Coronavirus in Pakistan

It is beyond anybody’s control. This is what happens if you do not do an effective lockdown or enforce social distancing!!

So you are saying about 150 million people have been infected already? And there are only 85,000 identified cases? That would mean that either 99.9% of our cases are asymptomatic or that we as a nation have some sort of superhuman immunity to the virus.

Don't think even 1% of the population has been exposed yet. That is why the situation is so serious. I really don't agree with all these reports about there being hundreds of thousands of unidentified corona patients in Pakistan. It would mean that almost all patients in Pakistan are asymptomatic. Studies from around the world have put the number of asymptomatic cases anywhere from 20-80%. So even in the worst case scenario we should currently have around 400,000 infected.

However, the fact that a smaller portion of the population has been infected should not come as a relief. It infact is the reason why the situation is so dire. It would imply that contrary to most estimates, in the absence of strict mitigation strategies, we are no where near the peak. The cases will most likely continue to increase as the level of activity increases. Countries like Italy and US peaked under strict lockdowns. We are in the totally opposite situation, i really can't see how the outbreak will peak or decline any time soon in these conditions.

Its not about special immunity. We are suffering as much as any other country.

Reported deaths were accurate till one month ago. Now widespread rumours of not allowing last rituals for Covid deaths has changed the dynamics. Everyday I see demands from families of many critically ill patients to take them home. On the pretext that if someone dies with Covid in hospital, family would have to bribe police to get back the dead body.

Daily Number of New Deaths reported one month ago was almost accurate. Now Its way way off and only in-hospital deaths are being counted and reported. If offical number says 70 deaths, true number is 200+.

Add Eid Shopping spree to this and it would multiply high.

Based upon eetimated out of hospital deaths, Eid Mela, from my personal clinical observations and with feedbacks from colleagues, I think majority population has been exposed to Covid by now.

Sindh reports 40 deaths, its highest daily toll, and 1,353 new cases

1,353 new cases of the coronavirus have been confirmed in Sindh, taking the provincial tally to 34,889, the highest of any province in the country.

Sindh also reported 40 new deaths from the virus, its highest daily death toll since the outbreak of the disease, according to Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah. Sindh's overall death toll now stands at 615.

Shah said a total of 7,377 Covid-19 tests were carried out in the last 24 hours, the province's highest number of daily tests so far.

As many as 17,787 patients have so far recovered from the disease in Sindh, the chief minister added.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Announcing highest number of coronavirus patients in a single day in Islamabad.<a href="https://twitter.com/nhsrcofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@nhsrcofficial</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronavirusOutbreak?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronavirusOutbreak</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/wearmasks?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#wearmasks</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WashHands?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WashHands</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Islamabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Islamabad</a> <a href="https://t.co/BruMU6gbK8">pic.twitter.com/BruMU6gbK8</a></p>— District Health Office Islamabad (@DhoIslamabad) <a href="https://twitter.com/DhoIslamabad/status/1268881370488733697?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Its not about special immunity. We are suffering as much as any other country.

Reported deaths were accurate till one month ago. Now widespread rumours of not allowing last rituals for Covid deaths has changed the dynamics. Everyday I see demands from families of many critically ill patients to take them home. On the pretext that if someone dies with Covid in hospital, family would have to bribe police to get back the dead body.

Daily Number of New Deaths reported one month ago was almost accurate. Now Its way way off and only in-hospital deaths are being counted and reported. If offical number says 70 deaths, true number is 200+.

Add Eid Shopping spree to this and it would multiply high.

Based upon eetimated out of hospital deaths, Eid Mela, from my personal clinical observations and with feedbacks from colleagues, I think majority population has been exposed to Covid by now.

Will respectfully disgree with you simply based on numbers as I cannot reject your firsthand experiences.

Even if we assume majority of the population to be 51% (you quoted 75% in your post) that is still roughly 110 million people (unless I am missing something). Now I assume by exposed you either mean they
- have the virus
- have come in contact with a carrier
If you mean the former then that simply cannot be true as we only have 85,000 identified case. If millions of people had indeed been exposed or infected we certainly would have had a higher number of sick people and as a result identified cases. If however, you mean exposure to a carrier then that imo does not mean much unless it implies that the exposed person has immunity.

Even if we do have 200 deaths, at a mortality rate of even 1% that would imply 20,000 infections per day. Even with that number there is no way that millions of people have yet been infected. But we are certainly going down that route and the next three months might be quite nightmarish.

Now I assume by exposed you either mean they
- have the virus
- have come in contact with a carrier

We are 15 doctors in my ward. 7 have symptoms. 3 are + and 1 is on high flow Oxygen Supplementation. 2 awaits result of their PCR and other 2 are scheduled to test tomorrow. With these numbers among colleagues from same ward, surely I have had my exposure. So far I haven't got any symptoms but Covid may take 14 days before showing symptoms. If I remain asymptomatic with significant exposure it means either I'm asymptomatic carrier or havent contracted virus. Either way I Will get tested after 14 days.

These are my observations just and not conclusions. Reason for sharing these numbers is my observation that majority population has had their exposure by now. May be 75% or 51% are overestimates but still Exposed-Group is supposed to be very large and exposure hereafter will escalate exponentially because of this large base.

Covid crisis spanning further 03 months is not unlikely. But Let's pray and hope the curves start declining after June.

CASES UPDATE - June 6

Pakistan now has 93,983 Coronavirus cases (+4,734)

Deaths 1,935 (+97)

Recoveries 32,581 (+1,383)

Active cases 59,467 (+3,254)

Punjab 35,308
Sindh 34,889
Islamabad 4,323
Balochistan 5,776
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 12,459
AJK 331
Gilgit Baltistan 897

Pakistan has broken its previous record of the highest single-day deaths ever from the novel coronavirus, reporting 97 fatalities over the last 24 hours, the health ministry said.

With the latest surge, the death toll in the country has reached 1,935.

With 4,734 new cases over the past day, the country’s number of coronavirus cases has reached 93,983, already surpassing China, and landing the country at the 17th spot in terms of coronavirus cases, the data shows. Some 32,581 patients have recovered.

Residents ignore safety in Karachi’s emerging Covid-19 hub

With over 50 new cases, UC-21 in Karachi’s Gulshan-e-Iqbal locality is emerging as the epicentre of the novel coronavirus in the metropolis. But even though four of them have succumbed to Covid-19 since Eidul Fitr, many residents with visible symptoms remain reluctant to get tested.

Like many in the rest of the country, most of them also continue to ignore World Health Organisation guidelines and go about routine lives without masks or social distancing, a visit to the union council revealed. Throngs of people continue to cluster around grocery stores and while banks in the area have instituted measures within premises, there was no sign of social distancing outside them.

“Like the rest of the country, the majority of the people in my union council are not taking any precautionary measures”, UC-21 Chairman Muhammad Adnan Khan admitted. “It is unlikely any Covid-19 awareness messages did not reach them but people neither wear masks nor maintain social distancing,” he complained.

“Both this union council and UC-24 were sealed for 10 days in April due to the growing number of cases,” Adnan said. “Over the last three months, 90 people tested positive and seven lost their lives to the virus.”

“Now, 50 new cases have emerged in my union council and four people have died since Eid. But still they fail to realise the gravity of the situation,” he lamented.

For his part, the UC-21 chairman said he is still overseeing steps to curb the spread of Covid-19. According to him, he has disinfectant sprayed immediately at the residences of infected patients and he also offers support for patients looking to get tested and admitted into hospitals.

“Fear of social boycott makes patients hide their disease. They are even reluctant to ask for disinfectant spray because they are afraid of being identified as Covid-19 carriers,” Adnan said. “Misinformation on social media also has many fearing mistreatment at the hands of hospital staff. Falling prey to all sorts of false information, they think labs are declaring everyone Covid-19 positive.”

“So instead of seeking help, they are choosing to self medicate with all sorts of supposed herbal remedies proliferating on the internet,” he added.

The UC-21 chairman said he and his fellow councillors were doing all they can to spread awareness. “But I appeal to the government to carry out a proper awareness campaign and enforce precautionary measures like wearing masks and ensuring social distancing by means of legislation if need be.”
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2236482/1-residents-ignore-safety-karachis-emerging-covid-19-hub/

In the past 24 hours, Punjab reported 2,164 Coronavirus cases — the highest since the outbreak began

Sindh reports 1,475 new Coronavirus cases in the last 24 hours - the second highest daily toll since the outbreak began

d3f1d0f6-2d4c-4bc4-a872-81de184d5b83.jpg

Asad Umar 'hopes' nation will show discipline as country completes 100 days of virus infections

Planning and Development Minister Asad Umar has said he "hopes" the nation will show the same discipline as before by taking precautionary measures and following standard operating procedures (SOPs) as the country completes 100 days of virus infections.

Addressing a press conference at the National Command and Operation Centre, Umar appealed to leaders of commerce chambers and markets across the country to follow SOPs. "I appeal to all people to show the same discipline as before. For several weeks we saw people showing discipline to quite an extent and following SOPs but it was set aside in last week before Eid."

Asad Umar addressing the media. — DawnNewsTV
He cautioned people to not forward unverified messages on WhatsApp saying that they were "not doing anyone a favour by creating panic". He thanked frontline workers including healthcare workers, policemen and staff at the information ministry for their services.

"The government is increasing beds, ventilators, training doctors and paramedics so that our health system doesn't collapse if cases rise. Most of all, the government is focusing on how we can work together — all departments — to shore up our health system for best response," he said.

Pakistanis: Corona worona kuch nahi hai
Pakistanis: Mein kisi ko nahi janta jis ko corona hai
Pakistani: Khaadi pe sale lagi hai aao lambi line laga kar sub ikhatay pohanch jatay hain

Also Pakistanis: Corona Pakistan mein buhat phael gaya hai, Imran Khan has failed

Jahil quam

Pakistanis: Corona worona kuch nahi hai
Pakistanis: Mein kisi ko nahi janta jis ko corona hai
Pakistani: Khaadi pe sale lagi hai aao lambi line laga kar sub ikhatay pohanch jatay hain

Also Pakistanis: Corona Pakistan mein buhat phael gaya hai, Imran Khan has failed

Jahil quam

the first 3 Pakistanis are different to the last Pakistani

The first 3 Pakistanis are still maintaining that line of thought and i know quite a few of them.

So your point doesnt make sense

And honestly you can replace 'Pakistanis' here with pretty much any nationality and make a similar post adnd it would hold true.

Hospitals in Karachi, Lahore running out of space as cases rise

With hospitals overwhelmed and a sharp rise in the number of deaths, Pakistan's delicate health system is bracing for an imminent peak of novel coronavirus cases.

Numbers here have already surpassed China's, the origin of the virus.

Government officials claim the situation is "under control," but health authorities believe the already stretched health system is unable to handle the lurking influx of Covid-19 patients.

In the country's two most populous cities of Karachi and Lahore, hospitals are already struggling because of a sharp increase in Covid-19 patients in recent weeks.

Some major private hospitals are turning away patients because of a shortage of beds.

"Most of the hospital beds have already been taken by patients, limiting our ability to handle the influx of Covid-19 cases, mainly in the big cities," Dr Faiyaz Alam, an office-bearer of Pakistan Islamic Medical Association (PIMA), a nationwide body of medical professionals, told Anadolu Agency.

Hospitals running short of beds
In Karachi, home to more than 15 million people, and one of the worst-hit cities in the country, 15 government, private and charitable hospitals are dealing with coronavirus patients.

The number of ventilators in those hospitals, according to official figures, are 136.

Just 539 beds and 200 ventilators are available for coronavirus patients in Lahore, according to Punjab's health minister, Yasmeen Rashid.

Punjab and Sindh, which make up more than 71,000 of the country's 95,458 cases, have slightly more than 14,000 beds for coronavirus patients at state-run and private hospitals.

"Dozens of [Covid-19] patients are contacting us on a daily basis seeking admission to the hospitals. But we cannot help them as the hospitals are already running short of beds, both in general wards and the ICUs [intensive care units]," said Alam.

"If the number of cases continue to surge at the current pace, I am afraid hospitals across the country will not be able to handle the situation," he added.

Dr Muhammad Shamvil Ashraf, an official of the Indus Hospital in Karachi, confirmed his facility was already running at "peak capacity".

"The number of patients are growing way higher than the number of beds. Sometimes, we do not have space to keep the patients in the emergency [ward]," he said. "At this stage, my only advice is follow the safety guidelines because if the numbers continue to grow like this, we won't be able to handle them."

Worst is yet to come
The country's Covid-19 tally has reached 95,458 with 1,954 deaths, landing it at the 17th spot worldwide in terms of coronavirus cases.

Pakistan is the worst hit country by the pandemic in the region after India.

Apart from several parliamentarians, dozens of doctors and paramedics have died of the coronavirus.

But doctors, who have been opposing the lifting of a prolonged lockdown, fear the worst is about to come.

"June and July are very crucial as we expect a sharp rise in already fast-increasing coronavirus cases in the country," according to Qaisar Sajjad, secretary-general of Pakistan Medical Association.

"I don't foresee good days ahead vis-a-vis coronavirus cases. They are going to shoot up in coming weeks," he said, cautioning that the country's already fragile health system might collapse following the expected rise in Covid-19 cases.

In addition to choking health facilities, the shortage of trained medical staff is adding to the worsening situation, Sajjad observed.

"Over 2,200 doctors, nurses, and technicians have already gone into self-isolation after getting infected by the virus across the country. Young doctors with no required experience are being pitched to handle ICUs, and ventilators in several hospitals to bridge this gap, which is not good at all," he said.

Salman Haseeb, president of Young Doctors Association (YDA) Punjab, echoed Sajjad’s views.

"We are expecting a spike in numbers of patients in mid-June, there is a chance where we have to choose between saving the life of a patient or a doctor," he said.

Mobile units
The government recently launched a mobile application that provides information about the availability of ventilators in hospitals.

Dr Asad Aslam, a member of the Punjab Corona Experts Advisory Group, said the government is increasing the number of beds and ventilators in state-run hospitals following a possible spike in Covid-19 cases.

"With the increment in numbers of patients, we are increasing the ventilator capacity.

“We have reserved 200 ventilators for critical patients in Lahore alone and will add 100 more by June 30," Aslam, who is also the head of state-run Mayo Hospital Lahore, told Anadolu Agency.

"At present, we are not facing any disturbing situation vis-a-vis availability of beds or ventilators for the patients," he claimed.

A Sindh government spokesman said that the current ventilator occupancy in the province stands at 49 per cent. But Haseeb, the head of the YDA contested that claim.

"The government is fabricating the numbers. Yesterday, a senior anesthetist at Services Hospital [Lahore] died as he could not get a ventilator," he said.

Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Health Dr Zafar Mirza, who effectively acts as health minister, could not be reached despite repeated attempts.

Alam suggested the formation of mobile health units to fight the raging pandemic.

"Hospitals have no more capacity to admit Covid-19 patients. The only option left is to treat them in their homes with the help of mobile health units," he said.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1561728/pakistans-delicate-health-system-braces-for-covid-19-peak

Iran first country to report second wave. We haven't even reached peak of first one :danish

Pakistan reports over 5,000 daily infections for the first time with 445 new cases in Balochistan

Balochistan has reported 445 new coronavirus cases in the last 24 hours, according to the daily situation report released by the provincial health department.

The latest update takes the provincial tally to 6,221.

With these new additions, Pakistan's reported cases for June 6 have reached 5,080, marking the first time that more than 5,000 cases have been reported in a single day since the outbreak hit the country.

KP reports 542 new cases, 20 more deaths from Covid-19

542 new cases of the coronavirus have been confirmed in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, taking the provincial tally to 13,001, according to the KP health department.

The province's overall death toll rose to 561 with 20 new deaths — 12 in Peshawar, two each in Buner, Bajaur and Battagram, and one each in Nowshera and Haripur.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Uploaded by PTI Official Instagram account 5 hours ago.<br><br>Official caption (seen in photo) is “It is important for you [Tiger Force] to ensure that people follow SOPs because we can’t go back to ankther lockdown, because this country can’t afford it.” - PM Imran Khan <a href="https://t.co/UICO7navP5">pic.twitter.com/UICO7navP5</a></p>— Not The Dependent (@DependentNot) <a href="https://twitter.com/DependentNot/status/1269282176006324225?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>t>

https://twitter.com/DependentNot/status/1269282176006324225

Pakistan reports record 5,080 cases in the last 24 hours

Pakistan has reported more than 5,000 coronavirus cases in a single day for the first time since the first case emerged on February 26.

Here's a provincial breakdown of the 5,080 infections reported in the last 24 hours:

Punjab: 2,164
Sindh: 1,475
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: 542
Balochistan: 445
Federal capital Islamabad, Azad Jammu and Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan reported a combined 454 cases.

Islamabad: 377
AJK: 32
Gilgit-Baltistan: 45

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is not iqbal. Who is managing the account these days. Needs to be fired</p>— Ammar Ali Qureshi (@AmmarAliQureshi) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarAliQureshi/status/1269263741507510274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It's amazing how much Imran Khan fakes his whole personality to gain support of naive Pakistanis.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Na urooj de na zawaal de<br>Faqat apni raah pe daal de....<br>- Sayyad Asad Maroof <br>Will upload this soon on <a href="https://t.co/snnmTWyg5o">https://t.co/snnmTWyg5o</a> ! <a href="https://t.co/ONGrWusB7h">https://t.co/ONGrWusB7h</a></p>— Rekhta (@Rekhta) <a href="https://twitter.com/Rekhta/status/814517424418500608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 29, 2016</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is not iqbal. Who is managing the account these days. Needs to be fired</p>— Ammar Ali Qureshi (@AmmarAliQureshi) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarAliQureshi/status/1269263741507510274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I stand corrected - this is not Allama Iqbal's poem but the message conveyed is what I have stood by and tried to follow and if our youth absorbs this message it will release their great God- given potential that all of us possess as His greatest creation Ashraf ul Mukhluqat. <a href="https://t.co/SvDVrakc5d">https://t.co/SvDVrakc5d</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1269265256725073921?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

He corrected his mistake right after, obviously a patwari like you won't share that. When was the last time Nawaz Sharif ever admitted his mistake or say "I stand corrected"....

The original tweet was at 9:25, his "I stand corrected" one was at 9:49..... when you shared it on PP the second tweet had been made, yet you specifically chose to ignore it and post your lame argument.

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION]

It's amazing how much Imran Khan fakes his whole personality to gain support of naive Pakistanis.

I'd rather he fake a personality than a money trail [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] :)))

Patwaris should be the last person to talk about fakeness. Meri London tu kya Pakistan mein bhi koi property nahi hai.

Is this the best you can do, you cant comment on the billions stolen, the fake documents and trust documents, or the fake TT's or the fake illnesses, a corrupt Judiciary or the murder of innocent people in daylight but to name a few things but you deduce all things about IKs personality from the one tweet. I love it when his very being eats away at your very fabric. Kaptaan Zindabad

I'd rather he fake a personality than a money trail [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] :)))

Patwaris should be the last person to talk about fakeness. Meri London tu kya Pakistan mein bhi koi property nahi hai.

This is the guy that spends his waking moment hoping to justify to himself why he follows crooks.

Nothing to do with the thread in the first place.

But in any case he corrected himself not soon after. Which tells a lot about you that you didn’t mention.

I’d rather trust a man who accepts his mistakes than a one who acts like nothing ever happened

Didn't Imran once misattribute a Tagore stanza to some lebanese american author? Did he correct himself that time? It appears to be a common theme with him.

Nothing to do with the thread in the first place.

But in any case he corrected himself not soon after. Which tells a lot about you that you didn’t mention.

I’d rather trust a man who accepts his mistakes than a one who acts like nothing ever happened
he didn't correct himself after this.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">For all those who play on both sides of the wicket. Time to take a stand <a href="https://t.co/f8fLODHE5r">pic.twitter.com/f8fLODHE5r</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/788288779694080000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 18, 2016</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

or when he post a wrong video which he later deleted his whole tweet after few minutes. Also remember his famous German-Japan border. He has made such mistakes countless times it's not even funny anymore.

This was not a mistake. How can he say he has built his whole life on this Iqbal's poem when he doesn't even know that it is not by him. The guy comes across as a pseudo intellectual and tries to buy loyality by faking his life. I was his big supporter but the more I read into his life the more I find him to be fake.

That use of Tasbeeh during assembly sessions was the first time I get to understand the true mentality of IK.

Also this is not the first time we have seen someone using religion card to stay in power. If you notice closely he has molded his life similarly to the way Gen Ziya used to be during his days of power. so he understands what keeps people in power in Pakistan.

Islamabad reports highest single day rise in cases at 656, GB, AJK confirm 30 cases each

Islamabad has reported its highest single day rise in cases after 656 new coronavirus cases were confirmed in the last 24 hours. This has taken its tally to 4,979, according to the government's Covid-19 portal.

Gilgit Baltistan and Azad Jammu and Kashmir have each recorded 30 new cases, taking their tallies to 927 and 361, respectively.

Islamabad has also reported four more deaths from the virus, taking the total number of fatalities in the capital to 49.

Facebook CountTwitter Share

Is this the best you can do, you cant comment on the billions stolen, the fake documents and trust documents, or the fake TT's or the fake illnesses, a corrupt Judiciary or the murder of innocent people in daylight but to name a few things but you deduce all things about IKs personality from the one tweet. I love it when his very being eats away at your very fabric. Kaptaan Zindabad

look into my post history. I have always mentained corrupt individuals should be brought to justice and I have admired Wajid Ziya's work. I am neither Zardari supporter nor NS.

Anyone who has a difference of opinion with you doesn't have to be a Patwari or Jiyala.

ISLAMABAD: Queen Elizabeth II honoured two Pakistani volunteers with a Commonwealth Points of Light Award during a phone call hosted by British High Commissioner Dr Christian Turner, a statement from the High Commission Islamabad said Saturday.

The award to Huzaifa Ahmad (Co-Founder and CEO Rizq) and Syed Hassaan Irfan (Executive Director, Rizq), recognised their work providing food security to local communities, especially during the coronavirus pandemic.

"The call with Her Majesty The Queen also marked National Volunteering Week in the UK, an annual celebration of the power and contribution of volunteering," it read.

Huzaifa and Hassaan run social enterprise Rizq, which started as a university project in 2015 aimed at ensuring a hunger free Pakistan by distributing excess food to the most vulnerable.

Queen Elizabeth II honours Pakistani volunteers for their services during coronavirus. — British High Commission Islamabad
During the coronavirus pandemic and in the holy month of Ramadan, Huzaifa and Hassaan mobilised a network of over 3,000 volunteers to distribute over 2.2 million meals to across 23 cities.

In this regard, Co-founder and CEO Rizq, Huzaifa Ahmad said: "Food is a fundamental need. For every human to reach his or her true potential it is important for this basic right to be accessible, affordable and available."

"I want to thank the Commonwealth for recognising our efforts and honouring us with this award. I would like to dedicate it to our amazing volunteers and Rizq heroes."

Executive Director Syed Hassaan Irfan added: ‘We have more food than ever before yet more people than ever go hungry every day. We all have an individual responsibility to eliminate hunger – no one should go without a daily meal."

Queen Elizabeth II honours Pakistani volunteers for their services during coronavirus. — British High Commission Islamabad
Irfan further said the award is a tribute to the people of Pakistan, the work of volunteers in Pakistan, and our strong tradition of helping each other.

Meanwhile, British High Commissioner, Dr Christian Turner CMG, said: “It was an honour to hear Her Majesty recognise Rizq’s remarkable work to tackle food insecurity. Moments like this are examples of the profoundly positive relations between the UK, Pakistan and Commonwealth”.

The award is given to outstanding individual volunteers who are making a change in their community, according to the official website.

UK Points of Light award was developed in partnership with the US programme and launched in the Cabinet Room at 10 Downing Street in April 2014.

Since then hundreds of people have been named Points of Light by the prime minister, highlighting an enormous array of innovative and inspirational volunteering across the length and breadth of Britain.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/291830-queen-elizabeth-ii-honours-pakistani-volunteers-with

That use of Tasbeeh during assembly sessions was the first time I get to understand the true mentality of IK.

Also this is not the first time we have seen someone using religion card to stay in power. If you notice closely he has molded his life similarly to the way Gen Ziya used to be during his days of power. so he understands what keeps people in power in Pakistan.

Can you please take this decision to another thread on Imran.

Pakistan's Covid-19 death toll tops 2,000 as Punjab, Islamabad collectively report 28 fatalities

Pakistan's death toll from Covid-19 has risen to 2,002 after Punjab and Islamabad collectively reported 28 more fatalities from the virus.

The countrywide breakdown of deaths is as follows:

Punjab: 683
Sindh: 634
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: 561
Balochistan: 54
Islamabad: 49
Gilgit Baltistan: 13
Azad Jammu and Kashmir: 8

==

884 more people recover from Covid-19 in Pakistan

The government's Covid-19 portal shows that 884 more people recovered from coronavirus in the last 24 hours.

This takes the total number of recoveries to 33,465.

==

Punjab reports 1,782 new cases, 24 deaths

Punjab has reported 1,782 new coronavirus cases, taking the provincial tally to 37,090, according to the government's Covid-19 portal.

The province's death toll from the virus has risen to 683 after 24 more fatalities were recorded in the last 24 hours.

With only 87 covid-19 patients, Expo Centre facility fails to meet expectations

At a time when no space is available for COVID-19 patients at any of the tertiary-care hospitals in Karachi, only 87 patients are admitted at the “much-hyped 10,000-bed” field isolation centre established at the Expo Centre, The News has learnt.

“Since it’s just an isolation centre and not a health facility, they only take asymptomatic patients who are in good health and don’t require oxygen or any other specialised care,” said a Sindh government official on Saturday.

The provincial government has so far released Rs134 million to the administration of the isolation centre, while donors have also provided millions of rupees as well as equipment, machinery and services worth millions of rupees, added the official.

“Of the funds released by the government, hardly Rs47 million has been used. Most of the expenses are being met by the donors who are eagerly providing everything from meals to medicines, mobile phones to X-ray machines, containers for housing and personal protective equipment [PPE].”

Waste of resources?

The isolation centre’s administration said equipment worth millions of rupees, including water purification plants and watches, was provided for patients at the facility, where food was the responsibility of the Saylani Welfare Trust, the Alamgir Welfare Trust and the JDC (Jafaria Disaster Management Cell), while several confectioneries and bakeries provided cakes, sweets and other delicacies.

Dr Farhan Essa, one of the co-founders of the isolation centre and the CEO of Dr Essa Laboratory & Diagnostic Centre, said: “We have set up an Essa lab where all the routine tests are being conducted. AO Clinic owner and Private Hospitals Association President Dr Junaid Ali Shah provided items worth Rs60-70 million, including medicines, beds, PPE and monitors.” He said the centre also received funding from the World Memon Foundation, and support and items from the Sui Southern Gas Company, the Pakistan Red Crescent Society and many other organisations. Dr Essa said scores of other donors, organisations and institutions were supporting the facility, adding that scouts were performing their duties to maintain inventory and provide food to patients.

‘Failed project’

Officials said the isolation centre that was supposed to be a 10,000-bed facility, as per several announcements of Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah, and hyped by the government was only a 550-bed facility.

They said that despite spending and having millions of rupees at its disposal, the centre has proved to be a failed project in terms of providing relief to COVID-19 patients who are now running from one place to another in search of hospital beds.

A Pakistan Islamic Medical Association official said: “On several occasions, hospitals treating COVID-19 patients made a request to the Expo Centre’s administration to take patients who are in stable condition and require one to two litres of oxygen so that serious patients could be admitted, but it was flatly refused.” He said the isolation centre’s administration has so far admitted coronavirus-positive patients who are without any symptoms, have no other medical condition and are below the age of 50, who are less likely to develop any complications and face death.

Terming the facility a “picnic spot”, the official said that at a time when over 80 COVID-19 patients have died in their homes and more than 500 have lost their lives at health facilities across the province, the Expo Centre has reported not a single fatality, which shows that they have only admitted people who have no chance of getting sick during their stay.

He said the money spent on the isolation facility could have been used to develop some tertiary-care health facilities in Karachi, adding that there were several hospitals in the city that were not being used and their buildings could have been upgraded with the millions of rupees that were “wasted on this useless facility”.

Prof Sohail Akhtar, a senior pulmonologist associated with a tertiary-care hospital and dealing with COVID-19 patients, also expressed his disappointment in the isolation centre, saying that the money and resources wasted on it could have been used to upgrade two to three public hospitals in the city where high-dependency units (HDUs) with high-flow oxygen and other therapies could have been made available to save precious lives.

“Hundreds of patients are in self-isolation who need one to two litres of oxygen and some other interventions to save their lives. These patients are also not getting any medical advice. They should be admitted at the Expo Centre and given oxygen and other required therapies so their health doesn’t deteriorate, as no hospital is taking any more patients right now.”

‘Not refusing patients’

The administration of the isolation centre said they were actually a 1,200-bed facility, claiming that they were not refusing any patient. They said that they had different standard operating procedures initially, but now they had an oxygen-dependency unit of 20 beds where those requiring oxygen were being treated. “We were never a 10,000-bed facility. We have the capacity of only 1,200 beds, and right now we have 87 patients with COVID-19 positive status. We’re taking patients between the ages of 15 and 70 and also accepting patients from hospitals,” said Dr Nuzhat Faruqi, founder and administrator of the isolation centre.

100-bed HDU soon

Dr Nuzhat, who was honoured with the Tamgha-e-Imtiaz for her services in public health, said that after realising the severity of the COVID-19 situation and about the unavailability of beds at tertiary-care hospitals, they had decided to set up a 100-bed HDU where patients requiring oxygen and critical care management would be kept. She said the unit would take some time to set up, as it was currently in the planning phase.

“The number of patients increases and decreases over time. At one time we had over 300 patients, but around Eid the number reduced. We’re now gradually getting more patients, and realising the severity of the situation, we have decided to upgrade this facility with the establishment of an HDU for over 100 patients,” she said, adding that when the unit would be established, they would also hire the required specialists and experts to run it.
https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/669017-

Pakistan's Covid-19 cases cross 100,000 as Sindh reports 1,744 new infections

Pakistan's Covid-19 cases have crossed 100,000 as Sindh reported 1,744 new infections. Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah said that 8,119 tests were conducted during the last 24 hours, out of which 1,744 came back positive, taking the provincial tally to 38,108.

The province has also reported 16 more deaths from the virus, taking its total fatalities to 650. Shah said that 414 patients are in critical condition while 67 are on ventilators.

The chief minister said that 577 people recovered from the virus in the last 24 hours, taking the total number of recoveries in the province to 18,776.

Getting near to the conclusion that Nawaz Zardari are corrupt but somebody else is Nalaik

Test people arriving in Pakistan instead of letting them go home': Sherry Rehman responds to Zulfi Bukhari

PPP Senator Sherry Rehman has responded to PM's aide Zulfi Bukhari, telling him to test people arriving in Pakistan instead of letting them "just walk home" in an effort to curb the spread of Covid-19.

In a tweet, she said: "Nobody is 'stigmatising' helpless overseas Pakistanis. Quite the opposite. Overseas Pakistanis have in fact been stranded for way 2 long! You need to be TESTING instead of letting people just walk home. Today at Islamabad airport they said NO such test is happening. This needs to change."

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Look at this graph carefully. It compares death rate of Pakistan and Indian state of UP. Both have roughly same population profile & literacy. Pakistan has lesser density/km and higher GDP/capita. UP was strict with lockdown. We were not. See diff in death rate <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a><br>(1/2) <a href="https://t.co/so8SgEtjCw">pic.twitter.com/so8SgEtjCw</a></p>— Fahd Husain (@Fahdhusain) <a href="https://twitter.com/Fahdhusain/status/1269519611680165888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 7, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Has a point, but he cherry-picked a state that furthers the point... would be interesting to see the graph in comparison with India overall.

Balochistan reports 295 Covid-19 cases

Balochistan has reported another 295 coronavirus cases during the past 24 hours, according to the health department's daily situation report.

The report added that three "probable deaths" have also been reported. However, the death toll remains 54.

With the new cases, the provincial total has risen to 6,516.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Look at this graph carefully. It compares death rate of Pakistan and Indian state of UP. Both have roughly same population profile & literacy. Pakistan has lesser density/km and higher GDP/capita. UP was strict with lockdown. We were not. See diff in death rate <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a><br>(1/2) <a href="https://t.co/so8SgEtjCw">pic.twitter.com/so8SgEtjCw</a></p>— Fahd Husain (@Fahdhusain) <a href="https://twitter.com/Fahdhusain/status/1269519611680165888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 7, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Has a point, but he cherry-picked a state that furthers the point... would be interesting to see the graph in comparison with India overall.

What about hundreds who have died of hunger? Migrant labours most of whom are from UP & Bihar who have died on roads, railway tracks and hundreds of them in accidents while trying to return back to home in the midst of lockdown?

Pakistan's smart (or no) lockdown has a lot of flaws, infact maybe it's full of flaws but it's atleast ensured that poorest in our society don't have the same fate as those in India.

It is easy for people to criticise but tackling corona with limited resources is a difficult task. I think Pakistan has decided to follow Sweden's strategy and go for herd immunity. It will come at a cost, hopefully the cost is not too high. Corona is a long term battle; people need to understand this.

Maybe this guy forgot that UP has undertaken 360,000 odd tests compared to Pakistan's nearly 700,000 so almost twice as many tests. Also forgot to mention that 200-300 Indians mostly from UP and Bihar have died due to lockdown and that is just the official number. Should we add these 200-300 to UP's corona deaths as well?

What about hundreds who have died of hunger? Migrant labours most of whom are from UP & Bihar who have died on roads, railway tracks and hundreds of them in accidents while trying to return back to home in the midst of lockdown?

Pakistan's smart (or no) lockdown has a lot of flaws, infact maybe it's full of flaws but it's atleast ensured that poorest in our society don't have the same fate as those in India.

100s died due to hunger?

100s died in accidents?

Any source to back these statements?

what you think of how Imran is managing Corona is upto you pakistanis, but stop spreading canards about India.

Also what is the percentage of positive tests in conducted tests in UP and Pakistan?

100s died due to hunger?

100s died in accidents?

Any source to back these statements?

what you think of how Imran is managing Corona is upto you pakistanis, but stop spreading canards about India.

Also what is the percentage of positive tests in conducted tests in UP and Pakistan?

198 migrant workers killed in road accidents during lockdown: Report
https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...down-report/story-hTWzAWMYn0kyycKw1dyKqL.html

This link from Hindustan Times an Indian newspaper.

Pakistan has recorded more than 5,000 new cases for the second day in a row, taking its national tally over the 100,000-mark.

With more than 37,000 cases each, Sindh and Punjab account for about three-quarters of the country's caseload.

Deaths too have been rising - sparking fears that hospitals could soon be overrun.

The country has reported 2,032 deaths so far, according to the latest local media reports.

The country lifted most of its lockdown restrictions last month - which some believe has contributed to the surge in cases.

Punjab continues to see steep rise in coronavirus cases with 1,813 new reports

The national database for coronavirus shows that 1,813 new coronavirus cases have been reported in Punjab along with 32 deaths.

This takes the total number of cases in the province to 38,903 and the total deaths in the province to 715.

Pakistan has seen 103,617 coronavirus cases and 2,067 deaths.

==

Capital territory sees 390 new cases, 3 deaths

The national database for coronavirus shows that 390 new cases, 3 new deaths have cumulatively been added to the Islamabad, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad Jammu and Kashmir's case count.

Here's a breakdown of the new cases reported:

Islamabad: 350 new cases, 3 deaths

AJK: 35 new cases, 0 deaths

GB: 5 new cases, 0 deaths

==

890 people recover from corona in Pakistan

The national database for coronavirus shows that 890 people have recovered from coronavirus in Pakistan.

The total number of recoveries in the country stands at 34,355.

Coronavirus cases cross 100,000 mark in Pakistan as over 5000 cases reported in past 24 hours

As the novel coronavirus claimed 458 more lives besides infecting at least 26,853 more people during the last one week only, the number of confirmed Covid-19 cases and related deaths across the country on Sunday surged past 100,000 and 2,000, respectively.

Till Sunday evening, the tally of Covid-19 confirmed cases had jumped to 101,468, with 2,032 deaths. Sindh has so far detected 38,108 cases, followed by Punjab where 37,090 cases have been recorded, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has confirmed 13,487 cases and Balochistan has found 6,516 positive cases. The federal capital has recorded 4,979 cases, Gilgit-Baltistan 927 and AJK 361 cases.

The relatively low death rate of Pakistan is going to spike in the coming days. As I explained yesterday, patients are admitted in hospitals based on a rating system that is derived from their symptoms.

In plain English, if you are COVID positive and if you achieve a certain score, you will be admitted in the hospital. If your score is below the threshold, you will be sent home and asked to self-isolate.

However, since the hospitals are rapidly running out of space (LRH vacated a three story building for COVID which is now operating dangerously close to max capacity), quite a few patients with high scores are being sent home which is going to increase the date rate.

For a long time, the rate of recovery and the rate of new cases were relatively constant, but thanks to Imran Khan’s brilliant decision to ease the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan and his failure to control the mullahs, the rate of new cases have increased drastically.

The only way to control this disaster now is to convince the recovered patients to donate blood. It is the most effective treatment at this point.

Imran Khan needs to come out of the 1992 World Cup mentality and get over these Corona Tigers gimmicks and other such nonsense that cannot make an iota of difference.

There needs to a country-wise campaign and relentless pressure to convinced recovered patients to donate blood. A lot of them are unwilling to do so because they are afraid of catching the virus again, or they simply don’t care about the others now that they have recovered.

A genuine question (for anyone to suggest a sensible answer):

In a Muslim country like Pakistan, how accurate are the reported Covid-19 death figures?

With a population of nearly 220 million, even without the coronavirus, you'd expect around 3,500 - 4,000 deaths per day (old age, disease, accidents ....etc).

The population being primarily Muslim, due to religious requirements, in normal circumstances there is a desire/need to bury the deceased within 24 hours (except when killed in battle, when foul play is suspected etc).

On that basis, especially in rural village communities during this covid-19 crisis, when a person dies, what's the likelihood of anyone instructing the family of the deceased "Hold on, don't bury. Wait until we can go and get some someone to come and do tests to see if the death was due to covid-19"?

Heck, even in the UK, it is recognised that the official figures of deaths due to covid-19 are vastly understated due to deaths in nursing homes and sometimes at home, not being recorded as being due to covid-19. A recent estimate by the governments own ONC (Office for National Statistics) showed the estimated covid-19 deaths to be over 62,000 as compared with the official figures of around 40,000, over 50% more than the official figures.

In the UK, the official daily count on Thursday showed that 39,904 people tested for the disease had died since early March; just over 48,000 people who had died had Covid-19 mentioned on their death certificates; and that just over 62,000 more deaths were recorded than the average of the same weeks over the past five years.

Following a detailed examination of death certificates, the ONS concluded that the majority of excess non-coronavirus deaths were due to undiagnosed cases of Covid-19.

https://www.ft.com/content/2e0a7116-5930-4c7c-aa7b-05a5bd554113
As you can see, it even says 39,904 deaths due to covid-19, despite the fact that the death certificates mentioned covid-19 in over 48,000 cases!

If there can be such a large discrepancy in a country like the UK, between the governments official figures, and the estimates by the governments own Office for National Statistics, of deaths dues to covid-19, how accurate are they likely to be in a Muslim country like Pakistan?

The relatively low death rate of Pakistan is going to spike in the coming days. As I explained yesterday, patients are admitted in hospitals based on a rating system that is derived from their symptoms.

In plain English, if you are COVID positive and if you achieve a certain score, you will be admitted in the hospital. If your score is below the threshold, you will be sent home and asked to self-isolate.

However, since the hospitals are rapidly running out of space (LRH vacated a three story building for COVID which is now operating dangerously close to max capacity), quite a few patients with high scores are being sent home which is going to increase the date rate.

For a long time, the rate of recovery and the rate of new cases were relatively constant, but thanks to Imran Khan’s brilliant decision to ease the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan and his failure to control the mullahs, the rate of new cases have increased drastically.

The only way to control this disaster now is to convince the recovered patients to donate blood. It is the most effective treatment at this point.

Imran Khan needs to come out of the 1992 World Cup mentality and get over these Corona Tigers gimmicks and other such nonsense that cannot make an iota of difference.

There needs to a country-wise campaign and relentless pressure to convinced recovered patients to donate blood. A lot of them are unwilling to do so because they are afraid of catching the virus again, or they simply don’t care about the others now that they have recovered.

These are defiantly some worrying times Mamoon bhai. I am worried about my relatives in Pakistan. Imran Khan has let us down.

Unfortunately, cult-followers will be cult-followers. Some people are still adamant that Imran hasn’t put a foot wrong and was justified in easing the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan.

The other day, he claimed that if you have minor symptoms, you should not get yourself tested. He has completely lost the plot and this pandemic has brutally exposed his incompetence and mismanagement.

[MENTION=4930]Yossarian[/MENTION]

That is complete right, the reported death figures are not accurate in a country pike Pakistan.

In remote and rural areas, people don’t get tested and their deaths are then attributed to non-COVID reasons.

However, the problem is that there is no way to calculate the rate at which the deaths are under-reported without making wild guesses. As a result, that factor has been completely ignored and the statistics primarily focus on the number of COVID-related deaths that take place after the said patients have tested positive.

The truth is that the situation in Pakistan is far worse than what the numbers depict, which are scary in their own right anyway.

To control a pandemic you need:

(a) strong and competent leadership

(b) cooperative public who will follow the guidelines of the government and the authorities.

Unfortunately, Pakistan is severely lacking on both fronts.

Deaths are at 65 for last couple of days down from the high of 97 seen 3-4 days ago. I hope the trend continues and deaths begin to fall

Unfortunately, cult-followers will be cult-followers. Some people are still adamant that Imran hasn’t put a foot wrong and was justified in easing the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan.

The other day, he claimed that if you have minor symptoms, you should not get yourself tested. He has completely lost the plot and this pandemic has brutally exposed his incompetence and mismanagement.

Can trust you to play politics on this.

I'll have you know in both Canada and US, the standard procedure is that if you have mild symptoms then you yourself self isolate and do not go out to get tests done etc. This is the procedure in North America I'm sure much of the rest of the world is also following the same method.

Sindh reports 1,447 Covid-19 cases, 29 deaths

Sindh has reported 1,447 Covid-19 cases and 29 deaths over the past 24 hours, according to Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah.

Giving his daily briefing on the province's coronavirus numbers, the chief minister said that 8,513 tests were carried out, which is the highest number so far. Out of these, 1,447 came back positive, he added.

With the new cases, Sindh's tally has risen to 39,555 while the death toll has risen to 679.

The below graphs just say it all really

View attachment 101426

Italy has a per capita GDP of 35,000. Germany has a per capita GDP of 48,000.

Do you know Pakistan's per capita GDP? Easy to summarize the dynamics of the entire pandemic in one graph.

Is anyone forcing you to go out? If you have the means then just stay at home and lock yourself in.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have been tested Positive for COVID-19 though I have no symptoms of COVID-19, whatsoever. I am fine, Alhamdu Lillah. Need your prayers.<br><br>-SR-</p>— Sheikh Rashid Ahmad (@ShkhRasheed) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShkhRasheed/status/1269944980442943488?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 8, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My prayers for our colleague & former PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s earliest recovery from Corona. Ameen! He is our valuable asset.</p>— Ahsan Iqbal (@betterpakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/betterpakistan/status/1269894239606976512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 8, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Italy has a per capita GDP of 35,000. Germany has a per capita GDP of 48,000.

Do you know Pakistan's per capita GDP? Easy to summarize the dynamics of the entire pandemic in one graph.

Is anyone forcing you to go out? If you have the means then just stay at home and lock yourself in.

Not sure why you've got your knickers in a twist. The data shows that other countries eased the lockdown when the curve was starting to flatten. Pakistan didn't wait for the curve to flatten and now COVID-19 is increasing at an insane rate.

This has nothing to do with GDP. Poor countries such as Namibia and Philippines also went into a lockdown period and only eased movement when the curve started to flatten. Countries with a lower GDP than Pakistan are still in lock down as well look at Kenya, Zimbabwe and Uganda

Prime Minister Imran Khan said that the government expects Pakistan's coronavirus cases to peak by the end of July or August.

"We already know that the virus will spread, the trend that our experts have observed is that it spreads, then peaks and then the curve flattens. And the purpose behind flattening the curve is to reduce pressure on hospitals.

"Today, I'm here to tell you that if we follow standard operating procedures and take precautionary measures, we can manage the pandemic.

"Our cases are expected to peak by the end of July or August, and then transmission will reduce. So, today I appeal to you, not for me, for you: Please take precautions for your loved ones, for the elderly and for those who have [other ailments]."

time to bring in showbaaz to manage the crisis..this khan chap has failed..need some tajarba..

Not sure why you've got your knickers in a twist. The data shows that other countries eased the lockdown when the curve was starting to flatten. Pakistan didn't wait for the curve to flatten and now COVID-19 is increasing at an insane rate.

This has nothing to do with GDP. Poor countries such as Namibia and Philippines also went into a lockdown period and only eased movement when the curve started to flatten. Countries with a lower GDP than Pakistan are still in lock down as well look at Kenya, Zimbabwe and Uganda

on a personal note I think we eased the lockdown too quickly. We should have kept it going during ramadhan and allowed a temporary ease for Eid. Then gone back into a Lockdown till mid June.

However I see the govts point too. The country is bankrupt. there was a danger that people would have started to ignore the govt at some point so i think they made a decision to pre-empt this situation. Our people have to take some responsibility too. The govt is also slightly hamstrung due to the 18th amendment.

Even now cases are high , and will get higher but deaths are low and recoveries are high. Now many are saying we are lying about our numbers. Maybe we are. I dont think we are because the nature of Covid is such that you will see people from families dying in numbers. That is its nature. It infects on a masss scale and can kill off members of families in droves. In a society like Pakistan you would be hearing an uproar by now if their were mass casualties. that is why i tend to believe the numbers are under-reported but are still not in the UK territory just yet.

I think the govt is hoping using its modelling that they will hit a peak that will still be lower than the worst affected countries in the world. They may be wrong about this but either way I'm not sure they had much choice in the matter. The economic situation is alot worse than is said in the media by the govt..

on a personal note I think we eased the lockdown too quickly. We should have kept it going during ramadhan and allowed a temporary ease for Eid. Then gone back into a Lockdown till mid June.

However I see the govts point too. The country is bankrupt. there was a danger that people would have started to ignore the govt at some point so i think they made a decision to pre-empt this situation. Our people have to take some responsibility too. The govt is also slightly hamstrung due to the 18th amendment.

Even now cases are high , and will get higher but deaths are low and recoveries are high. Now many are saying we are lying about our numbers. Maybe we are. I dont think we are because the nature of Covid is such that you will see people from families dying in numbers. That is its nature. It infects on a masss scale and can kill off members of families in droves. In a society like Pakistan you would be hearing an uproar by now if their were mass casualties. that is why i tend to believe the numbers are under-reported but are still not in the UK territory just yet.

I think the govt is hoping using its modelling that they will hit a peak that will still be lower than the worst affected countries in the world. They may be wrong about this but either way I'm not sure they had much choice in the matter. The economic situation is alot worse than is said in the media by the govt..

Easing the shutdown during eid is what is causing this. People started going out as if things are normal. In America no one celebrated Easter even churches were told not to open and hold service remotely. In China they celebrated chinese new years and it lead to exponential growth... The government had these examples in front of them and they chose to lift the lockdown for eid smh.... What's worrying is after 2 months we will have a second wave (like what is being seen in Iran right now) which will be 5X bigger because of eid ul adha.... Because pye, kalagi, and bbq is a must.

Yup. People will go out again. Gotta have that bbq and also the traders need the cash. the animal traders etc too..this is not over and the Govt cant do much if the people are just gonna go out like fools. most people in pak are willing to risk it with covid. this is simply a fact. You hear it all the time. "sirjee covid tu ki darna hay, aaj covid hay,kul flu hosi, phair bus accident, murna tay hay"

thats the attitude..

So a trend seen on Twitter past of couple of days has been young doctors (from Lahore for now) have been tweeting false information and straight up lies. When these lies are dispelled by Dr Arsalan Khalid or Azhar Mashwani (social media focal persons of federal and Punjab governments respectively), then these young doctors either block the reply or cry foul. Today Punjab government on the basis of a tweet from a young doctor regarding lack of vents inquired with the hospital management who informed them that ventilators were available in sufficient capacity and disciplinary action was initiated against the young doctor on pretext of spreading false info, the young doctor then proceeded to cry on Twitter. Pehlay chori opar se seena zori.

We have a young doctor around these parts as well, and we all know how venomous he is.

Wow he actually said that? Its no wonder the spread is this immense. When your leader is not willing to lead with scientific facts.

He did. What can we expect from a ‘leader’ who preaches others to wear mask but doesn’t wear one himself.

The below graphs just say it all really

View attachment 101426

Wrong comparison.

Pakistan implemented the lockdown lot earlier than Italy, thereby it slowed the peaking of the disease. In an ideal scenario it may have even stopped the disease in its tracks. But subcontinent is hardly a place of ideal scenarios. People violated the lock down hence the disease was not stopped, still it was slowed. Giving time to the administration to prepare. It may yet result in the disease not peaking but plateauing before the graph flattens.

And i am no fan of Imran Khan the politician.