Bollywood Corner

We dont even have villains like we used to have..sometimes they had all the villains together.. Amrish Puri, Shakti Kapoor.. black shetty..that bearded player from Lagaan.. Gulshan Grover..Raza Murad..the entire evil of the whole universe..now I dont even know what kind of villains they have..who is the number 1 villain in Bollywood now? seriously dont know..

I am not sure if it is talked often but Abhimaan is a under rated Amithabh movie from the 70's...

Even the masala movies are not like old times..Mohra was such a great masala movie..Tridev..Vishwatma...epic masala movies..they dont make like them no more..

Agree . There is more simplicity during movies of that era with which the normal person could relate more easily . Nowadays , the focus is too much on style that even a normal police officer should also look like capable of doing superhuman stuff .

Movies with 2/3 heroes-2 /3heroines were always fantastic .

I would like to add " Main Khilari tu Anari " to that list .

We dont even have villains like we used to have..sometimes they had all the villains together.. Amrish Puri, Shakti Kapoor.. black shetty..that bearded player from Lagaan.. Gulshan Grover..Raza Murad..the entire evil of the whole universe..now I dont even know what kind of villains they have..who is the number 1 villain in Bollywood now? seriously dont know..

I do not think there is somebody specifically playing villain these days in movies...but all good character artists like paresh rawal or Nana or Naseerudhin shah...have all played villians...Manoj Bajpai...Ajay Devgan..etc etc..and villains are not caricaturish anymore...but then they are not charishmatic either like Amrish Puri in Mr.India...

Agree . There is more simplicity during movies of that era with which the normal person could relate more easily . Nowadays , the focus is too much on style that even a normal police officer should also look like capable of doing superhuman stuff .

Movies with 2/3 heroes-2 /3heroines were always fantastic .

I would like to add " Main Khilari tu Anari " to that list .

What about Yeh Dillagi?? I watched a couple of weeks back on netflix...it was fun!!

boomboomcheema, high five bro.... really enjoyed those simple movies with substance..and the masala movies with a troika of heroes and epic cast of villains.. thanks to YouTube..I spend my weekend sometimes enjoying these movies..

What about Yeh Dillagi?? I watched a couple of weeks back on netflix...it was fun!!

Yes it was good too , as the public were getting sad about Saif being left alone in the end , emerged Krishma from nowhere to accompany him .

Akshay Kumar played such a good big brother in that movie and eventually got Kajol .

Coming to substance...I think the 50's Bollywood(sri 420...etc etc)...70's bollywood(Bacchan's era)....and now is the best time. Last 5 to 6 years have seen some great movies in terms of substance and masala!!!....but 90's was pure awesome masala.....I think masala movies standing a test of time is a wonderfull achievement...and a bunch of 90's films do..like Hum aapke Hain Kaun..Andaaz Apna Apna...Rangeela..

ShahRukhs Anjaam , Bazzigar , Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa ( Epic songs and story , first time a leading character shown as loser in the movie ) all great movies ................ much much better than overdose of family rona dhona overdose of Yash and Karan Johar that Shahrukh eventually got preoccupied with .

Then there was a movie where Shah Rukh played a Cricket coach , with Nseruddin Shah as a Ghost who was visible to only him .............. fantastic movies and memories .

ShahRukhs Anjaam , Bazzigar , Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa ( Epic songs and story , first time a leading character shown as loser in the movie ) all great movies ................ much much better than overdose of family rona dhona overdose of Yash and Karan Johar that Shahrukh eventually got preoccupied with .

Then there was a movie where Shah Rukh played a Cricket coach , with Nseruddin Shah as a Ghost who was visible to only him .............. fantastic movies and memories .

True..SRK Till 1996(DDLJ) was an actor..and then he turned into star....although did some good movies...the actor was overshadowed except for a couple of movies!!!

Would like to Add Darr....

I do not think there is somebody specifically playing villain these days in movies...but all good character artists like paresh rawal or Nana or Naseerudhin shah...have all played villians...Manoj Bajpai...Ajay Devgan..etc etc..and villains are not caricaturish anymore...but then they are not charishmatic either like Amrish Puri in Mr.India...

That is the mistake they are making...it is the villain which defines the hero..the hero is seen only as strong as the villain he fights and overcomes.. where are the Gabbar Singh's, Mogambos, Dr. Dang, Balwant Rai, Bishambhar, Kesariya Vilayati, Sir John, Bhairo Nath...

recently only Rauf Lala looked decent as a villain...

That is the mistake they are making...it is the villain which defines the hero..the hero is seen only as strong as the villain he fights and overcomes.. where are the Gabbar Singh's, Mogambos, Dr. Dang, Balwant Rai, Bishambhar, Kesariya Vilayati, Sir John, Bhairo Nath...

I know right...I thought people praised Sanjuy Dutt more than he deserved(he was good no doubt)...but for me ...the star was Rishi Kapoor...even more than Hrithik roshan...was deadly...eyes spoke his emotions.....

But then I again...we do not have a really hero driven cinema these days..I though the villain in Singham was made powerfull enough....Ghajini was alright....remaining like Rowdy rathore,body guard,ready etc etc were nonsense anyway

True..SRK Till 1996(DDLJ) was an actor..and then he turned into star....although did some good movies...the actor was overshadowed except for a couple of movies!!!

Would like to Add Darr....

Great add . Actually Amir Khan was offered the role of "Rahul" first but he declined and Shahrukh accepted and thus began the journey of Shahrukh-Yash .

Good recall mate , want to watch Ghayal again very sooner now .

The concept of villians is definately missing from Bollywood these days .

Even in the 70s-80s , the likes of Amjad Khan , Pran , Ajit , Ranjit .......... even Kader Khan added a lot more to the movie with the horror attached to their characters .

^^^ Haha. I stopped watching Deols untill Yamla Pagla Deewaana and after..thought YPD was a fun movie.

Gangs of wasseypur 2 . Beautiful ,Beautiful movie. The first one was a little documentary type but the 2nd one is something completely different than what you expect from bollywod. The soundtrack makes it even more awesome.

Dil Chi Cha Ledar :kapil

this is one that should have been sent to the Oscars, really.

^^^ Sneha Khanwalker is one of the most innovate musician in Bollywood...I will dare say of all Time. She did a Program in MTV called MTV sound Tripping where she will go to special place every week...and record the everyday sounds iconic to the area and make a song out of it..and she used local unknown singers...

Check the below video ...Watch full episodes if you are interested...

Looking forward to more amazing songs from her...still very young!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RS3P7_ktJF0

Legend ...Big "B" ..Amithab Bacchan's 70th Birthday Today.....Whole bollywood is at his house!!!
amitabh-bachchan-brunch.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cl2T-Itb7WQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wC-SkHX1EGA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHjOkCiaZz8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dLL9YFAXaYY

Some Pics from the function....

Great to See Dileep Kumar.....looks like he is really unable to walk with out support...Aishwarya and Abhishek

52941.jpg

Rajnikanth

rajinikanth1.jpg

Shashi Kapoor

amitabh-6_1349895136.jpg

Waheeda Rahman

waheeda.jpg

Tabu

tabu.jpg

Abhishek with Aish and His sister...Aish looks great

amitabh-2_1349895018.jpg

Aishwarya's Baby

15i3f2o.jpg

Ritesh and Genelia

DSC_4153_3.JPG

Sridevi and Boney Kapoor -- Biggest Mismatch if there ever was one

DSC_4046.JPG

Anil Kapoor and wife

DSC_3472_0.preview.JPG

And manyy others are present.....None of Khans are present --or may be the pictures did not come yet!!

seen loads of pics of his birthday bash n no Khans (well sanjay khan and family were there) not even Saif!

SRK was there with Gauri!!! Aamir in Chicago for Dhoom 3 shooting!! Saif busy with marriage preparations on 16th. Salman is absent because of obv reasons(ash)

Sri Devi should be inspiration for many desi womans. And Deelip Kumar, he must be thinking after seeing 3 Khans dominating Bollywood for over 2 decades that he shouldnt have changed the name. Or maybe things were different back then?

Watched Oh My God Today..... a Very Good Film. Film touches on many issues related to God and humans perception of God. Paresh Rawal as usual was brilliant....Akshay should be commended for producing such a different movie...as usual he acts well. It is borrowed from a play Paresh Rawal wrote himself and was a successfull play back in the day.....Movie did great financially as well...

Watch it!!! 4/5 !!

Theatrical Trailer..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eSfJ9NTE0OE

Saw "English Vinglish".

Top movie. I thought Sri Devi did an excellent job.

8/10.

^^^^ Never in one Frame did she seem like has left acting for 16 years , did she? Although she has been acting since she was 4 yrs old...16 years is a huge break...and many things have changed since then..it was like she never left!!!

That final speech moved me.....simple...sweet...I am glad she did not talk perfect English!!!

^^^^ Never in one Frame did she seem like has left acting for 16 years , did she? Although she has been acting since she was 4 yrs old...16 years is a huge break...and many things have changed since then..it was like she never left!!!

That final speech moved me.....simple...sweet...I am glad she did not talk perfect English!!!

Yup, it was good and they didn't do anything over the top. Bollywood movies are good when it's kept simple.

Just a nice script that is easy to enjoy.

Song Promo of Luv Shuv Tey Chicken Khurana....Amit Trivedi's great run continuous since Dev D....Harshdeep Kaur is growing as a singer too with every song...Anurag Kashyap's production..they are promoting as india's first food film...something to do with old chicken recipe!!!

The story of a quirky Punjabi family in pursuit of a secret recipe that will enable them to reclaim their pride & wealth!

Huma Qureshi :heart:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=87XsJ4d-Fgo

Kunal looks completly different now, what happned? Or maybe he just shaved?

Just shaved I guess...guy is a good actor(most theatre artists are)...made some really wrong choices after Rang De Basanti !!!!

just finished watching english vinglish... the story is not great..but it is so simple and beautiful..so much real..that i had tears when i watched sri devi..my mother would have felt the same when we made fun of her..when she had to come to school for my admission because my father was not at home..and she could not speak a word..she was so nervous...i feel so sad today that she had to feel inadequate for her children because she could not speak english........sorry ma..

That was a beautiful scene ...think the fact that teacher was a good man and was willing to converse made it more beautifull!!!... Some dialogues are so simple but yet powerful.....My fav was .. ""Radha,mujhe pyaar ke zaroorat nahin hai.Zaroorat hai,toh sirf thodi izzat ki". I see that a lot even in my family....Even though we all love each other...few people are picked upon more often that not for fun....while it may be fun for a while...but then I can easily see the hurt. We used to correct our Grand mothers Telugu very often...and she always takes it sportingly...but I think now I feel at some point she might have felt bad when the conversion went from what she was speaking to how she was speaking the language....

even the heroes of 70's used to have similar hairstyles,,,,watch amitabh or vinod khanna movies

Vishal Bharadhwaj's(Maqbool,Omkara, Kaminey Director) Next "Matru Ki BiJlee Ka Mandola" Starring Imran Khan has Matru, Anushka Sharma as Bijilee and Pankaj Kapoor as Mandola and Shabana Azmi...Looks Mad and different like all his films...Nice to see Imran Break out of Rom Coms.....Anushka Sharma is one of the finest actresses today...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eihADcleSCQ&feature=youtu.be

^ looks great

'dil jab saand ho toh har ladki bhains dikhati deti hai meri jaan':))):)))

n Anushka is one of the most beautiful too:heart:

^^^ True. She has a very interesting line up films coming too with brilliant directors...Bombay Velvet directed by Anurag Kashyap..Ranbir is Co -star...and Peekay directed by RajKumar Hirani...Aamir Khan is the co-star!!!

great.

saw couple of bollywood movies in last week

English Vinglish, beautiful movie, Sridevi is a legend !
Ratings: 8/10

Oh My God Even better movie, the humour was great but I felt the movie drifted off topic to some traditions which felt irrelevant as they had nothing to do with the original case. Paresh Rawal and Akshay were brilliant as usual.
Ratings: 8.5/10

OMG has landed some hard balls! There has been epidemic of 'Babas' in India in last decade. Paresh Rawal was brilliant as usual.

Matru ki bijali ka mandola looks very unique movie. Pankaj Kapoor is brilliant actor. Looking forward to this movie.

ohh..looks like another saat khoon maaf.....vishal ji is trying hard to become desi tarentino

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdOumVBRKp8

Another song promo from Jab Tak Hain Jaan --- first movie to be shot in Kashmir in a while. SRK did not even seem to put an effort in not looking old...even has grey beard!!! don't think he is playing love interest of Anushka....

Decent song..one of better songs in this album..was expecting more from Rahman!!

Hema Malini is the one and only Queen of Bollywood.

All other actresses go to school on her performances.

PS: Smita Patil too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdOumVBRKp8

Another song promo from Jab Tak Hain Jaan --- first movie to be shot in Kashmir in a while. SRK did not even seem to put an effort in not looking old...even has grey beard!!! don't think he is playing love interest of Anushka....

Decent song..one of better songs in this album..was expecting more from Rahman!!

If I am not wrong Rockstar was shot in kashmir and even Student Of the year song Ishq wala love was also shot in Kashmir

^^^^ Oh really!!!!! I remember reading that it has been a while..and there was SRK giving pressmeets and everything..may be it is the first SRK movie in a while..not sure!!!

But that Ishq Wala Song reminds me of one of the best Spoofs I have seen in a long long time...It is hillarious if you saw the original!! Must Watch...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=enaSFL5eii8

SRK , Katrina and Amithabh Doing Gangnam Style...Katrina as :heart: as ever...And Big B at 70 as active as ever..

535765_486524664714661_1348646669_n.jpg

267642_486522898048171_1036708111_n.jpg

from the talaash trailer it seems pretty obvious that

SPOILERS>>>>>

that aamir is a schizophrenic cop who kills all these people on the same day his kid drowned in an accident at the same spot because of him. what do you guys think
PS_ are there spoiler tags ?

also kareena kapoor exists in his imagination?

^^^^^^ That is what most people have been saying....and it is very much possible that is the reason!!!!!! "Raat Bar Tum kya karte ho" by Raani in the trailer may be is the indication too he does that in the nights......where as the person who made the trailer wants us to think he is with Kareena !!!! However Nawazuddhin Siddique's character..and his dialogue to Kareena about some Game sounds interesting...

Lol...Why are guys roasting me....I just follow the right websites and subscribe to right channels :D

And btw....I was looking at some thing related to polio after the I saw the polio thread...and I found some hillarious add campaigns by Big b during 2001 to 2003..did not want deviate that thread from a serious issue ...so posting here....No wonder big b got fecilatated for his contribution in polio eradication

Bib g and SRK ( on religion )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yaqPrhIzb3U&feature=related

Aishwarya Rai and Big B

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qQegjbo3d8&feature=related

Sachin and Big B

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4hC8N4qo6BQ

Jaya and Big B

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=raGLJl1-sXA&feature=relmfu

Hema and Big B

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXbUWuYOtt8&feature=relmfu

^^^^ Oh really!!!!! I remember reading that it has been a while..and there was SRK giving pressmeets and everything..may be it is the first SRK movie in a while..not sure!!!

But that Ishq Wala Song reminds me of one of the best Spoofs I have seen in a long long time...It is hillarious if you saw the original!! Must Watch...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=enaSFL5eii8

That's my friend Arunabh. We studied together. He makes such spoofs and was quite a character during college days!

Really...has a good sense of humour!!! Is he responsible for all the videos by "TheViralFeverVideos" Q-tiyapa videos??.... I find them pretty funny...this is one my fav ..videos..Guy who calls is incredible....some of the dialogues are just epic!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=418A0PYo-ik

^^^^ watch these videos..esp the roadies one..that was hillarious!!!!!...and also Oh meri Jaane Jana song video...I think animation is pretty awesome ..esp since it is amateur makers!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8sgYXNwNLXg&feature=relmfu

Bappa Ganapati Style(picturized with real people)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x47TWUKP3E8&list=UUNJcSUSzUeFm8W9P7UUlSeQ&index=3&feature=plpp_video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GD1NsCyqT9I&list=PLC2F485C1F58681FC&index=3&feature=plpp_video

Insaan

Got to say..your friend is very talented man!!

He created an early impression in our first year, he would be playing his flute in the mess hall. Was a great troll too, would troll the fans of other colleges during sports. Cant mention all of his antics, but he was a maverick. After doing engineering, he went to Bombay and met Farah Khan and demanded work from her. She asked him to leave, but he used his charm and told her, I will do anything, anything you want. She finally let him work as an assistant director for Om Shanti Om, and after that he has been directing music videos etc. Funniest guy I have seen.

Watched all of them. Can't wait for his own movie to come out. He has gotten talented team as well.

has anyone seen movie called 'Makhhi'.has got very good reviews apparently

Navrocks - This is googly for you.

"Hum jahan khade hote hain, line wohi se shuru hoti hain"?

Two parts to the question -
1. which movie?
2. who said the line??