Babar Azam Test Captaincy SACK countdown thread

Out to a long hop against a debutant which sparked a collapse, no idea what he was doing there.

-If you are a good player, you will command respect in the dressing room.

-If you are a senior in age, you will command respect in the dressing room

just Pakistani thinking.

two years is plenty time to realise he doesn't have the aptitude to captain, he's a talented batsman, but lacks the mental strength or aptitude to lead a test team.

given he's captained in pak, west indies and zim, his record is pretty rubbish. what looks like 1 win in 8 tests is grounds enough to show he has not developed, if not regressed as a captain.

He should be sacked

Imam should be the test captain and Shaheen as vice captain

Shadab to be the white ball captain, Shaheen as vice captain

About to get whitewashed at home. If that isn’t immediate grounds for dismissal, I don’t know what is.

He should be sacked

Pakistan are better off with Saud Shaqeel as captain

I can’t care less if he has only played 3 Tests

Pakistan are better off with Saud Shaqeel as captain

I can’t care less if he has only played 3 Tests

Saud Shakeel would make a good chance, he has got a lot of captain experience at lower level

Should have been knocked out of Asia cup in group stages having nearly botched the Afghanistan game

Should have been knocked out in the World Cup group stage having being saved by Netherlands

Should have lost the Tri series final even though we were saved by Nawaz, Haider blinders

Should have lost 7-0 to England in the T20i series had England been a bit more serious

We can’t keep on defending this guy, his horrendous tactics and his belief in certain players!

Saud Shakeel would make a good chance, he has got a lot of captain experience at lower level

He was actually a brilliant captain in the T20 cup this year as well. The guy comes across as smart and organised

He should be sacked

Are you actually serious? Bloke is barely averaging 37 after playing on Pakistani roads. He should be nowhere near the team never mind captain.

Babar obviously has to be sacked but Imam isn't the answer.

If it was not Pakistan..then yes Saud Shakeel would be a good choice…as he has experience of captaincy in domestic as well….but here, senior players will revolt against him..and they would not accept a junior being captain over them..and start doing behind the scene politics to oust him… has always been the case in Pakistan..whenever a junior player, has been made captain..as our players only accept best batsmen/bowler or most senior player as captain in the team..

It could have been argued that Pakistan lost 2 close games in the first two tests after having lost the toss. The toss sadly in cricket is too much of an influence and something needs to be done about it.

However he's won the toss this match and they're about to get annihalated. Babar is a very stubborn and reactionary captain. We need someone who is less stubborn and more pro-active but sadly I don't know if we have anyone like that and more importantly they'll be working with the same toothless tools.

Pakistan must change the captain even if the captain cannot merit a place in the team, better to have a forward thinking pro-active person than Babar who is brain dumb at the best of times.

If it was not Pakistan..then yes Saud Shakeel would be a good choice…as he has experience of captaincy in domestic as well….but here, senior players will revolt against him..and they would not accept a junior being captain over them..and start doing behind the scene politics to oust him… has always been the case in Pakistan..whenever a junior player, has been made captain..as our players only accept best batsmen/bowler or most senior player as captain in the team..

What senior players? There are no guys with personalities in this dressing room. This isnt the era where you had larger than life characters such as Wasim, Inzimam, Saleem Malik, Yousuf, Moin, Saqlain, Waqar, Afridi, Razzaq, Anwar, Younis Khan etc.

These guys are poor players but they are lifeless characters too. There will be no revolt as such

It's genuinely embarrassing how clueless he is. Imagine if it was Australia or England trying to defend 167 here. They would fight and believe until the final moment even if they required 10 wickets with 1 run remaining. This guy accepts a loss even before entering the pitch. This kind of horrible mentality rubs onto the rest of the team. A pure loser.

4 home losses in a row. 2 matches before that they barely managed to rescue draws on flat wickets. He simply has to go.

What senior players? There are no guys with personalities in this dressing room. This isnt the era where you had larger than life characters such as Wasim, Inzimam, Saleem Malik, Yousuf, Moin, Saqlain, Waqar, Afridi, Razzaq, Anwar, Younis Khan etc.

These guys are poor players but they are lifeless characters too. There will be no revolt as such

What about Babar? Shaheen, when he comes back? Will Babar accept Saud Shakeel as his captain? Babar isnt too docile…..hes headstrong…. Or what abt Shaheen? Shaheen is also a superstar in Pakistan.. all players have their groupings…. they will start politicking with their friends in the team..

For the time being..should make either Sarfaraz or Shan as test captain…and after few yrs..make Saud Shakeel captain…….. Ideally I would want Shaheen as captain..as hes an automatic choice in all 3 formats..if fully fit..but being a fast bowler, he will always be injury prone

Does anyone know when was the last time a home team was whitewashed 3-0 in Tests?

Barring a miracle, whitewash is imminent, and with the Whitewash, Babar Azam must relinquish his captaincy.

Enough is enough.

What about Babar? Shaheen, when he comes back? Will Babar accept Saud Shakeel as his captain? Babar isnt too docile…..hes headstrong…. Or what abt Shaheen? Shaheen is also a superstar in Pakistan.. all players have their groupings…. they will start politicking with their friends in the team..

For the time being..should make either Sarfaraz or Shan as test captain…and after few yrs..make Saud Shakeel captain…….. Ideally I would want Shaheen as captain..as hes an automatic choice in all 3 formats..if fully fit..but being a fast bowler, he will always be injury prone

Go ahead. Repeat cycle of mediocrity with Shaheen as captain or Rizwan.

This whole mindset needs to break. Imam, Shaheen, Abdullah, Rizwan and Shan are all from the same school of Babar and this PCB.

Does anyone know when was the last time a home team was whitewashed 3-0 in Tests?

Barring a miracle, whitewash is imminent, and with the Whitewash, Babar Azam must relinquish his captaincy.

Enough is enough.

Bangladesh could achieve such feats but no one plays more than 2 Tests in BD

Go ahead. Repeat cycle of mediocrity with Shaheen as captain or Rizwan.

This whole mindset needs to break. Imam, Shaheen, Abdullah, Rizwan and Shan are all from the same school of Babar and this PCB.

I think Shaheen seems to have a figting mindset… he is not as timid as Babar… although an entirely different format..but Shaheen captained LQ well

Babar is not very bright. We need a captain who speaks fluent English and has a professional image.

Shan Masood should be given the captaincy.

Babar has been allowed to get away with mediocrity and poor failing results for a long time. This thing is unheard of in the professional world where if you fail and don't perform for a year, you get warnings, reminders and eventually you are sacked, replaced in very brutal unforgiving circumstances.

Some people take the warnings as a much needed kick in the backside. Babar on the other hand has abused the powers, confidence given to him by the PCB and Ramiz in the last year and now he has to be held accountable in very brutal circumstances.

I think Shaheen seems to have a figting mindset… he is not as timid as Babar… although an entirely different format..but Shaheen captained LQ well

Sorry. I have no respect for Shaheen being a leader especially when he came out with that dumb tweet in support of his mates at the time when Babar and Rizwan scored that 200 run partnership against Willey, Curran and the poor seamer at Karachi.

He then had the audacity to sit with Aqib Javed in the PSL draft as if his disrespect for the man who helped him so much as a bowler is forgotten.

Shaheen can captain in T20 for all I care where his workload is 4 overs and not 40 in a Test

Babar is not very bright. We need a captain who speaks fluent English and has a professional image.

Shan Masood should be given the captaincy.

Yes let’s make someone as captain who averages 29 and is not even k the first team. What can go wrong?? 🤔

Should have been knocked out of Asia cup in group stages having nearly botched the Afghanistan game

Should have been knocked out in the World Cup group stage having being saved by Netherlands

Should have lost the Tri series final even though we were saved by Nawaz, Haider blinders

Should have lost 7-0 to England in the T20i series had England been a bit more serious

We can’t keep on defending this guy, his horrendous tactics and his belief in certain players!

Yep, Babar's only lasted this long as various individuals have produced worldies at key moments.

Without Naseem's sixes vs AFG and Dutch team doing us a massive favour - his T20 record would be as bad as his Test tenure.

Babar ranks marginally above Salman Butt in our all-time worst captains, only because the latter was a fixer.

Yes let’s make someone as captain who averages 29 and is not even k the first team. What can go wrong?? ��

You pick from whatever you have . Among the available players, Shaan is the only choice , who else ? May be after a year or so if Saud keep showing form , he could take over.

He has replicated his Karachi Kings leadership in the Pakistani team. Wasim Akram was smart enough to kick this panoti out of Karachi Kings immediately

The fact there are no alternative options shows how fragile and mentally weak this Pakistan team is.

Sorry. I have no respect for Shaheen being a leader especially when he came out with that dumb tweet in support of his mates at the time when Babar and Rizwan scored that 200 run partnership against Willey, Curran and the poor seamer at Karachi.

He then had the audacity to sit with Aqib Javed in the PSL draft as if his disrespect for the man who helped him so much as a bowler is forgotten.

Shaheen can captain in T20 for all I care where his workload is 4 overs and not 40 in a Test

@bold.. who did Aqib Javed insult?

Babar is still better choice among all available. He is still performing as batsman. In Pak captain has to be a performer.

This is a load of bullocks. Babar is not the best choice available. Cricket is in the end a results game and in a professionally run organization he would have been shown the door already by now.

Do you think Australians would have tolerated their captain and players losing 4 games on the trott at home? Nope, the captain and some players would be shown the door.

@bold.. who did Aqib Javed insult?

He didn’t insult anyone. He stated facts. He said LQ do not insist on getting Babar out during the LQ v KK clash because the longer Babar is out there the chances of his team diminish. He was right. He is usually right

Babar isn't going anywhere but he needs to improve in his selection. I hope I am wrong, but it seems that Babar picks his friends. His selection of the likes of Hasan Ali, when clearly they offer nothing is very problematic. Its OK at franchise level but it causes problems in international with the loss of trust

Him and Rizwan have become too powerful. Theirs powers need to be clipped. We need a coach that has a say in the selection. Saqlain is a dummy coach.

The fact there are no alternative options shows how fragile and mentally weak this Pakistan team is.

I thought there were no other options when Root was the England captain and I was prepared for him to continue on this basis, but he stepped down and they took a risk by choosing Stokes.

Stokes was the first choice of the ECB & the pundits, but many England fans had a lot of reservations about the decision. Then look what happened. We had to eat humble pie quickly.

Take a risk, take a punt. Can’t be any worse when a team is losing all of the time anyway like England were. Change things up. It might work.

I thought there were no other options when Root was the England captain and I was prepared for him to continue on this basis, but he stepped down and they took a risk by choosing Stokes.

Stokes was the first choice of the ECB & the pundits, but many England fans had a lot of reservations about the decision. Then look what happened. We had to eat humble pie quickly.

Take a risk, take a punt. Can’t be any worse when a team is losing all of the time anyway like England were. Change things up. It might work.

That was Stokes though, who do we have, Faheem Ashraf?

Exactly. Taking risks is a concept alien to Pakistan Cricket Bosses and even fans. Persisting with Babar just because there are no apparent alternatives is the height of mediocrity.

Lol at the only thing wrong with Babar is he picks his friends. The boy after playing Cricket for 10 years i.e U19 and then for Pakistan is still incompetent when it comes to reading his game.

I hope Babar is at least given the opportunity to resign and not sacked.

To be honest with the NZ series just a few days away it may be best to give him a chance to redeem himself before he/PCB make any decision about this matter.

More than anything need to get the selection of the final team right.

Heat is on Babar now. A lot of sports reporters who were gaggaing over him being Pakistan's only world class batsman hence a deserving captain are now turning against him and are demanding his dismissal as of today.

Lol at the naive people who are claiming that only the team selection is wrong. The reality is that Babar is a thoroughly incompetent individual and the disasterous stint at Karachi Kings where they had their worst ever season showed us everything. People did not wake up to smell the coffee back then. Wasim Akram rightfully gave him a kicked him out and told him to get lost.

Exactly this.
Root lasted longer as captain because it was perceived that there was no obvious replacement. Respected commentators (including Hussain and Atherton) were wary of Stokes mainly because of the risk of overburdening the star all-rounder (as per Botham and Flintoff) but as well as well-publicised “off the field”issues.
It resulted in Root staying longer than was good for him and the team.

Babar is a wonderful batsmen — potentially in the top ten batsmen Pakistan has produced.
However, is an extremely limited captain — this will not change.
He should have the captaincy removed and be encouraged to continue as a batsman, as Root has done.

Whilst there is no obvious successor waiting in the wings, a change would benefit everyone (perhaps Babar included).

Other than Babar, only Shaheen is an automatic choice in all 3 formats.. plus he has shown leadweship qualities in PSL, although a totally different format.. once he fully recovers from injury, he should be considered aa all 3 format captain.. but only prob is ..being a fast bowler he will always be injury prone

Shaheen is a bowler him getting injured is a higher chance so I wouldnt give him test captaincy unless he quits other formats which is impossible.

This is the worst performance I have seen Pak give in a neutral or home venue.

The way they have given up is very similar to their Aus tours but this is worst its at home and they can’t wait to see it being over.
Hopefully they put up some fight tomorrow.

Shan Masood (experienced stop gap option), Saud Shakeel (long term option), or Imam Ul Haq.

I think Shan Masood, can captain for some years, and long term option, maybe Imam Ul Haq would seem like a better option, but one thing is for sure Babar a great Batsman, but not so much a great Captain, he needs to go, it might do him good, and he will be able to just focus on his batting.

Its time babar went

Id be inclined to give Imam a shot Hes got a bit of a character about him Hes carries himself well and isnt the worse bat

Theres not many options but imam does have something about him that might work

A change is needed Pakistan cant carry on like this series after series losses

It has to go to Shan Masood. He has been picked as captain of Yorkshire who are in a mess so they must have seen some leadership qualities in him.

With Azhar finally retired, there is a slot for him as number 3. I know his test average is not great but perhaps captaincy will give his batting more responsibility. We can't go on with Babar as test captain. It's humiliating to lose to SENA countries at home test series's.

I've been watching Babar Azam as skipper and to me he doesn't look comfortable as a captain and leader.

Some very good players don't make good skippers and I feel Babar is one of them.

Captaincy is difficult, it's tough and very few people are good at it.

Babar would be best served by stepping down as test skipper.

Babar captaincy is a problem but the bigger issue is the tools at his disposal.
We don't have captaincy material waiting in the wings who will come and win series with bowling line ups of Zahid Mahmood, M Ali and Wasim Jr. It's not happening. The worst thing is we have got in to decent positions in all 3 tests and blown it
Pakistan bowling has always given us hope and that would then leave babar to focus on scoring runs.
The issue right now is the captaincy is causing him to overthink because he doesn't have the bowlers who can do it for themselves.
Babar must have a last chance Vs NZ and he must win the series. The issue is the bowling he has at his disposal and I'm not sure what we do about that

Shan Masood (experienced stop gap option), Saud Shakeel (long term option), or Imam Ul Haq.

I think Shan Masood, can captain for some years, and long term option, maybe Imam Ul Haq would seem like a better option, but one thing is for sure Babar a great Batsman, but not so much a great Captain, he needs to go, it might do him good, and he will be able to just focus on his batting.

It has to go to Shan Masood. He has been picked as captain of Yorkshire who are in a mess so they must have seen some leadership qualities in him.

With Azhar finally retired, there is a slot for him as number 3. I know his test average is not great but perhaps captaincy will give his batting more responsibility. We can't go on with Babar as test captain. It's humiliating to lose to SENA countries at home test series's.

The main prerequisite of becoming a Test captain is to be a Test standard cricketer. Masood averages 29 after 26 Tests & he is 33 years old. There is more than enough evidence to conclude that he is not, was not & never will be a Test class player. Simply not good enough.

To be fair to Babar he has been unimpressive but Pakistan's selections/available bowling resources have been absolutely terrible

The weakest Asian teams of recent times in home series - MSD circa 2012, Sri Lanka intermittently since 2016, Bangladesh most time all have had some bad series at home but had some solid workhorse bowlers to build some consistency around to - young Ashwin, old Herath, Embuldeniya, Shakib/Taijul etc. This gave them template to win matches even in their worst rut if conditions, situations aligned for them.

Pak have throughout this series been toothless with ball and even the wkts Abrar has taken have come mainly with help from wkt and Eng aggressive mindset. No other bowler has been able to rein in Eng or pose continuous questions.

Do not think any captain in world would have enjoyed trying to win test matches with Mohammed Ali, Mohammed Nawaz, Zahid Mehmood, Mohd Wasim, Faheem Ashraf.

By all means Babar should be crucified for the poor series against Aus, poor utilisation of bowling resources in this series but tbf winning it with this lot isn't a fair expectation

Babar captaincy is a problem but the bigger issue is the tools at his disposal.
We don't have captaincy material waiting in the wings who will come and win series with bowling line ups of Zahid Mahmood, M Ali and Wasim Jr. It's not happening. The worst thing is we have got in to decent positions in all 3 tests and blown it
Pakistan bowling has always given us hope and that would then leave babar to focus on scoring runs.
The issue right now is the captaincy is causing him to overthink because he doesn't have the bowlers who can do it for themselves.
Babar must have a last chance Vs NZ and he must win the series. The issue is the bowling he has at his disposal and I'm not sure what we do about that

Babar has been given the full authority to select his squad of 15 and final 11. Even if you give him good players he will find ways to mismanage them. Mickey Arthur and even Misbah utilized Faheem Ashraf based on his all round skills but Babar has eroded the guys confidence to the ground. Babar is simply incompetent who is not up to the job.

The main prerequisite of becoming a Test captain is to be a Test standard cricketer. Masood averages 29 after 26 Tests & he is 33 years old. There is more than enough evidence to conclude that he is not, was not & never will be a Test class player. Simply not good enough.

Not really. Mike Brearley says hello.

I am inclined to give it to Shan Masood. Its about time we have an educated captain at the helm of affairs who can give some proper insight in the teams affairs in the press conferences.

Khuda ka khauf kar yaar

Allah ko bhi Jawaab dena hai aik din.

Let Saud do it. He will be fine

Khuda ka khauf kar yaar

Allah ko bhi Jawaab dena hai aik din.

Let Saud do it. He will be fine

On what basis should saud be captain? As we have seen just because you can make some runs doesnt mean you are captaincy material

On no basis. Just intuition

English intuition

I have it Alhamdolillah

From SKY:

Duckett top edge sweeps the last ball in the air but it lands safe with the fielder to deep. We saw in Pakistan's innings that Stokes would probably have had that fielder in a catching position.

Short of setting a fire on the field, what does this single cell organism need to do in getting shoved?!.

Your idols Gill and KL Rahul average 33 despite playing more at home, when Shan’s mostly been on the bus.
Opening is a tough gig.

Shaheen makes a good choice, at least he will ask the curator for fast bowling friendly pitches. We don't play a lot of test cricket, so the work load isn't much.

Rizwan is easily the best choice for captain. He has the energy and attacking instincts, and is a selection in all formats.

Not saying he would be perfect, but give him time and he will improve over the mess made by Babar.

Your idols Gill and KL Rahul average 33 despite playing more at home, when Shan’s mostly been on the bus.
Opening is a tough gig.

KL Rahul averages 35. He has played only 14/44 tests at home. Has 100s in Aus, SA, Eng, WI, SL.

Gill is just 23 and has helped us win a series down under.

They might to be great but surely not as bas a 33 year old who averages 29 after 26 tests lol.

I think its not Babar captaincy, its management that has to go. Last year Babar won 7 test out of 8( Dont count Bangladesh minnow in their own backyard and WI had beat England at home)

The apologists will just say “well there’s no one better” or “it won’t make a difference because we have no talent”

There is always someone better, even if that someone is a stop gap.

Put a few candidates together, look at the pros and cons. Pick one and let babar just bat.

Candidates:

Shaheen - decent option but it is more important to keep him fit, rotated and rested. If his fitness can be guaranteed he should be high on the list, but it’s obvious there is no guarantee.

Rizwan - no, just no. He will be Babar 2.0

Shan - clearly not good enough as a batsman. How they can he be a specialist captain? I can see elements in him that has a decent cricketing brain and a positive outlook. His problem is that he’s not good enough to execute it. However, if you give him a good side, he can be a passenger and maybe his team may be able to do the execution. I would keep this option open.

Saud - seems to have done well domestically although admittedly I haven’t watched any of it. He can hold his place in the team for now. So I would keep this option open.

Imam - he’s a combative personality and maybe the type of trait you would want in a captain. The problem is - his combativeness is mainly displayed in interviews and very rarely on the pitch. I would keep this low down on the list.

Sarfraz Ahmed. Left field suggestion, but rizwan is going downhill in both keeping and batting so he wouldn’t be that bad an option for the team anyway. sarfraz has a lot of experience as captain obviously and it was during his captaincy we first saw a slight move away from Misbah kindergarten tuk tuk tactics. I’d keep this option open.

Babar is big time deluded.

Delusion, he is being compared to some Romanian.

Danish Kaneria

"People should stop comparing Babar Azam to Virat Kohli. The likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are very big players. Pakistan have nobody in their team who can be compared to them. If you make them talk, they will be a king. When you ask them to produce results, they'll be zero"

"Babar Azam is a big zero as captain. He doesn't deserve to lead the team. He is not capable of leading the team, especially when it comes to Test cricket. He had a good chance of learning captaincy by looking at Ben Stokes and Brendon McCullum during the series. Or, he could have kept his ego aside and asked Sarfaraz Ahmed how to captain"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...h-kaneria-blazing-remark-101671511149360.html

Opening is a tough gig.

Gill is a superstar in the making, he is only 23 & he will go on to become a better batsman than Babar Azam.

KL Rahul has underperformed but he is miles better than Masood. You couldn’t have come up with a more daft analogy.

Masood is garbage. Always was & always will be. No serious Test side will even entertain the idea of having him in the playing XI let alone captain the side. It is a hilarious idea.

Rizwan is easily the best choice for captain. He has the energy and attacking instincts, and is a selection in all formats.

Not saying he would be perfect, but give him time and he will improve over the mess made by Babar.

Oh yes, Rizwan isn’t part of the mess created by Babar in the first place…

Not really. Mike Brearley says hello.

Different times. It is not the 70’s anymore. You cannot have a non-performing captain these days, he has nowhere to hide when the team loses. Look at what happened to Sarfraz.

Your captain does not need to be the best player in the side but he needs to justify a place in the side.

Masood does not because he does not deserve to play ahead of Imam or Shafique, & he has not done anything to justify taking over as number three from Azhar ahead of young batsmen in domestic cricket who deserve a chance ahead of a 33 year old with 10 years of mediocrity in the bank.

I've seen Rizwan's captaincy in the PSL and he has been impressive.

He is innovative, constantly thinking outside the box and he gives confidence to his bowlers, hence even a part time bowler like Khusdil did well.

Only problem right now, he is in bad form and his place in the side isn't guaranteed either.

Chalo

Rizwan ko bhi daikh lete hain.

Just remember, there is no Tim David and Rilee Rousow in Pakistan. Also, Test cricket is 5 days of cricket, not 3 hours.

Overrated batsman, awful captain.

Babar’s stock is plummeting at a rapid rate.

Even Shahid Afridi was a better captain than Babar Azam.

Its not like he doesn't have the mental strength, he is just not a Leader. He is good when it comes to his own batting. Captaincy is a different ball game. You have to be really good strategically and tactically which he is not.

The only guy who shows glimpse of leadership qualities is Shadab Khan but he is still too young for my liking.

There are no alternatives. Such a shame with having 220m of population.

Usual delusional, zero sense rambling from babar after the game. When clueless captain continues to Bury his head in the sand like an ostrich its no wonder Pakistan is in this mess.