Emerging Cape Cobras v Pakistanis | Tour Match | Cape Town | 10/2/13 | Day 1

Lol you know.... Most PP'ers will say attacking cricket worked.

Because he scored 30 odd runs. Lmao.

asad... faisal threw it away.. the ball had lost the shine and no way it seemed like a wicket taking ball.

Hope Shafiq can play like he did in the 4th innings of the first test but with more attacking strokes. Seems like he plays well whenever he is at bthe crease with Misbah.

How many were we able to score with defensive cricket? :D

Lol.

If you just wanna score runs but lose the game.

Pick Afridi, the 3 Akmals, Farthead and Bhanja.

The perfect team with mediocre Hafeez as captain.

It would have been better had Tanvir and Ehsan got promoted in batting , we would see how they bat at least.

Faisa Richards did enough to justify his place in Pak test team, looking forward to see him scare the hell out of Styn in test match.

wow...our batting line up is in absolute shambles.

One player who was looking to score runs in the 1st test hasnt been given a chance yet.
Are we saving Nasir for when the ball completely loses its shine. What a way to prepare your opener for the 2nd test. :facepalm:

I worry about Azhar and Younis as a 3-4 combo.

Azhar looks like a player playing on fumes of quality while the latter just can't be bothered anymore.

I don't see what the hype is about yaar..

Finally we are playing a team, jo hamaray level ki hy ...

Faisal ko apnay level jaisay bowlers milay and he made merry for 30 runs.

Phir aukaat py wapis agaya.

Why are we so excited at him thrashing a club level 3rd string side ?

Misbah is playing fast, ky yey na ho , 156 sy pehlay urr jaye poori team.

Welcome to PP where you are one day the most hated person and then the other the legend... knee jerking.. :facepalm: :facepalm:

Lol.

So, Dr. Sahib scoring runs will cost us the game? how does not scoring runs win us the game then?

Misbah is playing fast, ky yey na ho , 156 sy pehlay urr jaye poori team.

I think he realized the ball has lost shine and they are bowling rubbish so cash it in.

So according to your logic, Younis khan, Azhar Ali, and Farhat are below a club level 3rd string side because they were not even able to score 30 odd runs?

So, Dr. Sahib scoring runs will cost us the game? how does not scoring runs win us the game then?

Come on yaar going afridi on every ball isnt going to help us... the real way to play those bowlers is play the ball too merit. leave the good ones and punish the bad ones. I agree tip tip isnt going to work but going after steyns good ball is suicide. let them go and then punish the bad bowl to take down their confidence. When Misbah and asad were batting steyn smith and the rest were completely out of ideas and looked genuinely messed up. had we survived the next new ball they would have probably become a whole lot worried.

Misbah is playing so well, his tuk tuk is working in SA. My main worry is azhar and younis, these guys r good batsmen pak need good 50s from them in next test.

Lol.

no we wanna see them score the match winning scores not tuk tuk us to losses...

Misbah is playing so well, his tuk tuk is working in SA. My main worry is azhar and younis, these guys r good batsmen pak need good 50s from them in next test.

I get azhar , he has not played in south africa but what happened to younis khan... he looked good but got out to fishing. You expect alot better from someone who averages 50 and has played for soo long... Well maybe they might score in the second test.. you know umeed pay duniya qaim hai.

they will rattle through our tail once they get this wicket and our tail starts from #7

So according to your logic, Younis khan, Azhar Ali, and Farhat are below a club level 3rd string side because they were not even able to score 30 odd runs?

Farthead is farthead.

Younus Khan is horribly out of form. His stats speak for himself.

Faisal Iqbal is 31 years old ! TTF

Are you his relative ?

Younis is a real disappointment ! He's been around for way too long and played with the likes of inzi only to perform this way? He needs to get his act together soon.

Fawad bhai,

150 all out and 50 all out makes no difference to outcome of test match.

Expect aesthetic value : )

Come on yaar going afridi on every ball isnt going to help us... the real way to play those bowlers is play the ball too merit. leave the good ones and punish the bad ones. I agree tip tip isnt going to work but going after steyns good ball is suicide. let them go and then punish the bad bowl to take down their confidence. When Misbah and asad were batting steyn smith and the rest were completely out of ideas and looked genuinely messed up. had we survived the next new ball they would have probably become a whole lot worried.

Hey, I never suggested to go slogging blindly, what I want is an aggressive mindset where they look to score off of deliveries in their zone, and of course leaving the good balls. Since, the tuk tuk method was highly unsuccessful last match I want the Pakistani team to try and change their approach a little bit, I understand test cricket requires a lot of patience and grit, but if our top order manages to take the shine off the ball quicker by scoring some runs I would not mind that at all! :)

Pakistan is absolute chicken when playing outside sub continent. need to get batsmen who are gritty into the team.

Younis problem atm is he is trying to feel from the middle of bat, normaly good batsmen like to feel the ball. In other words like to play every ball, i think if younis survives 2 to 3 overs he will be fine, azhR need to be droped to no.5 and move asad at no.3

Nice by asad.... our openers have to take the shine off the ball... jamsheed did it in the second innings where he attacked anything bad by steyn and co...

Farthead is farthead.

Younus Khan is horribly out of form. His stats speak for himself.

Faisal Iqbal is 31 years old ! TTF

Are you his relative ?

Yep, Younis khan is out of form, I agree...but then who else do we have on the bench to replace him? Farhat or Faisal?

That is our bench right now, and we must pick from them to replace the "horribly out of form batsman" to play right? So if Faisal seems to be performing better, why not give him a go? whatever will help improve Pakistan's performance should be done. I have no extreme player preference, I tend to support whoever I think will benefit to Pakistan performing well/better ! :D

Pakistan is absolute chicken when playing outside sub continent. need to get batsmen who are gritty into the team.

do you really follow cricket?

Even the likes of Clark, Hussy's, watson and whole NZ team that plays on the similar tracks all year long couldnt handle Styen and co!

Just noticed that the minimum overs have increased from 5 to 13 on cricinfo. Strange!

Younis problem atm is he is trying to feel from the middle of bat, normaly good batsmen like to feel the ball. In other words like to play every ball, i think if younis survives 2 to 3 overs he will be fine, azhR need to be droped to no.5 and move asad at no.3

i agree asad needs to bat at number 3

I think umar akmal is a quality bat, too bad da kid is not given any chnace and useless cricketers like imran farah being called up, u need an impact player and he is just THAT.,

and day one over Paksitan 127 for 4 with misbah at 44 and asad at 21.. pakistan trail by 29 runs with 6 wickets at hand.

Not when the opposition declares on 275/3

They could just as well bat to 375/3 : )

You are not taking into account several factors that also come into play, comparing just the scores is not merely just to judging the outcome of Test cricket.

50 allout- has a huge pressure on the batting team, that hey have been annihilated by the opposition bowlers and just blows the team batting out of perspective, extra added mental pressure on the bowlers as well as the batsmen, and when they go out to field the team has its morale down. This has opposite effect on the bowling team.

150 allout- reached the 150 mark, some batsmen got starts, maybe 1 batsman scores a 50 odd, some little partnerships and made it to 150 avoiding the follow-on in the effort, mental pressure but not completely annihilated at a very disappointing score. Bowlers have some hope and go out to bowl aggressively get some early wickets and maybe not (275-3) instead they restrict them to something reasonable. (maybe we win from there or maybe lose, but still may put up more of a fight, and therefore more momentum going into the next match).

100 run difference is a great difference, note that I have put alot of assumptions up there just as you had them reaching 275-3 even when we had scored 150. My point is things could have been different and you are not accurate when you claim that there would have been no difference to the match's outcome even if we had scored 100 runs more in the first innings.
Go and ask anyone and they would have their team scoring 150 over 50, 99.99% of the times, with you only being in the .01%! :D

You are not taking into account several factors that also come into play, comparing just the scores is not merely just to judging the outcome of Test cricket.

50 allout- has a huge pressure on the batting team, that hey have been annihilated by the opposition bowlers and just blows the team batting out of perspective, extra added mental pressure on the bowlers as well as the batsmen, and when they go out to field the team has its morale down. This has opposite effect on the bowling team.

150 allout- reached the 150 mark, some batsmen got starts, maybe 1 batsman scores a 50 odd, some little partnerships and made it to 150 avoiding the follow-on in the effort, mental pressure but not completely annihilated at a very disappointing score. Bowlers have some hope and go out to bowl aggressively get some early wickets and maybe not (275-3) instead they restrict them to something reasonable. (maybe we win from there or maybe lose, but still may put up more of a fight, and therefore more momentum going into the next match).

100 run difference is a great difference, note that I have put alot of assumptions up there just as you had them reaching 275-3 even when we had scored 150. My point is things could have been different and you are not accurate when you claim that there would have been no difference to the match's outcome even if we had scored 100 runs more in the first innings.
Go and ask anyone and they would have their team scoring 150 over 50, 99.99% of the times, with you only being in the .01%! :D

Agreed.

We should take take Steyn to the cleaners. : )