Eng v Pak: 4th test - Day 1 Updates

Pepsi™ said:
Dude this is an awsome position. But it always happens doesn't it? And we all know Oxy, you are the pessimest of all pessimists.
Not when we are 64-4....

Umar Gul back into the attack here. He's already got one wicket today, can he get another one? YES he CAN INSHALLAH ;-)

25.6 Shahid Nazir to Cook, no run, jams the bat down on that one for a forward defensive

25.5 Shahid Nazir to Bell, 1 run, nice shot for one. An elegant bump of a leg-flick moves to square leg

25.4 Shahid Nazir to Bell, no run, shouldered arms to a rising ball which swung away at the last minute. Lots of movement here under overcast conditions Good toss to win for pakistan and bowl first up ;-)

25.3 Shahid Nazir to Bell, no run, very solid defence on the backfoot and the pose is held

25.2 Shahid Nazir to Bell, no run, tried to squirt that to leg, but rather rushed the shot and played it too early

25.1 Shahid Nazir to Bell, no run, ooh, interesting. The batsman is tucked right up there and the ball flies through to Kamran Akmal who had to change direction before putting it down. But it wasn’t a chance - that was deflected off the thigh. Either way, he had Bell in trouble there

Great stuff from nazir, i am telling you brothers pakistan is going for the kill !

Pepsi™ said:
Four runs. I am very worried about this partnership.

Yaar pepsi pakistan ka pyara janda legaya hai as avatar now please stop being pessimistic, pakistan is going to kill and bury england in this test match at oval INSHALLAH. :19:

England only have Chris Read to go right? So two wickets will do. Hope we can bowl England out today. A wicket before tea will be good. When is tea btw? In 20 minutes, 1hr 20 minutes, or 2 hrs 20 mins?

Next targets are cook, bell and read. Need to break cook and bell and get into the tail fast by removing read without troubling the scoreboard. I think gul needs to be rested and kaneria should be tried out with a very aggressive field. Need to get cook and bell out fast. INSHALLAH

Pepsi™ said:
England only have Chris Read to go right? So two wickets will do. Hope we can bowl England out today. A wicket before tea will be good. When is tea btw? In 20 minutes, 1hr 20 minutes, or 2 hrs 20 mins?
4.10 UK time

Dear Mods:

Time to change the caption under Asif's pic on the main page. Thanks.

Inzamam usually brings Kaneria only a couple of overs before tea which is useless and he gets no rhythm with such a short spell.

Pepsi™ said:
I've been thinking that for a REALLY long time now.
Well hes only been playing in this test for 3 hours, so it cant be that long....

Oxy™ said:
Well hes only been playing in this test for 3 hours, so it cant be that long....

Nope been thinking that through the past two days when I found out he was coming to England. So it shouldn't have been "unlikely"

KANERIA STRIKES! Darrell being such a good boy. Man Kaneria hasn't even conceded a run yet!

If Inzi had brought Danish on yesterday, we would be on top now!!!

"If Inzi had brought Danish on yesterday, we would be on top now!!!"

Why did he wait so long to bring him on? we could've been close to bowling them out by now if he'd acted earlier!!!

inzidabest said:
I told you. Make me the captain of Pakistan please
You were saying change the bowlers after Guls 3rd ball of the day...

asif kay aur sami kay janey se sab kuch change ho gaya hai :). GO PAKISTAN GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Muhammad said:
"If Inzi had brought Danish on yesterday, we would be on top now!!!"

Why did he wait so long to bring him on? we could've been close to bowling them out by now if he'd acted earlier!!!
:19: I'm glad someone got it...

30.4 Danish Kaneria to Bell, OUT
IR Bell c Faisal Iqbal b Danish Kaneria 9 (28b 1x4 0x6) sr: 32.14

:108: :108: :108: :108:

30.3 Danish Kaneria to Bell, no run, pitches on leg, moves in and it’s defended on the front foot

30.2 Danish Kaneria to Cook, 1 run, whipped out to mid-wicket, doesn’t quite time it

30.1 Danish Kaneria to Cook, no run, thinks about cutting that one, leaves it at the last minute and it bounces over his top edge

whyhkk said:
iisnt this unbelievable hair and doctrove arent umpiring that badly
Think man, think.

Series is OVER? Eng win secured. Mission accomplished. Who cares if they give 'outs' as out in this game...

Oxy™ said:
You were saying change the bowlers after Guls 3rd ball of the day...
I said Gul isnt inmpressive or not the one whom batsmen will fear and I stick with it and will for ages.

What a throw! Even if it isn't out! Amazing fielding! Man Hafeez is a brilliant fielder. I'd keep him in the side just for that.

Turn on the tv and i see 5 down. Time for the younguns to rise to the occasion. Cook looks set at the moment.

shows just how a couple of good fielders can lift the whole tema in the field,
we missed afridis fielding in the last game in the field and it showed

Do you guys think we can/should bring back Asif for a couple of overs before tea?

Ohey ub kheloo na
Make 100s now. Just wonder if we had Shoaib and Rana fit as well. mashallah Come on aisf take them all

Shahid Nazir to Cook, OUT, a huge, huge shout as Umpire Doctrove thinks long and hard about that one, before giving it. Pitches just outside off on yorker length, with Cook bringing his bat down too late. Great bowling, that was plumb.

Was the correct decision, just peculiar way of giving it out

Things look very good for Pakistan. Under 200 should be sure now, right?

Pepsi™ said:
Nazir has struck! Gone! I think the umpires just don't care anymore...
37.6 Shahid Nazir to Cook, OUT, a huge, huge shout as Umpire Doctrove thinks long and hard about that one, before giving it. Pitches just outside off on yorker length, with Cook bringing his bat down too late. Great bowling, that was plumb.

When you watch Nazir bowl, you have to wonder how Pakistan have played Khalil, Rao and Riaz Afridi ahead of him in the last few years.

oh waht could have been...at least this stands us in good stead for south africa and the world cup!! cmon boyz

gambino said:
bring asif back so he can complete his 5-fer

Yes - we plead with Inzi to take him off because he is overbowling him, and then minutes later want him back on :20: :20: :20:

Mind boggling!