Congratulations Sachin Tendulkar on hundred 100s! [Finally!]

This thread will be slaughtered ek na ek din just like the Saeed Anwar 194 thread :anwar

Always the Last Man Standing :sachin :boom:

I don't see what's the fuss about him scoring 100th 100. It's just one more century and he is going to score it sooner or later unless his career ends abruptly due to an injury.
The milestone is big, yeah, but he has already achieved so much.. There is so much to cherish.. It's not like scoring another hundred will shut up his critics and everyone in the world will suddenly get into an "awwww" state.

I don't see what's the fuss about him scoring 100th 100. It's just one more century and he is going to score it sooner or later unless his career ends abruptly due to an injury.
The milestone is big, yeah, but he has already achieved so much.. There is so much to cherish.. It's not like scoring another hundred will shut up his critics and everyone in the world will suddenly get into an "awwww" state.

This !! Spot on mate...

Nahi yaar, and thank god. In hindsight, had SRT scored a 100th 100 then there’s be no trilogy!

I am however applying the finishing touches on the sequel! Almost ready!

Get your priorities right NH..where's the paper which was due for release within a month about three months ago? :P

welcome back SID :)
these days u r not defending sachin ,
i know as a commander of Sachin Defense Force u should do more :9:

This thread will be slaughtered ek na ek din just like the Saeed Anwar 194 thread :anwar

Always the Last Man Standing :sachin :boom:

The 194 was lost because of a lack of attention from posters when Teenda was coming up to the milestone. I will not be so careless :moyo

welcome back SID :)
these days u r not defending sachin ,
i know as a commander of Sachin Defense Force u should do more :9:

Thanks. Hope you velu, the ever obedient pawn in NH's anti Sachin brigade had a great time here :)

The 194 was lost because of a lack of attention from posters when Teenda was coming up to the milestone. I will not be so careless :moyo

They were all glued to TV watching the great one bat :sachin

Thanks. Hope you velu, the ever obedient pawn in NH's anti Sachin brigade had a great time here :)

pawn is the one who does real fighting :).
anyway i m not in anti sachin brigade, but i m in anti sachin fanboys brigade ( sachinsta ) :)))

You crack me up Sid! Pawn? This isn’t Chess. You mean thorn. If you are going to talk in cliches then at least learn how to use them.

Based on this I doubt you'd understand the preface of my paper let alone the premise.

Stick with moving pictures and audio Sid - Sequel soon to be released! ;-)

Hai guise, at this opportune moment I'd like to reinforce that Sachin is a good human being and deserves his 100th 100. Congrats Tenda.

:fawad

hahaha, was looking for this thread.

great player is Tendu, DESERVES this record...

It's not going to happen in this test. Unless, RSD goes into shell, which is not going to happen. Both are likely to score 50% of runs of target.

And this is not a jinx post. :yk

If both stay till the end, SRT will have his 100 as he will for sure outscore Dravid.

I was not aware that this is a jinx thread :facepalm:.
ha ha..he can score his 100 tomorrow
You jinxed him you TRAITOR!!!!:zardari

And since you brought a bit indian factor into the jinx it will work even more. It's all your fault!!!:shabbir:sachin

Maybe the indians or pro-sachin fans should make an anti-jinx thread? As a neutral it would be funny to see which one works. I'm not sure if the mods will tolerate it but if this one is allowed then the anti-jinx one should be allowed too, no?

Sachin you couldn't get a 100 even After Youni Bhai wished you luck!

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zGgOa6MD0m0?version=3"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zGgOa6MD0m0?version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="390"></object>

This is too good, I can't believe it. :)))

By wishing Good Luck he was jinxing him Younis Khan was the real jinxer for me. :yk

Can't believe I missed this thread before.

You jinxed him you TRAITOR!!!!:zardari

And since you brought a bit indian factor into the jinx it will work even more. It's all your fault!!!:shabbir:sachin

Maybe the indians or pro-sachin fans should make an anti-jinx thread? As a neutral it would be funny to see which one works. I'm not sure if the mods will tolerate it but if this one is allowed then the anti-jinx one should be allowed too, no?

wont change much..
if we create anti-jinx thread, you guys will create anti anti-jinx thread to nullify it :D

Edit:-
f_c heard you, anti-jinx is on the way

If both stay till the end, SRT will have his 100 as he will for sure outscore Dravid.

It's not likely to happen, let him score at his home ground, it will be perfect treat for them. :P He needs to score 67 out of 124. Not an easy task, as it sounds, as neither SRT nor RSD are Viru. Remember the one that SRT played coverdrive by bending his knee, he needs to play whole inning like this. Will take some effort if he gets 100.

wont change much..
if we create anti-jinx thread, you guys will create anti anti-jinx thread to nullify it :D

Edit:-
f_c heard you, anti-jinx is on the way

No need for the anti-anti-jinx thread because the anti-jinx thread won't have the enough aura to compete with the jinx thread.

:aaqib

what a embarrassing way to be dismissed too.

perfect start to the day :malik

I am gonna support this jinkx thread for this whole series dont want SRT to score his 100th 100 vs a minnow side like WI, hope he gets it in Australia in a few months..

Trust me Tendulkar will scratch together a 100 by hook or crook against WI in India. Its his best chance.

He is simply prolonging his stay in the Indian cricket team to bolster his career numbers, its quite pathetic actually.

Trust me Tendulkar will scratch together a 100 by hook or crook against WI in India. Its his best chance.

He is simply prolonging his stay in the Indian cricket team to bolster his career numbers, its quite pathetic actually.

Not to his fans, majority of the 1 billion and thats all that matters, we rather someone playing for himself than playing for the bookies like a: Wasim, Inzi, Saeed, Azahruddin, JAdeja, Prabhakar...

I am gonna support this jinkx thread for this whole series dont want SRT to score his 100th 100 vs a minnow side like WI, hope he gets it in Australia in a few months..

Disagree. I'd rather see him finish the damn thing before he heads to Aus. Will be in a clearer frame of mind. Media and other's hype does affect him and I think the way he was playing today after the game was more or less sealed, it would appear, even he prefers it getting done with.

As for the OP, hopefully this was in keeping with it in a roundabout way :D

Disagree. I'd rather see him finish the damn thing before he heads to Aus. Will be in a clearer frame of mind. Media and other's hype does affect him and I think the way he was playing today after the game was more or less sealed, it would appear, even he prefers it getting done with.

As for the OP, hopefully this was in keeping with it in a roundabout way :D

Nahh I stick to my original post I dont want the 100 coming against WI, it would be worth it in AUS ........

SRT will score his 100th 100 against minnows WI, it's the only way he knows how to.

SRT bunked the WI tour after the WC for the sake of limelight at the home of cricket, cough cough, white wash later, and destiny has brought SRT back in line to face WI.

No son, you are not scoring your 100th 100 against a superior team, away, nope you’ll score your 100th 100 at home, against a minnow team.

Can you say bitter sweet irony?

He was plumb but not given.

Now spoons a straight forward catch off a longhop.

His wicket isn't even treasured by the Windies. Just going about their business.

I have to go to uni, so won't see this 'epic' moment.

Congratz Sachin!

Good need to keep this going till the end of the WI tour... Want SRT to get the 100 in Aus...

Now Laxman and Dravid should take the score to a mammoth total due to which India wont have to bat again . Next Match Tendulkar must rest and turn up directly for the boxing day Test .

i though today he would get it ,, as he look in good touch,, but i think his luck ran out ,

Sachin is never going to get this. It's sad how the whole of India cares only about this dumbos hundred. I wonder how his teammates feel.

Small correction....

It's sad how the whole of dumbos cares only about this hundred.

Sachin is going to get it eventually,just like the other 99 he scored.:)

he will get it ,
in this series against westindies definitely,,

if not the test's then in the odi's

dont worry indian fans.

It is quite a damning indictment on the state of Indian cricket 'fanship' that we see comments like:

"Arrgh! No #100, and no 13,000 runs. What a waste of a day" - Generic Indian poster, Generic Indian rant comment.

...when India clearly outplayed West Indies and ending on 346/5.

Team game fellas.

[utube]iAouiR2F_Ps[/utube]

jab khul kar khele ga apna tendulkar :))):))):))) :hamster::hamster::hamster:

is song ki nazar lag gi choto ko :P

So, if he does not do it in MUmbai, will the Mumbai crowd booooo him like they did against test match vs England?

That's why, they would be hoping he should do it there, if he doesn't do it, then It will be fate's punishment for them, if he does score there that means, they are forgiven. :P

BTW. Crowd was forgiven when SRT lift the WC trophy there.

Hundredth hundred, did you say?

Why our latest national obsession is a fake, hybrid milestone that will tell us nothing about Sachin that we don’t already know

It was a cool March afternoon in Bangalore. Inzamam-ul-Haq, captain spiritual, with a deadpan face that concealed a devilish mind and incredible comic timing, was addressing a roomful of eager cricket reporters at the Chinnaswamy stadium.

Question: (with much head-shaking, much sanctimony) Inzy bhai, Anil Kumble took his 450th Test wicket in this series. Do you think that makes him a truly great bowler?
Answer: (a pause, a tiny yawn; all very deliberate) I thought he was great even when he’d taken 449.

Inzamam’s sublime attempt at providing some perspective has clearly been wasted on cricket’s hunger for individual milestones. The craving is never more apparent than when we’re dealing with Sachin Tendulkar, who has spent the last 22 years breaking records with such regularity that it should’ve started to bore us by now. But instead of accepting that he will continue to cross milestones as long as he plays, we choose to obsess about each one.

Things have now reached a point where we’ve started doing inane additions to make up landmarks of our own. The latest craze, 100 internationals centuries, is one such ridiculous example. First, it tells us nothing that we don’t already know: that Sachin is consistent, and that he’s been playing for a really long time. Second, this needless mixing of two different kinds of cricket should have been a part of a drunken pub conversation, which should’ve gone something like this:

“You know Sachin has now hit 99 hundreds, if you add his Test and ODI tons.”

“But why would you add them?”

“No, just saying, if you added them.”

“Don’t be silly. Next you’ll add his Test and ODI wickets and say he’s one short of 200 international wickets (which, incidentally, is true).”

“Wouldn’t that be cool. Then Sachin would be the only player in the world ever with 100 international hundreds and 200 international wickets.”

“Shut up.”

Sport is supposed to be less about numbers and more about moments in which those numbers are born. That’s why a 136 in Chennai is more than Test century No 18, or a 241 in Sydney, played entirely on the on-side, more than No 32. The 35th Test century in 2005, for which we had to wait almost a year, was important because, with it, Sachin broke a barrier, and ended a long wait. One hoped it would give him the freedom to play without the burden of milestones hanging around his neck.

His most meaningful statistic since then was the one-day double-century because it showed two things: one, that it was possible to breach the magic number in limited-overs cricket, and two, that he could be better than he ever was even in his 21st year in international cricket.

Last week, in Delhi, Tendulkar crossed 15,000 runs in Test cricket (which got the odd mention in the papers) and struck a priceless fourthinnings 76 that ensured India would complete a record Kotla chase to win the first Test against West Indies. We didn’t care about either.

For the last nine months, it’s been hundredth international hundred or nothing. Newspapers have prepared tribute packages, TV channels have recorded shows they’re desperately waiting to air, soft-drink companies have manufactured special cola cans. Every match has been built up as a made-to-order occasion: He’ll get it in the World Cup semi-final against Pakistan; even better, in the final at Wankhede, hitting a match-winning six into the Sachin Tendulkar stand; at Lord’s, the home of cricket; at Leeds, when the chips are down; surely at The Oval, now that he’s into the nineties; in Delhi, during a heroic chase; at the Eden Gardens, the real home of cricket; he’s saving it for a Test in Bombay, in front of his home crowd.

Never mind that the record he’s chasing is a contrived hybrid, a marketing gimmick, there has been so much pressure that it has started affecting him as well. Once Sachin gets “it”, the 101st international century will seem so dour, so useless in comparison. What will we obsess about then?

“Why, the 200th international wicket,” suggests our imaginary friend from the pub.

“Shut up.”

http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/Scripting/ArticleWin.asp?From=Archive&Source=Page&Skin=MIRRORNEW&BaseHref=MMIR/2011/11/15&PageLabel=21&EntityId=Ar02100&ViewMode=HTML

Hundredth hundred, did you say?

Why our latest national obsession is a fake, hybrid milestone that will tell us nothing about Sachin that we don’t already know

It was a cool March afternoon in Bangalore. Inzamam-ul-Haq, captain spiritual, with a deadpan face that concealed a devilish mind and incredible comic timing, was addressing a roomful of eager cricket reporters at the Chinnaswamy stadium.

Question: (with much head-shaking, much sanctimony) Inzy bhai, Anil Kumble took his 450th Test wicket in this series. Do you think that makes him a truly great bowler?
Answer: (a pause, a tiny yawn; all very deliberate) I thought he was great even when he’d taken 449.

Inzamam’s sublime attempt at providing some perspective has clearly been wasted on cricket’s hunger for individual milestones. The craving is never more apparent than when we’re dealing with Sachin Tendulkar, who has spent the last 22 years breaking records with such regularity that it should’ve started to bore us by now. But instead of accepting that he will continue to cross milestones as long as he plays, we choose to obsess about each one.

Things have now reached a point where we’ve started doing inane additions to make up landmarks of our own. The latest craze, 100 internationals centuries, is one such ridiculous example. First, it tells us nothing that we don’t already know: that Sachin is consistent, and that he’s been playing for a really long time. Second, this needless mixing of two different kinds of cricket should have been a part of a drunken pub conversation, which should’ve gone something like this:

“You know Sachin has now hit 99 hundreds, if you add his Test and ODI tons.”

“But why would you add them?”

“No, just saying, if you added them.”

“Don’t be silly. Next you’ll add his Test and ODI wickets and say he’s one short of 200 international wickets (which, incidentally, is true).”

“Wouldn’t that be cool. Then Sachin would be the only player in the world ever with 100 international hundreds and 200 international wickets.”

“Shut up.”

Sport is supposed to be less about numbers and more about moments in which those numbers are born. That’s why a 136 in Chennai is more than Test century No 18, or a 241 in Sydney, played entirely on the on-side, more than No 32. The 35th Test century in 2005, for which we had to wait almost a year, was important because, with it, Sachin broke a barrier, and ended a long wait. One hoped it would give him the freedom to play without the burden of milestones hanging around his neck.

His most meaningful statistic since then was the one-day double-century because it showed two things: one, that it was possible to breach the magic number in limited-overs cricket, and two, that he could be better than he ever was even in his 21st year in international cricket.

Last week, in Delhi, Tendulkar crossed 15,000 runs in Test cricket (which got the odd mention in the papers) and struck a priceless fourthinnings 76 that ensured India would complete a record Kotla chase to win the first Test against West Indies. We didn’t care about either.

For the last nine months, it’s been hundredth international hundred or nothing. Newspapers have prepared tribute packages, TV channels have recorded shows they’re desperately waiting to air, soft-drink companies have manufactured special cola cans. Every match has been built up as a made-to-order occasion: He’ll get it in the World Cup semi-final against Pakistan; even better, in the final at Wankhede, hitting a match-winning six into the Sachin Tendulkar stand; at Lord’s, the home of cricket; at Leeds, when the chips are down; surely at The Oval, now that he’s into the nineties; in Delhi, during a heroic chase; at the Eden Gardens, the real home of cricket; he’s saving it for a Test in Bombay, in front of his home crowd.

Never mind that the record he’s chasing is a contrived hybrid, a marketing gimmick, there has been so much pressure that it has started affecting him as well. Once Sachin gets “it”, the 101st international century will seem so dour, so useless in comparison. What will we obsess about then?

“Why, the 200th international wicket,” suggests our imaginary friend from the pub.

“Shut up.”

http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Defa...5&PageLabel=21&EntityId=Ar02100&ViewMode=HTML

Quite possibly the best article I've read on the subject. Brilliant.

Inzy is just :))

^^^ :)))

Next target is 50th ODI ton. :sachin

and then,

19,000 ODI runs
100th ODI 50
so on..

Watching Edwards and Bravo bat at 298 for 2, it look like this pitch was tailor made for sachin's 100th 100..... Haven't seen a wicket this dead in ages....!!!

He's a dead certainty to make a century on this ground. He could make it with his eyes closed.

I think that a special pitch has been laid at Mumbai.... Hint hint...,

Tendu will get a hundred at Mumbai.... Mark my words.....

WI 447-3. :))) :))) :)))