DHONI183
A departed friend who will live in our memories fo
- Post of the Week
I think I was hijacking the other thread and somewhat derailing it from its original topic, thus thought of adding a new one.
.... The English word 'neck' comes from the Arabic word "al-nakk", 'cause' from the Hindi word "kaaj".
Sanskrit probably, as it is "khanzeer" in Arabic and "khok" in Persian.what is the origin of word soor [pig] ?
The word that shows up in Sanskrit is "sukar".
Hmmm..... This also somewhat leads me to the conclusion that the English word "hog" could well have come from the Persian language.Sanskrit probably, as it is "khanzeer" in Arabic and "khok" in Persian.
The word that shows up in Sanskrit is "sukar".
Hmmm..... This also somewhat leads me to the conclusion that the English word "hog" could well have come from the Persian language.
Some sanskrit words used in Urdu/Hindi
Ungli (finger) : Angul
Som (Monday) : Somavar
Mangal (Tuesday) : Mangalvar
Budh (Wednesday) : Budhvar
It makes more sense to use the Hindi equivalent of days of the week but I would like to know where it`s Urdu version originated from
Sunday raviwar became itwar
Monday Saumwar became peer
Saturday Shanivar became hafta
Thursday whatever it is called in Hindi became Jumayraat
Has it been Islamed ?![]()
British Slang Term - Pukka http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=pukka ( Used a lot by TV chef Jamie Oliver)
COmes from the Urdu/Punjabi Pukka ( as in Pakka Makaan, Pakki sark)
It makes more sense to use the Hindi equivalent of days of the week but I would like to know where it`s Urdu version originated from
Sunday raviwar became itwar
Monday Saumwar became peer
Saturday Shanivar became hafta
Thursday whatever it is called in Hindi became Jumayraat
Has it been Islamed ?![]()
Barbarian.
Comes from the greek word that is pronounced as barbaros. Literally used for those who were not Greek in the ancient times (because anything non-Greek sounded like "barb barb barb") to them..
The only one I could remember off the top of my head![]()
Is thread ki tareef ke liye mere pass shabdh nahi hai
Aur haa´n, agr pransana mann se ki ho tou shabd bhi aa jayeinge.....
kia shabd aayega - tell me where harami came from btw)
.... tell me where harami came from btw)
..... "Harami"[!!! This is not a galli in Arabic - means a thief]
*their
Interesting and makes senseRavi = Sun in Sanksrit.
Ravi - war = Sun-Day.
The Itwar means end of the week. Ithi in Sanskrit means end. Hence Itwar = End of week or again Sunday.
Monday is named after God Soma.
Thursday is Guruwar in Sanskrit.
In most Indian languages, the names of the week are pretty much the same barring the accent attached to it.
kia shabd aayega - tell me where harami came from btw)
Interesting and makes sense
what about hafta ( saturday ) and peer ( monday ) then
I want to know how sala became a profanity . :asad
As a rule of thumb, you can consider any "arab" cultural achievement to be of persian or indian origin and be right most times.
The 'Wal' in Wales comes from the Celtic tribe known as the Volcae (Walh). This was the first celtic tribe the ancient Germannic tribes came into contact with and Walh came to mean foreigner.
The name Albion (archaic name for England) comes from the Latin word Albus (white) and refers to the white cliffs of Dover.
Can you name some famous muslim Persian scientists?
Nearly all of them.
The Persians, during the Golden Age of the Islamic civilization, attained such degree of intellectual perfection that I can only think of two ethnic groups comparable (in terms of scientific achievements per capita, not talking about the +1 billion countries which export doctors/engineers to the/gets brain-drained by the West), namely Scottish inventors during and post Industrial Revolution and - of course - Ashkenazi Jews.
What do we mean by persian here? Only people from Iran? Or Ethinically persian? Or anyone who speak Iranian language?
Iranians = linguistic/cultural group (Baloch and Pashtuns are "technically" Iranians. Then you have Persians, Tajiks, Kurds, ...)
Persians = one ethnic Iranian group (generally the most influential.)
For instance the Shah of Iran, heir of the Pehlavi dynasty which was younger than Coca Cola, was an Iranian, but not a Persian, considering that he was half Azeri (a Turkic Iranian group) and half Mazandarani (a tiny minority... as numerous as the Kalashas in Pakistan.)
So Khawarizmi and Ibn Sena both Uzbeks are not ethinically persians but spoke Iranian language just like pashtuns and baloch?
Nearly all of them.
The Persians, during the Golden Age of the Islamic civilization, attained such degree of intellectual perfection that I can only think of two ethnic groups comparable (in terms of scientific achievements per capita, not talking about the +1 billion countries which export doctors/engineers to the/gets brain-drained by the West), namely Scottish inventors during and post Industrial Revolution and - of course - Ashkenazi Jews.
I think back then there was no difference between "Persian" and "Iranian", that's a modern construction.
For instance "Tajiks" never called themselves "Tajiks". It was their Turkic neighbours who called them like that whereas they preferred (or perhaps still prefer) "Farsi-wan".
There are differences in their language, but as "big" as between different dialects of Punjabi.
Even ethnically they are a bit different but, again, in the same way as a Punjabi Rajput and a Punjabi Chamar/Dalit.
I also doubt that they were Uzbeks (in the modern sense)... Uzbeks, like many other Central Asian ex-Iranic groups, have been "Mongolized" over time, and you'd easily guess how.![]()
Greeks?
There was no "Greek" back then (but Athens, Sparta, ...), and a lot of the thinkers are from areas such as Sicily or Asia Minor (modern day Turkey, like Thales, the first ever "Greek" philosopher).
Greeks are over-rated because of some cultural myopic attitude, you can find equivalent of their philosophical schools in India (Democritus' atomic theory and Kapila's Samkhya darshana - school of thought - or the Pythagoreans who professed exactly what Hindus knew centuries before wether on mathematics or the nature of the soul, etc)
More than India, I think that if there were textual remains of other civilizations, we would have witnessed the same "genius" all over the Indo European world.
I rate Italians, Germans and British (esp. Scottish) higher.
There was no "Greek" back then (but Athens, Sparta, ...), and a lot of the thinkers are from areas such as Sicily or Asia Minor (modern day Turkey, like Thales, the first ever "Greek" philosopher).
Greeks are over-rated because of some cultural myopic attitude, you can find equivalent of their philosophical schools in India (Democritus' atomic theory and Kapila's Samkhya darshana - school of thought - or the Pythagoreans who professed exactly what Hindus knew centuries before wether on mathematics or the nature of the soul, etc)
More than India, I think that if there were textual remains of other civilizations, we would have witnessed the same "genius" all over the Indo European world.
I rate Italians, Germans and British (esp. Scottish) higher.
I think back then there was no difference between "Persian" and "Iranian", that's a modern construction.
Lots of Portugese influenced words in Urdu.
almari
chaabi
baalti
istari
padri
tolia
faltu
Theres one more Urdu/Punjabi word I am sure comes from Portugues as well but its kinda vulgar(refers to ones behind)
almari
chaabi
baalti
istari
padri
tolia
faltu
almari
chaabi
baalti
istari
padri
tolia
faltu
Theres one more Urdu/Punjabi word I am sure comes from Portugues as well but its kinda vulgar(refers to ones behind)
Found this interesting.
The Hindi/Urdu word Chai (tea) comes from Mandarin China.
Dyaus Pitr (Sanskrit) for Father God -> Dyaus became Zeus in Greece and DyuPiter (Jupiter) in Rome.
Dios is still the word used for God all over Europe.
The word "avatar" comes from the Sanskrit word "avataar" (the pronunciation makes the second A after the V a bit silent).
Any idea where the words "Headdies" & "screeny" come from?
Sound like German to me with some Pakistani touch/flavor!![]()
Mei´n nahi´n aapse bolta....
Even after all the "duas" I did for you in Saudi Arabia?
If you think you are good at the emtional black mail, then think again!![]()
So basically, I hate you.....
Kami-kaze means "wind (kaze) of God (kami)" in Japanese. The Kamikazes were the famous Japanese soldiers launching aerial suicide attacks on American naval forces during WWII, and their title suggest the religious motives behind the act.
I knew it .... I knew it.... I knew it.... I knew it .... I knew it.... I knew it.... from day one.... I knew it.... that.... you are an Indian!
Shreeman Jeetey 63 aur Haarey 35, aapko mujhe pe kadapi vishwaas nahi´n? Aapka aarop parrh ke mann thorra dukkhit hogya.......
I find it interesting how there does not exist any exact word for 'bored' and 'credit' in Urdu. For the latter, I have heard the word "shrey" in Hindi.
For those well versed in Hindi, is there any exact word for 'bored' in it?
For Boredom there is a word in hindi called Ubna
For example : Ye gaana sun sunkar Ub chuka hoon main.