Ailing ex-president Musharraf ‘wants to spend rest of his life in Pakistan’

Do you agree with the verdict of the court against Pervez Musharraf?

Sheikh Rasheed: “mai assembly ko aag laga dunga”

PTI supporters: wah wah cheetah.

Judiciary: “Musharraf’s corpse should be hanged in D-Chowk”

PTI supporters: this is unislamic and violation of the constitution. The judges have a personal vendetta.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The sentence says the guilty shud be brought to a central place n hanged from his neck till he <a href="https://t.co/9S13LbKO9k">https://t.co/9S13LbKO9k</a> case, he dies before hanging,his dead body hanged for 3 <a href="https://t.co/eYq8oiDiGm">https://t.co/eYq8oiDiGm</a>'s not a tale of <a href="https://t.co/1UEBafV7ak">https://t.co/1UEBafV7ak</a>'s justice (apparent) in Pak.</p>— Fe'reeha@ abbtakk (@Fereeha) <a href="https://twitter.com/Fereeha/status/1207620563721707520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Meanwhile, Anti-Terrorism Special Court Lahore allows bail plea of 17 lawyers in Punjab Institute of Cardiology PIC attack case.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The sentence says the guilty shud be brought to a central place n hanged from his neck till he <a href="https://t.co/9S13LbKO9k">https://t.co/9S13LbKO9k</a> case, he dies before hanging,his dead body hanged for 3 <a href="https://t.co/eYq8oiDiGm">https://t.co/eYq8oiDiGm</a>'s not a tale of <a href="https://t.co/1UEBafV7ak">https://t.co/1UEBafV7ak</a>'s justice (apparent) in Pak.</p>— Fe'reeha@ abbtakk (@Fereeha) <a href="https://twitter.com/Fereeha/status/1207620563721707520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This country is a joke

The real establishment of this country is the PML N and the PPP. Always get away with massive favors from the judiciary

PTI supporters: this is unislamic and violation of the constitution. The judges have a personal vendetta.

Wow, you are justifying one pathetic statement with another one.

The real establishment of this country is the PML N and the PPP. Always get away with massive favors from the judiciary

Judiciary is the root cause of allowing those thieves to move freely.

The Judiciary is the most rubbish and corrrupt institution in Pakistan. I have seen numerous poor and common citizens of Pakistan suffering due to civil cases going on for decades and still pending.

I hope one day they will face the wrath for their deeds.

Not a fan of Hamza but he got a point
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Public hanging & dead body of Musharraf to stay hanged in public for 3 days? Wow... When nation demanded public hanging of child rapist & murderers we were told thr is no Law to do tht... So by which law in constitution has the judge given this sentence to Musharraf? <a href="https://t.co/dk1KdR3CDp">https://t.co/dk1KdR3CDp</a></p>— Hamza Ali Abbasi (@iamhamzaabbasi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamhamzaabbasi/status/1207658293805682692?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Comparing a court verdict with a statement from a politician?

No, I am comparing the reaction of PTI supporters. They think about Islam and constitution only when they are on the receiving end.

FYI PTI supporters reaction on this is divided some are against it some are supporting it just go to social media or even check this thread to get the idea so please don't paint everyone with the same brush like you always do in case of PTI

Wow, you are justifying one pathetic statement with another one.

A politician gave a statement and everyone knows that he won’t burnt down the parliament, a figuratively statement.

Judge passed a verdict, on paper, a legal verdict.

Only those who wants to score points are not able to see it.

And when your attention is to score points then you are more often to make yourself look like a fool.

Yup 100,200 supporters = WHOLE PTI Supporters :)))

Same applies to you Certified Jhootay.

And i remember your reaction when Nawazo e.t.c were jailed :))) It was worst than that

Share the PAST reaction of your self, N supporters and N league members as well, without spinning any thing :))

Not a fan of Hamza but he got a point
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Public hanging & dead body of Musharraf to stay hanged in public for 3 days? Wow... When nation demanded public hanging of child rapist & murderers we were told thr is no Law to do tht... So by which law in constitution has the judge given this sentence to Musharraf? <a href="https://t.co/dk1KdR3CDp">https://t.co/dk1KdR3CDp</a></p>— Hamza Ali Abbasi (@iamhamzaabbasi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamhamzaabbasi/status/1207658293805682692?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Well Abbasi is spot on here. Indirectly it means Mushi is worst than Murderers, rapist? Dont know what was the judge thinking while writing this.

Btw, according to Aitezaz there is no rule of Public Punishment in our Law. So does it mean Judges are are also guilty of violating constitution? :))

This is personal vendetta

If they want to punish they should start with 1999 but conveniently missed it because that would implicate N League supporting judges like Iftikhar Chaudhry

Btw, according to Aitezaz there is no rule of Public Punishment in our Law. So does it mean Judges are are also guilty of violating constitution? :))

Some Judges use the constitution to validate their injustice and misuse of authority. Our current Judiciary system is equal to semi-martial law.

If they want to punish they should start with 1999 but conveniently missed it because that would implicate N League supporting judges like Iftikhar Chaudhry

Not only iftikhar, but tons of judges/senior judges/chief justices.

Maj Gen Asif Ghafoor, the director general of Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), addressed a short press conference on Thursday evening, in which he deemed the detailed judgement in the high treason case against former army chief Gen Pervez Musharraf to be against "humanity and religion".

The presser, during which the DG ISPR did not take any questions, came hours after the detailed verdict in the high treason case was released.

Maj Gen Ghafoor began by saying that the military had expressed its reservations after Musharraf was sentenced to death by a special court for high treason. He said after today's detailed judgement in the case against Musharraf "those reservations are proving to be true".

Following the verdict on December 17, ISPR had issued a swift statement, saying the "decision given by special court has been received with lot of pain and anguish by rank and file of Pakistan Armed Forces".

The ISPR chief said the verdict issued today — especially the words used in the written order — "transgresses humanity, religion, culture and any other values".

Related: Govt to approach Supreme Judicial Council to restrain judge over 'despicable' observation

The army spokesperson did not specify any part of the judgement; however, para 66 of the order — which calls for the former president's body to be "dragged to D-Chowk" in Islamabad and "hanged for three days" — has already drawn severe criticism from the legal community as well as Attorney General Anwar Mansoor Khan.

Maj Gen Ghafoor said the Pakistan armed forces is an organised institution and its members have taken the oath to sacrifice their lives for the defence of the national security.

"We have demonstrated it practically in the past 20 years [and] achieved what no other country or army in the world could achieve.

"We are today facing a hybrid war. We are fully aware of this changing nature and character of war. We also understand the enemy, its facilitators, supervisors and their possible designs," he told the press conference.

The DG ISPR said the country is currently facing threats from both internal and external sources, and cited a recent statement by the Indian army chief in this regard.

"Some people want to provoke us through internal and external attacks into fighting amongst ourselves in the current circumstances, and are dreaming of defeating Pakistan in this manner.

"This will not happen. If we are aware of the threat, our response too is in place."

Maj Gen Ghafoor quoted Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa as saying that the country has covered a long journey and rendered countless sacrifices to achieves its present stability. "We will not let this stability be reversed in any situation," he said.

He continued: "The Pakistan Army is not just an institution. It is a family. We are armed forces of the people [and] are strengthened by the people's support.

"We know how to defend the country and also know very well how to defend the respect and dignity of the institution. But for us, the country comes first and the institution second."

The DG ISPR disclosed that the army chief had today held a detailed conversation with Prime Minister Imran Khan to discuss the situation in the aftermath of the issuance of the detailed verdict. He said Gen Bajwa and the premier exchanged views on how to take the situation forward after the verdict keeping in view the "sentiments of the armed forces" and of patriotic Pakistanis.

According to Maj Gen Ghafoor, the decisions taken during the meeting between the army chief and the prime minister will be revealed by the government in the coming days.

"The army and government have together been trying to take the country towards a direction where all threats are foiled," he said.

"I request the nation to have faith in the armed forces. We will not let disturbance spread in the country in any situation."

Death sentence
A special court in Islamabad on Tuesday had found Musharraf guilty of high treason and handed him a death sentence under Article 6 of the Constitution, marking the first time in Pakistan's history that a military chief was declared guilty of high treason and handed a death sentence.

The army had stood by Musharraf, with Maj Gen Ghafoor, in a statement, saying that the "decision given by special court has been received with [a] lot of pain and anguish by rank and file of Pakistan Armed Forces".

"An ex-Army Chief, Chairman Joint Chief of Staff Committee and President of Pakistan, who has served the country for over 40 years, fought wars for the defence of the country can surely never be a traitor," said the ISPR statement. "The due legal process seems to have been ignored including constitution of special court, denial of fundamental right of self defence, undertaking individual specific proceedings and concluding the case in haste.

"Armed Forces of Pakistan expect that justice will be dispensed in line with Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan," he said.

The PTI-led government had termed the high treason trial against Musharraf “unfair”. “I will defend the law in the case but not any individual,” said Attorney General Anwar Mansoor in a late-night joint press conference on the day of the verdict.

The former military chief is currently in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates. He was admitted to a hospital following deterioration of his health earlier this month. The former military dictator broke his silence on Wednesday evening and expressed his gratitude to the armed forces and the people of Pakistan for "remembering [his] services" for the nation.

In a video that showed him lying on a medical bed, Musharraf also said that he would decide his future course of action after consulting his legal team.

“I have faith in Pakistan’s judiciary that they will provide me justice and keep in view the supremacy of law,” he said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1523189/i...eason-case-deems-it-against-humanity-religion

Special court hands death penalty to former military dictator Parvez Musharraf in high treason case

Meanwhile, Anti-Terrorism Special Court Lahore allows bail plea of 17 lawyers in Punjab Institute of Cardiology PIC attack case.

It was expected. Wuklagardi is the order of the day!

When people talk about free and independent judiciary, I doubt that they mean that they want a judiciary which doesn´t even fear God.

I am in favour of hanging Musharaff but there is no need to hang his body for 3 days; this is not a revolution like France or Iran or even Afghanistan when they hang Najeeb;

this is a constitutional verdict so does it say in Pakistan's constitution to hang such a person's body for 3 days if he broke constitution? If yes then its very weird law and not sure why the parliament accept such a punishment and make it a law; in that case judge is innocent and he is only following the constitution

1999 has a legal cover; how many times I would have to tell this to simpletons :facepalm:

I am in favour of hanging Musharaff but there is no need to hang his body for 3 days; this is not a revolution like France or Iran or even Afghanistan when they hang Najeeb;

this is a constitutional verdict so does it say in Pakistan's constitution to hang such a person's body for 3 days if he broke constitution? If yes then its very weird law and not sure why the parliament accept such a punishment and make it a law; in that case judge is innocent and he is only following the constitution

No it's not in our law and courts refused to hang rapists recently saying it's not in the law this judge sahab got some personal vendetta.

you sure? if true then this judge might be using some other country's example for this verdict; supreme judicial council can decide this matter; Musharaff's hanging verdict should still stay but the 3 days part may be removed;

I don't think there is any recent example of dragging and hanging a dead body for 3 days on court order except TTP in Swat.

Indeed. When asked for public punishment of rapist, Court said there is no law regarding this. And also Aitezaz Hassan said that there is no rule/law of Public Punishment.

I don't think there is any recent example of dragging and hanging a dead body for 3 days on court order except TTP in Swat.

Indeed. When asked for public punishment of rapist, Court said there is no law regarding this. And also Aitezaz Hassan said that there is no rule/law of Public Punishment.

you never know with Pakistan's laws lol; a judge should have know better then; he might lose his position now

the next parliament after 1999 coup pass law to save Musharaff of that 1999 action

Wrong it was the SC who validated 1999 martial law and guess what the CJ of that SC was made Governor Sindh just a couple of years ago by Nawaz.

you never know with Pakistan's laws lol; a judge should have know better then; he might lose his position now

Pakistani rules/laws are made according to the teachings of Islam, and Islam says to honor the dead body. So this judge is wrong in every aspect.

Well we will see in next 2 days :)

Judge Sahib potentially in trouble.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Government decides to file a reference in Supreme Judicial Council against Special Court judge Justice Waqar Ahmed Seth<a href="https://t.co/nTQyRaSKUL">https://t.co/nTQyRaSKUL</a><a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a> <a href="https://t.co/LlbJWtlqF9">pic.twitter.com/LlbJWtlqF9</a></p>— Radio Pakistan (@RadioPakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/RadioPakistan/status/1207690494156955649?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Wrong it was the SC who validated 1999 martial law and guess what the CJ of that SC was made Governor Sindh just a couple of years ago by Nawaz.

Point 68 is very interesting but no body is discussing it.

after 1999 coup, the Supreme Court partially allowed it as a necessity (chief justice of Pakistan at that time was Siddiqui); they then start hearing the case against the coup; Musharaff thought they will give verdict against the coup so he issued PCO and ask all judges to take oath again; some judges did not take oath (Siddiqui was one of them); then afterwards that PCO was given legal cover and Mushraff cannot be tried for 1999 coup.

in 2007 Musharaff imposed emergency and again issued PCO; but this time his PCO was not given legal cover

after 1999 coup, the Supreme Court partially allowed it as a necessity (chief justice of Pakistan at that time was Siddiqui); they then start hearing the case against the coup; Musharaff thought they will give verdict against the coup so he issued PCO and ask all judges to take oath again; some judges did not take oath (Siddiqui was one of them); then afterwards that PCO was given legal cover and Mushraff cannot be tried for 1999 coup.

in 2007 Musharaff imposed emergency and again issued PCO; but this time his PCO was not given legal cover

2007 emergency was also validated by a large SC bench headed by another PCO chief justice Hameed Dogar but Iftikhar Ch in 2009 declared it void and also declared CJ and other judges appointment of 2007 unconstitutional the funny thing is before 2007 Iftikhar Ch himself was a PCO judge :))

Govt to file reference against Justice Waqar Ahmed Seth in Supreme Judicial Council

This is brilliant news. No place for a patwari judge. I'd much rather have no justice than have a patwari filth being a judge.

Losing hope in South Asia , politics politics politics religion religion I mean China is a neighbor to both our countries but lol learn nothing.

I wish Pakistani dictator really acted like dictators instead of getting their hands dirty with politics...

I was wrong and Sadam had no reactor. Move on.

Now explain why is it Ok for your home country to invade every corner of the world (still there in Falklands) suppress people for their financial and economical benefit, be present in Iraq, Syria and afghanistan. You enjoy all the benefits afforded by the system of the country and yet you think it was wrong of Musharaf to give in due to the interest of his country? Why?

Its not ok, millions protested inc myself.

I dont enjoy any benefits as I am from here and have contributed towards the society more than the society has given me.

Mushy was the leader, he made a choice. I am a citizen, I dont have the same power lol. Daft argument.

if hes given a free and fair trial, then ofcourse he should face it but we know its not going to happen as the courts are filled with politically motivated judges who were political lawyers at one time.

as for drone strikes then mush never ever gave any authorisation, can you provide a reliable source? why would drone srikes happen on a daily basis as soon as he left, why did the americans enter when he left????

i dont get my facts from threads, there are many books written about what happened during the time bwteen 9/11 and the invasion, if your going to belive some pak army haters then thats up to you.

people were handed over to americans, but like i said, there were zero pakistanis handed, pakistanis who were convicted of terroism were dealt by pakistani law and put in pakistani prisons, mush made that clear to the americans.

What he knew was that pak would suffer if it went against the usa and what most of the world wanted at that time, he was backed in the corner and had the most toughest decision to make which no leader of pakistan has had and he took the best option for pakistan, and no pakistan did not suffer and nor did the economy, it was going through its biggest boom ever, please check facts.

The army is behind him, the government is behind but he wont get a free fair trail? If Mushy is innocent he will want to clear his name.

Pervez Musharraf admits permitting 'a few' US drone strikes in Pakistan

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/apr/12/musharraf-admits-permitting-drone-strikes

Giving a foriegn power the right to bomb your country and violate it's sovereignty is treason itself. He set the precedent and due to this thousands of people have bombed by a foriegn power inc 300 odd children murdered. Mushy gave the green light.

No nuclear power has ever been invaded which is why Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Libya, etc all have been bombed but never Pakistan until Mushy and his crew allowed this.

Mushy and Co never said US would attack Pakistan, their excuse was US would side with India, use it's land etc. US sided with Indian regardless, more retarted thinking by Mush.

There is a lot of distortion of facts here by the PTI supporters and military apologists. Since I will be away for a few days, let me clear this issue once and for all.

According to the Constitution of Pakistan, leading a military coup is the biggest crime - it is high treason. Hence, no one is more guilty of his/her crime than Musharraf.

PTI supporters are complaining that why the likes of Nawaz and other corrupt politicians are not treated in this fashion. The answer is that forget corruption - even murders and rapists are lesser criminals in the eyes of the law than a military leader who leads a coup.

Furthermore, our law is based on the British Law. As a result, their precedents are used where we have none. If our first military coup was justified using an archaic British precedent of “Law of Necessity”, why can’t similar judgements be made in light of other British precedents?

Anyone who is well-versed in British history would know who Oliver Cromwell was. For those who do not know him, I will summarize in one line and also explain what happened to him.

Oliver Cromwell was a British General who abolished the monarchy in the 1650s and established a republic. In other words, he committed a coup against the British head of state (the monarch).

When the monarchy was restored two years after his death, his bones were taken out of his grave and displayed in public as a deterrence against high treason. Hence, the verdict of the judiciary in paragraph 66 is not without precedence.

The British Constitution is not codified (not written). Hence, it cannot be suspended. A coup in Britain is thus akin to murdering the monarch.

Furthermore, for those who are playing the “it is against the principles of Islam” card, well, so is dictatorship. A military coup is against the teachings of Islam. In fact, it is actually equivalent to committing shirk.

A person who declares a coup is a totalitarian who is the absolute authority and is not accountable to anyone. In other words, he assumes the role of the Almighty.

The Almighty alone is not accountable or not answerable to anyone. Every person in the world is bound by certain laws and is accountable for his/her actions.

Hence, anyone who questions the verdict against Musharraf and plays the law/Islam card should read the above.

There is a lot of distortion of facts here by the PTI supporters and military apologists. Since I will be away for a few days, let me clear this issue once and for all.

According to the Constitution of Pakistan, leading a military coup is the biggest crime - it is high treason. Hence, no one is more guilty of his/her crime than Musharraf.

PTI supporters are complaining that why the likes of Nawaz and other corrupt politicians are not treated in this fashion. The answer is that forget corruption - even murders and rapists are lesser criminals in the eyes of the law than a military leader who leads a coup.

Furthermore, our law is based on the British Law. As a result, their precedents are used where we have none. If our first military coup was justified using an archaic British precedent of “Law of Necessity”, why can’t similar judgements be made in light of other British precedents?

Anyone who is well-versed in British history would know who Oliver Cromwell was. For those who do not know him, I will summarize in one line and also explain what happened to him.

Oliver Cromwell was a British General who abolished the monarchy in the 1650s and established a republic. In other words, he committed a coup against the British head of state (the monarch).

When the monarchy was restored two years after his death, his bones were taken out of his grave and displayed in public as a deterrence against high treason. Hence, the verdict of the judiciary in paragraph 66 is not without precedence.

The British Constitution is not codified (not written). Hence, it cannot be suspended. A coup in Britain is thus akin to murdering the monarch.

Furthermore, for those who are playing the “it is against the principles of Islam” card, well, so is dictatorship. A military coup is against the teachings of Islam. In fact, it is actually equivalent to committing shirk.

A person who declares a coup is a totalitarian who is the absolute authority and is not accountable to anyone. In other words, he assumes the role of the Almighty.

The Almighty alone is not accountable or not answerable to anyone. Every person in the world is bound by certain laws and is accountable for his/her actions.

Hence, anyone who questions the verdict against Musharraf and plays the law/Islam card should read the above.

By that logic of 'Shirk', it also means considering a certain men-made constitution a supreme law equals shirk.

You should have simply said directly that you support the decision of dead body hanging for 3 days instead of hypocritically defending these Laws. Its laughable that a constitution does not recommend severest of punishment for Rape and murder. Rubbish and pathetic stuff to be honest.

This is your one of the best FUNNY post i have ever read :)))

What is point 68?

EMLAisSXsAEtYMG

This is great post. Now I understand where that judge was coming from. [MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] take note.

I do still not like the idea of hanging the dictator's lifeless body for 3 days. Its no-no for me. Just hang the dictator and done with it.

I was wrong and Sadam had no reactor. Move on.

Now explain why is it Ok for your home country to invade every corner of the world (still there in Falklands) suppress people for their financial and economical benefit, be present in Iraq, Syria and afghanistan. You enjoy all the benefits afforded by the system of the country and yet you think it was wrong of Musharaf to give in due to the interest of his country? Why?

if hes given a free and fair trial, then ofcourse he should face it but we know its not going to happen as the courts are filled with politically motivated judges who were political lawyers at one time.

as for drone strikes then mush never ever gave any authorisation, can you provide a reliable source? why would drone srikes happen on a daily basis as soon as he left, why did the americans enter when he left????

i dont get my facts from threads, there are many books written about what happened during the time bwteen 9/11 and the invasion, if your going to belive some pak army haters then thats up to you.

people were handed over to americans, but like i said, there were zero pakistanis handed, pakistanis who were convicted of terroism were dealt by pakistani law and put in pakistani prisons, mush made that clear to the americans.

What he knew was that pak would suffer if it went against the usa and what most of the world wanted at that time, he was backed in the corner and had the most toughest decision to make which no leader of pakistan has had and he took the best option for pakistan, and no pakistan did not suffer and nor did the economy, it was going through its biggest boom ever, please check facts.

Mushy is a traitor but come on lad, who you fooling? Anyone who wants India to attack Pakistan is the same as Mushy who allowed US to bomb innocent Pakistanis.

All traitors should be hanged from Generals, to Politicians, to lawyers to doctors.

As said before your moral compass is broken to pass judgements on others. Mush is a much better and honest individual than many (any) other leader Pakistan ever had.

Tell that to the kids parents blown to bits by US drones which Mushy first allowed.

Your country was the one of those dropping the bombs. That makes them a bigger culprit, go and demand death penalty for those who conducted these bombings. Mush had no choice, whether you agree or not.

I have demanded , wrote to my mp and asked for war crimes trial for the government. i've done my bit.

Mushy sold out Pakistan for a bag of fish and chips. Most of the Military aid has been pocketed.

We will agree to disagree. :)

Do you agree with the verdict of the court against Pervez Musharraf?

"We direct the law enforcement agencies to strive their level best to apprehend the fugitive/convict and to ensure that the punishment is inflicted as per law and if found dead, his corpse be dragged to the D-Chowk, Islamabad, Pakistan and be hanged for 03 days."

https://www.dawn.com/news/1523187/d...sharraf-are-equally-fully-involved-in-the-act

===

Is this judgement right?

Should commonsense prevail or is there no way to forgive Musharraf

Well done if you really did all that.

As for Mush pocketing the $$$, i dont think so. Everyone in Pakistan witnessed the progress country made during his time. Yes in an ideal world, he shouldn’t have allowed Americans to do the carpet bombing (and that can’t really be morally justified) but we dont live in an ideal world. If Mush wouldn’t ve played ball, pakistan would’ve been in a much worse position now.

Love the way people who have no interest in Islam and its causes at the moment, bring in Islam to justify stuff.

What a great analysis!
I was wondering if Justice Waqar had shot himself in the foot with his judgement, but now I can clearly understand his perspective.
Very well played, judiciary!
I can rest assured now that this stellar and brave justice will maintain his legal grounds. His unprecedented 'law of necessity' judgement might seem a tad bit harsh to many, but its acknowledgment will make sure that no military dictator will ever dare lead a coup against any future democratically elected civil governments, or take the liberty of suspending the sacred constitution like a piece of paper to be thrown in the dustbin.

If one traitor has been sentenced to death, all the traitors should face the same sentence.

Politicians who have looted the nation for decades in the name of democracy should be sent to the gallows as quickly as Musharraf.

Nawaz and Zardari are both traitors as well, they cheated the nation just like Musharraf. Justice will remain a joke in this country where crooks like them will keep getting favors from the judiciary.

This is the same judge who let 70 odd proven Taliban terrorists go. We are too lenient on the enemies of the state. Imagine how much mess he would have made of cases of common people we don't hear off in the news.

There’s obviously a precedent here in the hanging of ji leaders in Bangladesh for treason
Everyone should have a fair and an open trial, it’s a shame musharraf has avoided his while living abroad

This is great post. Now I understand where that judge was coming from. [MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] take note.

I do still not like the idea of hanging the dictator's lifeless body for 3 days. Its no-no for me. Just hang the dictator and done with it.

But the judgement clearly says that all the abettors should also be punished. So are we ready to hang dozens of people like Zaid Hamid who later joined PMLN and many others including MQM leaders, judges and many more. Let's cut down on our fantasies and be realistic.

Govt did give application regarding this but was rejected by the same court.

The lengths you go to justify your biases. Your views aren't any less extreme than any rabid PTI ********. Will a UK court take that as precedent in a treason case today? Do you think UK or any other civilized society will accept a judgement like this? They don't even have the death penalty for treason anymore and here you are going back 4 centuries, digging their history, to justify an insane ruling. There is no way that para 66 can be justified and you know it.

Condemning the statements of Director General Inter-Services Public Relations (DG ISPR) Major General Asif Ghaforr, the Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) has said that the statement is a clear cut violation of the legal provisions and amounts to contempt of court.

In a press release, the PBC has disapproved the ‘insulting attitude of the army official as well as the government functionaries towards judiciary and the constitutional process of dispension of justice'. In the statement, the council said that if the DG ISPR found some flaws in the judgment of the special court in the treason case against Pervez Musharraf, then the law has provided procedure and proper course for agitating such flaws.

xPakistan-Bar-Council.jpg.pagespeed.ic.PJKw51HCJG.webp

“But the manner and the way, in which, the judgement of the special court has been criticised by an official of the army clearly gives an impression that all the institutions in Pakistan are subservient to the armed forces, to follow its dictation and there is no respect for any other forum including the judiciary," said the statement jointly issued by the council's vice chairman Syed Amjad Shah and chairman of its executive committee Sher Mohammad Khan.

The council further said that the legal fraternity is of the view that the attitude by the federal government, its ministers, law officers and specially the attorney general for Pakistan ‘also confirms that the party in power has been installed by the army and its institution is on the driving seat'.

The DG ISPR in a presser on Thursday deemed the detailed judgement in the high treason case against Musharraf to be against ‘humanity and religion'. He continued that after the detailed judgement, the military's reservations are proving to be true.

He added that Pakistan Army is an organized institution and will not let anyone create rifts among state institutions.

https://www.brecorder.com/2019/12/2...l-terms-dg-isprs-statement-contempt-of-court/

Those who complains about lack of punishment for politicians are forgetting that Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto was hanged to death, Nawaz Sharif was almost hanged to death until let go off by Musharraf due to pressure and then Zardari was on verge As well until the timing of assassination on Benazir Bhutto and the insider deals between Musharraf and Zardari.

And Nawaz Sharif was jailed once again but spared by the main establishment is different matter created by main establishment due to lack of foreseen insights although I believe Nawaz Sharif should have been made to pay for the crimes he was accused. It didn’t make sense to apply selective accountability at the worst possible and let go off which makes mockery of the overall the process.

This is first time that we are holding main establishment directly as accountable for the crimes of proven. Since the day Pakistan became independence, main establishment was u accounted, misused, committed genocide and broke certain portion apart and separated from Pakistan.

In addition, main establishment chose and elected the puppets in the name of democracy and those puppets are now threat to Pakistan internally.

Main establishment must be accountable much like democratic elected leaders did and one of them was already hanged to death. Doing this so as starting with Musharraf who has lists of treachery that undermined the democratically constitutional rights plus not to mention unethical practices that weakened the fabric of Pakistan society which to this day still lingers and beyond. And worst of all, Aafia Siddiqui was handed like she was trash dishonouring the honour of our sister which was message that we Muslims people have no honour. And I haven’t got stated on the atrocities committed in Balochistan.

Nobody is above the laws. And starting with Musharraf will be setting right precedence that the main establishment can be accountable for the crimes they did much like democratic elected leaders did. No exception...

Special court hands death penalty to former military dictator Parvez Musharraf in high treason case

I see that Musharraf and his lawyers are complaining that he hasn´t been given a chance of fair trial. What exactly do they mean by it? Could someone please shed light on it?

CJP Asif Saeed Khosa says he didn’t support Pervez Musharraf treason case verdict
ISLAMABAD: Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Asif Saeed Khosa on Friday said that he had not supported the speical court verdict against former military ruler, Pervez Musharraf, ARY News reported.

“Media misrepresented my stance on this issue. The truth will be exposed soon”, CJP Asif Saeed Khosa said while addressing a full reference in his honor

Additional Attorney General had accused me of affecting the treason case but, these allegations are baseless and incorrect, the CJP went on to say.

He said being CJP Asif Saeed Khosa, I tried to keep my house [judiciary] in the order and brought reforms in the judicial process. Video link and latest research centre was build.

Read more: Govt decides to file reference against special court judge

CJP Khosa said a judge should have a ‘lion heart’ and strong conduct to deliver decisions in all important cases. He said God knows better that how he has performed his duties.

On the occasion, SC judges, Vice Chairman Pakistan Bar Council Amjad Shah, president of the apex court and other members were also present.

However, Justice Qazi Faez Isa was on leave and attorney general was abroad due to which, they didn’t attend the reference.

Earlier, Additional Attorney General (AAG) Aamir Rehman has said with a heavy heart that Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Asif Saeed Khosa supported short order against former president Pervez Musharraf in high treason case

Court didnt hear the Musharraf.

But how could it? I mean, he himself wasn´t in Pakistan, so how could they hear him?

Also, thank you for your answer.

But how could it? I mean, he himself wasn´t in Pakistan, so how could they hear him?

Also, thank you for your answer.

According to the news, Musharaf asked the courts lots of time to send the team and i will record my statements or video call e.t.c but that never took place and thats why his lawyers couldnt fight the case.

2ndly, Government want trial of other culprits who were involved in this e.g Shaukat Aziz, Justice Dogar, Zahid Hamid but Court rejected that application. But interestingly in point 68 court said to bring all the culprits who helped Mushi in running away from the country.

According to the news, Musharaf asked the courts lots of time to send the team and i will record my statements or video call e.t.c but that never took place and thats why his lawyers couldnt fight the case.

2ndly, Government want trial of other culprits who were involved in this e.g Shaukat Aziz, Justice Dogar, Zahid Hamid but Court rejected that application. But interestingly in point 68 court said to bring all the culprits who helped Mushi in running away from the country.

The complaining makes sense now. I think I heard it in the news that Musharraf wasn´t allowed to record his statement even in a video call, as you yourself have pointed out.

Yeah. I think even Nawaz Sharif can be included in paragraph 68 from what I know.

The complaining makes sense now. I think I heard it in the news that Musharraf wasn´t allowed to record his statement even in a video call, as you yourself have pointed out.

Yeah. I think even Nawaz Sharif can be included in paragraph 68 from what I know.

Not only Nawaz sharif but many people including those Judges who legalized Mushi acts.

I am fine with others also getting punished who were involved in planing it. Pakistan has to move towards real justice.