other franchises is not doing lahore any favours

4th straight season at the bottom of the table for Lahore Qalandars

Its certainly looking like they will not qualify again this year for the playoffs.

Is it a team structure issue? Poor coaching? Poor selection of players?

Six wicket down and here comes shaheen into batting

This shows how poor there team management is

Does Anyone knows details of aqib javed contract with qalandars?

hopefully it will expire after current season

They were unlucky with the toss this time around.

But the slogging culture needs to vanish. They waste a lot of wickets by playing plain stupid shots. Fakhar is a big reason for their poor starts. Do they realize they are playing in the UAE and not Australia or South Africa? Wickets here are not conducive for expensive shot selection.

They need more guys like Haris to steady the first 15 overs and then finish the game in the last 5. In short they need a different approach to the T20 game on these UAE slow wickets.

one person = Aqib Javed, they need to get rid of this guy asap. And u can quote me next season when they reach the final's.