Bollywood Corner

New Lootera Poster..... Love everything about the movie so far..the posters...the trailers..and the promos...Looks like Motwane will strike gold again After Udaan...

382403_379652485485505_1784487912_n.jpg

Was just reading a few articles..

Aashiqui 2 Crossed 100 Crores World wide yersterday.....75 Crores in India...and has been declared a Blockbuster by box Office India.

and registered the best 4th week Collections since 3 Idiots in 2009.....and with no stars !!!

Goes to show how great songs....and decently made love story still sells...

Watched the movie couple of days back....it was a little melodramatic ....but it had incredible incredible music...and small powerful moments.....Shraddha Kapoor and Aditya Roy Kapoor were decent.....former looked beautifull in the movie. ....Movie has that 90's Romance feel to it... I would rate it 6.5/10 as a movie....but 10/10 for songs

This is apparently the biggest return to investment in Bollywood in a long long time....Made with 8 crores(4 crores promotion)...collected 100 crores on theatrical run So far .....Sure satellite will go for big numbers after this response.

Big Break for both the actors !! And personally, one of the best albums this year ....

My Favorite songs:

Female version of Sunn Raha Hai Na Tu by Shreya Goshal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inEu2qQuGZ8

Chahu main ya naa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdyBtGaspss

^

Music was really good, but I thought the movie was the usual formula. Nothing special.

yeah....it was,Even I thought the same...movie was rehash a few old Movies. It especially had similarity to Abhimaan starring Jaya Bacchan and Big B

I guess Music is reason for big numbers.....

^^^ Yup. complete rest today... ..rejuvenating for work from 2marrow again!!

sat and sun were tiring.

hey IM, i will be going to india on 1st July..need one night accommodation in new york. i know you dont like me a lot, but would be great.. in return i can bring you anything from india in my return flight.

I hope you do not mind and will understand if I say, No.

I dont even know you...not taking risks :D...either way I live in two rooms with another room mate....SORRY !!!

Absolutely rocking song from Bhaag Milka Bhaag. SEL rocks.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ih0lD7SA3OM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Absolutely rocking song from Bhaag Milka Bhaag. SEL rocks.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ih0lD7SA3OM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Brillant song, one of the best I have listened in recent time

One more Brilliant song from Lootera -- Ankahee Song Promo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fF1gioN6SwU

Once upon a time in Mumbai Again Theatrical Trailer Starring Akshay Kumar, Imran Khan and Sonakshi
Does not look as promising as the first part....all the actors in this part are no match for Ajay Devgn and Emraan Hashmi,Kangana Ranaut ....And which Genius thought Imran Khan would be convincing as a Gangster???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dj9UXzyDsOA

This theatrical Trailer is modeled on the previous one.....even the trailer...previous one was better !!!

first part trailer...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9eg2UFFKq_g

Ankur Arora Murder Case Theatrical Trailer starring Kay Kay Menon, Paoli Dam....A Medical thriller...looks decent..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHZ8BOl-S5E

Legendary Director Rituparno Ghosh has passed away at the age of 49 due to a heart attack.

Won 12 national awards!! I only saw Raincoat of his starring Ajay and Ash, it wad such a beautifull film.

Rest in Peace!!

RIP ritu ghosh, raincoat was a good movie!

OUATIM 2 looks good but why did they replace emraan and ajay devgan, they were perfectly cast in part 1.

how is yeh jawani hai dewanni reviews have been good may go watch with the family any one seen it yet what your verdict

Watched Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani...

So Ayan asks his lead to stop being a slacker and find a purpose in Life in WUS, here he asks his lead to chill and enjoy the moment and live the moment to fullest..

But it is much more Bollywoodized than Wake up sid, although that makes it a much better summer special...it also makes it a weaker movie. Between a brilliant 10 minutes scenes is a forced song or a "Fun" scene......

In content, The movie was much more stronger than WUS, Dealing with friendship,careers to love..and all of them in a very practical sense. All the characters are different and well written.....I hate the fact that he tried to Karan Joharize the movie.

Deepika is growing as an actor...and stood toe to toe with Ranbir Kapoor..she was gorgeus as Scholar Naina.....

Movie is as much about friends , careers as much as it is about Love....and Kalki, ARK suited their roles to perfection.

Farookh Sheikh --- WHAT A LEGEND....his scene at the end was heart touching...when you are oozing with class..all you need is one scene.

There are lot of moments in the movie which speak so much about individual characters.....come frequently as well....but small unncessary scenes in between spoil it at times

Movie is doing incredibly well at box office.....Grossed 40 crores already...and if it grosses more than 18 on sunday...it is going to be biggest weekend collections ever in BW history beating Ek tha Tiger....RK is slowly making his mark as a super star....but the movie is equally Deepika's.

Fans of Wake up sid....will be dissapointed. But it is definately more than good fun film with some nice messages.

Rating: 7.5/10

agreed, except that i will give 8/10. ranbir kapoor has fast grown into a great actor. deepika has evolved too and is getting better with each movie. i liked this movie more than wake up sid actually. like the message behind the movie. and a bit of karan johar in the movie is not bad, as long as it is only a bit.

True. I do not mind bit of a Karan Johar...but I just think it would have been a stronger movie if it was not there. That is all....

Ranbir has entered the big league now of Khans , Kumar and Hrithik....a love story on a non holiday weekend to gross 40 crores with one more day to go is just brilliant. Although I think....lack of big movies in last 3 months thanks to IPL...and songs, Deepika, Wake up sid status among the young generation have helped the movie a lot.

YJHD- give it a 7, entertaining in parts but dragged quiet a bit with too many unnecessary songs. deepika was good except for her grating accent, Ranbir can sleep walk through a role like this, the friends characters were well etched. def one time watch.

Indian Regional Cinema is just getting better and better...attempting subjects Which Bollywood also does not attempt...Marathi cinema is getting better and better in the last 4 to 5 years.....

Marathi Movie "Ajooba" trailer starring Urmila and a Leopard .... great trailer....Director's previous movie won national award....and great to see Urmila back.....Trailer has subs for people who dont understand Marathi Like me....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZNLbBP6Q0M

^^^ I thought Loose ends was one of the good things about ending.....or may be I am putting too much thought...but life need not begin or end at the same time for everybody and in the same way and everybody does not get an happy ending....for ARK...closing of his business and him saying " to a new start on 2013 new years" is a good enough end...and now that RK is also back in country...I think that is "sort of an happy ending" for him.

dont know the fact that ranbirs decision at the end does not make make any sense at the end and too quick too much style over substance the film lacked depth and the story was very inconsistent 1 too many songs didnt help is well and ark just felt like a loser and there was no redemption for him just nothing

yes it was too long and crammed with too many songs. you could see all the movies Ayan mukherjee was "inspired " by but atleast none of the the scenes were direct lifts like Barfi so credit for that. at the end of the day YJHD is a well made rom com but hardly a monumental film ,could have been 30 mts shorter with less songs and have been more impactful. a one time watch on screen.
yrs they left ark's character arc a bit unresolved with him left alone at the bar, but the movie was already too long with the unnecessary songs that they could have easily cut to give a better ending to his story, that whole adi /avi storyline had a lot of potential and unresolved tension that was not realized

^^^
Agreed. Precisely what I thought on songs and unnecessarily Karan Joharization. I also did not like Evelyn sharma(lara) and Adi's Fiance's chaarcter....I thought the two were caricaturized unnecessarily.....and placing them in between very real characters felt odd..and changed the "Tone" of the movie. Although fiance's character gets better. And also I think conflicts in ayan's both the movies get resolved a bit easily...Like I feel characters solve conflicts with one other..and also with in themselves rather easily. I think the Ayan wanted to make a Good rom comm shifting away from his Wake up sid type.

and btw ark is the best in this and maybe his charterer has more depth and story to him he could have his own movie and i would love to see it all the betting and drinking didnt go away and what about kaiki did she even love that guy too many questions left at the end

i dont know why some are calling it an average movie, for me it is the best movie of the year (among the typical bollywood movies, not counting the alternative commercial non bollywood cinema).

I liked the some rather simple dialogues between rk and ark...but add a lot of depth to characters ...like "Mujhko Bata dete yaar...Main bhi apply kartha tere saath"....which shows irrespective of what he does...ARK wants to do everything with RK...where as RK always saw himself in his dreams....and did not care for people as much as he did about dreams..ease with which he forgets people involved in his work....even the conversations after the return between ARK and RK were some of the best scenes in the movie...should have exploited that more than Sangeet and all unnecessary drama

i dont know why some are calling it an average movie, for me it is the best movie of the year (among the typical bollywood movies, not counting the alternative commercial non bollywood cinema).

Not average movie...way above average. But I think there was a lot more potential in the movie....and could have been exploited and still make it entertaining.May be it would not have garnered the epic collections it is getting now...but it would have also cost less if not for songs and stuff....so budget should have been fine.. movie quality could have been better.

But yaa..so far best mainstream Bollywood movie this year ....

avg movie in the sense that i will hardly remember it in a few years and will never watch it again, not that i regret watching it. the karan joharization of ayan created a perfectly watchable but not a memorable movie.

hated Lara , liked the hubby-i think they humanized him beyond the point of caricature after the first scene which was a nice touch. i would have liked a better exploration of ARK's storyline but i guess thats a movie in itself. another thing was this movie was too hallmark card-y and cliche ridden ( i want to fly!!!)

Jiah Khan has committed suicide ..she has been sufferring from chronic depression!!

BGgCOagCMAAKMDT.jpg

She acted in Aamir Khan's Ghajini and RGV's Nishabd !!

Rest in Peace!! So sad, she is only 25!!

Banarasiya Song Promo From Ranjhanna ... Loved it. Has that A R Rahman touch of the old..... Video is nice...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ydFM29TPnQ

Mera Yaar Song Promo From Bhaag Milka Bhaag

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgE70viHDaM

Zinda song Promo from Bhaag Milka Bhaag

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKLr1tsIRHE

Both the songs are Great !!! Looks like Om Prakash Mehra has a winner after Rang De basanti......Farhan looks great !!! And Sonam has a bunch of good roles in Good movies this year...and she looks great in simple Desi dresses with out make up and all the hungama!!

..Okay. Time for the Khans to Pull their socks....

Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani has the second best 2nd week collections after 3 Idiots.....and Has already crossed the Life time collection of all films overseas except 3 Idiots and My name is khan in just 9 Days....There is a good chance it will beat MNIK is end just below 3 Idiots...

In India....it will stand 3rd highest of all Time after 3 Idiots and Ek tha tiger....

And btw...he has beaten every SRK record in all the areas....except for MNIK overseas which it will beat itseems !!!

Btw...I watched Masoom(1983) for the first time.....no wonder it is rated so highly. Brilliant songs as well.. Kid Urmila acted well...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-iyNg4IhW4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fE14S3v5z5s

- Farhan Akhtar and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag is going to sweep all bollywood awards in 2014

- Ranbir Kapoor and YJHD are going crazy in terms of collections, finally people have got a good entertaining film to watch in 2013, deserved to cross 100 crore in 7 days, unlike that garbage Race 2

- Yamla Pagla Deewana 2 did not get good reviews, and so YJHD gets a free run at the box office

- Lootera music album is fantastic, and I'll be surprised if Sonakshi/Ranveer don't get a lot of nominations for their performances

- Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai Again trailer is under par, film will still be a Super Hit since it's an Eid release and Pritam is doing the music

- Chennai Express Teaser Trailer/Theatrical Trailer (not sure which) is coming on June 13th

Legendary Director Rituparno Ghosh has passed away at the age of 49 due to a heart attack.

Won 12 national awards!! I only saw Raincoat of his starring Ajay and Ash, it wad such a beautifull film.

Rest in Peace!!

it was based on O Henry's short story...
As I knew the end so impact was not that forceful

This film, starring Nawazuddin Siddiqui and Irrfan Khan has got a lot of praise at Cannes...

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/U35tPjwzSbA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^^ New Theatrical of Lootera -- Gives more insight into the story.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbxLlOFDxBQ

Chennai Express Theatrical is coming on June 13th.....

YJHD will have a decent run untill Ghanchakkar on June 28th which will take more theatres....there is Ranjhanna on 21 which I think will be a very good film...but may not affect YJHD as much since it is a relatively small film....

This film, starring Nawazuddin Siddiqui and Irrfan Khan has got a lot of praise at Cannes...

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/U35tPjwzSbA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Movie won Viewers Choice award in cannes.....Looks very good...

Jun 14 - Fukrey
Jun 21 - Raanjhanaa
Jun 28 - Ghanchakkar

Fukrey looks like a good comedy movie, and Raanjhanaa songs are decent but both wont affect collections of YJHD. Ghanchakkar will take up lot of screen space as it is UTV, and from the promos Ghanchakkar looks a very very interesting movie.

Then in first week of July it's Lootera vs Policegiri (Sanjay Dutt's film), and the trailer for Policegiri looks very bad.

Gentleman , I have heard a lot about Rituparno Ghosh Brilliant Bengali works...some went and said...he will be top 10 Directors ever to grace the country....

Any bengali recommendations that you have watched????

Jun 14 - Fukrey
Jun 21 - Raanjhanaa
Jun 28 - Ghanchakkar

Fukrey looks like a good comedy movie, and Raanjhanaa songs are decent but both wont affect collections of YJHD. Ghanchakkar will take up lot of screen space as it is UTV, and from the promos Ghanchakkar looks a very very interesting movie.

Then in first week of July it's Lootera vs Policegiri (Sanjay Dutt's film), and the trailer for Policegiri looks very bad.

True.....
PoliceGiri will be crap...I would be suprised if it does 1 Cr bussiness on first day..and on top of that Sanju baba in Jail...and no promotions ...Prachi Desai is a non factor bussiness wise....

Fukrey and Ranjhanna will be good movies.....gut feeling from trailer.

Lootera New pic...

1003966_385867468197340_34987361_n.jpg

i have only watched two of his movies, Unishe April, was a critical success and Chocker Bali on Robi Thakur's novel. both were critical success. yet to watch rest of his bengali movies. but will do because i think i must watch them.

lol...I know there are lot of pics comparing Reena Roy and Sonakshi.....they are incredibly similar.

This is Reena Roy with her father in a movie still....won't be suprised if they think it is sonakshi.

aasha78.JPG

lol...I know there are lot of pics comparing Reena Roy and Sonakshi.....they are incredibly similar.

This is Reena Roy with her father in a movie still....won't be suprised if they think it is sonakshi.

aasha78.JPG

i think its jatendra (and not shatro)

i like how ranveer singh is dressed in lootera. i think i want to dress like that. looks quite manly and unique in an intelligent way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNH4QTjlz94

Sung By Atif Aslam. Song is nice...but Visuals are very good. Even the Original Telugu Version was one of better Visual Love stories...which was also directed by Prabhu Deva. He has knack of capturing nature and moments very nicely.....but did mostly Masala movies in Bollywood which gave him no chance to do it.

Shruti :heart:

Nice to see so many Desi rooted Love stories after a long time......this one,Lootera, Ranjhanna, Isaaq and a couple more....Urban stories are overdone and less appealing anyway.

Bhaag Milkha Bhaag Theatrical StarringFarhan And Sonam

Looks Epic !!!

as the first comment says -- Rakeysh Mehra(director of Rang De Basanti)+Prasoon Joshi+Shankar Ehsaan Loy+Farhan = Sheer bliss. Talented Bunch...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iY3qfhYPJSI

Sudh desi Romance Starring Parineeti chopra and Sushant Singh Rajput -- Written by the director of Chak De India -- Directed by the Director of Baand Bhaaja Bhaarat --- Looks Fun.Theatrical trailer will be out soon..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZYkT2AihQo

Bhajate Raho Theatrical Starring Dolly Ahluwahlia, Vinay Pathak, Ranvir Shorey....along with this talent overload...there is Tushar Kapoor....nice to see Dolly get so many varied roles...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n0Zyrr_ddU

- Bhaag Milkha Bhaag looks epic
- Shudhh Desi Romance looks very very good

I'm waiting for the full trailer of Satyagraha

First song from Chennai Express:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/xNZNgyCd6zc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Seems okay :/

Meanwhile the trailer of CE has gone past 3.6 million views

^^^^ Looks Crap TBH...dissapointed.. Btw...Girl Priyamani is a national award winning actor....brilliant actor from few movies I have seen of her in Tamil..especially a movie called "Paaruthiveeran".

I watched Raanjhanna over the weekend....

It was a pretty good movie. Dhanush was not a suprise, he pulled of the role with ease. Sonam for me was a suprise, she carried the movie on her soldiers pretty well....acted the best....one of finest performance by an actress in last few years. Girl who played Bindiya and guy who played Murari were fantastic....

Movie was pretty emotional....pretty realistic...flawed selfish characters..lot of depth to them......i know a movie should be looked as a movie....characters as just that...but it was pretty uncomfortable to see characters with suicidal tendancies , obsessibe nature...especially with a 13 yr old guy (my friends niece)....so people who are watching with kids are at the right age where they may get impressed.....dont let them.

Music was great...I like how songs were used to move the story forward... Movie drags here and there..I thought movie runs way too fast for an emotional impact at places.....Last dialogue by Dhanush was one of my favorites...and quite a few scenes.

All in all...a pretty different realistic love story in bollywood which otherwise always has fairy tale stories.... Varanasi was almost an another character in the movie...

Recommended . 7/10

^^^^ Looks Crap TBH...dissapointed.. Btw...Girl Priyamani is a national award winning actor....brilliant actor from few movies I have seen of her in Tamil..especially a movie called "Paaruthiveeran".

I watched Raanjhanna over the weekend....

It was a pretty good movie. Dhanush was not a suprise, he pulled of the role with ease. Sonam for me was a suprise, she carried the movie on her soldiers pretty well....acted the best....one of finest performance by an actress in last few years. Girl who played Bindiya and guy who played Murari were fantastic....

Movie was pretty emotional....pretty realistic...flawed selfish characters..lot of depth to them......i know a movie should be looked as a movie....characters as just that...but it was pretty uncomfortable to see characters with suicidal tendancies , obsessibe nature...especially with a 13 yr old guy (my friends niece)....so people who are watching with kids are at the right age where they may get impressed.....dont let them.

Music was great...I like how songs were used to move the story forward... Movie drags here and there..I thought movie runs way too fast for an emotional impact at places.....Last dialogue by Dhanush was one of my favorites...and quite a few scenes.

All in all...a pretty different realistic love story in bollywood which otherwise always has fairy tale stories.... Varanasi was almost an another character in the movie...

Recommended . 7/10

QQ: why only 7/10 as you are generally generous with your rating?

BZ,

I thought the movie could have been more coherent and there were quite a few character inconsistencies and flaws like you would think people of that background or that intelligence would not do those things......but they end up doing it .

@Ihammad

No, have to wait for DVD. Movie had good reviews.

I watched Fukrey, liked it a lot. Lots of funny moments and one liners, decent story.

Manjot Singh and Richa Chadda were good, I'd give it 7.5/10

I watched Fukrey, liked it a lot. Lots of funny moments and one liners, decent story.

Manjot Singh and Richa Chadda were good, I'd give it 7.5/10

Ya ia also watched it was a decent movie that Chocha guy was hilarious........

Watch fukrey indirectly film gives vry good message . Chocha boy was hilarious and his dream whr he is the superman kind. Good comedy 8/10.

Raanjhaa was awesome. 8/10

10 times better than your over hyped commercial movies like the recent YJHD.

Have to watch Fukrey. Hope Lootera is good too.....

Here is the theatrical trailer of Satyagraha:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/1KXwGcZI13k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Looks like Aarakshan and Raajneeti combined

Also, apparently there's some first look of Krrish 3 being unveiled today

2nd song from OUATIMD: Tayyab Ali Pyaar Ka Dushman

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/PKXve3s24t0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Ye Tune Kya Kiya + Tayyab Ali >>>>>>>>>>>> 1234 Get on the Dance Floor + Titli

That's because Pritam > Vishal/Shehkar

Javed Ali is the singer, and he also sang the Ishaqzaade title song

Watched Raanjhana.

Brilliant performance especially by Dhanush.

I don't like boy met girl movies but this one is wonderfully made. Dhanush will be in my radar now for his forthcoming movies.

^Dhanush is an expert in playing these kind of roles.i am waiting for his tamil movie 'mariyan' to release.the trailer looked really amazing.
IM,do you know when it is releasing?

no offence but dhanush looks like a bhikhari to me *waiting for IM to destroy me*

Lol....I leave it to your sense! You can say that when he plays a playboy or something...but he plays characters only that suits his look and age. So I think you should see beyond his looks.....dude is called one of India's finest today for a reason.