Do not beg anyone to play in Pakistan, PM Nawaz Sharif requests PCB

member250

"I would like to ask Najam Sethi and Shahryar Khan not to beg any team to come to Pakistan. If they come happily, they are welcome. If they don't want to come, we don't need to beg them. We have our own self-respect. They will come with time, they'll come running." : Nawaz Sharif

message was clear to Sheryar Khan who keep announcing tours only to get cancelled next day.

Well PM is here only for a few days now , lets see what the next PM ( shahbaz shareef ) says about this.

Can't say I disagree with him, the way Sheheryar Khan handles his affairs with the PCB is highly unprofessional.

Well said, finally acting like a prime minister.

Absolutely disgusted by the begging bowl nonsense of the likes of SK. Have a little more respect for yourself

For the first time in my life I agree with Nawaz Sharif..

Wheere in the video does he say that..dont want to watch his full speech

Nawaz would have resigned if he had any self respect. Despite our win at the Champions Trophy Shahryar and Najam are not Cricket men either.

This comment was a little bit after Shahryar Khan's "India are scared of us" moment.

Not only that Sharif sahab looked like he was eyeing the chairman and Sethi when he said this.

On the other hand Sethi had a smirk in his face maybe he meant to say something like 'khud nay tou bola hai series karao aur public mai kia bolraha hai'

Maybe its a good deception from Sharif..

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, addressing guests at an event hosted to honour the Pakistan cricket team, asked Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Shahryar Khan to not plead with any foreign team to visit the country.

“There is no need to plead with any country to visit Pakistan, those who want to play in Pakistan will visit themselves,” said the premier.

The prime minister paid tribute to the players and honoured them for their performance during the recently concluded ICC Champions Trophy.

Nawaz also shared anecdotes from his youth and said he was an ardent cricketer too.

After the conclusion of the premier’s speech, he distributed prize money among the players and participated in a photography session with PCB’s management and players.

Earlier, the victorious Pakistan cricket team reached the PM House where an event was being held to honour the winners of ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

All-rounder Shoaib Malik thanked the PM for inviting the team.

Speaking at the event, batsman Azhar Ali said as a team “we enjoyed the tournament.” He added that the captain boosted the team’s morale after the initial defeat.

State Water and Power Minister Abid Sher Ali, Planning and Development Minister Ahsan Iqbal and State Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb greeted the team and officials of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

The family members of the players are accompanying the team, which is lodged at a private hotel in the capital.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and all senior cabinet members were present at the event, as was PCB Chairman Shahreyar Khan.

An indoor cricket pitch along with wickets has also been set up inside.

https://dailymailnews.com/2017/07/0...-play-cricket-in-pakistan-pm-tells-pcb-chief/

That was very well said by sharif.

How abouts he rings the old man and tells that himself directly ??

Finally, NS has said something that makes sense. He needs to do something to shut up shehryar.

If we don't beg, they won't come. Cricket doesn't need matches in Pakistan, so the game doesn't suffer; only we do. Hence, we can't let our ego dictate our actions. We have no option but to beg teams and give them incentives, since our isolation is entirely self-inflicted and we fully deserve this humiliation.

World cricket need Pakistan since we are top 4-5 teams even without playing at home.

PCB hierarchy are the ones begging, nobody else is.

The same PCB officials who keep coming out with statements saying various teams will tour, only to be made fools of a few days later.

World cricket need Pakistan since we are top 4-5 teams even without playing at home.

Yes and Pakistan isn't going anywhere. What I meant was that they don't need Pakistan as a venue.

This is the first time I'm agreeing with the Crime Minister *cough* I mean Prime Minister. The PCB guys should grow a spine, brown-nosing isn't part of the Pakistani character.

I agree that Pakistan need team to visit, and most of the teams are okay not to visit Pakistan but rather play on neutral venue, but begging hasn't worked so far and it won't work in near future either.

So, why beg? Rather let it take it course and until situation gets better in Pakistan.

PM is completely correct here, we shouldn't be begging other countries to come over but rather we should look to improve the security situation in our own country.

I agree that Pakistan need team to visit, and most of the teams are okay not to visit Pakistan but rather play on neutral venue, but begging hasn't worked so far and it won't work in near future either.

So, why beg? Rather let it take it course and until situation gets better in Pakistan.

I don't mean begging as in literally. My point is that we need to "push" teams to tour us because they will never take the initiative themselves. Australia and England etc. will never knock on our doors and say that "hey, we can see that Pakistan is a safe country now, so we would like to tour".

Hence, this cold attitude which our honorable PM is advocating sounds patriotic but is also impractical. The PCB does sound desperate but we need to understand their plight. No cricket in Pakistan is a massive problem for us and if we have to rub our noses in the dirt to achieve what we want to achieve, then so be it.

You have mention 25 years to cricket return to pakistan in other thread

Will it return in 25 years with begging or without ?

If we don't beg, it will never return.

Technically its not begging its convincing. Anyway SA never begged for return but eventually ICC requested it to rejoin once apartheid got over. Same way if situation gets better, ICC will request here too if terror groups do not operate.

Did the PM forget to send the memo to Shahryar Khan?

Also, while on the subject, does anyone know the status of the "court case" PCB was going to file against the BCCI for "not honoring the MOU"?