Hazlewood isn't better than Gillespie
Gillespie was a major reason why Australia won in India in 04. He bowled beautifully in that series. Hazlewood has yet to do anything that significant in tough conditions.
Gillespie had an excellent seam presentation and did really well on dry/slow surfaces, but he wasn’t very effective in countries where they ball swung more.
He was a major reason why Australia won in India in 2004 but also a major reason why Australia lost the Ashes in 2005.
In that series, he was a rabbit in headlights without McGrath and I have never seen Hazlewood look so helpless over the course of a series.
Having watched both bowl, I will pick Hazlewood in my team because I believe he is a more skillful bowler who is capable of leading an attack in his own right.
Gillespie was an excellent support act but he benefited a lot from bowling with McGrath.
Smith's Saffers were great team between 2008-14. Aussies were a great team between 1995-2007.
Aus between 2000-2007 >>> Smith's Saffers
Also, SA didn't had a Warne equivalent.
Hazelwood was terrible in SA 2018 and pretty much every away series except Ashes 2019.
Has there been any team in history that has had a Warne equivalent?
I agree. Aussies had replacements for Steve Waugh and Mark Waugh when they retired. Clarke and Martyn came in. SA didn't had any replacement for Kallis and Smith. Also, SA didn't had a Warne equivalent.
Hazlewood averaged in the high 30s in the South Africa series.
Gillespie averaged 100+ in the 2005 Ashes.
He was on his last leg. At his prime, he took 7-37 in England and won them a match in 1997.
They beat SA in 1998, 2nd strongest team of that decade.There can always be excuses for every failure. He was brilliant in India only 6-7 months earlier, not much could have happened to him and his legs over that period.
England in the late 90s was a thoroughly poor side.
There can always be excuses for every failure. He was brilliant in India only 6-7 months earlier, not much could have happened to him and his legs over that period.
England in the late 90s was a thoroughly poor side.
He was on his last leg. At his prime, he took 7-37 in England and won them a match in 1997.
Current aus already lost 2 home series within 2 year.
They beat SA in 1998, 2nd strongest team of that decade.
Aus between 2000-2007 >>> Smith's Saffers
He retired in 2006, clearly that's not an excuse.
They beat SA in 1998, 2nd strongest team of that decade.
From 1997 to 1999, England won only 1 Test series at home (South Africa) and lost 3 (Ashes, Sri Lanka and New Zealand).
They were a poor side. The weakest home team in that period along with Pakistan.
That doesn’t explain why he performed so well in India in 2004. Had he failed in that series the “last legs” excused would have been used.
Last legs or not, Gillespie had no justification for his bowling in the 2005 Ashes. He was shocking, and as a senior bowler, he should have stepped up in McGrath’s absence.
Apart from Donald the bowling was weak. Hayward lol. McMillan.
You are all over the place. We are talking about 2000 era.
Still Saffers under Cronje are an ATG team.
That doesn’t explain why he performed so well in India in 2004. Had he failed in that series the “last legs” excused would have been used.
Last legs or not, Gillespie had no justification for his bowling in the 2005 Ashes. He was shocking, and as a senior bowler, he should have stepped up in McGrath’s absence.
Doesn't matter. The more I delve into stats and the lineups faced by 2000 era Aussies, the worse it looks for the so called ATGs.
So I will stop. Era comparison is pointless anyway.
Nope. Not necessarily. All pure conjectue. They faced weaker bowling lineups comapres to saffers.
Unless they played ecah other you can't say who is better.
http://howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Players/PlayerProgressBowl.asp?PlayerId=2082&Series=0515
Indian fans are trying to greatly exaggerate the current Aus team in order to make India's win in the second test look highly impressive.
1997 Ashes is the best England competed against Australia in an Ashes series from 1989-2003.
Losing 3-2 at home to 1997 version of Australia doesn’t make you a strong side. That Australia lost in India and Sri Lanka in the same period (1996-97).
England lost 3 out of 4 Test series at home from 1997 to 1999. Strong teams don’t do that.
Aussies destroyed Smith's Saffers in 2005/2006. Beat them 2-0 in Australia and whitewashed them 3-0 in South Africa.
Aussies of 2000's >>>> Smith's Saffers.
Baccha Smith was a Newbie at the time.
Look at the bowling lineup.
Nel langeveldt. Yea how about no.
Ponting's Aussies never beat peak Smith's side in australia. In fact they lost in 08.
Hahaha, in 08 Smith's Saffers beat an Aussie team without Mcgrath,Warne, Langer,Martyn and Gilchrist.
Get the hell out of here.
Weak Aussie thrashed peak smith saffer in South Africa.
Twice actually, ( 2009 and 2014) Smith Saffers thrashed in their backyard by a weak Aussie side.
How was that Aussie team stronger? AFAIK that Australian team was severely weakened by the retirement of their ATG's like Warne, Mcgrath, Gilly etc.That Aussie team was stronger than overrated flat track era fodders of pre 2006.
Way better.
Also saffers thrashed them 3 times in 08, 13 etcnin Australia mate.
How was that Aussie team stronger? AFAIK that Australian team was severely weakened by the retirement of their ATG's like Warne, Mcgrath, Gilly etc.
Both never played at their best vs each other.
We don't know whether early 2000 era Aussie side would beat post 2006 Aussie side at home. Bowling attack consisted of Ryan Harris Johnson etc were strong at home. Batting was solid with Clarke Watson Rogers etc.
All conjecture.
But what we do know is pre 2006 Aussies team feasted on weak attacks in Aussie Condtions.
There is no justification for picking Labu over Clarke or Martyn even in Australia.
You are grossly exaggerating the current Aus team to make India look good.
The current Indian team would struggle to win a session in a test vs the 2000's Aus in Aus. They certainly wouldn't be winning a match vs them.
)Tyron and jeet guy
Tyron claims Green is better than Martyn and Labushagne better than Clarke. And current Aussie bowling lineup is slightly better than 2000s lineup

Lol India’s never playing it’s best teams. Or india hasn’t prepare when they lose so it shouldn’t count
Your excuses are hilarious)

Exactly. Same excuse can be used by fans of each country.![]()
India wasnt playing its best team because Gill, the guy who hasnt debut'd yet, wasnt playing. Wah Tyron Ji kya baat hai.
Gill
Bhuvi injured
Jadeja
Ashwin
Don't play together.
Huge difference.
And now vs Australia missing 5 key players.

There is no justification for picking Labu over Clarke or Martyn even in Australia.
You are grossly exaggerating the current Aus team to make India look good.
The current Indian team would struggle to win a session in a test vs the 2000's Aus in Aus. They certainly wouldn't be winning a match vs them.
Clearly someone’s losing it after being made the laughing stock of the forum![]()
This current Indian bowling and Aussie lineup would ruin them and make them commit suicide if both teams are bowling is at full strength.
God. The 2000 era Aussies are so overrated
They draw with an Indian side that had the bowling of Zak agarkar and Nehra. ROFL.

Laughing stock lmao? Me ? Everything I say is always true. What's wrong with what I said? I am telling the truth. New zeland din't beat us at full strength. We dint play tour games before the test series either.
Now we are missing 5 key players vs Aussies 1. Do the math.
Just because someone says ‘I always tell the truth’ and keeps repeating it doesn’t make it true.. otherwise jails would be empty.
Also it’s funny that you have to point to 1-2 series from a 7-8 year period to try to trash the 2000s Aussies lol. You could point to a series every couple of years to do the same for
current Aussies or even current Indians
)Chucking aside, SL had Murali who performed as good as Warne.
This current Indian bowling and Aussie lineup would ruin them and make them commit suicide if both teams are bowling is at full strength.
They draw with an Indian side that had the bowling of Zak agarkar and Nehra. ROFL.
They never beat a tean with a quality pace attack in Aussie Condtions.
I am talking about Aussie Condtions specifically. Huge difference.
They played vs South Africa that had a weak attack of Nel, Nitini and geraitric Pollock.
You just want to make the pre 2006 era players look speical because your favourite fodders played in that flat track cricket era.
Yea that Aussie side didn’t have Warne, McGrath for whole series and Lee for large parts of it. If that was the Indian side you would claim that the series result shouldn’t even count since the best 2 Aussie bowlers didn’t play at all and Lee only came at end. Lmaoo atleast be consistent in your weird standards.
Also that Indian side was fairly good and the batting was filled with ATGs. So it was Indian batting ATGs against bowlers like Brad Williams (who became a house painter shortly afterwards), Bracken (nonexistent test career) and Andy Bichel... if situation was reversed you would claim that the series result should be struck off record books![]()
The current full strength Indian bowling lineup of:
Ishant,
Bumrah,
Shami
Ashwin
Jadeja/Yadav
vs the early to mid 2000s Aus batting lineup would be a good fight. However, the Aussie bowling line up till Mcgrath retired from the late 90s onwards would destroy the current full strength Indian batting, it would not even be a contest..
He IS the truth damn it!)
Relax bro - u r getting senti.
What Aussies of 2000, I’m telling you that India of 2020 with full squad won’t beat India of 2000 anywhere in world in a 5 Test series - it’s up to you to take or not.
I have seen both sides closely. And current Indian bowling is over hyped because of the quality of opponents - Australia poor batting unit, NZ decent at most, Poms are good in ODI but not that much in Test. While WIN, SAF, SRL and PAK have declined massively - particularly PAK and Srilanka are shadows of their 2000-05 batting power...... yes, you can say Bangladeshi batting of 2019 was better than 1999......
You can ask senior Indian posters here - Viru or SIF or G2 .... and check this. Zak, Srinath, even Agarkar, Pathan were quite good actually, not to mention Kumble & Bhajji - but they looked ordinary in comparison to Wasim, Shoaib, Ambi, Walshi, Donald, Pollock, Bond, Makhya, Gough, Hoggard, Harmisson, Caddick and those frightening Aussies.
And have you noticed the decline of overall cricket? Going beyond stats, only current bowlers that’ll make a combined XI will be Bumrah - that too because of his uniqueness. Do you really think Ishant was better than Srinath or Shami over Zak.... while Kumble & Bhajji were at different level all together.
I’m not even touching batting here ....
And I’m serious bro - leave Australia 2000; compare India of 2000 v 2020 and see how many you get in your side.
To the learned posters, don't go by what these newbies say. They themselves don't know what they are blabbering about that ATG Australian team and Indian team of '00s.
India of 2015-2019 which was the prime Kohli's of kohlis indiawould wallop India of 2000 5 times in a 5 test series and probably make them bat twice in every game if the games were shceduled in India.
Current Indian bowling is not overhyped. They are darn good. Tendu and other overrated batsmen have not faced bowling of this quality from modern era Aussies or Indians or kiwis. Literally every team has top Calibre bowling attacks except the green trundlers apart from shaheen, Bangladesh. Even englund has Archer who is probably an ATg in the making.
Modern attacks are far more well rounded.
Australia currently is not a poor batting unit. They would butcher every other side. They just ran into some quality bowling. Next game is at scg. They can easily put up big scores.
Pre 2006 era, games were played mainly on roads hence the batsmen have an inflated ego. They are far too overrated for playing on absolute pancakes.
Viru is a since. I don't care about what he has to say. Lol again it's all just names.
Ambrose and Courtney initially benefitted from bouncer rules when they first started and padded up their stats.
Agarkar Pathan and sirnath din't play together. Srinath retired earlier. Agarkar Nehra Pathan is what played vs Australia in Australia and that is a sub standard attack in Australian Condtions. Still competed well with the so called goat team on roads.
Ishant is better than Zak khan anyday. Current Ishant? Post 2015 Ishant has been one of the best bowlers in the world. This is why stats aren't everything.
Donald had fodders like Hayward to support him. It's not a complete attack.
Wasim is a legend but wackqar was wack in Australia and India. Another overrated player.
Shoaib lol. He got found out rather quickly hence he had to fake some injured to make himself feel better.
Also Ambrose din't even want to tour India apparently.
Caddick Harmison etc are all average bowlers. Nothing special.
Modern bowling attacks are more complete and well rounded and hunt together as a team.
We are talking about Aussie Condtions.
Current bowling is better than 2000 era in Australian Condtions.
Previous era batting is better but Aussies have Smith and labu. It will be very close and I would not be surprised if current team wrecks them at all.
They are that good.
Clarke dint do squat vs Steyn in Australia. He performed in South Africa but Australia got hammered in Australia for like 3 straight series in a row.
I am specifically taking about Australian Condtions. It's not that hard to understand. Current Australia are just as good in Australian Condtions. They are great home bullies.
I would make this team from 2000s and 2010s
1. Justin Langer
2. Matthew Hayden
3. Ricky Ponting
4. Steven Smith
5. Michael Clarke
6. Steve Waugh (C)
7. Adam Gilchrist (wk)
8. Shane Warne
9. Pat Cummins
10. Ryan Harris/Jason Gillespie
11. Glenn McGrath
Relax bro - u r getting senti.
What Aussies of 2000, I’m telling you that India of 2020 with full squad won’t beat India of 2000 anywhere in world in a 5 Test series - it’s up to you to take or not.
I have seen both sides closely. And current Indian bowling is over hyped because of the quality of opponents - Australia poor batting unit, NZ decent at most, Poms are good in ODI but not that much in Test. While WIN, SAF, SRL and PAK have declined massively - particularly PAK and Srilanka are shadows of their 2000-05 batting power...... yes, you can say Bangladeshi batting of 2019 was better than 1999......
You can ask senior Indian posters here - Viru or SIF or G2 .... and check this. Zak, Srinath, even Agarkar, Pathan were quite good actually, not to mention Kumble & Bhajji - but they looked ordinary in comparison to Wasim, Shoaib, Ambi, Walshi, Donald, Pollock, Bond, Makhya, Gough, Hoggard, Harmisson, Caddick and those frightening Aussies.
And have you noticed the decline of overall cricket? Going beyond stats, only current bowlers that’ll make a combined XI will be Bumrah - that too because of his uniqueness. Do you really think Ishant was better than Srinath or Shami over Zak.... while Kumble & Bhajji were at different level all together.
I’m not even touching batting here ....
And I’m serious bro - leave Australia 2000; compare India of 2000 v 2020 and see how many you get in your side.
A weakened Ponting's Australia after the retirement of Mcgrath, Warne, Gilchrist, Martyn, Hayden and langer beat Smith's South africa in 2009. Dont know what you're going on about.Nope. Not necessarily. All pure conjectue. They faced weaker bowling lineups comapres to saffers.
Unless they played ecah other you can't say who is better.
You can't compare a small period to a decade and hence you are underrating India's peak performance of 2007-2010. If we do a fair comparison,
Indian team under Kohli(2015-2019) vs India team of 2007-10:-
Indian team of 2007-10:-
1)2007 England away win
2)2008 NZ away win
3)2011 drew in SA vs ATG SA side( minus Philander but peak Steyn)
4)2007 lost 1-2 to Aus but Sydney should have been at the bare minimum a draw and series would have been 1-1
5) Lost 2-1 in SL but that team had Murli, peak Mendis, Sanga, Mahela, Samaraweera and Dilshan
Indian team under Kohli(2015-19)
1. Lost in England 4-1
2. Lost in SA 2-1
3. Lost in NZ 2-0
4. Won in Aus ( good win)
5. Won in SL( but a much much inferior SL side)
You can see that Indian side fared much better away from home with Zaheer Khan, the only bowler at its peak and their ATG batting lineup compared to current Indian team away from home.
A weakened Ponting's Australia after the retirement of Mcgrath, Warne, Gilchrist, Martyn, Hayden and langer beat Smith's South africa in 2009. Dont know what you're going on about.
Scott styris
Darryl tuffey
That was the joke n.z bowling lineup india faced to beat them.
Tsotsebe played vs India in 2011. Morkel wasn't in his prime. No philander.
England had tremelett, young andy pre prime and young finn.
No where near the same quality as now.
I can do this for Australia too. Faced joke lineups.

Morkel was not at prime lol. Btw, in a same way, Australia had Marcus Harris, Khwaja, Head, Burns and Voges as their main batsman in 2018 series, it applies both ways. You compare the Australian batting lineup of 2018 to Australian batting lineup of 2003, the latter is a GOAT batting lineup while former is their worst ever.
That 2003 series had Tendulkar going through a bad patch due to tennis elbow injury concerns. When he got back into form between 2007-2011, you can see how many matches his team won. Tendulkar's peak was 1992-2002 and them 2007-2011, that's 15 years of dominance.![]()
Ryan Harris in the same conversation as Gillespie ??? Come on now lol...
And they also lost at home to sAffers.
Thats why you can't compare the two teams. They are all about equal.
Also the post 2006 batting was really good for Australia. They had Clarke, Watson, punter, rogers and good all rounders. It was a solid team for Aussie conditions. No guarantee scummy version of pre 2006 Aussie side would beat them.
Also bowling g had Ryan Harris Johnson starc Lyon etc. It was a quality side in Australian conditions.
Australian conditions mate. I dont care about the overseas performance. In Australia they would easily challenge pre 2006 Aussies.
Also look at the joke lineup of Pakistan that faced India in 2004-2006. They had yasir Arafat and a few other dud cannon fodders with shoaib and they beat pre 2006 team at home although they did lose away ofcourse.
In home conditions its possible even for supposedly weaker sides to beat goat level teams.