China-India standoff and border tension

This Indian Major General is asking some tough questions

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What the hell is Going on? we lost 1 col and 20 men not 3. What the hell have we given them weapons and ammunition for? Why are we spending 71 billion $ a year on defense if we just have to fight with sticks and stones?</p>— Maj Gen (Dr)GD Bakshi SM,VSM(retd) (@GeneralBakshi) <a href="https://twitter.com/GeneralBakshi/status/1272986326183194624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Joshila missing too

With Joshila you can’t blame the guy. He loves his country and will go at any lengths to defend its honour
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] on the other hand will go at any length to offend his so called country men. He would be the first to remind us about how we deserve humiliation. So for him to go missing now says a lot about this person.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What the hell is Going on? we lost 1 col and 20 men not 3. What the hell have we given them weapons and ammunition for? Why are we spending 71 billion $ a year on defense if we just have to fight with sticks and stones?</p>— Maj Gen (Dr)GD Bakshi SM,VSM(retd) (@GeneralBakshi) <a href="https://twitter.com/GeneralBakshi/status/1272986326183194624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_ZkSzfEGNDk" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

Was asking the same question lol. Why are we using hands when we have weapons? Are we going to have a pillow fight next?

Pillow fight lmao :))) you are so funny BVB.

However on a serious note hope all of this de- escalate asap, don’t want to see war...

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_ZkSzfEGNDk" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

Oh my....

I can really feel the patriotism from this retired Indian Army man...

And this was when only the initial 3 deaths were confirmed...

I won't want to be the one interviewing him right now...

I don't like the Chinese leaders, nor do I like the Indian leaders.

So my stance remains the same, since the first day of these "border tensions": May they continue to be an headache for eachother.

Even international observers can see a difference in India's reaction. Just a single Indian casualty, by a local Kashmiri militant, can trigger the whole war industry of India to beat the drums of war against Pakistan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If Indian troops were killed in a brawl with Pakistani soldiers, and several dozen more (reportedly) went missing, New Delhi would not remain quiet, and the Indian Army would not issue a calm statement emphasizing deescalation. For India, China is a very different foe than Pak. <a href="https://t.co/N2hLwRDdJo">https://t.co/N2hLwRDdJo</a></p>— Michael Kugelman (@MichaelKugelman) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelKugelman/status/1272890645724778496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Even international observers can see a difference in India's reaction. Just a single Indian casualty, by a local Kashmiri militant, can trigger the whole war industry of India to beat the drums of war against Pakistan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If Indian troops were killed in a brawl with Pakistani soldiers, and several dozen more (reportedly) went missing, New Delhi would not remain quiet, and the Indian Army would not issue a calm statement emphasizing deescalation. For India, China is a very different foe than Pak. <a href="https://t.co/N2hLwRDdJo">https://t.co/N2hLwRDdJo</a></p>— Michael Kugelman (@MichaelKugelman) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelKugelman/status/1272890645724778496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What’s the surprise here

Some clever Indians are not buying the story.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">So many former Army officers calling and asking the same question [I paraphrase]: Sub-zero temperatures at Ladakh in June! Where our soldiers are fully kitted, equipped and acclimatised to handle temperatures far lower. <a href="https://t.co/2ugkMP038B">https://t.co/2ugkMP038B</a></p>— Sushant Singh (@SushantSin) <a href="https://twitter.com/SushantSin/status/1272943310110208000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Did the Colonel die in the fistfight too? I wonder if any of the impromptu pugilists were filming the bout on their (Chinese) cellphones.

A good summary of the events:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">-India says casualties took place on both sides<br>-China neither accepts nor denies its casualties yet<br>-India says it remains firmly convinced of the need for peace in the border<br>-China says Indian troops illegally crossed border twice for illegal activities</p>— Kashmir Intel (@kashmirosint) <a href="https://twitter.com/kashmirosint/status/1272932139516833795?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What’s the surprise here

No surprise for the clever kids, for sure.

However, one can hope that statements by International observers may help some of the patriots from the other side to open their eyes and remain on earth, in regards to superpower India 2020.

A good summary of the events:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">-India says casualties took place on both sides<br>-China neither accepts nor denies its casualties yet<br>-India says it remains firmly convinced of the need for peace in the border<br>-China says Indian troops illegally crossed border twice for illegal activities</p>— Kashmir Intel (@kashmirosint) <a href="https://twitter.com/kashmirosint/status/1272932139516833795?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

By all accounts, Galwan valley is Chinese now, and they have no plan to give it up. Apparently it’s a good place to be, overlooking the strategic road and Daulat Beg Oldi/Sub-Sector North which are so important to the Humsaaya Mulk.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Situation in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ladakh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ladakh</a> is under control <a href="https://t.co/g23422wP20">pic.twitter.com/g23422wP20</a></p>— Sana Jamal (@Sana_Jamal) <a href="https://twitter.com/Sana_Jamal/status/1272924191147397122?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

How can Indian soldiers cross the border without gun, as China claims they crossed the border?

This famous Indian Major can spin all kind of stories:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chinese helicopters picking up PLA dead and wounded and evacuating them. They have been allowed to evacuate their dead and wounded.<br><br>Their helicopters have not been shot down by us.</p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1272949041429536769?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What next?

They have been allowed to march into Indian territory...
They have been allowed to kill Indian Jawans...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chinese helicopters picking up PLA dead and wounded and evacuating them. They have been allowed to evacuate their dead and wounded.<br><br>Their helicopters have not been shot down by us.</p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1272949041429536769?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What next?

A@@ clown of the Indian Army

What next?

Lol this guy

A@@ clown of the Indian Army

He can be quite fun:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hello <a href="https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@realDonaldTrump</a> <br><br>You wanted to mediate in Kashmir. We said no. Now you want to mediate between China and India. Again, no. We can manage our own affairs. Thank you.<br><br>If you want us to mediate between US and China, let us know. Welcome to the neighbourhood 🙏</p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1265689011701440512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">‘Do not let differences overshadow relations’: China’s India envoy on ties. <br><br>China gently takes a step back, not wanting to escalate the stand-off with India. <br><br>Dil toot gaya Pakistan ka 🤣<a href="https://t.co/QjNQlK5GHI">https://t.co/QjNQlK5GHI</a></p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1265632553735610369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If you want to show goodwill, leave the way you came. You can hide your casualties because you are an opaque communist state. We cannot and will not. The mood in India will soon turn ugly. And then we will have reached the point of no return. <br><br>There is no nice way to say this. <a href="https://t.co/fZn5x0iORM">https://t.co/fZn5x0iORM</a></p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1272905070682738699?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

"India can manage its own affairs"

"India has allowed China to evacuate their dead and wounded."

"India hasn't shot down any Chinese helicoptors."

"Leave the way you came, China. There is no nice way to say this."

"Let India know, if you want it to mediate between USA and China"

Lol this guy

Please have some respect for this Major.

He has crossed over to Chinese territory a dozen times in his golden days and came back unharmed. While yesterday, few Indian soldiers went up to the Chinese to remind them, that they were in Indian territory and came back dead.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Since 1967 not one single round has been fired along the Indo-China border. The Line of Actual Control (LAC) is perceptional. We enter their territory regularly. They also come in frequently. I was posted along LAC in 1996-97. I must have entered China dozens of times.</p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1264242772753539077?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Major Gaurav Arya is the kind of guy Akshay Kumar would not hesitate to depict as a character. Full on masala

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The aggressive rhetoric coming from Chinese media I mentioned in my podcast: <a href="https://t.co/3O0GJKB8w6">https://t.co/3O0GJKB8w6</a></p>— FJ (@Natsecjeff) <a href="https://twitter.com/Natsecjeff/status/1272986793156268034?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The aggressive rhetoric from GT continues to flow out: <a href="https://t.co/Hr4Kkekca2">https://t.co/Hr4Kkekca2</a></p>— FJ (@Natsecjeff) <a href="https://twitter.com/Natsecjeff/status/1272993621999001603?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaChinaFaceOff?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaChinaFaceOff</a> | Former Army Chief Gen VP Malik (R) lists out the reasons why disengagement could not take place.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NewsToday?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NewsToday</a> LIVE at <a href="https://t.co/4fqxBVUizL">https://t.co/4fqxBVUizL</a> <a href="https://t.co/ElpB6msElg">pic.twitter.com/ElpB6msElg</a></p>— IndiaToday (@IndiaToday) <a href="https://twitter.com/IndiaToday/status/1272927485483573251?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In my 22 years of Television News career first time am watching on all news channels <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/China?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#China</a> in place of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Musalmaan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Musalmaan</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ChinaIndiaFaceoff?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ChinaIndiaFaceoff</a></p>— Ashraf Wani اشرف وانی (@ashraf_wani) <a href="https://twitter.com/ashraf_wani/status/1272941388603092995?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Ashraf Wani is a Kashmiri Journalist from J&K and based in India.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">17 injured Indian soldiers reportedly died due to lack of in-time rescue, which reflects the serious flaws of Indian army to provide emergency treatment to the wounded. This is not an army with real modern combat capabilities at plateau. Indian public opinion needs to stay sober.</p>— Hu Xijin 胡锡进 (@HuXijin_GT) <a href="https://twitter.com/HuXijin_GT/status/1272973497766051840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

If this is true then it's quite sad. 17 precious lives could have been saved, if it wasn't for mismanagement by their own brethren.

Did the Colonel die in the fistfight too? I wonder if any of the impromptu pugilists were filming the bout on their (Chinese) cellphones.

This incident really gave me something to think about.

So many casaulties, potentially on both sides, without firing a bullet.

Never would have thought Karate could be this deadly.

American intelligence believes 35 Chinese troops died, including one senior officer, a source familiar with that assessment tells U.S. News. The incident took place during a meeting in the mountainous region between the two sides – both of which had agreed to disarm – to determine how the two militaries would safely withdraw their presences from the region.

The meeting grew tense and resulted in a physical confrontation between the troops. According to the assessment, all of the casualties were from the use of batons and knives and from falls from the steep topography, the source says.

According to the U.S. assessment, the Chinese government considers the casualties among their troops as a humiliation for its armed forces and has not confirmed the numbers for fear of emboldening other adversaries, the source says.

The sources who spoke with the Times said 43 Chinese troops died in the fighting.

https://www.usnews.com/news/world-r...ina-face-off-in-first-deadly-clash-in-decades

---------------

20-40 casualties on both sides seems to be due to close priximity physical fights. Not really gun fights or anynthing like that.

I am pretty sure that both sides will try to find solution.

Terrain on hill with narrow path and physical altercation , large number fell down the cliff.

Sounds pretty brutal and something from a movie scene.

Just goes to show that if humans intend to kill eachother, they can do so without guns.

If there were no guns involved, then how did they kill such a large number?

What I'm hearing is the scuffle happened along the side of a cliff and involved a lot of clubbing and shoving with many falling to their deaths from the steep side.

Hearing some gruesome stories about violated bodies being retrieved from Icy waters. This has been a real bloodbath!

Apart from the fact that he is peddling lies and unsubstantiated claims; just see how he is referring to dead people as if he’s keeping score for a friendly cricket match.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">43 Chinese wickets gone <br><br>Jai Hind <br><br>5.6inch nahi 56 inch hi hai <br><br>RT if you New India isn't Nehru's India</p>— Shehzad Jai Hind (@Shehzad_Ind) <a href="https://twitter.com/Shehzad_Ind/status/1272930331084025856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This follows on from another anchor laying the blame on the apparently overpaid Indian army and saying that the government has no blame to take in this matter. As I said earlier. Modi and his Bhakts don’t really give two hoots about the soldiers or their families. All they care about is fooling the gullible population enough to be seen as ‘winners’ no matter what else happens.

When India had 3 deaths, China had 5 and when Indian casualties became 20 then somehow automatically Chinese casualties jumped to 43 without any evidence to indicate so. These deaths on the Indian side and the Chinese side, no matter what the actual number, are terrible news obviously.

However, the real issue to be worried about from indian perspective is that China has essentially annexed thousands of acres of what India considers its territory. However neither Modi, nor his blind supporters or even the paid media will talk about that because there’s really no way to spin that as a positive.

Sounds pretty brutal and something from a movie scene.

Just goes to show that if humans intend to kill eachother, they can do so without guns.

It's really unfortunate to die like this. Yah, you don't need guns to kill.

I really hope this escalation stops, our soldiers are losing lives just because that Tomato head Xi Jing Ping wants to increase nationalism to kill of the uprising in China.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If I know just a wee-bit about mil ops, this Ninja-style overnight scuffling story being told us by some Indians is utter bunkum. It belongs in the same domain as a “downed” F-16. Spare us this **. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/indiachinastandoff?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#indiachinastandoff</a></p>— EH (@ejazhaider) <a href="https://twitter.com/ejazhaider/status/1272993034322526213?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">> from other positions. c'mon, the sooner you come out with the real story, the better. people aren't stupid. Ninja-style scuffle, my damn foot. and a colonel in the front line when Ninjas clashed. at least make the damn story credible. 🤓</p>— EH (@ejazhaider) <a href="https://twitter.com/ejazhaider/status/1272994794860695564?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">> with support fire. so something went wrong, trying to dislodge them. that's the real story. and i am ONLY interested in that, the Ninja-style scuffle be damned.</p>— EH (@ejazhaider) <a href="https://twitter.com/ejazhaider/status/1273001738640003073?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I really hope this escalation stops, our soldiers are losing lives just because that Tomato head Xi Jing Ping wants to increase nationalism to kill of the uprising in China.

Straight from the chaiwala Modi’s playbook then

I don't know who this Hu Xijin is but India's favorite Major is addressing him and telling him to leave (from where? Indian territory of course) as if he was somekind of an official diplomat:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If you want to show goodwill, leave the way you came. You can hide your casualties because you are an opaque communist state. We cannot and will not. The mood in India will soon turn ugly. And then we will have reached the point of no return. <br><br>There is no nice way to say this. <a href="https://t.co/fZn5x0iORM">https://t.co/fZn5x0iORM</a></p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1272905070682738699?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What's making you laugh?

You do know that Indian officials have confirmed that 20 Indian jawans died for India, right?

You also know that there are claims by the Indian side itself, that some of those jawans died because of injuries and cold weather, right?

Though some Indians doubt that, like this guy and former Indian Army officers calling him.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">So many former Army officers calling and asking the same question [I paraphrase]: Sub-zero temperatures at Ladakh in June! Where our soldiers are fully kitted, equipped and acclimatised to handle temperatures far lower. <a href="https://t.co/2ugkMP038B">https://t.co/2ugkMP038B</a></p>— Sushant Singh (@SushantSin) <a href="https://twitter.com/SushantSin/status/1272943310110208000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

No matter how you look at it, be it due to direct confontration or by injuries, 20 Indian jawans lost their lives, when they tried to explain to the Chinese that they are in Indian territory and need to leave.

Of course a scuffle took place and soldiers from both sides got injured/killed. I was reacting to his typical dumb Chinese comment about Indian army not being combat ready..

20+ total casualties both sides including is not possible in just hand to hand combat.

Either guns were used, or some natural incidents like landslides.

And only Indian side is releasing Information so dont assume that other side is better just because other side is displaying ambiguity.

Third-generation Quislings will be Third-generation Quislings, no matter what their masters dish out to them...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Its been a terrible day for the armed forces today. My heartfelt condolences to the families of those officers & jawans who laid down their lives in the line of duty in Ladakh today. Prayers for the safe return of all those yet unaccounted for.</p>— Omar Abdullah (@OmarAbdullah) <a href="https://twitter.com/OmarAbdullah/status/1272929653359964161?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Enraged Indians set fire to photographs of Chinese president Xi Jinping and Chinese manufactured mobile phones during a protest in Gujarat. 20 Indian soldiers were killed and dozens injured in Chinese attack in Galwan valley.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ladakh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ladakh</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaChinaFaceOff?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaChinaFaceOff</a> <a href="https://t.co/443B1oXUA1">pic.twitter.com/443B1oXUA1</a></p>— گمنام (@orchadist) <a href="https://twitter.com/orchadist/status/1273089020038246400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My piece this morning on the killing of 20 Indian soldiers in Galwan -- the first combat casualties on the Line of Actual Control (LAC) since October 1975.<br><br>Written with respect for the brave soldiers who laid down their lives in that barren outpost. RIP.<a href="https://t.co/q1xxG9Zyx0">https://t.co/q1xxG9Zyx0</a></p>— Ajai Shukla (@ajaishukla) <a href="https://twitter.com/ajaishukla/status/1273082087373864960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Hopefully the Chinese get the message and leave the way they came.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Enraged Indians set fire to photographs of Chinese president Xi Jinping and Chinese manufactured mobile phones during a protest in Gujarat. 20 Indian soldiers were killed and dozens injured in Chinese attack in Galwan valley.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ladakh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ladakh</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaChinaFaceOff?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaChinaFaceOff</a> <a href="https://t.co/443B1oXUA1">pic.twitter.com/443B1oXUA1</a></p>— گمنام (@orchadist) <a href="https://twitter.com/orchadist/status/1273089020038246400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My piece this morning on the killing of 20 Indian soldiers in Galwan -- the first combat casualties on the Line of Actual Control (LAC) since October 1975.<br><br>Written with respect for the brave soldiers who laid down their lives in that barren outpost. RIP.<a href="https://t.co/q1xxG9Zyx0">https://t.co/q1xxG9Zyx0</a></p>— Ajai Shukla (@ajaishukla) <a href="https://twitter.com/ajaishukla/status/1273082087373864960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What's the message?

That bakhts have access to a color printer and some matches?

He can be quite fun:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hello <a href="https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@realDonaldTrump</a> <br><br>You wanted to mediate in Kashmir. We said no. Now you want to mediate between China and India. Again, no. We can manage our own affairs. Thank you.<br><br>If you want us to mediate between US and China, let us know. Welcome to the neighbourhood 🙏</p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1265689011701440512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">‘Do not let differences overshadow relations’: China’s India envoy on ties. <br><br>China gently takes a step back, not wanting to escalate the stand-off with India. <br><br>Dil toot gaya Pakistan ka 🤣<a href="https://t.co/QjNQlK5GHI">https://t.co/QjNQlK5GHI</a></p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1265632553735610369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

"India can manage its own affairs"

"India has allowed China to evacuate their dead and wounded."

"India hasn't shot down any Chinese helicoptors."

"Leave the way you came, China. There is no nice way to say this."

"Let India know, if you want it to mediate between USA and China"

According to him China never came in the first place and our territory was not occupied. Why now is he asking them to leave then? Bunch of stooges who have kept lying to the general public.

What's the message?

That bakhts have access to a color printer and some matches?

Would you like it, if people were burning pictures of your face?

Don't underestimate the psychological aspect of modern warfare.

20+ total casualties both sides including is not possible in just hand to hand combat.

Either guns were used, or some natural incidents like landslides.

And only Indian side is releasing Information so dont assume that other side is better just because other side is displaying ambiguity.

As per reports, 3 died in combat, 17 people succumbed to their injuries in extremely cold temperature of the region. It is believable. Hard for even ordinary people to withstand such climate, let alone badly injured soldiers if not taken care of immediately.

But of course this completely raises doubts over any claims of number of casualities on the Chinese side by Indian media/army. They are suffering in the same climate and if their casualties increased as a result of it then only they know the real number.

According to him China never came in the first place and our territory was not occupied. Why now is he asking them to leave then? Bunch of stooges who have kept lying to the general public.

I find it quite interesting that PM Modi was quick to pay tribute on social media, to the four Indian Army Jawans killed by Kashmiri militants in the Handwara encounter, but here there seems to be dead silence.

In fact one of his recent tweet even paid tribute to the actor, who committed suicide.

Some deaths are good for PR and others are not?

jingoism is very real. People don't care about the 20 dead soliders, they are just hoping that the Chinese casualties are much higher. We are pathetic, insecured fools we are. We will forget this in 2 weeks when something else comes along. Like I said, the Chinese need our market more than we need theirs. Ban them, if you really wanna flex your muscles.

As per reports, 3 died in combat, 17 people succumbed to their injuries in extremely cold temperature of the region. It is believable. Hard for even ordinary people to withstand such climate, let alone badly injured soldiers if not taken care of immediately.

But of course this completely raises doubts over any claims of number of casualities on the Chinese side by Indian media/army. They are suffering in the same climate and if their casualties increased as a result of it then only they know the real number.

What is the difference between 3 dead soldiers and 17 dying in result of injury from the combats? Still 20 soldiers are dead.

What's with this deafening silence by our esteemed PM?
Let's see how the bhakts spin this.

I read somewhere that China had captured many indian soldiers on a hill and threatned to push them to death. Allthough this sounds strange it can explain why so many died? I think it was a tweet from some journalist in TOI.

Chinese will be happy if their phones got burnt as people will replace these with new Chinese phones.

jingoism is very real. People don't care about the 20 dead soliders, they are just hoping that the Chinese casualties are much higher. We are pathetic, insecured fools we are. We will forget this in 2 weeks when something else comes along. Like I said, the Chinese need our market more than we need theirs. Ban them, if you really wanna flex your muscles.

Who told you that? :inti

Below is a list highlighting 15 of China’s top trading partners in terms of export sales. That is, these countries imported the most Chinese shipments by dollar value during 2019. Also shown is each import country’s percentage of total Chinese exports.

United States: US$418.6 billion (16.8% of China’s total exports)
Hong Kong: $279.6 billion (11.2%)
Japan: $143.2 billion (5.7%)
South Korea: $111 billion (4.4%)
Vietnam: $98 billion (3.9%)
Germany: $79.7 billion (3.2%)
India: $74.9 billion (3%)
Netherlands: $73.9 billion (3%)
United Kingdom: $62.3 billion (2.5%)
Taiwan: $55.1 billion (2.2%)
Singapore: $55 billion (2.2%)
Malaysia: $52.5 billion (2.1%)
Russia: $49.5 billion (2%)
Australia: $48.1 billion (1.9%)
Mexico: $46.4 billion (1.9%)

Below is a list highlighting 15 of India’s top trading partners in terms of countries that imported the most Indian shipments by dollar value during 2019. Also shown is each import country’s percentage of total Indian exports.

United States: US$54.2 billion (16.8% of India’s totalexports)
United Arab Emirates: $29.7 billion (9.2%)
China: $17 billion (5.3%)
Hong Kong: $11.5 billion (3.5%)
Singapore: $10.7 billion (3.3%)
United Kingdom: $8.82 billion (2.7%)
Netherlands: $8.75 billion (2.7%)
Germany: $8.6 billion (2.7%)
Bangladesh: $8.3 billion (2.6%)
Nepal: $7 billion (2.2%)
Belgium: $6.3 billion (2%)
Malaysia: $6.14 billion (1.9%)
Saudi Arabia: $6.05 billion (1.9%)
Vietnam: $5.49 billion (1.7%)
France: $5.45 billion (1.7%)

Chinese will be happy if their phones got burnt as people will replace these with new Chinese phones.

There is a very strong possibility that the printer used to print those images and the camera to take those photographs were both made in China.

Perhaps, the Oil, the matches and Oxygen weren't made in China.

I have respect for Kohli.

For, he paid tribute to the Handwara victims of Indian Army jawams, killed by Kashmiri militants and did the same thing here, where far more lives were lost.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Salute and deepest respect to the soldiers who sacrificed their lives to protect our country in the Galwan Valley. NO one is more selfless and brave than a soldier. Sincere condolences to the families. I hope they find peace through our prayers at this difficult time. &#55357;&#56911;</p>— Virat Kohli (@imVkohli) <a href="https://twitter.com/imVkohli/status/1273115806067548162?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Paying tribute on social media isn't necessary. But if you are doing to publicly pay tribute for one case and remain completely silent over another, far more serious incident, then it does beg the question:

Are certain deaths better for the PR than the others?

I have deleted some racist stuff about Chinese and posts that were referring to it - be very careful.

China and India have accused each other of provoking fighting in which at least 20 Indian soldiers were killed in a disputed Himalayan area.

The Indian army said that both sides suffered casualties, but there has been no word on numbers from China yet.

Tuesday's battle was reportedly fought with rocks and clubs. However, no shots were fired.

The Indian army said a number of its troops "were critically injured in the line of duty".

The statement goes on to note that the injured soldiers were also "exposed to sub-zero temperatures in the high altitude terrain ".

An extraordinary escalation 'with rocks and clubs'
Monday's confrontation in the Ladakh region was the first deadly clash in the border area in at least 45 years.

India said China had tried to "unilaterally change the status quo". Beijing accused Indian troops of "attacking Chinese personnel".

The two armies later held talks to try to defuse tensions.

What happened?
Early on Tuesday, the Indian army said three of its soldiers had died in a clash in Ladakh, in the disputed Kashmir region.

It later said that "17 Indian troops who were critically injured in the line of duty" and died from their injuries, taking the "total that were killed in action to 20".

Both sides insist no bullet has been fired in four decades, and the Indian army said on Tuesday that "no shots were fired" in this latest skirmish.

How a clash that did not involve an exchange of fire could prove so lethal is unclear, but local media outlets reported that the Indian soldiers had been "beaten to death".

What have both sides said about the incident?
India's external affairs ministry accused China of breaking an agreement struck the previous week to respect the Line of Actual Control (LAC).

Foreign ministry spokesman Anurag Srivastava said the clash arose from "an attempt by the Chinese side to unilaterally change the status quo" on the border.

China did not confirm the number of casualties, but accused India in turn of crossing the border onto the Chinese side.

"The arrogance and recklessness of the Indian side is the main reason for the consistent tensions along China-India borders," read an editorial in the Chinese state-run Global Times on Wednesday.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has yet to publicly address the issue, something that was pointed out by Rahul Gandhi, former leader of the opposition Indian National Congress party.

The United Nations has urged both sides "to exercise maximum restraint".

"We take positive note of reports that the two countries have engaged to de-escalate the situation," UN associate spokesperson Eri Kaneko said.

A US State Department spokesman, meanwhile, said it was "closely monitoring" the situation and that the US supports a peaceful resolution.

How tense is the area?

The LAC is poorly demarcated. The presence of rivers, lakes and snowcaps means the line can shift. The soldiers either side - representing two of the world's largest armies - come face-to-face at many points.

But there have been tense confrontations along the border in recent weeks.

India has accused China of sending thousands of troops into Ladakh's Galwan valley and says China occupies 38,000sq km (14,700sq miles) of its territory. Several rounds of talks in the last three decades have failed to resolve the boundary disputes.

The two countries have fought only one war so far, in 1962, when India suffered a humiliating defeat.

In May, dozens of Indian and Chinese soldiers exchanged physical blows on the border in the north-eastern state of Sikkim. And in 2017, the two countries clashed in the region after China tried to extend a border road through a disputed plateau.

There are several reasons why tensions are rising now - but competing strategic goals lie at the root, and both sides blame each other.

India has built a new road in what experts say is the most remote and vulnerable area along the LAC in Ladakh. And India's decision to ramp up infrastructure seems to have infuriated Beijing.

The road could boost Delhi's capability to move men and materiel rapidly in case of a conflict.

India also disputes part of Kashmir - an ethnically diverse Himalayan region covering about 140,000sq km - with Pakistan.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-53073338

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Commanding Officer of the Chinese Unit involved in the face-off with Indian troops in the Galwan Valley among those killed: Sources confirm to ANI <a href="https://t.co/MWbEUZezba">pic.twitter.com/MWbEUZezba</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273127130520584193?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Hopefully, Chinese themselves, Indian Army officials or international observers can verify such claims for a better credibility, since Indian media is Indian media, after all.

I read somewhere that China had captured many indian soldiers on a hill and threatned to push them to death. Allthough this sounds strange it can explain why so many died? I think it was a tweet from some journalist in TOI.

Anything can be true brother.

We need clarity from both governments about what exactly happened. In this day and age, I do not see the point of withholding the information.

"It is looking bad, very bad," says security analyst Vipin Narang, of the deadly clash between Indian and Chinese soldiers in Ladakh on Monday night.

The most serious face-off on the world's longest unsettled land border in nearly half a century left 20 Indian soldiers dead. India says both sides suffered casualties.

"Once fatalities are sustained, keeping everything quiet becomes hard on both sides. Now public pressure becomes a variable," Dr Narang, a security studies professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, told me.

"The scale, scope and swathe of the pressure across the border is seemingly unprecedented."

The two nuclear armed neighbours have a chequered history of face-offs and overlapping territorial claims along the more than 3,440km (2,100 mile), poorly drawn Line of Actual Control (LAC) separating the two sides. Border patrols have often bumped into each other, resulting in occasional scuffles. But no bullets have been fired in four decades.

That is why the latest clash, following months of roiling tension, has taken many by surprise.

"It is an extraordinary escalation," Shashank Joshi, Defence Editor at The Economist magazine, told me. "No shots fired for 45 years, and then at least 20 soldiers dead in one evening in rock-throwing and bludgeoning." The clash comes amid fresh tensions between the two powers, which have brawled along the border in recent weeks but not exchanged any gunfire.

Reports say in early May, Chinese forces put up tents, dug trenches and moved heavy equipment several kilometres inside what had been regarded by India as its territory in Galwan valley in Ladakh. Ajai Shukla, a leading Indian defence analyst, has claimed that China had captured 60 sq km of Indian-patrolled territory in the area in the past one month. India claims China already occupies 38,000sq km (about 14,700sq miles) of its territory.

The move came after India built a road several hundred kilometres long connecting to a high-altitude forward air base which it reactivated in 2008.

'One of the most serious crises in years'

The details of how Monday's skirmish unfolded remain fuzzy.

India and China are accusing each other of violating the consensus to respect the Line of Actual Control that separates the both sides in the Galwan Valley.

India says the two sides have been exploring military and diplomatic channels to de-escalate the situation and that senior commanders had a "productive meeting" on 6 June. They agreed "on a process of de-escalation" and subsequently, the ground commanders had a series of meetings to implement the consensus, India's foreign ministry said.

India said both sides suffered casualties after the Chinese "unilaterally tried to change the status quo." And China accuses India troops of "violating" the consensus, crossing the border twice and carrying out provocative attacks on Chinese personnel".

Ankit Panda, a senior editor at The Diplomat magazine, says the ongoing crisis was "already among the most serious between the two countries - certainly since the 2017 Doklam standoff and possibly much longer". Road construction by the Chinese triggered a 73-day standoff in 2017 at a junction of India, China and Bhutan.

But Chinese behaviour this time has "been very different from what we have seen in the past," Shivshankar Menon, a China expert and a former national security advisor, says.

"What we have seen is multiple incidents, multiple moves forward and China occupying spaces which it never occupied before along the LAC. This is a worrying sign because it's different from Chinese behaviour in the past," Mr Menon told interviewer Karan Thapar in The Wire, an independent online news portal.

Theories abound on the reasons behind China's actions in the area.

In a tactical sense, Delhi's beefing up of the border infrastructure may have triggered the Chinese army into action in Ladakh. The pandemic may have provided the cover for China to act, particularly as the Indian army had delayed exercises in Ladakh in March. "But I doubt it was the only cause," says Mr Joshi.

"Is it about the road? Is it about Article 370 [India's action of unilaterally changing the status quo of Kashmir in August last year] Is it broader aggressiveness? We don't know," says Dr Narang. "But it is tense and it is not over."

Mr Menon, who served as India's ambassador to China, believes that China is resorting to strident nationalism, due to "domestic and economic stresses" at home. "You can see it in their behaviour in Yellow Sea, towards Taiwan, passing laws without consulting Hong Kong, more assertive on India's border, a tariff war with Australia."

On Tuesday evening, India said the troops had disengaged from the clash site. Early reports suggest that established military channels were being used and both sides were not escalating. "That's good news for India, which has few credible retaliatory options in the current environment," says Mr Panda.

Mr Joshi believes the most important consequences of Monday's clashes will be the "wider and long-term diplomatic one".

"For 10 years, Sino-Indian rivalry has steadily intensified, but remained largely stable," he said. India and China have also been more engaged. Bilateral trade increased 67 times between 1998 and 2012, and China is India's largest trading partner in goods. Indian students have flocked to Chinese universities. Both sides have held joint military exercises.

"Now we may be entering a new period of heightened mistrust and antagonism washing away much of the bonhomie on display at the Wuhan summit in 2018," says Mr Joshi.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-53071913

Have you been to Ladakh or a similar high altitude errain? You wouldn't be saying this if you did.

We could not withstand Khardung La pass climate for 10 minutes even and we went in June.

Anything can be true brother.

We need clarity from both governments about what exactly happened. In this day and age, I do not see the point of withholding the information.

It is very important to withhold information in this day and age, especially when it is sensitive information.

PLA Death Squads Hunted Down Indian Troops in Galwan in Savage Execution Spree, Say Survivors

The killings mark the Indian Army’s worst losses since the 1999 Kargil war, and mark the most intense fighting between India and China since 1967.

Furious hand-to-hand fighting raged across the Galwan river valley for over eight hours on Monday night, as People’s Liberation Army assault teams armed with iron rods as well as batons wrapped in barbed wire hunted down and slaughtered troops of the 16 Bihar Regiment, a senior government official familiar with the debriefing of survivors at hospitals in Leh has told News18.

The savage combat, with few parallels in the history of modern armies, is confirmed to have claimed the lives of at least 23 Indian soldiers, including 16 Bihar’s commanding officer, Colonel Santosh Babu, many because of protracted exposure to sub-zero temperatures the Indian Army said late on Tuesday.

Even unarmed men who fled into the hillsides were hunted down and killed,” one officer said. “The dead include men who jumped into the Galwan river in a desperate effort to escape.

Government sources say at least another two dozen soldiers are battling life-threatening injuries, and over 110 have needed treatment. “The toll will likely go up,” a military officer with knowledge of the issue said.

The fighting at Galwan, News18 had first reported on Tuesday, began after troops under Colonel Babu’s command dismantled a Chinese tent sent up near a position code-named Patrol Point 14, close to the mouth of the Galwan river. The tent had been dismantled following a meeting between Lieutenant General Harinder Singh, who commands the Leh-based XIV Corps, and Major-General Lin Liu, the head of the Xinjiang military district

Inside two days of the disengagement agreed to at the two Generals’ meeting in Chushul, though, the PLA set up a fresh tent at Patrol Point 14, inside territory claimed by India. Colonel Babu’s unit, government sources said, was ordered to ensure the tent was removed.

For reasons that remain unclear, the PLA refused to vacate Point 14 — reneging on the June 6 agreement — leading to a melee in which the Chinese tent was burned down, the sources said. In ongoing dialogue with division-level military commanders of the two armies in Galwan, a bid to bring about de-escalation, the PLA has alleged troops of the 16 Bihar were responsible for the incident.

The PLA, government sources have said, alleges Colonel Babu’s troops crossed a buffer zone separating the two sides, violating border-management protocols which mandates the use of white flags and banners to signal to the other side that it must turn back from the territory it is on.

The burning of the tent, the sources said, was followed by stone-pelting on Sunday, and then a massive Monday night attack on the 16 Bihar’s unprepared troops. Large rocks were also thrown towards the Indian positions by Chinese troops stationed on the high ridge above Point 14, one source said. Though some fought back using the improvised weapons carried by the PLA, most had no means of defence.

Large numbers of dead bodies, Indian military officials say, were handed over by the PLA on Monday morning — possibly men dragged away in the course of hand-to-hand fighting, and then killed.

The killings mark the Indian Army’s worst losses since the 1999 Kargil war, and mark the most intense fighting between India and China since 1967, when 88 Indian soldiers and perhaps as many as 340 PLA troops were killed in the course of intense skirmishes near the Nathu La and Cho La passes, the gateways to the strategically-vital Chumbi valley.

Beijing has issued no official statement on the numbers of casualties the PLA suffered in in the fighting, but the Indian Army claims it has intercepted military communication suggesting over 40 PLA soldiers may also have been killed or injured.

Earlier, on May 5, Indian and Chinese troops, as well as border guards, had engaged in similar, brutal fighting near the Pangong Lake, south of the Galwan valley. The commanding officer of the 11 Mahar Regiment, Colonel Vijay Rana, is still being treated for life-threatening wounds sustaining during the fighting, army sources say.

“There are obviously questions the public will want answers to,” a senior government official told News18, “including why the troops under attack at Galwan could not be supported, and why casualties could not be evacuated. The government will conduct a full investigation of these issues.”

No explanation has been offered for why the PLA pitched a tent at Point 14 after agreeing to a withdrawal. In addition to a drawdown at Point 14, the June 6 agreement had mandated an end to a standoff unfolding at another location code-named Point 15, and a withdrawal of troops and armoured personnel carriers stationed at the third location, Point 17.

Experts believe the crisis unfolding along the LAC is driven by China’s concerns that India’s development of logistical infrastructure could lead it to occupy contested territories it has until now only been able to patrol.

In maps published in 1962, after the end of the China-India war that year, the PLA asserted it had established control of the entire Galwan valley. Lightly-armed Indian troops of the 5 Jat Regiment, whose supply lines had been choked for months, held out against an entire PLA battalion at one key post in Galwan, losing 32 of the 68 troops stationed there before running out of ammunition.

Following the war, though, the PLA pulled back from its 1962 line, allowing Indian troops to resume patrolling ground dozens of kilometres to the east of the 1962 line, reaching the positions that India claims to be the LAC.

In the 1980s, China launched major border-works programmes which led several areas claimed by India to lie on its side of the LAC — like the Finger 8 ridge in Pangong — to be physically held by the PLA.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/p...ge-execution-spree-say-survivors-2673347.html

These are some very insightful new findings. Not sure how reliable this is. It is Indian Media after all.

Even I as a Pakistani would feel hesitant to jump the popular narrative and credit Pakistani Army and ISI for these latest incidens.

However some Indians are starting to draw some conclusions already. To them it seems that instead of Hafee Saeed and Jaish, President Xi and China are pakistan's new proxy war assets.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I think people know which is the country that has given the supari to do this to India.</p>— Chetan Bhagat (@chetan_bhagat) <a href="https://twitter.com/chetan_bhagat/status/1273134124207923203?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Don't know who this guy is but has over 12mil followers

PLA Death Squads Hunted Down Indian Troops in Galwan in Savage Execution Spree, Say Survivors

The killings mark the Indian Army’s worst losses since the 1999 Kargil war, and mark the most intense fighting between India and China since 1967.

Furious hand-to-hand fighting raged across the Galwan river valley for over eight hours on Monday night, as People’s Liberation Army assault teams armed with iron rods as well as batons wrapped in barbed wire hunted down and slaughtered troops of the 16 Bihar Regiment, a senior government official familiar with the debriefing of survivors at hospitals in Leh has told News18.

The savage combat, with few parallels in the history of modern armies, is confirmed to have claimed the lives of at least 23 Indian soldiers, including 16 Bihar’s commanding officer, Colonel Santosh Babu, many because of protracted exposure to sub-zero temperatures the Indian Army said late on Tuesday.

Even unarmed men who fled into the hillsides were hunted down and killed,” one officer said. “The dead include men who jumped into the Galwan river in a desperate effort to escape.

Government sources say at least another two dozen soldiers are battling life-threatening injuries, and over 110 have needed treatment. “The toll will likely go up,” a military officer with knowledge of the issue said.

The fighting at Galwan, News18 had first reported on Tuesday, began after troops under Colonel Babu’s command dismantled a Chinese tent sent up near a position code-named Patrol Point 14, close to the mouth of the Galwan river. The tent had been dismantled following a meeting between Lieutenant General Harinder Singh, who commands the Leh-based XIV Corps, and Major-General Lin Liu, the head of the Xinjiang military district

Inside two days of the disengagement agreed to at the two Generals’ meeting in Chushul, though, the PLA set up a fresh tent at Patrol Point 14, inside territory claimed by India. Colonel Babu’s unit, government sources said, was ordered to ensure the tent was removed.

For reasons that remain unclear, the PLA refused to vacate Point 14 — reneging on the June 6 agreement — leading to a melee in which the Chinese tent was burned down, the sources said. In ongoing dialogue with division-level military commanders of the two armies in Galwan, a bid to bring about de-escalation, the PLA has alleged troops of the 16 Bihar were responsible for the incident.

The PLA, government sources have said, alleges Colonel Babu’s troops crossed a buffer zone separating the two sides, violating border-management protocols which mandates the use of white flags and banners to signal to the other side that it must turn back from the territory it is on.

The burning of the tent, the sources said, was followed by stone-pelting on Sunday, and then a massive Monday night attack on the 16 Bihar’s unprepared troops. Large rocks were also thrown towards the Indian positions by Chinese troops stationed on the high ridge above Point 14, one source said. Though some fought back using the improvised weapons carried by the PLA, most had no means of defence.

Large numbers of dead bodies, Indian military officials say, were handed over by the PLA on Monday morning — possibly men dragged away in the course of hand-to-hand fighting, and then killed.

The killings mark the Indian Army’s worst losses since the 1999 Kargil war, and mark the most intense fighting between India and China since 1967, when 88 Indian soldiers and perhaps as many as 340 PLA troops were killed in the course of intense skirmishes near the Nathu La and Cho La passes, the gateways to the strategically-vital Chumbi valley.

Beijing has issued no official statement on the numbers of casualties the PLA suffered in in the fighting, but the Indian Army claims it has intercepted military communication suggesting over 40 PLA soldiers may also have been killed or injured.

Earlier, on May 5, Indian and Chinese troops, as well as border guards, had engaged in similar, brutal fighting near the Pangong Lake, south of the Galwan valley. The commanding officer of the 11 Mahar Regiment, Colonel Vijay Rana, is still being treated for life-threatening wounds sustaining during the fighting, army sources say.

“There are obviously questions the public will want answers to,” a senior government official told News18, “including why the troops under attack at Galwan could not be supported, and why casualties could not be evacuated. The government will conduct a full investigation of these issues.”

No explanation has been offered for why the PLA pitched a tent at Point 14 after agreeing to a withdrawal. In addition to a drawdown at Point 14, the June 6 agreement had mandated an end to a standoff unfolding at another location code-named Point 15, and a withdrawal of troops and armoured personnel carriers stationed at the third location, Point 17.

Experts believe the crisis unfolding along the LAC is driven by China’s concerns that India’s development of logistical infrastructure could lead it to occupy contested territories it has until now only been able to patrol.

In maps published in 1962, after the end of the China-India war that year, the PLA asserted it had established control of the entire Galwan valley. Lightly-armed Indian troops of the 5 Jat Regiment, whose supply lines had been choked for months, held out against an entire PLA battalion at one key post in Galwan, losing 32 of the 68 troops stationed there before running out of ammunition.

Following the war, though, the PLA pulled back from its 1962 line, allowing Indian troops to resume patrolling ground dozens of kilometres to the east of the 1962 line, reaching the positions that India claims to be the LAC.

In the 1980s, China launched major border-works programmes which led several areas claimed by India to lie on its side of the LAC — like the Finger 8 ridge in Pangong — to be physically held by the PLA.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/p...ge-execution-spree-say-survivors-2673347.html

These are some very insightful new findings. Not sure how reliable this is. It is Indian Media after all.

Worst defeat since Kargil 1999 what?? :))

I dont believe this movie style plot. Guns would have been used to kill each other...

Worst defeat since Kargil 1999 what?? :))

It says "worst losses".

That has a different meaning then "defeat" in a war.

One could argue the Pulwama attack saw a bigger number of casaulties and was the "bigger loss" for Indian Army Jawans than this incident.

Even I as a Pakistani would feel hesitant to jump the popular narrative and credit Pakistani Army and ISI for these latest incidens.

However some Indians are starting to draw some conclusions already. To them it seems that instead of Hafee Saeed and Jaish, President Xi and China are pakistan's new proxy war assets.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I think people know which is the country that has given the supari to do this to India.</p>— Chetan Bhagat (@chetan_bhagat) <a href="https://twitter.com/chetan_bhagat/status/1273134124207923203?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Don't know who this guy is but has over 12mil followers

Supari as in Naz Paan Masala Saunf Supari? Or is that a euphemism for something else?

It says "worst losses".

That has a different meaning then "defeat" in a war.

One could argue the Pulwama attack saw a bigger number of casaulties and was the "bigger loss" for Indian Army Jawans than this incident.

Worst losses of lives since Kargil 1999..At least read the report properly lol, your are behaving like you right wing media.

My bad guys.

Probably true then

These Chinese seems to be a special kind and not referring to their eating habits here.

Instead of taking about their losses and some acknowledgement of their soldier's sacrifices, they are taking about military exercises "in a high-elevation mountainous region" :

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">China recently conducted joint exercises in a high-elevation mountainous region featuring advanced tanks, long-range artillery systems, ground-to-air missile systems, special forces and army aviation troops amid China-India border tensions. <a href="https://t.co/rjZhUlBjZq">https://t.co/rjZhUlBjZq</a> <a href="https://t.co/SJiDDN6bQj">pic.twitter.com/SJiDDN6bQj</a></p>— Global Times (@globaltimesnews) <a href="https://twitter.com/globaltimesnews/status/1273095522858029056?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Supari as in Naz Paan Masala Saunf Supari? Or is that a euphemism for something else?

It may be the Paan Masala, couldn't find any other meaning.

Local Indian metaphor this, hard to decipher.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">भारत और चीन के बीच <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GalwanValley?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GalwanValley</a> के पास चीनी सैनिकों के साथ हुई झड़प में भारत के 20 जवान शहीद हुए। हाईलेवल बैठकों का दौर जारी है और चीन को जवाब देने की रणनीति बनाई जा रही है। देखिए <a href="https://twitter.com/ashraf_wani?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ashraf_wani</a> की <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ReporterDiary?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ReporterDiary</a> | <a href="https://t.co/mf6keLEwEb">https://t.co/mf6keLEwEb</a> <a href="https://t.co/TXREY8aw7M">pic.twitter.com/TXREY8aw7M</a></p>— AajTak (@aajtak) <a href="https://twitter.com/aajtak/status/1273130701655871489?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday demanded to know about the violent confrontation between Indian and Chinese armies along the undefined Line of Actual Control (LAC) at Galwan Valley in eastern Ladakh.

The Indian Army has said 20 of its soldiers, including a commanding officer, had been killed in clashes with Chinese troops in a major escalation of a weeks-long standoff between the two neighbours in the western Himalayas.

“Why is the PM silent? Why is he hiding? Enough is enough. We need to know what has happened,” Gandhi tweeted.

“How dare China kill our soldiers? How dare they take our land?” he asked.

The Indian Army said in a statement that the troops have disengaged since Monday’s scrap and confirmed the number of dead at 20. Indian Army officials claimed 43 Chinese were killed or seriously injured, citing radio intercepts and other intelligence.

HT couldn’t independently verify this.

The immediate spark for the conflict at Galwan Valley in eastern Ladakh isn’t known, although it could have been about Chinese soldiers dragging their feet about removing some of the installations they erected in May in an area India claims as its own.

Anurag Srivastava, the ministry of external affairs’ spokesperson, has blamed Chinese troops for the incident and referred to the meeting between army commanders of the two sides on June 6 that agreed “on a process of de-escalation” after the two sides deployed heavily on their respective sides of the LAC, which has never been defined.

Colonel Zhang Shuili, a spokesperson for the People’s Liberation Army’s (PLA) Western Theater Command, in turn, blamed India for the clashes, on similar lines that the Chinese foreign ministry did earlier.

These are the first Indian casualties in a border skirmish with PLA since October 1975 when Chinese troops ambushed an Indian patrol in Arunachal Pradesh’s Tulung La sector and shot four soldiers dead.

No shots were fired this time.

HT has learnt rival soldiers exchanged blows, threw stones at each other and Chinese troops even attacked Indian soldiers with rods and nail-studded clubs during the brawl that went on for over six hours.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...ey-face-off/story-JEryNJdiGaopyx6e4aydMI.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Will be breaking important news on <a href="https://twitter.com/IndiaToday?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IndiaToday</a> at 12:30 pm. Join in if you want to know what’s going on along the India-China border. <a href="https://t.co/m456uIUsdG">https://t.co/m456uIUsdG</a></p>— Rahul Kanwal (@rahulkanwal) <a href="https://twitter.com/rahulkanwal/status/1273141106562215940?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Hopefully some of our Indian posters can tune in and update us about the big breaking. Perhaps a new statement by Indian officials?

It may be the Paan Masala, couldn't find any other meaning.

Local Indian metaphor this, hard to decipher.

Supari means killing contract given to a hitman. My favourite supari killing gangs are the ones from south india, who crack a coconut after doing the deed.

I haven’t really followed this India-China issue, but let me guess as usual India is the victim, it did nothing wrong and the adventurism was being done by the other party. That’s usually the case with any India - neighbour border clashes.

Well these are very interesting times for Indians and for anti-Modi factions. China has given a glimmer of hope for opposition parties, let's see if they are smart enough to turn the tide around. Chinese drilled a wide hole through Modi's facade and now he has no choice but to reciprocate. This time there will be no farce like surgical strikes as Chinese propaganda machine will be bigger and better than chomu Modi's.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Will be breaking important news on <a href="https://twitter.com/IndiaToday?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IndiaToday</a> at 12:30 pm. Join in if you want to know what’s going on along the India-China border. <a href="https://t.co/m456uIUsdG">https://t.co/m456uIUsdG</a></p>— Rahul Kanwal (@rahulkanwal) <a href="https://twitter.com/rahulkanwal/status/1273141106562215940?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Hopefully some of our Indian posters can tune in and update us about the big breaking. Perhaps a new statement by Indian officials?

No statement really. They have acquired "exclusive" satellite images showing extremely heavy build up on the Chinese side of the buffer zone. The Indian presence is miniscule in comparision. Basically the Chinese have not done any disengagement rather increased their presence since the talks started while we have been caught napping.

Missed it. Will check

It's not a sport, if that's what you are confusing this with.

True. Also, it's not a sport to kill 70,000 Pakistani civilians, plant agents in Pakistani leadership,loot from Kashmiri women and deploy an army of trolls who abuse an entire religion all day long, whilst also plotting to annex a sovereign country.