Australia v India - Ricky Ponting : Usman Khawaja will outscore Virat Kohli, Australia to win series

OneTip-OneHand

MELBOURNE: Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting on Thursday boldly stated that Usman Khawaja will outscore Virat Kohli and backed the hosts to prevail over an optimistic Indian team eyeing its first Test series win Down Under.

Speaking to cricket.com.au, the former Test skipper said the Queenslander will not only be the leading run scorer against India, but also the player of the series.

"He's on top of his game, his record in Australia is outstanding," Ponting said of Khawaja.

"As much of a threat that the Indian fast bowlers might pose, I think he's got a game that can cope with it here in Australia. I'm going with him to be the leading run scorer and man of the series."

The four-Test series starts in Adelaide on December 6.

Ponting has tipped a 2-1 series result in favour of the home side for the four-match Test campaign while suggesting Khawaja and Josh Hazlewood will be the two standout performers.

Kohli's four centuries and 692 runs at 86.50 on India's last Test tour to Australia four years ago was topped only by Steve Smith, but Ponting believes Khawaja's superb recent campaign against Pakistan has him primed to take a further leap in Smith and David Warner's absence.

"(Khawaja) will just pip Kohli," said Ponting.

"Kohli will play well I'm sure because he does everywhere he goes and had a great series against Australia last time.

"Just where they're starting in Adelaide and Perth - if they leave something in them, Kohli is a bit more vulnerable in those conditions than Melbourne and Sydney."

He believed the home team's batsmen will fare better against the Indian pacers.

"Basically, it comes down to whichever team bats the best," said Ponting.

"Both fast bowling attacks are good but I think our batsmen will play better against their quicks than their batters will play against ours.

"India need to get off to a really good start (in the series). If they get behind the eight ball if those first two games then … they might fight back and win one Sydney or Melbourne, but it will be too late."

Source-
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...dicts-australian-win/articleshow/66870783.cms

Wow. He believes we will win a test in Australia. When was the last time that happened? lol

Usman Khawaja of all people??

I’d say Shaun Marsh has fair chance to score tons of runs from Austraia side. From India Kohli and Shaw.

I think we last won under Kumble and he retired a decade ago. So must have been some time.

Yes you’re right. We have been competitive in australia as compared to SA and ENG tours and came close to wins many times but sometimes it was umpires, sometimes our player’s FUDDUGIRI, sometimes bad luck.

Why so negative? We will win the series easily this time. Aust team is very weak...so dont worry.

Brother, heard this many times. We have won only 3 out of 29 tests in SENA after 2011 world cup. That's why being realistic. Let's hope for the best though.

I have been left so disappointed in the England and South Africa tour (Test series of both the tours), that I'd rather not expect anything yet. The only positive to come out of both the series as a fans in me is Kohli showing all other batsmen in the world who the BOSS is.

And please, please, please ..... iss K.L. Rahul ka koi kuch karo nah, yaar! He was the absolute worst culprit in the Test series in England, and he has remained pretty much the same after that.

I have been left so disappointed in the England and South Africa tour (Test series of both the tours), that I'd rather not expect anything yet. The only positive to come out of both the series as a fans in me is Kohli showing all other batsmen in the world who the BOSS is.

And please, please, please ..... iss K.L. Rahul ka koi kuch karo nah, yaar! He was the absolute worst culprit in the Test series in England, and he has remained pretty much the same after that.

Kya kare iss superstar KL Rahul ka? Bhai millionaire hai toh chances pe chances toh milenge na. :inti

What he did in the Test series against England makes me sick to my stomach. I don't care if other batsmen were poor, he was the absolute worst of all the batsmen. And when we lost the series with epic humiliation, our brave heart came and scored a dashing century, remind the selectors how much talent he has at disposal.

Fair comment about the series prediction and that the Australian batsmen will probably fare better than the Indians, but I am not sure about Khawaja outscoring Kohli. I reckon it's no more than a slight confidence booster for Australia's best batsman from an ex-captain. They know that Khawaja will need to be in form if Australia are to win.

What he did in the Test series against England makes me sick to my stomach. I don't care if other batsmen were poor, he was the absolute worst of all the batsmen. And when we lost the series with epic humiliation, our brave heart came and scored a dashing century, remind the selectors how much talent he has at disposal.

His dashing century came in the lost test match. Did nothing before that inning in the test series. According to some fans he should get the whole Australia series to prove himself again. :inti

Why so negative? We will win the series easily this time. Aust team is very weak...so dont worry.

It is the weakest Aussie team in most of our lifetime and then on top of it has best two batsmen banned but Australia always manages to pull something from the bag to not lose af home to Asian teams

Can't wait to watch this series. It's been a hot while since we saw a contest between two of the top five sides. All the contests of late have been full of poor quality cricket.

He's wrong about Adelaide though. Kohli has a great record there. Infact he has multiple test and ODI hundreds there. Perth Test will be similar to Lord's test where India will be annihiliated. India can win in Sydney and can compete in Melbourne and Adelaide. Hazelwood will take bucket loads of wickets but I doubt Khawaja will have a major impact on the series.

His dashing century came in the lost test match. Did nothing before that inning in the test series. According to some fans he should get the whole Australia series to prove himself again. :inti

And that's what gets on my nerve. Our ultra talunt hero did bloody jack in the first 4 Tests when the series was alive, when Kohli was dragging the entire batting line up on his own. He was the absolute worst of all specialist batsmen, bar Dynamite Kohli, during those first 4 Tests. And when the series was done and dusted, our brave heart reminded the selectors and us fans how much talunt he has. The only time I have lost with patience with players in my team is during the 90's with Indian bowlers.

It is vital India utilise the Kookaburra and can get the likes of Khawaja and etc quickly, if they can do that and clean up the tail more efficiently than what they did in England, then it's in India's hands to be the first Asian side to win a series in Aus.

Don't worry, he will. I can bet my life, he will. Why? Because he scored that flamboyant century against England after he did jack in all 4 previous Tests before that. That innings tells us how great of a talent he is, probably second only to Kohli.

What annoys me even more is that he has received virtually no criticism in the media, period.

Don't worry, he will. I can bet my life, he will. Why? Because he scored that flamboyant century against England after he did jack in all 4 previous Tests before that. That innings tells us how great of a talent he is, probably second only to Kohli.

Risabh Pant is some talent. How on earth can one be so dismissive of him is just ridiculous. For me he is destined to become the best wicket keeper batsman in Asia. At the moment it is Mushfiqur Rahim but only for the short term future.

I remember the days when Khawaja debuted, he replaced an injured Ponting. A reporter asked Khawaja what did he think of Ponting and Usman said "I'd jump off roof with eyes closed if Ponting asked me to.." :P

This is just Ponting showing love to Khawaja.

Smith would have outscored Kohli (in last tour Smith/Warner/Kohli broke a lot of batting records). But this time VK will smash Aussies like there is no tomorrow. I can feel it :jk

Risabh Pant is some talent. How on earth can one be so dismissive of him is just ridiculous. For me he is destined to become the best wicket keeper batsman in Asia. At the moment it is Mushfiqur Rahim but only for the short term future.

Goodness! Let the lad play at least 30 Tests before saying something like that. Yes, he has shown glimpses of talent. Hopefully he'll do better.

[MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] is talking about KL Rahul not Pant.

The first thing I want from Pant is good wicketkeeping. Nothing demoralizes a bowler quite as much as having catches dropped. The Indian team will miss Saha.

[MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] is talking about KL Rahul not Pant.

Things have really changed a lot. Remember back in the 90's and 2000, when a well established player used to flop for a couple of series, the media were at their throats. Someone like Sachin, who build the entire base for Indian cricket in the 90's, had the media at his throat in 2006 when he was struggling. The man averaged 40 in 2005, and yet the fans were after him simply because he couldn't match his previously extremely high standards and he wasn't a flamboyant batsman anymore. Players back then had the knife to their throat if they failed for a couple of Test series.

Things have really changed. Or maybe it happens only with the gems. Maybe if the same thing happens to Kohli (I pray it doesn't), then maybe the same sentiments will arise.

The bounce has always been the issue for the subcontinent batsmen.

I would still back Kohli any time to outscore any batsmen.

Australia will win the series though no matter who outscores who.

Bhai itni negativity kaha se laate ho. Thoda idhar bhi pass kar do. Aajkal kafi khush chal raha hu.

Bhai Ji, K.L. Rahul ka kya kiya jaye? I'm not here to quarrel. We're Indian fans. Aap hi kuch solution do nah! What do you think should be done with him if he flatters to deceive in the first 2 Tests?

Play him the whole series so that his immature fans don't cry about discrimination. If he fails then discard him forever from the longer format. We don't need such lazy players making the team when the more deserving ones are lining up.

Why should he get whole series? Give him 2 innings at Adelaide. If he does not show application then dump him from squad and send him to Karnataka team to learn some much needed lessons.

They will show him his place. Some Ranji teams are really ruthless. And Karnataka are one of them. They will demand more from him that kholi does.

This feels like a very bumpable thread which will be bumped a lot during the series.

Why should he get whole series? Give him 2 innings at Adelaide. If he does not show application then dump him from squad and send him to Karnataka team to learn some much needed lessons.

They will show him his place. Some Ranji teams are really ruthless. And Karnataka are one of them. They will demand more from him that kholi does.

What has he done to get even those 2 innings? In a match against CA XI so far he has scored 3 stylish runs. If he is out of form he should be dropped now. No need to give him as much importance as Kohli and pick him again and again. He couldn't even score at home against West Indies.

It is the weakest Aussie team in most of our lifetime and then on top of it has best two batsmen banned but Australia always manages to pull something from the bag to not lose af home to Asian teams

I think after sandpaper gate...they will not pull anything out from their bag or pocket. IYKWIM :misbah

Agree with Ponting, India might win the 3rd or 4th test but we will lose the series 2/1.

Also Usman Khwaja humko phaintey dene wala hain

Should be a good series. Think Australia will win. Can't trust this Indian batsmen other than Kohli and still don't think there bowlers may have issues.

What has he done to get even those 2 innings? In a match against CA XI so far he has scored 3 stylish runs. If he is out of form he should be dropped now. No need to give him as much importance as Kohli and pick him again and again. He couldn't even score at home against West Indies.

He has not done anything to deserve those innings but Vijay has done worse lately in internationals. Our batters are not exactly swimming in runs.

2-1 or 3-1 Australia I think. I am not sure about who will score more runs than whom. These predictions never go right.

Khwaja certainly can score lots of runs but a lot will depend on the conditions put up in the upcoming test series.

It is possible. Aussies always bat well at home and our bowling is not very consistent at most times. Australia wickets will be flat and the home bowlers bowl better on them.

Prithvi Shaw imjured in the practice match....my blood is boiling

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo :mns

I have lost all interest in this test series. Was so looking forward to seeing the young boy in Australia. Dreaming about witnessing a Perth 1992 live. I am so gutted now.

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo :mns

I have lost all interest in this test series. Was so looking forward to seeing the young boy in Australia. Dreaming about witnessing a Perth 1992 live. I am so gutted now.
That means Rahul will now get all 4 tests to prove his 'mettle'.

Hope Aussies prepare grassy pacy bouncy pitches with lots of seam and swing. On flatter wickets, Aussies batsmen will outscore us and their bowling obviously is superior in any conditions.

Usman is a true son of Pakistan after he humbled the best spinner of the decade right here in the UAE. I used to think he was a mummy daddy type kid raised abroad. But he reclaimed his birthright the way he played spin.

Hopes of Pakistan and Australia rest on this boy’s shoulders.

Australia batsmen are god of flat pitches. People highly underestimated how big of a HTB Aussie batsmen are. It will be huge challenge even without Smith and Warner.

Not sure whether Aus will serve flat pitches for this series. They know that they're a far better bowling attack than India. And like in Eng and SA series, they know that Indian batting is very vulnerable on tricky pitches.

Think preparing Flat pitches is better for AUS. They have many HTB and guys like Khawaja and Marsh bros will probably score well at home. There bowling is good enough also.

Shastri and Kohli need to back Sharma now with Shaw's injury and Rahul being woefully out of form. Time for Sharma to prove he's test calibre. I don't think there's any reason why he shouldn't do well on Australian pitches.

History is against India, I feel Aus will win the series, however Khawaja wont be of much impact. Never really rated Khawaja, although I was quite excited when he first debuted due to the hype but now he is just an average player......

The only way India can win a test match in Australia is if they win toss in either of the first 2 matches. If that doesn't happen then it's very difficult as Sydney and Melbourne are batting pitches and almost take toss out of equation. If Australia wants to draw a test match, then they can do it fairly easily in Sydney.

Bowlers , faster ones, should not give up after 50 overs or so. The past teams were guilty of this and aus teams went on to score 350+ most times. Even if they do not get wickets, they should look to restrict to 3 rpo per over at most.

As for batsman, p.shaw is out and last opportunity for rahul and joining him should be dhawan than rohit or vijay for 1st 2 matches. If dhawan fails, rohit should open ad try to score fast and few quick runs as he does not have test opening exp. Vijay should be kept for training bowlers in the nets.

As for khwaja, ponting just doing some egging for host team. Kohli has to step up once again, vihari should come in place of rahane but looks unlikely.

Don't know about other but the man in your dp wants him to play the entire series.

Lol... pressure is on Khawaja now. BTW I don’t think Khawaja has any memorable knock against India, not sure what Ponting is upto.

Virat Kohli is current day’s Bradman, what an insult to compare a dud like Khawja to the Legend. Usman will be lucky to score half the runs that Kohli is going to score

I like Ponting's attitude - he is backing his own team. The least anyone can do.

Not like Ian Chappell - who is nothing but an Indian mouthpiece now.

LOL at the warmup game, a bunch of kids against an "international" team and the kids made 544 I thought the Indians have the best fast bowlers what happened?

India doesn't have a single bowler who can crank it to 145 km/hr consistently in tests. Those who can't bowl that fast won't be able to exploit bounce in Australia. Also Indian spinners are nowhere as good as Lyon on Aussie pitches, so their bowling will be toothless.

People are forgetting that Australia is a fortress at home, they're much harder to beat than England.

He may not be wrong. Khawaja in UAE displayed the patience against a far superior Pak attack. Now against this mediocre Indian bowling at home, he has all the chance to shine Vs Kohli who would be against probably the best Test bowling attack.

He won't outscore virat that's I m assured but he would be decent against these shooper phaast bowlers who just got a phainty by some unknown players.

India doesn't have a single bowler who can crank it to 145 km/hr consistently in tests. Those who can't bowl that fast won't be able to exploit bounce in Australia. Also Indian spinners are nowhere as good as Lyon on Aussie pitches, so their bowling will be toothless.

People are forgetting that Australia is a fortress at home, they're much harder to beat than England.

I think India should win, but what they showed in the practise game was a disgrace.

I was excited to see prithvi shaw batting in Australia & I was hoping that he'll score big but sadly he got injured.

Btw does anyone remember Shastri's excuse of less warmup games in England. Is there another warm up game before 1st test or Shastri uncle will gave the same excuse this time?

Khawaja has played one match winning innings so far but has been very poor otherwise. Expected a lot more from him.