2023 World Cup blockbuster India versus Pakistan clash to be held on October 14

I am sure they made sure all their games were in Dubai for the Asia Cup. So there is a precedent.

It's the hosts privilege to allocate venues.

Unless there are security issues or the venue has below par facilities, its not changed.

It's the hosts privilege to allocate venues.

Unless there are security issues or the venue has below par facilities, its not changed.

India did not want to travel to Abu Dhabi or Sharjah - there was no security issue in UAE.

India were the hosts of the 2018 Asia Cup and hence allocated venues as per their choice.

2022 Asia Cup had only 4 matches outside Dubai. Two which were Pakistan matches.

India were the hosts of the 2018 Asia Cup and hence allocated venues as per their choice.

2022 Asia Cup had only 4 matches outside Dubai. Two which were Pakistan matches.

Why does it matter who is the host?

Fact is one team decided it didn't want to play in one venue.

Choosing a venue is one thing, NOT playing at venues at all like India did is another thing.

Pakistan, being the #2 ODI side in the world, really shouldn't be complaining about switching up Bangalore and Chennai. Surely, they should go in with the confidence to beat any team on any Asian pitch at least?

Also, there is no advantage to playing Australia in Chennai. Chennai is a heavy bat first bias pitch. If Australia bat first, they will beat Pakistan. Bangalore is more balanced at that time of the year and there is no clear bias.

Why cant we forfiet the match and dont play against india in ICC events until India agree on bilateral relationship

It is Pakistan who has cut off all relationship and trade with India, not the reverse.

Pakistan foreign ministry spokesperson Mumtaz Zahra Baloch said Pakistan was of the view that "politics should not be mixed with sports".

"India's policy of not playing cricket in Pakistan is disappointing," Baloch said, as quoted by Reuters news agency.

"We are observing and evaluating all aspects relating to our participation in the World Cup including the security situation for Pakistani cricketers and we will offer our views to PCB in due course."

Ravi Ashwin on the topic of Pakistan's requests to change venues:

"Pakistan, in their request letter itself, have mentioned that conditions will favor Afghanistan in Chennai. So, by changing venues, it plays into an advantage for Pakistan. So, I highly doubt that ICC will heed to this request. Maybe if Pakistan have given some valid security reasons, then it might be shifted. Another important thing. Pakistan’s interesting request to switch venues. The fixture now is, Pakistan playing Australia in Bangalore and Afghanistan in Chennai. They want the venues interchanged."

Pakistan foreign ministry spokesperson Mumtaz Zahra Baloch said Pakistan was of the view that "politics should not be mixed with sports".

"India's policy of not playing cricket in Pakistan is disappointing," Baloch said, as quoted by Reuters news agency.

"We are observing and evaluating all aspects relating to our participation in the World Cup including the security situation for Pakistani cricketers and we will offer our views to PCB in due course."

Wishing for a boycott. Self respect is more important than wc participation

As per media reports, ICC will announce the schedule for this year’s World Cup in India on Tuesday, June 27, in Mumbai.

Delay in announcing the schedule could be a problem for fans and organizers alike

==

The biggest issue is outside the cricket field: fans hoping to travel to India will certainly face the biggest hurdles as international travel plans, visas and hotel accommodations across various cities at relatively short notice are never easy.

The delay means tailor-made travel packages, that should have been booked by now, have yet to be drafted.

The other big factor is the state of the venues. At least five major World Cup venues are being refurbished for the tournament, with fans having complained about the dilapidated condition of the older stadiums for years.

Additionally, the outfield at four centres – Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Lucknow – were recently relaid. That could become a potential issue as not enough testing would have taken place on them.

Any last-minute change of venues is being seen as the worst case scenario for organisers, like at the 2016 T20 World Cup in India when Pakistan requested their World Cup game to be shifted from Dharamsala to Kolkata due to security reasons.

ICC-Trophy_Space_Hero_4.jpg

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Trophy Tour has begun in spectacular style, launching 120,000 feet above the Earth, before landing in the largest cricket stadium in the world, India’s Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The feat was achieved with the World Cup Trophy attached to a bespoke stratospheric balloon. The stunning shots of the famous silverware sitting on the edge of the Earth’s atmosphere were captured with 4K cameras. The balloon crossed more than 99.5% of the Earth’s atmosphere with the temperature of -65°C at the peak altitude.

The space flight sets the stage for the biggest ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour ever, counting down to the World Cup being played across India in October and November.

Through a varied programme of activations, the Trophy Tour aims to give one million fans the chance to connect with the prized silverware ahead of the highly anticipated global event, and will visit locations in 18 countries across five continents.

Embarking on its first full-scale global tour since 2019, the Trophy Tour will recreate the sense of occasion and carnival-like atmosphere synonymous with Cricket World Cups through a series of large-scale activations at some of the world’s most iconic destinations.

Fans can follow the progress of the Trophy Tour on its journey around the world at cricketworldcup.com.

In addition to visiting over 20 cities in India and other participating countries, the Trophy will also tour a number of emerging nations such as Bahrain, Kuwait, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Nigeria, Uganda, France, Italy and the United States, enabling new and existing fans to get a glimpse of world cricket’s ultimate prize.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour is an important milestone in the countdown to what will be the biggest ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup ever. This Tour will see the iconic silverware meet heads of states, launch community initiatives and support cricket development programmes in addition to visiting some of the most iconic landmarks around the globe.

“Cricket has more than a billion fans and we want to give as many people as possible the opportunity to get up close to this famous trophy that has been held aloft by some of the greatest legends of our sport.”

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said: “Cricket unites India like no other sport and excitement is building across the country as we prepare to host the 10 best teams in the world over six weeks of heart-stopping cricket.

“As we countdown to the World Cup, the Trophy Tour is a fantastic chance for fans to be part of the event wherever they are. The Tour will travel extensively across India and seek to inspire communities to share the excitement of cricket’s greatest spectacle, while providing an opportunity to showcase iconic venues, cities and landmarks throughout the country.”

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour Schedule

27 June – 14 July: India

15 – 16 July: New Zealand

17 – 18 July: Australia

19 – 21 July: Papua New Guinea

22 – 24 July: India

25 – 27 July: USA

28 – 30 July: West Indies

31 July – 4 August: Pakistan

5 – 6 August: Sri Lanka

7 – 9 August: Bangladesh

10 – 11 August: Kuwait

12 – 13 August: Bahrain

14 – 15 August: India

16 – 18 August: Italy

19 – 20 August: France

21 – 24 August: England

25 – 26 August: Malaysia

27 – 28 August: Uganda

29 – 30 August: Nigeria

31 August – 3 September: South Africa

From 4 September: India

Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium and the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, both iconic venues have emerged as the frontrunners to host the two semifinals of the 2023 World Cup. This means the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, another venue with a rich legacy could lose out on organising one of the biggest games of the ODI showpiece.

"Mumbai's Wankhede and Kolkata's Eden Gardens are two likely venues for the World Cup semi-finals. Earlier, Chennai was also in the race but it seems Eden is slightly ahead now," a BCCI source told PTI on Monday.

"One of the reasons could be the November weather in Chennai where there is always chance of rain." Twelve hosting associations were called in Mumbai on Monday to discuss the details and finalise the venues before Tuesday's official announcement.

If India qualify for the semifinals, they will play their last-four stage game in Mumbai. The Wankhede Stadium hosted the final of the 2011 World Cup, in which a Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led India beat Sri Lanka to end a 28-year-old title drought, while the Eden Gardens played host to the summit showdown between Australia and England in the 1987 edition, in which the former country prevailed.

There will be 10 teams at this year's World Cup. As hosts, India have qualified directly, as have Afghanistan, Australia, England, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa through the 2020-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. Two other teams will make it to the World Cup through the World Cup Qualifiers, which is being currently played in Zimbabwe.

Apart from former champions Sri Lanka and the West Indies, the Qualifiers also feature Ireland, Nepal, the Netherlands, Oman, Scotland, the UAE, the USA, and hosts Zimbabwe. At the World Cup in India, the 10 teams will play each other once in a round-robin league featuring 45 matches. These will be followed by the semi-finals and the final.

Cricket Country

Schedule to be announced at 12:00 PM (IST). So that's 21 minutes from now.

Virender Sehwag:

"Everybody wants to look forward to that India-Pakistan game. So even I am,"

"I'm not sure what will happen that day, but the team that handles pressure well will win.

"I feel that now India handles the pressure that is why they win whereas Pakistan have a burden that they haven't won against India. In the 1990s, they were good at dealing with pressure but after 2000, India soak it better. If any player says that they don't feel pressure, I don't think it's right. We used to say it too but at the end of the day, we know it's an India vs Pakistan game and emotions run high."

Harbhajan Singh speaking on TV:

"It will be a very high-pressure game. Pakistan will not be under as much pressure as India because India will be playing in India. So to handle and absorb that pressure and to win from there and bring a smile to everyone's faces will be a huge thing."

"There cannot be anything bigger than that - India vs Pakistan. I remember the game, if I talk about 2011, according to me that semi-final was a semi-final by name, it was the final game."

"The pressure of that match, the expectations in that game from your relatives to entire India and wherever Indians are sitting, you just have to do one thing for them, and that is to win the match."

"How you absorb that pressure when you go to the ground, what all things you need to do right, it matters a lot. In my opinion, the final was over when we played the semi-final before the final because when we played the final against Sri Lanka, we didn't feel any big pressure in that match."

I am gutted.Pakistan should not have gone to India.Cricket is just a game.If Pakistan doesn’t take part it is not going to be the end of the world.PCB and PDM government are spineless.

Don’t be the chances of Pak not going were always very slim. Get behind the team and will them on to victory!

Bring it on. Rivalry bani rehni chahiye dono teams and fans ke bich tabhi maja ata h :murali

Probably the first time I will not be watching or following a WC. For this exact reason.

Team India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin feels that Pakistan are likely to give India a few headaches in the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023. Recently, the ICC confirmed the schedule of the World Cup during an event in Mumbai with Rohit Sharma’s men set to take on Babar Azam’s side on October 15.

The India vs Pakistan clash will be a ‘blockbuster’ according to Ashwin and it will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, with more than 1 lakh spectators expected to pack the venue to the brim.

Ashwin feels that the World Cup clash will be a closely contested game, and he also pointed out to the previous matches between the two neighbouring countries to highlight his point.

Given the formidable pace attack of Pakistan, India are likely to have a few hiccups according to Ashwin who is expected a ‘balanced’ game.

“The last few games between India and Pakistan have been extraordinary. I think we can expect another blockbuster India-Pakistan game. It is going to be an equally balanced game because Pakistan also have a quality seam attack," Ashwin said while speaking on his YouTube channel.

India are yet to suffer a single defeat against the Men in Green in the history of the ODI World Cup. Ashwin also pointed out another potentially dangerous opponent in Afghanistan, saying that they could prove to be a big challenge for many teams.

The 36-year-old stated that their bowling attack could ‘upset’ some of the big-wigs.

“I feel Afghanistan might challenge a few teams this year. Last time, during 2011 World Cup, India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan qualified for the semi-finals. Of course, Bangladesh is a very good side," Ashwin said.

He continued, “But I feel Afghanistan will create a few upsets this year. They played really well during the last World Cup too. But in these conditions, you cannot really run through their side with fast bowling. We all know their spin strength with Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, and Zakir Khan."

CricNext

The much-awaited India-Pakistan game in the 50-over World Cup will now be played on October 14 instead of October 15. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has got the approval for the change in schedule from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

It is also learnt that apart from Pakistan’s game against India at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the date for their clash with Sri Lanka in Hyderabad has also been changed. Instead of October 12 as it was in the original schedule, the game has been brought forward a couple of days to October 10.

This paper was the first to report that the date for the India-Pakistan game was likely to be changed as it would coincide with the first day of the Navratri festival, celebrated with much fervour in Gujarat.

The revised schedule would give Pakistan three days between their matches against Sri Lanka and India, instead of two days as it was according to the original itinerary. It is understood that Sri Lanka Cricket has given a thumbs up to the proposed modification in the fixture.

After the clash with India, Pakistan’s next game will be against Australia in Bengaluru on October 20.

For Sri Lanka, it would be a quick turnaround after their opening World Cup fixture against South Africa in Delhi on October 7. After the Pakistan game, they are scheduled to face Australia in Lucknow on October 16.

After the game against Afghanistan in Delhi on October 11, the hosts will now have three days before the Pakistan match, instead of four earlier. India’s next game is against Bangladesh in Pune on October 19.

The new schedule now has three matches on October 14. Apart from the India-Pakistan fixture, Bangladesh and New Zealand play a day game in Chennai before defending champions England face Afghanistan in Delhi in the afternoon.

Tinkering

BCCI secretary Jay Shah had stated last week that the India-Pakistan match could be rescheduled, or its timings changed, but won’t be moved from Ahmedabad. He had added that it was not the only contest that could see a change, as there have been requests by some member boards to tinker with three or four fixtures.

“Two or three member boards have requested for a tweaking of the schedule, and it’s their right. We are working on it with the ICC. The venues will not change, as it will give rise to several logistical challenges. What we are looking at is that if a team has six days between matches, we reduce it to five, and if a team has two days between games, we make it three. Teams should get adequate time to travel, rest and train between matches at a World Cup,” Shah had told reporters last week.

Declining to name which games have a chance to be rescheduled, the BCCI secretary said it was a job to be coordinated between the logistical arms of the Indian board and the ICC.

However, change of date means a logistical nightmare awaits fans who have finalised travel plans for the game – for which tickets get sold out within hours, and which brings sky-high TRPs for broadcasters.

Reports from Ahmedabad say that most hotels are already over-booked for mid-October and even homestay options have been exhausted. A surge in airfares is expected as well. Mass cancellation and frenzied bookings are on the cards after the new date for the India-Pakistan game is announced.

With less than two months left for the World Cup to begin, the Indian board is now hoping to sell online tickets for the marquee event soon.

Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president Snehasis Ganguly is confident over the inspection of the Eden Gardens by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Saturday. The iconic venue has been assigned to host a total of five matches, including one semi-final clash.

If India and Pakistan qualify to face each other in the semi-final, then the potential clash will take place in Kolkata. The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, which will host the other semi-final, will not host any match involving Pakistan under any circumstances.

In the build-up to the 2023 ODI World Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has granted each venue ₹50 crore to revamp its facilities in time for the event. The stadiums will also be subject to an inspection by ICC and BCCI representatives, who visited Delhi and Dharamsala recently to make their assessments.

CAB president Snehasis Ganguly stated that the preparations are underway and there is a sense of optimism around the upcoming inspection.

"We are prepared for every challenge. And if an India vs Pakistan match will be there, then it would be good for us. Nothing more exciting than that. We are ready. ICC is coming to inspect us, more work is in progress. We also had talked with the police. They are also ready to give security every time. We are very confident," he told India Today.

The Eden Gardens played host to the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for the first time since the 2019 Indian Premier League (IPL). The stadium won the best ground and pitch award at the end of the 2023 IPL season along with the Wankhede Stadium.

Eden Gardens will host India's league-stage encounter against South Africa at the 2023 ODI World Cup
Apart from the crucial semi-final clash, Eden Gardens will also witness Team India's penultimate league stage game against South Africa on November 16.

The venue's first match of the tournament comes in the form of a clash between Bangladesh and the Netherlands on October 28. Another high-profile contest that has been assigned to Kolkata is the defending champions England's contest against Pakistan on November 12.

The CAB has already announced the ticket prices for the World Cup matches, which range from ₹900 to ₹3000, depending on the contest.

SportsKeeda

Rohit Sharma in an interview:
“When you play against Pakistan, it’s always challenging, to beat them, and to play against them, we have to do a whole lot"

Rohit Sharma in an event in USA:

“Pakistan team mein sab ache hai. Mai kisi ka naam nahi loonga. Bada bada controversy hota hai (All the pacers in Pakistan team are equally good. I will not going to pick any individual. It creates big controversy),”

“Ek ka naam lete hai toh doosre ko acha nahi lagta. Doosre ka lete hai toh teesre ko acha nahi lagta. Saare hi ache hai (If I will take one player’s name, the second will feel bad. If I will takr second players’s name, then the third will feel bad. I think all of them are good),”

There's a hot debate on Twitter among Pakistani fans that the World Cup should be shifted awayfrom India :))

Pakistan’s best hope of expanding their influence is to play brilliantly (as they are capable of doing)!

Ravindra Jadeja in an interview:

“Whenever there is an India-Pakistan match, everyone expects a lot and wants us to win the match at any cost. But for us, any match for India is as much important as the match against Pakistan,”

“But everyone focuses more on this match. And we try to deliver, try to play as good as possible. But sometimes it happens (not being able to deliver). They (Pakistani players) are representing their country too. They play to win too. There is no guarantee.

“You can give effort and focus on the ground but at the end of the day, if you don’t get the result in your favour, you cannot do anything. The main thing is to give 100 percent effort and play to win,”

Shiv Sena opposes India-Pak cricket match in Ahmedabad​

Mumbai: Continuing its opposition to Pakistan, the Shiv Sena (UBT) has opposed India’s match against the neighbouring country to be played at Ahmedabad in the forthcoming World Cup tournament. Party chief Uddhav Thackeray on Sunday said that India should not play against the country that supports the terrorism.

"The India-Pakistan matches would be held in Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Why play with a country that fuels terrorism," Thackeray said addressing a rally at Hingoli in Maharashtra.

To emphasise his discontent on playing against Pakistan, the Sena (UBT) chief mentioned late BJP leader Sushma Swaraj in his speech while criticising Prime Minister Modi. "You teach us lessons of patriotism and then hold an India-Pakistan cricket match in Ahmedabad. Sushma Swaraj was better than you, she clearly stated that there would be no cricket until the terror activities against India are not stopped by Pakistan. This is called patriotism," he said.

Thackeray also raised the issue of Kulbhushan Jadhav, the former Indian Navy officer, who is in custody of Pakistan having been convicted on charges of spying.

"Are you going to invite Kulbhushan Jadhav for that match (against Pakistan)? He is languishing in a Pakistani jail. Jadhav was caught while working for our country. But we don’t know whether he is alive there or not and shamelessly we are playing cricket with Pakistan," he added.

Thackeray also hit out at Modi urging BJP workers to celebrate Raksha Bandhan with Muslim sisters, asking if they will tie rakhis for Bilkis Bano, who was gangraped during Gujarat riots, or the two Manipuri women who were stripped and paraded by a mob.

"After committing atrocities on Muslim women and then releasing their culprits, they wish to celebrate Raksha Bandhan with them. Leave Bilkis Bano, at least are you going to get rakhi tied from those two women from Manipur who were stripped and paraded naked there? Are you going to do it?" he added.

Shiv Sena has a long-standing opposition to playing cricket matches against Pakistan saying that the neighbouring country is involved in terror activities against India. In October 1991, the Shiv Sena workers had even dug up the pitch at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai to disrupt a India-Pakistan match.

Uddhav Thackeray slams BJP over India-Pakistan WC match at Modi stadium

Shiv Sena (UBT) president Uddhav Thackeray on Sunday slammed Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP over the World Cup cricket match between India and Pakistan, scheduled to be held in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi stadium and questioned if it was the patriotism of BJP that cricket is being played with Pakistan at a time Pakistan fuels terrorism and Kulbhushan Jadhav, the Indian national languishes in Pakistani jail.

“The world cup cricket match will be held in Ahmedabad. If you compare our INDIA alliance with Indian Mujahideen (IM), then tell me how you are holding a cricket match with Pakistan which supports IM and terrorists. You teach us lessons of patriotism and then hold India-Pakistan cricket match in Ahmedabad. Is this your Hindutva? Sushma Swaraj was better than you, she clearly stated that there would be no cricket until the terror activities against India are stopped by Pakistan. This is called patriotism. At one hand, you are teaching us patriotism and then hugging them (enemies), this is not Hindutva. Modi ji, it doesn’t suit you,” Uddhav said while addressing the Maha Nirdhar public rally in Hingoli on Sunday afternoon.

Citing the case of Kulbhushan Jadhav, Uddhav further slammed the BJP and asked what Modi and BJP are doing for the release of Kulbhushan and how can an India-Pakistan match could be held at this time.

“Now you are playing cricket with Pakistan. The match would be held at Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad. Are you going to invite Kulbhushan Jadhav for that match? He is rotting in Pakistani jail. Modi ji what are you doing for the release of Kulbhushan Jadhav? He was caught while working for our country. When Sushma Swaraj was there we had hopes that Kulbhushan may return but now there is not a single word about him. We don’t know whether he is alive there or not and shamelessly we are playing cricket with Pakistan,” Uddhav said.

Uddhav also hit out at PM Modi over his instructions to BJP workers to celebrate Raksha Bandhan this year by tying Rakhi from Muslim sisters and asked if the party workers would get Rakhi tied from Bilkis Bano, who was allegedly gangraped and her family members were killed. Uddhav also asked if the BJP workers would get rakhi tied from two women from Manipur who were allegedly stripped naked and paraded by a mob.

“I read in the news that during a meeting PM Modi asked the party workers to celebrate Raksha Bandhan by tying rakhi from Muslim sisters. I actually welcome it. But please get Rakhi tied from Bilkis Bano too. The same Bilkis Bano, when She was pregnant, she was assaulted and her children and family members were killed. But later the culprits were released by the Gujarat government. Get Rakhi tied from her. Do you have the courage to do that? This is all your hypocrisy and double standard and such Hindutva is not acceptable. This is not the Hindutva taught to me by my father and grand Father,” Uddhav said.

“After committing atrocities on Muslim women and then releasing their culprits wish to celebrate Raksha Bandhan with them. Leave Bilkis Bano at least are you going to get rakhi tied from those two women from Manipur who were stripped and paraded naked there? Are you going to do it?” he added.

In his over 35 minutes long speech, he also took a dig at the BJP for using Bal Thackeray’s name for votes while lacking the capability to produce its own leaders. Uddhav warned against falling for any Chandrayaan election spin.

“Why do you need so many leaders from the opposition in your party? Doesn’t your party have the capacity to create your own leader? Don’t you have any leader of your own? You need my father. You are stealing and using my father’s (Bal Thackeray’s name asking votes). Why? Doesn’t your Father in Delhi have any capability to ask for votes? You are stealing parties.. breaking parties and saying we are Hindu? Stealing the leaders from other parties and saying this is our strength… What strength is this? This is not a strength, This is impotency. You have no ideology and no thoughts,” he said.

He also slammed the BJP for making allegations of nepotism against him and said that those who are stealing his father’s name have no right to preach him about nepotism.

“You make allegations of nepotism on me. I am proud of my family, father, and grandfather. Our family’s history and background are known to the whole of Maharashtra. We are not asking about your family’s history. But you steal my father too… You need my father for votes and then you also talk about nepotism? You have no right to talk nepotism when you are stealing my father’s name,” he said.

Uddhav also criticised the state government over the farmers’ distress and said that the government is not paying heed to them. He slammed Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis saying,”There is a drought situation in the state but our Dy CM went for a tour to Japan.”

While speaking about the Chandrayaan 3 mission, Uddhav warned that the BJP could use it during the elections and that the people should not fall for it.

“There is a possibility of BJP using the moon mission’s success. But it is the ISRO’s success. The BJP government did not do anything. Don’t fall for it,” he said.

India and Pakistan are set for some enthralling cricketing battles on the 22-yard strip, with the two Asian giants set to face each other on multiple occasions in the coming months. With three matches in the Asia Cup likely, India and Pakistan are also scheduled to clash in the ODI World Cup next month. Sourav Ganguly, former India skipper, doesn't agree with certain players' suggestion that it is 'just another game', and wants Rohit Sharma's men to be fully prepared. While Paksitan do have a top team, Ganguly doesn't feel playing India in Ahmedabad on the World Cup stage will be as easy for them as it seems.

"It is a huge game. Always was and always will be. You have realised how important it is in the context of the World Cup. I used to treat it very much like an India Australia, India South Africa contest. I used to get into the mindset that it is still the red ball or the white ball you are up against and prepare myself like that. You can't let the occasion get to you because that's when you tend to lose focus," Ganguly said in a chat on RevSportz.

"No its not just another game. You have to prepare yourself that way. That's how you manage pressure. Some manage and some don't manage. In my tenure we had a great record against Pakistan but this time round it will be a more competitive game. Last year after Pakistan beat India in Dubai things have changed. Pakistan is also a very good side and it is amazing how they keep churning out extraordinary talent. But playing India in India, playing India in Ahmedabad and playing India in front of 110,000 fans is very different thing," he explained.

Ganguly also explained his earlier statement, suggesting India will not win all the finals. The former BCCI president said that the team needs to focus on small milestones first. To win a final, first they have to reach one.

"Saying that India will not always win finals, he went on to say, 'You won't win all finals'. But then you need to make it to the final first. So you need to break things down. First you need to play well and win the majority of the nine games to be able to make the final. Don't think about the final at the start of the tournament. It is much like batting. When you go into bat don't think of the 100. Get to 50, 60, 70 and then when you get to 90 that's when you think of the 100. For the World Cup it is the same. First play well and get to the final. Once you are there that's when you plan for the final and try and win it," Dada explained.

NDTV

Rohit Sharma was asked about the buzz created around India versus Pakistan matches as seen in 2015 World Cup and in the 2019 edition as well and the 36-year-old looked visibly frustrated at the query.

At the end of the question, Rohit pulled off a weary look before issuing a stern warning at the media to not ask such question in press conferences during the World Cup because he won't be answering those at all. He further stressed on the fact that every member in the Indian dressing room are professional cricketers and have all been through such situations previously in their career and that their focus will remain on the trophy and not on the outside buzz.

“How many times have I repeated this? Our work is something else. Our work is not to look at outside buzz and play according to that. All players are professional and they have seen all these things in the past. So, it doesn't make a huge difference. Aise sawal mat puchna jab humlog press conference karenga India me World Cup ke samae. Iska jawab mein nehi duunga (Please don't ask me such questions even when we hold a press conference in India before the World Cup. I'll not answer such questions). It doesn't make sense to keep talking about it because our focus is something else and we as a team would like to focus on that particular thing,”

The India vs Pakistan World Cup 2023 match on October 14 has generated huge interest among the fans and officials.

The arch-rivals face off against each other only in multi-team events and their encounter is closely followed.

The tickets released so far for the India vs Pakistan clash at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, has been sold out all ready.

For the fans from both side, the match becomes a matter of prestige. Playing at home, and with intense media scrutiny, will put the Indian cricket team under a lot of pressure in the upcoming World Cup, feels former Pakistan pace bowler Shoaib Akhtar.

Akhtar added the stage is set perfectly for Pakistan, the No. 1 ODI side, to lift the trophy and give the country something to cheer about amid the serious economic situation.

India's performance in ICC events has left much to be desired as they have yet to win a world title since the 2013 Champions Trophy triumph under MS Dhoni.

"Pakistan's going to be all lonely there (in India). Having said that, they will be under no pressure. Playing at home, in front of own crowd, all the pressure will be on India; we will do better," Akhtar said during a virtual press conference organised by Star Sports.

"All the stadiums will be packed, and more than two billion people will be following the live action on TV or social media and what not.

The Indian media will put an incredible amount of pressure on Pakistan, they will build it up like Mahabharata. They will already declare India as the winners... that's an uncalled amount of pressure to have ahead of the game.

"(But) Rohit Sharma and India are going to face a lot of pressure because of that." India will take on Pakistan in the most-anticipated World Cup clash in Ahmedabad on October 14.

But before that, they will clash in the Super Four stage of the Asia Cup on Sunday, and may also head for a possible title showdown on September 17.

Akhtar said Pakistan will have the advantage as all the attention will be on the home team.

"Pakistan, on the other hand, will be all lonely with only 15 members there, sticking together. (I) will tell them to play 'without fear'." Akhtar added he had an intuition that this World Cup will go to Pakistan.

"Why this World Cup is so important for us, because it will be special playing in India and winning in India. I don't know, I may be wrong... but this stage is being set for an India-Pakistan final and particularly for Pakistan.

"I will be praying that the Pakistan team wins because we are struggling with economic reforms, and our critical financial situation. This is the only thing that can lift the nation... if we lift the World Cup in India and before that the Asia Cup," he said.

NDTV

Uddhav Thackeray slams BJP over India-Pakistan WC match at Modi stadium

Shiv Sena (UBT) president Uddhav Thackeray on Sunday slammed Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP over the World Cup cricket match between India and Pakistan, scheduled to be held in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi stadium and questioned if it was the patriotism of BJP that cricket is being played with Pakistan at a time Pakistan fuels terrorism and Kulbhushan Jadhav, the Indian national languishes in Pakistani jail.

“The world cup cricket match will be held in Ahmedabad. If you compare our INDIA alliance with Indian Mujahideen (IM), then tell me how you are holding a cricket match with Pakistan which supports IM and terrorists. You teach us lessons of patriotism and then hold India-Pakistan cricket match in Ahmedabad. Is this your Hindutva? Sushma Swaraj was better than you, she clearly stated that there would be no cricket until the terror activities against India are stopped by Pakistan. This is called patriotism. At one hand, you are teaching us patriotism and then hugging them (enemies), this is not Hindutva. Modi ji, it doesn’t suit you,” Uddhav said while addressing the Maha Nirdhar public rally in Hingoli on Sunday afternoon.

Citing the case of Kulbhushan Jadhav, Uddhav further slammed the BJP and asked what Modi and BJP are doing for the release of Kulbhushan and how can an India-Pakistan match could be held at this time.

“Now you are playing cricket with Pakistan. The match would be held at Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad. Are you going to invite Kulbhushan Jadhav for that match? He is rotting in Pakistani jail. Modi ji what are you doing for the release of Kulbhushan Jadhav? He was caught while working for our country. When Sushma Swaraj was there we had hopes that Kulbhushan may return but now there is not a single word about him. We don’t know whether he is alive there or not and shamelessly we are playing cricket with Pakistan,” Uddhav said.

Uddhav also hit out at PM Modi over his instructions to BJP workers to celebrate Raksha Bandhan this year by tying Rakhi from Muslim sisters and asked if the party workers would get Rakhi tied from Bilkis Bano, who was allegedly gangraped and her family members were killed. Uddhav also asked if the BJP workers would get rakhi tied from two women from Manipur who were allegedly stripped naked and paraded by a mob.

“I read in the news that during a meeting PM Modi asked the party workers to celebrate Raksha Bandhan by tying rakhi from Muslim sisters. I actually welcome it. But please get Rakhi tied from Bilkis Bano too. The same Bilkis Bano, when She was pregnant, she was assaulted and her children and family members were killed. But later the culprits were released by the Gujarat government. Get Rakhi tied from her. Do you have the courage to do that? This is all your hypocrisy and double standard and such Hindutva is not acceptable. This is not the Hindutva taught to me by my father and grand Father,” Uddhav said.

“After committing atrocities on Muslim women and then releasing their culprits wish to celebrate Raksha Bandhan with them. Leave Bilkis Bano at least are you going to get rakhi tied from those two women from Manipur who were stripped and paraded naked there? Are you going to do it?” he added.

In his over 35 minutes long speech, he also took a dig at the BJP for using Bal Thackeray’s name for votes while lacking the capability to produce its own leaders. Uddhav warned against falling for any Chandrayaan election spin.

“Why do you need so many leaders from the opposition in your party? Doesn’t your party have the capacity to create your own leader? Don’t you have any leader of your own? You need my father. You are stealing and using my father’s (Bal Thackeray’s name asking votes). Why? Doesn’t your Father in Delhi have any capability to ask for votes? You are stealing parties.. breaking parties and saying we are Hindu? Stealing the leaders from other parties and saying this is our strength… What strength is this? This is not a strength, This is impotency. You have no ideology and no thoughts,” he said.

He also slammed the BJP for making allegations of nepotism against him and said that those who are stealing his father’s name have no right to preach him about nepotism.

“You make allegations of nepotism on me. I am proud of my family, father, and grandfather. Our family’s history and background are known to the whole of Maharashtra. We are not asking about your family’s history. But you steal my father too… You need my father for votes and then you also talk about nepotism? You have no right to talk nepotism when you are stealing my father’s name,” he said.

Uddhav also criticised the state government over the farmers’ distress and said that the government is not paying heed to them. He slammed Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis saying,”There is a drought situation in the state but our Dy CM went for a tour to Japan.”

While speaking about the Chandrayaan 3 mission, Uddhav warned that the BJP could use it during the elections and that the people should not fall for it.

“There is a possibility of BJP using the moon mission’s success. But it is the ISRO’s succes
PCB can honor Shiv Sena's request. Who wants to play at a stadium named after Modi anyway. Give security situation excuse since Shiv Sena has made violent threats in the past against Pakistan cricket team.

Shoaib Akhtar speaking to the media:

"I think Pakistan are missing a bowling all-rounder…Pakistan will go into India, land in India as the favourites. I will be very honest with you. And Asia Cup at the same time, I think they are one of the favourites. And India and Pakistan are the two teams playing in the subcontinent, beating India in India is going to be the most impossible thing, but beating Pakistan in India in the subcontinent, it's going to be a close to impossible thing because both teams have a good pace battery. One has a great pace battery actually, spinners are good as well, and both teams have confidence,”

"The batting unit that Pakistan has, earlier they looked fragile. But now…they look like a very settled squad. It feels like they can bat and chase scores down. They would not get out that easily; they look composed to chase down scores. So, I think it looks like a good team,"

Ahmedabad: Cricket fans who really wanted to get tickets for the ICC Cricket World Cup match of team India in Ahmedabad were disappointed once more. On Friday at 8 p.m., the BCCI announced the sale of 400,000 new tickets, especially for the big India-Pakistan game and other matches with India. But by 11 p.m., all those tickets were sold out, and some fans couldn’t get any.

Interestingly, tickets for other matches in Ahmedabad, such as England-Australia and England-New Zealand, remained unsold. Disappointed by their inability to obtain tickets for the epic India-Pakistan encounter, fans in Ahmedabad are now likely to turn their attention to non-India matches in the hopes of being part of the World Cup experience.

Fans all over, patiently waited for three hours and made valiant attempts to purchase tickets through the ticketing app, but the vast majority were left disappointed.

Umpires for India vs Pakistan match in World Cup 2023:

On-field umpire: Richard Illingworth & Marais Erasmus

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough

Indian Cricket Team Holds Stronger Position At This Moment Than Pakistan: Waqar Younis

Legendary pacer Waqar Younis rated India a better side over Pakistan going into the World Cup while basing his observation on the better preparation of the Rohit Sharma-led team ahead of the quadrennial big bash.

In the World Cup, India will face Pakistan on October 14 in Ahmedabad, and Younis said pressure will be there on both outfits but said Men in Blue just could have an edge.

"As we all know, it (India vs Pakistan) will be the biggest game, mother of all the games. So, when you play in Ahmedabad, you will have to control your nerves, and not only Pakistan will be under pressure since it is a weaker team as compared to India.

"But India will also be under pressure because the crowd in the stadium will create pressure on both the teams," Younis told Star Sports.

"However, if we judge purely based on the team’s performance, India definitely will be a better team," he added.
Younis was also mindful of the Pakistani's unstable form and said the injury-enforced absence of pacer Naseem Shah could put them at a significant disadvantage.

“If I talk about Pakistan, they are a miss and hit this time. The absence of Naseem Shah will be a big disadvantage because Naseem and Shaheen (Afridi) used to complement each other with new ball."

"Though Hasan Ali has been declared as his replacement; he has got a lot of experience and gave brilliant performances in the past, but I feel, to suddenly come and perform on this kind of big stage will not be an easy task for him," said Younis.

Analysing the Indian squad, Younis said the team has great spinners, while its bench strength is equally potent.

“If we only talk about ticking the boxes then we will see no other team can match India right now because they have good spinners, who are playing right now in the starting XI such as Kuldeep and Jadeja. But they also have strong bench strength."

This will surely be the CLASH OF THE TOURNAMENT. Hopefully, we have a close game unlike the recent one between these two teams in the Asia Cup.

Lol i see is phainty coming from india team again to pakistan. These pak team cant handle the pressure and dont have the resources to win a game against india or any other good team

Australia captain Pat Cummins said: "I don't think there's too many events around the world where you feel like half the world's tuning in to watch and whenever India play Pakistan in a World Cup. It seems like one of those moments. So, although you're personally not involved, you feel like you want to watch it and hear about all the commentary and the passion around the game. So, it's going to be great that it's at this stadium. You can have over 100,000 people.”

My only worry is law of averages with GIll at Modi stadium

Gill's last 3 innings at Ahmedabad

126(99) 12 x 4s 7 x 6s in T20i vs NZ
128(235) 12 x 4s 1 x 6 in Test vs Australia
129(60) 7 x 4s 10 x 6s in IPL Qualifier vs Mumbai Indians

Lol i see is phainty coming from india team again to pakistan. These pak team cant handle the pressure and dont have the resources to win a game against india or any other good team
If India bats first, it depends on how the openers handle Pakistan's opening spell. If India does not lose a wicket in the first 10 overs, India will have an advantage. If India does lose two or more wickets in the first 10 overs, India will likely post a subpar total and will lose the match.

If Pakistan bats first and posts a total in excess of 280, it will be a huge pressure on India. Pakistan can win in this case.

Regardless of the above, if there is heavy dew, the team batting second will win.

My only worry is law of averages with GIll at Modi stadium

Gill's last 3 innings at Ahmedabad

126(99) 12 x 4s 7 x 6s in T20i vs NZ
128(235) 12 x 4s 1 x 6 in Test vs Australia
129(60) 7 x 4s 10 x 6s in IPL Qualifier vs Mumbai Indians
So he has not been able to convert his starts into a big score...A 200 ;)

Michael Atherton while talking about the India vs. Pakistan clash in ICC World Cup 2023 said:
As my bold prediction, I'm saying that for the first time in a 50-over World Cup Pakistan will beat India. They have won zero out of seven over the years. It's going to be the biggest game of the tournament, unless they meet again in a semi-final or, could you imagine, the final. It is sure to be a packed house; it will be mayhem and maybe Pakistan will jump a surprise.

After watching 1st game here at ahmedabad I can confidently say that the team bowling first will likely to win the game.

So toss will become so crucial.

Michael Atherton while talking about the India vs. Pakistan clash in ICC World Cup 2023 said:
As my bold prediction, I'm saying that for the first time in a 50-over World Cup Pakistan will beat India. They have won zero out of seven over the years. It's going to be the biggest game of the tournament, unless they meet again in a semi-final or, could you imagine, the final. It is sure to be a packed house; it will be mayhem and maybe Pakistan will jump a surprise.

Cricket is funny old game who knows what's going to happen

BCCI set to release 14,000 tickets for India v. Pakistan League Match on October 14, 2023

The BCCI announces the release of 14,000 tickets for the highly anticipated India v. Pakistan match to be held on October 14, 2023, at Ahmedabad.

The sale of tickets for the match will commence from 12 PM IST onwards on October 8th, 2023.

In response to recent reports of a threatening email regarding an attack on the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad authorities have announced heightened security measures for the upcoming India-Pakistan cricket match scheduled for October 14.

The massive Narendra Modi Stadium, one of the venues for the ongoing cricket World Cup, will witness the intense rivalry between the two neighboring nations, a spectacle that has historically garnered immense attention and fanfare.

Amid concerns raised by the threatening email, Additional Commissioner of Police Chirag Koradia assured the public that extensive security arrangements are being implemented to ensure the safety and security of all attendees.

Koradia stated that there is no reason for the public to fear attending the match, as the police force is well-prepared to handle any potential security threats.

BCCI treasurer Ashish Shelar dismissed the alleged reports and stated that ‘the Men in Blue will sport India colours – Blue at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

In the lead-up to the much-anticipated World Cup game between India and Pakistan at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on October 14, there was speculation around a change in the Indian team’s playing jersey.

“We categorically dismiss the media reports that the Indian team will be donning an alternative match kit against Pakistan. These reports are absolutely baseless and the work of someone’s imagination. The Men in Blue will sport India colors, that is, blue, at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.”

[Reporter:]

Sir, though you have Sri Lanka to play tomorrow's match, but already there is a lot of buzz regarding India and Pakistan.

We have October 14th match. India has started the campaign very well. So is Pakistan. But are you feeling the buzz, I mean, feeling the pulse from now on?

[Grant Bradburn:]

Look, you know, I think as a whole group, we're really excited to be here. Everyone knows that Mohamed Nawaz was the only one that's played in India previously. So, it's been a wonderful two weeks for our players to get their feet on the ground. There's been lots of excitement. Early on, from our training point of view there was lots of energy and excitement to get the pads on, to get into the nets and to get into action on Indian soil. The facilities here are excellent so everyone's been wanting to train. But as a coaching group of course we've got to balance that because number one - we want our tanks full of energy for game day. And we're trying to wean our players off from comfort training and we want them really to have all aspects of their training to be done with purpose in relation to their clear individual roles and our clear game roles.

Number one, we're really excited to be here and every game for us on Indian soil, even the practice games, it's been wonderful to get out there and allow our boys to just get a sense of what it's like to play here.

It's fair to say we've really enjoyed the conditions so far. They've been subtly different on all of the pitches we've played. The training facilities have been wonderful. And look, our guys, both batting and bowling, are really enjoying what the pitches here have to offer.

So yeah, we're really enjoying every moment of the two weeks so far, both on and off the field. But of course, we're excited to be moving forward in this competition. We're looking forward to going to new venues, we're looking forward to playing all opposition and really hoping that you know we can get into a stage where all six phases of our game are coming together and we can show the fans here and our fans at home what amazing skills this group has and really put together some performances and get on a roll.

So, we're looking forward to every aspect of this tour.

Ind is huge faves over Pak here. Pak winning will be a surprise. Not an upset for sure but a surprises nonetheless. Still believe in big games that you bat 1st and put runs on the board irrespective of the dew factor. And this is where I think Ind has an advantage - as I am guessing both teams want to chase here if they win the toss

303 replies thus far in this thread. Highest on the front page of PP.

Who says Pakistan vs India rivalry is dead?

:LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

India win the toss and elect to bowl first.

Pakistan - 233/10 (48)

India - 234/2 (40)

The international break makes it even worse.

After watching 1st game here at ahmedabad I can confidently say that the team bowling first will likely to win the game.

So toss will become so crucial.
That's great news for India as we want to be bat first anyway. Win -win scenario for both teams

Chances of success are like next to nothing for Pakistan.

Anything can happen but India is a massive favorite right now.
Even chances for both teams . It will be a pressure game for both sides. I think India will be under greater pressure if Pakistan is ascendant in the initial phase. We need our bowlers and top order batsmen to be disciplined and focused. Shaheen should focus on an aggressive line and length. Hassan Ali has exceeded expectations and may be critical in containing the opponents. I would suggest F. Zaman for Imam and Usama Mir for Shadab. These will be more aggressive options.

I want our players to play but fearless. Ind have the better players but like all Derby matches, it should be a proper battle. Babar needs to bat 1st if he wins the toss, bat positively and get 320. Then let's see.

India-Pakistan Cricket Match Sees Sky-High Resale Ticket Prices

Nikhil Wadhwani’s decision to buy a ticket for the hotly anticipated India versus Pakistan match at the men’s Cricket World Cup is turning out to be the former derivatives trader’s best bet ever.

The 32-year-old Mumbai native, who now works at a fintech company, in August bought a 2,500 rupee ($30) ticket for Saturday’s match. After a change of plans, he decided to resell the ticket on X, the platform formerly known as Twitter, scoring 22,000 rupees for it.

“I was absolutely shocked to see the demand,” said Wadhwani, who used to work on Nomura Holdings Inc.’s trading desk in India’s financial capital. “I got a flurry of messages with offers much larger than I expected.”

Wadhwani’s experience is indicative of the excitement over the match-up between the two political and sporting foes during the World Cup, which India is hosting again after 12 years. When the two sides meet in Ahmedabad’s massive Narendra Modi Stadium, renamed two years ago after the country’s sitting prime minister, it will be the first time in seven years that Pakistan plays on Indian soil.

The sport is among the last remaining exchanges between the neighboring nations, whose relationship has always been confrontational, but worsened further since India’s launched cross-border strikes in 2019 following attacks in the disputed region of Kashmir by Pakistan-based militants.

Actors from Pakistan are also prohibited from India’s Bollywood movies, and its cricketers cannot play in the top-flight Indian Premier League. The match is a rare moment for fans to see Pakistan players in the flesh, though the team and fans have faced delays in being issued Indian visas.

“These matches don’t happen often enough,” said Aditya Chidurala, a San Francisco-based tech worker who secured tickets to at least five games, including the India-Pakistan clash. “They are arch-rivals and fans are super passionate about it.”

Some desperate fans splurged on what they thought were last-minute tickets, only later to find that the Board of Control for Cricket in India, the sport’s governing body in the country, had been withholding tickets. It announced the sale of an unspecified amount of tickets on Wednesday and on Sunday offered 14,000 passes.

One of these fans was Perumandla Vamshi Krishna from Telangana, who bought two tickets in September for about 170,000 rupees off a secondary ticketing platform, after the official one showed that the game was sold out. The newly offered Sunday tickets were selling for 1% of what the 28-year-old paid.

The fiasco has adding to broader complaints about the ticketing process for the World Cup. Seats for the India-Afghanistan match on Wednesday went on sale just a day before, and those for India’s opening game on Saturday against Australia were made available once again in a last-minute sale that morning.

Meanwhile, the official ticketing website still says that tickets for future India matches that haven’t yet been made available are “coming soon.”

“It reflects poorly on the overall management of the tournament,” said Neeraj Kumar, a former police chief and head of the anti-corruption unit of India’s cricketing body. “The sale should have been done in a timely manner.” The BCCI didn’t respond to a request for comment.

Some fans, however, say they enjoy the chase for tickets and that the last-minute sales have boosted their chances.

“We now have multiple chances to view these matches,” said Kartik Kannan, a Bengaluru-based product manager who runs a WhatsApp group for fans called “Team India’s 12th Man Army,” a reference to the cricketing term used for a reserve player.

The lack of transparency over ticket sales, however, means cricket devotees have to go the extra length to stay on top of the process. Chidurala in San Francisco had asked his friends in India to wake him up at any hour as soon as they see tickets go on sale.

“It is serious business,” Chidurala said.

Blopmburg​

Cricket fever has gripped Ahmedabad ahead of Saturday's World Cup group stage clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan and a visit to the hospitals near the venue of the match in the western Indian city clearly shows the degree of excitement.

Quite a few of the hospitals have seen a sudden influx of patients booked in for check-ups involving a night's stay to coincide with the most anticipated match of the World Cup.

Several doctors told local media the rush for check-up packages was an ingenious way to find affordable accommodation as hotel costs have soared up to 20 fold ahead of the match.

We have come across some cases of people coming to watch the India-Pakistan match also taking an appointment for health check-ups and staying in hospitals, Tushar Patel, President of the Ahmedabad Medical Association, told Reuters.

The Ahmedabad Hospitals and Nursing Homes Association has discouraged its members from accommodating such fans.

We have asked our members not to entertain such requests. Hospitals are not meant for non-patients, its president Bharat Gadhavi told Reuters.

The Asian neighbours have fought three wars since becoming separate countries in 1947 and the relationship further soured after gunmen killed 166 people in Mumbai in 2008, which India blamed on a Pakistani militant group.

While bilateral cricket became a casualty of geopolitical realities, it also whetted the appetite for a clash between neighbours who play each other only in multi-team events.

India and Pakistan head into the showdown having both won their opening two matches at the tournament.

The first batch of tickets for Saturday's game were sold out within an hour of going on sale in August, prompting the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to release another 14,000 earlier this month.

Ahmedabad resident Hemish Patel and his friends, after several days of failed attempts, grabbed four tickets, each costing 6,000 Indian rupees ($72.15).

We logged into the site with multiple devices, he said.

We constantly kept on refreshing the site and were able to book within 10 minutes after the sale of tickets began.

Patel was one of the lucky few.

Tickets are fetching up to 25 times face value on resale and city police arrested four youths on Tuesday for selling fakes.

Airfare has surged up to four times and Indian railways will run a pair of super fast trains linking Mumbai and Ahmedabad.

Source: Reuters

Shoaib Akhtar during an interview about India vs Pakistan World Cup Contest

"If you are brave enough, you will enjoy the contest. If you are a coward..., this contest is not for the faint-hearted. This is a contest for people who want a big name for themselves, want themselves to be superstars,"

"The last year I was in Dubai, I was doing a show with a channel. They painted everything blue and were talking about one thing, Team India is going to crush Pakistan. Who builds that sort of pressure? When you make us the underdogs, our pressure is over.

"What will we do now? We have nothing to lose. Pakistan is out there to help India get the biggest TRP because I believe India should create the biggest World Cup. This should be the most amazing World Cup,"

"I also believe it would be easy for Pakistan to go there and beat India because it's your TV right, your sponsorship, you are stuck, not us. Babar Azam & Co. should play aggressively and sensibly. It's the Indian wickets, you'll win. You beat India, play the final in Ahmedabad, I am with you,"

Hopefully, we have a close match unlike their last meeting in the Asia Cup. Expecting Babar Azam to play a big innings tomorrow.