Babar Azam "Probably The Best Batter In The World Across Formats": Virat Kohli

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Highest ODI batting average for Pakistan (minimum 20 innings)<br><br>Babar Azam 59.87<br>Imam-ul-Haq 51.81<br>Zaheer Abbas 47.62<br>Haris Sohail 46.40<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1612502270393913355?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 9, 2023</a></blockquote>

From about 15 hours ago.

ZEpXXwI.png

Rohit despite his indifferent overseas performances has produced some stellar knocks at home on very tough turning tracks. He is still not over the hill at least yet at home.

When Babar Azam takes the field on Friday, 14 April for the match against New Zealand, he will become the third Pakistan player to feature in 100 Men's T20Is.

Shoaib Malik (123) and Mohammad Hafeez (119) are the two other Pakistan players to reach this milestone in men's T20Is.

The level-headed Pakistan captain is well known for his flamboyant batting style and along with Mohammad Rizwan forms an intimidating opening pair in T20Is.

As we celebrate his 100 T20Is, let's have a look at some of Babar's top innings in the format.

122 off 59 v South Africa, Centurion, 2021

Babar and Rizwan are a force to reckon with. While Rizwan plays the role of an aggressor more often, there have been times when Babar has blown away the opposition with his explosive shots. The third T20I against South Africa in 2021 was one such example.

Chasing a formidable 204, Babar took the lead almost right from the start. After taking a couple of overs to adjust, he started pummelling the bowlers all over the park. His 50 came in just 27 balls and he accelerated after that with aplomb. He ended up with 122 off just 59 deliveries but unfortunately was dismissed with Pakistan needing just 7 to win, nevertheless having brought his side to the brink of victory. Pakistan then chased the total with two overs to spare. It was also Babar's first century in the format.

110* off 66 v England, Karachi, 2022

Babar's second T20I century was no less impressive and this time it came at home. After losing the first T20I, Pakistan needed to hit back. England batted first and scored 199/5. Chasing another 200 score was not going to be easy but both Babar and Rizwan were in a different mood altogether. Babar, in particular, led the charge, smashing 110* off just 66 deliveries as Pakistan registered a 10-wicket victory over England. It was Babar who hit the winning runs, an inside-out four through covers celebrating a dominating win.

97* off 58 v West Indies, Karachi, 2018

Babar's first Karachi masterclass came in 2018, four years before his hundred; an almost century innings against West Indies at home. Batting first, Pakistan lost Fakhar Zaman early, who had opened the innings with Babar. The 24-year-old Babar Azam had only hit three fifty-plus scores in his career then and came close to scaling three figures when he took on the Windies bowling attack single-handedly. Pairing with Hussain Talat at No.3, Babar hit 13 fours and a six on his way to 97* off 58 deliveries. Pakistan put up a huge total of 205/3 and defended it easily with their strong bowling attack.

79* off 53 v New Zealand, Christchurch, 2022

Babar's 79* was not in an high-scoring encounter but a low-scoring chase against New Zealand's celebrated bowling attack in their own backyard. The Pakistan bowlers had done their job keeping the Black Caps down to 147/8 in their 20 overs. But the hosts were not going down without a fight. They removed Rizwan early and crippled Pakistan further with a second wicket, leaving them at 37/2 in the sixth over. But Babar kept going. He rebuilt the Pakistan innings, first patiently stabilizing them, then pouncing on the bad balls to put them away. He formed crucial partnerships with the middle order and though New Zealand got a couple of more wickets, they had no answer to Babar. The Pakistan captain remained not out as the visitors claimed a six-wicket victory in the 19th over.

68* off 52 v India, Dubai, 2021

The famous ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 match. While there were many heroes in the game, Babar's contribution to it cannot be forgotten. After India were restricted to 151/7, Pakistan went all out with the bat to bamboozle the Indian bowlers. Rizwan was sensational and Babar played the perfect fiddle for him. Both batters complemented each other and pummelled the Indian attack without any rest. Babar hit the winning runs helping Pakistan to their first victory over India in the history of the tournament.

ICC

Mr Najam Sethi, PCB chairman management committee, has presented a special jersey to Pakistan captain Babar Azam on completing the century of T20Is.

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="5y5Y9CI"><a href="https://imgur.com/5y5Y9CI">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Kohli is a good bloke if you minus the occasional umpiring stints. But he's clearly being humble here. Nobody other than Chris Gayle says I'm the best in the world.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Babar Azam "I still remember my journey, the time I was a ball-boy here. There was a Pakistan camp going on and I was here as a bowler. And thanks to the Almighty, here I am today playing my 100th T20I" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1646962090781863938?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 14, 2023</a></blockquote>

The obsession with personal milestones continue. I mean should you really care if you reach 100 T20 games?

It is important like many other milestones. Nothing wrong with celebrating it but what is wrong is to make it into something which it is not.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most T20I hundreds:<br><br>Rohit Sharma 4 (140 innings)<br>Babar Azam 3 (96 innings)<br>Glenn Maxwell 3 (90 innings)<br>Colin Munro 3 (62 innings)<br>Suryakumar Yadav 3 (46 innings)<br>Sabawoon Davizi 3 (28 innings)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1647296965934301185?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Virat Kohli was not wrong.

The GOAT batsman in LOIs surely knows more than some self-made critics who started and ended their expert career on PP.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most T20I hundreds:<br><br>Rohit Sharma 4 (140 innings)<br>Babar Azam 3 (96 innings)<br>Glenn Maxwell 3 (90 innings)<br>Colin Munro 3 (62 innings)<br>Suryakumar Yadav 3 (46 innings)<br>Sabawoon Davizi 3 (28 innings)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1647296965934301185?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2023</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most scores of 50 or more in T20Is:<br><br>Virat Kohli 38<br>Babar Azam 33<br>Rohit Sharma 33<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1647287721512128513?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2023</a></blockquote>

Greats of the game.

Highlights of Babar 100

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/KR2Md7XYtOQ" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Babar catching up on Player of the Match awards also

11 – Mohammad Rizwan (82 games)

11 – Shadab Khan (89 games)

11 – Shahid Afridi (99 games)

11 – Mohammad Hafeez (119 games)

9 – Babar Azam (101 games)

Ramiz Raja on Babar's 101* against NZ:

"Babar Azam played a truly brilliant innings; he always looks magnificent on the field, with a pleasing aesthetic style. He executes his shots perfectly and plays until the end, rarely getting out"

"His risk-free style of batting has made him a consistent performer. He continues to break world records and is on the way to achieving yet another milestone which is the most centuries in T20 cricket history"

"Chris Gayle has made an incredible 22 centuries in cricket, bringing unmatched entertainment value to the game. However, Babar Azam will be judged differently in the history of cricket. If you want to witness a player who truly respects his own batting and executes flowing carpet shots, perfect cover drives, and displays pure consistency, then Babar Azam is the one to watch"

"Babar Azam will be a legend of the game": Mickey Arthur

Mickey in his presser:

"When I saw Babar Azam first, the first thing that impressed me were his hands; When you look at a young batter, it's the speed of his hands that gets you excited"

"I still remember walking to the indoor center in Lahore and Grant flower said to me, come and have a look at this young player, and I was amazed"

"I hadn't seen a talent like that before"

"I knew he was going to become a key part of a very successful Pakistan team going forward, I always said that he would become the number one batter in the world, and I firmly believe that he is that, he is a wonderful talent"

"The exciting thing is that I still think he has room to keep on improving and I will keep on challenging him to keep on getting better and better, because he will be a legend of the game"

Isn’t this same guy who called Sharjeel Khan as Mathew Hayden and Asad Shafiq as Sachin Tendulkar

He's been stagnating recently, and never made that kick-on in Tests that most hoped he would.

Former PM Imran Khan in an interview:

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="jYfZfJ0"><a href="https://imgur.com/jYfZfJ0">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

"Our captain [Babar Azam] is an outstanding batsman. I have seen a batsman of such quality after a very long time. I have analysed him in every way, because I analyse batsman through a bowler’s lens. His technique, talent and temperament are all brilliant. It is very rare to find all three of these things in one batsman, but he has them all. He has the potential to go ahead of everyone"

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="jYfZfJ0"><a href="https://imgur.com/jYfZfJ0">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

"Our captain [Babar Azam] is an outstanding batsman. I have seen a batsman of such quality after a very long time. I have analysed him in every way, because I analyse batsman through a bowler’s lens. His technique, talent and temperament are all brilliant. It is very rare to find all three of these things in one batsman, but he has them all. He has the potential to go ahead of everyone"

I guess he is viewing him from his 80a-90s cricket lens

Last I heard IK providing his analysis on cricketers was on Mohammad Asif way back in early 10s. Is this clip all he said about cricket on the show?

That's the only clip available for now.

Rashid Latif reacting to Imran Khan's statement:

"[Imran] Khan sahab has given a very strong statement. There is no match to his cricketing acumen in the whole world. He made predictions about many players in the past and most of them came true. One or two mistakes can happen. But he keeps a keen eye on cricket, so his statement was timely"

Babar Azam has produced top-class knocks in both warm-up games. Indian condition suits him

80(84) vs NZ

90(59)

Yesterday @Rana was saying that since kohli praised Amir that made Amir a good bowler (#ranalogic)

So can the same #ranalogic be applied here?
No. It does not work with Babar and rizwan etc... ONly Imad, amir etc can take advantage from this..

Babar is nowhere near good to any batter.

still waiting....

when #ranalogic fails......
What do you want an explanation for? I don’t understand why you have tagged me here.

First explain the logic you have in mind and then I’ll respond.

What do you want an explanation for? I don’t understand why you have tagged me here.

First explain the logic you have in mind and then I’ll respond.
He wants you to explain the logic of you claiming Amir is a good bowler cause kohli said so but not extending the same courtesy to Babar cause kohli also said the same about bobby.

Yaar yei kya log hain. Amir is a generational talent who had the privilege of winning 2 cups for his country via match winning spells in 2 finals. His biggest crime was spot fixing hence he wasted his career.

Babar on the other hand is a decent batter, nothing special but someone who's clearly not a generational batter. He was marketed and hyped primarily due to pakistan's obsession with copying kohli, aka making Babar bat at no 4 in test because kohli did so, and making Babar bat at no 3 in odi cause kohli did so.

Otherwise as a batsmen he's decent. Not as bad as people claim, but nowhere near the levels of yousaf, inzi, miandad, saeed etc etc. He's honestly a disgrace in terms of test cricket and in odi he's essentially shai hope, aka a good batter with excellent numbers surpassing other batters like Brooks and Travis statistically but talent and impact wise he's way behind them.

England would be caught dead replacing Brooks for Babar lol.

still waiting....

when #ranalogic fails......

We talking about kohli na...awein ksi ko b best batter leh deta hai

Right.

The reason why Major mentioned me in this thread is because I questioned his comment where he stated “Imran Farhat is more respected than Mohammad Amir”. My response to this was that two great batsmen of this generation (Kohli and Smith) have gone on record to state Mohammad Amir is the most difficult seamer they have faced, hence it makes no sense to say Amir isn’t respected at all. This is a fair response by me, it really shouldn’t be questioned. There is no denying Amir earns respect and plaudits for his bowling skills.

Major has then tried to use a statement made by Virat Kohli to praise Babar Azam, a player who I have historically criticised, as this is his way of pushing me to also acknowledge Babar as a great player.

It’s a good attempt, but it still requires some context and why I shouldn’t be forced to acknowledge something that I do not agree with entirely.

First of all, the SEVERE criticism that I have for Babar Azam has nothing to do with his technique or output in ODI+ Test cricket. Unfortunately, people who struggle to differentiate between the formats also struggle to differentiate the criticism I have for Babar in accordance with formats. My severe criticism that I have with Babar Azam in T20s is because of,

A) His insistence of holding on to an opening position.

B) His continued, persistent attitude to not do justice to this position of opening in the powerplay.

C) His misuse of his power to cling on to this position knowing that he isn’t the right player for this role.

This is also fair and honest criticism. The stats and the output of Babar Azam causing his team to fail because of this for everyone to see. I should not be held accountable for an honest assessment, Babar Azam on the other hand should be.

Now, coming towards the question of praise for Babar being genuine or not, in comparison to praise for Amir being genuine or not by Kohli…

I would first like to clarify that I believe Kohli’s praise of Amir being the most difficult bowler he has faced may be slightly exaggerated on his behalf as the man has faced severe difficulty from far superior seamers than Amir. However, I do believe there is some merit in this assessment considering another great of the game (Smith) has echoed the same sentiment regarding Amir, so there could be something about Amir’s bowling that does not allow great batters like Kohli and Smith to feel as fluent as they would like to be at the crease. Furthermore, Mohammad Amir did get the best out of their battle at one of the most pivotal moments the two players faced each other on the grand stage. Virat Kohli being in the elite batting form he was in the year 2017 at the Champion’s Trophy stood no chance against Mohammad Amir’s opening burst which completely broke the back of his team, especially with Virat being dismissed twice in two balls by Amir. Any great batter will have that memory, that scar etched in his mind for eternity on that occasion. It stays with you forever.

In the case of Virat commenting on star sports in the build up to the Asia cup 2022 WHICH WAS TO BE PLAYED IN T20 FORMAT , praising Babar as the best batsman across formats. I believe this is a good marketing ploy in order to generate more hype and views for the event from a commercial aspect. Is there cricketing merit in this claim? I think yes and no.

I think there is cricketing merit in the statement in the sense that Virat probably did not want to praise Babar Azam as a T20 batter knowing the standards that are required by T20 openers considering the vast amount of T20 cricket he has played and seen, and it wouldn’t be right to overhype Babar as a T20 player for the position he is in because that is a great injustice to the great openers and the current openers at the time who played fearlessly. Does Kohli think Babar is a better T20 opener than Sharma in 2022? Does Kohli think it is fair to consider Babar a better T20 opener than Warner, Roy, Bairstow, DeQock, Munro, Guptil etc? My honest answer and assumption is…I think not. Hence I feel Virat said the right thing when praising his counterpart by using the ‘across format’ clause because this way you don’t have to emphasise on his T20 deficiencies and you can also tick the boxes which the broadcasters require from him in building up some hype to the competition. Babar at the time was indeed a good ODI batsman and was also a decent Test batsman. The comment is fair.

If anyone can provide me with a comment by Kohli praising Babar solely as a great T20 batter, we can then discuss it. In my honest opinion, I feel Kohli and all of Insian batters do not rate Babar at all as a T20 player. It makes no sense to rate him as a T20 batter considering the position he plays in (opener).

Right.

The reason why Major mentioned me in this thread is because I questioned his comment where he stated “Imran Farhat is more respected than Mohammad Amir”. My response to this was that two great batsmen of this generation (Kohli and Smith) have gone on record to state Mohammad Amir is the most difficult seamer they have faced, hence it makes no sense to say Amir isn’t respected at all. This is a fair response by me, it really shouldn’t be questioned. There is no denying Amir earns respect and plaudits for his bowling skills.

Major has then tried to use a statement made by Virat Kohli to praise Babar Azam, a player who I have historically criticised, as this is his way of pushing me to also acknowledge Babar as a great player.

It’s a good attempt, but it still requires some context and why I shouldn’t be forced to acknowledge something that I do not agree with entirely.

First of all, the SEVERE criticism that I have for Babar Azam has nothing to do with his technique or output in ODI+ Test cricket. Unfortunately, people who struggle to differentiate between the formats also struggle to differentiate the criticism I have for Babar in accordance with formats. My severe criticism that I have with Babar Azam in T20s is because of,

A) His insistence of holding on to an opening position.

B) His continued, persistent attitude to not do justice to this position of opening in the powerplay.

C) His misuse of his power to cling on to this position knowing that he isn’t the right player for this role.

This is also fair and honest criticism. The stats and the output of Babar Azam causing his team to fail because of this for everyone to see. I should not be held accountable for an honest assessment, Babar Azam on the other hand should be.

Now, coming towards the question of praise for Babar being genuine or not, in comparison to praise for Amir being genuine or not by Kohli…

I would first like to clarify that I believe Kohli’s praise of Amir being the most difficult bowler he has faced may be slightly exaggerated on his behalf as the man has faced severe difficulty from far superior seamers than Amir. However, I do believe there is some merit in this assessment considering another great of the game (Smith) has echoed the same sentiment regarding Amir, so there could be something about Amir’s bowling that does not allow great batters like Kohli and Smith to feel as fluent as they would like to be at the crease. Furthermore, Mohammad Amir did get the best out of their battle at one of the most pivotal moments the two players faced each other on the grand stage. Virat Kohli being in the elite batting form he was in the year 2017 at the Champion’s Trophy stood no chance against Mohammad Amir’s opening burst which completely broke the back of his team, especially with Virat being dismissed twice in two balls by Amir. Any great batter will have that memory, that scar etched in his mind for eternity on that occasion. It stays with you forever.

In the case of Virat commenting on star sports in the build up to the Asia cup 2022 WHICH WAS TO BE PLAYED IN T20 FORMAT , praising Babar as the best batsman across formats. I believe this is a good marketing ploy in order to generate more hype and views for the event from a commercial aspect. Is there cricketing merit in this claim? I think yes and no.

I think there is cricketing merit in the statement in the sense that Virat probably did not want to praise Babar Azam as a T20 batter knowing the standards that are required by T20 openers considering the vast amount of T20 cricket he has played and seen, and it wouldn’t be right to overhype Babar as a T20 player for the position he is in because that is a great injustice to the great openers and the current openers at the time who played fearlessly. Does Kohli think Babar is a better T20 opener than Sharma in 2022? Does Kohli think it is fair to consider Babar a better T20 opener than Warner, Roy, Bairstow, DeQock, Munro, Guptil etc? My honest answer and assumption is…I think not. Hence I feel Virat said the right thing when praising his counterpart by using the ‘across format’ clause because this way you don’t have to emphasise on his T20 deficiencies and you can also tick the boxes which the broadcasters require from him in building up some hype to the competition. Babar at the time was indeed a good ODI batsman and was also a decent Test batsman. The comment is fair.

If anyone can provide me with a comment by Kohli praising Babar solely as a great T20 batter, we can then discuss it. In my honest opinion, I feel Kohli and all of Insian batters do not rate Babar at all as a T20 player. It makes no sense to rate him as a T20 batter considering the position he plays in (opener).
Very good post. Love it when you post with logic, good to know that you believe Kohli exagerrated about Amir.

However, as for Kohli praising Babar T20, Kohli said across formats

Very good post. Love it when you post with logic, good to know that you believe Kohli exagerrated about Amir.

However, as for Kohli praising Babar T20, Kohli said across formats
I said he slightly exaggerated about Amir. Not flat out exaggerated.

Kohli has faced Steyn, Johnson, Boult, Anderson. He struggled massively against Junaid Khan in the early part of his career. He has faced Amir on a fewer occasions than he has others, I don’t believe he doesn’t rate any of those bowlers above Amir at the point when the made that statement.

I’ve clarified why the ‘across formats’ statement is fair. There is NO WAY IN HELL he could praise Babar as a T20 batsman considering he plays as an opener.

This is what you guys do to somehow absolve Rizwan as well as failed T20 player.

Kohli has faced Steyn, Johnson, Boult, Anderson. He struggled massively against Junaid Khan in the early part of his career. He has faced Amir on a fewer occasions than he has others, I don’t believe he doesn’t rate any of those bowlers above Amir at the point when the made that statement.

I’ve clarified why the ‘across formats’ statement is fair. There is NO WAY IN HELL he could praise Babar as a T20 batsman considering he plays as an opener.

This is what you guys do to somehow absolve Rizwan as well as failed T20 player.
I really dont care what one player has to say about another. But he made the claim across formats didnt he? It doesnt matter how anyone interprets it, but said so.

But what he says about Amir or Babar doesnt really matter at the end of the day. What a player wins is what matters.

We are having some recency bias here as babar has a dip in form but back in 2021 22 he was actually considered the best batsman across formats.

Regarding amir, i have seen him bowl alot and even now i d say he is one of the best bowling minds in this country but has lacked hard work and persistence to become a great. But there s no denying he is a smart operator and gets the best out of him when he bends his back but more often than not he doesnt bowl that way.

We are having some recency bias here as babar has a dip in form but back in 2021 22 he was actually considered the best batsman across formats
I’ve explained above. Regardless of whether he was considered the ‘best across formats’ in that period, there is simply no justification whatsoever to rate him as a top tier T20 player considering he played as an opener. Not a number 3, 4 or 5. He has and always will be a below par T20 opener. He’s not built for this role and I don’t see him ever upgrading his game to match the standard required for this role. The more you persist with him for this role, the more Pakistan or his team will fall short.

Besides this, I have also argued that concept of what should be considered the ‘Best batter across formats’ is viewed in the wrong lens in general.

If you wish to argue that a player is the best all format batter, then you must view it from how they are approaching the white ball game and not Test cricket. The best all format batter cannot be someone who at any point in their career has been a white ball liability.

I’ve explained above. Regardless of whether he was considered the ‘best across formats’ in that period, there is simply no justification whatsoever to rate him as a top tier T20 player considering he played as an opener. Not a number 3, 4 or 5. He has and always will be a below par T20 opener. He’s not built for this role and I don’t see him ever upgrading his game to match the standard required for this role. The more you persist with him for this role, the more Pakistan or his team will fall short.

Besides this, I have also argued that concept of what should be considered the ‘Best batter across formats’ is viewed in the wrong lens in general.

If you wish to argue that a player is the best all format batter, then you must view it from how they are approaching the white ball game and not Test cricket. The best all format batter cannot be someone who at any point in their career has been a white ball liability.
Even greats such as Steve smith has never once been called an all format great. Never.

It's either test great, T20 specialist or all format specialist. Odi specialists do exist like fakhar however the format has faded away and has been reduced to tournaments only.

Babar Azam is not the best T20I player in Pakistan, let alone in the world. He’s an excellent ODI batter and good test batter. This is still a great skill set and nothing to sniff at!

He’d likely be worse down the order in T20Is than he is up the order.

Pakistan MUST start investing in actual T20I players including Haris, Fakhar, and Saim, with Hassan Nawaz and Yasir Khan now banging on the door as well who are ready to go toe to toe with modern T20I teams.

Babar Azam "Probably The Best Batter In The World Across Formats": Virat Kohli

Probably is the key word here

So kohli him self wasn't sure at that time in 2021/22 but fast forward to 2025 let's ask kohli again I'm 100 percent certain his response won't be the same. He is now sure that Babar isn't the best batter in the world.

Some of the very few voices on this forum who actually have a vision for what could be: The dream of a modern white ball team that is ready to fight fire with fire is still alive in some hearts…
Pakistan is a blessed land. Whoever has said Pakistan “doesn’t have talent” has had to eat his words not soon after. What we don’t have are vision and will.

Not anymore. Babar is not the best right now in all-formats. He is struggling in t20s and his form in Tests is also not good.