Bollywood Corner

Ranveer Singh is a cheapster! Have never seen his movies! Dilwale will definitely score more than Bajirao Mastani at the Box Office!

^^^ Theatre structure in India sadly has not evolved to accomidate three big movies. That is why you rarely see even two big movies releasing on the same day in Hindi...While the number of screens has increased largely in the last 5 to 6 years....it is not big enough to meet the increasing demand. Lot of small movies try to find gaps in the weeks between two big movies....

In Comparison...China has increased the threatres by 10,000 in the last 5 years...where India had only increased 3500 (according to Sidhartha Roy Kapoor of UTV productions)

I like varun dhawan. He has it in him to make it big. But i can't stand the other three all together in the movie. So i will skip Dilwale.

Bajorao Mastani i will watch because the couple were very much famous during my teenage years in pune There is even a milkshake called bajirao mastani . The hotel decor even had a large painting of mastani dancing in front of bajirao. I will watch the movie for only curiosity sake. I don't think it will be a good movie. Sanjay leela spends more time on costumes sets decor and grandeur but less on story. I am worried both the actress will overact to outdo each other.

Ranveer looks so unconvincing in this Baji Rao role. No matter what he wears, I always see him as a cheap chichora.. and this kinda spoils the movie for me.

He was very very good in lotera. he does have it him to do good acting. Hopefully he will shed his chichorapan in this movie

Dilwale ofcourse.Bajirao Mastani looks very bad and the songs are cringeworthy.Lets not talk about Priyanka she is so ugly

Why isn't this in the Bollywood thread? We need to really stop creating a new thread every time a new Bollywood movie comes out. Otherwise we'll have like 800 new threads a year.

They will both be retarded like most Bollywood movies but I can bet my bottom dollar that the Rohit Shetty flick will be worse because it will be devoid of any logic.

Surely on the 18th u'd be in the queue to get into see star wars???

delayed in INDIA coz these 2 movies for a week :facepalm:

But wouldn't be in queue even for that.Will never be in queue for a movie :S

He was very very good in lotera. he does have it him to do good acting. Hopefully he will shed his chichorapan in this movie

To be fair, I have never seen him act. So my apprehensions could be a little premature. I hope to get surprised.

I like Varun Dhawan, can't stand the rest. Will skip Ravir Singh, why is he even an actor? Even Rajpal Yadav is better looking than Ranvir Singh.

Dilwale I will only watch Varun's scenes, skip Shahrukh etc

Okay, so I am a die hard fan of SRK, but Dilwale looks crap.

I am also a big fan of Deepika Padukone, so I'm excited for Bajirao Mastani.

I will watch both movies, Dilwale with zero expectations and Bajirao Mastani with high expectations. Trailer of BM was epic, and some of the songs have amazing cinematography. I have seen the making videos of some of the film and just the scale of the film is so grand. Just from the trailer you can tell that Priyanka Chopra and Ranveer Singh have given amazing performances, and I'm ngoing to stick my neck out here and predict Ranveer Singh to win best actor this year.

Box office wise, there is a clash and Dilwale will have approximately 1000 more screens in India than BM, and it's going to be the same story Overseas as well, because on the Shah Rukh Khan name. Opening weekend and week, Dilwale will eat BM alive. After that, it will depend on content and word of mouth.

The thing with clashes is that either there can be one clearnwinner, or both films lose. The budgets of both filmsnare so high, Dilwale's is 95-100 cr without SRKs salary, and BM is 110+ cr ...so BM will have to pull a miracle to just break even.

The good thing is that the films have completely different genres, but still due to a lack of screens both will suffer.

Dilwale will do around 230-240 cr and BM will do around 125 cr I feel. Dilwale could've done way more without the clash because pre-christmas release is the best time, Dhoom 3 did 270 cr and PK did 340 cr.

There is a bit of controversy regarding both films actually. The descendants of either Bajirao's family or Mastani's family (not sure which one it was) aren't happy with the way the film has is depicting their ways. One group is also not happy with the Pinga song saying that the depiction is totally wrong and not aligned with them. So stupid, poor SLB has been trying to make the film for the past 12 years ....

Another controversy is that some MNS group is not happy with Dilwale, they are urging people to boycott it because SRK donated to Chennai floods ...but he didn't donate to the Maharashtra farmers.

There is a bit of controversy regarding both films actually. The descendants of either Bajirao's family or Mastani's family (not sure which one it was) aren't happy with the way the film has is depicting their ways. One group is also not happy with the Pinga song saying that the depiction is totally wrong and not aligned with them. So stupid, poor SLB has been trying to make the film for the past 12 years ....

Another controversy is that some MNS group is not happy with Dilwale, they are urging people to boycott it because SRK donated to Chennai floods ...but he didn't donate to the Maharashtra farmers.

All this controversies just add to the pre release publicity and nothing else.

The problem from my POV is Bollywood takes the most successful Peshwa of Maratha History only to make a love story of it.The other points are obviously for the pre release publicity as [MENTION=23064]N[/MENTION]iisha already pointed out.

As a huuuge fan of SRK, I was disappointed right from when this film was announced...because I don't like Rohit Shetty, Chennai Express was so average. Dilwale again is antypical bollywood masala, the trailer was badly edited, and the romance between SRK-Kajol which they keep on shoving down our throats looks so fake and not natural like in K3G. In the music, I like Gerua and Manma Emotion Jaage, but the rest of the songs are poor. Expected more from Pritam.

I still hope there are some good comedy scenes with Johnnyn Lever and others, apart from that I don't think I will like the film. Can't wait for all this Blockbuster chasing nto be over because who cares about the box office (we are the audience not the distributors)...I want to see SRK act in an amazing role that's why I'm more excited for Fan and Raees.

I doubt even the MNS or Shiv Sena thugs are stupif enough to compare the National disaster in Chennai with farmer suicides

I will watch Dilwale for Kriti Sanon. Also like Varun Dhawan as an actor he is just brilliant.

Bajirao Mastani looks like the better film but will probably end up going to watch Dilwale with the family.

SRK's last two films (CE and HNY) were simply terrible. Chennai Express was at least watchable due to some of the comic scenes but Happy New Year was utter tripe. Dilwale looks like more of the same. But at least it looks like SRK will be doing some content-driven films after this with Fan, Raees and the Gauri Shinde film with Alia Bhatt (English Vinglish was superb).

Will watch Bajjirao Mastani definitely but unfortunately need to wait till subtitles are available

Hopefully worth the hype like Bahubali. Obviously different style of movie but still historical fictions are rare in India .

Dilwale will be another trash movie I expect that Bollywood churns out for fun .

IMO Bajirao is going to suprise people as a movie..and even Ranveer. Dilwale is just an another bollywood movie which can be watched from 4 yr olds to 100 yr olds...but will have nothing to say .

I doubt even the MNS or Shiv Sena thugs are stupif enough to compare the National disaster in Chennai with farmer suicides

I'm looking forward to both, both very different, I love SLB's stylisation and cinematography, it's like no other director as its a very classic look to his films.

SRK is SRK and will always be a favourite, will watch dil wake cos of him.

Dilwale poster....:facepalm:

Bajirao posters look interesting. Then I watched the trailer and I can't help but wonder why these film makers don't execute properly. So much good material (from the scenes) but the trailer resorts to showing random events to the point where I got bored halfway.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/NDEExEhvk1Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Usually I don't make such sweeping statements but I could bet my life that I can put together a better trailer than that with all the awesome material shot for the movie (I am assuming from what little I have seen). Frustrating to see such low quality work wasting all the hard work.

Logically Bajirao should be the better movie but dunno what Sanjay Leela Bhansali has done to the movie (from overall movie quality standpoint).

The very picture of Dilwale infuriates me. Looks like a typical phattu movie. Don't mind masala movies as long as they are shot well but it does look like some mind numbing crazy movie.

^^^

That was a teaser released almost 7 to 8 months ago...even before shooting was completed.

this is the trailer..

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/eHOc-4D7MjY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Neerja Trailer -- Life of a Brave 23 yr old Air hostess -- Sonam Kapoor

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7779JrWy04g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^

Om Prakash Mehra is a good director..hopefully it delivers ! Although I did not see as much quality in any of lis later films as I saw in Rang De Basanti !

Over rated movie. Whats the story in it? Usual revenge rubbish made to appear larger than life. Its just an OK movie.

True, but from an indian point of views..it was more about the war sequences in second half and the grandeur and to have a director that can pull that off in 30% of hollywoods budget. Actually story will be in Bahubali 2 itseems ! They had to cut it into two halfs...because the budget was getting more than 250 crores...they did not expect the 600 crores they eventually got.

BaajiRao Mastaani getting over whelming reviews so far in twitter from people who watched previews....

Pan Am Flight 73 - Neerja Bhanot.

A brave lady - I hope the film does her justice.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7779JrWy04g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Incredible Story of Neerja Bhanot – Indian Flight Attendant Who Saved 360 Lives

On the morning of September 5, 1986, Pan Am Flight 73 landed in Karachi. It had arrived from Mumbai and, had nothing gone wrong, would have departed for Frankfurt and onward to New York City. The flight was carrying, among members of other nationalities, Indians, Germans, Americans, and Pakistanis.
Unfortunately, the flight was hijacked while it was parked on the tarmac at Jinnah International Airport in Karachi.

Four heavily-armed terrorists, dressed as airport security guards, entered the aircraft while firing shots from an automatic weapon and seized control of the plane.

This is the story of Neerja Bhanot, the senior flight attendant on board, who helped a number of passengers escape. She was murdered while shielding three children from terrorist fire, less than 25 hours before her 23rd birthday.

After the terrorists boarded the plane, Neerja alerted the cockpit crew, who escaped through an overhead hatch in the cockpit. As the senior-most crew member remaining on board, this left Neerja in charge. One of the terrorists asked the flight crew to collect and hand over the passports of all passengers on board. When Neerja realised that the primary targets of the terrorists were American passengers, she hid their passports – even discarding some of them down the rubbish chute. From a total of 41 American passengers, only 2 were killed.

After holding passengers and crew members hostage for 17 hours on the runway, the terrorists opened fire. Neerja stayed on the plane to help passengers escape, even though she could have been the first to leave. She was shot while shielding three children from the bullets being fired by the terrorists.

Most of us will never find ourselves in a high-pressure situation, facing life or death the way Neerja did. True bravery emerges in the face of fear. We might never know what Neerja was thinking or feeling during those terrible hours of the hijacking, but we do know that she chose to respond to the actions of the terrorists with exceptional grace, courage, and grit. Of the 380 passengers and crew members on Flight 73, 20 were killed.
While many others were injured, they did survive – in no small part due to the actions of a 22-year-old flight attendant who chose compassion over cowardice and performed her duty till the very end.

Neerja Bhanot’s family suffered an unbearable loss when they lost their only daughter.

“Neerja was the ‘laado’ of the family, the youngest and most pampered. My parents had wished for her, and in a news article after her death, my father had mentioned how, when she was born on September 7, 1962, the maternity ward matron here at Chandigarh hospital rang up to inform, it’s a girl. To her surprise, he gave her double thanks, for Neerja was a prayer answered after two sons,” recalls Aneesh, her brother.

As her father remembers her,

“Neerja was a very sensitive, deeply affectionate and an extremely decent person who believed in sharing with her people all her joys but not the jolts. She had well defined principles and there was little room for compromise in that area.”

Despite their irreplaceable loss, her parents, Rama and Harish Bhanot, soldiered on, and even found a fitting way to honour Neerja’s memory. With the insurance money that they received after her death and an equal contribution from Pan Am, they set up the Neerja Bhanot Pan Am Trust. Through the Trust, they present two awards of Rs. 1,50,000 every year – one to an Indian woman who faces social injustice but overcomes it and helps other women in similar situations, and one to honour an airline crew member who acts beyond the call of duty. There could hardly have been a better way to keep Neerja’s memory alive.

For her actions on the day of the hijacking, Neerja Bhanot was posthumously awarded the Ashok Chakra, India’s highest peacetime military decoration for the “most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice”, and the Tamgha-e-Insaniyat, awarded by the Pakistan government for showing incredible kindness. She also posthumously received multiple awards for her courage from the United States government.

http://www.thebetterindia.com/40218/neerja-bhanot-flight-attendant-hijack-bravery/

Let's see how SRK's Dilwale and Raees perform. Bhai has been stupendous this year with Bhaijan and Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo...Paayo

Anyone have watched any of these movies? What is your take?

I am hearing some negative of Dilwale ( which is kind of expected with same old formulas of SRK)

Anyone have watched any of these movies? What is your take?

I am hearing some negative of Dilwale ( which is kind of expected with same old formulas of SRK)

Dilwale is good fun and masti masala. Kriti Sanon is really beautiful.

True, and unlike some of the other Bollywood actresses, she looks even better in person. Her sense of humor... body language.. everything is just sooo :heart:

Kriti seems to be having great fashion sense, Whatever she wears always looks good. Plus she is cute so it makes her adorable. Looking forward to her films in 2016, Her recent shoot with Sushant Singh was just terrific.

Yep every actor had done well in the film except for Boman Irani to some extent

Two of us got to watch Dilwale while other two went for Bajirao as there were no tickets available for Dilwale till 12 midnight. My friends found Bajirao Mastani a boring movie. So socially and with family Dilwale is good stuff to watch.

^^^

That was a teaser released almost 7 to 8 months ago...even before shooting was completed.

this is the trailer..

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/eHOc-4D7MjY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hey thanks for the trailer bud. Since you didn't quote me, I didn't know about your post.

Two of us got to watch Dilwale while other two went for Bajirao as there were no tickets available for Dilwale till 12 midnight. My friends found Bajirao Mastani a boring movie. So socially and with family Dilwale is good stuff to watch.

Yeah Bajirao Mastani is too complicated movie

Star Wars geeks + Bollywood geeks at the cinemas this holiday...bad combo.

Did not even watch last half of Ramleela. Was a boring movie as well.

I only watch the serious Bollywood movies now.

Their comedy movies (Rohit Shetty) is cringe worthy.

I like their biopics and drama movies like Jodha Akbar, Devdas, etc...

I can't stand Golmaal type bollywood movies anymore. They were funny when I was a child.

I only watch the serious Bollywood movies now.

Their comedy movies (Rohit Shetty) is cringe worthy.

I like their biopics and drama movies like Jodha Akbar, Devdas, etc...

I can't stand Golmaal type bollywood movies anymore. They were funny when I was a child.
They are still good as when you are with friends and family you wont find drama and biopics entertaining. I have watched Haider, Kameenay, Titli, Badlapur.etc alone and liked them. Raam Leela might be a good movie for you but i found it slow, boring, language was also difficult to understand and so was the culture and sort of film.

Let me take the cynics straight on.

You wanna discuss acting? Well Nawazuddin Siddiqui kicks every Khan, Kumar, Chhola Bhatura's :butt as far as acting is concerned

Obviously its never been all about acting. Anyone here dares to claim Rajesh Khanna, Amitabh, Shami were actually best in acting skills in their time?

Lets be realistic. Its always been about appeal. All the big names are tour biggest box office draws. They bring people to watch movies. They sell tickets which is all the business has always been about.

Salman right now beats everyone red white blue in terms of popularity/mass appeal. Salman of today goes to any era he chooses and dominates it.

Salman is to bollywood what Afridi is to cricket! :P
Both are insanely popular but over-rated.
Not to mention, bigger hearts as well :D

Prem Ratan Dhan Payo was absolutely the worst movie I have seen for the past 3 years. 20 dollars that I will never get back and I could've instead donated to charity to some random tribe in Africa or have bought a set of 4 kebab paratha rolls. Girlfriend fell asleep on my shoulder in the theatre and eventually suggested we go take a walk by the lake. Hell man, the ducks by the lake provided better entertainment than the clown he is playing in this movie. If OP has been sarcastic this whole time about this joke of a movie, then well played OP, you made me throw away $ 20, I've been tricked and I admit defeat.

Feel sorry for the young girls in their 20s who have to star next to this guy who is twice their age and should be starring as their dad. At least Shahrukh and Amir can still pass for guys 10-20 years younger than their actual age.

#BeingPrem lol more like #BeingLame

If you are not a Bhai human then you are not 'Being Human'

Bhai has the biggest heart among Indian actors, while all other actors are selfish, Bhai has done a lot for the Indian am janta.

Watched both , if you like cheap comedy and Adam Sandler type movies go for dilwale, else go for bajirao mastani. Little bit slow paced but still good , problem is they're at least 2 or 3 extra songs which were not needed.
Dilwale - 3/10
Bajirao mastani- 7/10

I like Varun Dhawan, can't stand the rest. Will skip Ravir Singh, why is he even an actor? Even Rajpal Yadav is better looking than Ranvir Singh.

Dilwale I will only watch Varun's scenes, skip Shahrukh etc

Now that's a bit of an exaggeration.

Kiya acting kee hai isss Laundey ney in Bajirao Mastani.

Ranveer Singh really looked like an Alpha male, kiya screen presence hai iss kee. Future superstar hai. I'm his fan now after this film.

Kiya acting kee hai isss Laundey ney in Bajirao Mastani.

Ranveer Singh really looked like an Alpha male, kiya screen presence hai iss kee. Future superstar hai. I'm his fan now after this film.

Are you serious or trolling mate?

I'm serious. I have read a book on Bajirao and Ranveer was quite spectacular in the film, a towering performance.

His Marathi accent was prefect, he had that swag of a leader. Best actor of Bollywood this year.

Watched trailers of both, not going to watch either.

Dilawale proves SRK has not evolved as an actor with time. Still trying to copy himself from 20 years ago.

Bajirao is yet another wannabe "historical epic". At least it has Priyanka. That upper lip is to die for.

I'm serious. I have read a book on Bajirao and Ranveer was quite spectacular in the film, a towering performance.

His Marathi accent was prefect, he had that swag of a leader. Best actor of Bollywood this year.

Oh okay, I was planning to see the movie.

I'm a big fan of both Varun Dhawan and Kriti but Rohit Shetty comedies are cringeworthy. I swear to myself never to watch any of his sh!tty movies after Golmaal 3

I'm interested in Bajirao and war scenes look particularly fascinating in trailor.

Watching SRK play the same role and deliver the same emotional dialogue as he did 20 years ago is frankly depressing. It not only shows the blatant shallowness of his acting skills but also the state of Bollywood where an actor like him who has refused or has has no need to evolve with age is still being considered the "King". A movie like "Dilwale" can only be produced by an industry that is plagued with "Superstars" and their supposed ginormous egos, not to mention the lack of original material and talent.