“You (Babar Azam) were a fraud from the beginning”: Shoaib Akhtar

FearlessRoar

Shoaib Akhtar, while speaking on a show on a local media outlet:

"Let's try to sum up Virat Kohli a little bit. Now tell me, who is the hero of Virat Kohli? Sachin Tendulkar has scored 100 centuries, and Virat is chasing his legacy."

"Who is Babar Azam's hero? Tuk tuk (Without naming any cricketer). You have picked the wrong heroes. Your thought process is wrong. You were a fraud from the beginning. You were caught from the beginning. You made it clear in the ICC Champions Trophy itself that 'I have become No. 1 for one and half days. You are no No. 1. You promoted the wrong people.”

"Let's try to sum up Virat Kohli a little bit. Now tell me, who is the hero of Virat Kohli? Sachin Tendulkar has scored 100 centuries, and Virat is chasing his legacy."

"Who is Babar Azam's hero? Tuk tuk (Without naming any cricketer). You have picked the wrong heroes. Your thought process is wrong. You were a fraud from the beginning. You were caught from the beginning. You made it clear in the ICC Champions Trophy itself that 'I have become No. 1 for one and half days. You are no No. 1. You promoted the wrong people.”

I said this years ago. Its not only tuk tuk. It's also boom boom.

Damnn..this is brutal.

So far he has proven to be fraud... True... Babar has failed badly and now time has come that we move on from him

wow That is a direct attack. He is correct. Babar never had dominating game that you expect from top flight LOI players. ABDV, Chris Gayle, Rohit, Kohli. Teams do not fear his presence.

It's hilarious how hard the PCB and his fan base tried to compare him with Kohli unsuccessfully.
The funny thing is, Life has consistently shown that copycats consistently fail.

For example their was this one wrestler who looked like brock lesnar, and wwe thought that they should make him the next brock, hence he started training for it. But he failed spectacularly and currently he's no where to be seen, Not even a Google page exists. Because ultimately their was only one brock lesnar. You just can't minick that aura.

All cricketing greats are their own brand. No one looks at kohli and claims him to be the next Sachin, no one looks at David Warner and claims that he's the next gilly.

Their famous enough to be themselves.

He was always going to fail if he's seen as a bootleg Pakistani version of kohli. However in babar's case he isn't even a bootleg version of kohli, if he was people would accept him more lol.

Hes nothing more then a overrated minnow accumulator and otherwise rubbish player.

I dont think he was a fraud. He can clearly bat, and when on song he can bat well. But he never took the time to elevate his game and rested on his laurels. He thought he was too good for a power game, and thought he was too important to bat at a better strike rate.

Players need to put in mega hard work to be successful and remain successful. Taking the example of Virat and Tendulkar that have been mentioned, no Pakistani player has even 25% of their capability to work hard and improve their game.

He also said something like “when you make weird people captain, then these things happen”

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
He's advocating that the current captain is a weirdo.

It's true when you consider he compared Khushdil/Agha to Jadeja/Axar in the same league.

I dont think he was a fraud. He can clearly bat, and when on song he can bat well. But he never took the time to elevate his game and rested on his laurels. He thought he was too good for a power game, and thought he was too important to bat at a better strike rate.

Players need to put in mega hard work to be successful and remain successful. Taking the example of Virat and Tendulkar that have been mentioned, no Pakistani player has even 25% of their capability to work hard and improve their game.
So, what you're describing is, a fraud. Lol

Oh please, Babar doesn't have any hero, he's more arrogant then people think

He failed to evolve. 2020-21 was his peak. He never tried to become more. Slowly his well of runs also dried up.

Our ex cricketers have no filter. They are emotionally reacting on day to day basis.
Yes Babar is not Kohli. But the media is out of control!
I think it's the disappoinment. People had expectations from him and rightly so given the talent he has and the trajectory he was on.

You missed the point. Criticism is totally fine even on Bradman. But this media and ex cricketers have become way too toxic.

I don't know. I have seen ex Cricketers back Babar and be supporters of him until now. With fans and certain YouTubers its a different case.

His hero is AB Devilliers apparently

Uske……ke baal ke barabar ki batting nahi karta yeh
I don't really buy that tbh. Don't you try to emulate your hero? Where are the 360 strokes?

I think Babar is being unfairly targeted. He was never that good to begin with and all neutral cricket fans could see it. Only the blind ones went on about him bring the best and he was even called better than Kohli.

He is still a decent bat and should be treated as such. Pakistan first needs to get rid of the captain who is more of a mullah than a cricketer. Until you keep religion as sports separate, the cricket team will keep languishing.

Remember, at the end of the day babar has an icc trophy while Akhtar never won any.

Akhtar should be the last person making comments on others, as we know his career very well.

Critisize babar for his batting, but no need to go so low.

Remember, at the end of the day babar has an icc trophy while Akhtar never won any.

Akhtar should be the last person making comments on others, as we know his career very well.

Of course it will hurt your sentiments, he destroyed Misbah too

"Who is your hero? Your hero is Tuk tuk!"

Babar is certainly talented but as they say in the streets “ hard work beats talent when talent fails to work hard.”

Babar never bothered to perfect his game and correct his deficiencies. Whenever he’s not on national duty, he’s either modeling, marketing or playing T20 leagues. Never bothers with first class cricket to iron out his shortcomings. He feels like he’s too good to practice and has come to think of himself as an indispensable part of Pakistan cricket.

While I wouldn’t drop him, Rizwan & Shaheen, PCB needs to build a solid team around them and discard 90% of the team. Pakistan must create a system that rewards creativity and attacking cricket over self-preservation by players. This is what New Zealand did and look at them today.

PCB has to make the tough choices or this downward spiral of Pakistan cricket will force the sponsors and broadcasters to run away and ultimately render the PCB irrelevant.

Babar was initially a promising young player at the start of his career. However, instead of evolving and progressing, he regressed over time. Some fans failed to acknowledge that Babar's success was largely due to his performances against weak opponents and weakened lineups of strong teams. The entrance of Rizwan into the team setup plated a part in Babar's decline. Both were paired together by Miabah and adopted the "safety first" playing style like Misbah, which pushed Pakistan back to being the boring side white ball side it was during Misbah's tenure as a skipper.

Then Ramiz's arrived and he started the hype around Babar Azam and the team, treating them as brands. The 2022 season, which was actually a failure, especially for Babar as he underperformed was celebrated as a successful season by him. What's baffling is that many fans considered reaching the Asia Cup final as an achievement, even though Pakistan dropped three games during the tournament. They also celebrated the final appearance in the T20 World Cup, which was possible due to luck (a rained out match between South Africa and Zimbabwe). Furthermore, Pakistan's rise to the top ranking in the ODIs was after they whitewashed the New Zealand second string team, but fans celebrated it. The NZ full strength team has beaten Pak 2-1 in the same year earlier.

Luck had favoured Babar, and yet he failed to capitalize and could not achieve major success. But some fans continued to deny the reality even when it was apparent. Even to this day, Babar's stats are compared to batters from the 1990s in an attempt to make him look better. the others.

Even Faheem has a trophy. What's your point? Faheem is greater than Akhtar?
Thats a shame for Akhtar.

Akhtar critisizes players soo much, yet he himself was always ban for taking drugs, or other controversies he was involved in

Thats a shame for Akhtar.

Akhtar critisizes players soo much, yet he himself was always ban for taking drugs, or other controversies he was involved in
Akhtar didnt criticise anyone for a long long time. He clearly toned down after his mum passed away. Hes not a savage anymore. He even said in the show that he wouldnt bother talking about these players or Pakistan cricket if he wasnt getting paid for it. These guys gave him no option to just open up and speak.

Babar needs to be called out for the con that he has been, albeit successfully, pulling.

While the fans, and many ex-cricketers, have bought into this whole "anchor role" strategy that has been pushed to justify the way Babar and Rizwan play, its finally being seen for what it is.

You can't cruise through your entire career by scoring meaningless runs and putting all the pressure and responsibility on the newbies. Putting these new guys on the chopping block while securing your own place in the side.

I never condone such harsh and personal remarks against cricketers - but what Babar has been doing is way worse than not performing. He has deliberately performed in a way which benefits only himself and damages the team... and once you do that, for me, all sorts of criticism is fair.

Babar is certainly talented but as they say in the streets “ hard work beats talent when talent fails to work hard.”

Babar never bothered to perfect his game and correct his deficiencies. Whenever he’s not on national duty, he’s either modeling, marketing or playing T20 leagues. Never bothers with first class cricket to iron out his shortcomings. He feels like he’s too good to practice and has come to think of himself as an indispensable part of Pakistan cricket.

While I wouldn’t drop him, Rizwan & Shaheen, PCB needs to build a solid team around them and discard 90% of the team. Pakistan must create a system that rewards creativity and attacking cricket over self-preservation by players. This is what New Zealand did and look at them today.

PCB has to make the tough choices or this downward spiral of Pakistan cricket will force the sponsors and broadcasters to run away and ultimately render the PCB irrelevant.
I agree with your post but I feel like they are part of the 90% that need dropped.

We have lost to USA, Ireland, Zimbabwe, West Indies ( tests), Bangladesh ( tests) in matches wherre these guys have played. We have dropped out of all ICC and major tournaments when they have played.

They are part of the problem. The door shouldn't be closed for any player but these 3 in particular must go away and work for redemption.

I think Babar is being unfairly targeted. He was never that good to begin with and all neutral cricket fans could see it. Only the blind ones went on about him bring the best and he was even called better than Kohli.

He is still a decent bat and should be treated as such. Pakistan first needs to get rid of the captain who is more of a mullah than a cricketer. Until you keep religion as sports separate, the cricket team will keep languishing.
He was just an ok batsman, but Pakistanis were so desperate to have their own version of Kohli that they tried to mold him into one with a lot of PR hype. A lot of people who have no cricketing sense fell for it and started believing Babar was on Kohli’s level, but in the end, it’s only hurt babar Realistically, he’s more of an Azhar Ali or Asad Shafiq type player at best.

Akhtar didnt criticise anyone for a long long time. He clearly toned down after his mum passed away. Hes not a savage anymore. He even said in the show that he wouldnt bother talking about these players or Pakistan cricket if he wasnt getting paid for it. These guys gave him no option to just open up and speak.
This statement he made was below belt.

What do you mean gave no option? Akhtar has never won an icc trophy, he should be no one talking

Bhai, he literally didn't do anything in that tournament.

By this logic Ahmed shehzad also has a trophy so ig he's a better cricketer then Saeed Anwar.

If saeed Anwar claims that shehzad is a crap player who despite looking like kohli is nothing more then degenerate clown on youtube, does that mean saeed is being rude?

Akhtar hasn't said anything wrong. This is what he said "Who is Babar Azam's hero? Tuk tuk (Without naming any cricketer). You have picked the wrong heroes. Your thought process is wrong. You were a fraud from the beginning. You were caught from the beginning. You made it clear in the ICC Champions Trophy itself that 'I have become No. 1 for one and half days. You are no No. 1. You promoted the wrong people.”

^^ None of this is a below tue belt comment, he hasnt attacked his famiky or anyone lol, hes exposed a very very brutal reality.

Lastly stop treating babar as a saint. He was getting mad at fakhar for having a slow strike rate and not running despite fakhar being in visible pain, Rizwan being the one to send him out and despite this, At the time they were at the crease fakhar had a much much higher strike rate then babar.

Not only was babar a complete hypocrite, he didn't even care or give a crap about his teammate, it's a starc contrast from Kohli and dhoni's partnership years ago where kohli told his injured captain to get out and get treatment and to give him a running partner that can finish the game.

And guess what kohli won that game for india.

Why can't babar Mr no 2 batter in the world say "Fakhar bhai get out, And bring in agha who can run, trust in me as I will finish the game for pakistan "

Bas karo bas karo bas karo. Khuda kei wastei bas karo.

It is funny how it took SO LONG for so many ex-cricketers to see what is going on. Before the NZ game, Wasim Akram had suggested that Babar should play his typical "anchor" role while others should bat around him. A strategy that Babar loves because he gets to score runs at a leisurely pace while the others try to push the run rate.

Once Babar did what we all saw during the NZ game, Akram was dumbfounded with his approach. Just goes on to show that just like Misbah, Babar and Rizwan were able to pool wool over so many peoples eyes and it had to take a game like that vs NZ for the people to realize that this approach is messed up!

Babar is a good accumulator level player. He would be a legend in the 90s and 2000s, not in the modern era.

Pakistani fans, after a decade of getting bashed around by Kohli and having their best ODI batsman be Misbah (lol) and seeing countless failures like Umar Akmal, Shehzad latched on to the one guy with promise and elevated him.

Cue runs against minnows and B/C teams which elevated him further and the "king" was born.

This statement he made was below belt.

What do you mean gave no option? Akhtar has never won an icc trophy, he should be no one talking
He should be no one talking? They pay him good money to talk on TV in India and Pakistan.

What’s he supposed to say?

“I am one of the biggest brands and superstars in Pakistan history but I can’t say anything because I didn’t win an ICC tournament”

Bhai, he literally didn't do anything in that tournament.

By this logic Ahmed shehzad also has a trophy so ig he's a better cricketer then Saeed Anwar.

If saeed Anwar claims that shehzad is a crap player who despite looking like kohli is nothing more then degenerate clown on youtube, does that mean saeed is being rude?

Akhtar hasn't said anything wrong. This is what he said "Who is Babar Azam's hero? Tuk tuk (Without naming any cricketer). You have picked the wrong heroes. Your thought process is wrong. You were a fraud from the beginning. You were caught from the beginning. You made it clear in the ICC Champions Trophy itself that 'I have become No. 1 for one and half days. You are no No. 1. You promoted the wrong people.”

^^ None of this is a below tue belt comment, he hasnt attacked his famiky or anyone lol, hes exposed a very very brutal reality.

Lastly stop treating babar as a saint. He was getting mad at fakhar for having a slow strike rate and not running despite fakhar being in visible pain, Rizwan being the one to send him out and despite this, At the time they were at the crease fakhar had a much much higher strike rate then babar.

Not only was babar a complete hypocrite, he didn't even care or give a crap about his teammate, it's a starc contrast from Kohli and dhoni's partnership years ago where kohli told his injured captain to get out and get treatment and to give him a running partner that can finish the game.

And guess what kohli won that game for india.

Why can't babar Mr no 2 batter in the world say "Fakhar bhai get out, And bring in agha who can run, trust in me as I will finish the game for pakistan "

Bas karo bas karo bas karo. Khuda kei wastei bas karo.
There is a proper way to criticisize a player.

Has saeed anwar given a stupid statement against Shezad?

Yes we lost, but that doesnt mean whatever comes in your mind you say it on tv.

Kamran akmal aswell was caught swearing on camera, which is again pathetic. Last time he was forced to apologise because Harbajhan caught him rightly so.

Like i said, Akhtar did drugs and never won a single icc tournament, so he should be the last one talking like this.

Critisize the players for the way they played. But no need to get personal

Has saeed anwar given a stupid statement against Shezad?

Yes we lost, but that doesnt mean whatever comes in your mind you say it on tv.

Kamran akmal aswell was caught swearing on camera, which is again pathetic. Last time he was forced to apologise because Harbajhan caught him rightly so.

Like i said, Akhtar did drugs and never won a single icc tournament, so he should be the last one talking like this.

Critisize the players for the way they played. But no need to get personal
The saeed argument was just an example. And babar isnt a saint either.

He attacked fakhar live on tv for not playing quickly. It's even worse since it was a live match and everyone on the planet could visibly see it.

Babar has no right to attack someone who's not only injured, but still somehow finding a way to play faster then him at that current point in time, and fakhar is older then Babar and 100x the odi player that Babar ever will be. Bobby has zero right to run his mouth.

Kohli never even ran his mouth despite being in peak form. He disnt look at dhoni and critise him, he literally asked dhoni to walk off and dhoni trusted kohli's judgement since he knew kohli would finish the game, he just needed a running partner as dhoni was injured and couldnt run.

Kohli was the biggest hot topic at that time and was undroppable. He could have insulted his captain live on tv and no one would have been able to do anything including dhoni since at the time he was the pride of India and he is even now.

The fact that no one on PP has made a thread on this or mentioned it is downright comical. I wanted to make a thread on it but it doesn't matter anymore as Pakistan is put and fakhar's career is over now.

Karma has a funny way of catching up to people.

A) Iftikhar claims that their is no doubt that Pakistan is the no 1 side. Proceeds to get thrashed in wc 2023.

B) Management claims that fakhar is done and dusted in 2023 wc, fakhar returns and smacks a super century, Then management has to lie and claim he was falsely injured.

C) Misbah claims rizwan and babar are a better t20 opener then fakhar ever will be. The last title we win is aus tri series thanks to fakhar and babar and rizwan go on a comical t20 run from 2022 to 2024.

D) Amir and Imad( Added this one just for you), mock Pakistan on tv and claim they can fix the team, Proceeds to bowl a bad super over and is circus clown vs Axar.

E) Babar scolds Fakhar on tv, Proceeds to play the worst innings in a 350 run chase all time and them sohaib akhtar is his reckoning.

^^ You've seen these karmic examples first hand.

You saw it against me when you claimed Pakistan would doninate india and you mocked me for saying that they wouldn't because the pitch isn't as easy as you're making it out to be. Then Pakistan lost?

Jo kuch bhi hoa hai, sahi hoa hai.

He should be no one talking? They pay him good money to talk on TV in India and Pakistan.

“I am one of the biggest brands and superstars in Pakistan history but I can’t say anything because I didn’t win an ICC tournament”
What you should be asking is how many trophies misbah won for pakistan or how many trophies ali tareen won for pakistan

Yeah I’m pretty sure things improved for Babar and these so called superstars when some people tried to criticise them properly the way you see it.

so getting personal will make a difference?

He won the Asian Test Championship which technically should be categorised under an ICC tournament, Mr.Tuk Tuk could only dream of having similar success.

What’s personal in saying you are a ‘so called superstar’? It’s cricket, it isn’t about his personal life
so called superstar is a personal comment again. Critisize his batting but why the name calling?

He won the Asian Test Championship which technically should be categorised under an ICC tournament, Mr.Tuk Tuk could only dream of having similar success.
lol should be? Jao jakar ICC ko letter likho

That was an ACC event.

so called superstar is a personal comment again. Critisize his batting but why the name calling?
It’s beyond that now. Criticising his batting does no one any good. They are sick of it. A guy who has been protected all of his career has not delivered. Take it as it is, no one cares anymore.

lol should be? Jao jakar ICC ko letter likho

That was an ACC event.

It’s a tournament however you want to look at it, a prestigious one, which the ICC were using as a template for the planned World Test Championship at the time.

Freshi Sahib app ki Urdu bohat Theeez hai compared to mine, but mai likho ga; Mr. Jay Shah, batha mujko barish sai Misbah Ul Haq ne Number Ekh kesai huwah?

Be careful what you wish for Major, I will ruin the little that is left of Misbah’s legacy :misbah

It is funny how it took SO LONG for so many ex-cricketers to see what is going on. Before the NZ game, Wasim Akram had suggested that Babar should play his typical "anchor" role while others should bat around him. A strategy that Babar loves because he gets to score runs at a leisurely pace while the others try to push the run rate.

Once Babar did what we all saw during the NZ game, Akram was dumbfounded with his approach. Just goes on to show that just like Misbah, Babar and Rizwan were able to pool wool over so many peoples eyes and it had to take a game like that vs NZ for the people to realize that this approach is messed up!
Anchor is meant to stabilise the ship in tough times.

Our anchors sink the ship.

It’s a tournament however you want to look at it, a prestigious one, which the ICC were using as a template for the planned World Test Championship at the time.

Freshi Sahib app ki Urdu bohat Theeez hai compared to mine, but mai likho ga; Mr. Jay Shah, batha mujko barish sai Misbah Ul Haq ne Number Ekh kesai huwah?

Be careful what you wish for Major, I will ruin the little that is left of Misbah’s legacy :misbah
Even a tri series is a tournament.

Fact is he never won any ICC tournament