England (465 & 373/5) cruise to a comfortable 5-wicket win over India (471 & 364) in the opening Test of the series

The Bald Eagle

The opening week of the 2025-27 World Test Championship cycle brings with it one of the most high-profile contests on the calendar. India have arrived on English shores for a five-match Test series. While these two sides have clashed countless times over the years, this series carries a fresh identity. Traditionally played for the Pataudi Trophy, this series will now be contested for the newly-named Tendulkar-Anderson Trophy, honouring two modern greats who have left an indelible mark on the game, one with the bat and the other with the ball. The series opener will be played at Headingley in Leeds, before the caravan moves to Birmingham, London, Manchester, and finally back to London. Starting with England, over the past three WTC cycles, they have not reached the final even once. The path this time is anything but straightforward, with a marquee home series against India followed by an away Ashes tour in Australia later in the year. With Ben Stokes at the helm, the squad named by the hosts is largely on expected lines. While Stuart Broad retired in 2023, James Anderson called time on his illustrious Test career last summer. Their absence does not necessarily leave the hosts with an inexperienced bowling attack, but it is fair to say they have fielded more seasoned units in the past.

As they often do, England have announced their playing XI in advance. It features the return of Chris Woakes and Brydon Carse from injury, both of whom missed the one-off Test against Zimbabwe last month. Gus Atkinson has been ruled out due to a hamstring strain, and that has opened the door for Josh Tongue, who has only three Tests to his name, to take up the role of the third seamer. Shoaib Bashir will lead the spin department as the lone specialist, while Joe Root provides a part-time option. Ben Stokes is expected to offer the fourth seam option if needed. The batting lineup is also quite settled, with the dynamic opening pair of Ben Duckett and Zak Crawley at the top. Jacob Bethell has not been included despite an impressive start to his Test career, and although there was speculation about Bethell potentially playing ahead of Ollie Pope, the latter has retained his place. The rest of the lineup picks itself, featuring the master-apprentice Yorkshire pairing of Joe Root and Harry Brook, followed by Stokes and the wicketkeeper-batter Jamie Smith. Turning to India, they played in two successive WTC finals but endured heartbreak on both occasions. They looked well on course for a third straight final but stumbled in their last two assignments, eventually missing out. The start of a new cycle also marks the dawn of a new era in Indian cricket, with Ravichandran Ashwin, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli having retired from the longest format. Shubman Gill has been named the new Test captain and will lead a squad that blends youth and experience. KL Rahul and Yashasvi Jaiswal, who forged a solid opening partnership in Australia, are likely to continue at the top. With Kohli’s departure creating a vacancy at number four, there was plenty of speculation about who would step into the role.

=======

All posters, please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staff, etc.

2. No making fun of players', officials', or coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media, or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion, as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can
be added.

India should go with a bowling lineup of
Bumrah
Siraj
Arshdeep
Jadeja
Nitish

This will not hurt the batting much and all 3 pacers are wicket takers especially if there is any assistance for bowlers.

If India plays Prasidh, they are done. He is mediocre with the ball and pathetic in fielding and batting. Arshdeep can at least hit a few big ones.

Overall my team will be
Jaiswal
Rahul
Sai Sudarshan
Gill
Karun/Jurel/Washington (it does not matter. I prefer Jurel. Karun is an FTB)
Pant
Jadeja
Nitish
Arshdeep
Siraj
Bumrah

Shubman Gill shared following thoughts in pre-match press conference:

Captaining the country is the biggest honour anyone can get.

On batting at No.4: After Virat bhai retired, me and GG bhai had a discussion about me batting at that number.

On combination: I will have a look at the pitch one final time. It has been a dry summer

Bumrah
Siraj
Arshdeep
Jadeja
Nitish

This will not hurt the batting much and all 3 pacers are wicket takers especially if there is any assistance for bowlers.

If India plays Prasidh, they are done. He is mediocre with the ball and pathetic in fielding and batting. Arshdeep can at least hit a few big ones.

Overall my team will be
Jaiswal
Rahul
Sai Sudarshan
Gill
Pant
Jadeja
Nitish
Arshdeep
Siraj
Bumrah

What are you saying , Prashida is useless
He is the hit the deck bowler .

karun and Thakur will play.

I think India will put up a good fight in this series. The English bowling attack is dicey but the bowlers will still do better in their home conditions.

Bumrah
Siraj
Arshdeep
Jadeja
Nitish

Overall my team will be
Jaiswal
Rahul
Sai Sudarshan
Gill
Pant
Jadeja
Nitish
Arshdeep
Siraj
Bumrah
Nitish is not a test bowler , when will Indian fans understand this. We needs proper five Bowlers not These bits and pieces players .:kp

5 bowlers is too much and will leave the batting unbalanced.
With three bowler ,we can't control the bazball also need to manage the workload of Bumrah .

England is most likely give Flat pitches so need proper five Bowlers to control them .

KL
Jaiswal
Karun / Sai
Gill
Pant
Sai / karun
Jadeja
Thakur/ Washington
Bumrah
Siraj
Arsdeep

This is not bad playing eleven and they can bat up to 8.

Yes. I'm counting jadeja as an bowler . If I'm captain then I'll play Kuldeep + four Pacers . :kp

No, that is too much and will weaken the batting. You don't need 5 full bowlers. 4 wicket taking ones with Jadeja to share the workload will do.

With three bowler ,we can't control the bazball also need to manage the workload of Bumrah .

England is most likely give Flat pitches so need proper five Bowlers to control them .

KL
Jaiswal
Karun / Sai
Gill
Pant
Sai / karun
Jadeja
Thakur/ Washington
Bumrah
Siraj
Arsdeep

This is not bad playing eleven and they can bat up to 8.

Sorry I thought you meant 5 genuine bowler.

The line you posted is a good one. Thakur can be handful in the right conditions.

I am looking forward to seeing Arshdeep bowling more than I am Bumrah. He can cause havoc with the swinging ball against England players who cannot play anything with movement.

Sorry I thought you meant 5 genuine bowler.

The line you posted is a good one. Thakur can be handful in the right conditions.

I am looking forward to seeing Arshdeep bowling more than I am Bumrah. He can cause havoc with the swinging ball against England players who cannot play anything with movement.
I Think GG will not select Arshdeep but Akashdeep or Prasidh Krishna.

The weather in Leeds is very warm , do not think much seam movement will be there. Also , English bowling looks very weak. India has a fair chance at least in this game.

I think England should bowl well. They have some rookies but they should be familiar with English conditions. It is an opportunity for them to make a name for themselves.

India also don't have Pujara and Kohli.

Thank you so much on behalf of every Indian fan on earth.

I think India should lose 0-5 or 1-4. :inti

This India is not same as 2021 India. Much weaker in Test now.

They lost 1-3 to Australia and 0-3 to NZ recently.

I think India should lose 0-5 or 1-4. :inti

This India is not same as 2021 India. Much weaker in Test now.

They lost 1-3 to Australia and 0-3 to NZ recently.
Young team though
We shall see what unfolds

Learning curve

I think it will be a close series though

3-2 either way is possible

I am still backing India to win though
3-2

But even if we get thrashed it is what it is.

Young team learning on the job so it’s not easy vs marauding bazzballers in their home.

I think England should bowl well. They have some rookies but they should be familiar with English conditions. It is an opportunity for them to make a name for themselves.

India also don't have Pujara and Kohli.

England needed at least one of Wood or Archer .

Nitish is not a test bowler , when will Indian fans understand this. We needs proper five Bowlers not These bits and pieces players .:kp
I would take Nitish over Prasidh any day.

Not sure what some Indian fans see in Prasidh.

If not Nitish, they should at least play Sundar. If India plays Prasidh, B umrah, Siraj and Arshdeep, the tail will be too long. With an inexperienced and fragile batting, it will get ugly if India are 30/4 or something in 10 overs. India will fold for under 100.

Bowling cannot be strengthened at the Cost batting.

Nitish may not be a test bowler. But he will bowl a few overs to give rest to main bowlers. Basically Nitish and Jaddu will bowl to give rest to Bumrah, Siraj and Arsh.

Indian side is farily new in terms of batting order but it is going to be a good game.

Here is my playing XI for England series 1st test:-

Jaiswal
Rahul
Sai/ Nair( those around them would know more)
Gill(c)
Pant
Jurel
Jadeja
Thakur
Bumrah
Siraj
Prasidh

Prasidh should be persisted as he has got better with time and his pace is up as well. He was superb in IPL and although IPL success should not decide the test team but he was there in last tour and because he got better, we should back him and hope he brings his best in Test cricket.

Thakur is needed as we need a 4th seamer who should be a bowling A/R.

Between Sai and Nair, it is debatable and those around them would know better whom to start with. Jurel deserves a go at 6.

Jaiswal
Rahul
Gill(c)
Pant
Jurel
Jadeja
Thakur
Bumrah
Siraj
Prasidh

Prasidh should be persisted as he has got better with time and his pace is up as well. He was superb in IPL and although IPL success should not decide the test team but he was there in last tour and because he got better, we should back him and hope he brings his best in Test cricket.

Between Sai and Nair, it is debatable and those around them would know better whom to start with. Jurel deserves a go at 6.
Prasidh bowling in not suited for England conditions. he is a Hit the deck bowler and his natural length is short pitch bowling

Arshdeep is better option than him and always give varity to India pace attacks.

In my opinion I'm not a fan of Rahul opening.

I feel like this is another brainless Australia move where they had smith open. Ik hes played 83 games at that no, so basically 90% of his entire career but he's honestly been a Shan Masood Level batter at that no.

He's > Shan obviously due to the difficulty of the pitches hes played on compared to Shan, Shan in reality is a 26-28 avg batsmen only but not a huge Fan.

But I can understand why as Gill isnt working at opening or no 3

Indian batters struggle to bat in English conditions.

KL, Jadeja, Gill and Pant collectively average only 14 vs good length deliveries in England . 42 against lengths shorter than that.

Jaiswal, Nair and Sai have never played in England.

Source : BBC

England needed at least one of Wood or Archer .
Archer is not cut out for tests
Wood is average tbh. He gets hit a lot

They should have picked Potts he is good

And there is one more guy i forget his name

Olly stone if fit is good

I would take Nitish over Prasidh any day.

Not sure what some Indian fans see in Prasidh.

If not Nitish, they should at least play Sundar. If India plays Prasidh, B umrah, Siraj and Arshdeep, the tail will be too long. With an inexperienced and fragile batting, it will get ugly if India are 30/4 or something in 10 overs. India will fold for under 100.

Bowling cannot be strengthened at the Cost batting.

Nitish may not be a test bowler. But he will bowl a few overs to give rest to main bowlers. Basically Nitish and Jaddu will bowl to give rest to Bumrah, Siraj and Arsh.
You will be surprised by Prasidh
Wait and see

Prasidh bowling in not suited for England conditions. he is a Hit the deck bowler and his natural length is short pitch bowling

Arshdeep is better option than him and always give varity to India pace attacks.
And Arshdeep can bat
I would pick Rana too

In my opinion I'm not a fan of Rahul opening.

I feel like this is another brainless Australia move where they had smith open. Ik hes played 83 games at that no, so basically 90% of his entire career but he's honestly been a Shan Masood Level batter at that no.

He's > Shan obviously due to the difficulty of the pitches hes played on compared to Shan, Shan in reality is a 26-28 avg batsmen only but not a huge Fan.

But I can understand why as Gill isnt working at opening or no 3
Rahul is a fraud

At best I would play him at 6 maybe

He is still a choker champions trophy win aside

I do not trust him and I do not like him

He has failed far too many times

But we seem hell bent on picking experience so it will be Rahul

Jaiswal
Rahul
Gill(c)
Pant
Jurel
Jadeja
Thakur
Bumrah
Siraj
Prasidh

I doubt Indian management will play Jurel as pure batsman .

KL, Jadeja, Gill and Pant collectively average only 14 vs good length deliveries in England . 42 against lengths shorter than that.

So basically Indian batting costs india

Indian bowling has always been good barring 2011 and 2014

It’s the crap batting that lets us down in England and nz.

Pathetic loser batsmen

But putridevus will still say bumrah and others don’t help India win lmao

Rahul is a fraud

At best I would play him at 6 maybe

He is still a choker champions trophy win aside

I do not trust him and I do not like him

He has failed far too many times

But we seem hell bent on picking experience so it will be Rahul
Odi is different so I won't comment. He is not a test batsmen however. But india's recent options Gill and Rohit had failed miserably the latter had to comically ahove himself down to no 6 and then retired disgracefully in said format but resting himself in the final BGT game.

He made up for it in odi and t20 with title wins, but rohit is honestly a sham in test.

Archer is not cut out for tests
Wood is average tbh. He gets hit a lot

They should have picked Potts he is good

And there is one more guy i forget his name

Olly stone if fit is good

No , they needed one out and out fast bowler.

Stokes , do not know how many overs he can bowl , Woakes is not young , and relies lot on condition , Other bowlers are less than 10 tests old , I seriously doubt there ability to take 20 wickets with sun shinning.

England will not produce any greenish pitch for this series because of bazball cricket .

I think this time Indian batters are going to enjoy the conditions but can others Pacer support Bumrah on flat pitch? That is big question ⁉️ ⁉️ ⁉️

Odi is different so I won't comment. He is not a test batsmen however. But india's recent options Gill and Rohit had failed miserably the latter had to comically ahove himself down to no 6 and then retired disgracefully in said format but resting himself in the final BGT game.

He made up for it in odi and t20 with title wins, but rohit is honestly a sham in test.
Rahul is experienced and is in good touch recently , I do not see any other option other than if you go in and give debut to Eshwaran.

100% I agree but then when I say that Rohit Kl Rahul etc are frauds

And even kohli is a fraud in tests, all the trolls come out of their holes and say things like I am not an Indian fan etc nonsense lmao

Stokes , do not know how many overs he can bowl , Woakes is not young , and relies lot on condition , Other bowlers are less than 10 tests old , I seriously doubt there ability to take 20 wickets with sun shinning.
Stone is fast bro

Maybe post injury he slowed down not sure? But last time in India he bowled 138 to 144 consistently

Stone is fast bro

Maybe post injury he slowed down not sure? But last time in India he bowled 138 to 144 consistently

England will not produce any greenish pitch for this series because of bazball cricket .

I think this time Indian batters are going to enjoy the conditions but can others Pacer support Bumrah on flat pitch? That is big question ⁉️ ⁉️ ⁉️

I trust Arshdeep
I trust Rana if selected
Also kambhoj
I also rate Prasidh he can be good

Thakur is 50 50 cause of fitness
I have issues with akashdeep

I do believe Kuldeep Sen could have made a difference

Stone is fast bro

Lets us see , in a test match how fast he bowls. But this will be a very close series.

Rahul is experienced and is in good touch recently , I do not see any other option other than if you go in and give debut to Eshwaran.
No way debut should be given to easwaran.he is not on radar as per many.he can't score much on offside as he struggles on spicy pitches and bouncy pitches. Sai should be given an debut.he has a very tight technique and batted well against sa on spicy Pitches.

Imperative we win the Toss and Bat. With all the hot and Humid weather around the toss will be critical and the wicket at headingly under the sun is always flat.

Stokes has hinted England will approach their batting Philosophy with a more measured approach. Which is the right approach against a good Indian attack

1. Rahul
2. Jaiswal
3. Karun
4. Gill
5. Pant
6. Jadeja
7. Nitish
8. Shardul
9. Bumrah
10. Siraj
11. Prasidh

Arshdeep should play when Bumrah isn't in the starting 11.

Kuldeep should also be played if the England summer remains dry.

Imperative we win the Toss and Bat. With all the hot and Humid weather around the toss will be critical and the wicket at headingly under the sun is always flat.

Stokes has hinted England will approach their batting Philosophy with a more measured approach. Which is the right approach against a good Indian attack
We should bowl if we win the toss.

The pitch gets better for batting after the 1st day.

Last 6 test matches at Headingley have been won by teams batting second.

We should bowl if we win the toss.

The pitch gets better for batting after the 1st day.

Last 6 test matches at Headingley have been won by teams batting second.

Your mistaken, if you've tagged me thinking im a india Fan lol. England all the way.

Seems sai and nair are in as per cricinfo.thakur may be in too as there are 6 batters.

Both teams will wear black armbands on Day 1 of the Test match as a mark of respect for those who lost their lives in the Air India plane crash last week in Ahmedabad.

A moment’s silence will be observed prior to the respective national anthems.

Sai Sudharsan to Debut at 3
Karun Nair to Bat at 6.
Shardul Thakur as all rounder.
Prasidh Krishna as third seamer

If England bat first, we got to see off Bumrah and make sure he has no respite, with putting pressure on the other seamers.

I'm neutral, idc who wins or who loses. But I want this nonsense Jaiswal myth to be busted even more so then BGT.

Rooting for Pant to get exposed as well ans for Gill to establish himself as the true heir to the throne.

Jadeja, Jaiswal and Pant > Head is the biggest nonsense of 2024.

Head is better then every single all format batsmen that india has ever produced with only Kohli being > Him.

Jaiswal and Pant cant even make it into the odi and t20 side :vk2 .

Their myth in test shall be exposed but Gill will make his mark inshallah.

TOSS UPDATE:

England have won the toss and have opted to field

Teams:

England
(Playing XI): Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes(c), Jamie Smith(w), Chris Woakes, Brydon Carse, Josh Tongue, Shoaib Bashir

India (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, KL Rahul, Sai Sudharsan, Shubman Gill(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Karun Nair, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

"9mm of grass as opposed to 12mm grass in county games, but it'll dry out later" Win the toss and win the match, easier to bat in 4th innings. Does anyone knows about the grass in wtc final?

India (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, KL Rahul, Sai Sudharsan, Shubman Gill(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Karun Nair, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Indian captains change but their luck with the coin, doesn't!
How does india lose so many tosses? At this point im starting to believe referees and umpires are doing it deliberately to keep the meme going.

No, I don't believe any foul play is involved in this. Just that, all our captains have really wretched luck with the toss.

Ofcourse fraud jadeja plays 🤦🏻🤦🏻.

Here is what I want from this TAT trophy

1) Root to reach 13500 runs or > and surpass Ponting + Dravid in runs

2) Gill to raise that avg upto 40

3) Dont really care how bumrah performs as i like him, as long as he doesnt interfere with root.

4) Brooks to get exposed vs spin but also end jadeja's career like head ended Ashwin

5) Jaiswal and Pant to get exposed

6) England to wake up and smell the coffee and invest in better bowlers for the future

7) India to wake up and smell the copy and ban Siraj for his travesty and atrocities committed towards Papa Head.

Siraj has really important role to play in this test. One of the reasons Bumrah breaks down so frequently is that he hardly receives any support from his fellow pacers.

3) Dont really care how bumrah performs as i like him, as long as he doesnt interfere with root.

4) Brooks to get exposed vs spin but also end jadeja's career like head ended Ashwin

6) England to wake up and smell the coffee and invest in better bowlers for the future

7) India to wake up and smell the copy and ban Siraj for his travesty and atrocities committed towards Papa Head.
^^ @Devadwal with the exception of 6 and 7.

1 to 5 are my predictions. Hai himat to lay down yours? All my predictions will be correct now that I am serious.

No, I don't believe any foul play is involved in this. Just that, all our captains have really wretched luck with the toss.
I was kidding, ik foul play isnt involved but it is crazy how ot can happen that often.

India has been losing tosses for 2+ years now 🤣

:Tinge of green, 9mm of grass, the county games here have been around 12 so it nipped around a little bit. Due to fear of Bumrah they cut the Grass. :kp

Even before that. Kohli lost lot more tosses than he won. Same with Dhoni
True but I don't recall anyone going on an undertaker wrestlemania losing toss streak until Rohit came on the scene lol

Not sure about bowling first to be honest. Ok, the stats say win the toss and bowl and win the game according to the last six tests. But, the weather has been extremely dry this time around, hence expecting very little moisture in the wicket! I would have batted first.

Bro is jadeja any good in england not sure never looked great in english conditions should have picked kuldeep

^^ @Devadwal with the exception of 6 and 7.

1 to 5 are my predictions. Hai himat to lay down yours? All my predictions will be correct now that I am serious.
Jaiswal will score more runs than Tullebaaz Head scored in the last ashes in England
Head 5 match , 362 runs , 36 Avg ,3 fifty .

Bro is jadeja any good in england not sure never looked great in english conditions should have picked kuldeep
Jadeja and Ashwin are the Sajid and Noman of test cricket. Monster on tailor made pitched but garbage otherwise.

I dont rate ashwin, Jadeja or Laxman. I do rate Sachin, Kohli(Odi and t20), Rohit(Odi), Dravid, Sunny and many others.