Dams fund raising watch Thread

The CJ and PM never said the entire dam will be funded from it. Infact they only need a certain critical amount to initiate construction upon which it would be easier to secure funding from abroad.

What is the critical number?what will happen if that number not reached?

So they have managed $ 30 million (approx) so far based on donation. This is a significant amount collected. However how much will the dam cost? I am guessing it will be close to a billion dollars if not more..

Every single Pakistani should donate to this cause. I am against asking for money to do national projects but water scarcity is a serious issue for us and we should all try to help. We dont have astute politicians and this is the best idea they have came up with.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan Cricket Team Donates Rs: 3.2 Million To Dams Fund. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateForDams?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateForDams</a> <a href="https://t.co/Ywdz9yTtB2">pic.twitter.com/Ywdz9yTtB2</a></p>— PTI Islamabad (@PTIOfficialISB) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIOfficialISB/status/1039899394387181568?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 12, 2018</a></blockquote>

So they have managed $ 30 million (approx) so far based on donation. This is a significant amount collected. However how much will the dam cost? I am guessing it will be close to a billion dollars if not more..

the dam cost is US$ 14 billion. All these charity work will be a useless charade compared to the monumental task.

I think this dam fund is more of a goodwill gesture towards the people, a way to keep them involved, and take ownership over the project. It definitely isn't a model they will be using for funding, nor should it be.

LOL. hence my statement that its a farce. A nothing burger. All hype, no substance.

The govt. is collecting money from people for some pipe dream. Its called a con job.

LOL. hence my statement that its a farce. A nothing burger. All hype, no substance.

The govt. is collecting money from people for some pipe dream. Its called a con job.

I don't see what's wrong in it. They are going to secure funding through a different model, but are doing this donation thing as a way to gain trust. In my opinion, this move is great because once the people see that their money is being invested back into them, they will start trusting the government with their money (maybe even taxes).

People pay taxes, dont they?? Arent taxes supposed to fund these?

Pay taxes? There were 1.9m tax returns filed in a country of 200+ million.

This initiative is to give a sense of ownership and maybe make the awaam realise that if you don't pay your taxes, it's your own country and its infrastructure which suffers. Think of it as an educational exercise.

They need $12-14B for Basha Dam, $30M is a chum chain for that...

The main issue Pakistan and Pakistanis are struggling to come to terms with in last 2/3 decades, is to build KalaBagh Dam, which is less than half the price($7-8B) and can produce more than twice the energy and store lot more water...By know we would have moved on to make couple of more and had no electricity shortage, that too, couple of decades ago...

So Why we have not build Kalabagh Dam in last 3 decades?? - Its mainly because of location of Kalabagh Dam...Most if not all the land will be donated by KPK, there agriculture belt(significant population will be dislocated), but benefits of Water irrigation will be to Punjab and if something left would go to Sindh(water right now that flows to them, will be cut short and they will be at mercy of other two to make right decision)... Weather its military or politicians, its very hard to convince masses of small provinces(Sindh and KPK), that the big guy will pay you the debt... We had good example of Bloachistan, they did not get any benefit of providing free gas for last 50 years or so to rest of the Pakistan, people are still very poor and least developed, yet most natural resource rich state...Pakistan is still looking to milk there resources but not will to invest in them...With such examples, nobody else want to do a greater good voluntary :facepalm:

Even right now Basha Dam is going through because GB are poor(not that dense population) people, with little political influence, its easy to suppress them like Blochis...Although building Dam so up high is double expensive and not that useful to preserve water when compare to building it further down the hill, where nature helps more to store and irrigate water and produce more electricity...

I Dont think we can seriously assume that the Dam will be built using donations.

This is to allow Pakistanis to feel like partners in progress with the Govt.

Not to go off topic but this does make one wonder *** were the previous leadership's doing. This should have been started 3 decades ago atleast. It seems like no one glanced at the future of our country.

The likes of NS, Zardari and co have the mindset steal, loot, plunder whatever you can like no tomorrow for each and every day for the next 5 years, to hell with the needs of the nation.

Less than 10% of Pakistanis with taxable incomes pay their taxes. As I said before, this donations thing may actually be a good way to earn the trust of the people, many people don't pay taxes because they don't trust the government with their tax money.

In the end, the government will have to settle on upgrading the existing infrastructure and building small projects to alleviate the water crisis. The donation drive will lose steam in a few months time, just like any other issue in Pakistan. The amount of money generated until now doesn’t even scratch the surface. Plus there are differing opinions on the utility of the dams.

I still cant belive a sitting PM is actully begging people for chanda in the 21st century where its so easy to secure funds for gov.

So its ok to get loans for useless flyovers and metro trains but not for the neccesary projects we actully need.

Btw. wasnt IK causing a mayhem when Musharraf wanted to build basha and kalabagh?

I still cant belive a sitting PM is actully begging people for chanda in the 21st century where its so easy to secure funds for gov.

So its ok to get loans for useless flyovers and metro trains but not for the neccesary projects we actully need.

Btw. wasnt IK causing a mayhem when Musharraf wanted to build basha and kalabagh?

Is asking for money worse than looting and plundering and buying wealth abroad?

kya baat hei, you sir are definitely not the sharpest tool in the shed, are ya?

Nope, But the leader in question is, for begging while being a sitting PM - Do you see the irony in your statement :)))

Secondly being different from looting is not known yet - because the cost of dam will not be covered, then what? where does the money go?

This seems like another 'Karz Utao, Mulk Sanwaro' scheme like IKs guru Nawaz ran in the 90s and some 20 years later we are still wondering were the funds went - so atleast we now know where IK has learnt his politics from.

Are they actually planning on putting a proper financing package together or is this Chanda charade going to go on and on forever without the project getting off the ground in our lifetime?

We get it, the point has been made. Now put a plan together to raise money. Considering agriculture will be the biggest beneficiary, have they thought about introducing taxes there? Do farmers pay any tax at all?

The Gov has been in the job for barely a month. What loans have they taken on? Please explain.

What is the latest score on this front? Our overseas champions, without whose contributions this country cannot survive, must have sent around 10 Arab rupees by now.

Furthermore, PEMRA has ordered TV channels not to comment on the rate of funds coming in.

Also, what happens when people forget about this jihad in let’s say three months time?

They need $12-14B for Basha Dam, $30M is a chum chain for that...

The main issue Pakistan and Pakistanis are struggling to come to terms with in last 2/3 decades, is to build KalaBagh Dam, which is less than half the price($7-8B) and can produce more than twice the energy and store lot more water...By know we would have moved on to make couple of more and had no electricity shortage, that too, couple of decades ago...

So Why we have not build Kalabagh Dam in last 3 decades?? - Its mainly because of location of Kalabagh Dam...Most if not all the land will be donated by KPK, there agriculture belt(significant population will be dislocated), but benefits of Water irrigation will be to Punjab and if something left would go to Sindh(water right now that flows to them, will be cut short and they will be at mercy of other two to make right decision)... Weather its military or politicians, its very hard to convince masses of small provinces(Sindh and KPK), that the big guy will pay you the debt... We had good example of Bloachistan, they did not get any benefit of providing free gas for last 50 years or so to rest of the Pakistan, people are still very poor and least developed, yet most natural resource rich state...Pakistan is still looking to milk there resources but not will to invest in them...With such examples, nobody else want to do a greater good voluntary :facepalm:

Even right now Basha Dam is going through because GB are poor(not that dense population) people, with little political influence, its easy to suppress them like Blochis...Although building Dam so up high is double expensive and not that useful to preserve water when compare to building it further down the hill, where nature helps more to store and irrigate water and produce more electricity...

Just want to know did gas companies collected gas bills all these years from Punjabis . And another thing did Punjabis paid NEELUM JEHLUM SURCHARGE and money in this fund. Did Punjabis get water in Ravi Sutlej Bias these days or the water passes through Punjab land. Is it Punjab’s fault that we are in drought for 11 months and 1 month in floods.

What is the latest score on this front? Our overseas champions, without whose contributions this country cannot survive, must have sent around 10 Arab rupees by now.

Furthermore, PEMRA has ordered TV channels not to comment on the rate of funds coming in.

Also, what happens when people forget about this jihad in let’s say three months time?

US$ 35 million collected in 3 months => 140 million per year => 1.4 billion in 10 years => 14 billion in 100 years!! So you can have the dam possible in 2120 provided inflation remains zero!! This chanda system is such a joke.

Can you be happy about anything? It is Okay to be cynical, okay to question, but you take negativity to anew exteme.

Pakistan should have just accepted the Chinese offer to build the Diamer Basha Dam as part of cpec. Sure the ownership framework was controversial but at least it would have been built in a timely manner. Surely you could have negotiated on the ownership issues and kept control of at least some of the dam
after all a small % of a dam that is built and up and running soon is better than 100% of a dam that takes decades to complete.

Water management and power generation aren’t just an infrastructure issue but they are national security issues. Throwing billions of $s at your armed services whilst ignoring the above is a pretty shortsighted way to run a country.

US$ 35 million collected in 3 months => 140 million per year => 1.4 billion in 10 years => 14 billion in 100 years!! So you can have the dam possible in 2120 provided inflation remains zero!! This chanda system is such a joke.

This is what happens when people with smaller brains try to act smart :)

As of today around Rs. 4.6 billion collected. First target is Rs 30b and we are getting close to that.

Dont worry even if it will take 1000 years, we wont ask you (Indian) for chanda.
btw, the SC never said the dam is going to be built only on chanda money, Govt will aslo pay for it, (about more thn 75%) so get this in your head.

Dated: 4-October-2018

Total Amount: Rs. 4,538,825,754

(Four billion five hundred thirty-eight million eight hundred twenty-five thousand seven hundred fifty-four rupees)
(چار ارب تریپن کروڑاٹھاسی لاکھ پچیس ہزار سات سو چون روپے)

Dont worry even if it will take 1000 years, we wont ask you (Indian) for chanda.
btw, the SC never said the dam is going to be built only on chanda money, Govt will aslo pay for it, (about more thn 75%) so get this in your head.

Rivers change course over long periods of time .. just a scientific fact for u

This could be the greatest and most inspirational project ever in the history of mankind. Sending nothing but love and goodwill to my Pakistani brothers.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">People of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Akon?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Akon</a> wants YOU to start contributing for the construction of Bhasha Dam Fund. Let’s protect our future <a href="https://twitter.com/touchskygroup?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@touchskygroup</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/wssofficial2019?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#wssofficial2019</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/UnitedForFootball?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#UnitedForFootball</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/yOOJH0896n">pic.twitter.com/yOOJH0896n</a></p>— WORLDSOCCERSTARS (@WSSOFFICIAL2019) <a href="https://twitter.com/WSSOFFICIAL2019/status/1084799947134943232?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 14, 2019</a></blockquote>

This fund raising is such a dud. 6 months and US$ 70 million raised (thats a mighty 0.5% the required amount. As I had said 100+ years needed to reach the principal amount.. It doesn't even cover the cost increases due to inflation

$70 million is better than $0? or is my math that bad?

why complain about something good?

there are many evils in the world you could complain about..

$70 million is better than $0? or is my math that bad?

why complain about something good?

there are many evils in the world you could complain about..

Your math is bad bro! A 20 /100 or 30/100 will still yield a fail grade!

70,000,000>0 as far as i know. They have $70,000,000 more to use on this project than they did 6 months ago. Are you saying $70,000,000 is a failure? Why don't you try and raise such an amount of money then? Why didn't anyone else raise that amount of money before if it was so easy?

Without a doubt this much donation is an abysmal failure. You can't build a dam in 100 years with this rate!

Is the money somehow ring-fenced? I mean what if a Zaradari or Sharif comes back to power in 2/3/4 years and wants to use the funds elsewhere - can they?

In a bank account under the name of the chief justice of Pakistan. So if that doesn't stop a thief then what will?

Their careers are over. The new Chief Justice and the next one in line after that were the ones who called him the Godfather of corruption, so there is no comeback for either of them nor will their judgement will be reversed.

Unfortunately, CJ Saqib Nisar retired and the one after him that actually sentenced Nawaz, took oath as CJ today. However, Khosa will only be CJ for 11 months before retiring. The one after him is said to be a patwari.

Though to be honest I used to call Nisar a patwari too and was massively angry he was new CJ :))

True... some of his decisions were inexplicable like upholding IHC's suspension of Avenfield decision.

Remember when CJ Nisar became CJ, Maryam Nawaz tweeted the storm has now passed since Nisar had served as Law Minister in one of Nawaz's previous tenures. CJ Nisar was like don't celebrate too soon baji :asad1

The CJP has ensured that Malik Riaz will pay for the Mohmand Dam and overall he has earnt more than my respect.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Fund donations never intended for building dam, only for awareness: ex-CJP Saqib Nisar<br> <a href="https://t.co/xNA6IbcZn8">https://t.co/xNA6IbcZn8</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1098981537729646593?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 22, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The people of Pakistan have been scammed again.

Everyone knew that this damn fund stunt was total nonsense. Everyone but PTI fans. The amount that has been collected so far will be a matter of controversy in the end. A portion will be deposited in the pension fund of the worst CJ in Pakistan's history, while the rest will probably vanish in thin air.

People were too naive to donate their hard earned money to this joke.

Everyone knew that this damn fund stunt was total nonsense. Everyone but PTI fans. The amount that has been collected so far will be a matter of controversy in the end. A portion will be deposited in the pension fund of the worst CJ in Pakistan's history, while the rest will probably vanish in thin air.

Atleast they put their hard earned money in a noble cause with full conscience that they will never see this money back.

Much better than supporting and/or worshipping corrupt politicians.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Fund donations never intended for building dam, only for awareness: ex-CJP Saqib Nisar<br> <a href="https://t.co/xNA6IbcZn8">https://t.co/xNA6IbcZn8</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1098981537729646593?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 22, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

For the record it is none of your concern what happens in Pakistan.

Secondly just today it is in the papers that the contract for Mohammand dam has been awarded after the cost was revised down from Rs. 310b to Rs. 290b. So while you might be internally gloating as to the status of the dam, let me assure you that the dam will be built no matter what. Next up is Daimer-Basha.

Atleast they put their hard earned money in a noble cause with full conscience that they will never see this money back.

Much better than supporting and/or worshipping corrupt politicians.

Of course. I hope they continue to throw their hard earned money down the drain for more "noble" causes in the future with "full conscience". :101:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I would like to pay tribute to the generosity of the people of Pakistan for raising Rs 10 billion for the Dams' Fund. <a href="https://t.co/9PFbiLYmKk">pic.twitter.com/9PFbiLYmKk</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1105342096574218240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 12, 2019</a></blockquote>

Malik Riaz is willing to pay 8 billion rupees per month for next 8 years. Accept his offer and start building those dams.

The dam fund page has been deleted by the supreme court.

Govt ended up buying Treasury bulls with it and will be earning interest on it.

I feel sorry for the religious folks :))

ANyways, the biggest theft in this country, all happened under the nose PM saab..

What overseas pakistanis dont even know is that, govt workers and many other people had money deducted from their paycheques by force. THis was not even a tax. Many people were forced to give their whole weeks pay.

Modern corruption

most people had their pay forcefully donated into this scheme.

The govt bought T-bills on which you get interest. Not that im agianst Interest, but Dharna party tries to act religious which shows how they are also liars.

Atif Mian cannot be part of the economic council due to his religious affiliation, but interest can be charged from stolen money of the awaam.

I dont care about the fools who donated their money by their choice in this, i care about those workers whos pay was forcefully submitted into this.

You have (once again) been duped by fake news. Mubashir Zaidi also deleted his tweet after being shown this is not the case. However, Khurram Husain didn't bother. I don't think being factual matters to him...

https://www.supremecourt.gov.pk/dam-fund-statistics/

4sJq8KE.png

most people had their pay forcefully donated into this scheme.

The govt bought T-bills on which you get interest. Not that im agianst Interest, but Dharna party tries to act religious which shows how they are also liars.

Atif Mian cannot be part of the economic council due to his religious affiliation, but interest can be charged from stolen money of the awaam.

I dont care about the fools who donated their money by their choice in this, i care about those workers whos pay was forcefully submitted into this.

I am with you that no one should have had money forcibly taken from their wages but the people of Sindh have had a trillion stolen and you and your friend [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] cannot utter a word, never mind condemn it. Can you please also give us your views on the trillion, where it went and who benefited and what should happen to these evil people that steal off the poor.

You have (once again) been duped by fake news. Mubashir Zaidi also deleted his tweet after being shown this is not the case. However, Khurram Husain didn't bother. I don't think being factual matters to him...

https://www.supremecourt.gov.pk/dam-fund-statistics/

4sJq8KE.png

They create fake news and then supporters of the corrupt parties react claiming everything under the sun, and then to avoid the humiliation they quietly disappear.

I am with you that no one should have had money forcibly taken from their wages but the people of Sindh have had a trillion stolen and you and your friend [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] cannot utter a word, never mind condemn it. Can you please also give us your views on the trillion, where it went and who benefited and what should happen to these evil people that steal off the poor.

It helps democracy to flourish:irfan.

See what happens to [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] when he is challenged. He comments on everything bar the trillion stolen by his friends in Sindh. If this is democracy then they can stick it where the sun don't shine.

Govt ended up buying Treasury bulls with it and will be earning interest on it.

I feel sorry for the religious folks :))

ANyways, the biggest theft in this country, all happened under the nose PM saab..

What overseas pakistanis dont even know is that, govt workers and many other people had money deducted from their paycheques by force. THis was not even a tax. Many people were forced to give their whole weeks pay.

Modern corruption
Page is still there with all invesment details.. I do not know you are talking about which dam fund? ma be that one done by Nawaz Qarz utaaro mulk sanwaaro [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]? update on dam fund invesment as I have come to know they are goong to invest it to get extra money ?

He is desperate for the there to be a scandal that justifies that trillions that Pepepe have stolen from the poor of Sindh. If something is a miss then point out but there only defence seems to be looking for others corruption, so they can justify their own. Disgusting people that steal from the weakest and poorest in society.

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court has sought details from the State Bank of Pakistan about money sent from abroad for the dam fund, reported The News on Tuesday.

A five-member bench, led by Chief Justice Gulzar Ahmed and comprising Justice Umar Ata Bandial, Justice Faisal Arab, Justice Ijazul Ahsan and Justice Muneeb Akhtar heard the case on Monday.

During the hearing, the chief justice said the court will not allow any injustice in the dam affairs. He added the land issue for the dam should be resolved. “Completion of the dams on time would be a big achievement,” Justice Gulzar remarked.

WAPDA authorities who were present during the hearing told the court the contractor has started work on the Mohmand Dam. When asked about the latest situation, the additional attorney general said the approval for the dam is pending with the Central Development Working Party (CDWP).

The top judge further inquired when the construction work on the Bhasha Dam would be complete.

The WAPDA counsel said work has been started on the Diamer Bhasha Dam and work on the Mohmand Dam was underway as per schedule. He added that the contract for the Diamer Bhasha Dam has already been awarded.

“The first unit of the Mohmand Dam will be operational in 2024,” he told the court.

Moreover, State Bank officials said if the money for the dams was invested in the stock exchange, there would be a danger of loss in expectation of a big profit. “Where the dams money has been invested, there is a reasonable profit as well as security,” they said, adding that letters have been written to the embassies for submission of donations.

“Letters won’t work,” the chief justice said. “You will have to talk on phone.”

Justice Ijazul Ahsan added if a Pakistani wants to send money from a place where there is no Pakistani bank, the embassies concerned should be aware of money transfers.

The court then adjourned the hearing for an indefinite period.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/291034-dam-fund-supreme-court-summons-foreign-remittances-record

(Karachi) Prime Minister Imran Khan has said that the government aims to construct 10 dams across the country by 2028.

Addressing a ceremony in Peshawar after visiting the Mohmand Dam site on Wednesday, Imran said that the government is initiating the Decade of Dams project.

He added that the Mohmand Dam will solve the water and electricity woes of the people in the region.

He said no attention was paid to the poor class by successive regimes in past. He said PTI is the first government, which is focussing on the welfare of the oppressed and neglected people through the provision of health cards and housing facilities.

Talking about the construction work on Mohmand Dams, the Prime Minister said this reservoir will be completed by 2025 and it will irrigate 17,000 acres of land, provide 300 million gallon of water to the residents of Peshawar and generate cheap electricity.

He mentioned that the construction of the dam commenced in 2019 and has been underway despite the coronavirus pandemic.

Criticizing the corrupt mafia, Imran said that all are equal before the law and those involved in corrupt practices will not be spared at any cost.

He said that corruption and lawlessness have destroyed our country. "The corrupt mafia wants NRO but they should know that I am not going to give it to any of them," he stated.

Regarding the low-cost housing scheme, the premier stated that it is the government's top priority to improve the condition of the poor segments of the society. He added that the promotion of the housing sector would not only ensure economic activity but also help that the common man’s dream come true to own a home.

Imran regretted that delay in accommodation projects and negligence by previous governments has badly affected the low-income class.

In 2019, Prime Minister Imran Khan performed the groundbreaking of Mohmand Dam which is being constructed on River Swat in Mohmand District.

The mega project is being undertaken at a cost of Rs309.6 billion. The dam will have a water storage capacity of 1.293 million acre-feet and help generate 800 megawatts of electricity.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/4009...-10-dams-across-pakistan-by-2028-says-pm-khan

While the Nooras wasted borrowed trillions on Metros, IK has borrowed to build Dams which benefit the country for decades.

Ambassador of Saudi Arabia in Pakistan Nawaf bin Saeed Al-Malkiy on Wednesday informed a Pakistani official that the kingdom has approved 901 million Saudi Riyal (Rs37.4 billion) for Mohmand Hydropower Project.

In a meeting with Federal Minister for Economic Affairs Omar Ayub Khan in Islamabad, the Saudi envoy said the loan will be given at a very concessional rate of 2 per cent for a period of 25 years.

"This dam will be constructed on Swat River in District Mohmand of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province and generate 800MW of electricity," an official statement issued after the meeting said.

It said that the dam will also irrigate 16,000 acres of land and boost agriculture productivity in the region. "This dam will play a vital role in socio-economic uplift of the province."

The Saudi ambassador apprised the minister about the successful visit of Prime Minister Imran Khan to Saudi Arabia and shared its outcomes.

Ayub highlighted that Mohmand Hydropower Project will not only help unleash the hydropower potential of the K-P province but also improve energy security by increasing the share of hydel power in the country’s energy mix.

“Our government is focusing on environment-friendly and affordable energy through the development of solar, wind and hydel resources”, he added. The minister appreciated the Saudi support in the priority development areas.

Both sides also discussed the bilateral economic cooperation and committed to expedite the implementation of ongoing development projects. Ayub assured the Saudi envoy that the financial assistance would be utilised expeditiously.

The Saudi ambassador, according to the statement, assured the minister of continued support at all levels to further strengthen the economic cooperation between the two brotherly countries.

He said that the Saudi side is committed to play a much stronger role in the socio-economic development of Pakistan. The ambassador also appreciated the role of Pakistani workers in the development of the kingdom.

Mohmand Dam is being built across Swat River in Mohmand tribal district of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa with gross water storage capacity of 1.2 MAF and power generation capacity of 800MW.

Also read: WAPDA approves contract for Mohmand Dam

In addition, the dam will provide 300 million gallons of drinking water per day to Peshawar. And not only that, the Mohmand Dam is also of immense importance as it is the only project that can save Peshawar, Charsadda and Naushehra from devastating floods.

In terms of electricity, irrigation, and flood protection, the country will accrue an annual benefit of Rs51 billion after the completion of the dam.

At present, there are only two major dams in Pakistan – Tarbela and Mangla. The former was built in 1977, and its storage capacity has dropped to 6.4 MAF against the earlier 9.4 MAF. However, following a structure-raising project, the capacity of Mangla Dam has been increased by 3 MAF to 7.4 MAF.

Express Tribune

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Friday said that the Dasu dam would generate low-cost clean energy that would help reduce inflation and promote industrialization in the country.

The premier reviewed ongoing work on the Dasu hydropower project, under construction on the Indus River in the Upper Kohistan district.

Speaking on the occasion, PM Imran said cheap and clean electricity generation from this project would benefit the country. "We should have done this long ago," he said. "Expensive electricity causes inflation."

"Phase one of Dasu dam will be completed by April 2025 and its cost would be Rs511 billion. It will add 2,160 megawatts of electricity to the national grid," the premier said.

"This capacity will increase to 4,320 megawatts with the completion of its second phase by 2029. It will provide 12 billion units of affordable and environmentally friendly electricity to the national grid every year."

Imran further added that industrialization would greatly contribute to the progress of the country through wealth creation and also appreciated the workers and consultants working on this complex project.

In 2019, the federal government revised upward the land acquisition cost of the under-construction Dasu hydroelectric power project by another 40% to address concerns of the local population, which has increased its total cost to Rs510 billion.

The Central Development Working Party (CDWP) increased the land component cost of the project from the original Rs12 billion to Rs39.6 billion. It was the second revision in the land cost, as earlier the last government had also jacked up the total cost to Rs19.1 billion from the original Rs12 billion.

These Dams should have been built with $67bn borrowed by the Nooras and PPP But they instead built crap Metros in Lahore, Palaces in Surrey, filled Swiss Bank Accounts and put PK in the hand of creditors.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2315221/govt-to-build-10-dams-says-pm-imran

Prime Minister Imran Khan announced on Thursday that the government had decided to build 10 dams, to enhance Pakistan's water storage capacity, create more resources and protecting future generations in the process.

"The Mohmand and Bhasha dams will be constructed by years 2025 and 2028, respectively," the stated at the inauguration of the fifth extension project of Tarbela Dam.

"Jacobabad has been noted to be world's warmest city and has the highest temperature," the premier said while addressing a ceremony on the occasion.

Citing Jacobabad's example, the prime minister stated that this was the reason why there was a need for creating power that does not escalate the current level of global warming.

According to the premier, the extension project will help create clean electricity. "By year 2030, most of the electricity produced will be clean electricity."

"Our focus," he added, "should be on creating power from water, solar or wind resources, and avoiding to create these through burning fossil fuels," he maintained.

PM Imran further said that the step will also extend Tarbela dam's life as the project will help flush out sediment and silt that is now just four miles away from the dam.

For the same reason, he added, it is important to construct the Dasu and Bhasha dams on time.

The PM lamented that none of the previous governments in the past thought about taking such initiatives.

"They signed capacity payment contracts for expensive electricity and it brought losses for the country."

He observed that the country could learn from China, as it plans for 20 to 30 years ahead. "This is the secret of their success," he remarked.

Earlier, Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Farrukh Habib wrote on Twitter that the project will be completed by 2024.

He further said that the project will enhance the dam's power generation capacity by 1,530 megawatts from 4,888 megawatts to 6,418 megawatts.

Habib added that work on several projects including the Diamer Basha dam, Dasu Hydropower, Mohmand Dam, Kurram Tangi Dam, Nai Gaj Dam, Sindh Barrage, Kachhi Canal, K-IV water supply is in full swing.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Alhamdulillah, Tarbela Dam filled to its max level yesterday despite unfavourable weather conditions this year. This is a good omen for agriculture & hydel generation. Appreciate the team at WAPDA/IRSA for improved water regulation.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1433285850062745606?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Historic dev & good news on Diamer Bhasha Dam. Grand Jirga of Diamer & Upper Kohistan elders have settled decade old Thor & Harban tribes' dispute. This will allow smooth & timely completion of Dam as well as pave way for settlement of boundary dispute between GB & KP.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1480919576078598149?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 11, 2022</a></blockquote>

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday said the construction of more water dams in Pakistan will help the country mitigate the impacts of climate change as well as increase its water storage capacity to irrigate barren lands.

Addressing an international symposium on Pakistan's hydropower development held in Islamabad, the premier regretted that the previous governments didn’t care about building dams because of their myopic and election-focused policies.

"Since the 1960s, China, through its long-term planning, managed to build 5,000 major dams whereas Pakistan built only two," he said, adding had the hydropower potential of the country been tapped, Pakistan wouldn’t be facing the rising cost of electricity because of expensive imported fuel.

According to the premier, the construction of dams will also double the water storage capacity of Pakistan that will help irrigate land in Dera Ismail Khan, Thar and Balochistan.

With the rise in population, Pakistan will need more agricultural land, Imran said, adding that, “we have land but we lack water to irrigate them.”

"These dams will provide water to cultivate the barren lands," he added.

Regarding the proposal of Minister for Water Resources Moonis Elahi for the construction of the Kalabagh Dam, the PM acknowledged that Pakistan requires more water storage capacity and the very site of Kalabagh is appropriate for the dam.

Speaking about the Kalabagh Dam project, Imran said the federal government will need to convince Sindhis that Kalabagh is “beneficial for them”.

“Without convincing them, the work on this project cannot be started,” he said, calling the reservations against the project a part of “anti-state propaganda”.

Imran said being the federation, the centre will have to take along all provinces, which was why Sindhis needed to be convinced.

He also said the dam-building will train Pakistani engineers in tunnel technology as well, which could be used to boost the tourism industry through better connectivity.

Imran also commended the political acumen of PML-Q leader Chaudhary Shujaat Hussain, saying the government had faith in its allied party. He said the PTI was not fretting over the meetings of the opposition and a potential no-trust vote as it has become “battle-hardened” over the past 25 years.

During the ceremony, WAPDA Chairman Muzammil Hussain said the construction of dams was aimed at food and human security. He said work on the dams is being carried out with speed and accuracy.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/234339...RCMHZFeS1HVnpTSTdlOXdJV19VSmJRbzRROVktUFZYUlI

for the size of Pakistan, how many dams would we need, would you say?

very difficult to answer, pak has a current installed capacity of about 40GW, if Pakistan were to follow a healthy growth trajectory you would pbly require min 5% annual energy production growth, which would equate to a 3x increase in 25 years.

that would imply a growth of 80GW in capacity over 20 years, if u keep the current energy production mixture constant, about 20GW would have to come from dams.

Daimer Basha has an installed capacity of 5GW, so you would need 4 Daimer Basahas, or less than one dam equivalent to Three gorges in China.

however if pak were to progress to developed country levels of energy consumption, this would have to be exponentially more.