Your thoughts on India's run chase of 338 against England?

What intent. Indian batting can have all the intent in the world but they are so rubbish they can't do anything. Why don't you understand that?

what? They didn't show intent. It is a different thing showing intent and failing.Intent comes first. you are talking about results. How come he smashes 26 runs from Umesh's 20th over in the IPL.

Instead we should accept that ENG played amazing cricket. Just look at some of the impossible catches that England took. Unbelievable stuff. ENG surely is the strongest contender to win the cup, even above Australia. You heard it here first.

First time i saw them changing field every ball, bowling every ball with conscious plan, they were super focused today about what ball to bowl to which batsman. India still made game out of it until two oldies let us down.

We may be upset but the truth is that top teams do not depend on others to qualify.

If Pakistan wants to qualify on merit than they have to beat Bang with a big enough margin to have a better run rate than NZ.

Was it Pakistan's fault that we had a rained off match against SL????????

Both Pak and Eng have 3 losses, if Eng beat NZ then even NZ will have 3 losses. Pak has beaten both England and New Zealand both of whom will play semi while as per posters like you "Pakistan does not deserve to play semi".

Pathetic fair weather fans.

so if NZ lost to England, Pak win against Bangladesh, Pak and NZ will be tie on points, so I am confused, will it be decided on which team beat each other since PAK beat NZ or will it be NRR between the two? any thing offical on that

Number of wins first then NRR

It looks terrible either way. If just the intent was missing (if India deliberately lost to slim Pakistan's chances to enter semis), it looks terribly poor from a sporting spirit pov. However, the worse perspective as an Indian fan is that this Indian team genuinely cannot chase this target against a good opposition. I cannot fathom why Dinesh Kartik and Jadeja are warming the bench while Kedar Jadhav and Rishabh Pant are in the playing XI. Mark my words, unless there is a miracle that Rohit and Virat continue with their form, India will NOT win the world cup. Terrible match today either way. Waste of a Sunday.

PPers need to stop giving India too much credit. They will fail to chase 300+ 8/10 times in bilaterals and 10/10 times in World Cup games.

Besides Sharma and Kohli, the rest are average batsmen.

Some of us predicted this was a formality, once England reached 202 in 31 overs.

you are angry because this result put PAK in a tough position. Let's be honest, would you be this angry if it were just another india vs eng match?

My anger or lack thereof is irrelevant to India throwing the game...stick to the topic instead of personal comments, cause I can just as well call you out on your insidious chanakyaian reveling after this fixed match between India and Eng...

Kohli looked proper cheesed off as well to be fair.

It was a bizzare run chase especially the last 5 overs.

There were thousands of Indian fans outside the ground who were watching this match as they couldn’t get tickets, many else gave up good money and a whole day for that crap at the end where they didn’t even try to win ?

This is a loser type mentality and Team India need to change this mindset if they want to be a top world class team.

We may be upset but the truth is that top teams do not depend on others to qualify.

If Pakistan wants to qualify on merit than they have to beat Bang with a big enough margin to have a better run rate than NZ.

I don't agree. Pakistan was not a top team when they won the 92 worldcup and we all know what happened after that. If your logic is that teams should be placed according to you rankings then why have the world Cup in the first place.

Pakistan is a quality side and is capable of beating everyone in this tournament as evident by aus, Eng and newzealand game. It just so happens we did not have a good start to the tournament and a rained out game that we were sure to win.

PPers need to stop giving India too much credit. They will fail to chase 300+ 8/10 times in bilaterals and 10/10 times in World Cup games.

Besides Sharma and Kohli, the rest are average batsmen.

Some of us predicted this was a formality, once England reached 202 in 31 overs.

Ok not giving India credit, but pray tell why was Dhoni shouldering arms and leaving innocuous balls outside his off stump?

I’m glad I didn’t support India for a win today, would rather be happy exiting the tourney than depending on India to get us through and I’m glad they’ve lost to England otherwise the Indian keyboard army would have been bragging about how they have made us a favour.

My anger or lack thereof is irrelevant to India throwing the game...stick to the topic instead of personal comments, cause I can just as well call you out on your insidious chanakyaian reveling after this fixed match between India and Eng...

To be honest, seemed more a case of MS Dhoni messing it up - incompetence. However, why other batsmen did not feel the need to step up is beyond me. Did they have instructions to play out the overs?

Both Pak and Eng have 3 losses, if Eng beat NZ then even NZ will have 3 losses. Pak has beaten both England and New Zealand both of whom will play semi while as per posters like you "Pakistan does not deserve to play semi".

[MENTION=318]Hasan[/MENTION] is simply a confused soul. He has no idea whether he should support England, Pakistan or India. That other kid who was crying about the situation in Pakistan but has a Union Jack plastered next to his username is in the same boat.

Oh how quaint...

Yeah it was also an off day when Dhoni was leaving balls...
If you have observed Dhonis batting since 2017, its obvious misba ul haq has been giving him online training on how to bat

To be honest, seemed more a case of MS Dhoni messing it up - incompetence. However, why other batsmen did not feel the need to step up is beyond me. Did they have instructions to play out the overs?

It sure sounded like Kohli was upset at Dhoni and Jadhav's approach as well.

Dinesh karthik could possibly have won this game. He is a good player of fast bowling unlike this Jadhav.

I think they will bring in DK for Jadav. Jadav isn't bowling either anyway. That will set this team well with Pant and DK in instead of 3D and Jadav

I realise it is a difficult situation but that does not qualify you to make stupid comments.

It is not India’s job to ensure Pak qualify. We are where we are because we did not play well enough earlier esp against Aus.

Let not your emotions get the better of you. No one is saying Pak should qualify for the SF.

Goes to say you have an astute cricketing brain and you knew right away how much stronger this ENG team is than INDIA

Its more of an eye for the game following cricket for almost 25 years... This game was for india to take had roy been given out by Dar or Indian taking a review, but that was the momentum shift point for England, straight away Roy took that as an opportunity and blasted of 10 runs in next two balls and the rest of the game followed as it was suppose to...

True about intent, but Dhoni's intent has been disaster for a while now.

It's completely different to be taking singles in the 43rd over and taking singles in the 48th. When the former happens, you can say that the batsman was trying to take it deep. When the latter happens, you know that it is a case of match-fixing.

If you have observed Dhonis batting since 2017, its obvious misba ul haq has been giving him online training on how to bat
[MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION]... yeh kya sun raha hoo main...Kab se Dhoni ka tuition chal raha hai :inti ?

It's completely different to be taking singles in the 43rd over and taking singles in the 48th. When the former happens, you can say that the batsman was trying to take it deep. When the latter happens, you know that it is a case of match-fixing.
Dhoni has more money than the net worth of every Pakistan cricketer put together in history. He doesn't need to fix. I agree it was deliberate with zero intent at the end but it's not fixing. They gave up as Dhoni did last year and it's possible they are looking at a SF matchup with NZ if NZ wins against Eng. They also made themselves safe by going close to the target even if they lose the next two games. They are virtually in the SF now. In that way, it's a fix and it's for selfish reasons for their team but not for money.

You need to watch Dhoni's recent innings man, just look at my other thread week's back, his pathetic style of late to take the game deep (not sure what that bloody hell means) and patting straight to the bowlers. Just watch the Afghanistan match once and you will understand why I was crying about lack of intent. This fellow Jadhav played a maiden in the 47th over in that match, can you believe that?

Forget about fixing, no need for fixing when you have such pathetic players.

Were we born stupid or did you learn it. It is a very simple situation, Pakistan’s current predicament is a function of not having played well enough earlier. India, Aus, Eng will qualify on the basis of the outcomes of their own games!

[MENTION=318]Hasan[/MENTION] is simply a confused soul. He has no idea whether he should support England, Pakistan or India. That other kid who was crying about the situation in Pakistan but has a Union Jack plastered next to his username is in the same boat.

Ok not giving India credit, but pray tell why was Dhoni shouldering arms and leaving innocuous balls outside his off stump?
He realized it was beyond his capabilities to chase this down, and didn't want to hurt their NRR?

Indian fans have been banging on about rubbish batsmen in their middle-order. Not sure why this performance comes as a surprise to everyone. They CANNOT chase 300+ in WC games. It was never going to happen.

I am not surprised to see this and to expect anything else was being overly optimistic. A country that has done everything that it can to hurt Pakistan from its lobbying to get Pakistan on FATF list to unsuccessfully trying to hit targets in Pakistan which they failed at miserably and embaralassed themselves on world stage. It's not like indias policy ever has been of separating cricket and politics as evident by India refusing to play Pakistan on bilateral series.
Grow up guys, India have not deducted any points or stopped Pak winning matches.
It's a World cup where every one plays each other. you win matches and get points.
Its not India's fault that you have not won enough matches.

England won because they picked Liam Plunkett. Keeping him out of the side proved to be very costly. He is their most senior bowler who takes wickets in the middle overs

Just shows all of India win were flukes

What are you on about?
Pak was spanked, so was WI. SA were defeated comprehensively as was Australia. Only Afghanistan of all gave us a fight.

England was lucky to have our legendary player playing a disgraceful innings, the way Virat was looking, if he was there till 35th over or so, match was dusted for England.

Only Virat and Rohit, if they score well can win a game for us chasing big totals, else we are dusted. That is the reason for every fan's anger towards the intent being shown by Dhoni and Jadhav. They are simly not good enough now.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">95 from 54. 6 wickets in hand. And then you just take singles. Very very bizarre.</p>— Usama Mir (@iamusamamir) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamusamamir/status/1145384162179915777?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 30, 2019</a></blockquote>

He realized it was beyond his capabilities to chase this down, and didn't want to hurt their NRR?

Indian fans have been banging on about rubbish batsmen in their middle-order. Not sure why this performance comes as a surprise to everyone. They CANNOT chase 300+ in WC games. It was never going to happen.

Bang on target. That's the reason for the attack in the last over and not taking a single. He decided they were not going to win and didn't want to be 270 all out. Also, losing has advantages to India. They could play NZ if NZ wins against Eng, They could play Eng on a tricky pitch. Who knows. This doesn't hurt India's SF chances at all. If they have to chase 300+ in SF or final they will lose again.

Were we born stupid or did you learn it. It is a very simple situation, Pakistan’s current predicament is a function of not having played well enough earlier. India, Aus, Eng will qualify on the basis of the outcomes of their own games!

Nzl benefited heavily from the rained out game. If Pak ends up at 11 points, I'd say Pak did well enough to have reached semis in most tournaments.

Dhoni has more money than the net worth of every Pakistan cricketer put together in history. He doesn't need to fix. I agree it was deliberate with zero intent at the end but it's not fixing. They gave up as Dhoni did last year and it's possible they are looking at a SF matchup with NZ if NZ wins against Eng. They also made themselves safe by going close to the target even if they lose the next two games. They are virtually in the SF now. In that way, it's a fix and it's for selfish reasons for their team but not for money.

Yes, and he has more money than your entire lineage. That is not the point since match-fixing does not have to be about money. Deliberately losing a match is match-fixing, and it is a shameful act no matter why you do it.

You need to watch Dhoni's recent innings man, just look at my other thread week's back, his pathetic style of late to take the game deep (not sure what that bloody hell means) and patting straight to the bowlers. Just watch the Afghanistan match once and you will understand why I was crying about lack of intent. This fellow Jadhav played a maiden in the 47th over in that match, can you believe that?

Forget about fixing, no need for fixing when you have such pathetic players.

Well, I haven't followed India's previous games but I have a hard time believing Dhoni and Jadhav would not even attempt to hit a six until the game was lost if this was a WC semi-final, for example.

Not sure about "we", but you were certainly "born stupid".

Once pandyas wicket went the completely gave up chasing.

Just looking to minimize the net run rate loss.

India are in it for the cup, they have the mentality that losing the battle is fine as long as they win the war.

Please don't post anything this sensible. You're supposed to go with the flow and explain how India played primarily to ensure that Pakistan don't qualify :srini

Nzl benefited heavily from the rained out game. If Pak ends up at 11 points, I'd say Pak did well enough to have reached semis in most tournaments.

Don't even try, bud. He's too busy trying to figure out his identity. Watch him get back on the Pakistan hype train once we make the semis, InshaAllah.

There are two good things to come out of this. Bangladesh are out and
We play Aus in the semis and not India, if we get through

Today India hit Pakistan where it hurts the most.

All this talk of friendship among neighbours is a sham. Machiavellian approach by India showed this.

If i could ask for a couple of miracles i would ask that Bangladesh and Srilanka both beat India by heavy margins.

And why should India do Pakistan any favours?

Since only Pandya has the ablility to clear the boundary in the last 10 overs with 5 men patrolling the rope, we can't afford to allow the RR to climb up >8 assuming top order goes back to the shade by then.
MSD and Kedar can't chase anything above 6-7 rpo, so don't expect a miracle.

Give England credit as they were under pressure and received criticism from all corners. They have never won a cup and are bit of chokers when it comes to this tournament, but today they showed up and took care of business. Great stuff from England today.

Since only Pandya has the ablility to clear the boundary in the last 10 overs with 5 men patrolling the rope, we can't afford to allow the RR to climb up >8 assuming top order goes back to the shade by then.
MSD and Kedar can't chase anything above 6-7 rpo, so don't expect a miracle.
Pandya cannot hit pace consistently. The match was over before Indian innings began. You guys are not capable of chasing 300+ in WC games, specially without Shikhar Dhawan.

So you think MS DHONI was involved in fixing.
He is one of the most selfless cricketers india ever had, please don't throw senseless allegations on a legend.
The problem is inability not intent.

Why Pakistanis are more upset than Indians?

Pakistan's chance of going to semi-final got reduced. Pakistan now have to beat BD by a big margin to go through (assuming England beats NZ).

Indian players looked very relaxed out there. India did try to chase it down but Virat’s poor form isn’t helping. He has been the architect of most successful chases for us in recent years. Wonder why nobody is talking about it.

I’m pretty sure we would have played a bit differently had it been a must win game. I mean it would have been a bit more intense. We know that a loss is unlikely to hurt our chances of making it to the semi finals. But arguments like India lost it deliberately are childish. It was a carefully constructed chase. None of the batsmen threw their wickets away. English bowlers know how to bowl on such flat tracks. We wanted to ensure that if we lose we don’t lose by a big margin. Hence the not so aggressive approach.

Btw didn’t any of you guys see blood coming out of Dhoni’s thumb?

The last 8 overs were dubious as hell, just like our chase in the 2011 WC SF against India.

I don’t watch the IPL but had heard/read a lot about Pant. What a disappointment he was in this match. Zero timing. Didn’t even look talented.

Yes, and he has more money than your entire lineage. That is not the point since match-fixing does not have to be about money. Deliberately losing a match is match-fixing, and it is a shameful act no matter why you do it.

Well, I haven't followed India's previous games but I have a hard time believing Dhoni and Jadhav would not even attempt to hit a six until the game was lost if this was a WC semi-final, for example.

Not sure about "we", but you were certainly "born stupid".

Your biggest mistake is to overestimate Dhoni and then get emotional about it. They showed no intent yes but they were never going to win with 74 to win in 5 overs

Bizarre and surprising run chase without too much cohesion and conviction.

Rohit struggled, then found his mojo, Virat was not at his best but did tried, Pandya tried but is limited with the bat. Pant looked nervous and a little flustered. The rest, the less said the better.

Dhoni has been playing like that for last few years. Questions have been asked always about his batting. He doesn't have the ability anymore.

Even in IPL he plays like that- this year a little bit of an exception.

There is no conspiracy guys. It is the diminished capability of Dhoni.

Jadhav should have tried but I think Dhoni would have asked him to go on damage control as well.

Bizarre and surprising run chase without too much cohesion and conviction.

Rohit struggled, then found his mojo, Virat was not at his best but did tried, Pandya tried but is limited with the bat. Pant looked nervous and a little flustered. The rest, the less said the better.

I am surprised what the hype is about Pant? Seemed half-cooked.

Dhoni has been playing like that for last few years. Questions have been asked always about his batting. He doesn't have the ability anymore.

Even in IPL he plays like that- this year a little bit of an exception.

There is no conspiracy guys. It is the diminished capability of Dhoni.

Jadhav should have tried but I think Dhoni would have asked him to go on damage control as well.

The biggest mystery is Jadhav’s role in the team.

The highest run chase this World Cup has been bd against wi and that was with overs to spare

India aren’t the same time of the last two world cups where they can chase big totals
The last ten overs were embarrassing for India and ms Dhoni obviously didn’t want a lose a 6th wicket

If NZ win and PAK win then:

NZ = 13 points.
PAK - 11 points
ENG - 10 points.

PAK and NZ will NOT be on level points.

Tie breakers become irrelevant!

I think the Indians threw the match !!!! There was a situation where 2 runs were easy, but the non-striker had to fix his socks !!!!

this batting lineup do not have ability to chase such big targets....match was over at the end of 1st innings itself when england put up a total of 337

Here’s the thing. They had very little incentive to chase this down hard once it became tough. Once Rahul flopped it became a warm up game for the semi-finals.

They are very comfortable in the knowledge that they can obliterate Bangladesh and an already eliminated Sri Lanka (only need to win one to secure a semi-final berth).

Seriously, anyone who thinks that India deliberately lost this game just to spite Pakistan are fooling themselves. India losing this game means they'll likely miss out on topping the group phase, and will face a tough semi-final against England. If they'd won, they would've likely topped the group and faced a much more winnable semi against either New Zealand or Pakistan.

Pakistan's chance of going to semi-final got reduced. Pakistan now have to beat BD by a big margin to go through (assuming England beats NZ).

I don't think it's realistic for Pakistan to haul in New Zealand's net run rate. New Zealand is so far ahead, that if New Zealand lost to England by 200 runs, and Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 200 runs, NZ would still be ahead of Pakistan on NRR. Really, the only way forward for Pakistan now is for NZ to beat England.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It's not who you are.. What you do in life defines who you are.. Me not bothered if Pakistan gets to the semis or not but one thing is for sure.. Sportsmanship of few Champions got tested and they failed badly <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvsEND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvsEND</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC2019?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC2019</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1145459738236411905?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 30, 2019</a></blockquote>

I think this was unnecessary by Waqar. Not everyone is out to get Pak. Dhoni has a history of playing knocks that do not make sense.

India did try to chase it down but Virat’s poor form isn’t helping. He has been the architect of most successful chases for us in recent years. Wonder why nobody is talking about it.
Yeah, scrutinize 1/2 guys who is scoring some runs at good rate but not someone whose selfishness knows no bounds. Must say, bh@kts are someone else, out of this world!

You accused me of trolling on another thread but reading your responses, it seems you can't respond without throwing an insult.
Man life must be tough for you that you sound so bitter

Pakistani legends shouldnt make such comments. Leave it to fans

Ironically in 2011 India made 338 in WC, England managed to draw it. Strauss made 150+. India needed Sharma to go and make a big one.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Very strange end to this game. Was great until the last few overs. &#55358;&#56596; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGIND</a></p>— Gary Lineker (@GaryLineker) <a href="https://twitter.com/GaryLineker/status/1145384994627555333?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 30, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Weird, wasn’t it!</p>— Kevin Pietersen&#55358;&#56719; (@KP24) <a href="https://twitter.com/KP24/status/1145397698847236096?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 30, 2019</a></blockquote>