2005 Kashmir earthquake

Honestly when u hear them donating millions to other countires that suffer disasters then what Britain and the USA are giving si p!$$ take.

It does seem like a small amount - im sure if more was needed or pakistan asked they would give it

i reckon they will give more later on

Also they are sending medical staff, rescue workers etc etc which is invaluable

Just heard news. My friend's brother died!

I saw him outside the apartment complex talking on the cell phone and he was crying so I left him alone. Later I met him and he told me that his brother's body was found in the Margalla tower rubble.

This is just terrible :(

lahori2 said:

I saw him outside the apartment complex talking on the cell phone and he was crying so I left him alone. Later I met him and he told me that his brother's body was found in the Margalla tower rubble.

ina lillahi wa ilehi rajioon

Is that the building which was meant to have been poorly built??

MenInGreen said:
That must be a Million - looks like a type to me

Nope - i got that from the bbc website

Mr Annan said he was "deeply saddened by the loss of life" and announced that the UN was sending a team to co-ordinate relief efforts.

UK Foreign Secretary Jack Straw said the government was sending $177,000, along with 60 medical staff, emergency workers and foreign office staff. The US has promised $100,000.

Geordie Ahmed said:

yes.

Round about 300++ people have been confirmed dead at Muzafarabad. I cant even contacy one of my friend there seems like telephone line iz dead hope shes ok.
There hav been several after-shocks felt more vigorously in specially doz areas which'r cloze to centre of earth quake origin. Last night for example two after-shocks were observed at 2:am and 3:am respectively. People in Islamabad didnt even spend their night in homes. One of da most disquieting and distressing moments i'v ever seen in my life.
In da end i wud request all of you to donate money, food or anything to da suffers., They are yer own brothers, sisters and citizens.

This news story will give people an idea of the Intl relief effort, lets not jump to conclusions yet.
:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20051009/wl_nm/quake_subcontinent_world_dc

World leaders act to help Asian quake nations
By Ralph Gowling 2 hours, 35 minutes ago

LONDON (Reuters) - President George W. Bush and other world leaders sent or offered rescue teams and aid to Pakistan, India and Afghanistan on Sunday after a huge quake battered the three countries, killing more than 18,000 people.

The United States, which had to mount major domestic relief efforts in the past few weeks when hurricanes Katrina and Rita struck, said it would provide $100,000 in emergency aid funding to Pakistan and was also offering U.S. military helicopters.

"Our initial deployments of assistance are under way and we stand ready to provide additional assistance as needed," Bush, who counts Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf as a key ally in the U.S.-led war against terrorism, said in a statement.

"My thoughts and prayers are with those affected by this horrible tragedy," said Bush, echoing an outpouring of sympathy from across the world.

Britain, Japan, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates were among other countries dispatching immediate help, as the sudden official jump in the death toll on Sunday from less than 2,000 to more than 18,000 created a sense of urgency.

The United Nations said it was in contact with Pakistan, India and Afghanistan to help after Saturday's 7.6 magnitude earthquake, South Asia's strongest for 100 years.

The Swiss government put an aircraft on standby to fly a U.N. disaster and coordination team to Pakistan, the worst hit of the three countries, where officials said some 40,000 people had been injured by the quake.

"It is anticipated the death toll might be severe," U.N. Emergency Relief Coordinator Jan Egeland said in a statement.

CHILDREN VULNERABLE

U.N. International Children's Emergency Fund ( UNICEF) executive director Ann Veneman said children made up half the population of the quake affected areas and would be vulnerable to hunger, cold, illness and trauma.

"Getting immediate life-saving relief into the region will be our priority for the next hours and days," said Veneman.

UNICEF said it had begun moving blankets, clothing, tents, medical supplies, food for infants and water purification tablets from a Karachi warehouse to quake-hit areas.

Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh phoned Musharraf to offer assistance with relief and rescue work, as the quake produced a further easing of tensions between the two once arch-rival nuclear armed countries.

An Indian Foreign Ministry official said Musharraf thanked Singh and would get back to him if Pakistan needed any help.

British officials said Britain was sending search and rescue experts, sniffer dogs and aid workers to Pakistan.

A first search and rescue team left London on Saturday.

Japan, experienced in dealing with quakes because of its location in a vulnerable region, said it was sending aid and medical workers in response to a Pakistani government request.

The Foreign Ministry in Tokyo said in a statement the first group of about 50 workers would leave Japan on Sunday.

Turkey, another quake-prone nation, said it had sent two military planes with doctors, rescuers and aid to Pakistan.

The Turkish Red Crescent had asked for three more planes to take aid to quake victims, Prime Minister Tayyip Erdogan's office said in a statement.

Turkey has warm ties with fellow Muslim nation Pakistan. Musharraf spent part of his youth in Turkey.

The United Arab Emirates said it had dispatched a police rescue team to Pakistan.

The international Oxfam charity organization said one of its teams was on its way to Pakistan's North West Frontier Province where there had been "massive disruption" and that in some places all of the houses had collapsed. "Oxfam will be meeting with other aid agencies and the U.N. to coordinate our initial response," Jane Cocking, the charity's earthquake response coordinator, said in a statement.

It is indeed a national disaster. The government is already saying 18000 and many areas still haven't been reached. It may be much higher than that. Pakistan will need all the aid in all forms it can get.

QueeN_oF_ZeaL said:
Lahore!
I hope dis color iz sorta eazy for yer eyes.

Just black would do nicely !

Anyways, how bad was it in Lahore ?

Marooned said:
It is indeed a national disaster. The government is already saying 18000 and many areas still haven't been reached. It may be much higher than that. Pakistan will need all the aid in all forms it can get.

If the US is only donating 100,000 I would be really mad. That too after all we're doing for them in catching Al-Qaeda and the terrorists.

lahori2 said:
If the US is only donating 100,000 I would be really mad.

Yes that is more or less a slap in the face. I think they will increase that since it's not politically correct. Also numbers were around 1-4000 when they announced that. We also need medical personnel and rescue teams, helicopters and equipment necessary to remove all the rubble.

the tsunami killed 230,000 ppl but over a larger area and greater number of countries....the death toll this time around would be centred in one area, especially pak

http://observer.guardian.co.uk/international/story/0,6903,1588206,00.htm[font=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]l
Quake agony of those who wait
[/font]

[font=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]British Pakistanis flood helplines for news of relatives as rescue teams search the rubble for survivors[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif] Ned Temko
Sunday October 9, 2005
The Observer

[/font] [font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]The calls, just a few at first, began as soon as news of the earthquake broke. By late yesterday, the east London offices of the charity Muslim Aid were inundated with requests from British Pakistanis desperate for information about relatives in the areas hit by the disaster.[/font][font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]'But there was nothing we could tell them,' Ebrahisma Mohamed, the charity's chief executive, told The Observer. 'In some areas hit by the earthquake, the phones are down. In others, the lines are jammed, and it's almost impossible to get through.'[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]The agony of Britain's nearly one million-strong Pakistani community was intensified by the fact that the great majority have family roots in Kashmir, the remote mountain region worst affected where large areas are beyond the reach of mobile phone or email contact. 'Whole villages, with houses made of mud, perched on mountainsides, will have been wiped out,' he said.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]Muslim Aid immediately announced it was setting aside £100,000 for emergency assistance, initially to purchase 300 weatherpoof tents and move them into the areas hit by the earthquake. 'Winter is coming and the temperatures are dropping,' said the charity chief. He added that, in partnership with Oxfam, his organisation also hoped to provide food and other necessities, as well as mobile field clinics, to help the survivors.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]A British MP visiting Pakistan last night spoke of the terror of being woken up with the walls 'wobbling' in the first few seconds after the earthquake struck.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]Shahid Malik, the Labour MP for Dewsbury, was asleep when the earthquake struck at just before 9am. 'I was in bed and all of a sudden the whole place was shaking. I mean the walls were wobbling. It was truly frightening,' he said. 'I thought the whole place was going to collapse.'[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]The MP is in Pakistan attending a series of faith conferences and had met with the president and prime minister of Pakistan. He was staying in a government rest house, near the military cantonment of Rawalpindi, when the quake hit. 'I am sure that everything is being done and that the Pakistani authorities have acted swiftly.'[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]The Pakistani High Commission said it was setting up an information line and would also be posting officials at airports to ensure fast-track approval for the many Britons of Pakistani origin who would ordinarily need to submit visa applications to fly out to join family members.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]Oxfam and a number of other British charities announced appeals of their own to help the victims of the quake, which also struck areas of Indian Kashmir and Afghanistan. In announcing its emergency appeal, Oxfam said: 'Hundreds of thousands of people will be affected by this earthquake and will need help urgently.' Immediate requirements included 'tents, blankets, medical kits, food aid and water'.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]The disaster struck during the holy month of Ramadan, during which Muslims traditionally fast during the daytime hours, reducing the role that social and community centres would usually play as a focus for people to exchange information and console one another. At nightfall, mosques in Birmingham, Bradford, Luton and other areas with large Pakistani communities became centres for shared concern over the victims of the disaster.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]During the day, many families were turning to one of the several Pakistani satellite news channels which have recently become available in Britain. 'But the problem is that there is so little information coming out,' said Shahid Sadullah, the London-based editor of the English-language edition of the Pakistani newspaper the Daily Jang. The Jang group runs one of the news channels.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]'Hours after the earthquake, they were still showing a single picture of a collapsed block of flats in Islamabad,' Sadullah told The Observer. 'And when you realise it took hours to get an earth-moving machine to that site, you can imagine the huge task of reaching the very remote villages in Azad Kashmir that were affected by the earthquake.'[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]He said initial reports of a death toll in the hundreds were almost certain to prove huge underestimates. 'I doubt we will ever know the exact toll,' he added.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]Foreign Secretary Jack Straw said Britain was sending about £100,000 in emergency aid, as well as dozens of disaster relief staff to the affected region.They included 50 medical staff as well as search-and-rescue experts and 'other people who can assist directly in the emergency situation'.[/font]

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]He announced that the Foreign Office was setting up an information line for people worried about relatives.[/font]

It woz awful. Just seemed like everything woz gonna be collapsed. However, it woznt until 6 minutes dat i visualize da quake had ceased. Im still feeling restless coz of after-shocks tho.

I really cant imagine the gruelling site of charred and mutilated bodies when the rescue workers remove the rubble and large blocks of concrete..:31:

Geordie Ahmed said:

Some news on the building itself

Sunday, October 09, 2005javascript:;
shim.gif
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/print.asp?page=story_9-10-2005_pg7_30&ndate=10/9/2005 12:17:10 PM
CDA rules — a major factor in the Margalla Towers collapse

9_10_2005_Earthquake-ap-01.jpg
ISLAMABAD: The two blocks of Margalla Tower that fell due to the severe earthquake on Saturday morning were constructed after amendments to the construction rules of the Capital Development Authority.

According to a private TV channel report, the blocks were built after the CDA amended its rules. Prior to the amendment, it was mandatory for constructors to leave 50 percent of the site area vacant and build on the remaining area. However, when the CDA changed its rules, the tower owner built two more blocks as per CDA rules, which allowed construction on 75 percent of site area leaving 25 percent open.

According to reports, it is a rule to construct shock-proof multi-story buildings, but it was revealed that only iron bars were used to join the new blocks with the old ones in the towers, and that these bars were not strong enough to withstand the severe shocks and both newly built blocks fell to the ground.

Two blocks of the Margallah Towers, each comprising 10 stories and 60 apartments, collapsed in the first of the series of jolts. The rescue teams of the Islamabad Police, the Edhi Foundation, the Fire Brigade and the Capital Development Authority (CDA), as well as volunteers, have been removing debris. At least 25 injured have so far been taken to different hospitals of the city including, PIMS, FGSH and the Naval Hospital.

In addition to ambulances, two helicopters have been deployed to take the injured to hospitals. A large number of people are still stuck under the collapsed buildings. According to the Met Office, the powerful earthquake measuring 7.6 on the Richter Scale jolted major parts of the country at 8:52am. Muhammad Hanif, an official of the Met Office, said that even the aftershocks of the earthquake lasted for more than one minute. agencies

Marooned said:
Yes that is more or less a slap in the face. I think they will increase that since it's not politically correct. Also numbers were around 1-4000 when they announced that. We also need medical personnel and rescue teams, helicopters and equipment necessary to remove all the rubble.

I think we also need to understand the importance of helicopters and earth moving equipment - that in itself amounts to millions.

lahori2 said:

Very sad to hear. may Allah grant him jannah and give his family strength and courage. Ameen! May Allah also help you to provide support and help to your friend. Ameen!

Some more info on the Earthquake itself from NYT article

The quake occurred along one of the earth's great collision zones. The Indian subcontinent, including India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, rides on a separate tectonic plate that was attached to Antarctica until 150 million years ago. It broke away and moved north. About 50 million years ago, the plate slammed into Asia, and the buckling of earth created the Himalayan mountains. The Indian subcontinent continues to move north at more than an inch a year.

Read the full article on :

http://www.nytimes.com/2005/10/09/international/asia/09quake.html?ex=1129435200&en=ecd97aa7cb41ab89&ei=5040&partner=MOREOVERNEWS

I am very saddened to hear about the tragic earthquake in Pakistan, Its very hard to comprehend the devistation and loss of life. My thoughts are with Pakistan and her people.

The US, England and Australia plus many others will be there to help rebuild your beautiful country.

As I write this, my family just moved outside, as yet another tremor hits the region.

They are not fearful, just a tad fatigued, but above all most concerned with the ill-fortunes of others.

So before we can discuss how we can all best help, could I please ask for some perpective. There have been hit and miss remarks all day yesterday, perhaps understandably so, but analysis is the need of the hour. Especially, if compassion and resulting funds are to be sourced and channeled efficiently.

First, earthquakes are not localised disasters - unlike a bomb say, or some engineering malfunction. They are pervasive and spread out from the epicentre - no dwelling or towns is left unaffacted.

Yesterday, I wrote here that even if 10 million people were within the regions affected, even a small percentage of fatalities implies numbers signifcantly higher than those mooted about. That point seems to have been missed by many here - with people praying that no worse news should come. Tragically, there will be worse news and if we are really to help, we must be braced for it.

The other point is about relief funds. Some of us who are able to help will doubtless do so, but here again analysis is the need of the hour.

Apart from the fatalities and the injured, there is literally rubble in its wake, with families missing either shelter, loved ones or bread earners. For every fatality, the number of people so effected will be a significant multiple of any figure one may care to moot at this time.

The relief funds will most probably mitigate not the immediate effects of the quake, but the medium to long term implications of it - assuming the funds are significant and well channeled. For those of us able to give, please keep this in mind. You can help rebuild some lives, and you must keep your mind on the scale of the destruction.

With due respect to many, the over-riding impression here was, "Oh look this happened and that happened, I hope to God more bad news does not come." In a way this is understandable, but if we are to help, we need to stay analytical. God helps those who help themselves - prayer alone is not enough. So please keep perspective - the news will get worse.

The other point is about relief operations. Here we must not get too critical. The BBC anchor-woman naively kept asking the Pakistani spokesman if the country had been prepared for such a natural disaster. It was a naive and stupid question.

No country, not even an industrialised nation, is prepared for a disaster of this scale. Modern nations are prepared to cope with a disaster in some town and village, perhaps a localised area or so - and appropriate response units are mobilised. But an earthquake is something else. It levels all in its wake, and relief operations are overwhelmed. I am afraid this will be the case.

Anyone here care to estimate the number of villages, towns, dwellings within reach of the earthquake? The answer must surely be in the thousands. Anyone care to estimate the scale of relief operations that must take place to send help to these areas? The mind boggles.

So instead of complaining that relief has not arrived here or there, please keep your perspective. If you can give, do so generously. In a way, self-help is the best remedy, so if you are from an area, try to help those you know. As well, give to organisations well placed to channel these funds to the most needy, ones that operate the most efficiently. I myself will be glad to start a discussion here. Anyone?

The other point to remember is that in a way the presence of the Army helps. The Pakistan armed forces swallow about 50% of the national budget officially, and perhaps more if real numbers were available. However it also means that they have the best infrastructure around, and if sufficient funds are available, will be able to mobilise relief more efficiently. They have the man power, and their operations will be more efficient the more funds are available.

But overall, getting into a ngative mind-set and criticsing the government/army at this stage will help no one. They are the best placed to deliver it - even if it cannot be at the scale we would like.

I dont mean to criticise anyone for the sake of it. But we must keep our perspective at this stage. This disaster is larger than anyone realised, or perhaps cared to realise, and it will be bigger. The costs will be huge. If you want to help, please keep this in mind, and avoid the blame game, if you can help it.

Whether the US gives enough money or not should not be our issue at this point. Why the British newspapers have put the earthquake on the inner pages in their Sunday editions does not matter. It is not their problem, it is ours. Forget the blame, lets adopt the can do approach instead.

So lets please turn this discussion into a concrete one, of specifics, rather than general despair. This is not the time for grieving - that can wait.

I would start by asking for opinions on which relief funds are you acquainted with, and would recommend. If anyone has experience, please start by sharing it here.

The Indian PM, Manmohan Singh has offered aid to President Musharraf and they are willing to provide any equipment and sums of money required.

According to Sky News, the toll could reach at least 30000:( :(

It's just getting worse, i initially thought it was really bad but we might have still got away with less damdage but things are going really really bad. According to reports some of the villages in Kashmir are so remote that it may take months to get there:(.

May Allah give us the strength to at least save the injured and help the homeless people. This is probably our biggest test ever.

The Pakistani High Commission and many other relief organisations in Malaysia have opened up centres for donation, and by God, the money is pouring in, Malaysians are very sincere in this respect, they always help out those in need especially paks.

Fair play, Nauman, Hussain and anyone else in earthquake areas: may Allah protect you and your family and friends. Ameen! May Allah proetct and help all those that are suffering and give strength and courage to all those whose families and friends have become victims of the disaster.

I just HOPE that these donations and money reaches the people in need.

30,000:O :(
hopefully the death toll will remain low as possible, its all in allahs hands!!!

About 10 minutes ago another after-shock iz felt (1:45PM Local time). I wonder when iz dis series of shocks going to finish..

Yup got another after shock a few minutes ago. Its really tense I couldnt go to sleep last night went to bed at 2 AM as soon as my eyes closed another after shock at 5.6 I stayed awake for 20 minutes then went to bed again and 5 minutes later another after shock at 5.2 then an hour an a half later it was time for Sehri so no sleep at all for me.

Nauman said:
Yup got another after shock a few minutes ago. Its really tense I couldnt go to sleep last night went to bed at 2 AM as soon as my eyes closed another after shock at 5.6 I stayed awake for 20 minutes then went to bed again and 5 minutes later another after shock at 5.2 then an hour an a half later it was time for Sehri so no sleep at all for me.

Yep, im feeling a lot more restless now.

Geordie Ahmed said:
the US has promised $100,000
China sends aid, rescue team to earthquake-hit Pakistan
(Chinadaily.com.cn/AP)
Updated: 2005-10-09 10:51

The Chinese government on Sunday offered an emergency aid worth US$6.2 million to help earthquake victims in Pakistan. The first batch of disaster relief materials is expected to arrive in Islamabad at 5:00pm local time, according to the Chinese Commerce Ministry.
xin_59100209165176925491.jpg

man that aid from usa is just :12:

my uncle is in the army and based based in Muzaffarabad and we still have not heard from him.

w4s1m786 said:
my uncle is in the army and based based in Muzaffarabad and we still have not heard from him.

inshallah hes fine
relly feel for ya bro:(

i rememebr when the tsunami hit, estimates started at like like 5000 but then steadily rose to over 200,000. it really is a test of our nation. lets hope that the death toll stays as low as possible.

ZM said:
well done china
thats more like it
useless americans

I think they will give more eventually. However we should be grateful for anything offered.

syed shah said:
I think they will give more eventually. However we should be grateful for anything offered.

i agree( not a US fan myself) but they did this when the tsunami hit-they initially gave a few million and then gave loads. Whatever they give is good.

They have their own crises as well.

everyone's quick to mention & condemn USA but why no mention of the rich Arab states? I know Indonesians were shocked at the lack of support they received from their fellow Muslim 'brothers' after the Tsunami.

my thoughts are with those that are affected by this natural disaster, may Allah swt help all those affected by this tradgedy.

I really hope the death toll stays as low as possible:(

usa are pathetic especailly since we gave them $1 million 2 weeks back.

but its time pak invests in eathquake proof, this should have been a lesson for the CDA.

Saudi Arabia has always supported pakistan....and right now they are amongst the top aid donors in terms of value of aid given for this earthquake.

Yaar - Bhaiyo - pls stop this condemnation business....

All countries will pitch in and help out - but first we need to get organized ourselves. As FP says, the Army is the most organized institution in the country and fully capable of leading the rescue work - also there is a lot of background work being done - so just because someone doesnt announce their intentions on CNN doesnt man they arent helping. Even the US will reassess the situation and help out or maybe we should put the purchase of those F16s to the side and use that money to help our people ?

These are very tense times for our country - lets join hands and look at this in a more constructive manner - no point blaming others and asking for charity.

May Allah help us help others , Ameen!

I agree MIG, countries can quietly donate as well. We must not look like fools now atleast, lets spare ourselves the embarrassment.

This is really saddening stuff.How can such faulty buildings be built?If that tower was earthquake proof then we would'nt have all these casualties

suhaibonline said:
usa are pathetic especailly since we gave them $1 million 2 weeks back.

but its time pak invests in eathquake proof, this should have been a lesson for the CDA.

All buildings in Islamabad are earth quake proof, there are no other damages reported else where in the entire city which goes to show there was a fault in that tower so the care taker of the tower should take all the blame and be arrested.

Well out of 23 people which have been taken out of of rubble in Islamabad 21 are dead (Rest In Peace) 2 survived, there were shouts of Nara-e-Taqbir all around when the first one who was alive came out. They are still hearing some pleas of help from people inside.

MenInGreen said:
Yaar - Bhaiyo - pls stop this condemnation business....

All countries will pitch in and help out - but first we need to get organized ourselves. As FP says, the Army is the most organized institution in the country and fully capable of leading the rescue work - also there is a lot of background work being done - so just because someone doesnt announce their intentions on CNN doesnt man they arent helping. Even the US will reassess the situation and help out or maybe we should put the purchase of those F16s to the side and use that money to help our people ?

These are very tense times for our country - lets join hands and look at this in a more constructive manner - no point blaming others and asking for charity.

May Allah help us help others , Ameen!

well said bhai!!

Presdient Pervez Musharraf has appelaed to Pakistanis abroad. He says, "God has given you a lot, it is now time for you to help your country when it most needs it."

tahaqureshi said:
Presdient Pervez Musharraf has appelaed to Pakistanis abroad. He says, "God has given you a lot, it is now time for you to help your country when it most needs it."

HES RIGHT. I OFTEN WONDER WHAT MY LIFE WOULD BE LIKE IF I WASNT BORN IN THE UK. I WOULD BE THERE IN PAK AND MY LIFE WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY DIFFERENT

GIVE WHAT YOU CAN

My family is donating at the pakistani high commission, and you guys wont believe what we saw, the majority of ppl lined up to donate were pakistani labour workers who themselves are very cash strapped. And its not just those from the hit areas, even those labourers who are from karachi.

i was looking at a map of the tectonic plates . Islamabad is built right over the fault line.

looks like the death toll in the neighbour's side is rising fast as well, although obviously not as much as ours.

ADB offers 10 million dollars for Pakistan quake aid

MANILA, Oct 9 (AFP) -

The
Asian Development Bank Sunday offered 10 million dollars in immediate aid and assistance to the worst affected areas of Pakistan and said it was ready to offer more if needed.

ADB President Haruhiko Kuroda announced the offer and expressed his deep sympathy after the devastating earthquake that struck on Saturday, killing more than 19,000 people.

The money would be reallocated from ongoing projects for immediate emergency assistance for North West Frontier Province as well as Pakistani-controlled Kashmir, the Manila-based bank said in a statement.

The ADB could significantly increase its assistance, depending on detailed assessments of the damage caused by the earthquakes, Kuroda said.

"We at ADB are in touch with authorities and stand ready to offer assistance if required."

Peter Fedon, ADBs country director in Pakistan, said teams already in place for existing projects in the hardest-hit districts would be immediately mobilized to carry out rehabilitation and reconstruction work.

Priorities would include rehabilitation of affected school buildings and rural health centers, roads and bridges, and water supply and electricity infrastructure in rural areas, the bank said.

"In consultation with the government authorities, ADB will dispatch a needs assessment mission to earthquake affected areas. Subsequent ADB assistance would be linked to and complement other humanitarian relief efforts," it said.

The ADB can draw upon extensive experience in emergency rehabilitation assistance following natural disasters.

The bank helped assess needs after December's Asian tsunami disaster and approved more than 835 million dollars in assistance.

It also provided assistance to Gujarat, India, after a devastating earthquake there in 2001.

[url]http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/2005-10/...ent_3599137.htm[/url]

China to offer $6 mln aid to quake-hit Pakistan

BEIJING, Oct. 9 (Xinhuanet) -- China has decided to offer emergency aid worth 6.2 million US dollars to Pakistan, which was rocked by a 7.6-magnitude quake Saturday morning together with India and Afghanistan, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Kong Quan said on Sunday.

The Chinese government sent a 49-member international rescue team Sunday morning to the quake-hit areas in Pakistan to issue humanitarian aid, Kong said.

The team took eight tons of specialized rescue and research equipment and nine tons of goods for disaster relief, according to sources with the China Seismological Bureau.

It is the fourth time that China has provided aid to the quake-hit countries. It also helped Algeria and Iran in 2003 and in the Indonesian tsunami last year.

In the wake of the deadly quake, Chinese leaders, including President Hu Jintao and Premier Wen Jiabao, and Foreign Minister Li Zhaoxing sent their messages of sympathy and cordial regards, respectively, to Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf, Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and Foreign Minister Khurshid Kasuri, and Indian President A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Foreign Minister Natwar Singh.

Chinese ambassador to Afghanistan has also conveyed Li Zhaoxing's sympathy to Afghan Foreign Minister over the quake.

One Chinese working in local Chinese organization died and fourothers got injured in the deadly quake which has reportedly killed more than 18,500 people. Enditem

:14: :14:

Pakistan sets aside over $800 mln for quake victims

ISLAMABAD, Oct. 9 (Xinhuanet) -- The Pakistani government has decided to set aside 5 billion rupees (about 833 million U.S. dollars) to help the country's quake victims, according to local press reports Sunday.

Pakistani Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz Sunday presided over a special emergency cabinet meeting in Islamabad to discuss the situation after the 7.6 magnitude earthquake on Saturday.

The cabinet also decided to donate one month's salary of the ministers to the relief fund.

Cabinet members proposed several measures to meet the situation including imposition of emergency in the country but the prime minister declined the proposal.

The government announced a three-day mourning following the massive death and destruction caused by the earthquake.

Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz taking notice of massive destruction in northern areas of the country directed the relief agencies and workers to focus on these areas. He also directed forrestoration of road access to the northern areas.

The cabinet also decided to meet daily during the crisis situation.

Condolences to all those affected by the quake. Shouldn't the title of this thread be changed to "Earthquake strikes Kashmir" as this is the area most affected by this tragic disaster. I just hope the death toll does not escalate much further as at present it is looking like it will easily pass 50,000 which is very very sad.

there are alot of volunteers rescuers who want to help but they are not allowed. which is quite pathetic. one of the volunteer rescue worker said these soldiers should'nt have come here at all bcz when they come the work seems to slow and stop. and about the ministers he said they are just here to show off.

pathan007 said:
there are alot of volunteers rescuers who want to help but they are not allowed. which is quite pathetic. one of the volunteer rescue worker said these soldiers should'nt have come here at all bcz when they come the work seems to slow and stop. and about the ministers he said they are just here to show off.

That is a rather stupid comment if nothing else...the army probably has the most man power anyone can offer and from what I have seen they are anything but slow.

This is simply how it works when something happens everyone comes in and helps and soon when authorities come they take over things...it might seem slow to people as they might need see the soldiers jumping up n down everywhere however they are being used in good manner.

I highly doubt your avg volunteers would know their way around kashmir if they are from other parts of Pakistan and I highly doubt they would stop anyone from helping in Kashmir right now but allowing people access to worst hit areas might put their life in danger...

people really need to stop with blame game least just hold on until things are just a little better...all these soldiers probably living in areas which hit by this earthquake or have a family there

Muddaser said:
Pakistan sets aside over $800 mln for quake victims

ISLAMABAD, Oct. 9 (Xinhuanet) -- The Pakistani government has decided to set aside 5 billion rupees (about 833 million U.S. dollars) to help the country's quake victims, according to local press reports Sunday.

Pakistani Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz Sunday presided over a special emergency cabinet meeting in Islamabad to discuss the situation after the 7.6 magnitude earthquake on Saturday.

The cabinet also decided to donate one month's salary of the ministers to the relief fund.

Cabinet members proposed several measures to meet the situation including imposition of emergency in the country but the prime minister declined the proposal.

The government announced a three-day mourning following the massive death and destruction caused by the earthquake.

Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz taking notice of massive destruction in northern areas of the country directed the relief agencies and workers to focus on these areas. He also directed forrestoration of road access to the northern areas.

The cabinet also decided to meet daily during the crisis situation.

well i don't think 5 billion Rupees is 800 million $ :126: