Bollywood Corner

Watched Raanjhana.

Brilliant performance especially by Dhanush.

I don't like boy met girl movies but this one is wonderfully made. Dhanush will be in my radar now for his forthcoming movies.

^Dhanush is an expert in playing these kind of roles.i am waiting for his tamil movie 'mariyan' to release.the trailer looked really amazing.
IM,do you know when it is releasing?

Garuda, watch his national award winning movie called Aadukalam..... You will love it. Movie has great songs too....it is about a dhanush and his teacher in cock fighting ....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHmd4orUPFw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qKfQg5_9iw

Yes, kayaal....initially I thought Rahman did not a good job ....but after a couple of listening s all the sings of Maariyan seems fantastic..... Visuals seems great!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zB4b_7ddiLg

Kayaal...it is releasing on July 11th.... Actually it was supposed to release much earlier...but then makers of raanjhanna decided to have a Tamil version of the movie....so dhanush moved Maariyan to July....

dhanush looks like a rickshawala, but plays a character in the movie which is fits the rickshawala look, so i guess he fitted the role . as to him being the best actor going, he is ok but certainly no thespian . the movie sucked imo. the last thing bollywood needs is glorification of a stalker who is manipulative enough to use wrist slashing as a device to want to make a woman fall for him and then stalk her in another city after she wants no part of him . totally socially regressive movie.

Today history channel is going to air a first one among the many special programs on 100 yr of Bollywood.....today karan johar is interviewing Aamir khan ...supposed to be a very candid interview...

AAMIR28062013.jpg

BN17yNzCAAA9RTw.jpg

Rahul dravid enjoying retirement..lol...shaving and ...with chitranghada Singh in a gillette function..

rahul-dravid__612004.JPG

image2png.php

chitrangada-singh_rahul-dravid__612010.JPG

dhanush looks like a rickshawala, but plays a character in the movie which is fits the rickshawala look, so i guess he fitted the role . as to him being the best actor going, he is ok but certainly no thespian . the movie sucked imo. the last thing bollywood needs is glorification of a stalker who is manipulative enough to use wrist slashing as a device to want to make a woman fall for him and then stalk her in another city after she wants no part of him . totally socially regressive movie.
It's not about glorification. It's about story telling.

Does mission Kashmir glorify terrorism ? "Darr" does glorify madness in love.

There are many things which you will not want to do or want anyone else to do. But a movie is a medium to tell a story and its about how good it is is telling it.

A bank robbery movie loved by the whole world doesn't glorify or encourage people to do bank robbery. Similarly it is a story about a stalker who was manipulative and how he reached his end. Just a story.

Motwane Strikes hard after Udaan

I watched Lootera in a permiere show yesterday night......

I do not think I can do much justice to the movie in the review....all I have to say it is....it is brilliantly made....best movie of the year so far personally....

Picturization of Landscapes to closeups to emotional scenes..all perfect......Brilliantly acted.....Locations and the 1950's atmosphere is so awesomely done that you go into the world...and stop thinking about it unlike other period films who exploit the sets........

Amit Trivedi was in God mode....but what spoke the most was brilliant used silence by the director ....

No Spoon feeding....makes you think.......Emotional..Gut Wrenching at places..subtle things which speak a lot...

I always knew a person who makes Udaan will not make a bad film....and this is actually a great film. Second half might seem dragged at places....but I think it was important to do so.

It would be Unfair if I did not say anything About Sonakshi..... Such a Delight...and she acted like a Pro and carried the film all the way through....Will change her career forever.... and Sonakshi, I love you. :D

lootera-stills-sonakshi-sinha-wallpapers.jpg

My Rating: 9/10 .... Most reviews from Critics have been great....most of them are 4...and some like rediff went ahead and gave it a 5 as well....

^^^^ He did well....very restrained subtle performance other than a single scene of outburst... which was good to see after loud baand bhaja bharaat...

^^^
Most of the big ones...it is a recent habit ..,,,theatre is at a walking distance ...and usually have nothing much to do after work..and I like films. So! Even previously used to watch most of them...but not all of them in a theatre.

Agree about Lootera

Sonakshi's best performance yet, by far
I cant imagine any other actress who would have portrayed her role any better.

Sher overshadowed Ranveer, who was all right, but is clearly not an actor known for his expressions and conveying emotions through silence.

It is very slow paced, and sequences that most films would show in 20 seconds take a good 2 minutes here.
It does feel a bit suffocating towards the end because the film is about 2, and only 2 characters.

It was interesting to see Ranveer play a character which is in essence similar to his role in Ladies vs RS, only that the setting and his co-actors could not be any more different.

Shoojit Sircar (Director of Vicky Donor)'s Next...

MAdras Cafe starring John abraham and Nargis Fakri..,First Look Poster

BOzlX9LCEAEyP2s.jpg

Madras Cafe Trailer --- This looks amazing. Directed by the director of Vicky Donor..

Starring John and Nargis Fakhri...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lKv09vHdNQ

Sudh Desi Romance Trailer starring Parineeti Chopra, Sushanth and Vaani.....from the director of Baand Bhaaja Bhaarat and Writer of Chak De India.... Looks Fun !!!! Lot of good names behind the camera and then Parineeti ofcourse is fantastic....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2Hle83Plpo

Kashmir Main Tu Kanyakumari -- Song Promo from Chennai Express

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0exwjcYU5U

Priyanka's New Song "Exotic" Featuring PitBull....Song is okay...I like the hindi part...priyanka is looking hot. Her voice is pretty decent actually...needs to do better sounding songs...not bad though. Don't like Pitbull....but I guess he will bring her song some attention...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPhhZg9v9NU

Bhaag mikha bhaag was good, a bit too long though..overall an enjoyable movie..climax was set in Pakistan..the whole sonam kapoor part was totally unnecessary imo as it didn't serve any specific purpose..movie is 3 hr 7 minutes long..7.5/10

Policegiri (2013)

How's it? downloading it right now because I like Sanju baba and his comedy.

watched Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
6/10
more than 3 hours, thought it could have easily cut down to around 2:15
1947 partition scenes and delhi love story could have been cut a lot
still, Farhan Akhtar soaks the role of Milkha perfectly

Zanzeer Is different..

Policegiri is a crap fest.....

dont watch it...

@Aamchi

that Random Guy is Ram Charan Teja..a star in Telugu movies...son of Chiranjeevi

Bollywood should be lucky to have Dhanush...dude is a magnificent actor......Dont we have too many good looking actors with six packs and all.....

Dhanush gives his characters believabality...and he protrays characters which suits him or which he can mould himself into..!!

Phata Poster Nikhla Hero Fist Poster....Trailer very soon as the poster suggests...

starring Shahid and Ileana D Cruz..great to see her back after Barfi in hindi :heart:

Directed by Raj Kumar Santhoshi of Andaaz Apna Apna fame..

29z7vif.png

^^^^^ Should watch the movie...before deciding !!!!! Its just one song...btw...that song won best choreography I believe....and it is a great song...should the happyness of a normal guy who does not know to dance....not removing the guy from his character even in songs...

Anyway.....he won for his acting in the movie....and he was more than brilliant in it...see the trailer of Maryan....in the same post.

Or You should watch the climax of a movie called "3" ....kolaveri di movie.

@aamchi

Watch this yaar..since you do know the background of the scene...so you may not connect with the emotion...but watch this...especially when he starts writing and also when he picks the knife ...he is definately not a looker and won't suit all the roles.....but one of the better actors in Indian cinema today...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RIqxBLf84Y

Hmmm seems a decent actor... but how do majority of lead actors in South are accepted? I used to get some email fwds of few south indian movie clips featuring few fat moustached and old actors doing some ridiculous stunts :facepalm:

Salman is emulating them now a days :facepalm:

^^^^^ Its like people who dont watch Hindi movies see some ridiculous stunts and judge them...

If you ask me..Tamil cinema makes india's best films...all struck to reality...ofcourse there is masala garbage....but that is not what defines these industries....btw...moustached heroes kicking 100's of people is coming to an end....we still have mass movies....but better .

Lootera- good movie -direction,cinematography, music . ranveer was a bit too subdued trying too hard to be "realistic", sonakshi was good.. 8/10

dhanush is by no stretch of the imagination the next coming of marlon brando, he is an ok actor and will be typecast in chawanni chaap /road side romeo roles. hard to see him succeeding in mainstream bollywood.

^^^^ Ofcourse not. But he is more than a decent actor...and I hope mainstream bollywood opens to actors who do not have looks going for them..and .as long as he can choose his roles wisely...he will have his own type of movies....btw...Ranjhanna collected 70+ crores.

Phata Poster Nikhla Hero Trailer --- Looks like Typical Rajkumar Santhoshi....Andaaz Apna apna...Ajab prem ki gazab kahaani types....hopefully the movies is good and works for shahid who is going down for a while..and also for ileana...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCrNoy5OeOI

Garuda, watch his national award winning movie called Aadukalam..... You will love it. Movie has great songs too....it is about a dhanush and his teacher in cock fighting ....

Digression:

IMO, the best movie of Dhanush is Puthupettai. Have you seen it?

Yes, I have seen it.I agree it his best performance and also by far the best movie in his career yet...

I am little late on the scene. But Aashiqui 2 songs are brilliant. These Bhatts know how to get great music into their films.

Agreed. Though half the year is left, I am sure that the title track will be nominated in all major awards show and may very well win best song in at least 2 or 3 of them

How is Bhaag Milkha Bhaag? A lot of hype here in Punjab. Worth watching?

Milkha movie is crap. Farhan Akhtar
With his emotionless monotonous dialogue delivery. Needed a better actor and better story telling.

bhaag Milkha bhaag was disappointing. It was good in parts, some of race track and training scenes were breathtaking, but overall movie lacked direction. Too much time wasted on romance which wasnt even part of original and his tragedy during partition which also got a bit monotonous in the end.

Farhan has looked splendid, both as Sikh and athelete but his dialogue delivery was poor !

yeah, I have seen the movie last night as well.....

Both Milkha singh for the man he is and Farhan for effort put in ...deserved a better movie...

movie should have been shorter by atleast 40 minutes.....

having said that it had it brilliant moments.....but was hoping for something epic before it released...turned out to be a ordinary movie which people won't remember after a while...

6/10

Issaq Starring Pratiek Babbar and Amrya gained hype after the audio released....songs are fantastic...Movie seems to be shot well as well....... Hopefully acting genes from his legendary mother smita patil rubs of pratiek...dude has been pathetic so far...barring decent show in Jaane tu Ya jaane na as Genelia's Brother..

Issaq Tera song promo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7psgCylDZ3Q

Theatrical Trailer has increased in views in the last week or so....looks good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bzaPqbHwNY

What the heck is acting genes? It is because of people like these that bollywood has become a family owned mafia. Because ppl want to see acting genes.

Yes. I've rarely seen the work of 'acting genes'. Yet another PR work.

Abhishek Bachchan, Bobby Deol, and Imran Khan all beg to differ :))

PS would have included Sonam Kapoor as well, but she did a good enough job in Ranjhana

Sub continental people are among the least self esteemed folks out there in the whole planet. They love to rally behind their man idols, the big families etc. Thousands of years of living under various emperors, zamindars etc might have something to do with the mentality. If anything, we have slave genes.

Lol....Gman,FC and all, you guys are taking that acting genes comment very very literally....just meant to say...if he can get some of those skills in acting which his mother had...did not mean to say that acting is a nepotistic trait or I am going to admire him because he has a legendary mother.

It was just a figure of speech.

Sub continental people are among the least self esteemed folks out there in the whole planet. They love to rally behind their man idols, the big families etc. Thousands of years of living under various emperors, zamindars etc might have something to do with the mentality. If anything, we have slave genes.

What about "God Save the Queen" ????

I do agree we are a nation of followers and not leaders by large..But Don't think we are unique in the regard.....

^^^^^

I am looking forward to the movie...releasing day after tommarow..... Movie has got incredible reviews from film festival circuits and won quite a few awards as well....Glad it is getting a decent release with UTV and kiran roa's support...movie actually released to film festivals and all in mid 2012 itself and nobody brought untill after the buzz it generated at festivals....

Movie will be a flop. It is made for that tiny segment which doesnt like local cinema and wants to watch an indian movie told from an western perspective. They wouldnt watch it if the movie had a hindi name.

^^^ Not sure if it is from an "western perspective"...atleast this is what synonpsis quoted below says...mostly it is one's own perspective....everybody is indian and director is Anand Gandhi.....but yaa ...as you said...it is for the tiny segment of our movie going audience....

Ship of Theseus explores questions of identity, justice, beauty, meaning and death through the stories of an experimental photographer, an ailing monk and a young stockbroker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5bG7eqG2I7Y

Anupam Kher And Sridevi -- Legends!!!!! Sridevi is by far the greatest comic actress in India..one of the best ever as an actress in general..... Watched it after a long long time..very funny.

Absolutely brilliant songs in the medley too....nice selection by who ever came up with the list.

I can easily visualize the audience which will be going to watch this movie. All those elite class indians who know more about the west than india..who consider themselves high class intellectuals..who think anything non english is automatically low quality and whose idea of a deep movie is one which has themes of extra marital affairs..one night love and same gender relationships.

^^^^ Mere Bhai, Trailer Dekhna Pehle?? before ranting.....

Kyun hamesha logon ko judge karte rahte ho, jeene do mere bhai!! Wo log sirf picture dekh rahe hain.... how did you come with the language hate, elite class and their idea of a deep movie.....too much generalization. anyway..knowing you and you myopic views on anything that does resonate with you.....this will go no where...and let us agree to disagree.

Wo Sridevi kaa video dekh and chill maar :D

I am in a train since 24 hrs in bihar now waiting to reach bengal. And angry with the anti congress discussion going on in the train. And no good food to eat. I want to go back to usa.

Oh, you are in India? Nice......24 hrs trains are tough !!!! USA Already, enjoy while in India mate....as cliche as it may sound.....There is nothing like home. Feeling is different....

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1374117951.781831.jpg
Got food poisoning after eating street food. Took this pic in agra. Now at least no one will doubt my nationality.

Why would you eat street food as soon as come from USA... First week or two ...you should be careful on what you eat and drink...your body needs times to adjust.

Movie will be a flop. It is made for that tiny segment which doesnt like local cinema and wants to watch an indian movie told from an western perspective. They wouldnt watch it if the movie had a hindi name.

What is the western perspective in this film by a Mumbai filmmaker based in India.

I can easily visualize the audience which will be going to watch this movie. All those elite class indians who know more about the west than india..who consider themselves high class intellectuals..who think anything non english is automatically low quality and whose idea of a deep movie is one which has themes of extra marital affairs..one night love and same gender relationships.

Well I can easily imagine you being the salt of the earth kind of audience watching mind numbing circus called movies that are churned out for the lowest common denominator who have no inclination for cinema that strives for something more but finds comfort in dissing those who have finer taste in cinema.

See what I did there. These kind of generalizations reflect on the person who passes the judgement than the audience going for the film.

What is the western perspective in this film by a Mumbai filmmaker based in India.

You dont have to be a westerner for that. Plenty of coconuts in bollywood. Kiran rao being one of them. Mahesh bhatt being another.

And why is that ? Or you don't have to back with justifications for ad hominem remarks.

Not to mention both have nothing to do with the making of this film.

*Strictly Adult* Grand Masti Trailer

*ing: Riteish Deshmukh, Vivek Oberoi, Aftab Shivdasani

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/8L4qT6-fNzQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Indian Pie? Kya super cool hai hum 2?

Yeah...I saw it last night and debated it with myself whether to post it here or not!!!

I liked masti back in the day....not seen it again ever since. Not sure about this....some of the scenes are just lol... they went a step ahead of kya super cool hai hum....will probably work if the story line is decent!!!

Good to see manjari fadnis aftet a long time...I really liked her i jaane tu!!

And one more thing i have observed from the reactions sincr yday is the hypocricy....I understand if you do not like vulgarity...but the same people who go gaga over hangover or euro trip etc...will start moral policing!

D-Day is getting some very good reviews....Even Masand gave it a 3..and some gave it a 4 etc.. Movie is a part fiction and part reality....it is about indian officers catching Dawood...that is the fictional part but the events and atmosphere leading upto it is reality......Don't think I have posted the trailer here......Dawood is played by Rishi Kapoor..

Movie also stars Arjun Rampal, IRfan Khan, Huma Qureshi and Shruti Hassan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NlCkqBGnRY