Cow slaughter, India’s gau rakshaks (cow vigilantes), and lynchings

Rafa

Local Club Captain
big_455238_1492839132.jpg

Srinagar: Five members of a family including a 9-year-old girl have been injured in an attack by 'gau rakshaks' or self-styled cow vigilantes in the Reasi district of Jammu and Kashmir. The incident took place on Friday evening when a nomad family was moving with their livestock near the Talwara area. They were intercepted by a large group of gau rakshaks and beaten up with iron rods.

The victims say the attackers took away their entire flock including goats, sheep and cows. The injured, 9-year-old Sammi, who have suffered multiple fractures have been shifted to hospital.

The police said they have filed an FIR and action will be taken against the attackers. "We have registered an FIR. I have asked DIG of Udhampur range to visit the area. Strict action will be taken against these goons," said Jammu and Kashmir police chief SP Vaid said.

Police in Reasi said they have identified five of the attackers but no one has been arrested so far. "We are investigating the case and culprits will be brought to book," said a police officer in Reasi.

The victims say they can't forget the horror. "They beat us ruthlessly. Somehow we managed to flee from there. One of our children, a 10-year-old, is still missing. We don't know whether he is alive or dead. They even beat our elders very badly. They wanted to kill us and throw our bodies into the river," said Naseem Begam, one of the victims.

Besides goat, sheep, the family were moving with 16 cows. "They didn't even spare dogs. They too were taken away," she said.

Jammu and Kashmir has a large number of nomadic herder families, who travel between the Jammu's Himalayan mountains and the meadows of Kashmir every year with their flocks of cattle, horses, goats and sheep.

http://m.ndtv.com/india-news/5-incl...-and-kashmir-1684534?pfrom=home-lateststories

This stupidity needs to stop we are going down a very dangerous path..

Already have gone down to that path. This law was put in place to and to implemented to please the radical Hindu extremists voter bank, if they were to charge it then radical Hindu politician won't get the vote they need to stay in power.

Indian Muslim's don't seem to have a backbone or any strong political clout to bring an end to these daily killings. The most inconsequential and insignificant Muslim community in the entire world who can't even stand up for their own rights, leave alone standing up for the oppressed Muslim's in other countries.

The only muslim majority state in india where BJP is part of ruling government, rift between the communities is so evident.

India is getting crazier by the minute. I think India has found their Zia in Modi. Pakistan has been through this path already where religion was made the business of the state during Zia's era and we are still suffering from the repercussions.

Now Modi is a democratically elected leader and he can't be as aristocratic as Zia, but he has inculcated a sense of divide between Hindus and the rest. In a country like India which has sizable minorities of other religions this could spell disaster.

Indians will see the effect of Modi's rule 10-15 years down the line.

India is getting crazier by the minute. I think India has found their Zia in Modi. Pakistan has been through this path already where religion was made the business of the state during Zia's era and we are still suffering from the repercussions.

Now Modi is a democratically elected leader and he can't be as aristocratic as Zia, but he has inculcated a sense of divide between Hindus and the rest. In a country like India which has sizable minorities of other religions this could spell disaster.

This. I mentioned something similar on a different thread too. The path India is taking will turn it into an extremist nation thanks to their Zia called modi. Considering the population of Muslims in India, I don't think it will end well for either group.

Already have gone down to that path. This law was put in place to and to implemented to please the radical Hindu extremists voter bank, if they were to charge it then radical Hindu politician won't get the vote they need to stay in power.

Well the alternatives are worse, problem with Indian politics is our options as a voter-

1. Congress - lack of leadership, all the corruption charges levied against them, no vision.
2. Regional parties - SP, BSP, RJD etc will get power in centre which would be the worst thing for India.. corruption and law and order would be degraded and goondas would roam free, kidnappings, extortion will increase..
3. BJP - The reason people vote for BJP is because they have a vision, Modi's foreign policies (minus Pakistan) has been brilliant with the amount of investment coming up.. The crackdown on local black money has been generally well received, HOWEVER, the drawback to electing BJP is that he fringe hindutva elements get power to commit mob violence..
4. NOTA - Majority people probably don't even know this option exist and what are the benefits/cons of it..

Now out of the above options we don't really have a choice BJP is the best fit to lead the country forward..

This. I mentioned something similar on a different thread too. The path India is taking will turn it into an extremist nation thanks to their Zia called modi. Considering the population of Muslims in India, I don't think it will end well for either group.

Modi is bringing in foreign investment and working on development as well.. He is not teaching religion in schools/madarassas.. I don't think we can go the Pakistan way because of all the companies and investment coming from the west a large section of Indian population is adopting their mindset, with social media, internet In big cities you see kids behave more western than Indians.. So if the smaller towns also start developing the kids from their will also start behaving more western..

For what you said to be true divisive stuff needs to be done at a school level which I hope will never happen..

The majority in India isn't as religious as the majority in Pakistan.

Which country will give freedom to population who repersents only below 20% of total area.

If there ever is a misleading post, this is it. Do u do this deliberately or you really have no clue?

Anyways on topic, these gujar bakarwals have been doing this since time immemorial. Only now have the hindu extremists gathered courage to do something like this to them. They are shooting themselves in the foot here because some of the gujar bakarwals dont care whether they live with India or without India. Such incidents will surely push them in the other direction where they would want to separate too.

Well...well...well....what a wonderful piece of news.

9 year old girl hurt by cow vigilantes. Family robbed off everything.

:(

Banning beef on religious grounds is fair enough but empowering vigilantes and encouraging mob mentality is not okay. India is treading on a dangerous path here. The more encouragement the religion enforcers get the harder they will be to combat further down the line.

It's also safe to say that these are no longer one-offs. Innocent people are getting hurt and it is inciting religious tensions.

The cow vigilantes are becoming a pest similar to the blasphemy punishers in Pakistan.

Bloody fed up with this bovine anarchy.This is not a hindu country.

What on earth cow vigilante's :/ I have no words

That too against nomadic herders. Chances are their ancestors have been herders for generations and this was probably the first time ever they have come under attack just for trying to make a living.

We see many crimes against innocent people but the nature of their proffession makes this very sad.

COw vigilantes are none but people who are stealing cattle from innocent people.

Just catch hold of anyone, hit him and take away his love stock.

This is nothing but robbing people in day light.

We have guys like Adityanath who are openly supporting cow vigilantes. What can you expect?

A cow has more value than a person in India.

I like a good steak and a burger but kebabs and curries are better with mutton, lamb so if I had an Asian diet I could easily go without beef.

BUT when I see threads like these it makes me want to eat beef all the time
(I say this whilst tucking to my juicy beef burger).

Cow vigilantes beat up three in M.P. for possession of beef; police arrest victims first

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gau Ralshaks on the prowl in MP. Muslim couple thrashed on suspicion of carrying ‘beef’. one person arrested by the police. Ram Raj aa raha hai <a href="https://t.co/sY25ZYPfDV">pic.twitter.com/sY25ZYPfDV</a></p>— Hemender Sharma (@delayedjab) <a href="https://twitter.com/delayedjab/status/1131951936318693379?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gau Rakshaks on the prowl part two <a href="https://t.co/xLdXsRFJky">pic.twitter.com/xLdXsRFJky</a></p>— Hemender Sharma (@delayedjab) <a href="https://twitter.com/delayedjab/status/1131954093755383809?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

Five people were detained in Seoni district of Madhya Pradesh for allegedly assaulting three people, including a women, on suspicion that they were transporting beef, the police said on Saturday.

The district police said Dilip Malviya, Taufik and Anjum Shama of Seoni were stopped by the accused when they were travelling in an autorickshaw near a restaurant on Mandla Road in the Kanhiwada area on May 22.

On being informed about the incident, the police came to the spot and arrested the three victims on suspicion that they were carrying beef. They were produced before a court and sent to jail, an official at the police station, who declined to be identified, said over telephone.

The police said they had seized 140 kg of red meat, adding that samples of had been sent for forensic analysis in Hyderabad.

It was only after the video of the incident was uploaded on social media by the head of the Shri Ram Sena that a sister of one of the victims saw the video, a day later, and lodged an FIR (First Information Report) with the police against the attackers.

Based on her complaint, the Seoni police arrested five persons, including the main accused Shubham Baghel, who had uploaded the video of the incident on his social media account.

“Five persons, including the main accused Shubham Baghel, have been arrested,” Superintendent of Police Lalit Shakyawar said. “Animal meat was found in the vehicle that the victims were using and it has been sent to laboratory for test,” he added.

An FIR had been registered against the five people under various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) at Dunda Seoni police station, Mr. Shakyawar said.

The other four accused have been identified as local residents Yogesh Uikey, Deepesh Namdev, Rohit Yadav and Shyam Dehriya.

The accused were produced before the court, which remanded them to judicial custody till June 6.

Though the video was later deleted by the accused, it had already been widely circulated on social media, evoking strong reactions and comment.

Former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister and PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti condemned the incident. “Horrified to see cow vigilantes thrash an innocent Muslim with such impunity in MP. Hope Kamal Nath takes swift action against these goons,” she tweeted.

President of AIMIM, Asaduddin Owaisi, also cited the video and tweeted: “This is how Muslims are treated by vigilantes created by Modi voters. Welcome to a New India which will [be] inclusive and as @PMOIndia said secularism ka niqaab”.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/natio...st-them-and-their-victims/article27246706.ece

Modi has nothing to do with any of this. He can't keep a watch on every incident in the country, neither he asked the culprits to process the act.

He has everything to do with this. He has legitimized attacks on Muslims given his history *Gujrat for example) and his love of Hindutva.

What was the rate of Cow vigilante attacks before he came into power?

Maybe it's just a natural inclination for Hindus to feel brave when they are in a large mob then. They aren't usually a violent people so perhaps a feeling of physical supremacy through numbers goes to their head.

Must have ran out of Ladoos so thought the next best way to celebrate their Hindu extremist leader being re-elected is to beat up some Muslims.

Jai Hind.

That's why we don't need to worry about damaging India, Modi will do it all on his own.

Feel sad for the couple and generally Muslims in India.

Thank you Modi.... may you rule for two decades. Pakistan won't even have to worry about India. India will self-immolate.

Thank God Tamil Nadu rejected these goons. And Kerala, Andhra too. I will never have to worry about these violent criminals in my life. Too bad rest of India is happy to overlook this madness.

Feel sad for the couple and generally Muslims in India.

Thank you Modi.... may you rule for two decades. Pakistan won't even have to worry about India. India will self-immolate.

It's a Pyrrhic victory for Pakistan. A modern progressive India would give incentive for Pakistan to try and match them, healthy competition is a great driving force. Instead we have Hindutva fundamentalists taking the country backwards, which will only make Pakistan rest on their laurels and think...look India are copying the Taliban, we must have been right all along!

You are partly right... but infact you are wrong.

Pakistan tries to be the opposite of India. If they are plunging in the depth of Hindu Rashtra then Pak will move towards more secularism and the signs are already there with more space being given to minorities by the new government.

In any case, Taliban would never tolerate mob justice or thrashing of a man and wife in public. If they were doling out barbaric sentences, they would do it themselves, not allow every Tom, Dixit or Hari to dish it out. But Modi has previous, he made his name by allowing mob justice to run riot in his home state.

So unexpected.....This is exactly why Modi and BJP was voted in and any other justification by BJP supporters is just an example of their doglapan.

Truely disgusting act by these lunatics. hopefully they get put in jail and punishment for their crimes.

I feel scared for any Muslims living in Modi’s India. Fascism at its peak

I hope you share same feelings towards your own country man too, the ones who don’t share the same religion as you. :)

Modis New India

A******S, I wish I could I could personally take law into my hands and break each and every one of those skinny thugssssssss....... I AM DISGUSTED BY THIS!!!!!!!!!

P.S. Modi has not do with this, like the poster above mentioned he cannot control every human being in India..

A******S, I wish I could I could personally take law into my hands and break each and every one of those skinny thugssssssss....... I AM DISGUSTED BY THIS!!!!!!!!!

P.S. Modi has not do with this, like the poster above mentioned he cannot control every human being in India..

Elected radicalized extremists nationalist Hindu has everything to do with rise in hate and racist crimes against minority by radicalized extremists Hindu nationalists.

Modi doesn't have to control every human being in India, he just has to inspire them.

The dumbest excuse from educated Bhakths and Hindutva, I guess gullible Indians are easily influenced as long as the leader play a religious card.

Given the levels of poverty and illiteracy in India, dumb excuses are to be expected. The sad part is the educated Bhakths try and convince the rest of the world thinking they are as gullible as Hindutva foot soldiers.

Modi doesn't have to control every human being in India, he just has to inspire them.

Wow that's news to me Sherlock, so you are saying with surety that Modi inspires every human being in India ?.... Geez I guess my father is allowed to think General Zia inspired every Pakistani of that generation?.. Lol :))

Wasn't the point sweet pea.

You think Modi has to control these cow vigilantes when in fact he doesn't need to control, just inspire. This isn't news, it's breaking news to the way you think.

As you were.

He has nothing to do with it?

How blind can one be?

His own party members have a history of speaking ill of Muslims. Doesn't that encourage violence?

Wasn't the point sweet pea.

You think Modi has to control these cow vigilantes when in fact he doesn't need to control, just inspire. This isn't news, it's breaking news to the way you think.

As you were.

Stop deflecting from my reply to you post 23, you said with surety that Modi inspires all ppl of India... Ans the question, so does Modi inspire every human being in India ? A clear YES or NO would suffice...

I don't really get the argument about Modi inspiring this.
BJP supporters do not need any inspiration to behave in this manner.
Such vile oafish behaviour comes naturally to them.

There is a saying in India-"munh main Ram,bagal main churi" and this is how I would take any posts by BJP supporters condemning this.

Modi is a criminal , and has already stamped over Indian Constitution. Its a shame that Indian people voted for such a person.

oh well.... Pakistan is not the patron saint of indian muslims.
these people after all, have the audacity to serve in the indian army. they deserve Modi and his terrorists.

Long this may continue.India continue to prosper under terrorist's rule.Under his rule Hindus feel like they have power and get away with anything.India will always remain classless and third world country

Modi wants civil war in his own country whilst attacking Pakistan as well. Surely he should realise that this makes his own Muslim's pro-Pak in any future war.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Unsurprisingly, the main accused in the MP cow vigilante attack (circled) has posted pix with another model citizen. <a href="https://t.co/tlNn1HGlah">pic.twitter.com/tlNn1HGlah</a></p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1132221167467503616?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

Modi is a criminal , and has already stamped over Indian Constitution. Its a shame that Indian people voted for such a person.

It actually is a shame as it is a reflection of India's extremist mentality.

Rahul Gandhi is also a Hindu, and educated. Modi is an extremist Hindu, and uneducated.

I suppose it is true when they say in India - Jaisa log waise neta.

oh well.... Pakistan is not the patron saint of indian muslims.
these people after all, have the audacity to serve in the indian army. they deserve Modi and his terrorists.

Why will they not serve in their country's army?

What crime has he committed? How has he stamped over the constitution?

Why is it a shame? You or other foreigners may not like him. That doesnot mean Indians should be ashamed of it.

Why will they not serve in their country's army?
because the indian army is being used to occupy Occupied Kashmir. the indian muslims do not care and shamelessly serve in the indian army.
muslims in India deserve Modi and his ilk.

India is going down the drain as a secular nation as expected.

You are partly right... but infact you are wrong.

Pakistan tries to be the opposite of India. If they are plunging in the depth of Hindu Rashtra then Pak will move towards more secularism and the signs are already there with more space being given to minorities by the new government.

Pakistan should give more space to minorities because it's the right thing to do, not to prove a point against Modi's India.

because the indian army is being used to occupy Occupied Kashmir. the indian muslims do not care and shamelessly serve in the indian army.

The Indian muslims like hindus or sikhs or christians or parsis etc work for their country's army and to keep its integrity. Thats normal. Why single out the muslims.

They earn their living In India so are expected to perform their duty like other citizens.

I

Rahul Gandhi is also a Hindu, and educated. Modi is an extremist Hindu, and uneducated.

Umm what ???? :))), our Pakistani brethren really know nothing about India it seems, not surprising, whatever floats the boat as long as it is not Modi I guess... lol

Rahul Gandhi studied at Harvard University AND Trinity College of Cambridge, this alone whoops Modi's chai wala mindset.

Seems like Modi apologists have very little idea of their own Indian brethren. Then again, an outsider telling Indians how it is has been a theme for centuries.

I predict a barrage of smilies.

3....2....1....GO!

It’s a shame that certain Indian posters seem to be defending this behaviour. I understand that the passion from some posters here may be seen as generalising of all Hindus, but this is indefensible.

Has this reached mainstream news in India? If so, Modi has no excuse not to denounce this behaviour.

Rahul Gandhi studied at Harvard University AND Trinity College of Cambridge, this alone whoops Modi's chai wala mindset.

Seems like Modi apologists have very little idea of their own Indian brethren. Then again, an outsider telling Indians how it is has been a theme for centuries.

I predict a barrage of smilies.

3....2....1....GO!

3, 2, 1

No evidence Rahul Gandhi completed his degree from Harvard, feel free to prove me wrong... :angel:

Harvard student interview:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Psen10db1k0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Shows all signs of intellect, charisma, etc....

Little boy Rahul Gandhi, the occasional stuttering is cute :asif

That’s twice in one thread where Hindutva apologists have learned something new. Now a new tact makes an appearance, one which is clearly euphemistic of damage control.

Brilliant, just brilliant.

That’s twice in one thread where Hindutva apologists have learned something new. Now a new tact makes an appearance, one which is clearly euphemistic of damage control.

Brilliant, just brilliant.

Umm Yeahh, waiting on that proof of that Harvard degree there buddy :)

Hindu posters here defending Modi just like uneducated whites in US defend Trump.

Stats have shown that ever since trump came into power attacks on minority places of worship and minorities in general have seen a massive spike. You are seeing more alt right and white nationalist rallies and in one such rally, a guy ran over a protestor with his car.
Here as well, the republicans deny these accusations and defend trump and claim he is not at fault. When your policies, campaign rhetoric is quite clearly anti minority how can you not take responsibility for the rise in hate and rise in crime against them?

Lol at Modi fans having the gall to laugh at Rahul Gandhi's education. And at their crocodile tears here.

Entire Political Science :)))

Modi's degree apparently. The idiocy on display while concocting a course like that.

Some of you would have seen that newspaper clipping from years before he became Gujarat CM as an RSS guy where he claims he's an engineer :))

Lies, lies and more lies. And his fans follow trying to outdo him at each stage.
[MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION]
Weren't you the other person here apart from me who suspected Modiji's role in Pulwama. What happened? tata, byebye?

Wah Modiji wah wah.

[MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION]
Weren't you the other person here apart from me who suspected Modiji's role in Pulwama. What happened? tata, byebye?

Wah Modiji wah wah.

Yeap, I have my suspicion that Pulwama may have been a setup, however I have no evidence to back it up...... Let me tell you the scenario here, even if there was all the proof in the world that Pulwama was a setup, I would still prefer Modi over little boy Rahul Gandhi (That tells you how I feel about him and the opposition).... Children like Rahul Gandhi shouldn't be in politics, remove the word 'Gandhi' entirely from Congress, then they would be worth giving a chance, provided they field a PM candidate that is also not a child, otherwise :shhh