Bollywood Corner

I dont need to improve my accent..i got high marks in Toefl..full marks in written and only 3 marks less in spoken..plus 99 percentile in gre vocab..so i know better english than average americans..nothing to improve.

12-Italian-marines-IndiaInk-blog480.jpg

Another example..policeman saluting the italian marines who killed indian fishermen..he wont be saluting if it was an indian prisoner..and dont say that the cops salute VIPs..because these marines are no vips..

Hey...let us ignore the fact that we caught them....and we made them sit in jail for days....and all that.....

and only pick on single salute by a random uneducated constable..and just use it to generalize !!!!

From singers to indians in america to indians liking things in youtube ....to some random constable 's salute..!!!!

I guess people who caught them...and gave them a hard time are not indians....

I dont need to improve my accent..i got high marks in Toefl..full marks in written and only 3 marks less in spoken..plus 99 percentile in gre vocab..so i know better english than average americans..nothing to improve.

That stupid toefl marks wont matter jack when you talk...when you talk....making an effort to make other people understand what you speak is common sense...

being stubborn and not learning american accent in america...and make fun of them not understanding your accent is madness..silly and stupid !!!

why does gramatical english come into picture when talking accents...dude try to make sense please !!

Oh wait...do u think i was calling every indian as having slave mentality..of course there are many proud indians like me. I was only talking about those who have slave mentality and there are many examples..copywood being the prime example.. Sorry i wasnt generalizing..but you need academic correctitude and moral certitude to get that.

in the last 80 replies...these are the things you had problems with man..

1. Colony names
2. School names
3.College names
4.People's pet names
5. Indians praising americans(even though she sang well)
6. Indians not praising indians (even though they did not sing well ..and also ignoring indian praising when sang well)
7. An Artist changing her accent in her song to appease her hired production company and her target audience.
8. Indians in USA celebrating christmas ...biggest inescapable festival in USA
9. Indian laughing to white jokes which YOU think are not funny
10. Indians feeling good if somebody praises them
11. Indians working on their accent if they stay in USA....and try to change it

.....now please ..create a thread of what makes you feel superior over the inferior felows who do the above....this is not the thread for it !!

Toefl has spoken english section..
And if we try to copy american accent then how will multiculturalism spread..and what u say matters more than how you say it.. The europeans carry their accent..in fact french accent is considered cool..but only desis feel shame about their accents it seems.. I am proud of my accent and i can easily hold a conversation with americans here..i am a good ambassador for india.

Oh wait...do u think i was calling every indian as having slave mentality..of course there are many proud indians like me. I was only talking about those who have slave mentality and there are many examples..copywood being the prime example.. Sorry i wasnt generalizing..but you need academic correctitude and moral certitude to get that.

Oh ....if being a proud indian means being stubborn in a foriegn land and not learning or not being a part of the society.......and then laughing at americans not understanding the accent.......I am better of not being a proud Indian

your idea of being a proud indian is some of the things that is very wrong with our society...jingoistic stubborness!!!

This is the best thread to discuss our internal matters because many pakistanis dont visit this thread..if i create a new thread every secret will be out..this thread is our private lounge.

Toefl has spoken english section..
And if we try to copy american accent then how will multiculturalism spread..and what u say matters more than how you say it.. The europeans carry their accent..in fact french accent is considered cool..but only desis feel shame about their accents it seems.. I am proud of my accent and i can easily hold a conversation with americans here..i am a good ambassador for india.

Dude..I took Toefl...and people pass that stupid test with zero preparation..if they have studied in english medium schools !!!

Carrying an accent naturally....and finding faults in people who try to change their accents are two different things!!

Sure speak Indian accent...but do not mock or look down upon people who are trying to work on their accent.....

And btw...I know many europeans..even chinese...who speak with american accent....nobody judges them..and should not too...

I think you just do not like idea of people you identify with learning and speaking with american accent..and you start judging them. !!!!

This is the best thread to discuss our internal matters because many pakistanis dont visit this thread..if i create a new thread every secret will be out..this thread is our private lounge.

I actually want people to read our discussions :)

What is a secret...infact I am asking you to create a topic on Indian's inferiority here..so that others indians can participate too..!!!

Anyone can pass but not all get high marks..and what about GRE..i got more than 99 percentile..even in CAT exams i got more than 99 percentile..so i should be the last person to improve my english...i met a white girl who is a teacher at someplace where they give free lunch...i went for free food...so she teaches english.so i told her wow..who is your favorite american contemporary writer..have u read the great gatsby..or catcher in the rye...she said no never heard of these books..so i knoe more about american literature than avg americans.

Good For you man, you know it is hilarious seeing you give marks...it would look even more silly if I start talking about grades here....btw...what is the point here???? you know more american literature than avg americans...Okay?? So??? What value is that point adding to the discussion here about accents????

and please I have been in USA for good 5 years now...and there is absolutely ZERO chance of an english professor not knowing catcher in the rye...

And navrok you should not speak on this matter..you never read a telugu novel and u read all chethan bhagaths type books..i bet i know more about telugu literature than you.

An Hindi learned Telugu person who is interested Hindi Literature will have more knowledge than a native hindi speaker learning physics.....So what???

And navrok you should not speak on this matter..you never read a telugu novel and u read all chethan bhagaths type books..i bet i know more about telugu literature than you.

Yeah sure...so??? I am not interested in Telugu literature..I suck at reading Telugu..and I have studied in english medium schools since kinder garten..and we used to only speak in English in school too....and I have studied Telugu only since 8th grade as a 3rd language !!!

So yeah..you may be superior in Telugu literature over me...

but why does that steal my right away ..dont get it !!!

People have interests and tastes......oh wait ..you judge them based on that ...go ahead !!

I'm actually enjoying this discussion between gentleman and navroks, gentleman in spite of saying he won't respond to navroks keeps replying, keep it going guys, entertaining stuff, might become my favourite thread.

Btw navroks you haven't released your David review yet, waiting for it

^^^^

^^
I havent watched it yaar, that weakend I wanted to go...there was superbowl or something and I went out with friends.....Will have to watch it !!! People told me it is not as good as Shaithan...but is Visually more fantastic !!!!!

Yeah gentleman thinks everybody in the world does things for one reason only... to feel superior...and he thinks that is being slave inferior invested and they are actually inferior !!...it can never be about they liking it,having different interests or tastes or trying to fit in...trying to acclimatize.....he has problem with pet names...short cuts names...people breath to feel superior apparently !!!! and also apparently trying to fit is to be frowned upon...but sitting in a corner not trying is apparently being more confident about themselves...him and I live in two different worlds...I can never understand that thought process...and I am helpless enough to have the same discussion so many times....On food, on Dresses...yesterday on 11 different stuff....but Good Time pass for me... :D

it is a well known subject among psychologists and cultural anthropologists that slave mentality naturally occurs in people who were subjugated ..but if you watch too much bollywood, you are free to think otherwise..

why do they show indians having a ball room dance in many movies..right from 1950.. it is because the elite wanted to copy the lifestyle of the british sahib. now US has replaced the British Sahib..and the elite and middle class want to copy their lifestyle..

our slave mentality is also evident in how we support the politicial parties and filmstars and cricketers..it is the age old feudal mentality when you give unquestioning loyalty to your patrons and masters.

one would have thought that the new generation will find its own confident identity..but they have also been brought up on MTV and Coke and KFC..so they have sold their souls to the american way of living..

i can only think of henry derozio..this anglo indian had more love for india than the neo MTV generation and faux pseudo liberal fascists will ever have.

it is a well known subject among psychologists and cultural anthropologists that slave mentality naturally occurs in people who were subjugated ..but if you watch too much bollywood, you are free to think otherwise..

why do they show indians having a ball room dance in many movies..right from 1950.. it is because the elite wanted to copy the lifestyle of the british sahib. now US has replaced the British Sahib..and the elite and middle class want to copy their lifestyle..

our slave mentality is also evident in how we support the politicial parties and filmstars and cricketers..it is the age old feudal mentality when you give unquestioning loyalty to your patrons and masters.

one would have thought that the new generation will find its own confident identity..but they have also been brought up on MTV and Coke and KFC..so they have sold their souls to the american way of living..

i can only think of henry derozio..this anglo indian had more love for india than the neo MTV generation and faux pseudo liberal fascists will ever have.

What? support to political parties, film starts celebrity culture is an Indian trait?? do you even know the adulation a certain michael Jackson, a certain manchester United, a certain maradona, a certain michael Jordan have in their respective countries. Adulation of film stars and sports person is not a unique to Indian culture..But a human nature.

But since you are so hell bent on proving that Indians are sufferring from slave mentality...you will use anything and everything...and would not use the same logic on the western nations. I am pretty sure at this point who is the one that is actually sufferring from inferiority complex.

And to think this new generation will find confidence on trivial things like coke and channels and KFC...is a very narrow minded view of this generation...This generation gets confidence from standing toe to toe to with anybody in the globe....in fresh ideas...and confidence.

If the love of being Indian means dressing, being stubborn to change if the sorroundinds demand, artist being stubborn to change her accent if the audience are new ones...then hell with being Indian. I would rather be a human.

I will Tell you...you are just so hell bent on proving that Indians have slave mentality..you will use different kids of props..We had discussions on this many times..Lemme try to sum it up..once and for all....

a. Remember the time you said Dressings of actress in Indian award shows is related to inferiority complex..and then I showed you same celebs dress in sarees in same Indian functions.....and then I also showed you same celeb dress in a saree in foriegn function. Then you said..they dress in Saree in foriegn function because they are not confident..and then I also showed you same celeb dress western in western function....the arguement ended there....which means people dress in whatever they like..

b.And then dressing prop changed, then you had problems with a School names being christian, colony names being English and they are considered posh...I showed Indian colony names which are also considered posh..and I told you being posh and cool is due to type of people who live there than names...and I also showed you proof of why Ravidas is called Saint Ravidas...and also showed you why christian schools are best in india..and then you told that you know of a certain st. judes school which is muslim owned..and asked you where is it..and you never replied.

c. And then you went to priyanka chopra changing accent for her american song...and I told you reason is she is working for an american company and the idea it so to cater to american audience..and it is good thing she worked on her accent coz her work demanded it.

d. and then you went to pet names...and then had problems with Sidharth being Sid...I told you sidharth is sid like Sanjeev is Sanju...and then you went unrelated pet names like rancho...and then I also showed you unrelated indian pet names..like chintu, bablu which you did not have a problem with.

e. and then your discussion went to Indians not appreciating Indians singing english songs..and then I showed you Indians appreciating Indian singing english songs with three videos..where as you showed a stupid malayalam video.

f. and then you had problems with indian celebrating biggest and pretty much only festival in USA while staying in america...and questioned why would not they celebrate eid....but Indians in USA..do not celeberate jewish festivals either..or ester...they do christmas because it is hard to escape..and it is fun exchanging gifts and stuff

g. and then you had problems with random constable saying hai(or salute) to a italian prisoner..and then i told you we also arrested them..

h. And then you said you get pleasure when you see american in america not understanding your accent..totally ignoring the jingoistic stubborness in not getting adjusted..it is okay if you do not want to..problem is when you look down on others who do try to adopt

The point gentlemn is...you are the problem...you are so hell bent on proving everybody else is inferioir over you because they do what they do in their lives....and then have become incredibly desperate in proving it that you jump arguements..and you bring some other trivial thing to prove it. It is nonsense discussion because you bring why people use nail polish when there is mehendi sometime later....whenever one arguement is countered you bring an other prop...personaly for me this is not how I discuss..what is point of a discussion if you keep changing things to prove your point...it will go no where !!!!

seems someone didnt pay attention in class.

if something happens because of A, and something also happens because of B, it no way negates A. it only means that there are more than one factors influencing the event. so your counter examples dont have any value against my arguments.

if a social anthropologist was reading that post, she would be laughing.. there is so much research done by them on slave mentality, and someone who has seen the world through MTV while munching KFC is saying that slave mentality doesnt exist..why, because there some exceptions and counter examples. lol

very good blog post on slave mentality..

I remember once traveling from Washington DC to New York city. The train well into New Jersey stopped at Metropark (THE Indian area in jersey). Three desis got in – two guys and a girl. There was a white man sitting in front of me. They asked him whether the train was headed to New York – whether he did not hear them or couldn't comprehend their accent or did not know what to say – the man did not reply. They asked him again and again but got no response. After watching this for a couple of minutes I piped in the affirmative. To which the desi guy thanked the white man – the one who had not responded to his query!

In the last twelve years or so I’ve spent a lot of time in the USA and the UK and on repeated occasions have seen desis behaving in a similar strange fashion.

The case is even stranger back home where all aspects of culture are slowly getting westernized.

Over the years I have observed how the tendency to ape in India has gone from one ridiculous frontier to the next.

For instance take the use of the surname in referring to women in magazines India Today – just like in the west. In the Indian context is it even apt to call a woman with her father’s name? Like in one instance where the south Indian actress Ramya Krishnan, was referred to as ‘Krishnan’!

Or the embarrassing penchant of our English print media to use English movie titles for their headlines wherever possible!

Or the characterization of the native culture by the modern leftists as “extremely primitive” …

Are we to think that the Chinese would say anything similar about their own ancient culture?

In India irrespective of the political ideology – leftist or liberal or secular - there’s little doubt that its acceptance is mainly because it was developed by the white man. If communism had been developed by Mar Xu and Eng Li, can we imagine Indian communists embracing it?

This is not restricted to the liberalized intelligentsia alone. Check out how Indian politicians groped Bill Clinton on his visit to the Indian parliament. Whence the dignity of people representing millions? What is the reason for the adulation? Would they have done the same thing to a Chinese or African head of state?

I wasn’t surprised at the studious reverence which Prannoy Roy exhibited when interviewing the Hollywood actress Ashley Judd on NDTV. Can you ever imagine him showing the slightest respect to an Indian politician (crooks many of them maybe, still their job is way tougher and their achievements are way higher than any Hollywood actress) who would have way more interesting and worthwhile things to talk about? But it was enough that the interviewee was a white woman for the adulation to surface in Prannoy Roy.

NDTV newscasters seem to have gone the whole hog in trying to ape the attire, mannerisms and expressions of their counterparts in CNN.

I saw this good looking girl reporter on NDTV with the surname of Sharma and wearing a salwar kameez - but still she is not wearing a bindi. Is she a muslim or a christian? Inspite of the subtle yogic concept behind the bindi, in India modern women do not want wear the bindi because they are taught that it is not "cool" - though in reality it looks sexy as hell.

Quite in line with the West the process of masculinization of women proceeds in India with great energy - the "educated" women are all brainwashed into being like men - in dressing, working, acting etc - abandoning all their natural instincts and identity.

After the laughable local versions of 'Who wants to be a millionaire' and 'American Idol', they even have a similar show as in NBC and BBC, about reviewing new movies. Some joker reviewing the movie Babel made me gag when he pronounced the movie title as 'Babble'!

Now the local press is almost complete in its transformation as a western press. Check the daily entertainment supplements of Times of India or the Hindu promoting page three culture. They're now even slowly grooming a celebrity/socialite pantheon just like in the USA - with repeated photos of actors and actresses and socialities partying away ...

Always ahead in the enslaved-mind game, the Hindu hosts the writings of some American columnist daily - how relevant are his views to our environment?

And it is enough for our columnists to justify any cause as long as it has been endorsed in the West - "in the west they've done it and so ...".

And quite in line with such sentiment sometime back a Harvard Sanskrit professor in an article in the Hindu (where else!) defending the western interpretation of Indian history says Indians should accept the Western interpretation of Indian history because Mexicans and Greeks have accepted similar Western interpretations of their respective history and culture! What kind of an argument is that? But that ofcourse is heartily endorsed by our intelligentsia.

The situation has worsened so much that we don't even have our own perspective - everything we have or do, is in reference to something in the West - Kashmir is the Switzerland of India, Kalidasa is the Shakesphere of India, Chanakya was the Machiavelli of India - while people were living in the ground and wearing bear skins in the Alps, Buddhists of the Vaibhasika school and Saivites of the Pratibhinya school were composing subtle sanskrit treatises on the nature of reality, in Kashmir - and yet ...

Consequently we are unable to validate our traditons on their own merits - instead we view them from the standpoint of western ideals which has totally different objectives and ends, and thus distort the meaning of our culture and thus condemn it.

The concept of secularism arose in the West as a protest to the incessant political meddling of the Church which was opposed to science and reason. Indian intelligentsia swear by such logic as if they are Europeans with such a history - while the history of Hinduism and its subtle philosophies with its emphasis on reason is quite to the contrary!

In the print media you can often see the line "... quoting the bard ...". Even in Stratford-upon-Avon, I am pretty sure that most locals would not understand the line. But in our "educated" circles ...

Bollywood so aptly named reveals its total lack of originality by blatantly and shamelessly copying Hollywood hits. And God - the dances! How do these actors and actresses perform in public all those ridiculous moves - and abroad as well with all the passerby looking on? These people are educated, right? Don't they have any dignity and self-respect? I feel embarassed for them when watching them do such stuff.

In today's world the media - especially the movies - shape the perception of a society and culture to the outside world. The Indian perception of America is to a great extent shaped by Hollywood movies, the American TV programes, American books, music etc - which in truth doesn't really reflect the actual conditions in America. But still perception is perception. In the same vein, if Bollywood shapes the world's perception of India ...

In hot and humid Chennai where you can’t even wear a tie, in the TV programmes it has now become quite the custom to wear a jacket!

In India they look at you with different eyes when you speak in English. I’m very comfortable in speaking in my mother tongue Tamil and the various flavours of it as befits the situation. But I’ve noticed that I do not get proper service in a shop or a hospital if I speak in Tamil – when I address them in English they jump to it! If you can speak English you are considered educated and cultured.

I've met idiots who take pride in being "Aryan" - no, not because of belonging to a culture which celebrated the lofty spiritual and cultural aaryaa ideal of the Vedas, Manu and Buddha - but because Aryan meant being German/European!

The biggest attack to native culture has ofcourse been in the embrace of the mercantile/shopkeeper mentality which views all progress in economic terms. In traditional culture has artha even been given precedence over dharma and moksha? This is the land where a great emperor like Chandragupta Maurya gave up his throne to wander as a penniless monk in search of dharma and moksha. This is the land where the prince Gautama Siddhaartha gave up his priveleges to go in search of the truth. This is the land where the poverty stricken brahmin was recognized as above even kings. In modern times Gandhi too has illustrated this by a life of simplicity. Is this core civilizational value recognized at any level in the country today?

And true to such an European inherited mentality and the promotion of such ideals by the establishment, modern Indians take pride in finding positions in the industrial sector and pretty much do anything to advance in that setup - friggin coolies!!!

But who can blame the average citizen when even our prime minister, even after the thorough looting and beggaring of the subcontinent by the colonialists, thinks that colonialism was beneficial for India! For an account of how the British sucked the blood out of India readers should check this article which appeared in an American newspaper almost 40 years prior to Indian independence : http://www.theatlantic.com/doc/190810/nationalist-india/

Ofcourse our own European based constitution is without doubt the greatest symbol of our servile mentality.

And all this has predictably led to a semi-literate white woman taking over the Congress party today. How shameful for every self-respecting and educated Indian to have Sonia Gandhi representing India at the United Nations and speaking about ahimsa! India is pretty much the laughing stock of the world today - and we have the gall to demand a seat in the security council! Pathetic!

Modern India stands as the prime example as to how a high culture representing the apex of human civilization can be brought to its knees by barbarian cultures using subvertors within and without, manipulating the ignorance and weakness of the masses.

And predictably all the superficial aspects and the bad influences have crept in and has been welcomed and absorbed - but all the substantial aspects of western civilization - integrity, organization, work ethics, responsibility, courtesy, consideration - has not been able to take root in India.

The West ofcourse fully exploits the situation - they hand out their awards and prizes to those desis who subscribe to the west's views - like Amartya Sen and Arundhati Roy - and our mentally enslaved leaders and intelligentsia immediately flock to these west approved/sponsored celibrities and make them even bigger.

In contrast to the slave mindedness at home, I've been totally dumbfounded at the "know it all" attitude that I have found in the USA. Everybody from the kids to the older people walk around as if they know everything - they are totally confident and have an answer for everything. That ofcourse is cultural brainwashing. But talk about a mind job! And of the two - the slave minded and the foolishly confident - the latter is definitely better off.

This slave mentality is without doubt rooted in the English education system. It is the irreconciliation between English (and its implied western worldview) and the worldview of the local/native culture that causes confusion in the mind of the Indian and makes him act in strange ways. It is the confusion as to what is expected of him in situations which makes him act in ways contrary to his natural behavior.

It also causes a schism between those who have access to such culture and those who do not. It causes an artificial divide between the people based on an insubstantial ideal and thus poisons social harmony.

When the thought and action of the Indian becomes rooted in his own culture, it is natural that he will become more comfortable with himself, will have more self respect, will be more honest, will become more responsible, more committed, more considerate and will be a better member of the society, than he is today.

English has its uses today - primarily economic - but will be a liablity in the future when India grows rich and powerful - because it will inevitably make us psychologically servile to Western interests. Strategic planners with an eye on the future should think about ways to dilute the prestige of the English language and western culture in the eyes of the masses.

seems someone didnt pay attention in class.

if something happens because of A, and something also happens because of B, it no way negates A. it only means that there are more than one factors influencing the event. so your counter examples dont have any value against my arguments.

if a social anthropologist was reading that post, she would be laughing.. there is so much research done by them on slave mentality, and someone who has seen the world through MTV while munching KFC is saying that slave mentality doesnt exist..why, because there some exceptions and counter examples. lol

Oh come on give up already !!!! You used A to show Indians have slave mentality, since we are talking mentalities...I used the same person to counter arguement A..that you using trivial things to judge is not right..showing people do different thinks at different times..and they are not unidimensional !!! ...and then you moved to B..and then went to C..and then you wenr to D ..and when negated that...and then you went to on and on to newer things. So much for your superior debating skills....

I donno what social anthropologists does..but I am intelligent enough to understand they they make conclusions based on their observations...not change observations according to conclusion already made !!!

so are you saying that slave mentality is not present among Indians? either you will say no, or you will say that it is present only on 0.0000001% of indians.. but it is fine..i dont expect to reform everyone...just see the blog i posted and see if you agree even 1% with it.

Some Indians who hang out(grew up) with North American Blacks speaks like them. Some indians who hang out with Whites (grew up) speaks like them. Behaving like another culture or style is not slave mentality.

It's all about what you 'enjoy' being! If people try too hard to fit in to culture that they aren't grew up with, that means they want to be comfortable in majority. If people try too hard to fit into culture that they aren't grew up with, but are surrounded by their native culture, that means they want more attention, they want people to see them as unique ... or superior. But it usually fails because people don't end up enjoying.

You would find culture difference among whites/blacks as well. Some are farmers and some are from wealthy business corporate background. They all behave differently. And if some farmer's daughter wants to move to city area and wear suits and wants to be ceo of some company ... that doesn't mean that she has slave mentality.

With so much mixing going on nowadays, I don't think it matters anymore what kind of way you choose to live. It's all about where do you find yourself comfortable. It's all about the comfort and acceptance!

And what's wrong with liking other culture anyway? If some white guy wants to live in India and marry Indian girl and wants to eat daal for rest of his life so what? If some Indian guy wants to have ball room dance with his newly wed white wife then so what? That doesn't mean their native culture is being insulted or they are suppressing it! Rather we should say, they are 'accepting' the new culture. Don't think real 'family' values change from one culture to another.

so are you saying that slave mentality is not present among Indians? either you will say no, or you will say that it is present only on 0.0000001% of indians.. but it is fine..i dont expect to reform everyone...just see the blog i posted and see if you agree even 1% with it.
Can you explain what exactly you mean by slave mentality ?

Give me couple of examples which makes you think someone has slave mentality.

Exactly Cricketworm, Slave mentality is in the people awho are enslaved to their ingrained innate culture and thought process that they are intimidated by slightest difference in people and start judging them.
For example...normal women in India..today's women wear both Jeans and Salwar Kameez pretty regularly. Now the slave mentality people towards Indian culture...would feel threatened by Jeans and Judge them...and then slave mentality towards Western culture would look at them when they are salwar and judge them...but the women in question is actually wearing whatever she deems comfortable that day. And she is confident enough to change...try different things !!! Like Religious nut heads who are enslaved to their religion....there are stubborn cultural nut heads too!!!People are different..and they have different mind sets..and they do whatever they like!

@Gentlemen

Yes ofcourse it exists as said above in people who are threatened by trivial things and changes in that society that they have not grown up with and have the urge to judge others who are not as resistant to change and want to do different things... al the while feeling feeling superior and in people who think going to a new place and not adjusting to the settings..and in who think not changing themselves is the right thing to do. I can see it exists. People who change are not enslaved by anything...they change into whatever they like. Unlike people who judge...who are enslaved to their culture.

And now about the blog....that is the biggest piece of Junk I have read in a long long time. Classic case of making conclusions before..and then taking petty and circumstantial things to make up the arguement. and looks more like a BJP moral policing always paranoid idiot than a sane one. And here is why....

1. I am a Telugu..and I have seen Ramya Krishnan since a kid...and I assure you, if you do not believe me you can ask chaiwala or avid learner or any telugu/Tamil..she is refferred to as Ramya Krishna 99.9999999 % of the time..and if it is a long article ..I have seen SRK referred to as Khan...and as Shahrukh..and Anil and kumble...and Sachin and Tendu...it is just people who write the article use both the names rather randomly...just for the sake of it. And like you the author seemed fit to generalize and even pre assume that she is called Krishnan in that one particular sentence because of western influence rather than normally....because his aim was to see that.

2. I have seen news articles use hindi movie names if the language used is hindi ..and Telugu movie names used in Telugu news papers innumerable times...but since the author is an insecure idiot..he did not see the logic in english papers using english names...because hindi movie names are in hindi..they cannot be used in English papers... !!!

3. and what is the nonsense about leftist/liberal/secular being accepted because they were taught by a white man. Notice how he did not use right wing in that list..inspite of religious intolerance being rampant in the european history....proves my point that is indeed written by a BJP always paranoid right wing idiot. Now Secularism means...allowing people of different faiths to practise with out any problem..any common sane man would see that it make sense over religious intolerance...except for the insecure idiot who would reject an idealogy not because of the message but the mesenger.

4. And one more ...people who are doing TV programmes have a Air conditioner in their studio...hence the tie..and to look more proffessional. Talk about being idiotically petty....

5. Every country in the world has their version of got talent, idol, who wants to be a millionaire...they buy the franchise because they are entertaining. If they are not...they are rejected. Now people if had slave mentality would lap up any franchise ..but number of rejected franchise based shows outnumber the successfull ones by a distance. And I am 100% sure when Kaun banega crorepathi was a hit in small towns in India...99% of the percent of people would not know the same program exists in USA....so they liking it coz it is a american based show is out of question. Infact people not enjoying it because it is a show conceptualized in USA shows the slave stubborn mentality towards everything Indian.

6. And I can show a gazillion interviews where Pranay Roy is nice to Indian celebs and politicans...Judd was our guest..why would you expect us to be rude to a guest we do not have anything against. But our politicians are crooked..and as a journalist...he is accountable to ask those crooked politicians..and since politicians are there every day...they need not be shown special respect like a guest.That is basic common sense which the author lacked...

7. And that idiot is so narrow minded enough , that he is questioning the dignity of an act done by actors while they are acting. There job is to do whatever is supposed to be done....Infact they should commended that they shed inhibitions and dance on streets indian and abroad to achieve what the film maker wants to achieve. Assigning dignity and respect of the actor in real life to his dances in his reel life shows the immature idiotic thinking of the author. Infact the actors are saying..hell why do bystandars abroad matter ...we are trying to entertain indians..and are confident of themselves..where as the author is actually the one who is insecure about what western people are thinking. Ironically he asks why "the hindu" hosts a column by an american and why should we care about his views...while he cares about a random bystander views...and wants us to ignore a educated columnist. And now about the educated columnist....may be he knows india..may be he is putting through his perspective...ignoring the bird's view of the society from a neutral stand point is one of the most insecure and lamest narrow minded thinking ever.

8. In India, english speaking are considered educated...because almost 100% of people who know english are literate. because it is not our mother tongue...and ironically Tamilians are actually known for the language jingoism..and their rejection of hindi...but hey we will ignore that.

9. And about not accepting the capatalistic mentality of today's world..is one the biggest downfalls of India that has happened due to gandhian thought process of rejecting industrialization. While Rabindra nath tagore was for making us grow so that we can make good enough cloths to match british cloths..Gandhian thought process of eliminating competition to develop indigenous industries have harmed our country like no other(burning cloths during quit India)..and we have struggled to maintain the same quality in making products as the rest of the world !!! And if today modern indians are taking pride in industrlization..it is a good thing. This stubbornness to be isolated and blow our own trumpets that we are the greatest culture in the world has harmed us enough...

and I could go on and on...but I guess I have to respect my time and not give that right wing garbage anymore attention.I have given a lot already !!!

this thread got derailed because diana panty went to st xaviers instead of jamnabhai college!!

Kai Po Che has been getting great reviews from the premiere shows that happened yesterday.....Apparently Ajay Jadeja played a small part in the movie. I have been addicted to the songs for a while now...brilliant job by Amit Trivedi....all the songs have been brilliant..most probably will be onf of the album of the year...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZpRq3KT1jo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kI-SKixVBI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oS9OOWUz5Uc

Already watched the movie at a special screening. It is very good. Abhishek Kapoor was in NY during the storm weekend to attend an event. You can check the pictures taken by my buddy Asim on this link. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.463885503667162.140453.455675411154838&type=3

Amir Khan may be a good actor..but he didn have the integrity to refuse acting in rip offs..watch his Mann, it is a scene by scene rip off of an affair to remember. but this is common in copywood, and good actors dont mind participating in plagiarism.

Amie Khan has done lots of rip-offs.

Dil Hai Ke Manta Nahin - It Happened One Night
Akele Hum Akele Tum - Kramer vs Kramer
Atank hi Atank - Godfather
Mann - An Affair to Remember

btw,,,,the music of chasme badoor (remake)is preety average.....only dichkiyoon doom doom is melodious

so now navroks123 has become IgnitedMind, that is why what happened to you and why there is a new poster with multiple exclamation marks in his posts.

navrocks bhai,your ignited mind and that avatar looks really funny..don't know why, but i couldn't stop laughing at it.

Lol I think navroks changed his name to ignited mind because gentle cookie started stalk him in fb, twitter, google plus :)))

I had to change my username due to few reasons...... Ignited Minds is a book written By Kalam..one of my favorite Books ..hence the user name !!!

Kai Po Che Review

Just came back an hour back from Watching the movie.......Loved it.

Don't get me Wrong Dil Chahta hain is one my Favorite films of all Time...and I loved Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara As well.....However just in terms of potraying chemistry between the friends..Kai Po che tops all..

Right from the first scene of the movie...you get a sense these people have known for each other for a long time....just the way they behave around each other....small nuisances in body language ...Dialogues between them are as close to perfect a celluloid depiction of a desi Friendship Can be.

One more thing I loved about Kai Po Che...unlike DCH and ZNMD...this is very very relatable....and deal with problems most Friends deal with.....Career ambitions, circumstances you see yourself in which are not in your control, Religion...and the way they deal with it as individuals and as friends.

Characters etched for them are solid.....Complex..and each vulnerable to different things and yet not spoon Fed...but 30 Minutes into the movie you know them..and you have seen them in your real life....and you know what each person adds to the dynamics of the Group....

Beauty of the movie is in the details...more you observe the minute details...more you will enjoy the movie..

Casting was picture perfect...Raj Kumar Yadav is a fantastic actor..it requires a great actor to make a silent character ooze charm and be likeable....and he does that with ease!!!....Sushanth has all the ingeridients of a star in the making.....potrays his characters pashion to cricket with perfection....Amit Sadh once turned into an Hindu Radical gets a chance to perform and he does not dissapoint...

Amirta Puri makes her precense felt.....Very talented...liked her in Aisha itself....has that Spontaneous and bubbliness in her that lits up the screen .....loved that awkward chemistry between her and Raj Kumar very much...it was real and lovely....especially that first time he gets to teach her...it was very small scene....but speaks a lot .....the look of Raj when she touches him for the first time...

Abhishek Kapoor does justice to the Book...and for somebody who loves readings books and the movie.....the Book was good...but the movie is brilliant !!!! Like the way he tackled Gujrath Riots with out shifting the focus from the central characters.....also how he opens up characters as movie progresses with out spoon feeding them to the audience......Light hearted moments brings a smile....and hard hitting scenes hits you like they should...and yet none of them seem dramatic!!!!

I have nothing bad to say about the movie .....one of the few movies where Art Shows life in bollywood !!!

Rating : 9.5/10 !!!! Go watch it....Even if you are not a fan of Chethan Bhagath 's Book.....this is a good movie !!

Another movie meant for those who build friendships based on bollywood stories...hey i will be amir..you should be saif..and he should be akshaye...now lets go to goa..take pictures and immortalize our friendship on facebook...dil chahta hai style..

^^^ You should watch the movie before you comment !!! it is not in the same space of DCH at all....these friendship is real...no specific moments of friendship is shown in the movie...except for the way they behave and hold on to each other ...unlike DCH..you will like the movie...I do not think DCH was pretentious either...but knowing you that you have problems with anything you do not relate too.....I can understand your tone in the above post....even then I can see you liking Kai po che..trust me and try it !!!!....I am still trying to figure out the stuff you do not have problem with though.....you have problem with friends going to Goa now too ..what is wrong in friends planning to go to Goa...and taking pics and uploading to facebook...why that tone man !!! and anyway...now I can see this discussion going the predictable route .....we both are different and have different thoughts ..and may have lead different lives too in different worlds......so let us not argue anymore on the topics of the same genre !!! I have learnt that we cannot convince each other.......

yaar navroks..samjha karo.. i dislike DCH because i could identify with akshaye khanna who paints and lives in his own world..i could so relate to him. but he had two friends with different personalities to balance him..and all i had was the friendship of the four walls of my room.. so i hate these friendship movies just like i hate romantic movies..because i cant relate my experiences with them. not arguing with you, i still say that these kinds of movies are meant for those who have friends and can see the reflection of their own stories in the movie.

^^^^^ Okay....See I do not relate to the idea of disliking something coz you do not have it...but I can understand it...Like wise you should do too... I do not think I have seen life enough to suggest....but I definately think you need to lighten up a bit....and stop overthinking stuff....like say if a group of good young friends see DCH and then want to Goa too...it is okay ...they are not saying their friendship is defined by going to Goa together..but they want to go as friends...because of a movie iconic for friendship in India...there is nothing for people outside the group to think about that and have a negative tone about!!!...I am not a billionaire or a pyscho or an athlete or a poor man...but if I see a movie about a billionnaire. or pyscho killer or an athlete or a poor man...I would not dislike it coz it is a movie about the stuff I am not or do not have.....for that to happen I think you need to secure about yourself than comparing everything you see to yourself......people do not have everything in their lifes....now if you see DCH and think you would like to have a friends group like that...you should probably change something in your life ...or your surroundings and do something to attain a good group of friends. You do not need be a billionaire to like a movie about a billionnaire...provided it is a good movie. If you stop thinking about your life and watch the movie...and stop analyzing it in relation to your life...you will enjoy any good movie devoid of probability of that happening/happened in your life or not..... IF a movie has relatability factor....it should connect to you and make you "are...yeh mere life main bhi ho sakta hai"..and than you trying to think through every scene...whether this can happen or cannot happen or hasnt happened in your life....there is no point to a movie then !!

This was not me arguing with you..more like a suggestion or a response !!!!

how do you know i am disliking it? saying that a movie is meant for teenagers or girls is not disliking it. cant help if you read some negative tone in my posts.. but then you can read arrogant tones in nursery rhymes as well :P

so here is what i dislike..the aspirational cinema..as opposed to real cinema.. hate karan johar type movies where everyone is an aristocrat..with dancers on demand for their family functions..first world problem movies.. in old cinema you saw a guy telling his mom, that maa, i got a job today..but now job? what job? these are boring problems..the real problems are that shanaya is not going out with me on the prom night, or my son is 2 minutes late for the family function because his helicopter got delayed...or getting jealous because the guy with whom you had such platonic friendship that you would always get into a tight hug with now likes the new girl in college and does not notice your miniskirt. this is what i have problem with, showing unrealistic, fake and a world that 99% of indians cant relate to.

First of all...Kai po che is anything but unrelatistic or aspirational...100% of Indian's can relate to it!!!! Watch it...

It is all relative...for a Teenager somebody she likes not going on a prom with her is her big problem...she will grow up letter....didn't we all behave like the world ended for all small things as teenagers..we grow up....a teenager in the movie is representative of the teenager herself and teenagers watch it ...but not the world....she is not supposed to act for every problem keeping the african kids malnutrition in mind...? And btw...Did you see Wake up sid...in that Sid goes to his father and shows his first pay check....movies are of different types..not old ..now new....for a teenager her prom date is a problem..she thinks that moment she will cherish for life....there is no reference point for her that life can be much harder and these are not real problems !!!!! A little perspective is definately needed Gentlemen before you like something...you watch a teenager like a teenager !!!! .......and btw..KJ movies are escapist cinema....escapist cinema is escapist cinema..I have a problem with people who use brains while watching escapist cinema than the escapist cinema itself.....

and anyway....if you reply to this...dont expect a reply in the next 4 to 5 hours atleast....going to play indoor cricket !!!!

ok, don't reply because i am also going to work now and wont be posting...just wanted to say that somehow your name ignited mind reminds me of the movie jalta badan.

NV or anyone else , can you tell me where I can watch GOW with english subs? Can't find it anywhere and I don't have torrents.

I am not sure we can post online links here...but if I were you I would search '"einthusan" in Google..and go the site and select hindi movies and search For GW I or II in the search box or by clicking HD movies and look for the movie....all movies are 720p HD with subtitles.... I came to know about the website from PP only....Quality is great for all the movies !!!!

Zila Ghaziabad

What trash. That whole Dabaang style of fighting is now being overcooked. It's lame.

The movie was garbage.

1/10.

^^^ Holyshit...there really is a bollywood site on my username.....Talk about coincidence !!!!!

Not my site though....

@Kingusama

I salute your guts in watching that trash after watching trailers....you are a legend :D

Watch Kai po che...you will like it !!

First of all...Kai po che is anything but unrelatistic or aspirational...100% of Indian's can relate to it!!!! Watch it...

It is all relative...for a Teenager somebody she likes not going on a prom with her is her big problem...she will grow up letter....didn't we all behave like the world ended for all small things as teenagers..we grow up....a teenager in the movie is representative of the teenager herself and teenagers watch it ...but not the world....she is not supposed to act for every problem keeping the african kids malnutrition in mind...? And btw...Did you see Wake up sid...in that Sid goes to his father and shows his first pay check....movies are of different types..not old ..now new....for a teenager her prom date is a problem..she thinks that moment she will cherish for life....there is no reference point for her that life can be much harder and these are not real problems !!!!! A little perspective is definately needed Gentlemen before you like something...you watch a teenager like a teenager !!!! .......and btw..KJ movies are escapist cinema....escapist cinema is escapist cinema..I have a problem with people who use brains while watching escapist cinema than the escapist cinema itself.....

and anyway....if you reply to this...dont expect a reply in the next 4 to 5 hours atleast....going to play indoor cricket !!!!

Like your old username better. Keep the avatar though ! . Guy is a legend .

Watched special 26 . Much better movie from Akshay but dialogues and jokes could've been better. The concept was really good but they should have gone with a stronger script.

^^^ Holyshit...there really is a bollywood site on my username.....Talk about coincidence !!!!!

Not my site though....

@Kingusama

I salute your guts in watching that trash after watching trailers....you are a legend :D

Watch Kai po che...you will like it !!

Yeah, got sucked in due to the star power in the movie. Always happens.

I'll watch Kai Po Che today. Surely, can't be worse than Zila Ghaziabad.

@dimension..

yaa...thought the same and.... I think the love story....and also numerous long scenes where the characters are only walking was kind of a turn off..and its is not like the masala slow motion walk either to "feel the heroism"...they were just walking... Good movie though !!

^ast "really" good bollywood movie saw was the gangs of wasseypur series. Son of sardar was decent in a "stupid-funny " way . BOl bacchan was hilarious though !

navrocks gaaru,pls recommend me some good and new telugu films.i have seen the following films-bommarellu,eega,magadheera,arundhati,happy days,engeyum eppodum and vinnai thandi varuvaya(i think both of these are remade into telugu).i don't know telugu but i watched all this with subtitles along with my friends.i want to see whether i have missed any good one.

Vinnaithandi Varuvaya Is made into Telugu ..(Tamil version is much better...I am big fan of Trisha ......Tamil Climax was so much better....so that helped)...Engeyem Eppothum is dubbed into "Journey' in Telugu...they did not remake it....loved it as well.. !!!

based on the list you have watched...I am guessing you may like these movies below....

1, Nuvvostanante Nenoddantana Starring Sidharth and Trisha

2. Vedam Starring Allu Arjun, Anushka, Manoj Vajpayee, Manchu Manoj

3. Godavari Starring Sumanth and Kamilini

4. Leader starring Rana, Priya Anand

4. Athadu, starring Mahesh Babu, Trisha

5. Gamyam Starring Sarvanand ,Allari Naresh, Kaminili

6. Happy Starring Allu Arjun, Genelia

7. LBW ( Life before Wedding)

8. 100% love starring Naga Chaithanya and Tamanna Bhatia

9. Love Failure Starring Sidharth and Amala Paul (However I belive this movie had a Tamil Version as well...so you might have watched it ...if you did not watch it...I liked it ..so you can try)

Just came back from the movie 'Kai Po Che ' and it was just brilliant!!!!

Finally one good movie I liked after Rang de Basanti n 3 Idiots!!! Best movie based on cricket(better than Iqbal). You could sense the chill n shivers in the audience during the climax.

Highly recommended!!

9.5/10

Minus.5 as I felt movie got over too quick as it is only 2 hour movie

Just watched Kuch Kuch Hota Hai today..yes watched it for the first time. SRK looked so young then, and Kajol was not bad either, but she didnt look good as a tomboy. Rani wore too much makeup, but she doesnt suit in roles trying to make her look hot. story was very childish, i think this movie would have been responsible for many friends falling in love with each other..because that was the message the movie gave. but romance and friendship are entirely two different things. Songs were good, and overall a feel good movie. Good to see salman and srk in the same movie after a long time. entertainment 7.5/10, story 2/10.

Ok...I think everyone has watched special 26 and everyone seems to be satisfied with director and his effort.

Got a question - If Jimmy Shergill's character was in fact hand in glove with AK, how come he was standing with ACP, when he was meeting with minister? How did he managed to get entry into CBI office, with Manoj's boss recommending him??

@smiling creed,,,,you should have used ''spoilers'',,,i was going to watch on thursday,,,,,all fun spoiled:(:(

Ohhh....I posted this query now, as I wanted not to spoil fun for anyone, else would have posted this earlier.

But apart from that too, it is a good movie to watch and biggest suspence I have not opened.

Luv shuv Tey Chicke Khurana review --

Very Sweet..simple Film... Good pleasant movie that can be watched with family on a weekend....has a very consistent...simple humour with no real ups and downs emotionally....Comedy is subtle unlike other comedies set among punjabis in bollywood...Very well acted as well....Rajat Sharma as Tito was brilliant !!!

Good Movie..... 3.5/5

Early Morning Song promo from Chasme Badhoor.....Rish Kapoor seems to be having fun these days playing so many varied characters...now even dancing :D..I have feeling this movie will really work !!!..right from theatrical...I liked all the promos so far....wonder why Zafar did not sing the song...Sonu sang it well though...Tapsee looks cute !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xqcScso0so

Watched dabbang2 recently and there was nothing in the movie except salman khan. I don't how this movie grossed over 100 carrors in cinemas only?

Salman Can sit for 2.5 hrs and it will cross 100 crores....Dabangg 2 was so bad...it is unbelievable...whole Khan family got together and made close to 200 crores virtually doing nothing......I wish these media and everybody stop making a big deal out of 100 crores......bussiness increease as reach and theatres increase...When 3 idiots crossed 200 in india alone.....Vidya balan , paresh rawal came close to 100.....what is the big deal in highly promoted movies with stars crossing 100 .....!!!

Well Dabangg 2 did well because of Dabangg 1's success. The expectations were high, thus people were eager to watch. Now that this whole Dabangg style formula has been overplayed in Bollywood, we'll see the trend decline. Dabangg 3, if Salman and Co. are stupid enough to produce, will not do as well, unless it offers something new and is well made (highly unlikely of course).

Did Zaheer Khan officially Give up on Cricket??? he has become more fat....

This is his today's Pic at Kai Po Che Success Party....

01kai-po-che-premiere7.jpg

I heard people praising that movie even on this forum. Even navroks recommended it. Is part 2 related to part 1 at all?