Bollywood Corner

Piku has crossed 100 crores worldwide and is the highest grossing movie overseas (27 crores)...and 73 in India. Estimates might be in the 90s especially if Tanu Weds Manu does not get favorable reviews as well ! Slowly, Deepika is on the right track on becoming one of biggest female superstars of the country..

Meanwhile , Bombay Velvet grossed 18 crores...and lifetime will probably be 25. And It is said to be biggest disaster of all time beating Drona, Khele Hum Jee Jaan se and Guzaarish . Box Office India said..it will be easier to beat records of PK than to break the records of Bombay Velvet ! 3rd flop in a row for RK...Slowly and slowly I am afraid he is loosing the stardom to bring in the audience and going the shahid Kapoor route...5 crore opening for a superstar is pathetic...also shows RK is not star enough yet for people to look past the movie and get the movie decent collections ! Jagga Jasoos personally not too hopefull either, Anurag Basu is always a hit and a miss ....and Imtiaz Ali's Tamasha with Deepika should be the most important film for him stardom...Deepika-RK pairing after yeh Jawani should help it

I hate so called upper caste leader have hated them but saying Lalu was a great social reformer is tragic at the best.
A state like Bihar which had Jharkhand's resources had regressed during 1991-1995 which was the growth period for India tells you at best that what he has achieved.15 years and nothing was asked from him.He had the 15 most productive years of Indian economy and look what he established.The article i gave you has Bihar's story till 1989 its a good read and with that growth merged with India's economy during 1990-2005 Bihar would be what Punjab or Haryana is now but just one man and his party stood in the way.

I never said Mayawati was bad imo she was needed for UP but she went overboard with her statues, Rajesh Pilot was a better leader but Mulayam is one of the most ignorant corrupt leaders and i can personally tell you he had a jet with gold plated things inside.

Sorry not going to accept that any Yadav was a great leader or even a leader and it has nothing to do with caste bias but a general take on things.

I was not calling them great leader either, just contesting that they are the most corrupt leaders. And so far you havent been able to show that. Mayawati and statues? No one bothers when thackerays erect shivaji statues, gandhis erect indira and nehru statues, and now modi is erecting sardar statue. But a dalit leader wants statues for dalit icons and people talk about the wastage of money. Nothing but caste based prejudice.

She did not create statues for Dalit icons as far as I know..she made statues of herself ! An occasional statue is alright...but I heard she was on as spree ! Your ability to twist everything into caste based is insane...it is a valid opinion when people question the wastage of money on statues....

She is a dalit icon.

There has always been a battle of icons. The upper caste promote their icons as national icons. Madan mohan malviya and atal bihari getting bharat ratna. Ambedkar getting it only during the 1990s. VP singh ridiculed despite having any corruption during his tenure, only because he brought OBC reservation. If you open your eyes, you will see caste prejudice behind most of the evils in India. One day you will, hopefully.

^^^ She could be.

But a politician spending money to build her own statues does not sound anyway right .

On Bharata Ratna, yes 24 out of 45 awardees are Brahmins...but because they were well equipped to succeed in their field initially. And one more thing, did they work only for Brahmins..or did they work for whole india? And were any of them against caste....they infact helped the economically and socially backward castes during their times. We have many muslims in the list...Yes somebody like Phule couple should have got it...but K.Kamraj did get in 1976. Bharatna Ratna is less caste, more political lobbying if any....whether it was sachin getting it to appease by congresss..or Vajpayee getting it now !

I was not calling them great leader either, just contesting that they are the most corrupt leaders. And so far you havent been able to show that. Mayawati and statues? No one bothers when thackerays erect shivaji statues, gandhis erect indira and nehru statues, and now modi is erecting sardar statue. But a dalit leader wants statues for dalit icons and people talk about the wastage of money. Nothing but caste based prejudice.

Statue of herself.No issues with other dalit leaders.

^^^ She could be.

But a politician spending money to build her own statues does not sound anyway right .

On Bharata Ratna, yes 24 out of 45 awardees are Brahmins...but because they were well equipped to succeed in their field initially. And one more thing, did they work only for Brahmins..or did they work for whole india? And were any of them against caste....they infact helped the economically and socially backward castes during their times. We have many muslims in the list...Yes somebody like Phule couple should have got it...but K.Kamraj did get in 1976. Bharatna Ratna is less caste, more political lobbying if any....whether it was sachin getting it to appease by congresss..or Vajpayee getting it now !

Does not sound right? lol. She did the right thing, because no one else is going to respect the dalit icons.
No one objected when Atal Bihari inaugurated a college named after him. But if a low caste dares to do the same, the entire civil society starts jumping up and down like monkeys.
Political lobbying is also based on caste. Advani and Atal Bihari never got punished, but Bangaru Laxman got jailed. Why? Caste.

No one should makes statues of themselves that s plain stupid.Ambedkar was a great and i completely agree.

But Nehru and Indira, both can award themselves Bharat Ratnas, and Atal Bihari can go and inaugurate a college named after him. Vanity is visible only when a low caste does it.

Does not sound right? lol. She did the right thing, because no one else is going to respect the dalit icons.
No one objected when Atal Bihari inaugurated a college named after him. But if a low caste dares to do the same, the entire civil society starts jumping up and down like monkeys.
Political lobbying is also based on caste. Advani and Atal Bihari never got punished, but Bangaru Laxman got jailed. Why? Caste.

Was it Vajpayee's college or somebody else's college who named it after Vajpayee ? Vallabhai patel's 2000 crore statue has got a lot of brickbats as well....

Political lobbying is based on what works for the politics involved.... There are quite a few deserved upper caste people who did not get bharata ratna's as well.... I have problem with segregative politics and opinions especially doing it in the garb of equality !

Was it Vajpayee's college or somebody else's college who named it after Vajpayee ? Vallabhai patel's 2000 crore statue has got a lot of brickbats as well....

Political lobbying is based on what works for the politics involved.... There are quite a few deserved upper caste people who did not get bharata ratna's as well.... I have problem with segregative politics and opinions especially doing it in the garb of equality !

You are right. Vajapayee, thackerays, gandhis everyone is good. Mayawati is bad.

^^^ I never said it ! Mayawati is definately not good with the information I have...so are the thackereys..some gandhi's ...I am one of people who argues that Vajpayee is incredibly incredibly over rated in India..he was no where close to PV Narasimha Rao who is incredibly under rated as he does cater to the agenda or appeasement to any of the parties..but vajpayee was a good man who did things more silently without the showmanship of Modi now... !

Tanu Weds Manu Returns -- KANGANA RANUAT IS A SUPERSTAR !!!!!!

I haven't laughed so much in a movie for a long time. Movie was a laugh riot all over...yet said so much !

And What a list of actors....Madhavan who is an super fine actor himself was probably the weakest actor among them and it is not insult.

Kangana is best actress we have in the industry...She is doing super strong at box office. Movie will have a 40 crore weekend according to predictions which is huge by any standard except the khans ... ..Her difference in body language for the both the characters..showed what a fine actor she is

Deepak Dobriyal was brilliant and carried the movie through out....Rajat Sharma, Swara Bhaskar, Mohammed Zeeshan...Fantastic performance.

Loved it. Anand Rai is becoming one of my fav directors... There are some plot loopholes...but the movie is so strong nobody will pay attention.

8/10

^^^ Why always in fight mode? anyway...Kangana killed it...watch it ! It is awesome that we have kangana, deepika , vidya, priyanka as strong female stars in BO wise...

But I believe Kangana has raced ahead...

I mean Piku with Big B, Deepika and Irfan only made 12 crores in 2 days..and Kangana made 8 first day..and 12 second day ! She is the leader of the pack now... but Please do not make a fight and name call ..let it be about kangana !

If Anand Rai wants to make an another tanu weds manu...it should be about Datto !

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/2PqKrsS4Fuw?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Tanu Weds Manu Returns -- KANGANA RANUAT IS A SUPERSTAR !!!!!!

I haven't laughed so much in a movie for a long time. Movie was a laugh riot all over...yet said so much !

And What a list of actors....Madhavan who is an super fine actor himself was probably the weakest actor among them and it is not insult.

Kangana is best actress we have in the industry...She is doing super strong at box office. Movie will have a 40 crore weekend according to predictions which is huge by any standard except the khans ... ..Her difference in body language for the both the characters..showed what a fine actor she is

Deepak Dobriyal was brilliant and carried the movie through out....Rajat Sharma, Swara Bhaskar, Mohammed Zeeshan...Fantastic performance.

Loved it. Anand Rai is becoming one of my fav directors... There are some plot loopholes...but the movie is so strong nobody will pay attention.

8/10

I am going to watch the movie today. To be honest, Deepak is one of the reason why I am so excited for the movie as I still remember him from Tanu weds mannu part 1 and Omkara. He is a fine actor.

Very rarely a supporting actor overpowers so much like he has done.

Watched Tanu Weds Manu Returns today. Good movie, good screenplay.

But Kangana is awesome. I can't think of any other current bollywood actor who could have pulled off that haryanvi character. It was completely her movie.

Pretty late but saw Dum Laga ke Haisha surprised by the movie ,pretty good.Loving that India is finally showing its own stories hopefully we carry the trend forward really bored with Two Khans a Kumar and their utter crap.

Do you guys like for the first time since Sridevi, we have list of actresses who are much much better actors than their male counterparts and also have a better box office pull?

Kangana Ranaut, Vidya, Deepika, Anushka, Priyanka, Parineeti, Alia IMO are all better actors and also have as good or better pull than...Varun, Sidharth, Arjun..to some extent even Ranveer and Shahid. After BV, I am not sure about Ranbir BO pull..as an actor he is ahead.

and also among offbeat..there is Richa Chadda, Swara Bhaskar, Mahie Gill, Nimrat Kaur...and among males we have Rajkumar Rao who is as good. Nawazdudddin who is getting there in terms BO pull but is a much much better actor.

Awesome to see !

and also For the first time in a long long time..

Monday bussiness is higher than friday bussiness for a film...on its way to becoming biggest grosses this year..over Akshay's baby and gabbar !

Fri 8.85 cr, Sat 13.20 cr, Sun 16.10 cr, Mon 8.90 cr. Total: 47.05 cr

Do you guys like for the first time since Sridevi, we have list of actresses who are much much better actors than their male counterparts and also have a better box office pull?
Kangana Ranaut, Vidya, Deepika, Anushka, Priyanka, Parineeti, Alia IMO are all better actors and also have as good or better pull than...Varun, Sidharth, Arjun..to some extent even Ranveer and Shahid. After BV, I am not sure about Ranbir BO pull..as an actor he is ahead.

and also among offbeat..there is Richa Chadda, Swara Bhaskar, Mahie Gill, Nimrat Kaur...and among males we have Rajkumar Rao who is as good. Nawazdudddin who is getting there in terms BO pull but is a much much better actor.

Awesome to see !

and also For the first time in a long long time..

Monday bussiness is higher than friday bussiness for a film...on its way to becoming biggest grosses this year..over Akshay's baby and gabbar !

Fri 8.85 cr, Sat 13.20 cr, Sun 16.10 cr, Mon 8.90 cr. Total: 47.05 cr

yes even i think so. But it is still a long way to go..

^^ yeah ofcourse, there is a long way to go !Among new generation male actors, I see less people who can reach to stardom which Khans, roshan, kumar and devgan did...while I can see few female actors going where no female actor has gone before...and surpassing some of their male counters by a huge margin.

We may not see anyone with stardom like khans for sometime. This could be because Bollywood is changing and so as viewers taste. A lot of new filmmakers coming in who do not give stardom as an important factor to sell their movie. Viewers are also being more selective instead of just fallowing a star.

True ! I think stardom which goes past the movies is gone with new generation untill we find somebody who just captures people like Hrithik did...

It is quite telling when Ranbir Kapoor's starrer does only 22 crores lifetime while a kangana starrer does that much in 2 days..

Btw...TWMR is on a roll to be the first 100+ domestic easily which is female headlined ....might be 125 too..

Movie made 56 now in 5 days and going steady..and there is no major release until Dil Dhadakne Do June 5th...

True ! I think stardom which goes past the movies is gone with new generation untill we find somebody who just captures people like Hrithik did...

When did hrithick capture people? his first movie was a hit, but what else after that? 15 years and all he is known for is krish and kaho na pyaar. and this is what you call stardom. also he is a coward in real life.

It is quite telling when Ranbir Kapoor's starrer does only 22 crores lifetime while a kangana starrer does that much in 2 days..

Btw...TWMR is on a roll to be the first 100+ domestic easily which is female headlined ....might be 125 too..

Movie made 56 now in 5 days and going steady..and there is no major release until Dil Dhadakne Do June 5th...

The superstar era kind of ended after Rajesh khanna and AB. Next came khans who ruled the era or you can say shared. There was no clear single superstar. Next we won't see that even.

Hritik didn't capture from first. His first movie was a musical hit followed by a series of flops till he stated superhero series.

When did hrithick capture people? his first movie was a hit, but what else after that? 15 years and all he is known for is krish and kaho na pyaar. and this is what you call stardom. also he is a coward in real life.

I agree with your view on hrithik's career but mate what's up with comments on people's real life? Go easy as you are the one who look idiot with such comments.

I dont care if I look like an idiot. I am not here to earn anyones respect. And dont expect me to respect a guy who cheated on his wife.

^^ They took a divorce. And actual gossip is the reverse..google suzanne And Arjun. Having said that, nobody has any idea what has happened in their real life...it is pathetic to judge people from a distance having not even met them in person.

and when I say stardom..like Hrithik got into big leagues like from the first film...It is an another story that he did not maintain...but point I was making was..you need that kind of a roar for a new superstar to emerge....or constant hits like Devgn !

^^ They took a divorce. And actual gossip is the reverse..google suzanne And Arjun. Having said that, nobody has any idea what has happened in their real life...it is pathetic to judge people from a distance having not even met them in person.

and when I say stardom..like Hrithik got into big leagues like from the first film...It is an another story that he did not maintain...but point I was making was..you need that kind of a roar for a new superstar to emerge....or constant hits like Devgn !

So he got stardom with one movie which catapulted him into the big league? I think I am talking to a Hrithik fan.

They took a divorce fine, but the press conference from him was pathetic. He put the blame squarely on her. Could have shown some grace. But no, our guddu ji comes and wants sympathy..saying that it was her idea to separate, and i still believe in institution of marriage, so i am the good guy, and she is a female canine.

Someone like Hrithik is never coming again one of the reason is that people of all religion watch him and his movies are a big deal even now, probably the last of the stars.Not saying he is a great actor but he is defn in the league of Khans and probably the only one who could do shitty movies and still make it profitable or atleast square.

^^ yes, she filled it ! he probably does...it is wierd to judge him based on that ...or even based on anything..as we do not know him at all..!

And hrithik fan...labeling somebody gives u comfort in a discussion...but it does not lead to a good one ! he did the nation by storm...and did become a young superstar right away...

Hrihik is a super star. I still remember the craze when kaho na pyar hai was released. He still is an A list actor Despite his flops. last i checked Bang Bang was a big hit.

Saw Raanjhanaa (9/10). One of a few romantic flicks I enjoyed. Was doubly impressed when I found out the lead doesn't know a word of Hindi and dubbed his entire lines.

Do I need to watch Tanu Weds Manu in order to follow Tanu Weds Manu Returns?

no you dnt need to watch but i personally dnt know why tanu weds manu got so much success ..its very overrated movie nothing special in my opinion

Waiting for Hamari Adhuri Kahani Hashmi n Vidya made in heaven they have good chemistry also Hash was decent in Mr. X

Dil Dhadakne Do -- Brilliant characters, Brilliant dialogies, Brilliant Scenes , Yet Just a Good Film and Nothing more.

For long Bollywood has caricatured rich people , either the very good rich people or very bad corporate rich people. But them being Rich was on the face of those characters and how filmmakers dealt with it, that it was very very hard to look past it..because it was be end of their characterizations.

In Dil Dhadakne do, Them being rich was 100th in the list of character traits of the people involved. You have A failing marriage, A failed Marriage, A Failing Bussiness, A failing parents, A budding Son, A failed Love, A budding Love, Gender Inequality , Youthful love and there was a Dog who was trying to understand humans and their double lives behind all the celebration. There were 28 Characters in the movie and all of them had a part to play. The problems were real, emotions were strong and anybody could relate and empathize.

What I also loved is the fact that Parents were shown as real people, real people who have real lifes to deal in the society and quite often do end up treating their sons/daughters as assets to carry the legacy forward than treating them as individual humans. Quite often we see parents being put up in the pedestal and Confrontation scene between the family was Brilliant especially ' morality and values ' part of it. Silences used in the movie was terrific..be it shefali Shah's eating cupcake scene...swimming pool scene between ranvir and anushka....or the squash scene between priyanka and Rahul Bose. Showed depression...budding attraction...a frustration with none of them talking. And Also Black and White nature of the characters...you see shefali dress up on first day of cruise and you know she is expecting Anil to just give her a compliment..and tinge of dissapointment when he does not..and then same day..same night...Anil tries to come close to remember 30 yrs of marriage and she hits back at him...'no body is watching..why are you acting'... Generation gap and the thought process variation that comes with it was shown through the movie especially in relation to women. Also the confrontation between Farhan and Rahul Bose...and you root for Farhan. But after that, when Rahul Bose comes to priyanka and talks about it...you know it was just poor choice of words and it is not black and white with any issue. Even the kids were great. I loved the Vomit PJ's. Loved the chemistry between each and every character. Anil Kapoor and Shefali shah were the main leads..and everybody else played supporting roles. Ranvir, Priyanka , Anushka, Rahul were all amazing.

However, movie drags a bit with not so relevant scenes in the end and it feels like you just waiting for predictable to happen. As much I like ambigous endings...leading up to it..it was filmy and felt so out of a place in such a real movie.

Brilliance of Writing is seen , 20 minutes into the movie..you see these characters in those exotic places in an awesome cruise...but you do not care for it..because behind all of that are breaking humans.

Watch it !

7/10

Dil Dhadakne Do -- Brilliant characters, Brilliant dialogies, Brilliant Scenes , Yet Just a Good Film and Nothing more.

For long Bollywood has caricatured rich people , either the very good rich people or very bad corporate rich people. But them being Rich was on the face of those characters and how filmmakers dealt with it, that it was very very hard to look past it..because it was be end of their characterizations.

In Dil Dhadakne do, Them being rich was 100th in the list of character traits of the people involved. You have A failing marriage, A failed Marriage, A Failing Bussiness, A failing parents, A budding Son, A failed Love, A budding Love, Gender Inequality , Youthful love and there was a Dog who was trying to understand humans and their double lives behind all the celebration. There were 28 Characters in the movie and all of them had a part to play. The problems were real, emotions were strong and anybody could relate and empathize.

What I also loved is the fact that Parents were shown as real people, real people who have real lifes to deal in the society and quite often do end up treating their sons/daughters as assets to carry the legacy forward than treating them as individual humans. Quite often we see parents being put up in the pedestal and Confrontation scene between the family was Brilliant especially ' morality and values ' part of it. Silences used in the movie was terrific..be it shefali Shah's eating cupcake scene...swimming pool scene between ranvir and anushka....or the squash scene between priyanka and Rahul Bose. Showed depression...budding attraction...a frustration with none of them talking. And Also Black and White nature of the characters...you see shefali dress up on first day of cruise and you know she is expecting Anil to just give her a compliment..and tinge of dissapointment when he does not..and then same day..same night...Anil tries to come close to remember 30 yrs of marriage and she hits back at him...'no body is watching..why are you acting'... Generation gap and the thought process variation that comes with it was shown through the movie especially in relation to women. Also the confrontation between Farhan and Rahul Bose...and you root for Farhan. But after that, when Rahul Bose comes to priyanka and talks about it...you know it was just poor choice of words and it is not black and white with any issue. Even the kids were great. I loved the Vomit PJ's. Loved the chemistry between each and every character. Anil Kapoor and Shefali shah were the main leads..and everybody else played supporting roles. Ranvir, Priyanka , Anushka, Rahul were all amazing.

However, movie drags a bit with not so relevant scenes in the end and it feels like you just waiting for predictable to happen. As much I like ambigous endings...leading up to it..it was filmy and felt so out of a place in such a real movie.

Brilliance of Writing is seen , 20 minutes into the movie..you see these characters in those exotic places in an awesome cruise...but you do not care for it..because behind all of that are breaking humans.

Watch it !

7/10

Have u ever thought of going full time in entertainment business as a reviewer like Masand etc.? I always wait for your reviews in this thread.

Watch it !

7/10

Nice review but i'm gonna pass on this, i was excited considering her last one was ZNMD but avoiding it as it will let me wanting more.

Watch it !

7/10

You are awesome dude. I watched the movie as well but I can never think so critically.

last sunday I was sitting at chai hotel for waiting someone, there running a hindi movie titled magadhera I saw nearly half an hour of that show with very little interest today just casually I googled that movie but what I find that this was a tamil movie. Do they dubbed that in hindi or remake that in hindi.

Magadheera is a telugu movie. not Tamil.

Direcor is coming up with new movie..made in 2 parts..with close to 170 crores.

BaahuBali ...check the trailer ! Karan Johar brought the hindi dubbed version of the movie. Releasing soon !

Magadheera is a telugu movie. not Tamil.

Direcor is coming up with new movie..made in 2 parts..with close to 170 crores.

BaahuBali ...check the trailer ! Karan Johar brought the hindi dubbed version of the movie. Releasing soon !

may be telugu but with the same cast same plot & same scenes they were speaking hindi

indeed good work, even no one can get even with the lips moving which version is original or may be telugu is similar to the hindi, is that? but one thing I notice that south indians talk with some pace :akhtar

no way i am indian punjabi and i cant understand a even one word of tamil and telgu ,you know in north many people think that telgu and tamil are kind of same but that's also not the case,we have to talk in english with many states people to communicate......

& what about my second part

i have to talk to them in english always during my visit to south, which is not first language for both of us......but yes when you talk to north indian speaking english and tamil person speaking english ,there is lot of difference in accent ,you can recognize both of them and there pace of speaking is normal as us when they talk to non tamilian guy.....

Shahrukh Khan and Kajol Stills from their Next "Dilwale" whose release date got pre-poned to Dec 18 !

Chemistry still evident.... Movie also stars Varun dhawan and kriti Sanon !

shahrukh-kajol-160615.jpg
16srk-kajol1.jpg
557f11c0d0e43.image.jpg

ABCD 2

Awesome Dance movie. Not much a story and no real background emotions to the characters...I guess that is the reason why director had to tap into patriotism to make the end impactful.

Wish to see a Dance movie or a sports movie in India just dedicating it to the passion of doing it.

Loved the fact that Varun and Shradha were just part of the group...and there was lot of professional dancers like Dharmesh, Raghav , Lauren to shine. Prabhu deva is still amazing.

Movie is highest collected movie in the first weekend so far..which is pretty amazing ! 70 crores ( 46 in India, 24 overseas ) in 3 days !

If you are looking for a dance movie... 9/10 -- amazing amazing dance sequences

If you are looking for a movie -- 6/ 10 !

What is the latest news of Avni mody, of ghadhinagar? is she doing good in madhur bhandarkars, calendar movie?
I heard movie release in Pakistan first than in india,I myself Pakistani feel proud of this.

Another day, another film,another plagiarism of Pakistani music.

Sabri to sue BB over 'Bhar Do Jholi'.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

So Alia bhatt injured herself during shandaar shoot ..figured that crazy Alia bhatt fan who used to be here would need to know !

DSC_9524_1.jpg
bhatt_6.jpg

Sorry man, forgot your username during last post...I guess it is just a fracture ! Yeah..she is shooting for both shandaar and kapoor and sons..but apparently only her close up shots are being shot until that fracture goes !

The sad irony is that in Heroine, Arjun Rampal, plays an actor heading into a divorce with a property in Bandra being one of the issues

http://www.emirates247.com/entertai...-in-bitter-divorce-battle-2015-07-05-1.595875

Bollywood's couple Arjun Rampal and his supermodel wife Mehr Jesia is reportedly heading for divorce.

From a long time it was being said that all is not going well between the duo, who have been married for almost 17 years.

But Arjun always denied the reports of differences between them, saying that everything is on the track and they are happily married.

A 'Mumbai Mirror' report suggests that Mehr has been consulting noted 'celebrity' divorce lawyer (Mrunalini Deshmukh) for a while now.

Further to the report, the couple may be on the six-month cool-off period before official proceedings take off.

Now a Pinkvilla report states that the couple is currently busy with the nitty-gritty of separation and asset division.

It reports that Arjun and Mehr are 'fighting' over their Bandra property.

Mehr is apparently insisting that the particular property be in her name as she wishes to live there with her kids
. The couple has two daughters Myra (10) and Mahikaa (13).

Dashrath Manjhi, also known as "Mountain Man", was a poor labourer in Gehlaur village in Bihar, India, who carved a path through a mountain using only a hammer and chisel. He carved the path in the Gehlour hills so that his village could have easier access to medical attention, after his wife Falguni Devi died from lack of medical care in 1959. The nearest town with a doctor was 70 km away traveling around the hills, or along a treacherous pass through the hills. After 22 years of work, Dashrath shortened travel between the Atri and Wazirganj blocks of Gaya town from 55 km to 15 km.

Manjhi - The Mountain Man

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/I9KAoTQlEWs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^^ Looks fantastic !

Not too confident on Ketan Mehta....his movies have a really pretentious feel to them after the turn of the millineium...likes of Rang Rasiya, Mangal Pandey ! Mirch Masala was good though...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thanku Pakistan censor board for your generosity <a href="http://t.co/LoeygABesz">pic.twitter.com/LoeygABesz</a></p>— Salman Khan (@BeingSalmanKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/BeingSalmanKhan/status/621629758476955648">July 16, 2015</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wld lv n respect if the leaders of Indo-Pak see Bajrangi Bhaijaan bcoz lv for children is above all boundaries <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi">@narendramodi</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/nawazsharif?src=hash">#nawazsharif</a></p>— Salman Khan (@BeingSalmanKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/BeingSalmanKhan/status/621629955118534656">July 16, 2015</a></blockquote>

Any reviews for Bajrangi Bhaijaan? Might be watching it on the occasion of Eid.

Watched it today in Dubai and it was houseful. I really enjoyed the movie. It has comedy, action and a lot of emotions. Good fun movie to enjoy on eid day.

Usually Salman Khan films are terrible but Kabir Khan is a good director. Might give this one a go. Although I don't really care for movies promoting peace between India and Pakistan. Much prefer them fighting each other.