BCCI loses vote in ICC revenue and constitutional changes

Point is the BCCI despite all the patriotism on here aren't gonna sacrifice between 30 and 45 percent of its revenue which stems from international cricket.

Also, if they think that they can continue with just their domestic tournaments, then how long is this going to last? where will be the interest without International players?

In 15-20 years time some Aussie or English parent is going to wake up one day and say 'hey my 10 year old son should go and move to India and become a cricketer?'

Bottom line is that India needs the rest of the world. Without strong cricket elsewhere they won't be able to,

1. generate enough interest in their own country
2. have any foreign players to throw millions at.

A) Its not about how much its worth, its about how the treatment has been. How would you feel if Govt suddenly decided a 20% cess on all your earnings to feed the poor over and above the normal taxes?

B) and no $250m is Rs 1600 Crore, which is approximately the sum that is equivalent of renovating all cricket stadiums in India within a year.

This isn't all your earnings.... This is money you get from ICC for events they organize.... You get a higher share than everybody else.... BCCI doesn't earn the money, ICC does.... Fifa keeps most of the money.....

BCCI earns more than 2011 now. Exchange rates different.... Proportions are same.... This is less than 1% difference on total....;

So if they boycott international cricket as some posters are suggesting they lose more than 10 times more than they do if they just half their ICC income. Lol @ those posters :))

Current revenue is $570 million and ICC wants to reduce it to $285 Million.

Revneue after not playing international cricket - 46% of $570 million , ie $308 million :)))

India will continue to play bilateral series like it does.Only pull out of ICC events. Lets see how much ICC earns without BCCI.

If ICC earns the same its good for them.BCCI also doesnt participate so it wont claim any money or anything.Good for both of them.

Believe this is the best solution.

You misunderstand. I dont give a **** about BCCI. Let BCCI die and a better body emerge, I am all for it. I only care about India getting its due and not a penny more but not a penny less.

BCCI won't agree...... They have monopoly of cricket in india thanks to international cricket..... Otherwise even ICL was popular.....

So if they boycott international cricket as some posters are suggesting they lose more than 10 times more than they do if they just half their ICC income. Lol @ those posters :))

Perfect example of cutting off your nose in order to spite your face.

Taking a smaller slice of the pie in the short-term in order to grow cricket and make the whole pie bigger is a huge insult to national pride, I WANT MY MONEY NOW!

It's idiotic.

As if the Indian public won't watch the CT and the World Cup even if India doesn't play. The ICC will survive for way longer than the BCCI. Pakistan haven't played India in years, yet they're doing okay.

You are right on the money. Indians including myself will watch it none the less. But mostly on cricinfo and getting glimpses here and there. Traffic in India wont stop like it does during Indian match at WC. Noone including myself will take Casual Leave to watch a match.

Slowly, things will become less important. And if say IPL is on during WCT20, what am I going to watch? KKR vs RR or WI vs Srilanka?? ask yourself?

Indians will watch it though. Maybe less than now but still a significant amount.

You have no idea. Already leagues like ISL/Kabaddi etc getting popular why would Indians watch International cricket if have IPL at same time?

Hope some ICC member says this to BCCI and our SC woke-up and do this , iPray. 6 to 8 month IPL in EPL style will be awesome. Matches on;ly on weekend and we can travel around country to support home team :)

EPL style with a bunch of Indian nobodies, West Indian mercenaries and a few rejects from Australia and South Africa. Even that is unlikely because what Aussie or English cricketer would want to live in India?

I can see it being tried for a couple of years, bombing hard and then going the way of India's soccer league. Won't be surprised if KL Rahul and players from his age group migrate to Australia or England to play some proper cricket.

Now things will get tasty, i hate manohar but have to say he has played an absolute blinder here, over to you bcci, me thinks bcci self sabotaged here to get back at CoA, but this will have long term consequences not just for bcci but even for ICC, one way is bcci's power is broken for good or bcci may out of self preservation may bring srini mama or even pawar may get involved himself manohar may not enjoy those confrontations. IIRC there is still one more stage in getting theses changes passed through meeting to be held in june, can someone confirm it or is this the last stage.

Revneue after not playing international cricket - 46% of $570 million , ie $308 million :)))

I'm fairly sure that revenue figure is purely revenue from the ICC given to the boards. 570 million is what the BCCI gets off the ICC now, not BCCI's total revenue. So your math is wrong here.

BCCI total revenue likely stems into the billions, wouldnt surprise me

Well the BCCI had no issue making everyone else outside the Big 3 significantly poorer at its own gain 2 years back.

But isnt that expected? Shouldnt a member that contributes to atleast 50% earnings take home 30%??

I mean we are 1.25 billion of us, think per capita, we get far lesser than all other countries!!

India will continue to play bilateral series like it does.Only pull out of ICC events. Lets see how much ICC earns without BCCI.

If ICC earns the same its good for them.BCCI also doesnt participate so it wont claim any money or anything.Good for both of them.

We can easily arrange few series with England & Oz and leave others.:))

So 32 percent of income comes from events or tours based around foreign teams, and 14 percent or the media rights also comes from playing internationally.

There is a difference between not playing ICC events and not playing international matches.

That 570 million is around 7% of your income, while playing other international teams is more than 40...

As if the Indian public won't watch the CT and the World Cup even if India doesn't play.

Actual facts show india not doing well in worldcups is very hurtful for icc, see 2007 world cup, are your views backed by anything other than india hate.

If every board just voted against the BCCI, what makes you think theyll agree to play with them bilaterally???

Every FM clearly told the BCCI to accept the changes today or move on. They wont backstab each other now if they didnt do so today at the vote.

You are right on the money. Indians including myself will watch it none the less. But mostly on cricinfo and getting glimpses here and there. Traffic in India wont stop like it does during Indian match at WC. Noone including myself will take Casual Leave to watch a match.

Slowly, things will become less important. And if say IPL is on during WCT20, what am I going to watch? KKR vs RR or WI vs Srilanka?? ask yourself?

That casual support would be enough for the ICC to keep doing well, especially if it leads to an increased interest in Afghanistan, Ireland, etc. The Indian public will get tired of an Indian-only IPL quicker than they will of international cricket.

Interesting news.I think the majority of Indian cricket fans would like to see a CT without India in it.

You understand nothing..... 570 million is only ICC events.... Total BCCI revenue is MUCH MORE. Most of that is IPL and bilaterals, which they don't share.... So if you kill international cricket, BCCI will lose billions, instead of 285 million!!!

BCCI won't agree...... They have monopoly of cricket in india thanks to international cricket..... Otherwise even ICL was popular.....

BCCI are under the boot of Supreme Court at the moment. Look what happened to mighty Sahara. I dont have any particular hope of BCCI winning against the courts. If they are incompetent, they will die. But I think BCCI are very competent and did a good job overall (other than crony capitalism by Srini and a handful who will be weeded out soon)

EPL style with a bunch of Indian nobodies, West Indian mercenaries and a few rejects from Australia and South Africa. Even that is unlikely because what Aussie or English cricketer would want to live in India?

I can see it being tried for a couple of years, bombing hard and then going the way of India's soccer league. Won't be surprised if KL Rahul and players from his age group migrate to Australia or England to play some proper cricket.

As i already said to other poster there is only 32 slots for foreigners and hardly 20 big international players claiming it..really a not big problem to fill this by paying good money.Even Pakistani's will come :))

You understand nothing..... 570 million is only ICC events.... Total BCCI revenue is MUCH MORE. Most of that is IPL and bilaterals, which they don't share.... So if you kill international cricket, BCCI will lose billions, instead of 285 million!!!

Most of that revenue is via bilateral series and not ICC events. It remains as such.

I hope India takes the moral high ground and pull out of the CT on principle :srt

That casual support would be enough for the ICC to keep doing well, especially if it leads to an increased interest in Afghanistan, Ireland, etc. The Indian public will get tired of an Indian-only IPL quicker than they will of international cricket.

Thats a gamble I will take with a smirk on my face.

There is a difference between not playing ICC events and not playing international matches.

The BCCI will be stripped of their Full-Member status and kicked to the curb, if they pull out of the CT and the WCs and put the tournaments in jeopardy, lol. Baap ka cricket hai kya? No country will be playing any cricket with them until they come back with their tails betwee their legs and agree to plays World Cups and the CT as well.

This is exactly why the BCCI will never pull off something like this. They don't have the guts but surely have the brains.

That's very harsh on India, they deserved the money they worked for.

But let's wait and see what's next.

Lol [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] on fire.

Guys you realise he wants to wind ye up??

The Rahul going to Aus to play cricket part was hilarious

Actual facts show india not doing well in worldcups is very hurtful for icc, see 2007 world cup, are your views backed by anything other than india hate.

Thought we already covered this is another thread but India exiting an ICC tournament like the WC in 2007 didn't really affect the icc financially, the financial impact would of been on Star, an Indian company.

How long will the IPL continue to print money if it takes place at the same time as ICC tournament, which means that the best international players won't be in India at the time so you've got a bunch of second-string foreign players?

Not to mention that a huge reason why players like Kohli and Dhoni are superstars is because of what they did in ICC Tournaments.

So three, four, five years from now when the IPL is full of Indian players who don't have the international appeal of the previous generation and foreign players who aren't good enough to get into their national teams then what?

It's no longer a choice between KKR v RR or WI v Sri Lanka because now people will start choosing the third choice which is not watching any cricket at all.

All of this posturing is well and good in the short term but it isn't sustainable over a longer time period. it's why bilateral series will still continue, the BCCI knows it can't survive without the other members.

As i already said to other poster there is only 32 slots for foreigners and hardly 20 big international players claiming it..really a not big problem to fill this by paying good money.Even Pakistani's will come :))

Yes, of course the hypocrites in the BCCI will invite the Pakistanis when they're put in such a situation. No world class player will leave their international career and lifestyle to play and live in India. Don't be delusional.

Thats a gamble I will take with a smirk on my face.

That smirk won't last long.

Taking a smaller slice of the pie in the short-term in order to grow cricket and make the whole pie bigger is a huge insult to national pride, I WANT MY MONEY NOW!

It's idiotic.

You dont understand us Indians. We are crazy.

If every board just voted against the BCCI, what makes you think theyll agree to play with them bilaterally???

Every FM clearly told the BCCI to accept the changes today or move on. They wont backstab each other now if they didnt do so today at the vote.

$$

It's idiotic.

Pretty much this.

It's like that achanaak ameer honay wala bully . Wants everything for himself.

Has no idea of how international sports bodies like FIFA and ICC have been working. But will just whine over "I'm big, make this much, so give me all the share I want".

Thought we already covered this is another thread but India exiting an ICC tournament like the WC in 2007 didn't really affect the icc financially, the financial impact would of been on Star, an Indian company.

Exactly , so for same reason without India no TV company will shell large amounts to buy ICC rights + even advertisers will not flock so how will ICC generate revenues then?

Let's see how long Indians are entertained watching Ishant Sharma, Mohit Sharma and all the other Sharmas bowling every weekend.

Yes, definitely up there with watching Rooney, Kane and Welback scores goals for EPL teams every weekend. :))

Why?We will play everyone like we do now.Just not ICC events.Let icc have its events and keep the money also.Everyone happy.

But why would they play India now??? The ICC want to improve everyone's situation, BCCI just told the ICC and everyone else to stuff themselves. Why would any board play India now when they know if they hold out India will eventually agree to the ICC changes and everyone can get on with their lives.

Yes, of course the hypocrites in the BCCI will invite the Pakistanis when they're put in such a situation. No world class player will leave their international career and lifestyle to play and live in India. Don't be delusional.

That smirk won't last long

you would be surprised

Why?We will play everyone like we do now.Just not ICC events.Let icc have its events and keep the money also.Everyone happy.

There will not be too much time to play with every one. IPL should grow to 12 or 16 teams. Play few major series per year that's all.

THE FINANCIAL YEAR 2016-17

INCOME BUDGET 2015 -16 ACTUALS 15-16
Media Rights 648.00 648.00
LESS: TV Production Cost (64.80) (45.38)
Less: Amount due to Associations (408.24) (721.84)
SURPLUS RETAINED WITH BOARD 174.96 (119.21)
Surplus from Tours 108.01 104.34
Royalty Income 12.00 10.50
Interest Income 100.00 175.48
Surplus from IPL 191.99 210.51
Share of Distribution/Participation Fees
from ICC/ACC 111.56

Total Income: 3 139.12

% From ICC: 3.5%

Source: http://relaunch-live.s3.amazonaws.c...ual Report 2015-16_FOR BCCI WEBSITE_FINAL.pdf

So BCCI will risk everything for pocket change and kill all small boards for greed??? [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

But why would they play India now??? The ICC want to improve everyone's situation, BCCI just told the ICC and everyone else to stuff themselves. Why would any board play India now when they know if they hold out India will eventually agree to the ICC changes and everyone can get on with their lives.

Simply because they will get more money if India tours.

The BCCI will be stripped of their Full-Member status and kicked to the curb, if they pull out of the CT and the WCs and put the tournaments in jeopardy, lol. Baap ka cricket hai kya? No country will be playing any cricket with them until they come back with their tails betwee their legs and agree to plays World Cups and the CT as well.

This is exactly why the BCCI will never pull off something like this. They don't have the guts but surely have the brains.

The Membership Participation Agreement allows India to pull out of ICC events.So legally India can pull out and ICC cant do anything.

Ban India?LOL. ICC can try that.

I wonder which country will say no to a India tour after ICC revenues take a big fall.

But if that was the goal they'd have rejected this proposal. BCCI probably promised several teams money spinning series which normally wouldve led to a victory but it didnt this time. Clearly for once the FM's are somewhat committed to pushing this through

The Membership Participation Agreement allows India to pull out of ICC events.So legally India can pull out and ICC cant do anything.

Ban India?LOL. ICC can try that.

I wonder which country will say no to a India tour after ICC revenues take a big fall.

Clearly several said no today. You telling me BCCI didn't tell ZCB;BCB et al theyd get games if they toed the line??

Once India pulls out.The ICC revenues will go down drastically so anyway boards will take a huge financial blow.Now India tour is the most lucrative tour and is worth millions for any board.Just shortening a tour to SA in 2013 cost CSA 20mn USD. Think how much they can make by a full tour.

Secondly banning the Indian National Cricket team will have huge political ramifications.Its not a joke.

BCCI will continue to play bilaterals.

How long will the IPL continue to print money if it takes place at the same time as ICC tournament, which means that the best international players won't be in India at the time so you've got a bunch of second-string foreign players?

A) We will have out heros in Test cricket via trial by fire. I hate ODI bilaterals and hope they die, but I think its too much to wish for now....

B) People in India are crazy. Dont expect normal behaviour. If this issue becomes about INDIA, noone is going to watch ICC events and it will end up in a race to show oneself more Indian by boycotting ICC

Clearly several said no today. You telling me BCCI didn't tell ZCB;BCB et al theyd get games if they toed the line??

Well they are now looking at getting a bigger share from ICC.Hence the vote.But when BCCI pulls out there will be a much smaller pie.Lets see who gets what then.

But if that was the goal they'd have rejected this proposal. BCCI probably promised several teams money spinning series which normally wouldve led to a victory but it didnt this time. Clearly for once the FM's are somewhat committed to pushing this through

Lets see how it goes on. What I say is pointless if CoA decide to live with it. That would be a disgrace but is a real possibility.

There will not be too much time to play with every one. IPL should grow to 12 or 16 teams. Play few major series per year that's all.

What a fantastic idea. Play IPL for 6 months of the year, thus turning off foreign players who won't want to leave their family for such a long time period to go and live in India. Not to mention the danger of people suffering from IPL fatigue and TV ratings plummeting.

Let's see how long Indians are entertained watching Ishant Sharma, Mohit Sharma and all the other Sharmas bowling every weekend.

Yes, definitely up there with watching Rooney, Kane and Welback scores goals for EPL teams every weekend. :))

Probably we will start watching badminton more, where we have started doing well now a days. Overall a good thing.

By the way, last week I had a blast watching 7th Class kids play in the park next to my home. They sucked like anything but me and my friend just sat in the bench and watched it for 2 hours. We watch anything. We will watch anything. Sharmas or not.

Probably we will start watching badminton more, where we have started doing well now a days. Overall a good thing.

By the way, last week I had a blast watching 7th Class kids play in the park next to my home. They sucked like anything but me and my friend just sat in the bench and watched it for 2 hours. We watch anything. We will watch anything. Sharmas or not.

You mean to tell me tens of millions of Indians will switch from watching superstars and icons of the sport the country literally breathes for and switch instead to badminton???

BCCI making issue of nothing!

A) ICC income is very small part of their income..... From 2% to 7% depending on year (2011 was WC, in the graph above).... But it's everything for Ireland or Afghanistan.

B) FIFA gives same income to every team in World Cup..... whether you are Brazil or Namibia.... Because World Cup is made possible by everyone TOGETHER..... It's not like ICC is stealing bilaterals revenue!!!

And Indian posters acting like it's injustice, when they already get most money!!!

Can any indian poster explain this greedy mentality??? [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134190]Noobosauras[/MENTION]

You mean to tell me tens of millions of Indians will switch from watching superstars and icons of the sport the country literally breathes for and switch instead to badminton???

No but people who are spellbound will now actually appreciate other things where we have superstars and icons of sports.

A) ICC income is very small part of their income..... From 2% to 7% depending on year (2011 was WC, in the graph above).... But it's everything for Ireland or Afghanistan.

B) FIFA gives same income to every team in World Cup..... whether you are Brazil or Namibia.... Because World Cup is made possible by everyone TOGETHER..... It's not like ICC is stealing bilaterals revenue!!!

And Indian posters acting like it's injustice, when they already get most money!!!

Can any indian poster explain this greedy mentality??? [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134190]Noobosauras[/MENTION]

Its called hypernationalism

A) Its not about how much its worth, its about how the treatment has been. How would you feel if Govt suddenly decided a 20% cess on all your earnings to feed the poor over and above the normal taxes?

B) and no $250m is Rs 1600 Crore, which is approximately the sum that is equivalent of renovating all cricket stadiums in India within a year.

You know why developed countries are the way they are ? It is because they take half of what the rich's make and invest in public infrastructure like schools and roads. In India, the rich pay only 30% and lets not even talk about black money. I'm all for the new change if it helps cricket grow and struggling countries like Afghanistan and Ireland. Do we really need half of 7% income from ICC events ? Loss off 3.5 % annually doesn't sound like a lot.

Add to that they think IPL will still have the same viewership as it has now :)))

Let's see how much money the IPL earns if India stops playing in World Cups, World T20s and Champions Trophy tournaments shall we? Is BCCI going to stop playing bilateral series as well?

The IPL is huge because it's got star power, those stars are made in international cricket.

BCCI is welcome to pick up its ball and go home, yes it will hurt the ICC but the BCCI needs international cricket more than international cricket needs BCCI.

Biggest TV market of all the members.

actually Indian not participating in ICC tournaments might well increase interest in IPL. IPL will then become the only tournament where Indian audience can see Indian players against best of rest of the world.

Partially agree with that. BCCI should drop bilateral serieses as well. That would be fun. Go and play IPL all year long.

A) Not true, its substantial amount. The difference is Rs 1600 crores which is huge, enough to build international level 40+ stadiums in India.

B) How much does India earn per capita in cricket?? How fair is it that Australia with 1.9% of India's population get 50% of India's share?? So we fight for everything we can get.

We are our biggest enemy, Supreme court and Mr.Manohar congratulations. Manohar the coward who left BCCI when SC was attacking it is all wolf now.

Anyhow should be interesting ,lets see how it plays out.

There was a tourney called CLT20 it wound up for sole reason that not many interested in non Indian teams even with International stars.No one going to spend big money on Non Indian matches so ICC will suffer big time and fond running with folded hands.

actually Indian not participating in ICC tournaments might well increase interest in IPL. IPL will then become the only tournament where Indian audience can see Indian players against best of rest of the world.

Actually that is the thing. Now that India would not be participating in ICC tournaments, ICC will not have any need to give India a 2 month window for IPL. Most teams will not waste a 2 month window and arrange some bilateral series during that time which may mean that only "best of the rest of the world" in the IPL will be Windies mercenaries and rejects from other nations.

Partially agree with that. BCCI should drop bilateral serieses as well. That would be fun. Go and play IPL all year long.

Why stop playing bilaterals?There is no issue with revenues in bilaterals.

Do it India!!

Pull out of the CL and then organize some additional IPL games at the same time.

Then arrange for a 6-8 month IPL tournament, only bring in the boundaries a little more. Surely, the Indian public want to see some more 6's..

IPL all year,9 months long imo might be better for the country rightnow,lot of protests nowadays ,the only time the city unites is when one team is playing another.

Lets see if BCCI has the balls to do it and remove the salary cap as well with matches only in the weekend.

You know why developed countries are the way they are ? It is because they take half of what the rich's make and invest in public infrastructure like schools and roads. In India, the rich pay only 30% and lets not even talk about black money. I'm all for the new change if it helps cricket grow and struggling countries like Afghanistan and Ireland. Do we really need half of 7% income from ICC events ? Loss off 3.5 % annually doesn't sound like a lot.

Lol spare me the condescension. I am a taxman. India has one of the highest rates of tax. I am in the department implementing GST here, I can assure you, tax rates overall (Direct + Indirect) is one of the highest in India. People mistake by comparing us to USA which doesnt have any indirect tax.

Less than 3.5% sir.... BCCI income in 2015-2016 was 3000 crores rupees..... I think that's 3 billion dollars. 285 million is every 5 years (I think) so it is 60 millions of 3 billions (or 2%)....

I'm fairly sure that revenue figure is purely revenue from the ICC given to the boards. 570 million is what the BCCI gets off the ICC now, not BCCI's total revenue. So your math is wrong here.

BCCI total revenue likely stems into the billions, wouldnt surprise me

Bro, BCCI operating cost is extremely high. 10,000 police officers are hired during each IPL or international match and BCCI has to pay for them. BCCI's revenue doesn't normally go over $30 Million according to my source. If that is the case then these cut will impact BCCI.

Funny thing is India didn't even submitted team for Champions trophy even after deadline day passed and ICC did nothing :)))

Actually that is the thing. Now that India would not be participating in ICC tournaments, ICC will not have any need to give India a 2 month window for IPL. Most teams will not waste a 2 month window and arrange some bilateral series during that time which may mean that only "best of the rest of the world" in the IPL will be Windies mercenaries and rejects from other nations.

Please take it away and watch more Gayle and ABDV happening.