Australia vs India | 2nd Final | CB Series | Brisbane | 04/03/2008

He should have waited for one more delivery. Poor shot that was. crap shot!!! Just when the Aussies are under the pump, we let them a foot inside the door.

India 145/2 (30.1 ov)

20 more overs if they target 5th bowler in right manner then 280 + is on the cards

30 overs, 144. good platform, the cliche of double ur 30 over score by 50 will get us to 288, which will be very competitive.

BTW, 2/3 of time done and only 30 overs bowled. If what happens to sub-continent teams is reciprocated (did you like that SL fine when they were in the plane, Jeff crowe) Aussies should get some major fines.

aussies stopped atleast 5 sure-shot boundaries till now. So thats some 16 runs in arrears.

Hmm. Looks like we'll be chasing a 300+ score. If we want to win this series we'll have to earn it I think.

c'mon dhoni/tendu//don't lose the plot ..stay on atleast till over 42..

Megadeth said:
c'mon dhoni/tendu//don't lose the plot ..stay on atleast till over 42..
MSD and SRT should stick for another 5 overs , if not more.

I think SRT was trying to be a bit too clever in the last few overs. anyway great knock -should set this final up nicely. He has done a gr8 job setting this up…

Its "drama" time...ever seen india play without any drama... expect PAthan and Harbhajan to bring us around..

If Clarke can get 3… bajji and chawla can do much better for sure.. the pitch is no belter…

Dhoni has turned into a potent finisher...knows when to take signals and when to "agriculture" ur way thru the bowling..rarely has a brainfart these days..

The ball doesnt seem to be coming on to the bat - and the Aussies are bowling well too. As a result, the scoring rate has come down drastically.

I think they will close somewhere around 255 or so. May be 15-20 runs short.

This is crucial stuff. I thought we would be chasing 300+ for sure.

Off to bed soon though...will see what India comes up with then I'm hitting the sack.

huge boos as harbhajan w alks to the crease..lol... surely nt getting an australian residency anytime soon

wanted_desi said:
Man i was hoping for something special from Yuvi today

Was he "aggressive with body language"? :)) :))

What a lame tour from Yuvraj - worst effort from a supposed class batsman I have seen on a tour for a long time.

Megadeth said:
huge boos as harbhajan w alks to the crease..lol... surely nt getting an australian residency anytime soon

Well it is Queensland :D

Off topic but glad to see his mother has been in the media "You lay off my Harby!!" :16:

258/9 at the end of 50 overs.

at least 30 runs short of what could have been possible.

Still a fairly competitive total. And from what I can see, the spinners will have a role to play.

Random Aussie said:
Was he "aggressive with body language"? :)) :))

What a lame tour from Yuvraj - worst effort from a supposed class batsman I have seen on a tour for a long time.

Thats what happens if you pay a player Rs 1 crore for hitting some sixes in a 20-20

the first 15 overs will be crucial......the spinners are going to do well its the pacers who have to support. its not going to be all easy for the aussies.

Outstanding fielding and decent bowling robbed us of 40 runs.

Will be an interesting match, with a win slightly more in favor of Australia. especially if openers get a good start.

In a way, it is good that india chose to bat first.
if Aussies batted first, even if they had scored 250 runs, it would be like chasing 320 because they would have fielded very aggressively and bowled with lot of fire.

the pitch does not seem to be easy after the 20 overs, so, indian spinners should pick up the middle order. but for that sree santh and Pathan have to make decent effort with the ball.

all in all, an interesting second session.

It's been a pretty dismal effort from the OZ all up. They were looking at a 300+ chase until Clarke (a part timer at best) dismissed Tendy. Ponting doesn't seem to have that many options to throw the ball to if he wants a wicket (bar Lee, who looks like the long summer is starting to take a toll). Bracken is the most overrated bowler ever, while Clark just doesn't have the variation you need for ODIs. I see MJ conceded 5.5 runs for no wickets and the less said about Hopeless the better. This is a very average bowling attack.

The batsmen are going to have to pull out big ones here if we're any chance of a win. Gilly will be hit or miss as always so one of Haydunce, Dubya or Pup will have to come up with a good knock.

ozgod, u been a critic of hopeless i notice.. hopeless bowled hoplessly well today.. should have been continued in the end by punter, it was poor decision by punter to bring in brett lee who eventually ended up giving 20 runz from 2 overz.. mean while with medium pace of his, hopez was good and wasn't conceding to many runz..

bablu_khan said:
ozgod, u been a critic of hopeless i notice.. hopeless bowled hoplessly well today.. should have been continued in the end by punter, it was poor decision by punter to bring in brett lee who eventually ended up giving 20 runz from 2 overz.. mean while with medium pace of his, hopez was good and wasn't conceding to many runz..

In the 3 years I've watched Hopeless in his disastrous forays into the OZ side I've seen nothing that has convinced me that this bloke is anything more than a pedestrian district player. He's not good enough with the bat and not good enough with the ball. Plus he has a weird-looking head like Simon Krapich.

That dismissal typified Gilly's career, really.

SRT played with greater determination.Gambir,Yuvi and Sharma were to be blamed.

Praveen got the wicket and Gilly gone.

oooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh..
ponting gone....

ponting choked under pressure.. batting second is not easy dude..

nikred said:
the first 15 overs will be crucial......the spinners are going to do well its the pacers who have to support. its not going to be all easy for the aussies.

cant play spin or swing .....rarely scored a fifty without umpires help....best player in the world , yeah right !!

(P)Ricky Pontings miserable series continues........

Targeting the opposing captain, mental disintegrations..........all old Aussie tricks coming back to haunt them

jusarrived said:
cant play spin or swing .....rarely scored a fifty without umpires help....best player in the world , yeah right !!

have you heard of something called "Wilting under pressure"

Have you ever seen Australia score at 2 runs an over in the opening overs, the runs and already being strangled and Chawla and Bhaji are still to come...

LOL at how you guys overreact. 4 years ago Ponting had a summer as bad as this, where he averaged about 10.

Anyway, I'm off to bed. Good luck all.

Hope Hayden drop doesnt prove costly. Hayden is the prize catch.

Praveen Kumar is proving to be Dhoni's lucky mascot!

sreesanth asusual leaking runs.. why was he picked for this game.. I wud rather have munna bhai in the team.

OZGOD said:
LOL at how you guys overreact. 4 years ago Ponting had a summer as bad as this, where he averaged about 10.

Anyway, I'm off to bed. Good luck all.

Ponting has always struggled against good swing and spin bowling. I remember he used to struggle against Wasim Akram and Waqar. We all know he is bajji's bunny and how bajji made him look like a club player in 2001.

Ponting's idea of over-attacking Praveen Kumar didnt work in both matches.

any pakistani fans here?? hash / iqbalsh / mudasar

what do you guys think abt aussies chances today?

As an Indian fan I can say that Aussies still have a good chance of winning this. it will all depend on how Chawla and Harbhajan deliver...

Praveen Kumar again!!! boy-o-boy! this chap is a match winner! clarke cleaned up...

XFactor said:
Ponting's idea of over-attacking Praveen Kumar didnt work in both matches.

thats called choking. playing a rash and unnecessary shot due to extreme pressure. (thats what i was told when sachin tried to hook mcgrath in 2003 world cup finals)

while writing this.. puppy just got out.

XFactor said:
Praveen Kumar again!!! boy-o-boy! this chap is a match winner! clarke cleaned up...

3 top quality wickets might I add as well, Australia are staring defeat right in the face and require a mammoth innings from Hayden, Symonds and Hussey..

Andrew "Maa ki" symmonds has come in.. hope he does not play aggressively which he does in this kind of situation.

Sreesanth 'almost' had hayden twice!!!..wonder if this'd make a difference..boy -o-boy...india on a roll!!!!

LOL! Streaker runs down to the pitch and Andrew Symonds knocks him down to the ground with his shoulder :))

It was fun watching him fall, all arms and legs and a naked bum. :)))

jusarrived said:

Averages nearly 60 in Test cricket. Gee that's a lot of help from the umpires :D

Random Aussie said:
Why does that surprise you? If he does something they can show it everywhere as an exclusive....same as the camera is always on Andre Nel.
It was indeed very provocative of Harbhajan, in fact, they should deploy a surveillance team to watch him. Scratching his armpit and spitting in the general direction of the holy Aussies should be severely punished. In fact, in India, all the urinals directed towards south-east, to the general direction of the holy land should be demolished

Some high intensity cricket going on at the moment,.. Hayden & Symonds taking up the challenge, dives all around,

Indiagem said:
It was indeed very provocative of Harbhajan, in fact, they should deploy a surveillance team to watch him. Scratching his armpit and spitting in the general direction of the holy Aussies should be severely punished. In fact, in India, all the urinals directed towards south-east, to the general direction of the holy land should be demolished

Maybe we can give him a police escort out of the country after tonight (cause not looking good for Aus)