BREAKING NEWS: Multiple Blasts & Firing inside PAF Base & PNS Mehran, KHI

how can 2 run away with security guarding every entrance and exit ?

Worrisome, there can only be two explanations.

1) Someone was aiding them from the inside, which is not surprising.

2) They were wearing Rangers/Navy uniforms and escaped in the chaos.

PNS Mehran Humlay Main 7 Crore Dollars Maliyat Walay 2 P3 C Orion Tayyaray Tabha Howay

Express News Twitter Feed

Reports are coming that Pakhtuns terrorists were behind this attack. Why im not surprised :(

saw that you posted...came to this thread expecting to be quoted by you...or to find you mention pukhtun and blame them

and why am i not surprised you believe that

you did say with great conviction that pukhtuns are the biggest terrorists in the world and kill innocents worldwide...and blamed them for 9/11 :facepalm:

Seems like there are moles in the navy.... this is not the first attack on them

A country which spends a big amount of its budge on its military, it is hard to swallow that such events are happening over and over again. Terrorists can attack anyone anywhere, but the way security forces are battling it is bit shocking. Especially if couple of guys can disappear or runaway, I think it is bit shamful. I think when military involve itself in constructing building homes and societies or start their own businesses, then the focus shifts from the main purpose which is guarding the country.

Mods: My above statement is not in any way trying to embarass Paksitan army. This is what an average Pakistani must be asking. Just want to clarify.

Dressed like 'Star War' characters apparently:

Malik claimed the assault had been planned in the Taliban heartland of Waziristan but did not specify how he knew this. He said the militants were in their early- to mid-20s, with trim beards, fair skin and "sharp features". Oddly, he compared them to "characters out of a Star Wars movie".

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/may/23/pakistani-commandos-regain-karachi-base

A country which spends a big amount of its budge on its military, it is hard to swallow that such events are happening over and over again. Terrorists can attack anyone anywhere, but the way security forces are battling it is bit shocking. Especially if couple of guys can disappear or runaway, I think it is bit shamful. I think when military involve itself in constructing building homes and societies or start their own businesses, then the focus shifts from the main purpose which is guarding the country.

Mods: My above statement is not in any way trying to embarass Paksitan army. This is what an average Pakistani must be asking. Just want to clarify.

You cant blame army when you have to face traitors on daily bases. These animals dont care about womans, childrens, people praying in mosques. They only think about taking large numbers of victims with them. And 72 virgins for reward.

ecko-real-trooper-hoodie.jpg

lol this guys a moron. Civil government folks.

Yep its almost confirmed that they were Pukhtons. And the reason im saying this is that many Pukhton blame punjabis for their problems.

where in that article does it say pukhtun

again enlighten me

your pretty racist

uzbeks also have light faces and so do arabs

so do americans...da da dahhh

Malik claimed the assault had been planned in the Taliban heartland of Waziristan <b>but did not specify how he knew this

?? ?? ??

he doesnt specify this yet were expected to believe...well shan is going to believe it anwyays...hes a racist

I don't know, the guy saying it also described them as Star Wars characters so let's not read too much into it either way.

for example i say this

saw a robbery the last day involving 4 dark skinned males with sharp looking features

i believe this raid was long term planned in lagos,nigeria

but i cant say how i know this

that is how retarted rehman malik truly sounds :facepalm:

Every channel said it was 10-12 people who attacked, and with the amount of causalities reported, i highly doubt it was merely 6 guys who attacked a heavily guarded navel base and kept fighting for 16 hours inside.

I think some of them were arrested and were indeed taken to a "safe" location for investigations.

It was a very stupid reference to Star Wars. He could have used his brain and chose his word carefully

Thanks for your concern and for being the spokesperson for the common Pakistani. Don't worry, I can already see you shifting gears. Not too much time left. :saqi

Yep its almost confirmed that they were Pukhtons. And the reason im saying this is that many Pukhton blame punjabis for their problems.

So the people caught in the attack on GHQ were also Pathans. For your information they were Punjabis. Pukhtuns are the most patriotic Pakistanis that you will ever see. But Why will you care when you are believing some *hit newspaper & a joker like Rehman Malik.

Pukhtuns are the people suffering the most in these terrorists strikes. How can you forget just a week ago 90 Pukhtun FC personnel killed in a suicide blast in Shabqadar. Open your eyes and don't make false accusations.

Jeez, what's this Pashtuns, punjabi conflict- we are Pakistani!

Pashtuns are the most patriotic Pakistanis along with balochees- they were the main ethnics
That fought for an independent Pakistan. Nothing against Punjabis, Sindhis.

Our enemys want us to divide so guys well done playing to their tune!

We need to stay united! United we rule- divided we fall!

So the people caught in the attack on GHQ were also Pathans. For your information they were Punjabis. Pukhtuns are the most patriotic Pakistanis that you will ever see. But Why will you care when you are believing some *hit newspaper & a joker like Rehman Malik.

Pukhtuns are the people suffering the most in these terrorists strikes. How can you forget just a week ago 90 Pukhtun FC personnel killed in a suicide blast in Shabqadar. Open your eyes and don't make false accusations.

mara de preda...the asay baqwas kai zamung baray banda

he is hellbent on proving every pukhtun whether man woman or child is a terrorist...talks without knowing alot of things...mostly those who discriminate will do these things and set aside reason

Pashtuns are the most patriotic Pakistanis along with balochees- they were the main ethnics

you could read and see who started it haroom...it was the racist...i can remember atleast 5 instances where hes been pretty open about it

i remember having a picture up as my avatar saying pathan pride and he had to comment

saying...lol "pathan pride"

hes a hate mongerer...and makes it hard for me to be civil and respectful as i have been the entire thread...to indians + everybody

Agree with this. I never labelled a terrorist as a Punjabi or Pukhtun or sindhi they are just animals not even humans. I was just giving him an example. Some people are more stupid than you think they are.

This is a prime example of how freaking easy it is to cause rifts on the basis of ethnicity in Pakistan. In fact, it requires no effort. Unfortunately this sort of mindset is not something new.

you could read and see who started it haroom...it was the racist...i can remember atleast 5 instances where hes been pretty open about it

i remember having a picture up as my avatar saying pathan pride and he had to comment

hes a hate mongerer...and makes it hard for me to be civil and respectful as i have been the entire thread...to indians + everybody

Dude- just ignore him :moyo

He doesn't represent anyone- just a keyboard warrior.

Inshallah, we will over come the problem togather!

This is a prime example of how freaking easy it is to cause rifts on the basis of ethnicity in Pakistan. In fact, it requires no effort. Unfortunately this sort of mindset is not something new.

Yes Khabri Bhai Ek gandi machlee saray talaab ko ganda kar dayti hay

Thanks for your concern and for being the spokesperson for the common Pakistani. Don't worry, I can already see you shifting gears. Not too much time left. :saqi

I am not a spokesperson for anyone. I just want to make sure that none of my comments or thoughts are perceived as anti-Pakistan. I just want to clarify that.

You do not need to clarify anything. I think its all pretty crystal clear.

Agree with this. I never labelled a terrorist as a Punjabi or Pukhtun or sindhi they are just animals not even humans. I was just giving him an example. Some people are more stupid than you think they are.

TTP militants are neither Pashtuns, punjabis, Sindhis, balochees but Mia guided ppl who are working for CIA.

They do not represent any of us. They don't represent Islam as Islam says if you kill someone then you killed all of humanity. Their acts are of kaffirs.

TTP militants are neither Pashtuns, punjabis, Sindhis, balochees but Mia guided ppl who are working for CIA.

They do not represent any of us. They don't represent Islam as Islam says if you kill someone then you killed all of humanity. Their acts are of kaffirs.

Exactly not even Kaffirs they are filthy animals.

Agree with everything else wholeheartedly, but not the bold part, we have no proof of that, unless we find proof to back this claim up, we just look like conspiracy theorists.

I think it was done by america/india cuz i just found this interesting link from yahoo news "Six Americans and 11 Chinese aviation engineers escaped unharmed, authorities said".

What do you want them to say? that everyone was totally safe throughout the operation?

TTP are mostly based on Mehsud Tribe and belong to pukhtun ethnic BUT their ethnicity means nothing , it's same like saying Nawaz is a punjabi or Zardari is a sindhi, so what?

To say that they are terrorist because they are Pukhtun you have to be either blind dumb or just a low life racist.

Lettuce be real for a moment and acknowledge that even though the TTP acts through the Mehsud tribe and are hence, Pathan, their masters are probably not even Pakistani. The question of funding never seems to be raised, does it?

This is getting ridiculous now, some people go overboard with name calling and labeling other groups as source of instability in Pakistan.

Give it a break, we are all in this together, the Pakhtuns face these sort of attacks not only from terrorist but Americans on weekly basis. They have suffered more than any other group in Pakistan since 9/11. Name calling and signaling out ethnicity for our problems will not resolve the real issues.

You are saying that Americans are involved in this so that more Americans live to be placed in danger??? Please don't do this kind of stuff. Just think before you type. It is sad that people still living in denial in a country which is hit by terrorism. If you still can not see who these terrorists are and against whom they are operating against then it is simply sad.

Pakistani ethnicities fighting eachother .... its not an ethnic rivalry , instead its actually a racial clash with a lot of history involved .... very deep discussion .... not a good thing though .

its very yougslavia-esque if im not wrong

just honesty

people will say pukhtuns this and that...traitors...hate their land...dont like any other race when it comes to pakistan

but when afghanistan ever gets invaded...every single race unites to rid itself of oppressor
historically documented...most races join up all tribes and rid themselves of the invader

There were 11 Chinese and 6 Americans there , i think the Americans should be investigated , see how long they have been there .

You are saying that Americans are involved in this so that more Americans live to be placed in danger??? Please don't do this kind of stuff. Just think before you type. It is sad that people still living in denial in a country which is hit by terrorism. If you still can not see who these terrorists are and against whom they are operating against then it is simply sad.

The Libyan rebels that the US is supporting were part of the Islamic Fighting Group that used to send suicide bombers to Iraq...this is the same Islamic organisation that Shayler outed and stated were provided 100g to assassinate Gaddafi...incidentally 'Al Qaeda' fulfils a very useful role in Iraq and spends more time weakening Shia's then it does defeating the invaders...did the CIA not fund terrorists to assassinate Castro?...did they not fund Contran terrorists?...did they not arrange for Chavez's removal?...did they not fund Jundullah recently to perform suicide bombings in Iran?...did Raymond Davis not have links recently to Islamic militants?...this list could go on for a very long time...your living on cloud cuckoo land if you don't think the US and other nations use proxies to weaken governments...the Muslim right has been a tool used to create divisions in nations and consequently either removes regimes or makes these regimes dependent on them for support against the same terror they are supporting...even Hamas were an Israeli funded organisation initally to act as a counterweight to the PLO...

It is you who lives in denial if you think this kind of operation could be pulled off without outside training, funding and information...

And btw what Americans are in danger...I only see Pakistanis dying...

Not a lot of coverage at the international level, more of a side note news event event. Interesting.

even Hamas were an Israeli funded organisation initally to act as a counterweight to the PLO...

This is is merely a speculation , PLO itself was an alleged brainchild of ... well u know . These ... fatah , PFLP , DFLP , ALF all are Western funded haraamzaads .

Traitors exist every race, every religion, every country, every class, every region.

Blaming something on a whole race, country, religion which unfortunately some of the people are doing these days, is totally unjust and reaks of ignorance or brain washing.

I'm a punjabi but I don't have the slightest doubt in my mind that Pakhtuns and Pathans are some of the most hard working and loyal to Pakistan and have been in the past also.

People become volunerable to conditions and the environment surrounding them and belonging to a race does not qualify the whole race as a dark one

TTP are mostly based on Mehsud Tribe and belong to pukhtun ethnic BUT their ethnicity means nothing , it's same like saying Nawaz is a punjabi or Zardari is a sindhi, so what?

To say that they are terrorist because they are Pukhtun you have to be either blind dumb or just a low life racist.

Completly agree but some sick minded people cant see this. They think their ethnicity cant kill one of their own. Which it self is racist and bigoted.

seeing ethnic and racial clash in pakistan , specially anti Pashtunism in eastern pakistan, I always think that how much Political gain and sympathy TTP would gain if they ignite the ethnic fire of Pashtun nationlism as a subsidiary ideology .... shaking hands with pashtun nationalists which are already strong , and Balush liberation groups .... these Mountain men could exploit things more and more , Pashto , , expired Durand line , ka@lah bagh dam , ethnic targeting in eastern pakistan ....

... but one who prefer guns , forgets to think .

Dont call me hate mongerer, anyone who have read your posts knows how much you bark about Phatan pride. I remember you said Punjabis terrorists are killing pukhtons since no Pukhton will kill his kind, does this mean they have no problem killing punjabis?

How about we accept the fact that majority of terrorists are pukhton?

The Libyan rebels that the US is supporting were part of the Islamic Fighting Group that used to send suicide bombers to Iraq...this is the same Islamic organisation that Shayler outed and stated were provided 100g to assassinate Gaddafi...incidentally 'Al Qaeda' fulfils a very useful role in Iraq and spends more time weakening Shia's then it does defeating the invaders...did the CIA not fund terrorists to assassinate Castro?...did they not fund Contran terrorists?...did they not arrange for Chavez's removal?...did they not fund Jundullah recently to perform suicide bombings in Iran?...did Raymond Davis not have links recently to Islamic militants?...this list could go on for a very long time...your living on cloud cuckoo land if you don't think the US and other nations use proxies to weaken governments...the Muslim right has been a tool used to create divisions in nations and consequently either removes regimes or makes these regimes dependent on them for support against the same terror they are supporting...even Hamas were an Israeli funded organisation initally to act as a counterweight to the PLO...

It is you who lives in denial if you think this kind of operation could be pulled off without outside training, funding and information...

And btw what Americans are in danger...I only see Pakistanis dying...

I have no idea what you are talking about. Please read your post and then read my post again. I am not sure what exactly you are trying to tell me.

You are implying that US or India could be behind this attack. And you are giving examples of CIA trying to aid other groups to achieve its targets. Now please explain in single and plain terms as what is US going to gain by aiding those who are attacking PNS Mehran.

You suggested that US and other countries use the proxies to weaken a government. Can I ask you since when the current government in Pakistan is considered as a strong or a stablize government??? This government would do anything that US wants to be done, why would the US be behind this attack?? Please explain that.

You said thise Libyan group used to send suicide bombers in Iraq. Can you please give some evidence which would support your point???

You said US is supporting "Jundallah" where is the evidence or statements from anyone saying something like that???

CIA is aiding to remove Cheviz from the office, there is no surprise in that. Most US newspaper are saying this guy should be removed politically as he always uttered nonsnese against the US. That is a declared US policy.

You are saying that I am in denial. I dont know which denial you are referring to. I am very certain that the terrorists living in the areas in tribal areas with the aid form other banned groups in Pakistan are behind all these terrorist acts.

That is a good enough for me to say US maybe supporting Jundallah. I really hope that US is not behind sending suicide bombers to Iran. However, I can see an instance where US maybe using Jandullah to get intel on Iran. Thanks for putting these sources. I have nothing else but to admit that US is providing some assitance to this group, based on the evidence showed in the sources.

seeing ethnic and racial clash in pakistan , specially anti Pashtunism in eastern pakistan, I always think that how much Political gain and sympathy TTP would gain if they ignite the ethnic fire of Pashtun nationlism as a subsidiary ideology .... shaking hands with pashtun nationalists which are already strong , and Balush liberation groups .... these Mountain men could exploit things more and more , Pashto , , expired Durand line , ka@lah bagh dam , ethnic targeting in eastern pakistan ....

... but one who prefer guns , forgets to think .

lets not forget that central government created this issue not Pahstuns.

That is a good enough for me to say US maybe supporting Jundallah. I really hope that US is not behind sending suicide bombers to Iran. However, I can see an instance where US maybe using Jandullah to get intel on Iran. Thanks for putting these sources. I have nothing else but to admit that US is providing some assitance to this group, based on the evidence showed in the sources.

Iran is providing support to any shia extremism group in any corner of world, so Iran is not angel too.

Dont call me hate mongerer, anyone who have read your posts knows how much you bark about Phatan pride. I remember you said Punjabis terrorists are killing pukhtons since no Pukhton will kill his kind, does this mean they have no problem killing punjabis?

no i didnt

i didnt mention anybody

i jus said a pukhtun would never kill his own kind...dont twist my words...

here you go i have taken a screenshot of you quoting me so it proves i have not changed anything :)...not only are you a hate mongerer but your clearly also a liar and an instigator...

you my friend are indeed a racist...ps i urge you to get up off behind the comp screen and say this to a pukhtun...its easy said that you are insulting an entire race on a forum...but its different to their face

my conscience is clear...i was not pointing fingers at any ethnicity in pak...what i said i meant...throughout history will back my point up...fiercly protective of their own kind...if you havnt noticed whenever something is said on this forum all the pukhtuns unite against it...picture the real image...except with more people...we never tolerate anything said against our own people...or our own country

and barking about pathan pride somehow makes me a racist too does it? being proud of what i am is bad is it? i am in noway harming or putting other people down in that process...every post of yours is filled with hatred against pathans...every one of them...its because of people like you the majority begin to hate the area

• blah blah.jpg
    blah blah.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 175
I have no idea what you are talking about. Please read your post and then read my post again. I am not sure what exactly you are trying to tell me.

You are implying that US or India could be behind this attack. And you are giving examples of CIA trying to aid other groups to achieve its targets. Now please explain in single and plain terms as what is US going to gain by aiding those who are attacking PNS Mehran.

You suggested that US and other countries use the proxies to weaken a government. Can I ask you since when the current government in Pakistan is considered as a strong or a stablize government??? This government would do anything that US wants to be done, why would the US be behind this attack?? Please explain that.

You said thise Libyan group used to send suicide bombers in Iraq. Can you please give some evidence which would support your point???

You said US is supporting "Jundallah" where is the evidence or statements from anyone saying something like that???

CIA is aiding to remove Cheviz from the office, there is no surprise in that. Most US newspaper are saying this guy should be removed politically as he always uttered nonsnese against the US. That is a declared US policy.

You are saying that I am in denial. I dont know which denial you are referring to. I am very certain that the terrorists living in the areas in tribal areas with the aid form other banned groups in Pakistan are behind all these terrorist acts.

West Point Study on nationality of foreign fighters in Iraq...this study was done in 2007
http://tarpley.net/docs/CTCForeignFighter.19.Dec07.pdf

Many national newspapers quote this West Point study...if you want more links I am quite happy to provide them...

Abdel Hakim El Hasidi a rebel commander who has admitted sending troops from Benghazi to Iraq...lots of links for this one...Hasidi himself fought in Afghanistan...

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...-admits-his-fighters-have-al-Qaeda-links.html

Abu Layth Al Libi was Emir of the Islamic Fighting Group and was found dead in Waziristan, Pakistan...the Islamic Fighting Group is a strong supporter of the rebel council and many believe is a strong part of it...they are like another KLA...

The only nonsense Chavez utters is looking after the interests of the Venezuelan people and not leaving his nation to be raped by the Americans as it was prior to him...

As for the Jundullah link...much like Chavez the US has a direct problem with Iran...

This is Rigi's confession...not clear whether it is under duress or not...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8537567.stm

As for the Jundullah CIA link it was reported by Seymour Hersh...and also by Stratfor...

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Middle_East/IB24Ak01.html

And as you mention for Venezuela its hardly surprising that Iran is having opposition used for weakening it...

As for Pakistan...its significantly more destabilised than before and is approaching failed state status...as for the advantages for the US...such incidents allow the US to act with impunity in the country and exhibit a greater sense of control over Pakistan...consequently weakening the influence of the army and intelligence...further destabilisation = more influence...also fomenting ethnic and religious unrest makes for a disunified and weak state and therefore not one that can threaten them...a unified Muslim nations with nukes is by nature a problem but a problem they have seemingly solved...

This is is merely a speculation , PLO itself was an alleged brainchild of ... well u know . These ... fatah , PFLP , DFLP , ALF all are Western funded haraamzaads .

Hmmm...these issues of agency are always difficult to assess...I have seen plenty of links and scholars who speak of Hamas being used to weaken Fatah...Islamists also guarantee that a solution can not be reached which suits Israel just fine...

http://www.wariscrime.com/2008/12/29/news/hamas-was-founded-by-mossad/

Here is one link but there are many...

And you as well I know how often Muslim organisations were used to weaken Arab nationalism...and in many case socialism...Islam proved to be a counterweight against both...weren't Islamists also used against Mossadegh once upon a time?...

This isn't to suggest insincerity on the part of all these organisations...many are sincere and many are correct...the Muslim Brotherhood were correct to oppose Nasser and Arab nationalism for instance but that doesn't detract from the fact that the West viewed and fostered the growth of Islamism to weaken regimes it deemed threatening...

Hate monger is actually understatement for describing you. You have so much hatred inside you against Pathans that you can't hide it. P_P proved that you are a liar too. Can you quote him where he said that Punjabis are terrorists?

I doubt if he is even a Pakistani. Just trying to spread propaganda.

On general, there is no ethnic clash between Pakistani_ it's just when politics are involved.

^ Haroom, yes seems like he is not a Pakistani. There is no such clash and there would never be Inshallah.

dont-worry-sir-im-from-the-internet.jpg

Im scared now.

oh no he has nothing else to say so he posts a picture...

do quote me properly when i said all punjabis were terrorists shan...that is the most important thing...oh wait you cant because you were lying lol

Bro- stop pecking your head because of him.

He's not even a Pakistani.

I gathered that from his posts in other thread.

Any news about the 4 guys captured?

Some people are claiming Indians and Americans are behind the attack. Everywhere I check its says Pakistani Taliban takes responsibility for the attacks.

Bro- stop pecking your head because of him.

He's not even a Pakistani.

I gathered that from his posts in other thread.

I have been part of PakPassion long before it become Pakpassion.net. I dont have to prove anything to internet warriors.

internet warriors?...says the guy whos sitting comfortably behind his chair and calling an entire race terrorists

im this open in real life too...i dont portray to be anything different here than i am in person

what does you being a member of pakpassion for a long time have to do with anything?

again...do tell me when i called all punjabis terrorists!...still waiting

Unless you believe that CIA agents themselfs carry out sucide attacks (i wont be surprised if you does) then ofcourse you mean Punjabis. How many times have you said that Pukhton will love to join Afghan brothers? And that Punjabis and Sindhis are Indians?

Im sick of your phatan pride. Dont call me Indian again.

internet warriors?...says the guy whos sitting comfortably behind his chair and calling an entire race terrorists

im this open in real life too...i dont portray to be anything different here than i am in person

what does you being a member of pakpassion for a long time have to do with anything?

again...do tell me when i called all punjabis terrorists!...still waiting

I just said vast majority of attacks in Pakistan are carried out and planned by Pukhton terrorists. And the reason why i said Pukhton terrorists was because you believe somehow how these animals cant kill one of their own.

Dont know from where you got the idea about entire race.

no i dont :))) ttp are nothing...they are complete kaffirs... about the durand line and pukhtun and afghanistan i dont say anything fictional...its a fact lol but i say it when people like you say things like that...here are a people who are being droned by americans slaughtered in suicide bombs yet douchebags like you parade them as terrorists

now when have i called you indian? find a post where i have called you an indian aswell?

stop making things up man

you can be sick of my pride all you want :))) its not bothering me at all lol

that sounds so effing weird

you have made it pretty obvious since i have been on pakpassion that you have something against us so im just not going to engage in this conversation because your making yourself, me and everybody else who was trying to have a decent conversation on this look like a mong and your also making this thread seem pointles

im sure there are people with popcorn eyeing this thread up with glee...having to watch pakistanis engange in what clearly seems like an ethnic exchange of words...

be proud of yourself for generalising!

Hey prince Pathan- just let it go man- allow him.

Your just wasting your time.

His post was racist and I as a half punjabi condemn it.

I just said vast majority of attacks in Pakistan are carried out and planned by Pukhton terrorists. And the reason why i said Pukhton terrorists was because you believe somehow how these animals cant kill one of their own.

Dont know from where you got the idea about entire race.

Can you give us concrete evidence for your above allegations? and don't give me references from some stupid Newspapers. Yes all these terrorists are animals but don't call themB] PUKHTUNS[/B]? You can't get this into your thick head that you can't blame an entire race for a few culprits.

Yes we are a proud race and if you like it or not we don't give a *ucking damn for that.

'New kind of militant' behind Pakistan Karachi attack

The deadly 15-hour siege on Pakistan's Mehran naval airbase in Karachi on Monday was carried out by attackers with military-level training, raising suspicions they had inside help.

Questions are being asked about the security of Pakistan's vital military installations after a well-organised group of gunmen held off Pakistan's equivalent of the US Navy Seals - the Special Services Group - Navy (SSG-N) - for 15 hours.

This SSG-N is said to be the most formidable fighting force in Pakistan, but - for a few hours at least - they appeared to be at the mercy of a brazen group of fighters.

"They weren't any ordinary militants - certainly not the Taliban," said one security official, who wished to remain unnamed.

"The aim of all Taliban attacks is maximum death and destruction - these men were very focused on what they were after."

Speed and organisation

From the beginning it was clear the attackers had an intricate knowledge of the base and its vulnerable areas. They were tactically assured and the operation had clearly been long in the planning.

"They came over the wall cutting the wire on the eastern side of the base," one official told the BBC, adding that it was one of the weak points. The militants knew and exploited this - just one piece of inside knowledge they had.

"That side is just next to the runway - and the guard tower is at a distance because planes land regularly."

The first time the militants were seen was when they appeared on the runway, weapons at the ready. "The [navy] men couldn't believe their eyes," says an official.

A number of officials listed to me their observations, which reinforced the conviction that they were being confronted with a totally different kind of militant, possibly hitherto unseen:

* Military formation: One injured sailor told an official that the attackers "moved and dressed like us". The militants moved in tactical military formation and spoke in military parlance. They spoke between themselves in Urdu, as well as a foreign language.

* Clothing and equipment: The militants wore combat fatigues, according to officials - and had night vision goggles, carrying rocket propelled grenades [RPGs]. "It takes months of training for ease with the goggles, and years to be expert," one official told me.

* Tactics and a plan: One witness said that even though the militants had clear sight of them, "they ignored us... Instead, they just aimed RPGs at the two Orions [planes] parked on the tarmac." They were clearly under instructions to destroy military hardware. They also changed tactics easily and broke away in groups, which clearly had different aims.

* Crack shots: "They were excellent shots - as good as any we have," said one security official involved in the operation. They used their night vision goggles to maximum effect, witnesses say - and that was an advantage they had until the SSG-N team arrived at the scene. When the gun battle began, one security official said, it was clear that these men could "hold their own" in a firefight. The fact that they had M16 carbines and sniper rifles also set them apart.

Officials says all of this is in strong contrast to the Taliban, who adopt an equally brutal but more chaotic mode of attack. "Their best weapon is the suicide bomber - they are notoriously poor shots," one official told me.

"They were the exception to every rule of Pakistan militant tactics."

"They were also not about killing people," one official said. "It was clear they were interested in the destruction of equipment, a much more 'military' aim."

To read more : http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-13508864