Bangladesh refuses to travel to India for T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#84)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

https://www.cricbuzz.com/
GET APP

ICC may consider BCB request for moving WC matches out of India​

Vijay TagoreSun, Jan 4, 2026 • 12:37 PM
cricbuzz-understands-that-icc-is-open-to-moving-the-bangladesh-games-to-sri-lanka

Cricbuzz understands that ICC is open to moving the Bangladesh games to Sri Lanka ©Getty
The International Cricket Council (ICC) might be open to considering the Bangladesh Cricket Board's (BCB) request to shift their Twenty20 World Cup games out of India.
The world body has not yet taken a call or formally met, more so today being a Sunday, but Cricbuzz understands that the ICC is not averse to moving the Bangladesh games to Sri Lanka, the co-hosts of the T20 World Cup.
The shifting may naturally necessitate a tweaking of the schedule, which could be done over the next couple of days. Bangladesh are in Group C along with England, West Indies, Nepal, and Italy, and are lined up to play all their league games in India - three in Kolkata and one in Mumbai.

L
I thank BCB for showing spine at the right time. Actually Bangladeshi players will never feel comfortable playing in India under these circumstances. They are not safe to travel at all. All the Bangladeshis should refrain themselves from travelling to India unless tension settles down between these two countries. India has become a lonely nation in the subcontinent because of some Hindu religious parties which are lunatics , fanatics and terrorists.
its in fact the worst timing. Bangladesh cricket board with all due respect has delusions of grandeur. Schedule is not going to be changed this late in the day. Either swallow Pride and play in India or forfeit the tournament.those are the only 2 options left. As a self-respecting Bangla fan I am Sure you will be ok, if your team boycott the tournament. Totally respect that.🙏

What we saw in Venezuela yesterday shows that power is might. In the world of cricket, the BCCI is to the sport what the USA is to global politics.

If anything, the BCCI demonstrates much more maturity and restraint. When Moshin Naqvi ran away with the Asia Cup trophy, the BCCI followed protocol and lodged only a formal complaint with the ICC. No impeachment, nothing.

In reality, if the BCCI wanted, it could flex its muscles and disrupt world cricket to the point where smaller boards would struggle to survive. Even Ramiz Raja admitted that the BCCI indirectly runs Pakistan cricket.

The problem is that some boards have started taking the BCCI’s silence and humility for granted.
Bas bas, Asia Cup ke trophy abhi taak lay nay pai, BCCI ko Usa samaj betha.

Naqvi not only kept the trophy, he also forced india to play in sri lanka against Pakistan while being host

Naqvi should have forced India to travel Pakistan for CT 2025 or conduct the tournament without India if he had guts. LOL.

India dragged Pakistan to Dubai to play India and also the final outside Pakistan. This is after Pakistan toured India for WC 2023.

WT20 2026 was always suppose to co hosted between Ind and SL. The only thing Naqvi got is one game between Ind v Pak in SL.

Naqvi was present to hand over the trophy, but it was our players who behaved immaturely. They should have acted professionally and accepted the trophy from him. :inti

Naqvi should have forced India to travel Pakistan for CT 2025 or conduct the tournament without India if he had guts. LOL.

India dragged Pakistan to Dubai to play India and also the final outside Pakistan. This is after Pakistan toured India for WC 2023.

WT20 2026 was always suppose to co hosted between Ind and SL. The only thing Naqvi got is one game between Ind v Pak in SL.

Raju, didn't you predict that Pakistan will play all its matches in India? Or was it someone else? :yk :inti

Again, u said BCCI is USA of cricket, i never said PCB is USA.

Yet you never got the Asia Cup, and are forced to play in Sri lanka.

L

its in fact the worst timing. Bangladesh cricket board with all due respect has delusions of grandeur. Schedule is not going to be changed this late in the day. Either swallow Pride and play in India or forfeit the tournament.those are the only 2 options left. As a self-respecting Bangla fan I am Sure you will be ok, if your team boycott the tournament. Totally respect that.🙏
BCB has taken this decision knowing that the venue may not be changed and they may find themselves not playing in the world cup ultimately. If this happens Bangladeshi fans including me will have no repentance at all .

Naqvi was present to hand over the trophy, but it was our players who behaved immaturely. They should have acted professionally and accepted the trophy from him. :inti
How did Naqvi behave during the tournament? Despite being the head of the ACC, he acted like a two-rupee Twitter troll throughout. Below are some of his antics:
  1. He took jibes at our armed forces by posting Ronaldo pictures from his official Twitter account.
  2. He tried to flex his muscles with the ICC by demanding the removal of match referee Andrew Pycroft, who had done nothing wrong. If he was truly brave, he could have complained against SKY, but instead he went after a relatively powerless official.
  3. When the ICC refused his demand, he threatened to pull out of the tournament altogether.
  4. He kept his team locked inside the hotel, left the UAE team waiting, and only relented after some sane voices within Pakistan explained the financial consequences of a boycott. Eventually, he agreed to play under the same referee, Andrew Pycroft.
  5. To save face, he then posted a muted video claiming that Pycroft had apologised.
  6. Before the final, he publicly told his team to “do whatever you want” and claimed he would handle the consequences.
  7. Finally, when the Indian team won the trophy by beating his side three times, he literally ran away with the trophy.

Dont let me open my mouth. Mai saara kaala chitta khol sakta hoon

Yet to see even one Indian poster admit that forcing KKR to off-load Fizz was unfair, but Ind posters are so adept at this game of doublethink that makes it easy for them to apply their selective boycott logic.

Also as @KingOfPakBreakfast and @Hawkeye have rightly pointed out, Ind’s economic wishy washy got to their head and they are behaving like typical classless new money types.

You can explain a ‘might is right’ theory a thousand times but it’s never going to be sound logic or based on sustainable/repeatable principles. Your board is in a position to shape the future of the game, why do you folks always think so narrowly.

BCB has taken this decision knowing that the venue may not be changed and they may find themselves not playing in the world cup ultimately. If this happens Bangladeshi fans including me will have no repentance at all .
You don't want to see hundreds of Rajus and Devas running around with plastic swords, chasing the bus carrying Bangladeshi players in Indian cities. The BCB made the right decision

Again, u said BCCI is USA of cricket, i never said PCB is USA.

Yet you never got the Asia Cup, and are forced to play in Sri lanka.
India never hosted any Asia cup since 1990s. Nothing to do with Naqvi. I know you are a supporter of his political party but you are giving more credit to him than he deserves. He should have shown this bravery during CT2025 and never allowed the tournament to be moved out of Pakistan. That is where he lost. Rest all is chooran that normally gets sold to awaam.

How did Naqvi behave during the tournament? Despite being the head of the ACC, he acted like a two-rupee Twitter troll throughout. Below are some of his antics:
  1. He took jibes at our armed forces by posting Ronaldo pictures from his official Twitter account.
  2. He tried to flex his muscles with the ICC by demanding the removal of match referee Andrew Pycroft, who had done nothing wrong. If he was truly brave, he could have complained against SKY, but instead he went after a relatively powerless official.
  3. When the ICC refused his demand, he threatened to pull out of the tournament altogether.
  4. He kept his team locked inside the hotel, left the UAE team waiting, and only relented after some sane voices within Pakistan explained the financial consequences of a boycott. Eventually, he agreed to play under the same referee, Andrew Pycroft.
  5. To save face, he then posted a muted video claiming that Pycroft had apologised.
  6. Before the final, he publicly told his team to “do whatever you want” and claimed he would handle the consequences.
  7. Finally, when the Indian team won the trophy by beating his side three times, he literally ran away with the trophy.

Dont let me open my mouth. Mai saara kaala chitta khol sakta hoon
BCCI should have taken care of him. Players are professionals, they should have taken the trophy. They behaved immaturely. :inti

India never hosted any Asia cup since 1990s. Nothing to do with Naqvi. I know you are a supporter of his political party but you are giving more credit to him than he deserves. He should have shown this bravery during CT2025 and never allowed the tournament to be moved out of Pakistan. That is where he lost. Rest all is chooran that normally gets sold to awaam.
Again, you made claim about bcci being usa of cricket yet your team was forced to return back to india without getting the trophy they won.

And also were forced to play a home game in sri lanka.

It doest matter what you are saying, becuasè you are the one who claimed BCCI to be USA of cricket, yet a Naqvi made a mockery out of u lot.

Yet to see even one Indian poster admit that forcing KKR to off-load Fizz was unfair, but Ind posters are so adept at this game of doublethink that makes it easy for them to apply their selective boycott logic.

Also as @KingOfPakBreakfast and @Hawkeye have rightly pointed out, Ind’s economic wishy washy got to their head and they are behaving like typical classless new money types.

You can explain a ‘might is right’ theory a thousand times but it’s never going to be sound logic or based on sustainable/repeatable principles. Your board is in a position to shape the future of the game, why do you folks always think so narrowly.
Basically, jitna bhi paisa aa jaye, bhikari ki auqaat phir bhi udher hi reh jaati hai

:afridi1

On the flip side, there isn’t any rational thinking from the other side either. Just repeat the same 1-2 words.I already gave multiple examples of how logistics can’t be changed at the last moment (there is always a first and maybe this is a first) based on various such scenarios in the past.

2 options are to play or boycott.

There is no chest-thumping here. It’s reality and a factual assessment based on how things work. Bigger boards and teams like Aus/WI/ Eng/Nzl were not given any special accommodation so what makes you think Bangladesh will.

If India got their way and got a hybrid model so did Pakistan. So it’s even. What’s unfair there either?

In fact most of our complaints is despite being a super rich sports board that controls cricket, why BCCI acts like a third world sarkari babu.

I can speak for myself, not sure if you are speaking of anyone specific though.

As far as Fizz goes, yes he shouldn’t have been dropped and this drama could have been avoided. However I also think he shouldn’t have been picked in the first place either. Nothing to do with cricket talent but given the current atmosphere.

If the intent was aman ki asha by picking him then he shouldn’t be dropped. However as I said shouldn’t have been picked to begin with.

On the flip side, there isn’t any rational thinking from the other side either. Just repeat the same 1-2 words.I already gave multiple examples of how logistics can’t be changed at the last moment (there is always a first and maybe this is a first) based on various such scenarios in the past.

There is no chest-thumping here. It’s reality and a factual assessment based on how things work. Bigger boards and teams like Aus/WI/ Eng/Nzl were not given any special accommodation so what makes you think Bangladesh will.

If India got their way and got a hybrid model so did Pakistan. So it’s even. What’s unfair there either?

In fact most of our complaints is despite being a super rich sports board that controls cricket, why BCCI acts like a third world sarkari babu.

As far as Fizz goes, yes he shouldn’t have been dropped and this drama could have been avoided. However I also think he shouldn’t have been picked in the first place either. Nothing to do with cricket talent but given the current atmosphere.

If the intent was aman ki asha by picking him then he shouldn’t be dropped. However as I said shouldn’t have been picked to begin with.
Specifically on the Fizz issue, the late realisation that he couldn’t be picked. Mixing sports with politics once again. As you said this was completely avoidable and wholly unnecessary. If BD players were to be excluded, should be happening much earlier in the process, the reactionary/whimsical bit is the most disappointing part.

BD doing what it’s doing now and how to deal with that is a separate question as far as I am concerned.

Fizz’s case has been mishandled and he’s been punished for a crime that he got absolutely nothing to do with.

Specifically on the Fizz issue, the late realisation that he couldn’t be picked. Mixing sports with politics once again. As you said this was completely avoidable and wholly unnecessary. If BD players were to be excluded, should be happening much earlier in the process, the reactionary/whimsical bit is the most disappointing part.

BD doing what it’s doing now and how to deal with that is a separate question as far as I am concerned.

Fizz’s case has been mishandled and he’s been punished for a crime that he got absolutely nothing to do with.
No disagreement there 👍.

They were trying to make a statement using Fizz as an example as he is a sports figure. Even more than Fizz, SRK/KKR is at a big loss here because now they have to revisit their strategy. Fizz will just think it wasnt in his rizq and move on.

I think it was a part of a broader plan to use Fizz as an example to make a statement. Not from BCCI/KKR, but from your political wings.

I dont think BCB is saying we will boycott the tournament. They are asking ICC if they can change venue. ICC may be able to do it or they may tell BCB to deal with it. Nonetheless, BCB had to do something rather than sit idle, otherwise, they would've lost confidence from it's audience.

Nonetheless, BD is a long term investment for ICC. There is a good chance BD will close the gap with even Australian GDP in ~15-20 years, and with one or two major wins, Cricket can truly finally kick off in BD. So, onus is on BCB to improve it's Cricketing infrastructure.

Instead of looking inwards, and basically chiding themselves for setting the horrible precedent of trying to sabotage tournamnets by refusing to visit hosting country like India did with Pakistan in CT. They are crying about the fact that India had to negotiate with Pakistan to play in Sri Lanka. I havent seen more obtuse and deluded folks than Indians. They really think the world revolves them. They deserve this humiliation.

If you recall, the same Indians like @Rajdeep and @Devadwal were beating their chests claiming India will back track from their agreement and that Pakistan will be forced to play in India. You can see the ghatiya neech nature of such a low class mentality.

Bangladesh is doing the exact same thing that India did with Pakistan during the CT. In Bangladesh’s case at least they have a rationale.

Security concerns are genuine we all know how backwards indians are, rowdy agressive jahil janglee type of people anything can happen to bangla team there.

On behalf of Babar fans, I request for the WT20 to be moved to Nepal, so our nakli king can score some runs in a 7 match warm up series against Nepal.

I've read Sandeep Lamichhane is back playing cricket and has returned to the Nepali national team set-up. This would be some trial by spin for Babar.

Worse still both teams appearing in the same group is due to India's insistence. Pakistan doesn't have the pull or the money or the sponsors or the TV contracts for this. If India wanted we would not be in the same group.

That's the hilarious bit of this all that the tiny amount of actual Indo Pak games happening are because of India. Who otherwise cry boycott boycoot.

What's also funny is India Muslims are lynched across India every day. Social media and certain websites dedicated to this show this. India could have been boycotted for this 100 times over.

The BCCI and BJP will beat their chests and try to convince their gullible cheerleaders that they want to cut all cricketing ties with Pakistan, but everyone knows it’s them posturing for their audience.

Let us move the whole tournament to Malaysia.
Most tournaments due to be hosted in Asia should be moved to Dubai.

No issues and enough ex pat supporters to fill the grounds.

Even if Bangladesh did play in India BD supporters would not have found it easy to get visa.

Sri Lanka there is usually a weather related fiasco too.

Dubai is nice and easy for everyone

Most tournaments due to be hosted in Asia should be moved to Dubai.

No issues and enough ex pat supporters to fill the grounds.

Even if Bangladesh did play in India BD supporters would not have found it easy to get visa.

Sri Lanka there is usually a weather related fiasco too.

Dubai is nice and easy for everyone

India isn’t a great host on a good day but in todays world even with Visas how is it possible for a Bangladeshi family to feel safe travelling to India ? Hasina is also lurking 👀.

India is no longer a reliable and civilised partner in cricket . The ICC should be dismantled. Nations can play the sport with whoever they wish . World cups are just tournaments. Cricket may improve.

My issue with indian posters reflects on this topic.

BCCI cant decide who plays and who doesnt. Its the IPL team whoever they want to purchase and retain. If BCCI starts dictating on who plays and who doesnt than this shows how bad IPL is.

Not a single Indian poster here calls out the discrimination here...

It seems like you neither have Indian relatives nor many Indian friends

From the very childhood they are trained to follow, only. There is a reason why they work as IT contractors for foreign companies and have no significant technology or a web browsers of their own

When was the last time the Indians either on this forum or elsewhere criticized their own policies?

Remember the DRS issue? For a long time DRS was useless and every Indian cricket fan supported its lack of use in Indian games. All of the sudden due to changes in the leadership of Indian cricket, DRS became "socially" acceptable and now every Indian fan is OK with it

I am speaking from the decades of my experience with Indian relatives and Indian friends

Don't expect any rationality or an intelligent stance from them on any topic. Their schooling doesn't allow it. They are brainwashed to follow only. They are strangers to nuances of life

Indians are not self-critical, like us Pakistanis

Bangladesh is doing the exact same thing that India did with Pakistan during the CT. In Bangladesh’s case at least they have a rationale.

A Champions Trophy without India and a WT20 without Bangladesh are not comparable situations. I don’t think many people—outside of a few optimists here—see any real equivalence either.

That said, Pakistan actually extracted a good deal from this episode. and Pakistan has already got the deal in two hybrid events—the Women’s World Cup and the WT20.There’s a strong chance that most such tournaments will still end up being hosted in India anyway,

Now, does Bangladesh have similar leverage? Not really.

First, India touring Bangladesh is effectively a favor. Historically, these tours are highly profitable for Bangladesh, while they tend to be loss-making for Indian broadcasters. So India wouldn’t exactly lose sleep agreeing to a hybrid model with Bangladesh—if anything, they would agree to it without hesitation.

For context—and just to be clear, this isn’t chest-thumping or meant to be demeaning—Bangladesh has never played a bilateral ODI series in India. That alone speaks to the imbalance in leverage.

Realistically, whatever case or rationale Bangladesh presents is likely to be brushed aside.

That said, this is a politically tricky situation for the Modi government. With West Bengal elections approaching and anti-Bangladesh sentiment currently high in India, the government will likely feel compelled to double down rather than soften its stance. Any perceived concession could come at a political cost.

Fortunately, we live in a democracy. If the public disagrees, they’ll respond accordingly—and we’ll find someone more competent.

That’s all. Simple.

Don’t let common sense get in the way of India hatred 👍

What recent development? Why did they allow him in the auction in the first place? This is so ridiculous move by BCCI.

Don't expect any pragmatism and real truth from many Indian posters here

The combined population of Pak and BD is almost half a billion people. That's the market they will be losing in IPL if BD govt chooses to follow its declared policy

Anyone who thinks a loss of a market of almost half a billion people is not going to affect the bottomline of a sports organization, they are mostly lying and if they do believe in it, they should get an appointment with the nearest lunatic asylum

The Sheikhs have started to invest in cricket. There will be a lot of private franchise cricket viewing competition in future. IPL will still retain the largest marketshare for a little while but their piece of the pie will continue to reduce. It's inevitable since their politics always marry with sports.

Which country is next? Afghanistan? Or Australia? :inti
I don't know what are you talking about

India can easily replace the players from BD and Pak. They are going to invite the the cricketers from Bhutan. Bhutan is more politically aligned with Indian policies

Get with the program

The loss of the market of almost a half billion people of BD and Pak, means nothing to Indian Cricket

Get with the program man!

Not a great look for India this.

If matches moved out, ECB will be really peeved off having to do the unnecessary travel to Sri Lanka and possibly again for a semi or final against Pakistan.

Soon teams will just get tired of BCCI’s stupid insistence on politicising the sport

India dream of hosting the Olympics too. Not sure how, they are not USA, China or Russia where they will get the same kind of western whitewashed overlooking

This is another delusion propped by ever lying Bhakts

There is no chance of India hosting Summer Olympics. The AQI is horrible and the heat is unbearable in summer

The international athletes have raised the very issue in the past

There is no point of having Summer Olympics in winter. Even in winter the AQI is horrible in some major Indian cities

You don't want to see hundreds of Rajus and Devas running around with plastic swords, chasing the bus carrying Bangladeshi players in Indian cities. The BCB made the right decision. :inti

I like you, my fav Indian poster. You seem the most unbiased, not ultra blind nationalistic Indian, I’ve ever met online. Calling a spade a spade.

Agree.

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag is one of the very few sensible Indian posters here.

If every Indian was like @Bhaag Viru Bhaag, nobody would probably hate on India. He is not a blind nationalist like the low-IQ sanghis. :inti

https://www.cricbuzz.com/
GET APP

ICC may consider BCB request for moving WC matches out of India​

Vijay TagoreSun, Jan 4, 2026 • 12:37 PM
cricbuzz-understands-that-icc-is-open-to-moving-the-bangladesh-games-to-sri-lanka

Cricbuzz understands that ICC is open to moving the Bangladesh games to Sri Lanka ©Getty
The International Cricket Council (ICC) might be open to considering the Bangladesh Cricket Board's (BCB) request to shift their Twenty20 World Cup games out of India.
The world body has not yet taken a call or formally met, more so today being a Sunday, but Cricbuzz understands that the ICC is not averse to moving the Bangladesh games to Sri Lanka, the co-hosts of the T20 World Cup.
The shifting may naturally necessitate a tweaking of the schedule, which could be done over the next couple of days. Bangladesh are in Group C along with England, West Indies, Nepal, and Italy, and are lined up to play all their league games in India - three in Kolkata and one in Mumbai.

India need Bangladeshi pay check as well now, oh how the mighty insect has fallen
:yk3

How is Bangladesh on the same level as Nepal and Italy? What’s next? China as a country is on the same level as Ghana because Indians believe so 🤡
Bangladesh has failed to make any impact in t20 world cup, they are as inconsequential as Italy and Nepal.

Hope BCCI dont cave in to such absurd demands. You cannot ask to change venue at last minute. BCCI should categorically reject the request. BCB is free to pull out of the tournament and pay compensation to ICC. Time has come now for BCCI to flex its muscles and show the worth of these 2 rupee boards.
Its an ICC tournament. how will BCCI Reject? Did BCB request BCCI for rejection to follow?

Seeking relocation means nothing. ICC under Jay Shah will simply reject their request. Like how they have done if PCBs request of removing Pycroft as match referee.

BCB has 2 options -
A. Play in India as scheduled.
B. Pull out and pay compensation.

Absolutely no scope of 3rd option here.

why do Indians want Bangladeshis in India anyway? you Guys threw out Fiz from IPL , its only logical that BD team does nt get to play in India , and Ironically Indians should have no problem with it

Correct.

Sanghis are all about gimmicks. They are phony.
No point Inviting someone you do not want in first place.

Too Bad Sanghis can only retaliate through Cricket , Because only Cricket gives them fake sense of being Superpower

Its a dying Sports anyway

No point Inviting someone you do not want in first place.

Too Bad Sanghis can only retaliate through Cricket , Because only Cricket gives them fake sense of being Superpower

Its a dying Sports anyway

Agree.

Cricket is dying because BCCICC is killing it with overcommercialization and petty politics.

Cricket was a lovely and a very appealing sport before India decided to destroy it.

People from West Bengal are getting lynched on the pretext that they are from Bangladesh, imagine if Bangladesh cricket team came here what would be their condition? Leave alone BCB supporters wearing tiger jersey. It's better for Bangladesh to play in Sri Lanka or don't play at all. Wc will come again after two years but imagine someone getting killed at the hands of sangis. Even indian muslims don't feel safe in India and are getting beaten up everyday.

L

BCB has a legitimate case here. What you want BCB to do when your board is deeming BD players/fans traveling to IND especially Kolkata as unsafe directly or indirectly? ICC is now put into a difficult spot because they need to show what they are capable of and that they are useful and relevant. If ICC cant change venue then only option left for BCB is to forfeit the tournament which is perfectly fine. Uganda is a pretty good up and coming team, they can play in place of BD in that group with WI and England. I am perfectly fine with that.

📊 3) Total Estimated Financial Loss

ComponentEstimated Loss
Ticketing / Match-day~$10M
Broadcast & Sponsorship~$20–$50M
Secondary Commercial~$5–$15M
Total Estimated Loss≈ $35 M – $75 M
📌 Best Estimate: ≈ $50 million

This range assumes Bangladesh’s matches are completely removed and not back-filled with other teams or replayed in a way that preserves India’s match inventory. It does not assume a total collapse of broadcast deals since fixed rights income will still largely be paid — but broadcast advertising and local commercial value would slip.

First Bangladesh kills hindus in Bangladesh.

And cry after India pull their player out of an Indian league.

Double standards.

Better take care of the hindus in Bangladesh first.

BCCI shouldn't let Bangladesh play in India in current situation.

I believe BCCI should stand with BCB here and request ICC to move their matches as well.

God forbid 15 Bengali players land in India. High risk to the region.

Shashi Tharoor, Congress MP in an interview:

Q) The BCCI has instructed Kolkata Knight Riders to release Bangladesh cricketer Mustafizur Rahman from the IPL squad. Where do you stand on this?

I think it’s an absolutely appalling decision by the BCCI. It is an unnecessary politicisation of a sporting decision. And there are various aspects I object to. One is the fact that purely as a cricketing decision, it makes no sense because teams were invited to choose from a registered pool of players selected by the BCCI. So if a fellow was in the pool, why is KKR to blame for selecting somebody from that pool? So, the first question is that it makes no sense to object to the selection of somebody whom the BCCI has submitted to all the teams as an eligible player.

Should cricket be insulated from political and other tensions?
There is also a moral objection I have, which is why is it that sports and cricket alone have to bear the burden of social media outrage? There are so many other ways in which we are interacting with Bangladesh at various levels.

But somehow, cricket has to bear this. And one particular player, that player has never condoned hate speech, he has never said anything against India or against the Hindu minority in Bangladesh, he is just a sportsman. Who are we victimising here?

And if we have decided now that the social media outrage will mean that every Bangladeshi cricketer is ineligible to play in India, then what happens if a Bangladeshi Hindu cricketer like Litton Das or Soumya Sarkar — who are good players in Bangladesh and have played in the IPL in the past — if they had been picked this year, would they also have been kicked out? And if not, then what are we signaling? Are we such an intolerant country that we’re against Muslim Bangladeshis and not against Hindu Bangladeshis?

This entire thing has not been thought through at all by anybody who took this reflexive decision, presumably in response to social media outrage. And I find this absolutely preposterous. To my mind, it demeans us as a nation. It demeans our diplomacy. It demeans our bilateral relationship. It demeans our culture as a nation with a broad enough mind and a big enough heart to be able to look at these things in a broader spirit.

Q) We have also put the India tour of Bangladesh on hold.

I don’t understand this at all. Those who have taken such decisions, let them explain themselves. But are they now going to put the World Cup on hold?

Q) Will we see a Pakistan-like situation with Bangladesh where there is no more bilateral cricket and Bangladeshi players are not allowed to compete in India?

No, Bangladesh is not Pakistan. Bangladesh has not been dispatching terrorists across the border. It’s not a comparable situation at all. And besides, our relationship with the two countries is also different. And the stage of our negotiations or our diplomacy with Bangladesh is different from our relationship with Pakistan. You cannot make a simple equation between the two.

I call upon BCCI to now push agenda to strip Bangladesh of its test status. Time has come to play the big cards and make them grovel for mercy.

It seems like you neither have Indian relatives nor many Indian friends

From the very childhood they are trained to follow, only. There is a reason why they work as IT contractors for foreign companies and have no significant technology or a web browsers of their own

When was the last time the Indians either on this forum or elsewhere criticized their own policies?

Remember the DRS issue? For a long time DRS was useless and every Indian cricket fan supported its lack of use in Indian games. All of the sudden due to changes in the leadership of Indian cricket, DRS became "socially" acceptable and now every Indian fan is OK with it

I am speaking from the decades of my experience with Indian relatives and Indian friends

Don't expect any rationality or an intelligent stance from them on any topic. Their schooling doesn't allow it. They are brainwashed to follow only. They are strangers to nuances of life

Indians are not self-critical, like us Pakistanis

Its nothing nothing to do with being intelligent or not

It’s not just India. Countries like Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and even Afghanistan do the same thing. Every country has problems, bad policies, and disagreements. That is normal everywhere.
The difference is how countries deal with these issues. Most countries argue and criticise inside their own system. They don’t go to international forums or social media to insult their own country and damage its image. They know that doing this makes the country look weak and unreliable.

Pakistan, sadly, does the opposite. We have this idea called “shaoor” where instead of fixing problems at home, we proudly show them to the whole world. We attack our own institutions publicly and then wonder why Pakistan is not respected.

We criticise Pakistan more loudly than our enemies do. We hand over material for jokes and propaganda ourselves. Then we complain about why the world doesn’t take us seriously.
Self-criticism is important, but self-humiliation is not. Other countries understand this difference. We don’t.

Respect comes from unity in public and debate in private. Until we learn that, we will keep damaging Pakistan with our own hands.

First Bangladesh kills hindus in Bangladesh.

And cry after India pull their player out of an Indian league.

Double standards.

Better take care of the hindus in Bangladesh first.

BCCI shouldn't let Bangladesh play in India in current situation.

Which cricket player killed Hindus in Bangladesh? 🤔

Seeing Indian activities for the last more than one year I would have been very surprised if KKR would retain Mustafiz.

Naqvi completely boxed India in.

India made a mistake by accepting the hybrid model with conditions during CT25. If they genuinely didn’t want to travel to Pakistan, they should have had the spine to step out cleanly instead of unnecessary drama. By playing this game, India has now opened the door for others to do the same. Tomorrow, if Sri Lanka or any other team has issueswith india, they can simply say, “We don’t want to go to India either.” India can’t complain this is the precedent they themselves created

I think PCB should stand with Bangladesh board here and swap their matches. Meaning, Pak team can tour India for their games and play in venues initially scheduled for Bangladesh and let BD play in SL.

Will this work? :unsure:
Pakistan deserve hydrid don't bangladesh....

BCB has a legitimate case here. What you want BCB to do when your board is deeming BD players/fans traveling to IND especially Kolkata as unsafe directly or indirectly? ICC is now put into a difficult spot because they need to show what they are capable of and that they are useful and relevant. If ICC cant change venue then only option left for BCB is to forfeit the tournament which is perfectly fine. Uganda is a pretty good up and coming team, they can play in place of BD in that group with WI and England. I am perfectly fine with that.

There is another option

The PCB and the Pak cricket fans can show some backbone and pull out of this redundant T20 WC all together along with the Bangladesh, based on the grounds of discrimination

It's really stupid to have a world Cup every two years. It only makes BCCI stronger because of TV viewership

With Pakistan and Bangladesh too now, that's India discriminating against two Muslim countries

Nothing will happen to Pakistan and Bangladesh. Worry not about legal consequences. India can't even get its Asia Cup trophy from Mohsin Naqvi. Won't be able to convince other boards of litigating two countries pulling out of this redundant tournament, on grounds of discrimination

We are lucky that India and BCCI are also the hosts of this WC. A better opportunity to affect the Bhakts financially might not resurface soon again. Utilize it.

Indians brought politics into cricket. Play the same game. Pakistan & Bangladesh are almost half a billion viewers. Know your strength.

Boycott this redundant tournament all together. It will be there again after only two years.

There is another option

The PCB and the Pak cricket fans can show some backbone and pull out of this redundant T20 WC all together along with the Bangladesh, based on the grounds of discrimination

It's really stupid to have a world Cup every two years. It only makes BCCI stronger because of TV viewership

With Pakistan and Bangladesh too now, that's India discriminating against two Muslim countries

Nothing will happen to Pakistan and Bangladesh. Worry not about legal consequences. India can't even get its Asia Cup trophy from Mohsin Naqvi. Won't be able to convince other boards of litigating two countries pulling out of this redundant tournament, on grounds of discrimination

We are lucky that India and BCCI are also the hosts of this WC. A better opportunity to affect the Bhakts financially might not resurface soon again. Utilize it.

Indians brought politics into cricket. Play the same game. Pakistan & Bangladesh are almost half a billion viewers. Know your strength.

Boycott this redundant tournament all together. It will be there again after only two years.
Pakistan currently has no basis to boycott this tournsment given India has already met our demands.

We should support the Bangladeshis fully but must also be reasonable at the same time.

BCB has spoken to PCB already behind the scenes and they are being supported.

Going through such threads, I like to remind myself that there are also decent Ind posters out there. Just that most are happy to parrot their state’s narrative without applying any critical analysis of their own.

Honestly such a poor move by BCCI but as expected it’s been defended and justified by the chest-thumping, mildly educated, right-wing Ind dudes that we have no shortage of here on pp 😂
You omitted mentioning another category of certain Indian posters who live in india, eat, drink prosper in India , use indian products, passport, their identity - but will willingly put the boot in,

whenever anything remotely negative or having grey connotations emerges.....

its called #KhatmaliFitrat

Either change the IPL logo or change its name to 'Mashrafe Mortaza Premier League'. :yk :inti
Thought whatever your default settings/agenda/narrative - you are a delhi-ite....through and through

Not one of them 30mill odd Rohingya Bangladeshi illegal Chex Lungi Fence jumpers, are ya?

- it ni ham dardi with our eastern padosis that you've become their cheerleader - please spare us the Naagin dance complete with them pom poms :) :afridi :faf

Thought whatever your default settings/agenda/narrative - you are a delhi-ite....through and through

Not one of them 30mill odd Rohingya Bangladeshi illegal Chex Lungi Fence jumpers, are ya?

- it ni ham dardi with our eastern padosis that you've become their cheerleader - please spare us the Naagin dance complete with them pom poms :) :afridi :faf
2366-achyut-potdar.webp

lol...don't worry/loose your sleep mate....like they say - Samazdhaar and ishaara...:)
I have told you before, learn to write properly before quoting me. I don't understand Chinese. And frankly speaking, I am getting bored of thrashing you left, right and center every day here. Either be creative or don't bother quoting. Chal aage jaa shabaash. :inti

Bangladesh should ditch India everywhere. Do not go to India. Do not buy Indian products. Do not watch Indian TV shows. Do not allow any sanghi agent in Bangladesh. :inti
Fantastic points....

A good start can be made in Whitcchapel and Bricklane areas of London....where most Bangladeshi resturants have on their outer board

"Bangladeshi & Indian food" ....remove the "& Indian food" from the BD resturants/grocery stores

.....Why dont you do something 'productive' like your profile footer says and go to London and spearhed this movement - instead of sitting in Canada or wherever and beneffiting from the freedom of speech by typing your usual India related vitriol given to you by a democratic nation?

I have told you before, learn to write properly before quoting me. I don't understand Chinese. And frankly speaking, I am getting bored of thrashing you left, right and center every day here. Either be creative or don't bother quoting. Chal aage jaa shabaash. :inti
lol...aaam zindagi for the virus - a day without getting owned....is a day wasted... :faf

Its nothing nothing to do with being intelligent or not

It’s not just India. Countries like Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and even Afghanistan do the same thing. Every country has problems, bad policies, and disagreements. That is normal everywhere.
The difference is how countries deal with these issues. Most countries argue and criticise inside their own system. They don’t go to international forums or social media to insult their own country and damage its image. They know that doing this makes the country look weak and unreliable.

Pakistan, sadly, does the opposite. We have this idea called “shaoor” where instead of fixing problems at home, we proudly show them to the whole world. We attack our own institutions publicly and then wonder why Pakistan is not respected.

We criticise Pakistan more loudly than our enemies do. We hand over material for jokes and propaganda ourselves. Then we complain about why the world doesn’t take us seriously.
Self-criticism is important, but self-humiliation is not. Other countries understand this difference. We don’t.

Respect comes from unity in public and debate in private. Until we learn that, we will keep damaging Pakistan with our own hands.

if you give space for criticism , it will happen. So Advise should be to fix those issues that invite public Outcry instead of Expecting people to remain Mum . Forget about world , do our Institutes Respect the will of people? Why should we worry what world think of us when our institutes dnt.. a recent famous article rightly put it into perspective.. love for country is a natural process , it cannot be installed like a windows OS in computer through lectures. Do the right thing yourself first

A question to Bangladeshi posters here:

If India were to adopt the same policy toward Bangladesh that it has toward Pakistan by completely stopping bilateral cricket—would the BCB be able to survive?

Keep in mind that Australia neither tours Bangladesh nor regularly invites them. England tours Bangladesh only once in a blue moon. At least in Pakistan’s case, every major team plays bilateral series with them regularly except India. On top of that, ICC tournaments heavily rely on India–Pakistan matches as cash cows, which financially benefit both boards.

So the situation for Bangladesh would arguably be far more difficult if India were to cut off bilateral cricket entirely.

I think BCB shooting itself on the foot - @BDfanforever @Mainul @sweep_shot @Mas-LFC

:shakib :kp

if you give space for criticism , it will happen. So Advise should be to fix those issues that invite public Outcry instead of Expecting people to remain Mum . Forget about world , do our Institutes Respect the will of people? Why should we worry what world think of us when our institutes dnt.. a recent famous article rightly put it into perspective.. love for country is a natural process , it cannot be installed like a windows OS in computer through lectures. Do the right thing yourself first
This isn’t the place for this nonsense. You’re a loud minority trapped in an anti-Pakistan cult mindset. Stand with Pakistan and defend it like a true patriot against its enemies or stay quiet and stop turning everything into politics.

I just responded to your take. You have voice here so do i.
And you dnt know if Im in minority or Majority and its not that people like you care about it so whats the point of it having in your argument lol