So you are saying about 150 million people have been infected already? And there are only 85,000 identified cases? That would mean that either 99.9% of our cases are asymptomatic or that we as a nation have some sort of superhuman immunity to the virus.
Don't think even 1% of the population has been exposed yet. That is why the situation is so serious. I really don't agree with all these reports about there being hundreds of thousands of unidentified corona patients in Pakistan. It would mean that almost all patients in Pakistan are asymptomatic. Studies from around the world have put the number of asymptomatic cases anywhere from 20-80%. So even in the worst case scenario we should currently have around 400,000 infected.
However, the fact that a smaller portion of the population has been infected should not come as a relief. It infact is the reason why the situation is so dire. It would imply that contrary to most estimates, in the absence of strict mitigation strategies, we are no where near the peak. The cases will most likely continue to increase as the level of activity increases. Countries like Italy and US peaked under strict lockdowns. We are in the totally opposite situation, i really can't see how the outbreak will peak or decline any time soon in these conditions.
Its not about special immunity. We are suffering as much as any other country.
Reported deaths were accurate till one month ago. Now widespread rumours of not allowing last rituals for Covid deaths has changed the dynamics. Everyday I see demands from families of many critically ill patients to take them home. On the pretext that if someone dies with Covid in hospital, family would have to bribe police to get back the dead body.
Daily Number of New Deaths reported one month ago was almost accurate. Now Its way way off and only in-hospital deaths are being counted and reported. If offical number says 70 deaths, true number is 200+.
Add Eid Shopping spree to this and it would multiply high.
Based upon eetimated out of hospital deaths, Eid Mela, from my personal clinical observations and with feedbacks from colleagues, I think majority population has been exposed to Covid by now.
Now I assume by exposed you either mean they
- have the virus
- have come in contact with a carrier
Pakistanis: Corona worona kuch nahi hai
Pakistanis: Mein kisi ko nahi janta jis ko corona hai
Pakistani: Khaadi pe sale lagi hai aao lambi line laga kar sub ikhatay pohanch jatay hain
Also Pakistanis: Corona Pakistan mein buhat phael gaya hai, Imran Khan has failed
Jahil quam
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is not iqbal. Who is managing the account these days. Needs to be fired</p>— Ammar Ali Qureshi (@AmmarAliQureshi) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarAliQureshi/status/1269263741507510274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
It's amazing how much Imran Khan fakes his whole personality to gain support of naive Pakistanis.
I'd rather he fake a personality than a money trail [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION])
Patwaris should be the last person to talk about fakeness. Meri London tu kya Pakistan mein bhi koi property nahi hai.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is not iqbal. Who is managing the account these days. Needs to be fired</p>— Ammar Ali Qureshi (@AmmarAliQureshi) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarAliQureshi/status/1269263741507510274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
he didn't correct himself after this.Nothing to do with the thread in the first place.
But in any case he corrected himself not soon after. Which tells a lot about you that you didn’t mention.
I’d rather trust a man who accepts his mistakes than a one who acts like nothing ever happened
Is this the best you can do, you cant comment on the billions stolen, the fake documents and trust documents, or the fake TT's or the fake illnesses, a corrupt Judiciary or the murder of innocent people in daylight but to name a few things but you deduce all things about IKs personality from the one tweet. I love it when his very being eats away at your very fabric. Kaptaan Zindabad
That use of Tasbeeh during assembly sessions was the first time I get to understand the true mentality of IK.
Also this is not the first time we have seen someone using religion card to stay in power. If you notice closely he has molded his life similarly to the way Gen Ziya used to be during his days of power. so he understands what keeps people in power in Pakistan.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Look at this graph carefully. It compares death rate of Pakistan and Indian state of UP. Both have roughly same population profile & literacy. Pakistan has lesser density/km and higher GDP/capita. UP was strict with lockdown. We were not. See diff in death rate <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a><br>(1/2) <a href="https://t.co/so8SgEtjCw">pic.twitter.com/so8SgEtjCw</a></p>— Fahd Husain (@Fahdhusain) <a href="https://twitter.com/Fahdhusain/status/1269519611680165888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 7, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Has a point, but he cherry-picked a state that furthers the point... would be interesting to see the graph in comparison with India overall.
Maybe this guy forgot that UP has undertaken 360,000 odd tests compared to Pakistan's nearly 700,000 so almost twice as many tests. Also forgot to mention that 200-300 Indians mostly from UP and Bihar have died due to lockdown and that is just the official number. Should we add these 200-300 to UP's corona deaths as well?<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Look at this graph carefully. It compares death rate of Pakistan and Indian state of UP. Both have roughly same population profile & literacy. Pakistan has lesser density/km and higher GDP/capita. UP was strict with lockdown. We were not. See diff in death rate <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a><br>(1/2) <a href="https://t.co/so8SgEtjCw">pic.twitter.com/so8SgEtjCw</a></p>— Fahd Husain (@Fahdhusain) <a href="https://twitter.com/Fahdhusain/status/1269519611680165888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 7, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Has a point, but he cherry-picked a state that furthers the point... would be interesting to see the graph in comparison with India overall.
What about hundreds who have died of hunger? Migrant labours most of whom are from UP & Bihar who have died on roads, railway tracks and hundreds of them in accidents while trying to return back to home in the midst of lockdown?
Pakistan's smart (or no) lockdown has a lot of flaws, infact maybe it's full of flaws but it's atleast ensured that poorest in our society don't have the same fate as those in India.
100s died due to hunger?
100s died in accidents?
Any source to back these statements?
what you think of how Imran is managing Corona is upto you pakistanis, but stop spreading canards about India.
Also what is the percentage of positive tests in conducted tests in UP and Pakistan?
As you can see, it even says 39,904 deaths due to covid-19, despite the fact that the death certificates mentioned covid-19 in over 48,000 cases!In the UK, the official daily count on Thursday showed that 39,904 people tested for the disease had died since early March; just over 48,000 people who had died had Covid-19 mentioned on their death certificates; and that just over 62,000 more deaths were recorded than the average of the same weeks over the past five years.
Following a detailed examination of death certificates, the ONS concluded that the majority of excess non-coronavirus deaths were due to undiagnosed cases of Covid-19.
https://www.ft.com/content/2e0a7116-5930-4c7c-aa7b-05a5bd554113
The relatively low death rate of Pakistan is going to spike in the coming days. As I explained yesterday, patients are admitted in hospitals based on a rating system that is derived from their symptoms.
In plain English, if you are COVID positive and if you achieve a certain score, you will be admitted in the hospital. If your score is below the threshold, you will be sent home and asked to self-isolate.
However, since the hospitals are rapidly running out of space (LRH vacated a three story building for COVID which is now operating dangerously close to max capacity), quite a few patients with high scores are being sent home which is going to increase the date rate.
For a long time, the rate of recovery and the rate of new cases were relatively constant, but thanks to Imran Khan’s brilliant decision to ease the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan and his failure to control the mullahs, the rate of new cases have increased drastically.
The only way to control this disaster now is to convince the recovered patients to donate blood. It is the most effective treatment at this point.
Imran Khan needs to come out of the 1992 World Cup mentality and get over these Corona Tigers gimmicks and other such nonsense that cannot make an iota of difference.
There needs to a country-wise campaign and relentless pressure to convinced recovered patients to donate blood. A lot of them are unwilling to do so because they are afraid of catching the virus again, or they simply don’t care about the others now that they have recovered.
These are defiantly some worrying times Mamoon bhai. I am worried about my relatives in Pakistan. Imran Khan has let us down.
Unfortunately, cult-followers will be cult-followers. Some people are still adamant that Imran hasn’t put a foot wrong and was justified in easing the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan.
The other day, he claimed that if you have minor symptoms, you should not get yourself tested. He has completely lost the plot and this pandemic has brutally exposed his incompetence and mismanagement.
Italy has a per capita GDP of 35,000. Germany has a per capita GDP of 48,000.
Do you know Pakistan's per capita GDP? Easy to summarize the dynamics of the entire pandemic in one graph.
Is anyone forcing you to go out? If you have the means then just stay at home and lock yourself in.
Not sure why you've got your knickers in a twist. The data shows that other countries eased the lockdown when the curve was starting to flatten. Pakistan didn't wait for the curve to flatten and now COVID-19 is increasing at an insane rate.
This has nothing to do with GDP. Poor countries such as Namibia and Philippines also went into a lockdown period and only eased movement when the curve started to flatten. Countries with a lower GDP than Pakistan are still in lock down as well look at Kenya, Zimbabwe and Uganda
on a personal note I think we eased the lockdown too quickly. We should have kept it going during ramadhan and allowed a temporary ease for Eid. Then gone back into a Lockdown till mid June.
However I see the govts point too. The country is bankrupt. there was a danger that people would have started to ignore the govt at some point so i think they made a decision to pre-empt this situation. Our people have to take some responsibility too. The govt is also slightly hamstrung due to the 18th amendment.
Even now cases are high , and will get higher but deaths are low and recoveries are high. Now many are saying we are lying about our numbers. Maybe we are. I dont think we are because the nature of Covid is such that you will see people from families dying in numbers. That is its nature. It infects on a masss scale and can kill off members of families in droves. In a society like Pakistan you would be hearing an uproar by now if their were mass casualties. that is why i tend to believe the numbers are under-reported but are still not in the UK territory just yet.
I think the govt is hoping using its modelling that they will hit a peak that will still be lower than the worst affected countries in the world. They may be wrong about this but either way I'm not sure they had much choice in the matter. The economic situation is alot worse than is said in the media by the govt..
Easing the shutdown during eid is what is causing this. People started going out as if things are normal. In America no one celebrated Easter even churches were told not to open and hold service remotely. In China they celebrated chinese new years and it lead to exponential growth... The government had these examples in front of them and they chose to lift the lockdown for eid smh.... What's worrying is after 2 months we will have a second wave (like what is being seen in Iran right now) which will be 5X bigger because of eid ul adha.... Because pye, kalagi, and bbq is a must.
Unfortunately, cult-followers will be cult-followers. Some people are still adamant that Imran hasn’t put a foot wrong and was justified in easing the restrictions in the last week of Ramzan.
The other day, he claimed that if you have minor symptoms, you should not get yourself tested. He has completely lost the plot and this pandemic has brutally exposed his incompetence and mismanagement.
Wow he actually said that? Its no wonder the spread is this immense. When your leader is not willing to lead with scientific facts.