Bangladesh refuses to travel to India for T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#84)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

Pakistan currently has no basis to boycott this tournsment given India has already met our demands.

We should support the Bangladeshis fully but must also be reasonable at the same time.

BCB has spoken to PCB already behind the scenes and they are being supported.

Your approach makes sense when dealing with sane parties

But India government is being run by beef-lynching bigots who are using cricket as a foreign policy tool

Also, the robbers running Pakistan can't take care of their own people. To expect this mafia, who murder fellow Pakistanis at the drop of a hat, to support another country (BD) against India is having a false expectation

That's why I intentionally brought up Pak cricket fans need to grow a backbone too.
It's not cricket which is being played by India. It's politics.

It will be just another overrated and overhyped T20 World Cup. It happens five times in a decade. It's nothing unique & only fattens the wallet of a bigot board. Hurt them financially by withdrawing a viewership of almost half a billion people

BD people can use some support right now from Pakistani people. More than words.

Maybe BCCI is also asking games to be moved. Hopefully they resolve the issue pretty soon whatever the outcome is. Anyway, the whole issue could've been completely avoided.

Currently hearing - Icc is negotiating with SL to play their matches in India instead. This is because broadcasting issue as the plan was to cover sometime 3 games on a day (2 in India and 1 in SL).

Maybe BCCI is also asking games to be moved. Hopefully they resolve the issue pretty soon whatever the outcome is. Anyway, the whole issue could've been completely avoided.

Read between the lines

The entire exercise was to humiliate your country

They did the same to Pakistani players during the Manmohan Singh govt. After lifting a ban on Pak players, they allowed them to participate in the auction but no team bought them

The owners were asked tough questions by the Indian press after that rehearsed drama of an auction and the owners under pressure told the press indirectly that the government didn't want them to buy the Pak players. However, the then PM played dumb and criticized the owners for not buying Pak players

It doesn't matter who is governing India, they use cricket as their foreign policy tool and score points in their domestic politics

The BCCI chief's father (Amit Shah) called Bangladeshis, Termites. His son is just following his que

I appreciate that you are trying to see the current debacle from cricket's lense

Unfortunately, it's not cricket being played here. It's politics.

With Pakistan & Bangladesh viewers and fans coming together with their half a billion viewers, we can fight the beef-lynching Indian politicians who have hijacked their cricket board

Hearing some news that ICC has accepted BCBs demands and Bangladesh matches to be moved to Sri Lanka.

@Devadwal
Honestly I don't Read the news as I'm not active on social Media's These days but I don't give a damn about These kanglu players .

Unko India m entry ni Milni chahiye, kya pta kab Jihadi ban jaye.

:klopp :kp

PCB is playing a double game

Not giving full support to the BD board

This opportunity will not come again. United against the beef-lynching Indian mob that has hijacked Indian cricket

Give the TV rights purchaser a big blow

Recently the Jiostar TV rights episode took place. A decline in further viewership will not be lucrative for the future rights deals.
BCCI might end up showing the cricket competitions on its own, like in the past. That is not a good financial cricket deal.

PCB should unite with the BCB and apply maximum pressure, instead of spending just words

Worry not about the legal issues. There is no international law in this world anymore

Hit their wallets. Respond to political moves of India with politics.

BCB have every right to not to feel secure in India.. if a single player can cause a problem here then how we expect to play their team here .?

@Smbhayi you are an old and respected poster here. I guess you also disagree with the current politics being played in your country ?

Sometimes I wonder how stupidly this Indian dispensation has acted in this matter.

By expelling a single BD cricket star as retaliation you:

1. Give space to our enemies in BD, turn hostile even neutral BD citizens and put our sympathisers there on the back foot.

2. Give space to Pakistan to create more tamasha.

3. Have no measurable impact (please correct me here) on the actual problems being faced by Hindus in BD.

Beyond spite, can anyone tell me how this is helping the minorities situation in Bangladesh?

I guess the way forward is Bangladesh to play all its matches in Sri Lanka, just like brother Pakistan, including the super 8's, semis and finals,hould they qualify.

Nice bonding session coming up for our Eastern and Western neighbours in beautiful idyllic Sri Lanka for all the matches of the WC.

Potentially, they can even get their hair done from the same hair dresser dude for a minimum of two times...
they can talk shop over PSL and BPL leagues, Discuss the latest Biryani recipes, so many common activities together including discussion about certain recent Films and film songs including.....ahhh....fantastic times ahead! :ifticool :faf:afridi

Nice bonding session coming up for our Eastern and Western neighbours in beautiful idyllic Sri Lanka for all the matches of the WC.

Potentially, they can even get their hair done from the same hair dresser dude for a minimum of two times...
they can talk shop over PSL and BPL leagues, Discuss the latest Biryani recipes, so many common activities together including discussion about certain recent Films and film songs including.....ahhh....fantastic times ahead! :ifticool :faf:afridi
Heard SRL is a good tourist destination.

true, my cousin has been there for his honeymoon - awesome place to visit for scenic beauty, exotic food, culture....
My cousin being into hiking recommends Badulla and Ella in the highlands/up country, some magic trek's there he says - off the beaten track but severly under rated - cooler climate and easier to hike and some photos i've seen testify to this...

ICC to meet with BCB over refusal to play T20 World Cup matches in India​

The ICC is set to meet with the Bangladesh Cricket Board [BCB] in a bid to resolve the problem of Bangladesh refusing to play their 2026 T20 World Cup matches in India due to deteriorating relations between the two countries.

ESPNcricinfo has learned that there is a call scheduled for Tuesday, during which the ICC is likely to request the BCB to allow the Bangladesh team to play its group matches in India as per the existing schedule.

The 2026 T20 World Cup in India and Sri Lanka begins on February 7 and concludes on March 8, with Bangladesh playing their first three Group C games in Kolkata on February 7 (vs West Indies), February 9 (vs Italy) and February 14 (vs England). Their final group game against Nepal is in Mumbai on February 17.

On Sunday, however, the BCB wrote to the ICC requesting that the governing body "consider" moving all of Bangladesh's matches "outside" India, citing the "safety and well-being" of the players.

The issue arose following the BCCI's directive to Kolkata Knight Riders [KKR], instructing the franchise to release Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman from its 2026 squad without specifying a reason publicly.

Mustafizur had been bought for INR 9.2 crore (USD 1.02 million approx.) at the IPL auction last month. What remains unconfirmed is who authorised the directive to remove Mustatfizur from the KKR squad. It is understood that there has been no IPL governing council meeting since the auction on December 16.

In its communication to the ICC, the BCB said it was acting on the "advice" of the Bangladesh government, which had raised concerns for the "safety and security of Bangladesh citizens" in India under the "prevailing situation". The BCB took a cautionary stance, though the Bangladesh government has not issued a travel advisory or imposed restrictions on its citizens travelling to or living in India.

The ICC has not made a public comment on the issue or responded to queries. The top brass of ICC, including the chairman Jay Shah, were at the BCCI head office in Mumbai on Monday, deliberating on the development and the next steps.

On the BCB front, it is understood that only a small group of directors, including the board president Aminul Islam and the chief executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury, have been authorised to engage on the issue with the ICC and the Bangladesh government.

Since Bangladesh government believes it’s unsafe for bangladeshis to visit India no visas should be issued to any Bangladeshi for any purpose

Starting with medical and business visas

Since Bangladesh government believes it’s unsafe for bangladeshis to visit India no visas should be issued to any Bangladeshi for any purpose

Starting with medical and business visas
consulates on both sides are closed i think, could be wrong. Banglas can start by leaving India in their millions, before asking for venue change....

Ok, than lets start by deporting Sheikh Hasina?
Not happening no matter what yunus does,

Modi has fired the warning that bd hasn’t caught yet, he has said India will not renew the water sharing agreement and will renegotiate it, Yunus will be made to crawl on his knees

Seems like ICC is going to reject Bangaldesh's last minute request. It is expected. BEcause IPL team is a private team. I think ICC may invite one of those european country to replace Bangladesh.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) looks set to reject the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)’s request to shift its group stage matches of the 2026 T20 World Cup out of India. According to a report in ESPNcricinfo, the ICC had a call scheduled with the members of the BCB for Tuesday (January 6), with officials set to ‘request’ the national board to stick to the World Cup roster amid soaring tensions between India and Bangladesh.

Relations between the BCB and the BCCI have worsened since the Indian board instructed IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to release Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman. The decision coincided with a rise in anti-Bangladesh sentiment in India, amid broader tensions over attacks on the Hindu minority in Bangladesh. On Monday, BCB president Aminul Islam said they didn’t feel ‘secure’ about sending the team to India.

Not happening no matter what yunus does,

Modi has fired the warning that bd hasn’t caught yet, he has said India will not renew the water sharing agreement and will renegotiate it, Yunus will be made to crawl on his knees
So bangladeshis shouldnt be given visas but sheikh hasina should be catered to with indian tax money. Lol ok

So according to the BCB, Bangladeshis are supposedly “at risk” in India; yet Bangalis are going to India for medical treatments and the resident eejit is not seeing the irony in it.... Funny how a “hostile nation” suddenly becomes the destination of choice. The story doesn’t square up… unless we’re dealing with "Major" grade logic.

What if ICC rejects flat out. What will be the next move of BCB? Will they withdraw. If they are smart they should withdraw. Not like they have a chance of winning this tournament. It would be hilarious to drop out because IPL team dropped a player.

Smart thing would be to turn up and win it, but then this is real life not PP Major wet fantasy land.....

So according to the BCB, Bangladeshis are supposedly “at risk” in India; yet Bangalis are going to India for medical treatments and the resident eejit is not seeing the irony in it.... Funny how a “hostile nation” suddenly becomes the destination of choice. The story doesn’t square up… unless we’re dealing with "Major" grade logic.
BCB showing bravado here will be a road to nowhere. But i understand they have to show some false bravado to please their fans. They are not powerful both financially or cricketing level as well.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) looks set to reject the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)’s request to shift its group stage matches of the 2026 T20 World Cup out of India. According to a report in ESPNcricinfo, the ICC had a call scheduled with the members of the BCB for Tuesday (January 6), with officials set to ‘request’ the national board to stick to the World Cup roster amid soaring tensions between India and Bangladesh.

Relations between the BCB and the BCCI have worsened since the Indian board instructed IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to release Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman. The decision coincided with a rise in anti-Bangladesh sentiment in India, amid broader tensions over attacks on the Hindu minority in Bangladesh. On Monday, BCB president Aminul Islam said they didn’t feel ‘secure’ about sending the team to India.
@Savak @DeadlyVenom @Major I hope Bangladesh care about self respect ( If they have any) and boycott the World T20 if ICC reject the kanglu request to shift the match from india to Lanka.

🍿🍿 :klopp :kp

BCB showing bravado here will be a road to nowhere. But i understand they have to show some false bravado to please their fans. They are not powerful both financially or cricketing level as well.
This reminds me Pakistan Fake threat during the Asia Cup and @Major opening the celebration thread about Pakistan boycott from Asia cup.

PCB - If match referee not suspend from UAE vs Pakistan match will will boycott the Asia Cup.

ICC- Nahi karna suspend Jo karna hai kar lo. 😂😂😂😂

PCB - ji my lord we will play the match. Sorry for the inconveniences.

Pakistani poster's - Crying in a corner.

EOD

:kopp :ko

ICC should allowed the kanglu request to change the Venues . honestly who care about these Minnow teams, where will they will play!! :kp

"As the government has taken a stance, we are bound to follow it. We will probably hear from the ICC tomorrow [today]," said the BCB director.

However, former BCB general secretary Syed Ashraful Haque, who previously served as CEO of the Asian Cricket Council, sees the situation differently.

"In this case, I believe the Indian government will say that they will provide 'head-of-state' level security for Bangladesh. Then the ball will come again to our court. Then we will decide whether we will travel or not," Ashraful told The Daily Star over the phone from Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

"Based on my experience, with only one month remaining before the tournament, relocating venues is an extremely uphill task.

"Moreover, if Bangladesh does not play -- or if the ICC refuses relocation and Bangladesh opt out -- the board is unlikely to receive its share of World Cup revenue. This could also lead to direct conflict with the BCCI."
All eyes are now on the ICC's decision, which can either resolve the uncertainty or trigger further discord.

"As the government has taken a stance, we are bound to follow it. We will probably hear from the ICC tomorrow [today]," said the BCB director.

However, former BCB general secretary Syed Ashraful Haque, who previously served as CEO of the Asian Cricket Council, sees the situation differently.

"In this case, I believe the Indian government will say that they will provide 'head-of-state' level security for Bangladesh. Then the ball will come again to our court. Then we will decide whether we will travel or not," Ashraful told The Daily Star over the phone from Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

"Based on my experience, with only one month remaining before the tournament, relocating venues is an extremely uphill task.

"Moreover, if Bangladesh does not play -- or if the ICC refuses relocation and Bangladesh opt out -- the board is unlikely to receive its share of World Cup revenue. This could also lead to direct conflict with the BCCI."
All eyes are now on the ICC's decision, which can either resolve the uncertainty or trigger further discord.
Your Last paragraph is most important, this is reasons why PCB , BCB who are dependent on ICC ( BCCI) handouts for survival never ever boycott the ICC events. Ye log toda Halla kar sakte hai Local publics ko satisfied karne ke liye baki himmat ni hai inme kuch karne ki.

where did i said i have an issue with that curry boy?

I find it weird that when did doctors start checking visas and really sad that doctors that sign an oath are feeling happy to reject treatment to bangladeshis.

Meanwhile providing refuge to Sheikh Hasina, meaning issues isnt with Bangladesh but not their favourite govt not being in power.

SL is much better than India in everything.

First of all, Sri Lankans are very intellient and pleasant unlike the low-IQ sanghis from India.

As a matter of fact, all south Asian countries are pleasant to visit except for India. India is the absolute worst. :inti

Same things for Pakistan , they banned the trade with india yet imported life saving drugs from india. Lol 🤣 🤣 :kp

I'm sure an Indian can understand the logic don't need to hide behind "Major " we can use BJP logic....the Bangladesh situation is sort of like how the Indian cricket team was at risk for the champions trophy , but Indian tennis team and other sporting teams etc was not.

Same things for Pakistan , they banned the trade with india yet imported life saving drugs from india. Lol 🤣 🤣 :kp
I'm sure an Indian can understand the logic don't need to hide behind "Major " we can use BJP logic....the Bangladesh situation is sort of like how the Indian cricket team was at risk for the champions trophy , but Indian tennis team and other sporting teams etc was not.
Can you answer this ? :kp

for which IIRC Indians and their so called logic was ridiculed....but you cant call yourselves to ridicule the Bangalis...
Let them face the music, they are talking a lot recently. Need a reality check. Ibe slapped is enough to understand them their true worth. :kp

where did i said i have an issue with that curry boy?

I find it weird that when did doctors start checking visas and really sad that doctors that sign an oath are feeling happy to reject treatment to bangladeshis.

Meanwhile providing refuge to Sheikh Hasina, meaning issues isnt with Bangladesh but not their favourite govt not being in power.

To enter a foreign country you need a visa and its quite ironical Bangalis are coming to a hostile nation, the point CJ was making, and your thick brains translated to doctors checking visas.

Hasina can be asked for once Banglais have taken their millions of vermins who arrived before her....

Now jog along sunshine...

To enter a foreign country you need a visa and its quite ironical Bangalis are coming to a hostile nation, the point CJ was making, and your thick brains translated to doctors checking visas.

Hasina can be asked for once Banglais have taken their millions of vermins who arrived before her....

Now jog along sunshine...
So why should Hasina go last?

Its always fun watching indiot logic at display

So why should Hasina go last?

Its always fun watching indiot logic at display
Already covered previously; selective reading much... but then you are the resident eejit and proving why that title solely belongs to you Wet bANKER.

1767733318068.png

Its funny how the BCCI cites lack of Govt approval for refusing to tour certain countries but they expect countries like Pakistan, Bangladesh to defy their own governments when they have refused them permission to tour India

How long is her visa for?
how is relevant to ejecting illegals BD's and not allowing them to suck up limited resources of india? you have already voiced you support for illegal BD's in india. They should completely cut off all Indian visas for BD's until they are properly vetted.

about the same tenure as any of ex Pakistani politicos & generals during their various exiles from Pakistan and awaiting for change in fortunes and regimes before heading back....

But then you knew that DV didnt you....
I don't think anyone has claimed they had a visa

At this point, I don't care what ICC decides.

Cricket turned into a farce due to sanghi paindoos.

Bangladesh should not go to India under any circumstance. If that means they forfeit, that's totally fine.

This is no longer about cricket. This is about safety/security of the players. :inti

on what basis was Musharaff living in London and Dubai then? Not to mention the Sharifs and the Bhuttos during their various exiles?
Certainly wasn't a visa as @rpant_gabba suggested was the case.

It seems like you also agree Hasina doesn't have a visa, so I'm not sure what the issue is.

She is a fugitive from a neighbouring country. Let's not pretend she is a tourist.

Certainly wasn't a visa as @rpant_gabba suggested was the case.

It seems like you also agree Hasina doesn't have a visa, so I'm not sure what the issue is.

She is a fugitive from a neighbouring country. Let's not pretend she is a tourist.
I dont agree on anything about visa etc.... you asked how long is the visa for and i replied back- the tenor's probably the same as of that Pakistani leaders in exile living abroad.

Its funny how the BCCI cites lack of Govt approval for refusing to tour certain countries but they expect countries like Pakistan, Bangladesh to defy their own governments when they have refused them permission to tour India
Because minnow country like Pakistan and Bangladesh have no stand , if india tour Pakistan tomorrow then Pakistan have no problem touring india so where is security concern gone?

Indian cricket team is World best team and they are full of superstars so obviously they are target for Islamist terrorist in pakistan or Bangladesh. Yii can't compared indian team with Pakistan and Bangladesh when comes to security concern.

India is safe for every team while same can't be said for pakistan.

At this point, I don't care what ICC decides.

Cricket turned into a farce due to sanghi paindoos.

Bangladesh should not go to India under any circumstance. If that means they forfeit, that's totally fine.

This is no longer about cricket. This is about safety/security of the players. :inti
Which happened the moment fizz was released from his IPL contract.

Keeping what's right/wrong aside, this is a dangerous game that BCB shouldn't be playing, because they can't win. Now they can either swallow their pride and look foolish by going to India, or they can forfeit those games but take the moral high-ground, which tbh is alot like cutting your nose off to spite your face...who exactly are you hurting anyway?

India's cricket right now is in the death grip of the far-right, and cricket has served as a powerful and successful political tool for the regime. It was entirely predictable that they would use it to pressurize Bangladesh in some way, but there was no reason for Bangladesh to react the way they did, and go as far as asking ICC to move games out of India, when that was something that was already agreed upon.

I know alot of posters were praising Bangladesh for showing 'spine', but fact is, they are now looking much worse and are basically stuck in a lose-lose situation.

I don't think anyone has claimed they had a visa
Even Sharif had a visa for UK and the basis for him staying in UK whilst cooling his heels and awaiting for the establishment to change their views.....

Now again, Tribune's not an Indian media source...

Which happened the moment fizz was released from his IPL contract.
I said the same thing in the above Post. They have no security concerns, but they are saddened by Fizz's exclusion from the IPL.

Same with Pakistan, they came to play in india for 2023 World cup without any security concern but india refused to go Pakistan to play champion trophy, thereafter they have security concerns. Lol

Pagal kisko bana rhe hai.

:klopp :kp

Even Sharif had a visa for UK and the basis for him staying in UK whilst cooling his heels and awaiting for the establishment to change their views.....

Now again, Tribune's not an Indian media source...

Well there you go his expired.

When does Hasinas expire do you know?