2005 Kashmir earthquake

Source: Chitralnews.com
CHITRAL, 09 Oct 05: The large scale damage caused by earthquake in the northern region of Pakistan miraculously did not effect Chitral as there were no reports of any worth mentioning damage from anywhere in the district till filing of this report. Meanwhile people from all walks of life in Chitral have expressed their great sorrow and grief over the loss of life and property in other parts of the country due to the recent earth quake.

Also - can people make a mental note of the help being provided by other Muslim and non Muslim countries ( even India ) - so we will all think twice before condeming the people of these countries!

At the end of the day, we are all humans - ALL of us will answer to ALLAH and as the Surah Zalzala says, even an Atoms size of kindness/good deed will be rewarded! Inshallah! Sadaq Allah Ul Azeem !

The Pakistani Society here at the University of Nottingham is organising a donation scheme. We are urging all Pakistanis to donate at least £20 each (which is roughly 2000 rupees). £20 isn't a lot to ask for from the average person living outside of Pakistan. If a million Pakistanis based outside of Pakistan donate £20 each, that would add up roughly to 2 billion rupees. I'm sure there are much more than a million overseas Pakistanis who can afford to donate £20. I urge all of you who can afford it, to please chip in because I'm sure the donations of Pakistanis alone, if used efficiently, can help rebuild the lives of the millions who were affected by the earthquakes.

Skynews says 40 children rescued from rubble by Pakistani Army and French experts - Alhamdolillah !

Guys in the UK and elsewhere, I suggest we all give up a bit of our time and wherever possible raise some funds for our dear brothers and sisters in this desperate time for them.

I placed a few containers near our companies reception area today and in one day raised over £100. Buckets, containers, head towards town centres, supermarkets etc and of course with the permission of the shops raise what you can.

I will be doing this every lunchtime and after work whenever possible.

Its a little bit of a sacrifice on our part, but come on, its worth it surely.

i knew a few pakistani boyz.. all under the age of 17.. who wer outside
a supermarket in the rain collecting money yesterday.. they raised
about £750 in 4-5 hourz...

Raised bit over 3K yasterday from just family and few friends and Inshallah will do soon again soon..

My cousins from the army navy etc have come back home and have gone to Kashmir and are helping there as the rescue teams weren't there yet yasterday and like I have said earlier unless you know the area it would seem extremely hard to get there...it is not as if there arent' roads but most of them are blocked or people are scared of using them because of landslides

were doing a lot of stuff at school, me and my mates rally around at breaks getting donations from ppl and we plan to have a footy match which will raise a fair amount of money InshAllah

Alhamdulillah- the ppl resuced!!! great news!

Keep it up guys! keep raising that money..! remember every little bit helps!

MenInGreen said:
AceBase:

Pls keep us informed of the conditions out there. If you like I can pass u my mobile number and you can send in your dispatches to us - or login if u can - pls let us know.

Regards

MIG

Shukrun Akhi

I leave this afternoon Inshallah, so won't be on here for a week.

I'll try logging in from Islamabad if I can and post some news and pics.

Otherwise, I'll post an account when I get back.

May Allah reward all of you with Jannah for your donations and support.

Thanks for posting that Monsee!

I wanted to donate my lil share but didnt know where to.

“For those who give in Charity, Men and Women, And Loan to Allah A Beautiful Loan, It shall be increased in manifold (To their Credit), and they shall have a generous reward.” Quran (57:18).

Allah is just testing us all in this holy month, the ones hurted from this earthquake need to be strong and bielive in Allah and he will take care of them.

Dada:

I dont know what you believe in but whatever God it is - do you not fear HIM when you make moronic statements such as above.

Pls dont bother replying - I wont let you - good bye ( for a few months )

We are grieving the loss of thousands here - if people dont have anything useful to add to this - they dont deserve to be on PP.

Regards

MIG

Nauman said:
I am being realistic here, do you really think that both Pakistan and India will forgoe their own interests in the land? I think not.

I agree and thats what I meant is the sad reality which shouldn't be.

Please all give up a luxury and earn reward and swab from Allah in donating money, clothes etc for the victims. At home we now altogether donated £6000 and will do more Inshallah. Please I request you all to donate and generously but what u can afford as every penny will help the victims, the children and all affected.

Mosque Leaders Do Nothing For Pakistan Hell

Shameful, Immoral, Embarrassing and disgraceful are some of the words that are solicited to describe the level of aid our government has given to earthquake struck Pakistan. With more then 1.2 million British tax paying citizens with direct links to the affected region, our government's response has been nothing short of petty. Years of taking the Muslim vote for granted and the lack of political lobbying by British Pakistanis have yielded these dividends.

Department For International Development UK (DFiD), the premiere franchise for channelling UK government funds for development and relief efforts proudly underlined the government's net sum of £500,000 earlier today. Now compare this to the Indian Earthquake in Gujarat - within 24 hours of the tragedy, the British Government had pledged £3 million. The government had no option but to succumb to Indian Vote Bank, the sustained lobbying by the British Indians and tremendous pressure by high profile Indians such as "The Brothers" and the "Steel King". It is unfortunate that in these testing times, the political hip-hoping does indeed makes all the difference. Even Pakistan, a third world country recently donated over $1 million to Hurricane Katrina Relief efforts - the same minus a mere $900,000 has been pledged to Pakistan by USA - totalling a grand $100,000.

It is left upto the grieving relatives and friends in UK to set up small scale relief funds. The government is eager to take the back seat and perfect its dilatory "wait-and-see whilst U wait" tactics. Department For International Development (DFiD) and Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) are taking a casual approach. Time for lobbying is now ..

MP's like Jack Straw however know how easy it is to buy off the Muslims vote, this is thus the harvest what ourselves have sown.

So who is to blame?

Ultimately this is a failure of the Mosque Leaders, they failed with their pathetic stand "NO POLITICS IN THE MOSQUE" to teach us how to get the community involved in Politics. Thus with no voice in the community to represent us, the Government treated the Pakistani crisis with little regard even contempt.

They the 'goons who runs our mosques' allowed the community to be pacified, and ignorant of how to make change. It led to the terror attacks by angry Muslims unable to express themselves politically, and now it was claiming more lives....as we stumble around wondering how we can help so many people with such littl money.

Consider this, does the reader think if this had happened to Israel the Jewish community would not have strong voices in the corridors of Power speaking up for the victims? ..no they teach their young how to be active in forms of political life, we teach our children how to be ignorant of any real influence.

The Mosque leaders themselves also failed to demand more from their MP, never holding them to account, happy to shake their hand, or attend a pointless meetng, again is it a surprise that MP's that we elect do nothing for us.

Now these same leaders come and ask us for donations, and think they have done a great deed, (they call this active) we call it 'shutting the barn door when the horse has bolted'. This is another failure they brought upon us - it will cost many more lives but they will never learn. Power has corrupted their minds. It is up to us to demand change in the mosque.

While the Mafia in your local Mosque, ask you to pay penny's and give even more then you have for their incompetence, you can do the smart thing. Lobby your MP and Call this Government Department and demand they help

The Great Khan the government and the army are doing their best they have stretched them selves as much as they can, this is their best but unfortunately the scale of disaster is such that the best is just not enough.

Just to add heavy rain fall has just started along with a hail storm which will make rescue work difficult.

Australia has nearly doubled its aid package to $10 million to help victims of the devastating earthquake in Pakistan.

Foreign Minister Alexander Downer said Australia would donate an extra $4.5 million to help the earthquake victims, on top of the $5.5 million already committed.

The extra aid came after the United Nations launched what it called a flash appeal for more money to help victims of Saturday's earthquake, which killed up to 40,000 people across Pakistan-controlled Kashmir.

Pakistan's High Commission in Australia also joined calls by Labor, the Australian Democrats and Australian Greens for the government to dig deeper and commit more aid to the relief effort. (smh.co.au)
-----------------------------------

Johannesburg - The director of disaster management at the Gauteng department of local government, Colin Deiner, will on Tuesday lead a search and rescue team of 32 South Africans, including medical staff, to Pakistan where a devastating earthquake hit on Saturday morning.

The team comprises of a delegation from Gauteng's departments of local government and health, Gift of the Givers and Rescue SA, Gauteng's local government MEC Qedani Mahlangu said on Monday.

She said she was proud that one of the directors from her department will be leading an all important search and rescue operation.

"It is an honour for us as the department of local government, moreover as a country to have a person of the calibre of Colin Deiner in our midst," said Mahlangu.

"He has been involved in various rescue and search operations throughout the world including Turkey, India, Iran and Algeria." The team will depart from Johannesburg International Airport at 19:00 on Tuesday and will return on October 18. (news.24.com)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Every bit helps...I am very happy to see the world responding in this manner.

I thought USA had pledged $50 million & that article is just full of bs.

the british government has been superb as have the british people...

governments and charities have learned from the mistakes of the tsunami disaster..
i.e when loads of money and aide was sent to the stricken areas but could not be distributed due to lack coordination on the ground and fact that most remote areas could not be reached...

the situation now is that aid is arriving thick and fast and search and rescue teams are being deployed to find survivors...plus helicopters are arriving to help reach the remote areas...

money can be sent to rebuild the stricken areas however it is more important that aide and rescuers are there first to try and save as many people as possible..

the british government has stated publicly that money will not be the issue...whatever is asked will be given

Indus News correspondents reached some remote areas in Balakot, Abbotabad etc and according to them the only thing they need there is coffins, no point of rebuilding the new houses because there is no one left to live there :(, they are showing some of the pictures which no TV has covered before, around 20000+ people in that town alone are dead and it was indeed heartbreaking:(.

According to A S Edhi, the actualy death toll could reach a figure which i don't even wanna mention:( . Allah karay woh ghalat hi ho:(

I am so so proud with the effort of our public, according to Indus News they have got so many food items, blankets, clothes etc that they are finding it hard to even store them, they are sending 8 planes and at least 3 trains full of this stuff to affected areas.
I hope it's not too late for some people :(

Our fellow is reporting that some guy in Karachi has donated Rs. 130 million (13 crore).
W00T.GIF
W00T.GIF
W00T.GIF
W00T.GIF

I've just received an e-mail from a friend in Karachi....He says that shocks have also been observed in Sialkot, Gujranwala, Motra, Daska and in Lahore...I didn't even know that...He says it has created so much fear, that if anybody accidentally moves a bed a little bit, the ones sitting or lying on the bed feels that another earth-quake has come...

I am so sorry. It still hurts very much, especially the pictures of crying women, children..

I am still praying for my friends there, and all who have lost loved ones friends..and the ones who are hurt and lost their possessions.

can somebody confirm this
someone last night told me that a person donated £300,000 it was on geo news the person wanted to remain unnamed

Tokyo, Japan, Oct 11, 2005 - (ACN Newswire) - Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
would like to express its deepest sympathy and
condolences to the victims of the earthquake which struck Pakistan.

In response to this tragedy, Honda will provide the following assistance
:
* Honda's local operations will make a cash donation of approximately 42
million yen to
the Pakistani President's Relief Fund for Earthquake Victims 2005.

* Honda also will make a cash donation of 30 million yen to the Japanese
Red Cross Society (JRCS) to be designated for regional relief
assistance.

* Honda carefully continues to watch the situation in the stricken
region and is also considering donation of such Honda products as
generators, water pumps and off-road bikes to assist relief and recovery
efforts in the affected areas.

TOKYO, Oct. 11 (UPI) -- Japan will dispatch military helicopters and $20 million in aid to Pakistan, where more than 20,000 people died in Saturday's 7.6-magnitude earthquake.

Related Headlines
U.S. sends Pakistan first wave of aid (October 10, 2005) -- The United States has promised initial aid of $50 million and eight heavy helicopters to Pakistan, where more than 30,000 people were killed by an ... > full story

Japan sends quake emergency relief (October 10, 2005) -- Japan is sending material and manpower to Pakistan, which was hit by a major earthquake Saturday. The Japanese government, whose land mass is ... > full story

Moderate earthquake hits Tokyo (July 28, 2005) -- An earthquake hit the Kanto region and Tokyo Thursday night, registering 5.1 on the Richter scale, the Japanese Meteorological Agency said. The ... > full story

Japan, U.S. to revise emergency aid deal (June 21, 2005) -- Japan and the United States plan to revise a military contract so Japanese forces can provide supplies and services to U.S. forces on disaster relief ... > full story

U.S., Japan agree to issue security report (June 4, 2005) -- Japan Defense Director Gen. Yoshinori Ono and U.S. Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld agreed Saturday to issue a report on mutual security ... > full story

Two or three UH-1 multipurpose helicopters belonging to Japan's Ground Self-Defense Forces will be sent to Pakistan, as well as 120 GSDF troops, under Japan's international emergency assistance law, the Japanese newspaper Mainichi Shimbun reported Tuesday.

The GSDF are considering transporting the helicopters to Pakistan on a C-130 transport aircraft and sending personnel on a government jet.

Under the international emergency assistance law, Tokyo has dispatched Self-Defense Forces abroad five times for disaster relief operations, including a mission following the tsunami that occurred in the Indian Ocean last December.

UAE gives $100m aid to Pakistan

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

President His Highness Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan has ordered $100 million (Dh368 million) in assistance to the people affected by Saturday’s earthquake in Pakistan, WAM said on Monday.

He also ordered the UAE Armed Forces to set up field hospitals in the quake-affected areas to provide urgent medical assistance to the victims.

Nauman said:
Nope just read it on news bar on GEO and AJ TV no more details.

USGS latest Earthquake news doesnt list it yet.

I am guessing it was just a minor one as there has been no news about it since then.

My heart felt condolences to all in any way involved in the tragedy and hopefully few or none here suffered personal losses in the tragedy. Have been travelling a lot for work lately and apologize for not logging in earlier and sharing my sentiments.

As for idiotic comments like Dada's above let me assure you that majority of the Indians feel deeply saddened by the tragedy and anyone who comes up writes gibberish like India had a warning system for earthquakes in place does not know anything about Geology.

Anyhow, hopefully this will signal a new start and rebuilding process and with a lot of international support already there, I am sure all countries affected by the disaster will be able to avoid further calamities which offshoot from such natural disasters with winter round the corner.

Here is what I found about that latest earthquake in Quetta

http://www.cbc.ca/cp/world/051011/w101150.html

Late Tuesday, a 5.1-magnitude quake rattled parts of southwestern Pakistan, causing people to rush out of their homes in panic. No casualties were reported.

Tremors were felt in the remote towns of Khuzdar and Sarrab, about 385 kilometres south of Quetta, said Mohammed Adnan of the meteorological department in Quetta.

© The Canadian Press, 2005

Thank God, no more casualties in this one

My question is that where is the army in this hour of need?:12:
We have a strong army of 600,000, but where is it...? only a handfull of soldiers have been seen in muzaffarabad and other areas..!
does the army only have 6 helicopters in the entire army for airlifting people!!!:12:
What is musharraf doing...?:6::12:
someone tell me that 10000 soldiers in muzaffarabad wont help or not...?

army maybe of 60000..not all of them are territorial.

I'm surprised we dont have many helicopters though. Must cost a fair bit.

army maybe of 60000..not all of them are territorial.

Of course i wouldn't expect all 600000, but at least 10000 would be territorial. but even so where are they....?

loads of roads in difficult terrain have been cut off by landslides... i saw this bulldozer try to clear a path to either muzzafarabad or Balakot. The landslide compared tothe bulldozer looked like 100 times bigger - rocks were half the size of the bulldozer... Roads are realistically 1 bulldozer width long. saw only one bulldozer at a time can clear.take at least a week.

very difficult to build roads 15000 ft above sealevel.

100000 soldiers still need equipment which can only be choppered in by heavy duty helicopters...Which only a few countries have.

You people dont realise the scale of this disaster there is not a single town in northern and eastern part of NWFP which is safe there are close to over 2 to 3 hundred small villages let alone towns. If you send 3 or 4 helicopters to each town or village that will take over 2 thousand helicopters. Pakistan army has sufficient helicopters to fullfill its own needs but as I said earlier the scale of this disaster is such that Pakistan army's best is just not enough. If you look at arial shots you will see not even a single building is standing in those areas the whole thing is just flattened. As far as why soldiers are not going they are but untill yesterday roads were blocked so only way of deplying soldiers was through helicopters now roads have opened and last evening 2 more devisions were ordered to move up north.

this is not time to play blame game guys, weather is making it very difficult as well. Rains,big landslides and scale of disaster is too big to handle for us at moment.
I head in news around 4 million ppl are homeless.
yes, ppl are getting angry there but I hope today all aid arrive to them and get treatment.

I think even in Kahmir on indian side, they is still no aid for towns which were badly hit with population of around 13,000.

Hope ppl on both side get aid ASAP.

googly said:
My heart felt condolences to all in any way involved in the tragedy and hopefully few or none here suffered personal losses in the tragedy. Have been travelling a lot for work lately and apologize for not logging in earlier and sharing my sentiments.

As for idiotic comments like Dada's above let me assure you that majority of the Indians feel deeply saddened by the tragedy and anyone who comes up writes gibberish like India had a warning system for earthquakes in place does not know anything about Geology.

Anyhow, hopefully this will signal a new start and rebuilding process and with a lot of international support already there, I am sure all countries affected by the disaster will be able to avoid further calamities which offshoot from such natural disasters with winter round the corner.

Much appreciated yaar.

Regards

MIG

Its amazing how quickly the entire world is coming to grips with the scale of this situation. Its as if everyone knows that the true destruction caused by this disaster is amazingly high.

The Daily Times reports that casualties could surpass 100,000!

All

The other reason why no large army personnel is in that area that we suffered approx 50-75% loss of jawans and equipment in the AJK regiments around the LOC and thus they cant come down from the mountains to assist the remote villages.

This makes life even harder for getting relief to the public.

The other problem is that as communications are down the public in AJK dont know how widespread the destruction has been in other towns over hundreds of miles.

I no longer post on this site due to being hounded out by a tirade of immature personal abuse. However I would like to obviously pay my condolences and respects to anyone who has been personally affected by the quake on here. I have much family in Islamabad and Pindi who are shaken and still scared, but Alhamidilulah are safe. I also have a cousin – Dewan Ali Khan Chugtai, who as a Kashmir State Minister resides / works in Muzafferbad. Fortunately by the grace of Allah the almighty he was on Umrah at the time, but I gather his house has been badly damaged and his family are sleeping outdoors. Another cousin - his wife’s village has been flattened and she is frantic, as she cannot get in contact with family and friends. Perhaps Farhad will have the vindictive audacity to doubt the authenticity of this as he did when I narrated my proximity to the London Tube bombings. Anyway this is not about personal loss or grief it is far far bigger than that. However my time and efforts for the dead and survivors is not best spent posting on a website. This merely is an expression of condolence for those personally affected by the events here.

Having said that I would like to take the opportunity to make a couple of points about the relief effort by Government so far. As somebody who knows the surrounding areas around Islamabad a little bit I know that access is a problem, and that landslides are a common hazard. However I still think that the Government / Army has failed us. Never the greatest fan of General Not So Shareef he has gone even further down in my estimation. He is meant to be a crisis leader but when a real humanitarian crisis occurs he is a hindrance not a help. In a TV interview on Saturday he was making comparisons with the US Government’s response to the Hurricane and asking people to be patient. Why use the heavily criticised incompetent action by George Dubya as a yardstick?

Secondly if it was his Mother, Father, Son, or Daughter stuck in the rubble would he be so patient? The initial hours are critical. It is ridiculous in the extreme to ask people to be patient. Also more than a few British Pakistanis have mentioned that whenever senior people arrived the relief work stopped to debrief them. As they said the best thing the Generals can do is to stay away. That is a damning indictment of both their levels of incompetence and insensitivity.

In the medium and longer term the worry is that the international aid will not reach those in most need but be siphoned off by corrupt bureaucrats and Government officials into offshore bank accounts. Pakistan has long been perceived as a nation of Lions led by Donkeys. Let’s hope in this instance at least that is not the case.

Amoeba said:

Having said that I would like to take the opportunity to make a couple of points about the relief effort by Government so far. As somebody who knows the surrounding areas around Islamabad a little bit I know that access is a problem, and that landslides are a common hazard. However I still think that the Government / Army has failed us. Never the greatest fan of General Not So Shareed he has gone even further down in my estimation. He is meant to be a crisis leader but when a real humanitarian crisis occurs he is a hindrance not a help. In a TV interview on Saturday he was making comparisons with the US Government’s response to the Hurricane and asking people to be patient. Why use the heavily criticised incompetent action by George Dubya as a yardstick?

Secondly if it was his Mother, Father, Son, or Daughter stuck in the rubble would he be so patient? The initial hours are critical. It is ridiculous in the extreme to ask people to be patient. Also more than a few British Pakistanis have mentioned that whenever senior people arrived the relief work stopped to debrief them. As they said the best thing the Generals can do is to stay away. That is a damning indictment of both their levels of incompetence and insensitivity.

Distressing to hear about family/friends affected by the tradegy.

Any how, except for calling Musharraf a hinderence (you say you knew that anyway) you really haven't said why you think he/the government has failed us and how another leader might have done better? So he asked the nation for patience and perhaps he could have phrased that better (not that that statement in particular matters as far as the relief effort is concerned) but what else do you expect? Agreed initial hours are crucial but if there is no access all that the govenment can do is wait for some roads to be cleared and use all other possible methods (they used helicopters). We are talking millions of victims here and spread over the most underdevelopment and difficult terrian around the country with continuous storms and rains. The other thing they/he could do was plead for aid and in particular the specifics needed(which they did), use envoys around the world to update world leaders and get them moving (they did) and get the people going on a domestic level (Musharraf called it a test for the nation).

You yourself admit that access is a problem, a big one at that, and yet you seem to suggest that the government should miraculously have resolved that within hours (given the resources and equipment of a third world country)? Can you suggest how that would have been possible?

one thing i have noticed is the anti pakistan vitriol that is being plugged by networks like the BBC..yes there has been problems..hell like kayanni said our army has suffered to..why is no one mentioning this?? al im hearing is how the kashmiri's are calling pakistani's @b.....ds@ and bbc reporters are constantly asking loaded questions..today on their morning program the reporter was really trying to get a resident to spout some nonsense about how evil pakistanis are and how they arent helping blah blah blah..what the hell is this?? every1 knows our govt isnt the most competent at the best of times...but something of this magnitude is unprecedented in Pakistan's history...asking silly questions to people who have lost everything is just unprofessional!!..what the hell do you expect people are gonna say???...im really upset and this is really peeing me off..after all we have done for our Kashmiri brothers and trying to do now in their hour of need we're gettinglambasted by the foreign media and some kashmiri's...i mean what about the Indians?? why isnt the bbc going to remote villages over there?? where people ,are even now, without any help at all..no relief agencies only some army people!! But noooo, the bbc has to paint a picture of Kashmiri vs Pakistani even when soo many have died...even now they are trying to undermine us...50 bloody years and this is what you get!!!...My heart and prayers are with the Kashmiris people always and with Pakistan!!...but this sort of black propaganda is really disheartening!!

Amoeba may I ask you what have you done to help it is very easy to criticise someone sitting at home. You first say that you know the terrain around Islamabad and up north and yet you say why did Musharaff ask people to be patient? surely one cant be that naive. Roads are blocked, there are land slides. As I said earlier there are over 300 villages that have been completely destroyed and I am not even counting the towns that have been destroyed. Army has only enough helicopters to fullfill its own needs they did the best they could there is no doubt about that. I have been severly critical of Musharaf and his government for past 3 years but I will give them credit where its due. So if the best was not enough then is it really their fault? You know they even sent soldiers to take emergency supplies on foot what more could you ask for?

If you ask me you have been watching too much GEO, they have been exploiting this situation to their advantage.

Cricket to aid earthquake victims

Cricket's governing body will donate revenue from the Super Series Test for the victims of the Pakistan earthquake instead of staging a separate match.

Money raised from the second day's play between Australia and a World XI in Sydney on Saturday will be donated.

International Cricket Council chief executive Malcolm Speed said it had looked at staging a charity match.

But he added: "We think the approach we're taking is a more effective way of addressing the issue."

The ICC kickstarted the fundraising by giving £340,000 to the Australian Red Cross and Speed added there would be a number of initiatives at the game on Saturday for fans to raise more money.

Speed said: "We believe that's the best way that cricket can show it's remorse, can show the people of the countries that have been affected that we're thinking of them and we're concerned to do whatever we can to ease the suffering at this terrible time."

Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar had initially approached the ICC with the idea of staging a separate charity match.

Speed added: "I spoke to Shoaib about that and he's happy and appreciative of the approach we've taken."

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said his players had agreed to donate 25% of their match fees from the upcoming series against England to the appeal.

And England players have pledged their match fees from the first one-dayer in Lahore on 10 December - a match in which all the gate proceeds will go to the official Earthquake Relief Fund.

Meanwhile the Asian Cricket Council is planning to hold a one-day international to raise funds.

ACC president Jagmohan Dalmiya said the details of the match - venue and date - would be revealed next week.

"We will also be approaching the International Cricket Council to accord official status to the match once the details are finalised," he said.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have unfortunately not read ALL the posts here, so if this has already been posted Mods, please delete.

Dankie

Earthquakes are a sign of Qiyamah, and this one is a massive sign, that hit home to the muslims. We have got to accept that this was largest quake for a long time, the most destructive of recent times as Doomsday moves a step closer. Instead of quarrelling look at the bigger picture:

When past figures are examined, we see that the number of earthquakes was quite low. According to the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) reports, the number of earthquakes with a magnitude of 5.0 or greater on the Richter scale that took place during the 400 years between 1556-1975 was only 110; between 1980-2003, the number of earthquakes with a magnitude of 6.5 or greater on the Richter scale was 1,685. These figures reveal that the number of earthquakes had increased by the beginning of the year Hijri 1400. Hence fulfilling the prophecy.

In the long run this will hurt Pakistan in terms their relationship with Kashmiri's on a political level but on a social level after they see the response of the Pak people in terms of supplies etc they will love us as brothers and sisters.

People all over Pak are donating anything to everything, i a read a report one bloke sold his Merc to give money to the charities.

"In the long run this will hurt Pakistan in terms their relationship with Kashmiri's on a political level but on a social level after they see the response of the Pak people in terms of supplies etc they will love us as brothers and sisters"

Im from azad kashmir, and never have i thought of "us" ppl living in AK as seperate from the people in pak, theoretically we are seperate on the map, but we already love the people in pak and we see ourselves as a WHOLE UNIT.

pathan007 said:
according to Geo tv Pakistan has said that Israel hasn't offered any aid.

So much for the 'dosti with Israel' campaign.

Pak would not publicly confirm if Israel had sent anything. too sensitive a subject at this time.

If Israel have/will send things to Pak then it will go through Turkey's aid and be hidden that way

Mulan:

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said his players had agreed to donate 25% of their match fees from the upcoming series against England to the appeal.

And England players have pledged their match fees from the first one-dayer in Lahore on 10 December - a match in which all the gate proceeds will go to the official Earthquake Relief Fund

Stark contrast isn't it

alghazzali said:
Stark contrast isn't it

no time to blame my dear freind.
if u read again Pak players are donating from whole series and Eng players from 1st ODI

wateve whoever donate is gr8 gesture from a person/country/association.

Nauman said:
Amoeba may I ask you what have you done to help it is very easy to criticise someone sitting at home. You first say that you know the terrain around Islamabad and up north and yet you say why did Musharaff ask people to be patient? surely one cant be that naive. Roads are blocked, there are land slides. As I said earlier there are over 300 villages that have been completely destroyed and I am not even counting the towns that have been destroyed. Army has only enough helicopters to fullfill its own needs they did the best they could there is no doubt about that. I have been severly critical of Musharaf and his government for past 3 years but I will give them credit where its due. So if the best was not enough then is it really their fault? You know they even sent soldiers to take emergency supplies on foot what more could you ask for?

:14: Very good post. I am glad someone else thinks like that.

I am really disapointed (to put it politley) with some of the politicians and people trying to milk and take advantage of the situation. People Like Qazi Hussain and the much loved cricketer politcian Imran Khan, are acting very inappropriate. Instead of uniting with the government and offering help or a strategy plan etc themselves, they are instead strongly attacking and criticising the government for not doing enough.

This isn't a time for party politics and to take pot shots at others. it's a time when all the politicians should unite and help unite others with the important goal of helping the victims. What is the bickering going to acheive but more delay and division because they are winding peoples emotions and helping make the situation more volatile and tense.

Imran and Qazi say the army and government aren't doing enough but don't these two gentlemen realise that this type of disaster is the ifrst in it's kind for Pakistan. Then how could have you expected the arm and government to be prepared for this sort of stuff?? The country is obviously a third world poor country and tehy haven't got all the equipment and amunitions to cope alone. It does take time to imobolise aid and relief but it's hard work when there is such a large scale devestation with roads blocked, landslides and many remote areas to get to as well as dealing with the logistics.

What do Qazi and Imran Khan think the government is doing? Do they really think the government doesn't care about it's people and have no concsious whatsoever? Do they think the army and government are sitting and doing nothing but dancing?

I can understand why people that are direct victims of the earthquake that are criticisng the government as they obviously need the shelter and food etc asap. It would be difficult for anyone in that situation to think straight but too lash out at the government etc. But Imran and Qazi should know better...and suprisingly the people like Nawaz, Benazir and Altaf etc who I expected to take advantage have so far kept there mouths shut in criticising the government.

Yeah...

Anyhow...another one of the prophecies stated... ".. And the love of many will grow cold..."

But very happy to see that so many have shown that their hearts are still in the right place...Unfortunately, many people are looking to their governments to do something, while it is often true that help from individuals, no matter how small, can make a big difference in the lives of many...

alghazzali said:
Stark contrast isn't it

Bhai Pakistan both England and PAKISTAN have agreed to donate all match fee for first odi to teh relief aid for the victims. It is actually reported liek that because Pak agreed and suggested first and then got England to agree.
As well as that Pakistan are donating 25% of whole series match fee. Every penny counts and 25% is quite a significant amount of someones wage packet.

fessal i agree with you point about the people critising the relief effort like imran khan now is not the time.

I saw the newsreader jon snow helping people out which was good to see.

UK has just given 10 million in aid.