‘Boys locker room’: South Delhi boys create Instagram group to discuss gang-raping minors, FIR filed

Varun

Senior Test Player
The Delhi Police have filed a first information report in connection with an online group on social media platform Instagram, where teenage boys from South Delhi schools engaged in conversations about rape, and sexually objectified and shared photos of several underage girls, The Indian Express reported.

Massive outrage erupted after several social media users on Sunday posted screenshots of crude conversations from the group named “Bois locker room”. The screenshots showed members of the group – believed to be students of some top schools in Delhi and some allegedly as young as 13-years-old – sharing photos of teenage girls and making explicit comments about their bodies. The list of members of the group chat has also been released publicly.

The incident has renewed the debate about the normalisation of rape, objectification and slut-shaming of women. The hashtag #BoysLockerRoom became a top trend on Twitter on Monday, with thousands of posts.

A police officer said the administration of a private school had filed a complaint at the Saket police station. “After we came to know about this matter, we registered an FIR under sections 465 (forgery), 471 (using as genuine a forged document or electronic record), 469 (forgery for purpose of harming reputation), 509 (word, gesture or act intended to insult the modesty of a woman) and sections 67 (publishing or transmitting obscene material in electronic form) and 67A (publishing or transmitting of material containing sexually explicit act in electronic form) of the IT Act,” Delhi Commissioner of Police (Cyber Cell) Anyesh Roy told The Indian Express. “We are probing the matter and collecting all technical evidence.”

The Delhi Commission for Women also took cognisance of the matter and issued notices to the police as well as Instagram. In its notice to the police, the panel demanded that the police submit a report on the action taken in the case by May 8.

“It has been reported that the members of the group have discussed techniques of raping women and gang-raping minors,” the Delhi Commission for Women said in its notice. “This is a very serious matter in which an online platform is being openly used for illegal activities. The commission has instituted an inquiry into the matter.”

The incident triggered horror and furious reactions on social media. In a series of tweets, Me Too India – an outgrowth of the powerful global movement against sexual assault – said that there was an urgent need to address toxic masculinity.

“Tell us again how hanging four rapists in a day was supposed to strike fear in the hearts of men and boys?” they tweeted. “States can hang all the rapists they want, #boyslockerroom will continue unless the root cause of patriarchy, entitlement and toxic masculinity is addressed.”

https://scroll.in/latest/961032/boy...group-to-share-lewd-photos-of-girls-fir-filed

Not that crimes against women doesn't occur elsewhere, but does the hellhole called Delhi have any redeeming features at all?

Indian police have taken a 15-year-old boy into custody for participating in an Instagram group chat that shared images of underage girls and made lewd comments about them.

The group, "Bois Locker Room", is believed to comprise young schoolboys in the capital, Delhi.

Screenshots of chats on the group have been shared widely on social media.

The incident has caused outrage in Delhi, which is already seen as one of India's most unsafe cities for women.

The 2012 rape and murder of a medical student in the city led to a global outcry and the passage of more stringent laws against rape and sexual assault.

However, there has been little indication that the situation has improved since then.

How did the group become public?

Several Instagram users who had been made aware of its existence began posting about the group and calling out members for their behaviour.

It turned out that members were sharing images of their classmates and other underage girls without their knowledge or consent along with crude comments ranging from body shaming to jokes on sexual assault and rape.

The screenshots began to be widely shared on WhatsApp as well as Twitter and other social media platforms.

But Shubham Singh, a cyber expert who works closely with law enforcement and was one of the first people to begin investigating the group, has cautioned that many of these screenshots look edited.

He added that there appeared to be a mix of images from this group and some similar groups that exist on other social media platforms like Snapchat.

He said he started looking into the group after some Instagram users got in touch with him and sent him screenshots.

"I tried to investigate it properly but no-one was coming forward to file a complaint. So we tried to find out who was behind the group. They had deleted their Instagram accounts but through the screenshots and some tools, I was able to trace them," he said.

Mr Singh then passed on the information to the police, which has now led to one teenager being taken into custody.

What else has happened?
The Delhi Women's Commission (DCW) has asked for an investigation into the group.

It issued a directive to the Delhi police to file a case against the perpetrators and submit a report detailing exactly what action had been taken so far.

Police say they started their investigations after being made aware of the matter, but have told local media that a school had also filed a criminal complaint over the same case.

They are likely to bring more members of the group into custody soon, they added.

Meanwhile the DCW has also issued a notice to Instagram, asking for the details and IP addresses of all the members of the group, and asking the social media site to detail exactly what action it has taken to deal with the situation.

Instagram has not commented on the issue so far.

But Pawan Duggal, chairman of the International Commission of Cyber Security Law, says that the social media company is liable.

"Instagram cannot say they don't know this was happening. They have to cull out such content voluntarily. The police can go after them if they fail," he told the BBC, adding that this group was the result of India being "too soft" towards intermediaries like social media networks.

What causes such behaviour?

Mr Duggal, says his organisation has noticed a "massive increase" in the number of children visiting pornography and other "dark web" sites during the lockdown imposed to curb the spread of coronavirus.

"In the last 40 days of the lockdown, there have been massive sociological and psychological changes in society with children being indoors and not sharing their online activities with parents," he said.

He added that while they don't have scientific data, the commission had observed a rise in this trend - visits to pornography sites and sexual fantasy groups - during the lockdown.

However, senior psychologist Dr Roma Kumar, said such groups existed even before the lockdown, but said the unusual situation could make them more prevalent.

Mr Duggal said authorities had to send a strong message, and that the law had to "come up with a very strong hand" against the members of the group to discourage such behaviour from recurring.

There has been a lot of outrage and abuse directed at the members of the group already, with many people publicly calling for them to be arrested.

The names and Instagram handles of the members have also been made public on social media platforms.

However, Dr Kumar told the BBC that going after the members of the group in public on the internet was counterproductive and would not solve the issue in the long term.

"The aim is not to damage them. The aim is to get them out of this kind of behaviour," she said, adding that these chats were typical of the kind of high-risk behaviour that children of this age indulged in.

"The problem also is that with the internet, children are much more exposed to this kind of content, and they think that this is desirable behaviour. The only thing that can help is prolonged counselling so that they can see what they did was wrong," she said.

"Going after them will only make them more angry and defensive, and will not solve the issue. We want these boys to reform and become better members of society."

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-52541298

Name and shame such perverts. Flash their ugly faces on TV so that each and every eye in India can see it.

Not that crimes against women doesn't occur elsewhere, but does the hellhole called Delhi have any redeeming features at all?

Delhi is easily the most uncivilised and anti woman place, where using swearing words for sisters is flaunted with pride.

Other places have their dark side as well. When I moved to Chennai, the first task was involving busting a paedophile ring. Somehow it got only a passing mention in the media.

Name and shame such perverts. Flash their ugly faces on TV so that each and every eye in India can see it.

They didn't even show the paedophiles from tamil nadu who were caught a few months ago, and you are expecting juveniles to be shown for discussing crime.

But people of Delhi are happy with freebies they are getting. Who cares about safety, and well being of the women in society as long as they get the free bus pass.

I have been saying this all along that Delhi is dangerous place on earth for women. Even young girls are not safe there.

“It has been reported that the members of the group have discussed techniques of raping women and gang-raping minors,”

Without a doubt one of the most horrific stories I've read in recent times. I can't understand how from a young age boys can be thinking and discussing things like this. Bordering on psychopathic.

They didn't even show the paedophiles from tamil nadu who were caught a few months ago, and you are expecting juveniles to be shown for discussing crime.

I know legally it will never happen. But I hope somehow their pictures and names get exposed.

Not defending Delhi but India as a whole is a hellhole for women. Only difference is being the capital anything bad which happens in Delhi is highlighted where as incidents in other states are somewhat put under carpet. One example which comes in mind is Mumbai's Shakti Mill gang rape case. A case which was very similar (almost a ditto copy) to Nirbhaya case and happened just months after it but you never hear about it in mainstream media.

But people of Delhi are happy with freebies they are getting. Who cares about safety, and well being of the women in society as long as they get the free bus pass.

I have been saying this all along that Delhi is dangerous place on earth for women. Even young girls are not safe there.
Not sure what that has got to do with this news but India as a whole is a dangerous place for women. India is a country of rapists and racists. May be that is why you flew away from this country? :inti

Really concerning.

These boys are young and hence jail sentences may not be appropriate. But, they definitely need to be monitored. They also need therapies.

I might be wrong, but it seems the old, gentler values of India seem to be more prevalent in south India. Northern India seems to share too much of the macho culture you see in Punjab. Porn freely available to third world illiterates probably only makes things worse.

Sure they are wrong but I don't think they broke any laws so don't know why they are in custody

I think they only talked about these things

I might be wrong, but it seems the old, gentler values of India seem to be more prevalent in south India. Northern India seems to share too much of the macho culture you see in Punjab. Porn freely available to third world illiterates probably only makes things worse.

I think it's cultural issues and upbringing up north. I think most of the blame if not all goes to upbringing .

I am being serious, there seems to be something akin to a "rape culture" in India and is seriously worrying.

Please post sensibly - this is a very sensitive topic.

I am being serious, there seems to be something akin to a "rape culture" in India and is seriously worrying.
Man kids in Pak get raped by every section of society I would share a very dark documentary on YouTube about if you want to do it's not exclusive to India in Pak people do it mostly to kids because they don't have access to women as much

It's basically a week mentality where dipwits prey on weaker targets they could be woman or children

I think it's cultural issues and upbringing up north. I think most of the blame if not all goes to upbringing .

I should make clear, when I was comparing with Punjab, I was talking about Punjab Pakistan. Probably similar even further north when you start hitting Khyber areas.

Maybe my words are sounding harsh for that I apologise but what Iam saying why media don't cover up the other side?

I suggest you take your argument to another thread on this.

Delhi and the surrounding area has a culture where demeaning women is considered cool, and friendships are strengthened when you let the friend use swear words for your mother and sister. there is a show "delhi se hoon, (expletive)" where using the expletive puts the stamp on you being a true born delhiite. even the captain of the cricket team is from delhi, and we can see how he thinks he has licence to use vulgar expletives because delhi se hoon....

Not sure what that has got to do with this news but India as a whole is a dangerous place for women. India is a country of rapists and racists. May be that is why you flew away from this country? :inti

Delhi is on just another level compared to ROI or other metros like Mumbai.

Typical justification by people of Delhi, problem is all over India. Yes, problem does exists in other parts of India but nowhere near Delhi.

I grew up in Delhi, and have a whole bunch of friends there. Hindus, Sikhs, Muslims, Christians, Punjabis, Haryanvis, Bengalis, South Indians etc., a very civilized set of individuals.

"teenage boys from South Delhi schools engaged in conversations about rape, and sexually objectified and shared photos of several underage girls". You are scandalized by this? We here are "engaged in conversations about rape". Given the amount of pornography present in the internet, it is hardly surprising that some boys found something and shared something. The improvement has to come from cleaning up the internet, rather than expecting that we will provide access to pornography to boys and expect them to practice abstinence.

Like other democratic societies, there exists a deep contradiction in India. On one hand there is a deluge of images of half naked women selling stuff in the media, and on the other hand an expectation that boys should abstain from thoughts of sex.

'Bois Locker room' case: Delhi Police arrest 18-year-old group admin

NEW DELHI: The Delhi Police on Wednesday arrested an 18-year-old boy who was the administrator of the group "Bois Locker room". TOI on Wednesday was the first to report about the boy being picked up from Noida. However, the documents to establish his age were being verified.

Investigating officials revealed that the accused boy had recently appeared for his class 12 board examination and was awaiting the results. During interrogation, he told the police that he had created the group, but did not know everyone on the group personally and had added them through mutual references.

"The Cyber cell has asked for information about the alleged group and its members from Instagram+. The report from the Platform is awaited. The devices of the identified members of the group have been seized and sent for forensic analysis. The role of other group members is being ascertained,” Said Anil Mittal, additional PRO, Delhi Police.

Instagram had earlier said it takes the issue "very seriously" and does not allow such behaviour.

It had said the objectionable content featuring minor girls was removed from the platform as soon as it was made aware of it.

The Delhi Commission of Women (DCW) had issued a notice to Instagram and Delhi Police, taking cognizance of the matter.

Some of those involved are from reputed schools in the national capital, police said.

Information about the group came to light after a girl shared screenshots of its activities. Following this, the group started being called out on social media.

The police said during social media monitoring, it was noticed that the group was being used by the participants to share obscene messages and morphed pictures.

A case under relevant sections of IT Act and IPC was registered on Monday, officials said.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...year-old-group-admin/articleshow/75576134.cms

Delhi is on just another level compared to ROI or other metros like Mumbai.

Typical justification by people of Delhi, problem is all over India. Yes, problem does exists in other parts of India but nowhere near Delhi.

First of all nobody is trying to justify it. I only quoted you because you said people are busy getting freebies in Delhi. Can you please elaborate what has that got to do with rapes? :inti

Electing govt based on that freebies has everything to do with this, but you couldn’t see it. The rape pandemic have been going on for past many years, yet Delhi Govt is unable to provide safety to the women. What exactly have done by Delhi Govt to prevent any such incidents. Kejriwal and his govt is absolute failure. They were useless during Delhi riots too. Pathetic govt will yield pathetic system.

Next time when you people vote, perhaps give importance to safety and security than some freebies.

Mumbai too had rape/harassment issues in early 2000s, but Mumbai police and local authorities acted upon it. On the other hand, Delhi is just hitting new lows.

Delhi is not representing entire India. There are many parts of the country where women are safe. Delhi on the other hand is just utter failure.

India as a whole is a failure. Misogyny is rampant across the country and rape culture is there in most parts.

Uninformed don't even know that Delhi police isn't under the city government, buck stops with the 2 bigots people have chosen as our protectors.

As for freebies, let him live in fool's paradise. He perhaps wanted that clown, Manoj Tiwari to be our CM. But Delhites are far more intelligent than these people.

India as a whole is a failure. Misogyny is rampant across the country and rape culture is there in most parts.
As per National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) ranks UP as the worst for women's security and Madhya Pradesh as the state where rape is most rampant.

Delhi has very unfairly got this tag of rape capital of India, perhaps after Nirbhaya case. There have been even more gruesome crimes happening against women in other parts of India, but uninformed are still stuck on Delhi.

There are far more horrendous hells in India, just that Delhi being the capital city gets bad press the most.

Is it not true that delhi males are very liberal with swear words for mothers and sisters and wear it as a badge of identity. Delhi se hoon, ben stokes.

Electing govt based on that freebies has everything to do with this, but you couldn’t see it. The rape pandemic have been going on for past many years, yet Delhi Govt is unable to provide safety to the women. What exactly have done by Delhi Govt to prevent any such incidents. Kejriwal and his govt is absolute failure. They were useless during Delhi riots too. Pathetic govt will yield pathetic system.

Next time when you people vote, perhaps give importance to safety and security than some freebies.

Mumbai too had rape/harassment issues in early 2000s, but Mumbai police and local authorities acted upon it. On the other hand, Delhi is just hitting new lows.

Who told you people voted Kejriwal for freebies only? Have you visited any govt offices, schools and hospitals in Delhi? You are more than welcome to compare those with your Mumbai govt offices, schools and hospitals. People have seen the progress and development in Delhi thats why they have voted for Kejriwal. May be you are not aware but most of the trash in Delhi comes from nearby cities like Noida, Ghaziabad. And since Delhi is the capital of India everything gets reported here. Most of the crimes in smaller cities are either not reported or go unnoticed.

what do you think is the reason that the trash is from noida and ghaziabad and not delhi?

kejriwal govt's main work is the improvement of govt schools. even though it was done with astronomical costs, he deserved another chance for thinking in the right direction. Also nice that he is a Hanuman ji bhakt and even bjp supporters voted for him.

Uninformed don't even know that Delhi police isn't under the city government, buck stops with the 2 bigots people have chosen as our protectors.

As for freebies, let him live in fool's paradise. He perhaps wanted that clown, Manoj Tiwari to be our CM. But Delhites are far more intelligent than these people.

It seems he hates Delhi and loves filmy politicians. He won't tell you how many freebies he is getting outside India and why he left India. Hypocrites. :inti

You change your locations everyday like you change your narangi chaddi. :inti

bro, don't troll here. Topic is the rotten mentality of delhi, the rape capital of india. Let us stick to that instead of attacking posters you have long grudges with.

Why do you think Delhi is the rape capital? Is it something to do with its culture?

bro, don't troll here. Topic is the rotten mentality of delhi, the rape capital of india. Let us stick to that instead of attacking posters you have long grudges with.

Why do you think Delhi is the rape capital? Is it something to do with its culture?

Practice what you preach. You brought the topic of swearing in Delhi into this thread.

'I Knew Two Guys In The Bois Locker Room And I Couldn't Be More Disgusted,' Shares Classmate

“I initially took it lightly thinking that maybe it is exaggerated. Later, when I did some digging on Twitter and Instagram, I realised the gravity of the situation. It made me angry. When I read the stories and chats myself, I completely lost it. I was not aware that there were groups that would stoop to this level. Frankly, I took my time to believe this was true,” says Aarnav Gupta.

Eighteen-year-old Aarnav knew two of the boys from the “Bois Locker Room” Instagram chat group. He recalls feeling “disgusted” after reading the chats that went viral on social media earlier this week.

“I took to Instagram where my best friend had posted stories about the chats going viral while also tagging one of the accounts which exposed them. I directly went to those accounts and read the entire thing. I was disgusted. Genuinely disgusted. On seeing the names of the people, I realised I knew two of them. Not only I’m disturbed that two of them are fellow classmates, I'm also disgusted by the fact that I saw one of them as a really good friend once. It is nauseating to come to terms with the fact that these are the people I’ve interacted so often in school,” Aarnav tells.

The boys locker room controversy has once again raised questions about the male privilege and forces urgent introspection into how society raises its sons.

An Instagram chat group 'Bois Locker Room', with hundreds of boys from top-notch south Delhi schools, was serving as a safe haven for sharing pictures of underage girls, objectifying them and planning gangrapes. Most members of the group were minor boys.

The casual misogyny and normalisation of rape as seen in the group is not likely a divergence from the usual. Such groups have existed for a long time in every age group, only switching platforms over the years.

Aarnav asserts that though our law tends to protect the minor by sending them to juvenile homes, when found guilty of committing a crime, they are well aware of their actions. “It is not like the minor doesn’t know how sick their act is.”

When asked about the reaction of his parents, Aarnav says he told his parents immediately about what had happened. “They (parents) have met and known one of the guys involved. My mom is still nauseated by it. They both read about the entire incident the same night itself. My dad gave me a sort of pep talk that I do not ever engage in anything like this. He advised me to recheck all the groups I am a part of and leave everything that might be even slightly suspicious. Both of my parents were shaken. Even earlier today, my mom talked about it in disbelief. She can’t come to terms with the fact that all these boys were 16-18 years old.”

The chats are yet another window to toxic masculinity and predominant rape culture thriving among the youth of the country, not just the illiterate or disadvantaged but the elite and well-education children. The acts and conversations in the Bois Locker Room are not only wrong but also criminal.

The only way to alleviate this toxic rape culture is an open discussion on sex and gender between children and their parents. It is important to talk to children about consent. Boys must be told that women must be treated as humans and not objects. Patriarchy in the country has created a dystopia where young boys and men belonging to good, well-educated families unapologetically discuss raping young girls.

The Bois Locker Room exposes many ugly realities of the society and it is time those are addressed and controlled. Diluting sexual misconduct and sexual remarks as regular locker room talk is extremely problematic. The need of the hour is to address this head on before it is too late to realise that society had been breeding potential rapists.
https://www.indiatimes.com/news/ind...e-more-disgusted-shares-classmate-512690.html

Funny how people turn apologists and start deflecting when the torch of truth points to the dark side of things they identify with, as if they are being personally being accused of those crimes.

Oh it is people of the other religion who do it, or it is the people of lower class who do it, or it is the migrants stupid who do it. These south delhi boys come from affluent families. The culture of delhi is so rotten, that even the powerful from chanakyapuri, give their daughters pepper sprays.

There is a show named Delhi se hoon, (expletive involving sister). Abusing mothers and sisters is a matter of pride and matter of identity for these rotten delhiites, who have money but no upbringing, live in upscale places but have mentality of a gutter.

Funny how people turn apologists and start deflecting when the torch of truth points to the dark side of things they identify with, as if they are being personally being accused of those crimes.

Oh it is people of the other religion who do it, or it is the people of lower class who do it, or it is the migrants stupid who do it. These south delhi boys come from affluent families. The culture of delhi is so rotten, that even the powerful from chanakyapuri, give their daughters pepper sprays.

There is a show named Delhi se hoon, (expletive involving sister). Abusing mothers and sisters is a matter of pride and matter of identity for these rotten delhiites, who have money but no upbringing, live in upscale places but have mentality of a gutter.

Lol so your personal opinion has become a torch of truth these days? Taking a cue from your respected joshila bhai, I would like to say that since you are neither from Delhi nor from UP your opinion means jack in this thread. Kindly comment on the topic at hand and keep your gutter mentality out of this thread. You are trying too hard to generalize whole of Delhi because of some bad boiiz. :inti

Lol don't give example of Mumbai. Recently a woman was gang raped by four in a railway station. Now just imagine something like this happening in Delhi Metro station, every news channel would have covered it 24/7.
Atleast in Delhi when something like this happens it is given coverage, there is an outcry and culprits are caught. Everywhere else police and govt try their best to put cases like these under the carpet.
And Mumbai has probably the most unreported cases of rape. God knows what goes on in Bollywood.

Lol don't give example of Mumbai. Recently a woman was gang raped by four in a railway station. Now just imagine something like this happening in Delhi Metro station, every news channel would have covered it 24/7.
Atleast in Delhi when something like this happens it is given coverage, there is an outcry and culprits are caught. Everywhere else police and govt try their best to put cases like these under the carpet.
And Mumbai has probably the most unreported cases of rape. God knows what goes on in Bollywood.

When did this happen? It seems it was not reported or given the same coverage which cases in a big city like Delhi gets?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/indian...ailway-station-rape-four-arrest-6227978/lite/

Just one month after this another poor girl was raped by 3 men in two separate incidents within hours.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.fi...umbai-police-arrests-accused-8093241.html/amp

These types of incidents happen all over India but very few of them get coverage on newspapers and TV. Read about Shakti mill gang rape case.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/indian...ailway-station-rape-four-arrest-6227978/lite/

Just one month after this another poor girl was raped by 3 men in two separate incidents within hours.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.fi...umbai-police-arrests-accused-8093241.html/amp

These types of incidents happen all over India but very few of them get coverage on newspapers and TV. Read about Shakti mill gang rape case.

If people of Delhi are busy getting freebies then people of Mumbai are busy watching Bollywood movies. Was there any candle march from Mumbai residents or celebrities for these rape victims?

The Pinjra Tod (break the cage) group is doing some nice work fighting the misogyny prevalent in delhi. But even they have to face so much hatred from the entitled delhi male who gets offended when his patriarchal licence is threatened.

I am afraid this is the tip of the iceberg.

Instagram need to up their game also to detect such stuff.

As per National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) ranks UP as the worst for women's security and Madhya Pradesh as the state where rape is most rampant.

Delhi has very unfairly got this tag of rape capital of India, perhaps after Nirbhaya case. There have been even more gruesome crimes happening against women in other parts of India, but uninformed are still stuck on Delhi.

Its an easy tactic to distant oneself from the problems in the country.

Oh, this happened in Delhi? But I'm from Chennai so I am not like that. Shame on Delhites.

Oh, this happened in rural areas? But I'm from the city. We are not like that. Shame on uneducated rural people.

New Delhi: A comment about "gang-rape" that sparked huge outrage after the "Bois locker room" Instagram group of Delhi schoolboys was outed last week was never made on that chatroom, the police said on Sunday, revealing a major twist in the scandal. The comment made by a girl posing as a boy, allegedly to test a boy's response, the investigations have revealed.
The girl and the boy are not linked to "Bois Locker Room" but a screenshot of their Snapchat interaction was being shared on social media alongside those of the Instagram group and got mixed up, police said.

"The alleged Snapchat conversation is actually between a girl (sender) and a boy (receiver) in which the girl is sending chat messages through a fictional Snapchat account named 'Siddharth'.

The police said no case will be registered against either the girl or the boy. "Although, creating a fake id is wrong, her intent was not malicious so we are not filing any complaint," an official told news agency PTI.

"Using the fake identity of a male person, she suggested in the chat a plan for sexual assault, naming herself," Anyesh Roy, a senior Delhi police officer, shared his findings with media.

"The purpose of her sending such chat messages using a fake, fictional identity was to check the reaction of the receiver boy and the strength of his character, especially when someone talks bad things about her," Mr Roy said.

The boy refused to take part in the girl's fake plan and stopped communicating with her on Snapchat. He then discussed the hypothetical conversation of sexual assault with his friends, including the girl, and shared a screenshot. The girl, knowing it was her who started the discussion, didn't report the incident, the officer said.

One of the boy's friends shared the screenshot on Instagram. "When the Bois Locker Room Instagram screenshots were revealed to others and started circulating on social media, the alleged Snapchat conversation also got mixed with it due to its sensational nature and due to its availability in different student groups".

A Class 12 student above 18 was arrested last week for starting the "Bois Locker Room" group on which obscene messages and morphed photos of underage girls were shared. The teen studies in a Noida school and sat for the Class 12 exams this year.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/boi...to-boislockerroom-police-reveal-twist-2226544

Its an easy tactic to distant oneself from the problems in the country.

Oh, this happened in Delhi? But I'm from Chennai so I am not like that. Shame on Delhites.

Oh, this happened in rural areas? But I'm from the city. We are not like that. Shame on uneducated rural people.
This is true. Have seen people here distancing themselves from UP & Bihar whenever something adverse about them is mentioned.