Bollywood Corner

wow navroks..even if you had only 50 posts in this thread..the quality of that post wins this whole thread.. i felt wonderful reading your review..

Just got back from Jab Tak Hai Jaan

Agree with Navroks. It is illogical but then what else do you expect?

The film was too long though close to 3 hours and it gets boring at times.

SRK was good but it was Anushka who stole the show.

A decent one time watch but I couldn't sit through it again.

wow navroks..even if you had only 50 posts in this thread..the quality of that post wins this whole thread.. i felt wonderful reading your review..

I agree.

Always great to read the reviews by Navroks.

Haha..Thanks !!!! I hope I did not overhype the movie...Movie is not that great....It is that small Yash Chopra Tademark sequences especially in the first half..and first 20-30 min of second half that make the movie work....otherwise a pretty Average movie to be honest. Mostly the story and last 45 minutes to be blamed...

What makes this movie special is that fact...this will probably be last of love story Sagas you will see in bollywood with typical melodramatic 90's style with pure almost impossible characters..with awesome locations......where there are only good people in the world...where a heroine runs through snow in her introduction in slow motion...where there will be close up shots in emotional scenes with slow background.....Where there is incredibly self less love.....Basically the last of Yash Chopra style movie.

If Yash Chopra did not pass away, this movie would not have received as many accolades.... people including myself..almost feel guilty when I point at negative things in the movie...It is that feeling that you want to enjoy this movie because it is the last from man!!

Go with low expectations...and you will def Like it !!

Will def. be watching Talaash of Amir Khan! but I am not sure if it is good idea to watch it in cinemas, as people might just ruin the suspense.

Lol why do people even consider watching SRK and Katrina together starred movies!

Jab tak hai jaan. A very fine film. A beautiful film actually... I liked it a lot, the promise to Jesus was a bit dumb but I swollowed and enjoyed the film.

Son of Sardar -- My Review

As somebody who has seen the Telugu Version of the movie, I have hated the Hindi Version....Movie completely lacks the soul and any feel for the characters....a movie like this needs consistency in the characters....

Basically, the basic premise is Ajay's Family and Sanju baba's family are rivals...And Sanjay's family want to kill Ajay -- the last of their family. Now, Dutt's family has a custom that they will not kill anybody in their house..coz for them... their house is a temple..and through circumstances Ajay enter Dutts house....and movie is about Ajay's struggle to stay in the house while Dutt Tries to bring him out of the house...especially with all the family and sonakshi in equation...

Now, the Telugu movie works wonderfully because....Guy is **** scared..he is coward...and he never fights...and he is not brave..and he uses his brain and emotions to keep himself in the house..you root for him....Guy is underdog here. Here Ajay...absolutely murders 100 people in one fight..and then hides himself in the house....It is insane.....And character in Telugu version is played by a comedy actor (like what Rajpal Yadav/Johnny liver is for hindi )...not a star like Ajay !!! Even the enemity between the family is made a joke....

And when they show montages of time Ajay and Sonakshi spend in the train in the sad song at end......you feel nothing....coz it is so poorly written it is insane...for example...In Telugu you have a great dialogues..moments to remember about the journey they have...very real moments...for example...

This is the song which comes in Telugu version while movie happens....revolving around the train..and lyrics are very soothing(not that people will understand here )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HX-qneyH7iY
while in hindi it is an extravagent dance number(Raja Rani Song)...

Over all,Movie lacks soul, it lacks sense, it lacks consistency, there are no characters...there is nothing other than a good plot to spoil and money to be spent...Dialogues are as **** as they come...Movie is nonsense at the highest level where Salman's movies look like master pieces.....

Rating : 1/ 10 !!!!

Even if you are pashtu speaking afghan..you are better of watching the Telugu version than that garbage...Movie link...it has english subtitles...so if anybody is interested!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvG_fBTU7p4

since when did masala movies start having a soul? you are not reviewing this movie, you are comparing it with the original one.. and since it is son of sardar they have to show Ajay as some brave guy..they have to maintain the stereotype of a sardar.. the way you describe the movie is what i had expected from the trailers..so dont know why you are disappointed

^^^^ Then they chose the wrong subject to make a masala movie. because showing him kick butt in one scene...and then hiding scared in one scene...it is insane!!! Dialogues also...see this

Main India nahi jaoonga..sab waha mujhe Hindustan liver bolega..

Eh?

Hindustan Leaver....

and then we have to laugh at that !! :D...anyway..may be because I have watched the origianal...i am more dissapointed..but movie is garbage..even in bodyguard I felt for salman and kareena in the end for a while.. :D

navroks, are you from telengana or andhra?? and why are the stars from andhra and comedians from telengana??isnt that discrimination?

I am from Coastal Andhra, And most legendary comedians are from coastal Andhra actually...about heroes not being from Telangana....Nitin is From Telangana..and his first 3 movies and his last movie were hit since they were good movies....so...if they were discriminated....those would not have worked !!!

ok.i wanted to make sure because a guy from telengana told me that...man i miss having gongura pappu...

I guess he is upset there are no stars from the region....yaa...I miss having it too...fed up eating at subways..and salads etc etc...

navroks, coming to stereotypes in bollwyood.. why are sikhs shown in the same typical way..of a large hearted person who is ready to save everyone..why not just show a normal person.. and what is this trend of caste and ethnicity glorification.. singh is king, son of sardar, pathan ke yaar se panga mat lena.. what is this?? when are we going to have baniya is king, son of julaha, dalit ke yaar se panga mat lena..

^^^ completely Agree !!!!! Sterotyping of Sikhs in insane as loud people,large hearted...wearing colorfull dress...punjabi kudis as rowdy ranis..........Rocket Singh is the only movie I can remember which did not stereotype Sikhs....!!

not just sikhs..the glorification of khans..which are upper caste among muslims.. what about ansari and qureshi.. in the gangs of wasseypur they showed the pathans as the good guys and the qureshis as the bad guys.. hate this casteist portrayal..

I think that was just history....no? Huma Qureshi was asked the same question..and she said she has no problem...and they were just showing what happened from the research they have done...

ok..yes..i read that it was based on real story.. Huma Qureshi doesnt look like a star..she is like that girl in neighbourhood everyone talks about..so tall and nicely plump..just dont like her acting..she wasnt special in chicken khurana..but what a nice wrestler of a desi woman..

i started watching but after 20 minutes just skipped through for Huma Qureshi's scenes but they were boring..and didnt care to see the ending of the movie..bit tired of punjabi based movies now..

I watched Jab Tak Hai Jaan today and it is terrible. Do not waste time watching this crap movie unless you want to pay tribute to late Yash Chopra.

ortona..... she has a pretty face but no attraction at all at least for me....also make up ka kamaal

you will see far better looking girls on a small street of SUNDAY bazaar in defence, Karachi.

That's my two cents.

I watched Jab Tak Hai Jaan today and it is terrible. Do not waste time watching this crap movie unless you want to pay tribute to late Yash Chopra.

or watch Kat n Anushka:108:

thats enough reason to watch it.

P.S. I heard theres a bikini scene,can u confirm:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWW74AXzASE

I can't seem to get this song out of head from last few days....Pure awesomeness from Rahman !!! Almost feel bad for not knowing Good Tamil to completely understand the lyrics....Can't wait for the movie...Romantic movie from Mani Ratnam based in Chennai with Raajev's cinematography And rahman's music...expecting nothing less than "Alaipayuthe" !!

I know this is a bollywood thread, I wanted to post in that south Indian songs thread...but that page would never load...and page keeps gets struck...not sure why !!!

Navroks are you into bengali cinema?? i know currently they make trash..but during satyajit ray's time they were a notch ahead of others.. do you know of any non bollywood bengali actors

No, I am not...but the other day I brought this Dvd "Kashmakash" in a local Indian store ..because they were selling DVD's for 50 cents ...I just recognized the director "Rituparna Ghosh" because I loved his movie "Raincoat"...It is also produced by Subhash Ghai...so If I watch that would be my first Bengali movie...

Recently I heard some movie about a film shoot in a house..and had ghosts in it..was a big hit in Bengali...cannot remember the name !!

Bengali movies were the best during Satyajit Ray's time, when he won an oscar, and his movie, pather panchali is in top 50 greatest movies of all time, according to british film institute..too bad bengali movies went the masala way in the 80s.. our greatest actor is Uttam Kumar, and greatest actress suchitra sen, who looks like madhuri..

uttam-kumar1.jpg

and everyone talks about punjabi influence on bollywood, but they forget the bengali influence..
Ashok Kumar, Kishore Kumar, Mithun, Bappi Lahiri, Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Kumar Sanu, Abhijeet, Hemant Kumar, Biswajeet, Utpal Dutt, Sushmita Sen , Bipasha Basu, Konkona Sen Sharma, Rakhee, Rani Mukherjee, Sharmila Tagore, Rimi Sen...my god, there are a lot more..so i will stop here

Yeah, Both Malayalam annd Bengali cinema were one of the most artistic industries....untill the turned into more commercial cinema.

Now, I think Tamil cinema and in some ways bollywood...are having a good mix of commercial and good cinema. While my lanuage, Telugu Cinema became way too Commercial ..with odd good creative work...3 to 4 movies every year. I do not watch bengali or malayalam...but I heard both went commercial. Punjabi Cinema is picking up too these days I hear...

downfall of malayalam started when they started shakeela and reshma movies..mammooty and mohanlal are only two i am aware of for being legends.. i knew someone;s family who was a telugu poet and lyricist but you may not know him..he wrote for older movies.. telugu movies may be masala, but they are high budget so worth watching..i watched eega..nice graphics for an indian movie..i guess telugu movies will remain like this..

but what about kannada movies, malayalam, tamil and telugu cinema are well established, but kannada cinema is like a poor cousin, i dont even know anyone else apart from Uppi..

and everyone talks about punjabi influence on bollywood, but they forget the bengali influence..
Ashok Kumar, Kishore Kumar, Mithun, Bappi Lahiri, Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Kumar Sanu, Abhijeet, Hemant Kumar, Biswajeet, Utpal Dutt, Sushmita Sen , Bipasha Basu, Konkona Sen Sharma, Rakhee, Rani Mukherjee, Sharmila Tagore, Rimi Sen...my god, there are a lot more..so i will stop here

What about South Indian influence....Sridevi, Hema Malini, Rekha, Mani Ratnam, A R Rahman , Ram Gopal Varma, Aishwarya Rai, Rasool Pokatty, Deepika Padukone, Shantosh Shivan, Prabhu Deva,Priyadarshan,Vidya Balan, and few more..

I am not going to forgive you for forgetting Shreya Goshal in that bengali list....that is a crime!!!

What about South Indian influence....Sridevi, Hema Malini, Rekha, Mani Ratnam, A R Rahman , Ram Gopal Varma, Aishwarya Rai, Rasool Pokatty, Deepika Padukone, Shantosh Shivan, Prabhu Deva,Priyadarshan,Vidya Balan, and few more..

I am not going to forgive you for forgetting Shreya Goshal in that bengali list....that is a crime!!!

sorry, no south indian influence just stick to one state..cant use four states against my one state.. shreya ghoshal lives or used to live quite close to my place..used to go there every week..and i know this girl who was on indian idol..torsha sarkar..

downfall of malayalam started when they started shakeela and reshma movies..mammooty and mohanlal are only two i am aware of for being legends.. i knew someone;s family who was a telugu poet and lyricist but you may not know him..he wrote for older movies.. telugu movies may be masala, but they are high budget so worth watching..i watched eega..nice graphics for an indian movie..i guess telugu movies will remain like this..

but what about kannada movies, malayalam, tamil and telugu cinema are well established, but kannada cinema is like a poor cousin, i dont even know anyone else apart from Uppi..

Telugu cinema is good hands financially..movies collect upto 80 to 90 crores if it is a hit...and we do produce good commercial cinema...which bollywood copies and spoils it....Eega for me was one of the finest animation movies from India !!! Even Good cinema..we do get them....a few every year....new directors like Krish and co are very promosing......and many movies like Bommarillu starring generlia and sidhath are pan Indian Hit .....

Tamil Cinema is ofcourse great as always....

Kannada Cinema...I am not sure why..and what happened...may be because of the sons of Raj Kumar!!!

sorry, no south indian influence just stick to one state..cant use four states against my one state.. shreya ghoshal lives or used to live quite close to my place..used to go there every week..and i know this girl who was on indian idol..torsha sarkar..

Lol..True..but then we have commercially successfull industries...there is no reason why the likes of SPB or ilayaraja or Kamal Haasan or anybody who completely move to bollywood :D

but bengalis are naturally artists and intellectuals, which everyone agrees to

Kannada Cinema...I am not sure why..and what happened...may be because of the sons of Raj Kumar!!!

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/-PFURM9eA_Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

i love this song by Dr. Raj Kumar

I am particularly excited about the movie called KrishnamVande Jagadguram in Telugu..check out the trailer ...I loved the director's pervious Movie..Vedam.....If you are interested the below link also has subtitles....I just saw somebody from pakistan commented in the comments :D...,you will like the movie....It is about stories of a Prostitute, a wannabe singer, a couple who come to city sell kidney for child education, a muslim being discriminated ...a right wing police officer trying to catch a terrorist....and poor guy who is tryng to get a rich girl by acting rich and how their stories get connected...Allu Arjun, Manoj Bajpai, Anushka, Monoj are the actors..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOxr09_8oVc

btw...i like your nostalgia comment...I dislike people who look at 80's 70's songs and movies and laugh and diss them...while it is okay not like them....It is not something to ridicule coz things back then were different..so was the awareness...etc

yes..even 2 years back i was quite mature in my outlook..please give a thumbs up to that comment..

JTHJ was really average...Katrina was absolutely awful and the story was just way too OTT.

a proper actress like Kareena or Priyanka should have played the part of Meera.

JTHJ was really average...Katrina was absolutely awful and the story was just way too OTT.

kareena proper actress?:O

son of sardar,,,,,,really boring movie,,,and second half was unbearable,,,,ajay devgn should stick to playing roles like sultan mirza,malik bhai or bhgat singh

I think people under rate Kareena a bit...Kareena has done some very good roles and has pulled them of very well...I do not think anybody else might do Geet from Jab we met as well as Kareena did...may be Genelia (but then Genelia would not be nice in the second half)....she was good in Heroine...and in Chameli as a prostitute...personally she did some bad roles...but she never is dissapointing as an actor after Jab we met. Priyanka is a better actor.

However I do not think Kareena pr priyanka would have suited for Meera, I am not sure how to explain this...But Katrina kaif has this look...which makes me believe she can be person who believes in what she believes in the movie...where as Kareena and Priyanka just look more complex !!!

she was lucky with Jab We Met, because the role was similar to her personality..she was not acting, she just got to play kareena... in all of her movies, i dont see the character, i only see kareena playing herself..at least katrina doesnt have any pretensions of being a good actor...but kareena acts as if she is the best actress and is the most prettiest..

This is true...Kareena's interviews are always cocky !!!! And Katrina for me...may not be a good actress....but one of the finest ofscreen....very honest....even during ETT and JTHJ promotions..she held her own self without going gaga over SRK..and Salman..and I loved her in leadership summit yesterday by hindustan times !!!!

In one a way I find Katrina inspirational.....a 16 yr old british indian girl in Mumbai with unknown language from a poor background...becomes one of the biggest stars in India...has learnt hindi...learnt dance...and acts better these days....And if you observe..inspite of having no background...she always choses a role which has something to it or will do something for her career even in dumb roles like Tees Mar Khan..she comes out with something!!!...sheila ki Jawani has brought new life to her career...and farah khan has made her a great dancer!!....where as Kareena's and Sinha's...keep doing nothing roles with big stars to stay in spotlight..while Sonam keeps doing magazine covers to stay in spot light !!!!!

From where she started...Katrina has improved..and done more important roles than Kareena ..inspite of later being from the first family of bollywood!!

navroks, what do you think of sunny deol..will she be able to make a mark in bollywood...i really hope she improves her acting and becomes one of the top stars

Oh, Leone....I am not sure...She is doing Ragini MMS 2 with Ekta Kapoor now which I am sure will make great money for the budget....I have a feeling she will be with Balaji and Vishwesh Films for next 3 to 4 movies who have an amazing knack of making low budget movies which end up making great money......(Jism 2 made with 7 crores collected some 40 odd...just because of her )...and then she will either go back or she will get a good movie which will change her career...do not see her being a house hold name though !!!

I actually though Katrina did well (I'm not even a fan really). Movie was definitely OTT, but that's Bollywood.

Story was fine up to a point before they really started laying it on thick. :))

^^^^ That is what I thought to, she emoted more than she ever did (leaving slapsticks like Ajab Prem ki )

But I think inspite of being the biggest actress in terms of BO, barring Vidya Balan....Katrina is still not getting roles with good directors and movies with stuff........Anushka Sharma has Bombay Velvet (Period movie by Anurag Kashyap with Ranbir) , PeeKay (Hirani's movie with Aamir ), Matru ki Bijli ka Mandola with Vishal Bharadwaj...

With Cocktail...Deepika has bagged Bhansali's Desi Romeo and Juliet ..period film too.....with likes of Parineeti Chopra, Huma Qureshi, Yami Gautam and many others coming in...

Although Katrina has Dhoom 3 with Aamir, Dostana 2 , Main central lead in Rajneeti 2 and Official Remake of Knight and Day with Hrithik roshan...all very huge projects....Expect Rajneeti 2...all bank on her star prowess than her acting....and the day couple of these types of movies flop expecially since they are huge ....there is a serious chance of she will stop getting roles if she does not become a better actress.....less likely though...atleast 2 of them will work !!!

Was dragged to watch Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

The stroy line is unbelieveably ridiculous. Let me point out, I am not a Bollywood hater. I like some movies which are over the top too - Veer-Zaara, K3G. Im not beyond the fantasy world that these guys revel in....

But JTHJ had such a weak plot. I mean basing a whole movie, on some stupid ridiculous promise to 'Sir Jesus'. Did they not read the script before making the movie?

Katrina Kaif still cannot act. I am guessing that an over load of plastic surgery has made it impossible for her to convey any sort of genuine emotion.

Shah Rukh Khan actually acted well I thought, given the constraints of the script.

I have a crush on Anushka Sharma though. Character waay to over the top - a caricature really. But she is soooo.....:heart:

Barfi was good though. Think press is harsh on the originality aspect of it. Look at the plot. Original enough even if the scenes were inspired. Skyfall has borrowed so much from Batman, its a joke, but that gets glossed over.

Okay First....are we talking actors or Stars!!!! Stars is not just acting but has charishma..good looks...good personality..and ability to engage the audience....star comes in a package....

Even back in day ....Naseerudhin Shah was not a star....was he? Rajesh Khanna was star because the girls at that time found him sexy according to their taste.....and then came Amithab Bacchan.....

Do you know anil Kapoor was considered sexy because he had chest Hair!!! and he had loads...

In Today's World....people work out more..and it is showing in bollywood. People keep up with the trends....in different ways!!

But Idea of being more appealing to the public is the same....however looks are not the only factor...Today...20 yrs later...there are still young fans for SRK....Salman or Akshay ...not because they have body...so the thing is Idea of what is perceived to look good has changed from generations....but idea of the star being attractive is the same!!!!

Back in the day Dharmendra may be considered sexy having loads of chest hair...now it is not...now chiseled body is considered sexy....things change..hairstyles change.....

People from non acting back ground have always come into bollywood....if they had stuff to succeed ..they have...so I do not see a problem!!

Cinema is a visual medium...looks , charishma play a part...sometimes over ride acting....read Salman !!

They show of their muscles coz they have it...back in the day Anil, Sunil Shetty...showed their chest hair.....Atleast muscles are hard to get!! Is that your problem btw? :D

90 % of the male stars are successfull coz of their acting....however successfull they are...even females...likes of Vidya, Anushka, Deepika, Kareena are considered more successfull as actress than Sonam and co who live in empty celebrity status with no work to back up...Eventually they will fade out !!!

Industry still rewards acting....and charishma....Idea of looking good has always been there...back then it was something that was natural...(chest hair and voice)...now it is something that has to be achieved with hard work....muscles!!

About bad teeth...Sanjay Dutt and Ajay Devgn ...stars aren't they?

I do not know what you mean by Manoj Bhajpaye is not mainstream.....he is a A list main stream actor...so is Irfan Khan..so is naseerudhin shah...and they are stars in India....

Even in Hollywood...Whoopie Goldberg or Morgan freeman are no bigger stars than Brad Pitt....(heck I doubt if they make more money than Kristen stewart)

Being a star is different from being an Actor...Star has to have everything...and everything....and that everything changes!!

Ranbir Kapoor is a star now...but it is not the muscles that are reason for the stardom...but his acting!!!People are more body conscious now..and it shows...may be girls back then liked chest hairs and mustaches...but now they do not ....!!!!

All the people back then were stars because they were considered good looking or had charishma....now how those characterstics are percieved has changed....that is only differenc

:14::14: what an analysis ! u have ur fingers on the pulse of bollywood.

^^^ Depends....If you like melodramatic yashraj movies...it is worth...even then it drags!!!

Otherwise....I am not sure how recent is new for you...but good movies lately are Oh My God, English Vinglish, Barfi, GOW I and II...Luv Shuv tey chicken Khurana is decent it seems....you can try Student of the year (karan johar movie though)

i was really into huma qureshi after GOW..she looked so meaty and healthy...but after Chicken Khurana i just lost interest..she is one ordinary actress..after the novelty wears off..she isnt that great

^^^^ I won't right her of as of yet....Her next movie "Ek di Thayan" with Emraan Hashmi (Vishal Bhawardwaj production) will be an important film for her !!

I saw this interview yesterday..Masand picked her as best newcomers this year along with Ayushman Khurana and Arjun Kapoor...fun interview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyarIqtryjQ

navroks..do you notice has technology spoiled our old bollywood plots.. earlier the hero and the heroine had to wander in a jungle, singing a song to find each other and met only at the end of the song..if they had a mobile phone they would have found each other before the song..some things are forever lost now because of technology.

navroks, why do you think that our actresses used to wear 50% clothes or a saree at best in snowy mountains while the hero was fully warmed and insulated.. wasnt that gender bias, sending a wrong message, that the female's job is only to look appealing to others and she doesnt have the right to save herself from cold.

The thing is I have heard very bad reviews for JTHJ. Generally I like movies that have a good plot, but I can also watch movies that have very good action or comedy, even if they don't have a great plot.

Romance without a good plot - I can't bear it.

So any suggestions? :)

The thing is I have heard very bad reviews for JTHJ. Generally I like movies that have a good plot, but I can also watch movies that have very good action or comedy, even if they don't have a great plot.

Check out the movies Nav mentioned.

^^^^ I won't right her of as of yet....Her next movie "Ek di Thayan" with Emraan Hashmi (Vishal Bhawardwaj production) will be an important film for her !!

I saw this interview yesterday..Masand picked her as best newcomers this year along with Ayushman Khurana and Arjun Kapoor...fun interview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyarIqtryjQ

Yami Gautam?!

She is a must for best newcomer and not Huma!

Yeah....Well...It has a bad Plot...I personally thought first half was okay..and last 60 minutes drags like crazy....If you are looking for a good movie.....It is not the movie. You have to be fan of atleast one person in the movie to like it...