"You have to treat Bangladesh the same as you treat Pakistan and the same as you treat India": Nasser Hussain

Cricket Warrior

Nasser Hussain exposed the double standards of the ICC on the podcast:

"I guess the real comparison would be, and this is the real question that only the ICC can answer: If it had been India, and in the future, if India, a month before a tournament, say our government does not want us to go and play in that country in a World Cup, would the ICC have been so firm and say, 'You know the rules, bad luck, we’re knocking you out'?"

"That is the only question that all sides ask for is consistency. You have to treat Bangladesh the same as you treat Pakistan and the same as you treat India. India fans will say, 'Cry more, we have the money, it’s all down [to us],' but with power comes responsibility. If you are constantly knocking Bangladesh or Pakistan, their cricket diminishes, and hence those great games that we’ve seen in the past between India and Pakistan or India and Bangladesh become one-sided, as they have done."

"I would argue that the politics is obviously spreading through franchise cricket. You know, are franchises with Indian owners picking Pakistan players now, and will they pick Bangladesh players in their franchise teams? It's worth keeping an eye on now that there are four of those teams owned by IPL owners. That’s the game shooting itself in the foot, isn’t it?"

"If your Pakistan players are not playing in franchises, then you see other countries playing in SA20 and how their cricket’s going through the roof. I’m amazed how well Pakistan have done and continue to do with everything that they’re working against. I actually quite like Bangladesh sticking to their guns. They stood up for their player, 'The Fiz' [Mustafizur Rahman]. And I quite like Pakistan—I know it’s political—sticking up for Bangladesh."

"At some stage, someone’s got to say, 'Enough with this politics. Can we just get back to playing cricket?' The only way Pakistan can hurt the ICC or even India is with the money and the finances of that India-Pakistan game."

Nasser Hussain exposed the double standards of the ICC on the podcast:

"I guess the real comparison would be, and this is the real question that only the ICC can answer: If it had been India, and in the future, if India, a month before a tournament, say our government does not want us to go and play in that country in a World Cup, would the ICC have been so firm and say, 'You know the rules, bad luck, we’re knocking you out'?"

"That is the only question that all sides ask for is consistency. You have to treat Bangladesh the same as you treat Pakistan and the same as you treat India. India fans will say, 'Cry more, we have the money, it’s all down [to us],' but with power comes responsibility. If you are constantly knocking Bangladesh or Pakistan, their cricket diminishes, and hence those great games that we’ve seen in the past between India and Pakistan or India and Bangladesh become one-sided, as they have done."

"I would argue that the politics is obviously spreading through franchise cricket. You know, are franchises with Indian owners picking Pakistan players now, and will they pick Bangladesh players in their franchise teams? It's worth keeping an eye on now that there are four of those teams owned by IPL owners. That’s the game shooting itself in the foot, isn’t it?"

"If your Pakistan players are not playing in franchises, then you see other countries playing in SA20 and how their cricket’s going through the roof. I’m amazed how well Pakistan have done and continue to do with everything that they’re working against. I actually quite like Bangladesh sticking to their guns. They stood up for their player, 'The Fiz' [Mustafizur Rahman]. And I quite like Pakistan—I know it’s political—sticking up for Bangladesh."

"At some stage, someone’s got to say, 'Enough with this politics. Can we just get back to playing cricket?' The only way Pakistan can hurt the ICC or even India is with the money and the finances of that India-Pakistan game."
The global cricket economy thrives on Indian revenue, yet when the BCCI asserts its rightful influence, critics are quick to cry foul. It’s a clear double standard,these same voices stay silent on major geopolitical sanctions, but suddenly find their voice when India stands its ground. Hypocrisy at its finest . Keep quite.
:klopp :kp

1. BCB refused to send their team to India because Fizz being removed from the IPL hurt their ego.

2. PCB has refused to play against India because they want ICC and the rest of the cricket world to know how important they and the Ind vs Pak match of any ICC tournament is.

But somehow in all of this, BCCI and India are to blame. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

1. BCB refused to send their team to India because Fizz being removed from the IPL hurt their ego.

2. PCB has refused to play against India because they want ICC and the rest of the cricket world to know how important they and the Ind vs Pak match of any ICC tournament is.

INdia removed fizz for nothing... That is where it all started this time around... Don't be a hypocrite

Who is a hypocrite? Looks like you believe playing in the IPL is a right rather than a privilege.
Why you guys selected mustafizur in the first place?? Then you guys got a wakeup call that "OH REMOVE HIM REMOVE HIM"

Stop sleeping

Why you guys selected mustafizur in the first place?? Then you guys got a wakeup call that "OH REMOVE HIM REMOVE HIM"

Stop sleeping
Owners of KKR picked him. And they simply released him when the BCCI requested them to.

Why??? Why at the last moment?? Why you picked him in the first place??
I didn't pick him, BCCI didn't pick him. The owners of KKR picked him. Only for the BCCI asking him to be released because of the savage like activities against Hindus by radical Islamists in Bangladesh. Who knows, the directive might have come from the Govt. of India too. Do you remember what they did to Hindus in Bangladesh recently or have you forgotten it?​

Nasser Hussain is talking like an outsider lol He has to ask ECB, CA :) They are with India. Second of all, what has England done to Bangladesh? India has played 33 internationals against Bangladesh in the last 10 years. England has played a mere 13 matches. India has played 7 tests against bD in the last 10 years. England 2 :) Are they being treated equally? Why are they playing more matches against India? They need money.

I didn't pick him, BCCI didn't pick him. The owners of KKR picked him. Only for the BCCI asking him to be released because of the savage like activities against Hindus by radical Islamists in Bangladesh. Who knows, the directive might have come from the Govt. of India too. Do you remember what they did to Hindus in Bangladesh recently or have you forgotten it?​
Han hamne b india se nahi khelna hamein thora late yad aya that the butcher of gujrat is India's pm. Sahi hai. India is the one politicizing game of cricket and is to be blamed right fully for all this scenario and the ones that will follow

So you have a problem in playing with India because of who the PM of the country is. Aur 2014 se aaj taak jo matches khele hamare saath, woh kya tha?

Look, I completely understand that you guys feel hard done by the BCCI's stance of no bilateral cricket with Pakistan, no visiting Pakistan, no handshakes with Pakistani players in the Asia Cup and then not accepting the Asia Cup trophy from Mohsin Naqvi.

But don't you think Pakistan boycotting their match against India in this T20 WC even more childish and ridiculous? India has just refused to travel to Pakistan, but never refused to play against them in neutral venues. In this case, Pakistan doesn't have to even travel to India and all their matches are scheduled in Sri Lanka. And yet for whatever reason they are refusing to play India.​

There are too many flaws in Nasser's arguements.

First of all, India will never say just a month ago that their govt wont allow to play in Pakistan. Indian govt have adopted this non negotiable stance since 2008 Mumbai attacks. Teams like Pak and BD travelled to India regularly but suddenly found security issue when their ego got hurt. Either you have a security issue or not. Security is not a matter of joke and cannot be conditional. So ICC as a body understands whose concerns are genuine and who is bluffing.

Second, India brings the majority revenue for ICC. So kicking a team like BD out is easier than India. I mean in last year's CT, BCCI said go ahead with the tournament without India. So PCB and ICC should have made that happe. It is easy for Nasser to teach sermons from tv studios but at the end of the day ICC need to pay the bills. Did he ever wondered why every other board member, including his own ECB, has voted against BD?

Third, Mustafizur was not banned from IPL due to any security concerns. He was banned after BCCI faced backlash from Indians for what is happening with BD Hindus. Nasser must remember what happened in Birmingham couple of months ago, where Israeli fans were banned from attending Aston Villa game because having them would hurt ego of Islamists in Birmingham. Similarly, Hindus have feelings too and we will never allow a Bangladeshi to earn money from an Indian league.

Also, thought its true most of their players stood for Mustafizur but they even wanted to play in WT20. They boycotted a BPL game, called a 90 min press conference accusing their own board for calling them Indian agent. Has Nasser Hussain ever spoke about these?

I mean in last year's CT, BCCI said go ahead with the tournament without India. So PCB and ICC should have made that happe. It is easy for Nasser to teach sermons from tv studios but at the end of the day ICC need to pay the bills. Did he ever wondered why every other board member, including his own ECB, has voted against BD?
That's a good point you make. BCCI asked the ICC and PCB to go ahead and host the CT, 2025 without India. Yet, they didn't. They should have because it would have set the precedent.​

This

Get down from your high horse, Mr Pak.

You are playing the game of geo politics like every other state. Nothing nobel.

We all know the tactics you use to play the global geopolitics.

Nothing wrong or right with that. It is what it is.
But please stop pretending it for any "higher nobel peace for humanity" motive

Second, India brings the majority revenue for ICC. So kicking a team like BD out is easier than India. I mean in last year's CT, BCCI said go ahead with the tournament without India. So PCB and ICC should have made that happe. It is easy for Nasser to teach sermons from tv studios but at the end of the day ICC need to pay the bills. Did he ever wondered why every other board member, including his own ECB, has voted against BD?
So just because IND brings in most of ICC revenue, doesn't mean it can do as it pleases. This is what this whole current saga is trying to establish.

ICC got completely exposed here. Also, all those associate ICC members who voted, what will happen to them in future when Bangladesh stops playing against those countries? We are the only ones who usually play against likes of Zim, Ireland, NED consistently. I want all BD people to boycott if BCB ever organizes any matches with these boards in future.

This is a nonsense take from Nasser Hussain, plainly absurd. League organisers cannot force franchises to sign players. No Indian investor would bankroll a league if compelled to buy Pakistani or Bangladeshi players. Equating Pakistan and Bangladesh is illogical: India faces cross-border terror from Pakistan, period.
Bangladesh playing victim while its board amplifies India-baiting narratives only weakens the case. Hussain’s argument collapses here. Cricket isn’t apolitical. The ICC must enforce contracts, penalise violations, and stop treating Indo-Pak cricket as business as usual.

India isn’t asking for forced grouping, we’re tired of foxes sold as lions, these Pakistani minnows team can’t stand against India… that’s the reality.

They can cry and whinning as much as they can , reality won't chance.

In hindsight, What was easier for ICC? Swap Ireland with Bangladesh or lose complete revenue from Ind/Pakistan game plus whatever revenue BD would have brought in?

First of all, India will never say just a month ago that their govt wont allow to play in Pakistan. Indian govt have adopted this non negotiable stance since 2008 Mumbai attacks. Teams like Pak and BD travelled to India regularly but suddenly found security issue when their ego got hurt. Either you have a security issue or not. Security is not a matter of joke and cannot be conditional. So ICC as a body understands whose concerns are genuine and who is bluffing.

Third, Mustafizur was not banned from IPL due to any security concerns. He was banned after BCCI faced backlash from Indians for what is happening with BD Hindus. Nasser must remember what happened in Birmingham couple of months ago, where Israeli fans were banned from attending Aston Villa game because having them would hurt ego of Islamists in Birmingham. Similarly, Hindus have feelings too and we will never allow a Bangladeshi to earn money from an Indian league.

Also, thought its true most of their players stood for Mustafizur but they even wanted to play in WT20. They boycotted a BPL game, called a 90 min press conference accusing their own board for calling them Indian agent. Has Nasser Hussain ever spoke about these?

So india tool this stance since 2008 after Mumbai attacks 🤣🤣

Who played Anne do series in 2013 and humilated india in their home turf? Lol

Didn't read rest of your post i knows its going to be all BS

In hindsight, What was easier for ICC? Swap Ireland with Bangladesh or lose complete revenue from Ind/Pakistan game plus whatever revenue BD would have brought in?

Bangldesh games with any country would have generated more revenue than Scotland

Seriously who watches Scotland play cricket

Even Scottish public don't take them seriously 🤣🤣

1. BCCI refused to travel to Pak Citing Govt permission and Security concerns

Outcome : CT 2025 changed to Hybrid Model. BCCI accomodated

2. BCB refused to travel to India Citing Govt Permission and Security Concerns

Outcome : Security assesment initiated. BCB Expelled

No one is blaming BCCI.. Naser Hussain is talking about ICC but of course in your head criticism on ICC is same as Criticism on BCCI

ICC replacing BD and Inviting Scotland created no Logistical hurdles but Shifting BD matches to SL did. ICC logic

You can make a false statement and then laugh at your own statement to mock others, but it won't make it true.

1. Bangladesh have refused to play in India for security reasons.

2. They have asked for the same accommodation to be made for them as was made for India who also denied accuracy of the ICC security assessment during Champions Trophy.

This is what has happened and trying to reframe it to mock Bangladesh unnecessarily is just a straightforward denial of the facts.

For a sport to have integrity the international governing body of that sport has to have independence. It cannot be making decisions based on this country having more money than that country and openly treating countries differently.

If you don't believe this then fine - be open about it and accept that you don't want the ICC to have integrity. But always remember that the world has a way of working and what goes up comes back down, nothing lasts for ever. The world can change very quickly. When the shoe is on the other foot don't ask for change.

Any reference to him speaking up for Zim in 2009 when they were denied uk visa? Otherwise he is simply playing to the gallery

If ICC was not tied to fragile ego of BJP then it would have moved in an instant.

Unfortunately this conflation of sports with politics and with Indian foreign policy is what has caused this mess.

One can see how the whole situation is messed up, in the case of Pakistan origin player Safyaan Sharif Indian government hastened their alleged extensive post Mumbai checks to make sure he would receive clearance within days. Those alleged anti terror checks were flushed down the pan just to keep their cricketing ego intact!

Everything India says should be heavily scrutinised. A county that can use such an event like Mumbai for political capital when it suits them, but flush it away with disdain when it doesn't, cannot be trusted!

ICC sometimes becomes Indian home ministry, sometimes it becomes passport stamper for GOI, sometimes it becomes a vehicle to mourn Afghan players but stays silent when GOI attempts to attack overseas players in Pakistan, and sometimes it becomes a cricket word. It is inconsistent. The only consistency is how much Indians will tap dance for Jay Shah.

1. BCCI refused to travel to Pak Citing Govt permission and Security concerns

Outcome : CT 2025 changed to Hybrid Model. BCCI accomodated

2. BCB refused to travel to India Citing Govt Permission and Security Concerns

Outcome : Security assesment initiated. BCB Expelled

No one is blaming BCCI.. Naser Hussain is talking about ICC but of course in your head criticism on ICC is same as Criticism on BCCI
BCCI informed the ICC of their reservations on travelling to Pakistan more than 6 months before the start of the tournament. BCB informed their reservations with less than a month to go, that too after their player was removed from the IPL. Not everyone in the world is dumb.​

Why ICC changed its process regardles of when the reservation was communicated. Im talking about need of doing security assesment to make a decision. So in Future lets say CT 2029 if Pak says they have reservation to travel to India 6 months in advance , Will ICC shift Pak matches to dubai or tell them to pack bags ?

Although its not fair on Bangladesh without winning anything their demands won't be met like India and Pakistans have.

Why ICC changed its process regardles of when the reservation was communicated. Im talking about need of doing security assesment to make a decision. So in Future lets say CT 2029 if Pak says they have reservation to travel to India 6 months in advance , Will ICC shift Pak matches to dubai or tell them to pack bags ?
ICC already has managed the reservations of the Pakistan team and scheduled all their matches in Sri Lanka in this World Cup.

It was already a co hosted tournament but since we are talking about Consistency of ICC and Majority of Tournaments being held in India , Will ICC apply same standard in future too? Standards are not bound by timelines or specific tournaments

Majority of tournaments held in India?

Yes
T20 WC 2021 although it was shifted to UAE by own choice of BCCI
2023 Mens WC
2025 Women WC
2026 Wt20
2029 CT
2031 CWC

So if Pak commuincates to ICC in 2029 that it cannot travel to India 6 Months in Advance , Will ICC change it to Hybrid like it did in 2025? the question is Simple , just do not run errands around it and answer it

So just because IND brings in most of ICC revenue, doesn't mean it can do as it pleases. This is what this whole current saga is trying to establish.

ICC got completely exposed here. Also, all those associate ICC members who voted, what will happen to them in future when Bangladesh stops playing against those countries? We are the only ones who usually play against likes of Zim, Ireland, NED consistently. I want all BD people to boycott if BCB ever organizes any matches with these boards in future.

Re read my post. I guess you have comprehension issues.

Where did I say just because India bring most revenue it can do as it please? What did BCCI even do? Show me one ICC event where BCCI have done similar drama which Pak and BD is doing? India cannot travel to Pakistan because Indian govt has not allowed it since 2008. This is non negotiable and not conditional like with Pakistan and BD.

However, BCCI has not stopped anyone. Even in last years Champions Trophy, India said they will not travel but carry on with the tournament with other teams. PCB should have done that. But, both ICC and PCB knew without India, there will be no money. So they made the hybrid arrangement to accomodate India. However, kicking BD out from a tournament, like they have done this time, will have zero impact.

If anything, BCCI to its credit even accepted the same hybrid arrangement for Pak until 2027. That move came as a surprise and something they should not have done. Even then Pakistan is doing drama, after asking for hybrid model, only shows their aim is to disrupt the tournament.

Also, BD is in no position to threaten any boards. Barking doga seldom bites. What happen to their hollow threat of dragging ICC to court?

Look, I will make one thing very clear - whether Pak plays or not, whether BD takes ICC to court or not is between them and ICC. However, India will NEVER (read NEVER in bold) will travel to Pakistan, play bilateral cricket with them or take any Pak/BD players in IPL unless the killings of Hindus and cross border terrorism stop. We are a very kgudgarz nation and this bit is non negotiable. Neither Nasser Hussain and his grandfather can do anything about it.

Bookmark this post, Pakistan will either play India as scheduled or not play at all in this WC.

Where is the emergency meeting to throw Pakistan out of the World Cup as claimed by Vikrant?

When impartial observers know which side is in the right, it doesn’t leave much doubt does it.

If the only response by Indians will be “oh we have money and power”, it just reaffirms who’s right.

Money is temporary, a dignified and principled stance is remembered forever.

When impartial observers know which side is in the right, it doesn’t leave much doubt does it.

If the only response by Indians will be “oh we have money and power”, it just reaffirms who’s right.

Exactly

This chappair by Pakistan (and Bangladesh) will sting for eternity

Impartial?
:yk

Gideon Haigh is what you call impartial, so is Ricky Ponting.

Nasser Hussain is a Muslim, there is no way he won’t support Pakistan.

Exactly

This chappair by Pakistan (and Bangladesh) will sting for eternity
Getting flogged three times in a row is not the flex you think it is.

Its hilarious that you are glorifying a wuss, especially when you were against Pak boycotting initially.

Getting flogged three times in a row is not the flex you think it is

I always had doubts as to why you especially loved Bavuma of all players in the world. You gave him Cristiano Ronaldo status here.

CAN YOU GUYS TALK ABOUT THE TOPIC INSTEAD OF DISCUSSING PERSONAL STUFF AND RELIGIONS???

You conveniently forget what Ponting and Gideon said.
“Jay Shah's qualifications are that he’s the son of the Indian Home Minister, and that’s it. He’s got no particular vision, no particular skills, he’s not particularly charismatic, he doesn’t have a huge track record.”

- Gideon Haigh, Cricket Author

CAN YOU GUYS TALK ABOUT THE TOPIC INSTEAD OF DISCUSSING PERSONAL STUFF AND RELIGIONS???
Bro it's important that we cannot allow this to be type of discriminatory behaviour to go unchallenged. A pundits opinion cannot simply be dismissed because of the faith of his grandfather.

Indians are trying to make this into some Hindu Muslim debate and drag this argument that is centered around justice and equality to their communal gutter!

“Jay Shah's qualifications are that he’s the son of the Indian Home Minister, and that’s it. He’s got no particular vision, no particular skills, he’s not particularly charismatic, he doesn’t have a huge track record.”

- Gideon Haigh, Cricket Author
Bhai ne yeh nahi Dekha.

Saxena sab only liked what he said about Pakistan’s relevance

It's so amusing to see all the Indian posters come here and go all gung ho against anyone that says anything remotely bad about India...

Nasser is right, and I said this ten years ago, when you give too much money and power to one nation and that nation happens to be consumed by insecurity then you'll see what we're seeing today... end result, the death of a sport as we know it

Another flawed logic in Nasser's comments - why does IPL and Indian franchise owners discriminate against Pak players. First of all how this is related to ICC events. Second, as a business owner I have the right to employ whoever I want. Reason why Pak players are banned from IPL is surely known to him but he deliberately choose to ignore it.

He also said, it is a surprise that Pak cricket is still doing well without getting chance to play in global leagues like SAT20 etc. Someone reminds him, Indian players only get to play in IPL. Pak players on the other hand has PSL, plus their players are free to play every other league like BBL, BPL, ILT20, CPL etc where franchise owners are not Indians. So based on this theory Indian team should suffer more as every team come and play in IPL for 3 months where as Indian cricketers never allowed to play other leagues. I know he is a Pakistani apologist but its a case of naach na jaane angaan tera for him. No wonder KP mocked him once on live tele for supporting Pakistan.

Sky Sports...pls get me into a debate with Nasser and Butcher. They will get proper ownage from Raj.

Slowly but surely, people have started calling out the spoilt elephant in the room. Pakistan kicked it off by standing up for themselves and playing ***-for-tat by demanding the hybrid model for this World Cup. Then Bangladesh finally showed some spine, said no to the ICC, and broke a few Indian hearts by boycotting the World Cup.

Pakistan doubled down by backing Bangladesh and boycotting only their match against India, something Indian fans have been dreaming of for years, but Pakistan did without a second thought about the repercussions. And now to top it off, you have got a few ex-players from SENA countries suddenly discovering 'equality' and calling out the ICC's hypocrisy. :yk :inti

images

I think so.

His assessments are accurate about Jay Shah and are uneducated regarding Pakistan’s relevance.

From an Australian cricket pov, it is questionable as to how their board perceived Babar and Rizwan as the best T20i players to be paid premium fee.
I think its the opposite.

Jay Shah has 15 years of cricket administrative experience and that was even before BJP came to power.

Yes, his father was a big reason behind that but then its quite similar to how other politicians promote their kids, even someone like Rahul Gandhi who is probably the most incompetent opposition leader in history and a perennial loser who has destroyed congress is still promoted as leader of the opposition by that party.

Its nothing new, nepotism exists.

Bro it's important that we cannot allow this to be type of discriminatory behaviour to go unchallenged. A pundits opinion cannot simply be dismissed because of the faith of his grandfather.

Indians are trying to make this into some Hindu Muslim debate and drag this argument that is centered around justice and equality to their communal gutter!

Its true though and the reason behind his love for Pakistan. Even likes of KP called him out for it on live tv. You can cry to mods for censor this discussion but we must be honest. Religion is the only reason Nasser Hussain supports Pakistan. It is also the only reason why many so called Indian posters here supports Pakistan. We should be honest to ourselves.

:inti :kp

Its true though and the reason behind his love for Pakistan. Even likes of KP called him out for it on live tv. You can cry to mods for censor this discussion but we must be honest. Religion is the only reason Nasser Hussain supports Pakistan. It is also the only reason why many so called Indian posters here supports Pakistan. We should be honest to ourselves.

:inti :kp
FYI I didn't cry..I asked for it to remain uncensored so we can challenge Jeet Bhai and his discrimination. He stopped one short of you though, and said Irfan Pathan and Mohammed Shami doesn't support Pakistan.

Just as we hope that it is not censored and you bring your proof for KP challenging Nasser Hussain support for Pakistan on the basis of his religion.

People have problem with Jay Shah being head of ICC because he is son of Indian home minister.

However, PCBs head is home minister of Pakistan himself who also happens to be ACC chief. However, none of these hypocrites will say anything.

FYI I didn't cry..I asked for it to remain uncensored so we can challenge Jeet Bhai and his discrimination. He stopped one short of you though, and said Irfan Pathan and Mohammed Shami doesn't support Pakistan.

Just as we hope that it is not censored and you bring your proof for KP challenging Nasser Hussain support for Pakistan on the basis of his religion.

He cant be explicit obviously. However, people realize where his inclination lies. If I recall, KP also took a dig at him live on commentary during Ind vs Pak game in 2019 WC.

Reason we love :kp smiley so much.