Bollywood Corner

Chennai express...bilkul baikar...stupid movie, filled with Srk's over acting. Must be a low for him. Deepika's acting was good. Overall the movie is stupid and should get a miss. I watched 25 minutes of it and its truly baqwaas.

God knows whats wrong with indians (who do like it), that these types are movies are made for them and actually do well.

Chennai express...bilkul baikar...stupid movie, filled with Srk's over acting. Must be a low for him. Deepika's acting was good. Overall the movie is stupid and should get a miss. I watched 25 minutes of it and its truly baqwaas.

God knows whats wrong with indians (who do like it), that these types are movies are made for them and actually do well.

haha mujhe to trailer se hi pata lag gaya tha .

watched it expecting a low brain entertainer. but it was worse than i expected. srk is dead. the end. you knew it was a comedy scene but there was nothing to laugh. jokes were poor, worse than what srk mouths in filmfare awards. i carried on watching hoping that the movie will become entertaining, but had to quit after 1 and a half hours. waste of time. 2/10. only a stupid person will rate it above 5.

Glad I was steadfast in refusing to go watch Chennai Express despite all my friends going on 2 different nights. Staying at home turned out to be much better.

khud dekhlo..pata chal jayega..but save your brain cells and watch something else.

lol no thanks abhi exams chal rahe hai and I need to save Them:amir
last bwd movie I watched in theater was prateek's ishaq , abhi tak us torture se bahar nahin aa paya hu:afridi

watched it expecting a low brain entertainer. but it was worse than i expected. srk is dead. the end. you knew it was a comedy scene but there was nothing to laugh. jokes were poor, worse than what srk mouths in filmfare awards. i carried on watching hoping that the movie will become entertaining, but had to quit after 1 and a half hours. waste of time. 2/10. only a stupid person will rate it above 5.

in one of the trailers , it showed SRK repeating that same main ek aam aadmi hu dialogue :))) :))) and Deepika ,tum halwai Ho :))) :))) seriously wth

Thanks.couple of my friends are raving about it.I was tempted even though the trailers are crap but now won't watch it :)

Wonder how this film has done so well :najam

Review on IMDb

There's always something interesting in watching Shahrukh Khan do his usual "common man" antics in his films. In Chennai Express, he proves yet again why he is called as King Khan in Bollywood. Teaming up with Rohit Shetty for the first-time, the film's success was guaranteed since its inception maybe, for the film has all the elements of it being an entertainer, with the scenes so well-performed that it won't bore you even for a split second. Truly, it is 142 minutes of sheer refreshment for the mind if not anything else. Deepika Padukone is a wonder to watch every time 'cause she proves her undiscovered mettle with every different character she portrays. While some may have complained that she had overdone her 'wild-child' roles, Chennai Express is that breath of fresh air to see her donning only traditional attires – mostly Dhaavani's and Kanjivaram sarees matched with beautifully-designed gold jewelry. What started as a promise Rahul (SRK) made to his grandmother, turned out to be an adventure he hadn't fathomed. On this adventure, he fights for a holiday, then fights for love, and finally gets married after having waited for so long. The film captures the raw beauty of Tamil Nadu in most frames and it shall be a treat for all those watching it. However, the dialect may become a tad-bit difficult to gauge easily since there is a lot of use of Tamil in the film, you would still know what is going on. An unintended adventure taught Rahul how to converse in the language fluently too. Nonetheless, Deepika as Meena is fabulous. She seems to have worked quite hard on her Tamil-infused Hindi for the film and she doesn't disappoint. There are references to many famous films, dialogues and songs in Chennai Express, besides the comic-timing is so well-placed that at no point it would seem as buffoonery. Despite the notion of a film only teasing the taste buds of the masses, this is one that both the classes and the masses are sure to enjoy. So it's an entertaining film, a travelogue, a love story, Shahrukh Khan, Deepika Padukone and a lot of elements of Rohit Shetty. You don't need more reason to go and watch the film.

• IMDB.jpg
    IMDB.jpg
    234.5 KB · Views: 686
Dhoom Machle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQRHtzSxIJ0

proxy.jpg

watched the left over part of Chennai Express, and loved the scene where shahrukh climbs 300 steps carrying deepika in his arms. added to my to-do list after i get married.

Chennai Express' breaks multiple records

Four elements — Shah Rukh Khan, Rohit Shetty, Deepika Padukone and Ramzan Eid — are responsible for a storm called Chennai Express breaking several worldwide box office records in its wake.

The comedy, which urges you to leave rationality behind and encourages you to roll on the floor with laughter, has managed to bring the house down. The critics' warnings and disclaimers have proved defunct.

The film has broken several records — having the highest paid preview collections, the fastest 100 crore, the highest weekend collections, the highest overseas collections for an opening weekend for a Bollywood film, and so on and so forth. The film opened in 2,550 cinemas, with approximately 3,650 screens across the country.

"The film has the highest overseas collection. It released in 670 screens abroad and has collected 51 crore in the opening period," says distributor Girish Johar. "Shah Rukh has broken his own record of the highest overseas collections for the opening weekend, which was held by My Name Is Khan." It has done phenomenal business in Pakistan, USA, UK and Dubai.

And even as we report from ground zero, we can see the flag of CE flying high. (Check the numerous boxes carried with this report for an analytical view of what CE has done.) The cost of production is said to be around 50 crore, with a prints and advertising budget of around 30 crore.

Add to this, the fee of Rohit Shetty and team, which is reportedly around 15 crore, and the fee of Shah Rukh Khan (who actually has a stake in the movie) and we have a phenomenal cost of around 130-odd crore staring us in the face.

However, what would seem a daunting figure for others is currently looking like small change for the winning team of SRK and Rohit, who have actually rewritten box office figures for the first four days.

Says trade consultant Amod Mehra, "After watching the promo, I had predicted that CE would touch the 100-crore mark in four days and that has happened." The producers claim that they touched the magic figure of 100 cr in three days and paid previews.

Highest Paid Preview Collections
Chennai Express: --------------------- 6.18 cr
3 Idiots: -------------------------------------- 2.75 cr
Kites: ---------------------------------------- 1.85 cr
Ghajini: -------------------------------------- 1.75 cr
Jism 2: -------------------------------------- 1.50 cr

Fastest 100 crore ever
Chennai Express: Four days plus paid previews
Ek Tha Tiger: Six days
Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani: Seven days

First Day record
Ek Tha Tiger: 30.72 cr
Chennai Express: 29.37 cr
Agneepath: 21.86 cr
Bodyguard: 21.26 cr
YJHD: 19.38 cr

Second Day record
Chennai Express: 26.64 cr
RA.One: 22.89 cr
YJHD: 20.16 cr
Race 2: 18.60 cr
Bodyguard: 17.85 cr

Third Day record
Chennai Express: 29.21cr
YJHD: 22.44 cr
Dabangg 2: 22.33 cr
Rowdy Rathore: 18.22 cr
Dabangg: 18.11 cr

Fourth Day record
Ek Tha Tiger: 19 cr (Eid holiday in 2012)
YJHD: 12.64 cr
Chennai Express: 12.10 cr
Dabangg 2 : 11.61 cr
Dabangg: 10.68 cr

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...aks-multiple-records/articleshow/21800046.cms

The movie was crap, I don't cares about records, I want my money back after watching such a Bokwas film :(.

Feel sorry for SRK, lately he has been part of many crap films.

The movie was crap, I don't cares about records, I want my money back after watching such a Bokwas film :(.

Feel sorry for SRK, lately he has been part of many crap films.

I thought u said your friend paid for the movie. :yk trying to con bollywood huh :)

when there is bad product you say you want your money back. Yup by talking generally, so I made a mistake right here. :yk

My friend payed for it,I was even't prepared to go. I had a plan to watch the wolverine.

when there is bad product you say you want your money back. Yup by talking generally, so I made a mistake right here. :yk

My friend payed for it,I was even't prepared to go. I had a plan to watch the wolverine.

Feel bad for your friend.. Wolverine would have been a good choice.

I've watched the Wolverine, awesome movie. Theres only one actor which can justify Logans role lol. Josh and that Ishq Khudamovie was crap aswell.

I liked Chennai Express.

Its good for a laugh. If you expect more, obviously don't go and watch it.

^^^ exactly sir. I know people have different views and have every right to it...but using a success of a movie which has a various reasons for success to judge the intelligence of a person or a community is not right.

Indian audience have this abllity to switch of their brains to enjoy a mindless comedy....so that should not be attributed to their natural state of intelligence. They know how to a watch a movie and tune themselves based on the movie type they are watching.....

this is Rohit Shetty's 8th Film...by this time you probably know whethere he is or he is not your kind of film maker....and so going into a romcom and judging the movie in relation to schindler's list is just not on....!!!!

Personally, I enjoyed it ...it has its funny moments...it had logical flaws whch a 3 yr old can find...but who cares...it is holiday..it is shahrukh khan....it is Deepika padukone....and quite a few funny scenes.

Chennai Express - 5.5/10

Went with zero expectations and found it to be not as bad as some people are making it to be. Climax and some scenes in between are a bit cheesy...a bit SRKish!

Believe it or not. MAny people watched the movie just for this song. First time i saw people in theatre were whistling and screamin for movie credits. Not one left the theatre.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/69CEiHfS_mc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Shuddh Desi Romance title song.. superb cinematography filmed at MEHRANGARH FORT, Jodhpur

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/varo0G9I-gk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Watched OUATIM 2 and Akhshy keeps blabbering dialogues in monotonous way also Imran is suited in this action type roles surely a flop

Once upon a time in Mumbai - dobara

0/10

Silly boring movie. Acting, dialogues, story, everything in the movie was poor.

Yep I haven't watched either Chennai Express or OUATIMD but the latter has been declared a bad movie, and a flop at the box office

Bollywood movies mostly hover around 0-4 stars (out of 10) for me to begin with.

Akshay has recently been doing so many mediocre comedies along with "action" stuff like Rowdy Rathore that people dont know how to respond to him in a role like OUAT Mumbai 2

Special 26 was different, but he had the brilliant M Bajpai and Anupham Kher with him

I really liked Special 26.

Akshay has another masala film coming later this year titled, "Boss." From what I can tell it's going to be similar to Khiladi 786, which was a horrible film.

This Friday, Madras Cafe (John Abraham) is releasing and from the trailer it looks really good. It's first online review is a 4/5 from Times of India, and I read on Twitter that it's India's "Argo."

Looking forward to it.

Ranbir Kapoor "Besharam" Title Track.. the song is very catchy

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/2JmNKTfaAk4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

yes, every song coming out from bollywood is catchy. even lungi dance.. just give indians any song with a new phrase which is repeated ad nauseam..and they will say what a catchy song...till another such catchy song comes along.

Apparently madras cafe has been banned in UK due to objection from tamil community. Even though the film was cleared by censor board. Why would that be?

Madras Cafe - 5/10

Movie is dead slow. With no good background music it gets a bit painful to watch at times.
Good effort but not good enough.

Chennai Express just broke the record of 3-idiots and now has become the #1 bollywood movie, earning wise 202.5CR

maybe people in south liked it a lot...

Okay so I just watched Once Upon Ay Time In Mumbai Dobara ...

-100/10 - HORRIBLE MOVIE! I don't even know what the heck I just watched, and I don't have enough words to even explain. Worst movie of 2013 so far, hands down. Worse than Race 2, to put that into context for you.

There is NO story, terrible acting, film gives you nothing except dialogue after dialogue, and some of them are totally unnecessary. Imran Khan was okay, I expected better from Akshay....and the less said about Sonakshi the better.

I don't understand how Akshay Kumar did THIS, after doing an amazing film like Special 26?!

Film ka na sar hai, na koi paair. Throughout the film I was just sitting there waiting for it to get better, but it went from average to worse.

The only thing I liked was perhaps the song, Tayyab Ali.

Last 5 Akshay Kumar movies, in which he has a lead role:

OUATIMD
Special 26
Khiladi 786
Joker
Rowdy Rathore

3 out of 5 are DISASTERS

madras cafe- bore fest, John abraham still cannot act, 4/10

chennai express- terrible , SRK needs to retire ,3/10

Just watched Chennai Express;

Lame story, way to much over-acting, horrible music (not a single good song). SRKs standards of script choosing seem to have taken a steep nose dive.

Some seriously lame comedy in some scenes, which was expected from a Rohit Shetty film, especially after the disaster of Bol Bachchan. SRK was good in some comic scenes though, a rare plus in the film.

Film doesn't deserve to break the 3 Idiots' record of highest grossing movie ever, which it has. In fact it's another pathetic film which has crossed 100 crore, based on just star power and a holiday release date. Don't understand when this trend of making pathetic movies, and earning 100s of crores will end.

Overall an average film, slightly better than JTHJ but still bad.

SRK has disappointed me 3 years in a row now:

2013 - CE
2012 - JTHJ
2011 - Ra.One (redeemed himself with Don 2)

Also, that song at the end of Chennai Express...Lungi Dance is a HORRIBLE song, gave me a headache, and is the worse song of the year hands down.

Heard that Vishal-Shekhar got angry at SRK, as he did the song with Honey Singh/others and kept them out of the loop

Watched Chennai Express.:facepalm:
4.5/10.
It never deserved to overtake 3 idiots.A very below average movie with extremely lame comedy.

Much awaited teaser of DHOOM 3

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/BmOpD46eZoA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Dont know whether anyone else noticed, that with 2/3rds of the year gone, most songs this year have been underpar compared to 2012.
Last year, apart from albums like Cocktail, SOTY, Agneepath and Barfi, where almost every song was good, there were at least 7-8 movies with 2-3 very good songs in each of them.

This year, apart from Aashiqui (Tum hi Ho IMO is sure to be nominated in any awards for songs next year), and couple of songs in YJHD, Race 2, Bhaag Milka and maybe a couple others, there has hardly been that many memorable pieces.

Madras Cafe - 6 or 7 / 10. Good movie, no songs, things move fast

Chennai Express - 5 / 10. Has some funny moments, but no story, however its a Rohit Shetty movie and one should know what his bran of movies are

Once upon a time Dobara - 1/10, possibly the worse movie I have seen recently. Get 1 point for the song Tayyab Ali. How the hell do you turn a gangster movie into a horrible love triangle. There was nothing gangster about this movie at all.

Maybe it's a bit premature, but I think Katrina will not do justice to her role in Dhoom 3.

You're not wrong about it.. Katrina has a plastic face. Whether its her role in New York or Singh is King, same expression. Most big budget movies use her as an eye candy. Which is sad because there are a lot of beautiful actresses who can actually act, Chitrangada singh for one.

I think Katrina suits this role than the one which requires a lot of acting.....this should suit her with more gymanstics...and action..and she did a lot of training for the role.....

I Liked her in New york and Mere Brother ki Dulhan and Ajab prem ki Gazab kahaani.....I find her bearable as an actress in a few movies which suit her...but definately not anywhere in leagues of even Sonakshi or Anushka.....Vidya/Kareena/Priyanka are another league compared to kat. She is def personally atleast the best looking actress.. and I like her offscreen as well.

The only role that liked Katrina in as an actress was in Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. Her other performances haven't been anything special.

I guess we shall wait and see how she'll do in Dhoom.

I'm pretty sure Amir will be the best Baddie in the whole of the Dhoom series so far.

The only role that liked Katrina in as an actress was in Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. Her other performances haven't been anything special.

I guess we shall wait and see how she'll do in Dhoom.

I'm pretty sure Amir will be the best Baddie in the whole of the Dhoom series so far.

Amir is a class act...

@IgnitedMind : do you have some South Indian movies to recommend ?
Downloading Mani Ratnam's (and Kamal Hasaan starer) "Nayakan" right now, highly rated (better than RGV's Satya as per some, which is putting the bar pretty high).
Also, remember you posted a website where you could watch Tamil, Telugu, ... movies with Eng subtitles, if you could kindly give the link (too lazy to go a dozen of pages back), cheers.