Bollywood Corner

If the song is Adult content, then it should not be aired on Television, right?

I have no idea what the rules are, but I guess it should not be hired at the prime time slot. I remember a couple of months..Vidya Balan's dirty picture was suggested 106 cuts to air on prime time...or move the movie to 11 pm slot...and they moved the movie !

True liberal people of bollywood are long gone and dead.
Guru Dutt,Prithvi Raj Kapoor,Mehboob Khan,Sahir Ludhianvi,Balraj Sahni,Sanjeev Kumar all gone.Only Gulzar is alive among them.And among the ones who claim to be liberal and modern and are **** its only Mahesh Bhatt i don't know anyone else who claims the same or people get fooled by the same.

It is funny people do not include likes manmohan desai or numerous jitendra movies when sugarcoating the past ! Bollywood has been more liberal than it has every been....I think bollywood was progressive in the 50' to 70's when people were making culturally relevant movies with a message for the future....and then with advent of likes of feroz khan and the disco era....it became mega regressive in the 80's and 90s with odd good film makers like bhatt or RGV...and then things slowly started changing in 2000 slowly ...

And today...in Piku..Amithabh asks Deepika to not marry without purpose ...and should not be submissive and have dreams..and careers..and life other than husband...to be a strong independent women...and just 25 years ago...it would have been saying women is ghar ka izzat and all to the women who is outgoing !

We have movies which rely on male sexuality with men showing their six packs....I feel today...it is men and women are equally objectified based on what kind of movie it is....There is a Varun showing his butt to Some actress in a bikini...and that is okay..as it is showbiz....and getting attracted is an emotion to tap into !

It is getting liberal in both sides of the spectrum , as given by two examples above.

The biggest sign of liberal bollywood is the acceptance of karanjit kaur vohra starring in roles showing woman emancipation, and being a role model for our girls to emulate.

^^^ A topic beaten to death by both of us ! And there is Kangana who is from small town of haryana making strides......! People will watch the movies they want to watch.....let there be a choice ! It is funny you suggest descrimination while fighting descrimination....let everybody from all backgounds have a fair chance at movies they want to make..and people will decide the movies they want to watch !

anyway...we have argued on this 1000002 times !

Watch this new song from Dil Dhadakne Do

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4wKnfhUfEng" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

It is funny people do not include likes manmohan desai or numerous jitendra movies when sugarcoating the past ! Bollywood has been more liberal than it has every been....I think bollywood was progressive in the 50' to 70's when people were making culturally relevant movies with a message for the future....and then with advent of likes of feroz khan and the disco era....it became mega regressive in the 80's and 90s with odd good film makers like bhatt or RGV...and then things slowly started changing in 2000 slowly ...

And today...in Piku..Amithabh asks Deepika to not marry without purpose ...and should not be submissive and have dreams..and careers..and life other than husband...to be a strong independent women...and just 25 years ago...it would have been saying women is ghar ka izzat and all to the women who is outgoing !

We have movies which rely on male sexuality with men showing their six packs....I feel today...it is men and women are equally objectified based on what kind of movie it is....There is a Varun showing his butt to Some actress in a bikini...and that is okay..as it is showbiz....and getting attracted is an emotion to tap into !

It is getting liberal in both sides of the spectrum , as given by two examples above.

Good post man,But the reason i didn't include Manmohan desai is that his secular movies is way too dramatic for us and i have held him responsible for the destruction to bollywood script writing.
I do agree off late Bollywood is producing gems since 2010 its doing a decent job but when comparing it to the black and white cinema ,let me give an example:
Bimal Roy
Mehboob Khan
could direct movies that were needed and strong character scripts with character development.
At the same time we could have thrillers from Dev Anand's family and classic tales of Guru Dutt with his Pyaasa,Kagaz Ke Phool.
I don't see Hindi cinema capitalizing on something like that but got interested in the Item songs of Helen(which imo were good during those days as she at times had a role as well).

Hrishikesh Mukherjee could work in a day and write a better script than Subhash ghai.
Its regressed imo but if you want to see equality of women then Andaaz (1949) Nargis,Dilip Kumar,Raj kapoor is a classic.Also Many Hrishikesh Mukherjee movies has been good in that aspect.

Only fools like Subhash Ghai and Manoj Kumar have shown the NRI's and Women in highly stupid and arrogant light, a misconception cleared in English Vinglish.So yes there is hope but i still find movies of Bhai,Badhshah Khan regressive.Akki as well just does 10% good cinema.

Good post man,But the reason i didn't include Manmohan desai is that his secular movies is way too dramatic for us and i have held him responsible for the destruction to bollywood script writing.
I do agree off late Bollywood is producing gems since 2010 its doing a decent job but when comparing it to the black and white cinema ,let me give an example:
Bimal Roy
Mehboob Khan
could direct movies that were needed and strong character scripts with character development.
At the same time we could have thrillers from Dev Anand's family and classic tales of Guru Dutt with his Pyaasa,Kagaz Ke Phool.
I don't see Hindi cinema capitalizing on something like that but got interested in the Item songs of Helen(which imo were good during those days as she at times had a role as well).

Hrishikesh Mukherjee could work in a day and write a better script than Subhash ghai.
Its regressed imo but if you want to see equality of women then Andaaz (1949) Nargis,Dilip Kumar,Raj kapoor is a classic.Also Many Hrishikesh Mukherjee movies has been good in that aspect.

Only fools like Subhash Ghai and Manoj Kumar have shown the NRI's and Women in highly stupid and arrogant light, a misconception cleared in English Vinglish.So yes there is hope but i still find movies of Bhai,Badhshah Khan regressive.Akki as well just does 10% good cinema.

Very true ! that was the golden period of Hindi Cinema ! But I also feel like people selectively remember the good movies...10 years down the line ..I am pretty sure people will remember the Wasseypurs and Queens and English Vinglish and Wednesdays and Manorama six feet and haider or rocket singh or wake up sid or shaithan or dev d or johnny gaddar and so many more from this generation along with some decent masala movies like yeh jawani!

In my opinion, It may not be as good as the 50s and 60s was for bollywood...but we are going through the best phase of bollywood since then...movies of varied genres catering to people of varied taste !

Gangs of Wasseypur was a good movie? Yes, if you can ignore the casteist angle. The pathans were the good guys, and the qureshis the bad. Which plays into the stereotype of lower caste as bad guys with no morals.

^^^ Nobody watches movies like you do ! Nitpicking on casteism always..Lol ! You can have reverse of it..and call it appeasement ..what then? Wonder if you enjoy any movie

It is a fox International release, and count comes from multiplexes individually...And Rentrak is an international renowed box office company that is monitoring BO collections !! This is a small movie....

Movie bussiness in bollywood has changed since 2004 ..with advert of big corporates...unlike individual producers who were basically ghosts of underwold in the 90s !

I don't believe for a second that any producer - corporate or otherwise - will reveal the real collections. If IT persons knock on the doors of those producers with these reports, they will sing a different tune.

These are officially reported figures by the multiplexes ! so they can be held responsible if they show less collections ? I am sure they do their jugaad to avoid taxes...

Bombay Velvet reviews coming in,seems to be one of the movies where there will be a debate ...some will love it and some will hate it and there is no middle ground. First big budget movie of anurag...he created the whole 1960's bombay in srilanka.... I think it will be one of many anurag movies which wont be as appreciated now..but will end becoming appreciated later on !

Madmax and second week Piku might be an obstacle as well..especially since Piku is going strong during weekdays and Madmax is getting amazing amazing reviews ! Let us see...BV stands good !

Sun Saathiya -- Song promo from ABCD2... Shraddha dancing has improved a lot

<iframe width="580" height="326" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/LzGxL2GaglQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And Kat was at Cannes yesterday.....

katrinacannesnewthumb_640x480.jpg
14katrina-at-cannes1.jpg

With Julianne Moore

katrina-jullianne-759.jpg

Guddu Rangeela Starring Arshad Warsi, Ronit Roy,Amith Sadh and Aditi Rao Hydari...Directed by Subash Kapoor (Director of Jolly LLB)

Looks fun

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/EOGKZTxvCss" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^^ It is actually a real story..based on a book called 'bombay fables' !

But the word is they have modified a lot for commercial reasons...as budget kept increasing !

^^^ It is actually a real story..based on a book called 'bombay fables' !

But the word is they have modified a lot for commercial reasons...as budget kept increasing !

Yes, I have read that book by Gyan Prakash.

That book along with Suketu Mehta and Hussain Zaidis are interesting reads for those curious about Bombay.

Any upcoming movies of Suniel Shetty in comedy stuff i remember his last movie ws enemy which was action/crime

^^^ Hera Pheri 3...december release !

Akshay is being replaced by John Abraham...remaining cast is the same !

Sunil has lot of restuarents...he is one of richest actors..does not care for acting anymore unless it comes from his friends..or if there is a role he wants to do !

That can't be true. If that was teh case he wouldn't have done so many crappy movies. HEra Pheri without Aksahy will be bland .If they really had to replace akshay with someone it should've been someone who cam match Akshay's comedic timing and flair . John Abraham is so wooden in his acting . Arshad Warsi , Nana partekar , Anil kapoor all would've been way better choices .

Akshay asked too much money ! I agree John should stick to madras cafe and force kind of movies !

Nobody can actually replace Akshay..he has an amazing comedic timing and excels in slapstick comedies of these sorts.
as you said Arshad would have been a perfect alternate as it is his genre too...suits agewise as well as a buddy to sunil .

Among younger... Ranbir kapoor was good in Azab prem Ki Gazab Kahaani....so may be ! I feel like Rajkumar Rao would have excelled..

He had a huge fight with Anurag on twitter couple of days ago...would be biased as ****.. ...as usually a lot name calling will be there !

KRK's will never give negative review of the khans. He will not take panga with them!

Just finished watching Piku, a good movie but i think a tad overrated. It was a fun watch but at times the movie moved really slowly and imo the run time was a little too long. 7/10

Satyakam(1969) seen it many times but its a brilliant movie showcases India's failure with socialism evident by 1969 itself. Dharmendra's best performance.

Watched Bombay Velvet because it's promos looked good...but the movie was utter garbage.

Don't waste your money on this 3/10

3 for Ranbir acting

Apparently Bombay Velvet is on its way to become the biggest disaster in Bollywood history. Took in only 5 crores on its opening day. It will end up grossing around 40 - 50 cr (optimistic estimation) against a budget of 120 crores plus. Why would you give a 100 cr+ budget to someone like Anurag Kashyap who has never directed a commercial film and has never had a clean hit? Things not looking good for Ranbir. That's three disasters in a row (Besharam, Roy and Bombay Velvet) and the reports for Jagga Jasoos aren't good either.

Nobody can actually replace Akshay..he has an amazing comedic timing and excels in slapstick comedies of these sorts.
as you said Arshad would have been a perfect alternate as it is his genre too...suits agewise as well as a buddy to sunil .

Among younger... Ranbir kapoor was good in Azab prem Ki Gazab Kahaani....so may be ! I feel like Rajkumar Rao would have excelled..

Ranbir is ok but i don't think he has his timing right . Agree with R R though .Another good one is Vijay Raj .He is too damn funny.

Bombay Velvet is the biggest disaster of all time.

Collections on 2nd day are on par with Ek Paheli Leela ... horrible stuff.

Producers are going to lose about 70-75 cr according to one website.

Nothing worked for the film. Genre was outdated, music was a flop because no one today wants to listen to 60s jazz or whatever, way too much negativity, and first trailer was horrible.

Anurag Kashyap should stick to his comfort zone of indie films.

Bombay Velvet is the biggest disaster of all time.

Collections on 2nd day are on par with Ek Paheli Leela ... horrible stuff.

Producers are going to lose about 70-75 cr according to one website.

Nothing worked for the film. Genre was outdated, music was a flop because no one today wants to listen to 60s jazz or whatever, way too much negativity, and first trailer was horrible.

Anurag Kashyap should stick to his comfort zone of indie films.

Gives me immense satisfaction that the effeminate ranbir and karan johar had a flop movie, and the hubris of anurag kashyap led to his downfall. May they continue to make more flop movies.

Nah, Ranbir's next is with Deepika and director Imtiaz Ali will be a super hit.

Then a film with Katrina, and then Karan Johar's film with Anushka, Aishwarya and Fawad Khan. All super hits because of genre and star power.

Bombay Velvet what a joke of a movie like Roy. Never really liked any of Ranbir Kapoor starer except Ajab Prem ki ghazab kahani And Rajneeti

Was waiting for welcome back but again release delayed. Shruti Hasan is love. Only movie worth waiting this year is Phantom starring Katrina and Saif Ali Khan. And dilwale duebto its star cast and rohit shetty. Btw Hate Story 3 in december hopefully they come up with a nice story like they did in first film.

Watched Gabbar is Back.

Typical escapist movie meant for low IQ patriots, who clap at punch dialogs and get an adrenaline rush by watching patriotic scenes. Akshay plays a crusader (read judge, jury and executioner) against corrupt people, but in reality it is about his personal revenge, and his mission ends when he has his revenge. Shows cops in poor light as usual. I would ask those who malign cops to walk a day in their shoes. And as usual, the youth are good who want to do so much but are waiting for a messiah to lead them. Only saving grace was Gabbar being hanged in the end, but it could not undo the message that taking law in your hands and mob justice is right. Shruti Hasan looks angelic but has a phata hua voice. But that need not pull her back, as Akshay has managed a career despite having one of the weakest voice in the industry. Watchable by bollywood standards, otherwise waste of time.

Nope you are wrong. Akshay is not replaced. Abhishek and John are in the movie as fake Raju's. Story will still revolve around akshay. And my guess is he will be kidnapped by someone and made an appearance in the end because he had those guns in the end.

Speaking of rumors, how common is it for directors or producers to sleep with actors to give them a break? I heard such behavior is very common in Bollywood.

From your link

While there have been numerous conjectures about his exit from the film, the actor has remained tight lipped about the same. Talking about the film, Neeraj Vora revealed, "Hera Pheri 3 will start exactly where Phir Hera Pheri ended and it is a film about mistaken identity. There are many Rajus in the film and HP 3 is about finding the real Raju."

Please watch this video. John and Abhishek will be in the movie as fake rajus so they haven't replaced akki. Still few months to go before the release of hera pheri 3. I won't be surprised if akki surprise us with a 5 min role in the end.

Watched Gabbar is Back.

Typical escapist movie meant for low IQ patriots, who clap at punch dialogs and get an adrenaline rush by watching patriotic scenes. Akshay plays a crusader (read judge, jury and executioner) against corrupt people, but in reality it is about his personal revenge, and his mission ends when he has his revenge. Shows cops in poor light as usual. I would ask those who malign cops to walk a day in their shoes. And as usual, the youth are good who want to do so much but are waiting for a messiah to lead them. Only saving grace was Gabbar being hanged in the end, but it could not undo the message that taking law in your hands and mob justice is right. Shruti Hasan looks angelic but has a phata hua voice. But that need not pull her back, as Akshay has managed a career despite having one of the weakest voice in the industry. Watchable by bollywood standards, otherwise waste of time.

Yet when Anurag makes movies you want it to flop inspite of ugly,Black Friday,Dev D,Gulaal finest works of his.Not to forget his script of Shool which is one of the best cop movies after Ardh Satya and Dev.
You always speak in two tones y not take an official side?

^^^ Bhai, Dont Try !

My Thoughts on Bombay Velvet -- Heartbroken !

Anurag Kashyap always had a lot of things going against him, in the 90s it was lack of market for niche films and only one person who was supporting it was Ram Gopal Varma. And then later on, it was censorship issues with his debut Paanch which never released...as time went on..it was lack of budget, lack of stars willing to work with him, censorship, no market untill DEV D happened. Everytime he suceeeded with his script and storytelling.

With bombay Velvet, he had 120 crores...stars in Ranbir Kapoor and Anushka. Karan's backing among many other things and he fails for the first time in the narrative succumbing to the pressures of handling such a huge budget.

Positives: Music , Settings of 1960's Bombay, Costumes, Acting and the first half and picturization of a few scenes are just world class.

Negatives: After setting the mood of the movie so well towards the end of second half, movie falls terribly flat in second half with such a outlandish twist ! Narrative goes haywire, characters have no endings and ends up with a pale movie and a pale ending.

I understand the ambition, the intention...script is a pretty complex and I guess he wanted to dumb it down as budget kept increasing..and what you find is very important plot points told off in a hurry ...and remaining movie is just pale.

Acting was top class by ranbir, Neeti Mohan who sang for anushka deserves a huge applause , Karan was alright !

It is so sad to see such technically strong movie with lot of ambition, hardwork and talent go to a toss. anurag could not handle the scale of the film, I guess he should have tried a middle budget movie first before directly going into such a huge movie. Directing indie films with 5 crores and directing 120 crores mega movies which hundreds of people involved is very very different It is heading to one of the biggest disasters of all time in Hindi cinema. It is more sad because of half of the money came from the talented Vikas Bahl, vikramaditya Motwane, Anurag himself who have struggled many years to be in the position they are. Hopefully they recover and continue making great films as they do.

Rating: 4/10

^^^ Bhai, Dont Try !

My Thoughts on Bombay Velvet -- Heartbroken !

Anurag Kashyap always had a lot of things going against him, in the 90s it was lack of market for niche films and only one person who was supporting it was Ram Gopal Varma. And then later on, it was censorship issues with his debut Paanch which never released...as time went on..it was lack of budget, lack of stars willing to work with him, censorship, no market untill DEV D happened. Everytime he suceeeded with his script and storytelling.

With bombay Velvet, he had 120 crores...stars in Ranbir Kapoor and Anushka. Karan's backing among many other things and he fails for the first time in the narrative succumbing to the pressures of handling such a huge budget.

Positives: Music , Settings of 1960's Bombay, Costumes, Acting and the first half and picturization of a few scenes are just world class.

Negatives: After setting the mood of the movie so well towards the end of second half, movie falls terribly flat in second half with such a outlandish twist ! Narrative goes haywire, characters have no endings and ends up with a pale movie and a pale ending.

I understand the ambition, the intention...script is a pretty complex and I guess he wanted to dumb it down as budget kept increasing..and what you find is very important plot points told off in a hurry ...and remaining movie is just pale.

Acting was top class by ranbir, Neeti Mohan who sang for anushka deserves a huge applause , Karan was alright !

It is so sad to see such technically strong movie with lot of ambition, hardwork and talent go to a toss. anurag could not handle the scale of the film, I guess he should have tried a middle budget movie first before directly going into such a huge movie. Directing indie films with 5 crores and directing 120 crores mega movies which hundreds of people involved is very very different It is heading to one of the biggest disasters of all time in Hindi cinema. It is more sad because of half of the money came from the talented Vikas Bahl, vikramaditya Motwane, Anurag himself who have struggled many years to be in the position they are. Hopefully they recover and continue making great films as they do.

Rating: 4/10

Ahh sadd i didn't go for it coz it didn't appeal to me but i'm sad coz rumors are that he is moving to Paris and retiring not sure how true but his small budget movies are mindblowing and it would be a sad loss.

^^^ Yes, I think even in his facebook posts there seems to be a small hint ! People are saying he is moving to paris to learn something and also make a few movies which Indian censorship would not allow...but he will continue making movies in India too !

Yet when Anurag makes movies you want it to flop inspite of ugly,Black Friday,Dev D,Gulaal finest works of his.Not to forget his script of Shool which is one of the best cop movies after Ardh Satya and Dev.
You always speak in two tones y not take an official side?

You got me wrong. I want every Bombay Velvet like movie to fail. Anurag Kashyap had forgotten what he is good at. I want him to go back to making movies like Black Friday and Dev D. (even though he is also a casteist)

Btw Shool was yet another casteist movies. Good guy, a rajput, samar pratap singh. Bad guy, an OBC, bachchu yadav.

Tanu weds manu returns will be a huge hit
Dil dhadakne do semi hit
Abcd 2 - either average/semi hit
Hamari adhuri kahaani - Hit

Wait and watch :D

Nope you are wrong. Akshay is not replaced. Abhishek and John are in the movie as fake Raju's. Story will still revolve around akshay. And my guess is he will be kidnapped by someone and made an appearance in the end because he had those guns in the end.

Awesome then ! John is a good addition then I guess...John has two slapstick comedies..welcome back and hera pheri ! Will be a test to him.....He was good in Garam Masala !

Ash looking good as always

Humnava from Hamari Adhuri Kahaani is good, but not great

The title song is much much better and I'm enjoying, cant wait for the full album

Is Bachan at Cannes this time

I remember him wearing a very ridiculously goofy suit a few years ago.

If ever someone was a fashion disaster it was him

how do you guys post photos>

do you actually save them on the desktop first then attach them back or is there a quicker way?

No Amitabh Bachchan is not at Cannes ...if he was there would have been numerous pics provided by IgnitedMind :P

how do you guys post photos>

do you actually save them on the desktop first then attach them back or is there a quicker way?

Click insert image icon in the Quick Reply box, click from URL, and uncheck the part where it says retrieve remote file

amitabh-bachchan-cannes-2013-gatsby-photocall-screening.jpg

Amitabh Bachan's fashion disasters

Click insert image icon in the Quick Reply box, click from URL, and uncheck the part where it says retrieve remote file

Wow great!Thanks!

This is why ibe never posted a photo lol

i always wondered how ppl had the patience to first dload the photo, then come on PP, attach the file then post it :))

Wow great!Thanks!

This is why ibe never posted a photo lol

i always wondered how ppl had the patience to first dload the photo, then come on PP, attach the file then post it :))

No problem bro :)

Ash looking good as always

Humnava from Hamari Adhuri Kahaani is good, but not great

The title song is much much better and I'm enjoying, cant wait for the full album

Same here waiting for the complete album.

The junior Bachan Khandaan is annoying as hell not close to the intellect of Amitabh who too btw isn't close upto his father's Harivansh Rai's mark.

You got me wrong. I want every Bombay Velvet like movie to fail. Anurag Kashyap had forgotten what he is good at. I want him to go back to making movies like Black Friday and Dev D. (even though he is also a casteist)

Btw Shool was yet another casteist movies. Good guy, a rajput, samar pratap singh. Bad guy, an OBC, bachchu yadav.

I do agree Rajputs to be shown as good guys is pretty weird but i don't see an issue with Yadav's being the bad guy ,they are probably the worst Politicians ever after the Jaat and Jats sorry for stereotyping but these guys live in a diff situation with their own laws something to similar to that of Vaaniyars of Tamil Nadu.

The junior Bachan Khandaan is annoying as hell not close to the intellect of Amitabh who too btw isn't close upto his father's Harivansh Rai's mark.

They all deserve each other. Aishwarya auntie, after multiple affairs finally got a bachchan surname before she became junk. Abhishek bachchan got the only achievement of his life by marrying a miss world, and amitabh bachchan got a designer bahu. Win Win for all.

I do agree Rajputs to be shown as good guys is pretty weird but i don't see an issue with Yadav's being the bad guy ,they are probably the worst Politicians ever after the Jaat and Jats sorry for stereotyping but these guys live in a diff situation with their own laws something to similar to that of Vaaniyars of Tamil Nadu.

How are yadavs any worse politicians than gandhis, singhs, thackerays etc? Will Bollywood show a bad politician as a thackeray or a gandhi?

Well for one none of them would rule a state for 15 years and reverse it by 50 years ,none.Plus the amount of personal corruption done by them beats the Marans and Raja's down south which humongous.

Lalu ruled bihar for 15 years and reversed it by 50 years? Show me what were the social indicators before and after?
Also show me the amount the personal corruption done by each so that we can compare.

You are yet another example of upper caste, middle class indian, you thinks mayawatis and laloos are the most corrupt. But I don't blame you, since you get that indoctrinated by two sources, media and bollywood, both of which are casteist and upper caste dominated.

Lalu ruled bihar for 15 years and reversed it by 50 years? Show me what were the social indicators before and after?
Also show me the amount the personal corruption done by each so that we can compare.

You are yet another example of upper caste, middle class indian, you thinks mayawatis and laloos are the most corrupt. But I don't blame you, since you get that indoctrinated by two sources, media and bollywood, both of which are casteist and upper caste dominated.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Bihar

Economic Indicators under the RJD

In the non-agricultural sector, the growth rate in Bihar was 6.62% against 6.61% for India as a whole during the 1980s. During the 1990s when the growth rate in Bihar was 3.19%, while for India it rose to 7.25%. This change was reflected in the per capita income as well. Per capita income in Bihar grew by 2.45% during the 1980s, against 3.32% per cent in India as a whole. In the 1990s, per capita income grew by 0.12% per cent in Bihar, as against 4.08% per cent in India. The growth rate in agriculture was 2.21% during the 1980s against India's 3.38%, during the 1990s it was 2.35% in Bihar while at the all-India it stood at 3.14%.[18] The economic indicators (see below) shows that there was a serious recession between 1990 and 1995, which resulted in an employment-development-crime crisis between 1995 and 2004.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Bihar

Economic Indicators under the RJD

In the non-agricultural sector, the growth rate in Bihar was 6.62% against 6.61% for India as a whole during the 1980s. During the 1990s when the growth rate in Bihar was 3.19%, while for India it rose to 7.25%. This change was reflected in the per capita income as well. Per capita income in Bihar grew by 2.45% during the 1980s, against 3.32% per cent in India as a whole. In the 1990s, per capita income grew by 0.12% per cent in Bihar, as against 4.08% per cent in India. The growth rate in agriculture was 2.21% during the 1980s against India's 3.38%, during the 1990s it was 2.35% in Bihar while at the all-India it stood at 3.14%.[18] The economic indicators (see below) shows that there was a serious recession between 1990 and 1995, which resulted in an employment-development-crime crisis between 1995 and 2004.

But you said it put it back by 50 years. That means there should be negative growth. Yet all your provided was positive growth.
And I asked for social indicators. Do you know Bihar had a history of caste and religion related violence, before Lalu took over?
What about comparison of personal corruption against various leaders so we can judge.

But you said it put it back by 50 years. That means there should be negative growth. Yet all your provided was positive growth.
And I asked for social indicators. Do you know Bihar had a history of caste and religion related violence, before Lalu took over?
What about comparison of personal corruption against various leaders so we can judge.

I hate so called upper caste leader have hated them but saying Lalu was a great social reformer is tragic at the best.
A state like Bihar which had Jharkhand's resources had regressed during 1991-1995 which was the growth period for India tells you at best that what he has achieved.15 years and nothing was asked from him.He had the 15 most productive years of Indian economy and look what he established.The article i gave you has Bihar's story till 1989 its a good read and with that growth merged with India's economy during 1990-2005 Bihar would be what Punjab or Haryana is now but just one man and his party stood in the way.

I never said Mayawati was bad imo she was needed for UP but she went overboard with her statues, Rajesh Pilot was a better leader but Mulayam is one of the most ignorant corrupt leaders and i can personally tell you he had a jet with gold plated things inside.

Sorry not going to accept that any Yadav was a great leader or even a leader and it has nothing to do with caste bias but a general take on things.

Can you guys stop the caste based ! People who cannot look past caste in anything fighting it is ironic, and people who call others names due to age , put condescending judgemental remarks on personal life of others and then fighting for social justice is laughworthy !

Eitherway, lets get that debate outside the thread !