Can I suggest, Asif Ali for Pakistan T20 captain?

Rana

Hall of Famer
Please don’t shoot me down.

I think it’s the only way this guy will secure a position in the team and the only way he can best utilise himself!

He is a selfless player and plays 100% for Pakistan’s win. He wasn’t too bad when he was appointed captain by IU as well.

Let’s move on from uninspiring Babar Azam and Rizwan after the World Cup!

I think Shaheen should be the captain like he is for Lahore Qalanders.

Asif may struggle on non-flat pitches. Also, his position in the team is not stable yet.

Absurd suggestion really Rana bhai don’t mind. Asif Ali should be made captain to make him feel secure. Why doesn’t he perform more often than he does and become an automatic selection.
Don’t think admins will let such threads to continue

I’m used to having an opinion that takes it’s time to prove its correctness

I’m also used to the abuse I suffer in the process of it turning out to be correct

Asif Ali is our most important T20 match winner with the bat.

Could be a master stroke if it elevates his game and eradicate the timidness and errors that Babar is making.

There's nothing to suggest Asif Ali would be a bad captain. If anything he's been through a dark phase in his life and perhaps he can inspire the less experienced players overcome their struggles.

Forget the haters Rana.

He needs to think like a batsman not a slogger.

Brother that ship sailed a long time ago. I agree that long term we need to reconsider our white ball captaincy, but not for the guy who routinely doesn’t see things through at the end. Two 6s today don’t change that fact.

I would rather have Shadab Khan. More reliable , clutch player and someone whose place in the side will never get questioned. Plus he is someone who doesn't chase off stats like Baber and has hunger for team's win.

Pakistan badly need to change mindset and the start would be getting rid of statpadding captain and coach who has zero understanding of modern t20 cricket.

I would never let a guy like Rizwan ever become captain of Pakistan team. A guy who loves statpadding and doesn't care about his team losing a major trophy should never be considered for any leadership role.

I would rather have Shadab Khan. More reliable , clutch player and someone whose place in the side will never get questioned. Plus he is someone who doesn't chase off stats like Baber and has hunger for team's win.

Pakistan badly need to change mindset and the start would be getting rid of statpadding captain and coach who has zero understanding of modern t20 cricket.

This. Shadab Khan should be made the captain and Selfish statpadding captain Babar should be shown the door

I’m also used to the abuse I suffer in the process of it turning out to be correct

Captain needs to have a brain. Asif is a slogger who I dont mind keeping in the side since Pakistan dont have any better options.

What has suggested he would make a half decent captain or an aggressive captain or even have the brains to set a field?

If Asif Ali was an Avenger, he would be the Hulk (the original and not the smart Hulk from End Game). He's job is not to think, just go out there and hit out from ball one aka "Hulk Smash! ".

You want to put Hulk in charge of the Avengers? Leave the poor guy alone...

I think a better topic should be, asif ali and his selflessness..

One thing i love about asif ali is that, it doesnt matter if he is about to get dropped or is making a comeback in the side. He never slows down just to secure his own place in the team.

If he doesnt perform in this series, he could get dropped out anytime.
Yet, asif ali will come out and play with thr intention that pakistan needs to get the maximum score even if he loses his wicket.

We can all go on about his limits as a player, but i have never doubted his intentions.

Guys like babar and shan masood, even though i support them but they tend to slow down for their own stats and also to make sure their runs qouta is fulfilled so that they dont get dropped.

The way babar celebrates his 100 even before a win looks soo ridiculous

If Asif Ali was an Avenger, he would be the Hulk (the original and not the smart Hulk from End Game). He's job is not to think, just go out there and hit out from ball one aka "Hulk Smash! ".

You want to put Hulk in charge of the Avengers? Leave the poor guy alone...

Asif is captain America. Not the hulk. The man is all about the team.

Rana sahib that’s an insane statement. He is not certain in the team even. I think he will have issues in Australia on bouncy tracks , he can’t play spin …….
Having said that, babar is not the right choice either . Why not afridi or shadab. Babar is too timid.

Fickle fans, get excited after a good win or 2 sixes should I say.

Asif is a good hitter but him throwing wicket away against SL in two crucial games can't be forgiven easily. He sure is a must for T20 WC and I understand he is a power hitter from get go but use your brain at times, you are playing international cricket. I do like Asif and he's a must in our line up.

If you don't have a proper opinion, don't post in this thread. We are not here to babysit posters.

History shows that inconsistent players have never made successful captains in Pakistan. All past successful captains have had to lead from the front to command respect. Asif by the nature of his role will always be inconsistent. Babar even with all his tactical faults still commands the most respect from his players. Even if you disregard Babar there way to any players ahead of Asif that are captaincy candidates, for eg Shadab, Shaheen, and Rizwan.

I think it’s the only way this guy will secure a position in the team and the only way he can best utilise himself!

He is a selfless player and plays 100% for Pakistan’s win. He wasn’t too bad when he was appointed captain by IU as well.

What leadership qualities has Asif shown to be remotely considered for captaincy?

History shows that inconsistent players have never made successful captains in Pakistan. All past successful captains have had to lead from the front to command respect. Asif by the nature of his role will always be inconsistent. Babar even with all his tactical faults still commands the most respect from his players. Even if you disregard Babar there way to any players ahead of Asif that are captaincy candidates, for eg Shadab, Shaheen, and Rizwan.

Problem will be of respect.

Will Asif Ali command any respect from a side when he is not a big performer himself?

I just don't think Asif will be an aggressive captain at all, going by his demeanor. Just because he hits sixes, doesn't mean he will be an imaginative, shrewd, press the knee kind of captain.

Look at how timid Afridi's captaincy was.

They way things mysteriously work in Pakistan Think Tank and in the internal politics, I think the next captain made, will be Khushdil Shah.

Not sure about this. He also only needs to underperform in three consecutive games for people to get on his case. Shouldn’t ruin a good thing.

The only one who should be considered after Babar is Shadab khan.

And that too after the WC. There is no way Babar is quitting it before the WC.

One guy who is not a regular starter himself can't be a captain lol.

The only one who should be considered after Babar is Shadab khan.

And that too after the WC. There is no way Babar is quitting it before the WC.

One guy who is not a regular starter himself can't be a captain lol.

Who’s fault is it that he isn’t a regular starter? Isn’t it clear that he is the most important T20 batsman in this side?

Well his last 7 scores in T20s, which I can see at cricinfo;

13*

Asif is still better than Khushdil in my opinion and should play over him, but his scores are not good enough. He is a waliking wicket against any decent spin bowling and in SENA he will be bounced out like the rest of our players.

And yes, it's team-management who don't have much trust in him, that's why he is not a regular starter.

13*

Asif is still better than Khushdil in my opinion and should play over him, but his scores are not good enough. He is a waliking wicket against any decent spin bowling and in SENA he will be bounced out like the rest of our players.

And yes, it's team-management who don't have much trust in him, that's why he is not a regular starter.

Why are people so fixated with ‘scores in last XYZ amount of games theory’?

He has been 70%+ the reason why Pakistan has won so many matches of late with his contribution. The whole world sees his value but we don’t!

He is also the VC of Islamabad United and rightly so. He looks like a leader who will do whatever it takes to win the game

Why are people so fixated with ‘scores in last XYZ amount of games theory’?

He has been 70%+ the reason why Pakistan has won so many matches of late with his contribution. The whole world sees his value but we don’t!

He is also the VC of Islamabad United and rightly so. He looks like a leader who will do whatever it takes to win the game

1) Lol, it's normal to judge a player on his past performances, difficult to say what he will do in future.
2) This is a stupid arguement, to allocate the winning difference in runs to any random player. In same way I can say what if Rizwan got out for a duck yesterday, Pakistan might have only scored 130 runs. Then Asif's 13 would have been in vain.
3)And if I am not mistaken Shadab is the captain of IU, so why not consider him first?

Rana desperately trying to get attention like his idol Mamoon except this was a Chinese effort :yk3

You’re a better heel then this, “lets put a monkey in a space suit”

1) Lol, it's normal to judge a player on his past performances, difficult to say what he will do in future.
2) This is a stupid arguement, to allocate the winning difference in runs to any random player. In same way I can say what if Rizwan got out for a duck yesterday, Pakistan might have only scored 130 runs. Then Asif's 13 would have been in vain.
3)And if I am not mistaken Shadab is the captain of IU, so why not consider him first?
Talk about making things up to suit a narrative

“If Rizwan got 0 then Asif’s 13 would go in vain”

How do you know Asif would get 13 if Rizwan got 0 :))

I sense the ‘sardi garmi’ phenomenon has reached you too :)))

This is hilarious… you can’t be serious

Talk about making things up to suit a narrative

“If Rizwan got 0 then Asif’s 13 would go in vain”

How do you know Asif would get 13 if Rizwan got 0 :))

I sense the ‘sardi garmi’ phenomenon has reached you too :)))

Acha, fer jawab day na.

How did you come to this conclusion:

"He has been 70%+ the reason why Pakistan has won so many matches of late with his contribution"

You clearly are pointing to only one player. What about the runs others have made? And I am not here to defend Rizwan as I support whole of Pakistan team, not individuals like you. I just gave you an example of a player who has contributed much more to the win.

He stood in as captain in PSL and was awful

Babar was appointed captain for KK.

He was and is horrendous

He is even worse for Pakistan considering he has hundreds of players to choose from

Acha, fer jawab day na.

How did you come to this conclusion:

"He has been 70%+ the reason why Pakistan has won so many matches of late with his contribution"

You clearly are pointing to only one player. What about the runs others have made? And I am not here to defend Rizwan as I support whole of Pakistan team, not individuals like you. I just gave you an example of a player who has contributed much more to the win.

Are you telling me Pakistan would be playing a World Cup Semi final and an Asia cup semi final without Asif Ali?

Forget 70%

He is probably 95% of the reason we advanced that far. He is 100% the reason we won the game yesterday!

Are you telling me Pakistan would be playing a World Cup Semi final and an Asia cup semi final without Asif Ali?

Forget 70%

He is probably 95% of the reason we advanced that far. He is 100% the reason we won the game yesterday!

Now this a very childish stuff. You are rejecting facts. Pakistan won by 3 runs. One guy made 88 runs and you are dicrediting his contribution and only rejoicing Asif's 13. Just take a breather and look at what you are typing here. This simply doesn't make sense.

Final post here. LOL, I pray Pakistan make it to final and if Asif can help them, I will be very happy. Nothing against Asif or any other pakistani player.

Now this a very childish stuff. You are rejecting facts. Pakistan won by 3 runs. One guy made 88 runs and you are dicrediting his contribution and only rejoicing Asif's 13. Just take a breather and look at what you are typing here. This simply doesn't make sense.

Final post here. LOL, I pray Pakistan make it to final and if Asif can help them, I will be very happy. Nothing against Asif or any other pakistani player.

What’s childish is you arguing as if both players had an equal platform to contribute fairly, and as if the one who scored the 88 also only had the same amount of balls to face as the person who scored his 13*

This is not the 80s anymore. Cricket has moved on drastically! The 13* saved the blushes of what was actually a poor innings of 88 off 67

11.1 overs (out of which 3-4 overs were those in which 2 fielders were outside of the circle) and 87 runs. It’s a pretty ordinary innings

Problem will be of respect.

Will Asif Ali command any respect from a side when he is not a big performer himself?

I don’t think so, reminds me of Malik when he was made captain ahead of his time and it damaged both his career and the team.

Lol. Asif Ali record as ISB United captain. Played 3. Lost 3.

First, suggesting a spot fixer to come back into the team
Second, suggesting Asif Ali as captain.

What's next? Khushdil as coach?

Nice!!!

Nice!!!

What did you say In the match thread last night?

“Let’s normalise retiring during play” :))

Coke Zero was still a classy comparison, but that was more of a freeway cola comment :)))

[MENTION=141811]shariqnoor[/MENTION] is the kind of poster that would advocate for the inclusion of the Misbah brand of players in the T20 side. For example, Shan Masood would be one of his players. Im sure you can revisit his posts where he may have supported the inclusion of Shan to create our formidable top 3 in T20 (Babar, Rizwan, Shan). He also strongly opposes the inclusion of attacking, firebrand cricketers like Fakhar and Sharjeel. Most likely doesn’t have a great opinion of Asif Ali, he is too risky after all due to his poor average.

The same [MENTION=141811]shariqnoor[/MENTION] in the match thread last night was asking for Shan and possibly Rizwan to retire not out so the hitters can come into play :)))

Guys like Shariq are posters who remind me of Jannat Zadran’s bowling to Asif Ali.

I will just sit back and wait for them to serve their tripe and dispatch it into Sharjah from Dubai.

Asif Ali is so selfless that he would have played the same way at 30-6 with 12 overs to go or 180-2 in 19.4 overs :))

13*

His scores are low because we have made him into a last over specialist who comes in with no time to settle and just has to go into ballistic mode from ball one.

If his career was a movie his character would be the guy who has been conditioned to be a killing machine, but deep down has a lot of potential to contribute more to society.

In movies those talents are often unlocked by a compassionate woman, in Asifs case they can be unlocked by a coach/captain with more vision. Sadly Babar and Saqlain lack that vision and we will suffer because of it.

Mickey Arthur for example on twitter advocated that he should have batted higher yesterday and every single person watching agrees with this too. I reckon if we had a proper T20 coach he would have really been able to develop as a player. I remember how fond Dean Jones was of Asif too.

He is the only player in T20 history who gets pushed down the order when the situation demands it :))

Interestingly the cricinfo metric for "impact" which I find very reliable gave the following interesting statistic for yesterdays match.

Shan Masood - Actual runs - 21. Impact Runs - 13.
Asif Ali - Actual runs 13 - Impact Runs 21.

His 16 against India in the Asia Cup had an Impact of 20

I bet his 16 against Afghanistan would have been similar.

To me it makes sense to give the guy who can make most impact over a short term, the chance to bat up the order and maximise it.

I've never been the biggest fan of his but his recent selfless performances need to be respected and cannot be analysed solely based on the scorecard number.

Making him captain is a bit far fetched though :asif

Even Rizwan for that matter

These guys don’t understand white ball cricket

Here is an interesting statistic for you

Since Rizwan has opened, he has played 40 innings, 26 of those games have been won, he has 15 70+ Scores in that period with an average of 67, Strike Rate of 133.

In those 26 games that we have won, he has scored 1516 runs at an average of 89.17, SR of 138.

No player from any team has managed 26 wins for their team. I know you don't like the guy but even a hater like you can't ignore these statistics. They are out of this world. If you criticise him even after this then let me ask you another question. Why has nobody else managed this for Pakistan?

On a side note he's hit 179 4s and 59 6s in that same period too.

If this isn't termed a match winner then what is?

Since Rizwan has opened, he has played 40 innings, 26 of those games have been won, he has 15 70+ Scores in that period with an average of 67, Strike Rate of 133.

In those 26 games that we have won, he has scored 1516 runs at an average of 89.17, SR of 138.

No player from any team has managed 26 wins for their team. I know you don't like the guy but even a hater like you can't ignore these statistics. They are out of this world. If you criticise him even after this then let me ask you another question. Why has nobody else managed this for Pakistan?

He is a good utility player. No one can deny that.

[MENTION=141811]shariqnoor[/MENTION] is the kind of poster that would advocate for the inclusion of the Misbah brand of players in the T20 side. For example, Shan Masood would be one of his players. Im sure you can revisit his posts where he may have supported the inclusion of Shan to create our formidable top 3 in T20 (Babar, Rizwan, Shan). He also strongly opposes the inclusion of attacking, firebrand cricketers like Fakhar and Sharjeel. Most likely doesn’t have a great opinion of Asif Ali, he is too risky after all due to his poor average.

The same [MENTION=141811]shariqnoor[/MENTION] in the match thread last night was asking for Shan and possibly Rizwan to retire not out so the hitters can come into play :)))

Guys like Shariq are posters who remind me of Jannat Zadran’s bowling to Asif Ali.

I will just sit back and wait for them to serve their tripe and dispatch it into Sharjah from Dubai.

I see lying is also one of your innate qualities!!! Carry on.

"Attacking, firebrand cricketer like Sharjeel". Lol. At least I have morals that doesn't include accepting corruption.

And I see you completely ignored Asif Ali's record as ISB's captain. A guy who has a 100% losing record as captain is being referred to as "He wasn’t too bad when he was appointed captain by IU as well."

I mean if you're here for the trolling, at least do it right.

I see lying is also one of your innate qualities!!! Carry on.

"Attacking, firebrand cricketer like Sharjeel". Lol. At least I have morals that doesn't include accepting corruption.

And I see you completely ignored Asif Ali's record as ISB's captain. A guy who has a 100% losing record as captain is being referred to as "He wasn’t too bad when he was appointed captain by IU as well."

I mean if you're here for the trolling, at least do it right.

Were you trolling last night asking for Shan to retire in the middle of his batting masterclass?

Nice!!!

Ifthikar batting coach , Khusdil fielding coach , Asif ali captain of Gully cricket played at their own backyard

What is our coaching staff now? Besides Tate, who in the Staff has ever played hard, competitive T20 cricket?

Well he doesn’t understand white ball cricket , if it’s 20 or 50 overs cricket , there is 120 balls and 300 balls to be played , suggesting a player who doesn’t last 10 balls to be captain of the side once he hit 2 sixes when there was 0 pressure and just to smash

Every time a novice who doesn’t understand white ball cricket comes up with a sarcastic remark

Be sure, I will be ready to send him to the next postcode just like Jos Butler.

Well he doesn’t understand white ball cricket , if it’s 20 or 50 overs cricket , there is 120 balls and 300 balls to be played , suggesting a player who doesn’t last 10 balls to be captain of the side once he hit 2 sixes when there was 0 pressure and just to smash

Doesn’t last 10 balls lol

He has won more matches for Pakistan in comparison to those who last hundreds of overs :))

What is our coaching staff now? Besides Tate, who in the Staff has ever played hard, competitive T20 cricket?

Only in Pakistan Asif ali kinda player gets a run in the side first of all, and I wouldn’t be surprised if made captain also simply because he can hit 2 sixes a match when there was no presssure , because there are many thinkers like you.

ISLU made him captain and they lost all matches lol. :facepalm

Asif Ali will do well against Pacers when he has few balls to play in the end and is great for getting those extra 10 to 15 runs at the end of innings plus momentum but his game against spinners is still questionable.

Doesn’t last 10 balls lol

He has won more matches for Pakistan in comparison to those who last hundreds of overs :))

How many?

And why can’t he last 10 balls lol

Why can’t he score any fifties , he looks clueless just like you when he bats

Why does so many ex cricketers have to say that he is a club level and 3rd class batsman.

How many?

And why can’t he last 10 balls lol

Why can’t he score any fifties , he looks clueless just like you when he bats

Why does so many ex cricketers have to say that he is a club level and 3rd class batsman.

Lol he looks clueless?

What have you been watching? We are talking about Asif Ali under immense pressure here…not Babar Azam on a free hit :))

Asif Ali will do well against Pacers when he has few balls to play in the end and is great for getting those extra 10 to 15 runs at the end of innings plus momentum but his game against spinners is still questionable.

That too when he gets a full on the legs on or on the slot

Simple way is to bowl normal length balls outside off he will be like what should we do bhai they are not bowling where I want them to.

That too when he gets a full on the legs on or on the slot

Simple way is to bowl normal length balls outside off he will be like what should we do bhai they are not bowling where I want them to.

Isn’t that what Bhuvaneshwar, Southee, Boult and Topley tried?

Many men came
Many men fell.

Asif Ali is our match winner

Were you trolling last night asking for Shan to retire in the middle of his batting masterclass?

No I wasn't trolling. Shan was playing a miserable innings and could've retired. It's not outlandish as other cricketers have done so. Ashwin did it in the IPL too.

But please explain me this Newtonian-Einsteinic idea of making someone captain who has a 100% losing record in franchise cricket by telling everyone that "he didn't too bad when he was appointed captain by IU as well." Please enrich us with this incredible piece of knowledge.

No I wasn't trolling. Shan was playing a miserable innings and could've retired. It's not outlandish as other cricketers have done so. Ashwin did it in the IPL too.

But please explain me this Newtonian-Einsteinic idea of making someone captain who has a 100% losing record in franchise cricket by telling everyone that "he didn't too bad when he was appointed captain by IU as well." Please enrich us with this incredible piece of knowledge.

Just like our national captain lost all of his matches in the PSL. He may have won one or two dead rubbers once KK was out.

He has won us some games, but it is not like he made the game himself alone? When did this guy scored a 50 and took Pakistan home. It was a team effort, where he hit the last nails in the coffin.
So don’t get too far with this, it is not a afridi or Razaq who single handedly won us games. And some of them games were almost impossible to win as well.

You're a genius , why not Khushdil ?

Yeah he can be the most important in t20s but being utilized only for last 2 overs. Though just for that reason giving him captaincy will be hilarious.

If Asif was a captain material he should have taken more responsibility in that situation. He got carried away by crowd chanting his name and exposed all his stumps. Had golden opportunity with plenty of overs left, but like most of our rubbish middle order batsmen he got out too early.