Australia v India | 4th Test | Brisbane | January 15-19, 2021 | Pre-Match Discussion

Dhoni backed them to the hilt

The one trait Kohli lacks,backing players when they are under the pump

Rohit Sharma would not have had a career had he been in PAK. MSD persisted with him and it paid off. But by IND batting bench’s historic standards, they almost persisted with him for too long - or maybe good enough players weren’t there, I do not know. Maybe this was the case as 2007/08 were seeing the likes of Irfan Pathan opening or even batting in the Top Order. RS only really came good in 2014 ish (debuted in 2007). And that too in LOIs. I am sure there were others who could not come through but thankfully it paid off else this would have been a ‘sunk cost’.

Think MSD was wonderful at optimising the utility derived from his (somewhat) limited resources. Talking predominantly about LOIs and mostly bowling.

He realised IND did not have bowlers to be out and out strike bowlers and laid the foundation of building a solid fielding unit. This together with a disciplined bowling attack and scoreboard pressure in LOIs allowed some wonderful wins.

Under MSD bowlers did not go searching for wickets nor looked to bowl those magical deliveries as much. The idea used to be to bowl to the fields and let the scoreboard affect batsmen’s judgement.

IMG_20210113_103858.jpg
Pitch for the fourth Test between India vs Australia at Gabba

So how will this pitch play??

As per some reports, the average scores are

Innings 1 - around 360/9
Innings 2 - around 345/9
Innings 3 - around 270/7 and
Innings 4 - around 250/7

Most matches at the Gabba get played in November, while this is a rare occasion where it is played in Jan when it is hotter.

However the mitigating factor is going to be rain on a few days of the match (2nd to 4th IIRC). So it is going to be a fascinating contest where I fully expect India to compete well.

Also give Sundar a cap and let him debut taking the all rounder's spot. It is sheer luck that he is still with the squad and we would do good to use his services. With his height he can definitely get some extra bounce. Ashwin is doubtful and if he doesnt recover well, then unleash Kuldeep. Who knows, if the pitch plays differently aiding spin (because the match is in Jan not the usual Nov), then our chinaman is sure to do well considering the Australians haven't played him enough this summer.

Go India!

View attachment 106092

Thanks for this....was looking all around for this :D

Looks a batting pitch with the expected Aussie bounce. Hope India wins the toss and bats first as the first day is the one without a rain forecast. If we make 350 at a minimum, we are in the game.

How come the indian players are falling to injury like a pack of cards, but the australian players are not. Aren't they playing the same series? Raises questions about the fitness of indian players who look like eager to catch the first flight back to home. But to be fair, only the tough can survive a series in australia.

The answer is a certain Patrick Cummins. He is responsible for half of Indian team in hospitals now :))

Gabba is fortress for Australia for decades. Its virtually impossible for India to win here and that too with a heavily depleted side. India should hope for a rain draw so that they can retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

I would play the following team. Pack the team with batsman and hope for a draw:

Rohit
Gill
Shaw
Pujara
Rahane
Mayank (for new ball)
Pant
Ashwin
Shardul
Saini
Siraj

Gabba is fortress for Australia for decades. Its virtually impossible for India to win here and that too with a heavily depleted side. India should hope for a rain draw so that they can retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

I would play the following team. Pack the team with batsman and hope for a draw:

Rohit
Gill
Shaw
Pujara
Rahane
Mayank (for new ball)
Pant
Ashwin
Shardul
Saini
Siraj

Mayank and Ashwin are out

We must play Kuldeep,Saha

What is the weather going to be like? Somebody was mentioning that 4 out of 5 days will be lost to rain?

Why is no one in favor of picking KL Rahul?

I would replace Starc with Pattinson for this test. Starc has looked really toothless throughout this series.

I feel due to last 2 matches our team has increased our expectations and we are expecting them to perform at whatever is thrown at them without even having 2nd choice 11.

I'd be happy if they fight.However even if we lose inside 2 days,this series has been good as a whole

I have no complaints as well, just that they have raised our expectations by punching above their weight..

Can we forfeit this match? What chance fo we stand at this fortress without so many players?

Depends how you approach it? If the players think of this as an opp to carve out their own names on a clean slate this may just free them up. After all, no expectations right?

Hopefully, we don't see too much rain. The Series deserve to see a good last game. It has been a cracking series despite Indians missing top players. Losing or winning won't matter in the last test. Forget about WTC drama. The way Indians played, you are going to reap the benefit for decades to come. Self-belief is half the battle in cricket.

Weather starting to look better. There maybe interruption here and there, but we should have a cracking game.

What is the weather going to be like? Somebody was mentioning that 4 out of 5 days will be lost to rain?

No, that would only happen in a cyclone type weather event- very extreme.

Day 2: 50/50 chance of rain or no rain. The amount of rain predicted even if it does rain & even IF that rain falls during play hours is only 1-4mm. So not much at all. If it's 3mm or less it generally won't even stop play at all or not for long.

Day 3: 30% chance of rain & only 1mm predicted if it DOES rain. So unlikely play to be lost.

Day 4: 50/50 chance of up to 8mm rain. So maybe a storm, maybe not.

If it follows usual Brisbane weather patterns IF there is rain it might be a hard afternoon tropical shower- a brief dump that clears up in an hour or so.

View attachment 106092

Typical Gabba track - fools the tourists to bowl first. It's a good batting track with good pace and little live grass.

If India wins toss, MUST, I mean MUST bat first - after that even if they lose by innings, still its a better call. It’ll be slow seemer on day 1, get faster on day 2 and best for batting on day 3.... cracks should start to open by fourth afternoon; day 5 is equally difficult to bat like day 1, but with added pressure of 4th innings. If you put opponents in - must take 4 wickets in first session, or the game is gone. Batting first, 300+ is required to be competitive.

I’m not sure who is fit for the Test, but I guess whichever XI plays, India will give a good fight - this series is a catalyst for Indian cricket that the team moved beyond individuals, whichever XI they put, can fight it out.

Aussies are overwhelmingly favourites though.

Typical Gabba track - fools the tourists to bowl first. It's a good batting track with good pace and little live grass.

If India wins toss, MUST, I mean MUST bat first - after that even if they lose by innings, still its a better call. It’ll be slow seemer on day 1, get faster on day 2 and best for batting on day 3.... cracks should start to open by fourth afternoon; day 5 is equally difficult to bat like day 1, but with added pressure of 4th innings. If you put opponents in - must take 4 wickets in first session, or the game is gone. Batting first, 300+ is required to be competitive.

I’m not sure who is fit for the Test, but I guess whichever XI plays, India will give a good fight - this series is a catalyst for Indian cricket that the team moved beyond individuals, whichever XI they put, can fight it out.

But but....Aussies were so power, strength, sledges king's. So much wow. So much pace. So much speed.

Don't get me wrong. Current Aussies would obliterate any other Asian side from any era including ganguly's India and imrans Pakistan. Latter in parituclar couldn't even beat weak Aussies of 80s.

However, current India is a very tough quality side. Everyone of the bench players are fighting tooth and nail for a spot as there are 5 high quality bowlers above them.

Aussies are favourites as bumrah is out too along with 4 other key players including Kohli.
In saying that India don't back down. They can still beat Aussies if they win the toss.

Looks like by Day 1 when they give it a final mow it'll be mostly straw coloured, dryish for the Gabba.

Good analysis.....We've lost all 3 tosses and its bound to change - maybe we will win toss in Brisbane....and then we face the Nasser hussain 2002 scenario -bowl/bat first? especially with half the team injured and the other half is full of rookies. I'd bat first, try to get max out of Mayank-Gill -Jinks-Che pu-hitman-saha-Pant - say 275 and 'hopefully' get 30 out of the rest....I'd include kuldeep just for his uniqueness and unknown factor-he might be the trump card here
Aus is also unsettled with DW not at his best, pucovski injured so either wade or harris opens, if somehow we get past DW, we gotta get SS and labs which is where Kuldeep would come in handy. Combine this with the rain forecast, realistically speaking a draw again would be a massive achievement. honestly, I never thought it would be 1-1 going into Brisbane-and if not for 45 mins at Adelaide-imagine where it would all be...any ways GO India... :salute

A draw would be fantastic for India. It's going to be unlikely, if it doesn't rain much; Aussies are favourites here.

But even though this is like India B, I like the energy in this team. I wish they can conjure some magic again.

My Indian friend from Australia called me today and said, "series haar bhi jaaye, koi baat nahee, India ne dil jeet liya hai." (even if India loses the series, it's fine, they have won the hearts). :wy

AUS vs IND: Harris replaces injured Pucovski for Brisbane Test

Will Pucovski has been ruled of the series decider against India because of a shoulder injury he sustained while fielding in his Test debut for Australia.

Marcus Harris has been drafted into the starting XI and will open the batting with David Warner at the Gabba in the fourth Test starting on Friday.

It’s the only change to Australia’s lineup from a dramatic third Test that ended Monday in a draw at the Sydney Cricket Ground. India will also be forced into changes because of injuries. The series is tied 1-1 with one match to go.

Harris hasn’t played a Test match since the 2019 Ashes series but has been traveling with the Australian squad throughout the four-Test series with India, having to wait for his recall while openers Pucovksi, Warner, and Joe Burns were all given starts and Matthew Wade filled in as a make-shift opener for the first two matches.

Pucovski hurt his shoulder on Monday and didn’t bat in the nets at the Gabba on Wednesday or Thursday.

“He tried to train this morning, didn’t quite come up,” Australia captain Tim Paine said in his pre-match news conference. “He’ll have a bit of work to do with our medicos to see where he goes from here.

“Marcus Harris will come in, open the batting and we’re looking forward to seeing what he can do.”

Warner, who missed the first two matches of the series because of a groin strain, batted for an hour in the nets on the eve of the match and was declared ready.

India will be forced into changes to its starting XI, with Ravi Jadeja undergoing surgery on his thumb after the third Test and other players, including pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah, struggling to recover from injuries.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...fourth-test-justin-langer/article33573307.ece

We have done the best we could but the end is here. The odds are too heavily stocked against us. There is no way we come out of this unscathed, I expect a rude awakening starting tomorrow.

IND vs AUS, 4th Test: Tim Paine Asks Fans to 'Support India' And 'Leave Abuse at The Gate'

Australia Test captain Tim Paine has urged the fans who plan to attend the fourth Test in Brisbane to stay away from abusive behaviour and instead support the teams, and respect players. The ongoing Border Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia has been jolted by a massive controversy with allegations of racism from few fans who attended the third Test in Sydney.

India fast bowling duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj have levelled the allegations with the governing authorities taking the help of police in investigating the incident. Paine, who had thrown his weight behind the touring party, has continued his criticism of the ugly behaviour.

“In terms of crowd behaviour – we don’t condone the abuse of anyone; let alone from the racial standpoint,” Paine said on Thursday. “So we want people to come along to the Gabba, enjoy the game of cricket, support Australia, support India. Support the umpires if you like. But my suggestion is you leave the abuse at the gate and just respect the players, respect the game and have a good time.”

Pain himself has been at the receiving end of criticism for his heated exchange with Ravichandran Ashwin during a tense fifth and final day’s play in Sydney. He called Ashwin ‘d****head’ during a fierce exchange as India battled to save the Test. Later, he called up a press conference to apologise for losing his cool.

“I just think I’ll handle it differently. I let it get under my skin, no doubt about that,” Paine said. “I’ve admitted that – but for me, it’s about rising above it and concentrating on what I’m doing and concentrating on leading my team, not worrying about what is going on with the other side. That’s the focus for us, we’ve spoken a lot this game about controlling what we can control and focusing more inwardly on ourselves. If we do that, we’ll be in a good position.”

Paine admitted he has played his best when focused on the game and aims to do that at The Gabba.

“If you look throughout my whole career, I think I’ve done a pretty good job of staying relaxed for 99% of it. Again, it’s going back to how I play my best cricket that’s having a smile on my face, enjoying cricket for what it is – a game. And at times the other day, I certainly thought I got caught up in the moment. What I’ve been really good at is being able to step back – even just have a look around the crowd at times – and realise that at that very second, you’re captaining your country in a Test match,” he said.

Meanwhile, with the series locked at one-all, Paine is hoping the bouncy Brisbane pitch will work in Australia’s favour as they target to regain the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

“Yeah it [the Gabba] is right up there, no doubt about that,” he said. “It’s a hard place to come and play cricket. Even for Tasmanians and Victorians to come here, it can be challenging to adjust to the different bounce and speed of the wicket. It’s something that has been to the advantage of Australian teams for a long time.”

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...port-india-and-leave-abuse-at-the-gate-965987

Reports going around that Bumrah could play tomorrow.

A decision will be taken in the morning.

Team India's batting coach Vikram Rathour has made it clear that the visitors will not be affected by the off-field incidents and the squad is raring to go for the fourth Test against Australia which gets underway on Friday. The Ajinkya Rahane-led India faced strict quarantine in Brisbane when they came from Sydney which had seen a cluster of COVID-19 cases earlier this month. Rathour exuded confidence and said the squad is motivated so the off-field issues during their stay in Brisbane don't matter much. It was reported that the Indians were denied housekeeping and room service at the Brisbane hotel.

"We are playing Australia in Australia, against one of the better attacks in the world. Motivation is there, you don't need housekeeping or room service to give you motivation," Rathour said on the eve of the final Test.

"Yes, these were the concerns which were passed on to the BCCI, the board is in touch with Cricket Australia.

"As far as players and team management is concerned, we are focused on the game and all the boys are looking forward to this game," he added.

Meanwhile, in a major boost for the Indian team, Rathour said that pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is working closely with the medical team and a call will be taken on Friday morning on whether he can take the field.

"The medical team is working with Bumrah, we have to see tomorrow morning whether he is fit to play the fourth Test or not. If he can play, he will play, if he cannot, then he won't," Rathour said on Thursday.

"The injuries are still being monitored. Our medical staff is looking into it, I would not be in a position to comment on this right now.

Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com
"We would like to give them as much time as possible. It will be tomorrow morning that you will know which eleven takes the field," he added.

The Indian attack has already lost Mohammed Shami -- broken hand -- and Umesh Yadav -- calf injury -- during the course of the ongoing series and with the series level at 1-1, the team knows the importance of the final Test which gets underway on Friday.

https://sports.ndtv.com/australia-v...ivated-despite-brisbane-hotel-hassles-2352489

Reports going around that Bumrah could play tomorrow.

A decision will be taken in the morning.

I don't think it's a wise decision. If he breaks down tomorrow we are done for. Will be a bowler short the whole test match.

I think bumrah himself is pushing for it. He is one of those stubborn types and this series means a lot to our players. If he is fit then we can hope against hope for a magical spell to write history.

Bhai but if his body breaks down he can't help it especially being a fast bowler. If he was a batsman I could understand. But as a fast bowler you have to literally put your body through hell.

Indian injury list is like a list of hospital patients list of 🛌. 😂

Looks like Ravi Shastri needs to pad up, i dont know why but i have a feeling India might win this, as currently this is a weakest Australian team after a long time, their bowlers are only good when something is in the pitch, when it flats out It becomes a indian pitches.

Indian injury list is like a list of hospital patients list of 🛌. 😂

Looks like Ravi Shastri needs to pad up, i dont know why but i have a feeling India might win this, as currently this is a weakest Australian team after a long time, their bowlers are only good when something is in the pitch, when it flats out It becomes a indian pitches.

Funny how they suddenly become the "weakest" team against us after looking like Lloyd's WI an year ago against.... :babar

They are literally playing with 2 batsmen, Marnus and smith. Rest are joke or T20 players. Wade, Paine is one of the weakest wk batsmen Australia ever had, he is a joke, how is Australia continuing with him is beyond me.

As per some reports, the average scores are

Innings 1 - around 360/9
Innings 2 - around 345/9
Innings 3 - around 270/7 and
Innings 4 - around 250/7

Most matches at the Gabba get played in November, while this is a rare occasion where it is played in Jan when it is hotter.

However the mitigating factor is going to be rain on a few days of the match (2nd to 4th IIRC). So it is going to be a fascinating contest where I fully expect India to compete well.

Also give Sundar a cap and let him debut taking the all rounder's spot. It is sheer luck that he is still with the squad and we would do good to use his services. With his height he can definitely get some extra bounce. Ashwin is doubtful and if he doesnt recover well, then unleash Kuldeep. Who knows, if the pitch plays differently aiding spin (because the match is in Jan not the usual Nov), then our chinaman is sure to do well considering the Australians haven't played him enough this summer.

Go India!

It takes one solid score up front to determine the tempo of the game.

Also keep in mind that Australia will be scared to their pants if India put up a big score, so they'll go into a full on defensive gear to draw the series and save some respect.

I think Kuldeep is a good replacement for Jadeja, and Sundar for Ashwin, but what worries me is the fact that Sundar will be debuting as a spinner, in a country which is not forgiving to spinners.

India have a depleted squad but have a winner's mentality, I back them to strongly challenge Australia and even win the series.

Bhai but if his body breaks down he can't help it especially being a fast bowler. If he was a batsman I could understand. But as a fast bowler you have to literally put your body through hell.

I was reading some analysis on his action, and a lot of ex-fast bowlers have pointed out that his action is a bit unsustainable. I'll try to find out exactly who said this, but I think there's a reason he doesn't play test matches at home, it would be a bit too much for his body.

He also had a back injury if I'm not wrong, so that could be playing an issue as well, because recovery from those injuries can take a lot of time.

He will surely be missed though, because the pace attack is going to have nobody with enough test match experience to lead the bowling.

I was reading some analysis on his action, and a lot of ex-fast bowlers have pointed out that his action is a bit unsustainable. I'll try to find out exactly who said this, but I think there's a reason he doesn't play test matches at home, it would be a bit too much for his body.

He also had a back injury if I'm not wrong, so that could be playing an issue as well, because recovery from those injuries can take a lot of time.

He will surely be missed though, because the pace attack is going to have nobody with enough test match experience to lead the bowling.
If bumrah is out, all other Indian fast bowlers played only two or lessthan two test match so far..If it happens then it must be a record for regular test playing nation.

OZ are on the back foot, pressure on them due to the prestige of their fortress and everyone expecting them to win (according to history).

India had already seen a face turn after playing the heel for over a decade with BCCI bullying and whatnot. But now they are the good guys about to pummel OZ who showed their true selves playing with sandpaper. I think most neutral fans are gonna want India to win.

Thats just the injured list.

He wasn't ruled out at that time.

Dunno about now.

Most likely Agarwal will play .but according to some source if Bumrah & Ashwin play then india going with 5 bowlers bcz if anyone break-down there is option as we have 5 bowler.if bumrah not play then India might play with 4 bowlers

Yeah...at this point so many sources say so many things..not sure what to believe.

I know we gonna get pummeled but I'm still pretty excited for this test. Gabba is never boring.

What's your line up ?

Depends on what % fit each player is.

Ok here goes my lineup if Pant can't keep:

Rohit
Gill
Pujara
Rahane
Pant
Saha
Shardul
Ashwin
Kuldeep
Siraj
Bumrah

3 pacers.

2 spinners.

3 out of 5 bowlers can bat. Somewhat.

Saha for keeping if Pant can't keep.

If Pant can keep, we can try Mayank but I dunno how useful he will be with that technique.

Saha has the fighting mentality in him.

---

I get why Washington Sundar is being considered (batting depth and keep it tight to give rest to pacers) but I would play him if Ash is injured. I won't play him & Ash (with Kuldeep rested).

But who knows...he might be a dark horse due to the bounce he extracts.

1. Win the toss and bat first.

2. Somehow score 400.

3. Hope rain intervenes.

4. Draw.

That's our only way out of this one.

Looking forward to some hard fought, good quality cricket.

These days, talking about Pakistan cricket just doesn't appeal to me anymore. It's just all so messed up in our cricket board and general atmosphere. I hope it gets better soon.