Bollywood Corner

Was a big fan of his but haven't watched any of his movies since Dabang in theatre and not going to either ,the amount of people who have suffered directly because of him is far greater for me to give more money to this idiot.
The other two Khans are by far better than him even though they do a lot for publicity atleast they won't run people over or break laws just because they think of themselves as "Bhai".

Can't wait for people to get over this phase also i don't understand why neutral fans go to his movies inspite of them being poorly written and executed.

I think Salman is the most handsome actor Bollywood has ever had.

He probably has best success ratio.

But as an actor he is behind others, still he commands huge openings and people come to watch him. From Business point of view , now he is the biggest mass puller.

Brothers.

Jai Shri Ram!

Just back from the theatre, got bit late as I was to drop my gf at her place. Excellent family movie! You can take your parents and sisters to the theatre and show them this beautiful family saga. Great music, comedy emotions, grand palaces and feel tk the movie.

Salman totally rules the industry now. After Prem Ratan. You just have to respect box office numbers and acknowledge him as the greatest and this is coming from someone who personally likes SRK more.

Chha gye Sallu bhai. Hats off to yoy

Just saw !!!

Will write in Movie thread soon :)

Petro,

No need for racist bigoted comments. Please behave yourself. Thanks

^

The size of your smile shows how much you enjoyed I. Please post your experience here too. I refuse to go to Bollywood corner because of Navroks' biased commentary. Thanks

Funny thing is that Salman himself acknowledges that he doesn't know how to act and he is what he is because of his fans. Also , guy got the best PR people , being human is a stroke of genius.

I may be wrong but isn't Amir Khan net worth around 30 million USD and SRK's around 600 million USD?

I doubt all of srks films in his whole career have grossed 600m USD, even most Hollywood actors dont make that much.

Plus srks major films were from yash chopra whos known to make actors work for free.

SRK is just class. I dont like Salman Khan much but he is okay. In terms of acting capabilities, Barely anyone can match Shahid Kapoor in Haider, That is one master class film.

i have seen a few of srk, salman khan movies in the 90s and their acting was laughably wooden. hope they've improved since then.

Just watched PRDP all I can say is Salman needs to quit doing films now. The whole film was just one big waste of money . Apart from the title song which was very melodious I would rate this film 4.5 /10 .

Just watched PRDP all I can say is Salman needs to quit doing films now. The whole film was just one big waste of money.
Seriously I enjoyed Bajranghi more . Apart from the title song which was very melodious I would rate this film 4.5 /10

I expect this to be a more professionally done version of "Saas bhi bahu thi" nonsense. Name of the movie too repulses me for some reason.

After Dabangg, I was like Meh!!

Bajrangi Bhaijan left me in tears and I started believing the HYPE.

Prem Ratan Dhan Payo has settled the debate for me folks, Salman is the most iconic and loved Indian actor ever. He is the undisputed KING of Bollywood. He rules the box office.

Enough with acting skills debates. He has surpassed Amir and SRK.

We need to look beyond our personal biases to acknowledge Salman bhai. He has had a difficult path. His career was almost over at the turn of the century. His personal life was a mess. From there to turn things around in such grand fashion and reach the top and actually blow away the roof itself is nothing less than legendary.

Jiyo Salman bhai!

I agree with you

Its a trend.

There was a Akshay Kumar peak where everyone of his movies became blockbusters but then stopped eventually.

Salman will crash and burn too with the formula approach.

Aamir will be steady and good always.

SRK has been meh for a while.

Sallu will soon crash in a year or two.

These morons (except Aamir) need to crash for the evolution of the movie industry. So bring it on.

I think I may check out Bajrangi Bhaijaan. The trailer looked interesting and I think its one of those rare Sallu movies I can stand.

Its a trend.

There was a Akshay Kumar peak where everyone of his movies became blockbusters but then stopped eventually.

These morons (except Aamir) need to crash for the evolution of the movie industry. So bring it on.

I think I may check out Bajrangi Bhaijaan. The trailer looked interesting and I think its one of those rare Sallu movies I can stand.

The script for bajrangi bhaijan was written by bahubali director rajamouli's father.

Correct Analysis BTW. Salman khan has given many flops before. It was after he reinvented himself with the south remakes that he became this popular. His superstardom started with wanted and then got cemented with Dabanng. Masses were tired of the NRI punjabi love stories and salman khan bought the macho man back withhis movies. He need to thank aamir khan for doing ghajini and after which salman did wanted.It won't last forever. Salman has been smart BTW after jai ho and bodyguard public were getting tired of same old stuff. So he did Kick and roped in Nawaz who was/is the current favourite among both elite and the masses. Kick got a huge hype and then he followed it with bhajrani bhaijan and for once he paid attention to the script.

Far superior to the clown Rajnikanth's movies.

Rajnikanth is too old and should stop acting in movies and that's a fact. But he was too likeable when he was in his prime, the bollywood makes fun of him but that is stupid because no body watches his movies in Hindi and even those movies are badly dubbed. Rajnikanth movies aren't bad as they are thought to be. Rajni is a verry likeable actor on and off screen. SRK, Amitabh and Salman are retarded compared to Rajni during his prime. No wonder he is famous in Japan.

Rajnikanth and likeable? Only for his stupid audience. No wonder he is famous in Japan, where silly comics are popular. Always laugh at his stupid acting, and the stupidity of those who like him, when I watch his clownish and retarded antics. Silly actor, silly fans.

Rajni in full flow is quality.

Watch Mannan, Thalapathy, Thillu Mullu, Arunachalam, Baasha and many others whose name I may have forgotten.

This is coming from a non-Rajni fan and who has watched Bollywood and Kollywood equally.

That dude has mind boggling charisma. Maybe its tough to transfer it to other languages.

Ajith and Vijay are a disgrace though. I can't for the life of me understand how anyone can be their fans.

Rajni in full flow is quality.

Watch Mannan, Thalapathy, Thillu Mullu, Arunachalam, Baasha and many others whose name I may have forgotten.

This is coming from a non-Rajni fan and who has watched Bollywood and Kollywood equally.

That dude has mind boggling charisma. Maybe its tough to transfer it to other languages.

Ajith and Vijay are a disgrace though. I can't for the life of me understand how anyone can be their fans.

Rajni is quality? Maybe in a comedic role. Have to give it that he is the best clown out there. More clownish are his retarded fans who bathe his giant cut out posters with milk. Morons.

Rajnikant-fans-worshipping-him.jpg

Rajni is quality? Maybe in a comedic role. Have to give it that he is the best clown out there. More clownish are his retarded fans who bathe his giant cut out posters with milk. Morons.

Rajnikant-fans-worshipping-him.jpg

Tamilian fans - Clown.

Rajni - Gun.

Even Sachin has garbage fans but that doesn't mean Sachin is garbage or you judge Sachin by post 2011 performances.

Tamilian fans - Clown.

Rajni - Gun.

Even Sachin has garbage fans but that doesn't mean Sachin is garbage or you judge Sachin by post 2011 performances.

Stupid comparison. Sachin is on record saying that he is an ordinary human and not a god. and his fans dont go to the retarded lengths the rajni fans go to. Rajni on the other hand has never asked his fans to stop wasting milk on his posters. In fact, he so much revels in his fans that he turned down a role in drushyam remake just because his fans wont like him to get beaten in one of the scenes. The clown wants to please his retarded fans instead of acting. But to be fair, that's all the clown knows.

You going off on a tangent bro.

Talking about quality which means charisma for Rajni (which is what he is known for).

Whether Rajni accepts getting beaten or not is irrelevant here and comparison with SRT is bang on.

Idiotic fans but quality performer.

You going off on a tangent bro.

Talking about quality which means charisma for Rajni (which is what he is known for).

Whether Rajni accepts getting beaten or not is irrelevant here and comparison with SRT is bang on.

Idiotic fans but quality performer.

Quality which means charishma? In whose eyes? His retarded fans of course. Rajni is what he is because of his moronic fans, who make him charismatic for them, but for a reason rest of india does not care about this clown.

Rajni chooses his roles based on what his moronic fans would love to see. yeah, that is called quality. :)))

Salman Khan isn't as accomplished as Muhammad Kutty Ismail , the greatest living actor in India.I don't know why indians look upto these actors like Salman and RajniKant who are good only for a slapstick audience.

Salman's fans are nowhere near the moronic levels of rajnikanth's madrasi fans, who waste gallons of milk on his cut outs, and worship him as a god.

Quality which means charishma? In whose eyes? His retarded fans of course. Rajni is what he is because of his moronic fans, who make him charismatic for them, but for a reason rest of india does not care about this clown.

Rajni chooses his roles based on what his moronic fans would love to see. yeah, that is called quality. :)))

There have been two kinds of heroes in Tamil film industry throughout its history - one who acts for the class and one who acts for the masses. There have been blessed actors in the industry and they're quality actors in their own right. But the issue is that even they couldn't quite capture the tamil masses like the other ones did. It's very easy to capture tamil (or any other subcontinental people for that matter) - to act as a larger than life hero who, despite coming from a poor family, manages to reach the highest echelons of success and/or who fights off the evil from the society helping the poor. This has been the much used formula right from time immemorial and this is how MGR managed to capture the masses eventhough Sivaji Ganesan was by far a better actor than him. Kamal Haasan became the heir to Sivaji and even though he has done roles which Rajni could only imagine in his dreams, Rajni managed to become the super star using the much beaten formula. Now, Vijay and Ajith are using the same formula, however the audience have gotten tired of this formula and films on that mould have been flopping of late, and films with newer story lines have been springing up.

The thing to be noted is that every new actor doesn't always act films like this and only after they gain a certain popularity and age, they decide to go to the brow beaten but safe route. Rajni too acted in a variety of roles before going down this route and his old films were great. But later as he gained popularity, he decided to go to the MGR route and capture the masses. Also he didn't quite have the acting prowess of Kamal either to compete with him in his own field. But Rajni doesn't have the intelligence to become a leader and enter politics like MGR, the guy starts blabbering whenever he is given a mic.

There have been two kinds of heroes in Tamil film industry throughout its history - one who acts for the class and one who acts for the masses. There have been blessed actors in the industry and they're quality actors in their own right. But the issue is that even they couldn't quite capture the tamil masses like the other ones did. It's very easy to capture tamil (or any other subcontinental people for that matter) - to act as a larger than life hero who, despite coming from a poor family, manages to reach the highest echelons of success and/or who fights off the evil from the society helping the poor. This has been the much used formula right from time immemorial and this is how MGR managed to capture the masses eventhough Sivaji Ganesan was by far a better actor than him. Kamal Haasan became the heir to Sivaji and even though he has done roles which Rajni could only imagine in his dreams, Rajni managed to become the super star using the much beaten formula. Now, Vijay and Ajith are using the same formula, however the audience have gotten tired of this formula and films on that mould have been flopping of late, and films with newer story lines have been springing up.

The thing to be noted is that every new actor doesn't always act films like this and only after they gain a certain popularity and age, they decide to go to the brow beaten but safe route. Rajni too acted in a variety of roles before going down this route and his old films were great. But later as he gained popularity, he decided to go to the MGR route and capture the masses. Also he didn't quite have the acting prowess of Kamal either to compete with him in his own field. But Rajni doesn't have the intelligence to become a leader and enter politics like MGR, the guy starts blabbering whenever he is given a mic.

True.

But its not a case of just showing up and capturing masses.

Even all young Tamil kids of this generation (urban burger kids too) love Rajni but can't say the same for Ajith or Vijay.

Reason is simple. They ain't good enough.

Rajni was. He followed the formula of MGR but carved his own niche through his on screen persona (personally I haven't seen anyone with more charisma on screen so I can understand why he has such a fan following).

Of course, Kamal, Mohanlal, Mamoothy are superior actors compared to Rajni (who himself is actually a quite competent actor when he chooses to be) but he never went that route.

True.

But its not a case of just showing up and capturing masses.

Even all young Tamil kids of this generation (urban burger kids too) love Rajni but can't say the same for Ajith or Vijay.

Reason is simple. They ain't good enough.

Rajni was. He followed the formula of MGR but carved his own niche through his on screen persona (personally I haven't seen anyone with more charisma on screen so I can understand why he has such a fan following).

Of course, Kamal, Mohanlal, Mamoothy are superior actors compared to Rajni (who himself is actually a quite competent actor when he chooses to be) but he never went that route.

Agreed, films like Basha were epic while I was growing up. Thillu mullu was still the best though :) But North Indians wouldn't find those films enjoyable coz they weren't actors of similar mould except maybe Amitabh.

There have been two kinds of heroes in Tamil film industry throughout its history - one who acts for the class and one who acts for the masses.

Are the madrasi masses really that stupid that they like the clownish antics of rajini? Guy has the personality of a doormat.

Agreed that he doesnt have intelligence. Should have the common sense to ask his moronic fans now to waste milk and better do something constructive. But then both feed upon the clownish antics of each other, so it is understandable.

Are the madrasi masses really that stupid that they like the clownish antics of rajini? Guy has the personality of a doormat.

Agreed that he doesnt have intelligence. Should have the common sense to ask his moronic fans now to waste milk and better do something constructive. But then both feed upon the clownish antics of each other, so it is understandable.

We're talking about poor labour who work for daily wages, going to a night film after a hectic day of back breaking work. So you can forgive them for not wanting to watch films of your class and intelligence like the Inception and the Interstellar :)

Those poor labourers have every right to enjoy rajni's clown antics, anything that is entertainment for them. But normal people dont go worshipping circus clowns and jesters, and wasting gallons of milk on their posters. There is something really wrong and rotten in those peoples mentality.

I very much agree with your sentiment here. I too am not a fan of those who do OTT worshipping of film stars and cricket stars in our country. But unfortunately, that is something which is embedded in desi mentality.

Desi people do get offended when someone talks bad about their heroes and icons. But this is on another level. Even when sachin is supposedly insulted by sharapova or british airways, it is the malayali sachin fans who go and spam their facebook page. Strange phenomena, as if these people have tied their very existence and self worth to some actors/cricketers and face existential crisis anytime they are supposedly insulted.

I've lived in kerala for 2 years and tbh I haven't seen as much OTT film following with the malayalees as with Tamil/Telugu fans. Mostly their film industry produces quality films but they don't have the budget of Bollywood/Kollywood/Tollywood. Ironically, the keralite youngsters watch mostly tamil films. Maybe they are OTT with cricket, I don't know about that.

But it is cringeworthy to see people worshipping cricket stars as if they've put their lives on the line but no one would bat an eyelid for some random constable who lost his life during the Mumbai attacks.

Rajnikanth and likeable? Only for his stupid audience. No wonder he is famous in Japan, where silly comics are popular. Always laugh at his stupid acting, and the stupidity of those who like him, when I watch his clownish and retarded antics. Silly actor, silly fans.

Not all his movies are retarded, there are high retarded population, so he does some dumb things to cater it to them. Then again you are just as retarded so it is hard to explain to you :narine

Terrible film.

Awful storyline. 2 Salman Khans and Sonam Kapoor is just a very poor actress.

This movie has got disastrous reviews yet Freelance is trying to convince people to waste their money on this garbage.

Tbh this film looked like a flop from the trailer.An old school typical Bollywood film about royalties.Rather than having 2 Sallus they could have gone to Najeem Khan or Husnain Saleem.The tagline of this film is quite cringeworthy: Khush naseeb toh woh log hain jin ki family hoti hai

Its a trend.

You still haven't seen Bajrangi? Probably one of the best Bollywood movies lately and I have to say Salman was brilliant in it.

Personally, I don't think Salman will crash, I think he's becoming more selective in terms of the movies he does rather than simply doing mindless action movies.

Salman Khan is Bollywood's Shahid Afridi. You know he has a huge fan appeal but you will never know the reason why or how

You still haven't seen Bajrangi? Probably one of the best Bollywood movies lately and I have to say Salman was brilliant in it.

Personally, I don't think Salman will crash, I think he's becoming more selective in terms of the movies he does rather than simply doing mindless action movies.

If he's selective, he won't crash but they don't realize it until its too late.

I would happily watch Salman's movies (or anyone's for that matter) if he chooses it well. For that to happen first, the masses have to reject his drivel. Its not like masala movies are bad. Its that they are usually poorly made.

Will watch Bajrangi sure.

SRK is finished. You have to see his face is plastered with makeup to look young.

He seems to have gone all sorts of botox or reconstructions to look younger. His face has too many wrinkles on him to pull off the Raj gig he has pulled off all his life..

Salman on the other hand looks young as ever for a 49 year old.

Maybe he has finally gown up after 4 and half decades? He has always acted so childishly that it was hard to take him serious and his comedy is so lame. He has had good couple of movies so he should be able to end his career on high i guess.

Salman Khan is Bollywood's Shahid Afridi. You know he has a huge fan appeal but you will never know the reason why or how

EXACTLY!! This is the first thing that came to my mind, Afridi and Salman Khan is perfect comparison. Both became famous due to a fluke and then good performance here and there for the rest of their careers but kept cashing their fluke for the rest of their careers.

Maybe he has finally gown up after 4 and half decades? He has always acted so childishly that it was hard to take him serious and his comedy is so lame. He has had good couple of movies so he should be able to end his career on high i guess.

End his career on a high? Salman has no plan to stop working in movies any time soon.

EXACTLY!! This is the first thing that came to my mind, Afridi and Salman Khan is perfect comparison. Both became famous due to a fluke and then good performance here and there for the rest of their careers but kept cashing their fluke for the rest of their careers.

I think Salman Khan and Shoaib Akhtar are better comparisons. Good people at heart, speaking their mind, but seen as the bad guys. These two are good friends in real too.

Perfect comparison. I always felt that Shoaib got a lot of unnecessary hate.

Its a trend.

Agree that its a trend.

Salman hit super stardom with Wanted ut he also gave out amazing "Blockbusters" such as Veer, London Dreams, Marigold, Yuvvraj, Garv, Lucky. Even a Jai Ho did average business.

The comparision with Akshay Kumar movies is spot on. Akki was coming up with a movie almost every other week -- most of which had the same story lines.

Back in my SRK fanboy days, I got unfriended and blocked by a lot of Bhai girlfans when I would make fun of him. His chicks are crazy about him.

Agree that its a trend.

Salman hit super stardom with Wanted ut he also gave out amazing "Blockbusters" such as Veer, London Dreams, Marigold, Yuvvraj, Garv, Lucky. Even a Jai Ho did average business.

The comparision with Akshay Kumar movies is spot on. Akki was coming up with a movie almost every other week -- most of which had the same story lines.

Lol, the movies you are counting as blockbusters failed badly at the box office.although, akshay used to give consistent hits for a available period, but they weren't exactly blockbusters.salman euphoria can be compared to someone like rajesh khanna.

This movie has got disastrous reviews yet Freelance is trying to convince people to waste their money on this garbage.

Most films get terrible reviews. I know many critics who gave the two best films of this year, Bajrangi Bhaijaan and Drishyam, a 1 or 2 out of 5 stars. After a long time of relying on reviews I decided that the best way to actually know if I will like a film is to read the reviews of common people (not pretentious critics who will try and undermine commercially successful films) and see the movie myself. Most "normal" people who actually watched the film do happen to like it.

I don't always read what the movie critics say because some of them just look for any flaw to undermine any decent movie.

I do however read what the general public say and the most popular well known site for that is IMDB. Of course there will be some differing views but you will able to find some consensus on how good the movie is along with the rating. This movie has a rating of around 5.9 which means poor so that tells me to avoid.

I think Freelance is trolling, he knows the movie was a poor one but wants others to waste their money and have a bad experience. I hope they don't fall for it.

Are you [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] isn't normal?

A lot of people I know had booked tickets to go watch this on the day of release were majorly disappointed.

In the sarcasm competition between FC and CC,FC wins comfortably,since he is so natural.CC has to go a longway to reach FC level.

i am so happy I can watch all the latest indian and pakistani tv and films for free. that way I dont feel bad about wasting money for something that is not quite good.

I am hearing conflicting views on this film. I dont have 3 hours to spend on TV at the moment, I was hoping to watch it over thanksgiving holiday here in the US.

So what is really the verdict? Is it really bad or so so ? Keep in mind, I am not a huge fan of the actors but I enjoy indian films of substance such as PK, Bajrangi, etc. The best Indian movie from recent memory in my opinion was Haider. Wonderful stuff!

The only actor who just needs to turn up to make money for his producer. True definition of superstar. What a turn around in the last 5-6 years

Even SK has another 4-5 more years to cash in as a hero. Age is telling on his physique, his body is developing more and more body fat with each passing year which is natural as you cannot look like your 20's and 30's when you are in your 50's.

The decision to go into Bigg Boss and diversify his interests was a master stroke.

I think Bhai's choosiness is very underrated.

He has shown a shrewd mentality and great PR skills.

So far everyone in my circle who's watched the movie has come out in tears of joy. The sisters-brother reunion scene was too emotional.

Indian and pakistani movies are rubbish. Just the trailer of this movie (i was unfortunate enough to see it at the cinema while watching another movie) and the name of the movie should tell you this. Obviously there are exceptions like veer zara, 3 idiots and more which are very good movies

Watching this movie today while coming home from Kolkata, in a volvo bus. Stupendous movie. Salman ROCKS! The only actor who looks true royal blood no matter whether he plays a prince or a commoner. Neil Nitin Mukhesh looks royal too, and Sonam Kapoor reminds one of the royal grace of Maharani Gayatri Devi, the Queen of Jodhpur. Only Swara Bhaskar doesn't fit in the royal ensemble, and she looks like a biharam from Patna, obese with too much pani poori. Don't know why this Karnam Malleswari even gets roles. Too few roles for a Barjatiya movie, and I missed Alok Nath, who could have played Salman's father. The story is very relevant today, and the message was that no matter how much you fight with each other, blood, especially blue blood, is always thicker than water. Salman looks adorable as Prem, and formidable as the Prince, and the curvaceous Sonam looks every inch a Princess. I would give 10/10, but deducting 1 point for the backless cholis, which have no place in a family movie.